Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 375 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best choice-highly recommended This gate is exactly what I was looking for. It is attractive and well made. I have 3 dogs, one standard poodle, a standard pom, and a chihuahua, and they love it too! December 3, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the trick... We have a wide hallway connecting the dining room and the family room (where the baby plays). So while I love my dog, my wife hates dog hair on the baby even more…this product fit the bill – a sturdy, moveable barrier that works well with the décor. Love the fact I didn’t have to drill holes or attach anything to the walls! December 2, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best dog gate ever This dog gate is the best we have ever used! It is beautiful, easy to move, and versatile. We had purchased one, and loved it so much, we bought another to use in another room. The gate does not harm walls or floors, yet it is heavy enough to keep our dogs from trying to move it. The gate is easy for people to step over or move out of the way. Very well made and durable. December 1, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great gate! Had trouble finding a gate wide enough to go across our kitchen area that didn't need to be screwed into the wall/cabinets.... This gate is wide enough and looks great too! November 27, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product Looks great, perfect height, easy to pass through, well made, sturdy, works well and was a good choice. November 13, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Perfect This is such an attractive barrier. It is easy for us to fold, to move and for the two-legged folks to step over. November 11, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cool Barrier Sturdy, beautiful & the assembly was truly "mild". November 11, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice piece We really enjoy our new gate. It looks beautiful in our home and is very functional. It does a great job keeping our little rescue animals safe and sound. November 10, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gates for my little dog I have a 5 month old mini dachshund and needed gates to keep her contained while I work during the day, so I don't have to chase all over the house after her. These gates are great quality. They are very easy to assemble, sturdy and look very nice. I would highly recommend them to anyone with a small breed dog. October 21, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product; great service This product is great. This is the fourth freestanding pet barrier we have purchased from Frontgate, as we have two homes. They work perfectly, but even more importantly, they are beautiful to look at. Most pet barriers are ugly and you would want to hide them when guests are coming. These are a lovely addition. The service at Frontgate is top notch as well. Thanks for your high-end merchandise with online convenience. October 8, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Purchase We received our new gate in a very timely fashion. According to my husband who was the installer, the installation instructions were great! The gate works exactly as advertised. It is very solid, the attention to detail is great and it looks like furniture; not a pet gate! October 7, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! The barrier was easy to assemble, and it looks really nice between the family room and kitchen area. It sure beats the cardboard "fence" I was using to keep the puppy in her space. Once I realized that I'll be corralling the dog often, this was the perfect solution for the large opening between the two rooms. It's easy to hop over, and it is very attractive. October 6, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by looks great! We used to have a plastic gate that was ugly, too high to step over and a pain in the neck to remove. This gate is sturdy, a convenient height and doesn't scuff the walls; plus, it looks great. October 3, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice This gate works so well and it goes with any decor. It is not the usual gate that you have to struggle with to stay in place. I have small dogs and they will not go over this gate. I have had compliments on how nice it looks. It was easy to put together and I didn't need any tools, packaging was very well done. September 26, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy, attractive pet barrier Not only does this pet barrier and gate blend in with the wrought iron in my home, but it contains my 75# rambunctious dog from areas where he is unwelcome. Because it is freestanding, there is no damage to adjacent walls. Minimal, easy assembly! September 24, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by great gate great gate, allows easy entry for me but keeps out my large dog. Looks nice--not like a baby gate September 23, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Constructed and Stylish Pet Barrier We love the look of these gates! Better than the plastic ones you get at the pet store! We can easily walk over them and it keeps our Yorkie and Maltese out of certain rooms! It doesn't do much for the Bearded Collies, they step right over them, but they behave in the house. September 23, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Pet Gate Looks great and fits in with home decor. Very sturdy and easy to assemble. Bars are close enough so even a small puppy cannot get through. Easy for kids and adults to step over. Great purchase. September 15, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best ever for my small Havanese Tried many products, all failed to contain my two Havanese in the area they are allowed in, Somehow, these jump prone 2 year olds consider this insurmountaolbe, cannot push aside with noses and are kept out of the formal areas of the house...which they consider "outside" and calls to the carpet clearners have stopped! Great, heavyweight product. September 12, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Purchase This is a solid, good looking product that so far is working for three large young dogs. It is very attractive unlike most doggie gates I've used and is more durable than some other nice looking wooden gates I've used. September 10, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for dogs and our carpets We have an elderly Westie. The freestanding barrier is perfect to put across the stairs to block her from the slippery basement steps. It looks nice and is very effective. September 8, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product/Great Service Far superior to any other pet gate we could find - in quality and in features, e.g., step-over height and no need for wall mounting. Also great service from Frontgate. September 6, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Buy This gate was a saving grace for us. Our goldendoodle puppy made an olympic sport of jumping our previous gate and following us upstairs. This new gate is high enough that she no longer attempts the jump. It is nice looking, durable, easy to set up, and of great quality. We were worried about a large gate being an eye sore, but this gate looks like a quality piece of furniture that does not detract from our home decor. Thank you! September 5, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great quality and easy to assemble! This barrier is exactly what I was looking for. The quality, color and assembly are all great! September 3, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great solution for our dog. This is a great-looking, sturdy, and easy to assemble dog fence. Even though our dog hates it, we love it! September 1, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by good Works great. Exactly what I expected. High quality product. I ordered a second one. September 1, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freestanding Dog gate I am very happy with the freestanding gate I ordered. I like the ease of moving it without having to dissassemble everything. The gate is large enough to move thru yet keeps the pets in the area intended. I reccommend this to anyone with pets trying to keep them in a pet friendly area. It was also very easy to assemble. August 31, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by dog barrier We have a large, happy, frisky Akita mix rescue dog that knows how to open our lever handle doors. He liked to meet us in the garage when we came home and would jump up on the car door before we could open it. This barrier is the perfect solution for us. Even though it's not high, we put it in the hallway leading up to the garage door and Joey makes no effort to jump over it. It's PERFECT! We no longer have to drag things in front of the door so he can't open it. August 29, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freestanding barrier 20" We love it...it fits well with decor and keeps the pup enclosed : ) August 27, 2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Large Pet Gate We purchased 2 gates from Frontage for 2 separate areas. The gates match all of our decor and blend in nicely as they are in focal points of our home. The smaller wall mounted gate is wonderful and when set up correctly will swing shut on it's own. The 34" freestanding gate fits the space nicely but it does not shut on it's own so if my 11 and 14 year olds pass through it, they rarely stop to shut it and all 3 dogs push through it into our formal living space and upstairs where we don't want them. It takes some effort to shut the door. You have to pull back and lift. For this reason, and this reason only I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5. August 21, 2016
  • 2016-10-30 T05:25:52.186-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_375, tr_375
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 13 next>>
(42 Questions : 85 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers
why does it say not recommended for stairways
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
5 months, 4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Probably for liability/safety reasons you would not want this at the top of stairs. At the bottom, it would probably be okay. You do need to have use of your hands without debilitating arthritis to unlatch the gate. You use your thumb to unlock it by sliding the lock mechanism sideways, then you lift up the door slightly to uplift the pin at the bottom; you can do this in a smooth motion with one hand. It will self-lock if allowed to close by itself; it will also "rest" closed enough without locking if you appose the door gate gently.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
4 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DecorHound is loaded.
Additional information about DecorHound could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item should not be placed at the top of a staircase, and should be put far enough away from the bottom that your pet will not try to jump over it.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
How do you order the actual 34 inch item advertised since it lists three sizes and only lets you select the 20 inch height options for purchase?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
This product is very confusing. It's called a 34 inch gate. The dimensions list 3 gates. One is 34 inches high and 55 - 68 in. width. The other two are 20 inches higher with varying widths. However, you can only select one of the two 20 in high gates to order on this page. How are customers supposed to order the 34 inch gate advertised in the picture?
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. To order this gate simply select the quantity from the drop down and the then the first "Add to Cart" button. The 34" gate only comes in one size, so there is no "Choose Size" option for this gate as there is for the 20" gate.
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
20-inch Freestanding Barrier
 
2 answers
does the 20" freestanding barrier have a gate or is it step over ?
Customer avatar
by
florida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about userunfriendly is loaded.
Additional information about userunfriendly could not be loaded.
#30191
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
florida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about userunfriendly is loaded.
Additional information about userunfriendly could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for interest in the 20-inch Freestanding Barrier. This barrier does not have a door; it is low enough to step over.
1 year, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It's a step over - there may be another design that has a gate, not sure...
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about CUx2 is loaded.
Additional information about CUx2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
3 answers
Is this more of a black or a brown?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about renedawn is loaded.
Additional information about renedawn could not be loaded.
Looking for glossy black to match our stair railings. Thanks!
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about renedawn is loaded.
Additional information about renedawn could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
It is not black - or glossy. Very nice - deep rich brownish hue.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item has an oil-rubbed bronze finish; it has a darker distressed finish over the bronze colored frame.
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
More of a brown; technically, it is a "bronzed" finish.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
4 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DecorHound is loaded.
Additional information about DecorHound could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers
Horizontal opening at base of door
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mojoken is loaded.
Additional information about Mojoken could not be loaded.
What are the dimensions of the opening at base of the door itself? Is an adult cat likely to get through it?
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mojoken is loaded.
Additional information about Mojoken could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. The horizontal openings on the door are approximately 2"H.
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Answer: 
I am not in front of my gate at this time, but I do have three cats and they can not get through unless the door itself is opened.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 next>>
  • 2016-10-30 T05:25:26.386-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
2 3 next>>
Product:30191-20-inch Freestanding Barrier
The Frontgate Credit CardNow Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]