Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
20-inch Freestanding Barrier 4.7 5 317 345
Good looking, sturdy gate This gate is very nice looking as compared to other "cheap" plastic gates. It's easy to assemble and is pretty sturdy as well. It's holding my 12 week old Golden "in" nicely but the idea is that it'll continue to be sufficient for when he's full grown. I'm pretty confident that it will work fine. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I wish it was built such that the door would swing open both ways. I purchased another matching exanding gate that fits in a standard doorway and the door on that swings both ways. It's more convenient to use that way. January 21, 2011
Quality Product Quality materials, very stable, and easy to assemble. January 8, 2011
Just what I needed Exactly as described and easy to put together. Looks great with the furniture... much more tastefully designed than the other dog gates I have used throughout the years. I'm also pleased that I was finally able to find a gate wide enough for my needs. January 6, 2011
Now happy with gate After a second attempt, the gate is finally together and we are happy with it. First attempt had a wrong part!!! December 23, 2010
Pet barrier I like this item and have two of them. However now you advertise a cheaper white one and it may be lighter in weight. The two I have are a bit heavy to move and that is what I do, move them when I have company. My dogs are small and therefore I do not need the rod iron one. On the other hand they are very attractive and are not noticed right off when you come into the house. MUCH better than the kind you attatch to the walls either through screwing or pressure bolts. I would reccomend this to people with all dogs including large but not agressive dogs. I have given this item a rating of four and that is because I would like the hatch to be a bit easier to work. BUT if you had a dog that could push and jump up you would like it just the way it is and would rate it a five. November 18, 2010
Quality Item This is a high quality item - but it would be much more useful if it were more versatile in sizing smaller. October 7, 2010
Looks and Functionality I'm very happy with the purchase of the freestanding pet gate. It is attractive, functional, and it really has prevented my dog from getting into restricted areas of the house. The only improvement/change I would make is to change to a latch gate lock instead of the buttons which necessitate lifting the gate and then sliding the lock in. Other than that, I am really happy with the purchase. August 4, 2010
Great Gates!! Ordered one, it was so attractive and easy to use that we ordered another one for upstairs....Great for our two small dogs... July 17, 2010
great pet gate great purchase, beautiful addition to my home. Unfortunately, it's not long enough and there are not any extensions for it. Had to add some baby gates to it to make it work. Still love it. Wish they'd add extensions. Would buy them. July 3, 2010
free standing dog gate It is nice looking and works fine only one problem in assembling this item. One side was fine but the other had a problem lining up the pre drilled holes to stabilize it. the insert on the front panel would not accept the bolts to secure the side panel on one side of the gate. June 13, 2010
Practical/Pretty Sturdy It's perfect for small/medium size pet. It's sturdy and no need to drill holes in the walls. It was easy to put together and easy to use for all members of the family. The product looks elegant and good quality of the paint, it blends in nicely in our home. May 14, 2010
Great Problem Solver For anyone wanting a substantial pet barrier in a wider opening, while allowing easy passage for both adults and children, this is the answer. The design is clean, width is adjustable, and the color is softer than a harsh black, working well with my off-white decor. The latch mechanism was difficult to manage for my 5-6 year old grandchildren until they became familiar with it, but the gate otherwise operates easily. May 13, 2010
I was so pleased to find this freestanding gate when we were getting ready to bring home a new puppy. It's substantial, easy to move and adjust, and very nice looking. Be warned, though, that a small puppy can wiggle through the rungs! I wouldn't have believed it if I hadn't seen it with my own eyes, so if you're considering this gate for a small dog I'd suggest you make sure he'll be contained before you leave him alone. I was able to adjust the gate width which overlapped the two sides and this solved the problem until he grows a bit. Otherwise I'm extremely happy with this gate! May 4, 2010
Pretty Pet Gate I was very happy with the appearance of this pet gate. Its also very sturdy and well constructed. I have 3 small dogs and triplet babies, and this is not my first pet gate, but definitely the prettiest. My only complaint about it is that on the gate it says "do not use around children" or something close to that, and the description on the website mentioned nothing about that. I purchased this to separate my dogs from my babies, but now just use them in other areas other then i had originally intended them for. Overall, still very happy with the purchase. April 23, 2010
good because we have extra wide hallways and its low. and still decorative April 22, 2010
Great for small dogs This was very easy to assemble and is very sturdy. I only downgraded it because you can't tell from the photos, but one side (without the gate) sticks out 6.5 inches (which I'd expect for support), but the other side sticks out 12 inches, which I never expected and it really sticks out too far either in one room or the other. Also, if you buy it, buy some protective adhesive pads so if you need to move it, it doesn't wack your walls or doors, as it really is heavy/sturdy. My Yorkies (9 pounds each) cannot jump over this... it is a perfect height as we can step over it easily. April 22, 2010
Great barrier I purchased both the 20" free standing barrier and the 36" free standing barrier. I love them both. The gate however on the 36" barrier is a little hard to open and close. If I juggle it and lift it, I can get it open but it is not easy. Other than that, it is attractive, heavy, and easy to assemble and disassemble for storage. January 26, 2010
36" freestanding gate Assembly on this product was easy and quick This is a well-made, hardy, heavy-duty gate. But it is not so heavy that you cannot move with ease..I have a 140 lb Irish Wolfhound that I want to keep contained and it works great. December 27, 2009
The product is a really nice addition to our home. I think it makes a wonderful statement instead of make shift barriers. I do wish it came in a 4 foot size for an additional area in my home. December 9, 2009
Pleased Lower enough to just step over. Better looking than the old child gate we had been using. Finish looks more black than aged bronze Note if your opening is right at 40" and you are considering going with the bigger of the two, you will need need a 41"-42" opening to bolt both the panels together. If you are not concerned about bolting the two panels together do not be to worried as to panels will stand securely on their own. November 29, 2009
good looking and well made Loved the quality of the freestanding barrier, and the fact that I was able to buy it for an opening over 5 feet wide. Wish, though, it was made to incorporate a gate that I could walk through, rather than walk over it or move it. When you get older, with back problems, lifting your legs or moving the gate is problematic. But it is very well made & looks rich. October 31, 2009
Very nice We have gotten lots of complements on the gates b/c they look SO much better than the ones sold at a pet store. Only suggestion I would make is that it would have been nice to have the same width that we got but with an increase in the height b/c we have a big chocolate lab that could just jump right over them if he really wanted to or if he was misbehaving. September 9, 2009
Gate lock faulty The lower sliding lock is not long enough to reach receptacle in frame. Your customer service rep is sending a replacement. October 30, 2014
Pretty but ineffectual Gate arrived in a timely manner & was easy to put together. Very nice looking but, unfortunately, doesn't contain my three dogs. Not sure who the escape artist is (Lab, Min Pin or Jack Russell) but they are able to move the gate. Tried putting it on carpeting and hardwood and bracing/weighting it with chairs and weights to no avail. I am considering bolting it to the wall since I have already thrown away the packaging and can't return it. If your dog is deterred by the physical presence of a gate, this may work for you. October 7, 2011
Not Sturdy enough The side rails that support the free-standing nature of the gate can be easily opened by my 20 lb tibetan terrior. They should somehow lock in place. As a result it is not satisfactory for our purpose of keeping the dog out of the living room. March 22, 2011
Too short for average size dog Wish they made this in a higher size!! I have the Freestanding one with the gate which is 36" H and love it!!. Have to return it! March 16, 2011
Best for small areas. The color matched what I was looking for but it was not wide enough for area I was wanting it for and it didn't come with the easy door I was hoping for either. I would have liked it a little taller also. I do prefer this material to the wood material and all the other colors out there for purchase. January 4, 2011
Looks good, wobbly on uneven floor. It looks and feels like a high quality product. Relatively easy to put together and is effective at keeping the dog on one side or another. Only issue, is that it is designed for a totally flat floor. Given my old house the floor has settled and so the gate rocks when touching it as the center bar and four foot pads do not all touch the ground. I am off to the hardware store to see if I can find additional pads to place under the feet to remedy. Would be nice if feet were adjustable. May 29, 2010
good pet barrier this item is of general good quality. However, the adjustable section does not properly align with bolt holes so only a partial attachment for the adjustable section was possible. April 22, 2010
It works It works to keep my two huskies from heading where I don't want them to go.... I do however have to say that the picture makes the coloring of this look a lot darker than it is. Mine has a reddish uneven tone that is not at all reflected in the picture. I love it for it's function, but I am definitely not a fan of the way it looks! February 4, 2010
  • 2015-04-19T09:09:41.723-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_345, tr_345
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 next>>
(36 Questions : 58 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
20-inch Freestanding Barrier
 
1 answer

Is the gate always on the far side of the fence?

Customer avatar
by
NJ
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LaniNJ is loaded.
Additional information about LaniNJ could not be loaded.
I notice the gate is on the far end of this. When expanded is it possible that part of the expansion would move the gate more toward the middle of the barrier? My doorway is about 60 inches. I live in the northeast so rooms are small and I have obstacles that go out about 6 inches in front of the door frame on both sides, so having the gate flush against either end is not ideal for me, but otherwise I love this gate. Just want to make sure it will work. Thanks!
1 month, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
NJ
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LaniNJ is loaded.
Additional information about LaniNJ could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36 - inch Freestanding Barrier with Walk - Through Door. I am very sorry, but this item is designed so that he gate will always be on the far end of the item.
1 month, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers

can the door be installed to open either in or out?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about rdsxroc is loaded.
Additional information about rdsxroc could not be loaded.
1 week, 2 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about rdsxroc is loaded.
Additional information about rdsxroc could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. We are looking into this information for you. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
5 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The 6-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door only opens on one side.
2 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer

This is exactly what am I looking for except I do not want the front part to exceed 50 inches. Is there a way to do that?

Customer avatar
by
Nc
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Rogersinnc is loaded.
Additional information about Rogersinnc could not be loaded.
Is it possible to put the gate together and reduce the length? If not is there another similar gate? The mesh one is nice
, but this one seems to be more substantial and likely to last longer than mesh.
3 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Nc
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Rogersinnc is loaded.
Additional information about Rogersinnc could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door can not be made smaller.
3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
20-inch Freestanding Barrier
 
1 answer

The width of my hallway is 104". Can I get one custom made or is there the ability to add an additional section to one of the standard gates?

Customer avatar
by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Joeylip27 is loaded.
Additional information about Joeylip27 could not be loaded.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
New York, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Joeylip27 is loaded.
Additional information about Joeylip27 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 20-inch Freestanding Barrier. Given the width of your hallway, we recommend looking at item 36443, our Six Panel Mahogany Pet Gate.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer

I need a pet gate that will extend approximately 93" (a little under 8'.) Also, it must be free standing. Could you accommodate?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Beff is loaded.
Additional information about Beff could not be loaded.
3 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Beff is loaded.
Additional information about Beff could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. unfortunately we do not have any freestanding pet gates that are as wide as you need.
3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
  • 2015-04-19T09:21:58.166-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
2 3 next>>
  • 2015-04-19T09:21:58.170-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
2 3 next>>
Product:30191-20-inch Freestanding Barrier
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???