Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 383 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great quality and easy to assemble! This barrier is exactly what I was looking for. The quality, color and assembly are all great! September 3, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great solution for our dog. This is a great-looking, sturdy, and easy to assemble dog fence. Even though our dog hates it, we love it! September 1, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by good Works great. Exactly what I expected. High quality product. I ordered a second one. September 1, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freestanding Dog gate I am very happy with the freestanding gate I ordered. I like the ease of moving it without having to dissassemble everything. The gate is large enough to move thru yet keeps the pets in the area intended. I reccommend this to anyone with pets trying to keep them in a pet friendly area. It was also very easy to assemble. August 31, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by dog barrier We have a large, happy, frisky Akita mix rescue dog that knows how to open our lever handle doors. He liked to meet us in the garage when we came home and would jump up on the car door before we could open it. This barrier is the perfect solution for us. Even though it's not high, we put it in the hallway leading up to the garage door and Joey makes no effort to jump over it. It's PERFECT! We no longer have to drag things in front of the door so he can't open it. August 29, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freestanding barrier 20" We love it...it fits well with decor and keeps the pup enclosed : ) August 27, 2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Functional and beautiful This gate is not only very functional but beautiful. I do not enjoy having gates inside of my home but needed something to contain my Doberman Pinscher. I bought this gate and also the matching, more narrow version. The iron quality is very pretty and has a slightly distressed look that matches my decor. I could not find prettier gates anywhere else. December 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Large Pet Gate We purchased 2 gates from Frontage for 2 separate areas. The gates match all of our decor and blend in nicely as they are in focal points of our home. The smaller wall mounted gate is wonderful and when set up correctly will swing shut on it's own. The 34" freestanding gate fits the space nicely but it does not shut on it's own so if my 11 and 14 year olds pass through it, they rarely stop to shut it and all 3 dogs push through it into our formal living space and upstairs where we don't want them. It takes some effort to shut the door. You have to pull back and lift. For this reason, and this reason only I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5. August 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent quality Impressed with the quality and style. I was really wanting something "sturdy" but freestanding (although it also comes with hardware to attach it to the wall). This fits the bill. Only taking off a star because I wish there was more flexibility in where the gate location is/direction of swing and having the option to connect the short side sections (the ones that support it) either direction. There is really only one way to put it together. The overall width is the only thing that can be changed. With that said, I went ahead and ordered a second one for another area of my house. November 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet Barrier This product was easy to set up and very nice looking in our home. I like that the gate can be easily moved to different locations/doorways. It is heavy enough to keep our small dog contained. The only drawback has been that there are times I want to keep the walk-through door open so our pet can move freely around the house with us. We have a small rock to prop open the door when we do this...I understand the reason of having the door swing closed but it would be helpful to be able to leave open at times. The width of the walk-through door opening is a little small but workable. A larger person may find it troublesome. Besides these small criticisms we have enjoyed using this pet barrier. Nice looking gate and functions well for us. September 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great gate! This gate is pretty and functions perfectly - that is, it keeps our dogs confined to one area. The gate that opens is heavy and a little difficult to open, but it certainly works and serves the purpose. I'm glad the quality matches the price! April 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 36" Dog Barrier Gate w/Walk-Through Door Well made/great quality gate! Works very well with our new puppy and decor blends wonderfully in our home. Only wish is the door lock clicks automatically upon closing, so there's no chance of our puppy pushing through the unlocked gate to get through. February 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good buy works well I purchased this gate to give my cats an area where my dogs wouldn't bother them. So far it has worked beautifully. Not hard to assemble. I set it up exactly where I had planned. I have three large sized dogs and they respect the gate. January 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good buy The only minor problem with the gate is that it swings only one way. It would be nice if the gate could be altered to either set the hinges on either side of the gate, or allow the gate to swing either inward or outward. Other than that, the product is excellent. June 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by just the trick We've got an 80lb giant schnoodle who loves to rush the door when the door bell rings, but she respects this gate. It was easy to put together, but sturdy enough to take a couple of paws, and light enough to maneuver around without totally disassembling. I don't know how it would hold if she jumped up on it, but its rigid enough not to buckle when you open the gate to pass through and the mechanism keeps its alignment without fiddling around to find it. January 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by really like it and works great for us! Love the flexibility of the gates. We purchased two a large and small one and they work well with our little maltipoo pup. We can easily step over them which makes it very convenient. One thing though: on the shorter gate the space between the last rail and the end of the gate it actually slightly wider than all the other spaces between rails! Our puppy noticed right away and could squeeze through. She is only three lbs right now so we are hoping she will grow enough that this will not be a problem. The spaces on the larger gate were not a problem and all were equal distances apart. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by dog gate Gate works well, very easy to put togeather and move. Dog is unable to move it by pushing on it. Only wish is that it was offered in different colors. The bronze color is ok, but doesn't really work with all white wordwook. August 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful but tricky gate I purchased this gate to spare my carpeted areas from our chihuahua. It has worked wonders. However the gate mechanism doesn't work as well as the gate I purchased for the narrower doorway. The other gate closes easily, but I have to manually lift this gate to close it. It would be great if they both functioned as easily. The gate is beautiful and matches my wrought iron stair railings, pairing it perfectly in my home. July 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Glad I bought it This pet barrier is just what we needed to keep our 90 lb. Lab safe and secure while we're away from the house. It is versitle and sturdy, even as a freestanding gate. The quality and design were both up to our expections. April 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Freestanding pet gate I have a friend who owns one, so purchased one myself. We knew it would be perfect for our new home. Wonderful service also. Thank you. February 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet Barrier with Gate Gate is sturdy, looks good, and works well. However, it REALLY needs levelers and levelers would greatly enhance stability. Considering the possible width of the gate, floor levels can change a lot. I have a 50-year old house, and some areas just aren't level. But I still like it a lot, and I plan to buy another one for a 2nd area in my house. February 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 20 Inch Freestanding Barrier Gates for Pets The gates are great if you do not have to move them frequently. I wish they had a door that could be opened for the pets to go through when we are home rather than having to move them. They are a little heavy. December 1, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Barrier, but one issue We purchased this barrier for our teacup Yorkie. Unfortunately the distance between the bars are not consistent. We have had to rig the barrier to close one gap that allows our dog to squeeze through the barrier. The look of the barrier is nice and the quality is nice. Just a tiny dog. November 30, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by great purchase I expected the framework to be wooden, not metal, however it still has an elegant look. Strong enough to keep small dogs from pushing it out. November 25, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good quality - Nice, sturdy and attractive at a decent price. Easy to assemble, and gate works well. No disappointments here. Will serve it's intended temporary purpose until puppy is house broken. March 9, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use! I have three dogs and this is very easy to set up and use daily. It is effective and good looking...another good purchase from Frontgate. March 4, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Functional but attractive This pet barrier does the job and looks pretty good at the same time. We use it to keep our two goldens in the room we are in rather than wondering into other rooms for a quiet "chew" on something. A great improvement would be the ability to change the width by a slide rather than having to change the bolts. This also would enable you to reduce it to the smallest width when not in use. March 4, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Keeps the dogs under control Works great to keep our dogs away from the main entryway in our home. Really happy that this product has a walkthru gate that is easy to use. February 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nicest I have seen one or 2 flaws I had been wanting to purchase this gate since I bought my house 6 months ago. It was on sale recently and I jumped on it. You won't find a nicer gate on any pet website. Only real issue i had was the spring loaded latch on the gate itself. You have to make sure each end of the gate is straight and not angled at all but even then it seems like the latch is a tad to long to close properly when it hits the gate. It's supposed to hit the angled metal on the gate and push the latch backwards. I found it locking at the bottom which is a different mechanism, but the top the latch wouldn't hit the angled metal on the gate because it was to long and wouldn't hit the angled piece on the other side. I took off the panel to the latch(which is nice that you can actually do that.) And put a small screw through the latch (it's plastic ) to keep the latch from sticking out as far. The gate works perfectly now. My dogs hate it. =) February 2, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Customer Service I purchased a free standing pet gate, as we recently got a new puppy that is very busy and we needed to corral him. The gate arrived and was very nice. Made of heavy material and very nice looking. I actually had to return this item as nowhere on the site did it specify this item was for animals UP to 18 lbs. Our puppy was already 20 lbs and growing fast - and would've been able to knock the gate over easily. I contacted customer service and with no hassle, they agreed to refund my total purchase price and even sent me a return label for the item. So even tho I did not end up keeping my purchase, I was very pleased with the quality of the item, the fast shipping AND ultimately their excellent customer service once I realized there was a problem. I appreciated it. February 2, 2011
  • 2017-01-18 T08:45:11.755-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_383, tr_383
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 next>>
(46 Questions : 90 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
20-inch Freestanding Barrier
 
1 answer
Regarding pet barrier 20 inches high (product # 30191)
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about sila is loaded.
Additional information about sila could not be loaded.
I like to buy two barriers (70 plus inches each) to put side by side in order to cover a 110 inches opening. The question is what is the space between the two barriers when placed next to each other? can my dog escape? is it more than 2 inches? thank you
1 month, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about sila is loaded.
Additional information about sila could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 20-inch Freestanding Barrier. Putting two of these barriers next to each other would not leave less than an inch gap; however, they are designed to be placed against a wall on both sides to add stability. Not having a wall on both sides a barrier will make it easier for a pet to push against and move the barrier.
1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
what is the weight of this item?
Customer avatar
by
PA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JPking is loaded.
Additional information about JPking could not be loaded.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
PA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JPking is loaded.
Additional information about JPking could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item is 36 lbs.
1 month, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
Is it possible to use 2 gates side by side?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mulberrychick is loaded.
Additional information about mulberrychick could not be loaded.
I have a very wide opening of 87". I was hoping to use 2 gates side by side to block this opening. Would this be possible?
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mulberrychick is loaded.
Additional information about mulberrychick could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. You can put two gates side by side; however, they will not be as stable due to only one side being against a wall.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
How about cats?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about CherylML is loaded.
Additional information about CherylML could not be loaded.
Are the spaces small enough that a cat cannot get through?
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about CherylML is loaded.
Additional information about CherylML could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. There are 2" gaps between the bars. The size of your cat will determine whether it can fit through or jump over this gate.
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
3 answers
why does it say not recommended for stairways
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Probably for liability/safety reasons you would not want this at the top of stairs. At the bottom, it would probably be okay. You do need to have use of your hands without debilitating arthritis to unlatch the gate. You use your thumb to unlock it by sliding the lock mechanism sideways, then you lift up the door slightly to uplift the pin at the bottom; you can do this in a smooth motion with one hand. It will self-lock if allowed to close by itself; it will also "rest" closed enough without locking if you appose the door gate gently.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DecorHound is loaded.
Additional information about DecorHound could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We have ours at the top of two steps from dinning room to living room and it works perfect
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dograiser is loaded.
Additional information about dograiser could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item should not be placed at the top of a staircase, and should be put far enough away from the bottom that your pet will not try to jump over it.
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 next>>
  • 2017-01-18 T08:45:13.421-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
2 3 next>>
Product:30191-20-inch Freestanding Barrier
The Frontgate Credit CardNow Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]