Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 371 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best gate for very large dogs This is the 2nd gate like this that I have purchased as I now need the 2nd gate to keep my 3 extra large dogs (St Bernard, Great Pyrennees, and Aussie/German Shep Mix) out of other areas of the house. The 1st barrier/gate was purchased 4 yrs ago and still looks/works great. I have purchased other barriers in the past, and this is the best one so far. Price is completely worth it. These look nice too. April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best gate out there This gate was my umpteenth try at a sturdy but nice looking pet gate for my Shih Tzu...and it was a homerun! I tried tension mounts (from other brands), accordion-style free-standing and walk-through gates. This one is the sturdiest and nicest looking. It is worth every $. March 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Gate this gate is so awesome that I was able to use it outside between my hedges. I am going to order two more. Cheaper that having someone install gates!! March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Purchase This gate works great to keep our dog from going down stairs. This gate is the perfect weight so that our dog can't move it around. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good choice I have tried another free standing gate but this one is the best looking and very sturdy. The pass through door makes it so convenient. It also does not mark up the walls. March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! We have 3 dogs, a German Shepherd (large dog), an American Eskimo (medium dog) and a Boxer mix (small dog). We had two of the old gates screwed together to make a big one. We needed a larger opening gate to go across the kitchen so we decided to buy this one. We absolutely love it! It's easy to install and easy to use. Absolutely love the door on it, which sometimes we leave open and the little dog will put her nose in it and open the door. Dogs seem to love it too and stick their noses through it to say hello. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I wanted and needed My 4 month old miniature schnauzer figured out how to bat her paw at our previous gate and open it. After having the house painted, we did not want a gate that had to be permanently all ached to the wall, and this fence was, and is absolutely perfect. Highly recommend. February 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality quality quality Since I needed a pet gate for a wide opening I was prepared to spend over $100. I was quite pleased when I realized I could get this nice iron gate for the same or less than some of the wooden gates I was considering at other sites. I placed my order on Sunday and it was delivered on Thursday. I was extremely impressed with how well it was packaged. It was well wrapped and padded so it arrived in perfect condition. It is even nicer than I was expecting and is an attractive solution to to keeping my grandpup out of my dining room thus saving my expensive carpet! February 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate! I have a little Papillion that managed to either jump or scooch around all the free standing gates I'd bought. This one has held up to the Bandit test. It was easy to put together and well worth the money! February 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't be more pleased I ordered 2 freestanding barriers in different sizes. I was amazed at how quickly they arrived and the quality of the merchandise. They work perfectly, are just the right height for ease of passage and aesthetically appealing. January 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not only a great looking divider but sturdy! We purchased 2 of these pet barriers. One for the "box" doors leading into the living room from the den and one for a Kitchen doorway leading into the dining room. We have 3 Labs and these 2 barriers certainly do the job. They are sturdy, good looking, and allows the dogs to see what's going on in the other rooms without them making a nuisance of themselves. They blend in well with the other furnishings. January 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate This product is great - looks good, high quality manufacture, and very easy to assemble. Plenty tall enough to keep dogs from jumping on or over it, and the gate makes it very convenient for humans. Highly satisfied! January 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice gate Solid,easy to assemble, came quickly after ordering. We also got the spring loaded gate for the smaller opening in the kitchen. January 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smart purchase Stylish, durable gate. We got our gate just in time for Christmas and our guests loved them and wanted to know where we purchased our gate. More importantly, our precious pets know their boundaries. January 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best ever! Finally! I have been through so many wooden gates that just don't hold up from other companies. This matches my theme also in our room we block off from our small dogs. Sturdy and nice looking. I will come back again to shop at Frontgate. January 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by dog gate Great quality, sturdy, looks nice. The only thing that is a little tricky is the way you lift the gate to open it. I couldn't find anything that I liked better, or that was wide enough for the area we are using it for. Over all a great purchase. January 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog gate works great Because this gate is going to be a part of the interior of our home for a number of months, we needed it to be not only sturdy (a growing Samoyed) but also attractive and of high quality. This product did not disappoint, and we are very pleased with it (once we remembered it was there and no longer ran into it in the dark!). The only aspect of it we wish were different, is if the gate could be 6" wider for easier pass through. December 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 20 inch pet barrier Terrific fence. Looks nice, and easy to expand or shrink with a few screws. Short enough to step over easily so you don't have open and shut a gate as in the taller fences. And can be moved easily to let a dog in or out. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by pet barrier This freestanding pet barrier with the walk-through door is amazing. Not only is it functional, but it is very attractive and fits in with our decor. We are using it on our front porch. If we needed another 'barrier' I would not hesitate to purchase another. Excellent price, super delivery and comes in different styles. Love it! December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We'll worth it Sturdy and great looking! We bought 3 sets and love them. November 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Decorative and functional This gate is a beautiful rubbed bronze color that matches the other fixtures in our home perfectly! The fact that we can easily adjust the size and pick the gate up and move to different areas of the house makes gating our new puppy a cinch! I love that it's freestanding and you don't have to install any hardware on the side of your wall. With a brand new puppy and a brand new home, I knew we were going to need to restrict her access to certain areas of our house. I wasn't thrilled about having a tacky plastic or metal gate always set up in our entry way. This gate adds a touch of class and a great deal of functionality. We get many compliments and definitely recommend the product to anyone who has a dog, but also enjoys retaining the look and feel of their living space post-pup. November 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by More Than Just a Pet Barrier Although designed and marketed as a barrier for pets, we decided to give this product a try for our two grandchildren, who are just starting to walk. I read the reviews, and purchased this gate understanding that it would not be suitable for isolating a staircase due to the way the gate opens. However, with a minimal effort I drilled four additional holes in the gate, which has allowed us to set it up in a manner to safequard the grandkids from getting to the stairs, and the gate now opens away from the staircase. I also used the neat mounting plates supplied by Frontgate to make this gate so sturdy that they cannot even move it when they decide to "yank" back and forth on it. If you are the least bit handy, you CAN adapt this gate to keep the little ones off the stairs. Thank you Frontgate for manufacturing a product that was so easy to adapt to our needs. October 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier We couldn't ask for a nicer gate! Thanks Frontgate! October 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Could not be more pleased Absolutely beautiful – actually exceeded my expectations. Very study and well made. Very simple to assemble (minimal assembly required) - no tools required! September 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Gate Ever! I have had dogs all my life and suffered with those blessed baby gates that never fit the openings of the doors or span the large openings. These are not only easy to assemble but are so attractive they never need to be put away when company comes to visit. I can't believe I have waited this long to purchase them. September 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Success with 20-inch gate Needed a gate to keep our dogs in one part of the house. The 20-inch freestanding barrier did the trick. It looks nice, is durable, and goes with our décor. Also, it was easy to assemble. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Gates Sturdy, easy to put together and the perfect solution for keeping my dogs on the deck or out of a room. I would recommend them to anyone. The perfect temporary solution without having to install a barrier. I use mine in the house and out. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier Excellent product. Has helped us with a difficult situation that has been a problem for several years. Our dog barks less now and does not nip at your heels due to the ease of control the gate has given us. Great Job on this. thanks August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate! This was a great purchase, it looks nice and sturdy and keeps back two labs and a pug! I would highly recommend. July 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet gates The pet gates we purchased for our living/dining room area are perfect!! We could not be more pleased. We order four of the small gates to span across our foyer entry into the formal areas and they fit in perfectly with our decor and look as though they were meant to be there the entire time. If you are looking for simple, stylish gates to separate your pets from areas within your home, I highly recommend these pet gates. They are very easy to assemble and very sturdy. July 22, 2013
  • 2016-09-23 T05:19:25.227-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_371, tr_371
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>
(42 Questions : 85 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers
why does it say not recommended for stairways
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
4 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Probably for liability/safety reasons you would not want this at the top of stairs. At the bottom, it would probably be okay. You do need to have use of your hands without debilitating arthritis to unlatch the gate. You use your thumb to unlock it by sliding the lock mechanism sideways, then you lift up the door slightly to uplift the pin at the bottom; you can do this in a smooth motion with one hand. It will self-lock if allowed to close by itself; it will also "rest" closed enough without locking if you appose the door gate gently.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DecorHound is loaded.
Additional information about DecorHound could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item should not be placed at the top of a staircase, and should be put far enough away from the bottom that your pet will not try to jump over it.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
How do you order the actual 34 inch item advertised since it lists three sizes and only lets you select the 20 inch height options for purchase?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
This product is very confusing. It's called a 34 inch gate. The dimensions list 3 gates. One is 34 inches high and 55 - 68 in. width. The other two are 20 inches higher with varying widths. However, you can only select one of the two 20 in high gates to order on this page. How are customers supposed to order the 34 inch gate advertised in the picture?
7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. To order this gate simply select the quantity from the drop down and the then the first "Add to Cart" button. The 34" gate only comes in one size, so there is no "Choose Size" option for this gate as there is for the 20" gate.
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
20-inch Freestanding Barrier
 
2 answers
does the 20" freestanding barrier have a gate or is it step over ?
Customer avatar
by
florida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about userunfriendly is loaded.
Additional information about userunfriendly could not be loaded.
#30191
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
florida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about userunfriendly is loaded.
Additional information about userunfriendly could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for interest in the 20-inch Freestanding Barrier. This barrier does not have a door; it is low enough to step over.
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It's a step over - there may be another design that has a gate, not sure...
1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about CUx2 is loaded.
Additional information about CUx2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
3 answers
Is this more of a black or a brown?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about renedawn is loaded.
Additional information about renedawn could not be loaded.
Looking for glossy black to match our stair railings. Thanks!
1 year, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about renedawn is loaded.
Additional information about renedawn could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
It is not black - or glossy. Very nice - deep rich brownish hue.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
More of a brown; technically, it is a "bronzed" finish.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DecorHound is loaded.
Additional information about DecorHound could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item has an oil-rubbed bronze finish; it has a darker distressed finish over the bronze colored frame.
1 year, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers
Horizontal opening at base of door
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mojoken is loaded.
Additional information about Mojoken could not be loaded.
What are the dimensions of the opening at base of the door itself? Is an adult cat likely to get through it?
1 year, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mojoken is loaded.
Additional information about Mojoken could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. The horizontal openings on the door are approximately 2"H.
1 year, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Answer: 
I am not in front of my gate at this time, but I do have three cats and they can not get through unless the door itself is opened.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 next>>
  • 2016-09-23 T05:17:05.573-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
2 3 next>>
Product:30191-20-inch Freestanding Barrier
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???