GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
1
5
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Frontgate
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
20-inch Freestanding Barrier 4.7 5 295 323
Pet Gate - bronze finish (antique) This gate is gorgeous! Simple to secure to opening, adjusts quite a bit for size, and looks so beautiful. I have a lanai I finished into a den and it's off the living room/kitchen...want to keep the two little dogs I have in their own area when I have company and this is perfect. It's classy and has upscale finishes and design. Material is first quality. A great value for the money - shipped right away, quick assemby. You can't go wrong w/this purchase. July 10, 2012
Execellent Pet Gate I love this gate! This is actually the second one I have purchased because I used the first one and was so impressed. I have two GSPs and a Chocolate Lab - this gate keeps all three adult pups safe from harm and from moving into areas of the house where they could be destructive.. It is sturdy, perfect height, adjustable and mimics the iron staircase in my entryway. I love that we can walk through the accessable door so my family doesn't have to move the barrier each time we want to pass on the other side. However, while it is robust and keeps the pets at bay it is still light enough to move easily when necessary. Great gate for staircases and entryways without doors. Love, love, love! July 10, 2012
Best Purchase ever We love this product. We bought it to keep our dogs from going upstairs, since that area is carpeted. We only use the front section and zip-tie it to the staircase. It truly looks like part of the stairs. If we need to take the gate down, we simply cut the ties and then re-install with new ones after we have finished our project. We have recommended this to many of our friends, once they realize it is not part of the stair case. July 7, 2012
Beautiful but tricky gate I purchased this gate to spare my carpeted areas from our chihuahua. It has worked wonders. However the gate mechanism doesn't work as well as the gate I purchased for the narrower doorway. The other gate closes easily, but I have to manually lift this gate to close it. It would be great if they both functioned as easily. The gate is beautiful and matches my wrought iron stair railings, pairing it perfectly in my home. July 5, 2012
It works It is used as a barracade to keep our daughter's dogs from going into the bedroom during the day. It works very well on a double door entry. June 7, 2012
Excellent extra long gate attractive and functiona This is an attractive freestanding barrier in our foyer. When we had a pet run through the foyer doors and get hit by a car, I was told of the Frontgate website. I ordered it immediately. It has given me confidence that once the pets go through the double doors to the foyer they are kept from running out the door when someone is out the door. It stops them from going any further. So happy I ordered it. Thanks for making it available. June 6, 2012
Terrific buy Very pleased with dog barrier...we liked it so much we ordered a second smaller one! June 6, 2012
Good product I purchased a dog gate and it is very good quality. I am very pleased with my purchase. This was my first time to order from you. June 6, 2012
great product I have been looking for a gate this size and finally found it. This gate is very solid and stable. April 23, 2012
Glad I bought it This pet barrier is just what we needed to keep our 90 lb. Lab safe and secure while we're away from the house. It is versitle and sturdy, even as a freestanding gate. The quality and design were both up to our expections. April 19, 2012
Quality and Beauty meet Function I finally gave in and purchased this gate as I have 3 Maltese that I like to keep in the back of my home. This gate was easy to assemble and is very impressive looking, as well as stable, sturdy and beautiful to look at. It blends with the decor in my home perfectly! Plus we can just step right over it when passing through. Truly a wonderful product! Fast delivery and great communication via email from Frontgate! Thankyou! March 11, 2012
LOVE this gate - beautiful and sturdy! I am beyond pleased with this gate - it is perfect for our new custom home! The material is high quality with a beautiful finish, and it's extremely sturdy and barely slides at all, even though it's on hardwood floors. The walk-through gate is perfect, only improvement would be if the manufacturer would create a way for you to hold the gate open. You can "kind of' keep it open but it does still swing partially closed about 1/4 of the way. However, it stays open enough for my dog to walk through when I want him to be able to do so. It looks so sturdy, he doesn't even try to move it and I doubt he could. We were concerned because the preferred hallway area was narrower than the narrowest setting, but we were able to "overlap" the hallway wall at the end of the hallway, and so the size ended up working fine. I am so glad I purchased this product and absolutely love it! (husband grumbled alot putting it together, though - can be a little confusing to assemble) March 7, 2012
20" Pet Barrier Gate Since we have a 70" opening between the kitchen & living room, it has been difficult to find a functional, attractive gate for our little Yorkie. This gate solved the problem, & we finally got rid of the hideous plastic one we were using. It's easy for us to step over, & just the right height for our cat to easily jump. My only wish would be that it could be slid open & closed instead of having to pull it into the kitchen when we want it open. Otherwise, we love it! March 7, 2012
Just Beautiful We purchased this gate to give our little ones roaming room while going out. Leaves only to hardwood floors for easy clean up if necessary. They have their beds to relax and rest yet roam if wish. Wanted to look good with home decor and was very pleased. Looks beautiful and does a wonderful job with our pets. Worth the investment and looks very rich with decor. A must have purchase for the pets we love. February 28, 2012
Freestanding pet gate I have a friend who owns one, so purchased one myself. We knew it would be perfect for our new home. Wonderful service also. Thank you. February 25, 2012
Very pleased. The free-standing gate went together with minimal assembly and easily fit the large opening. It is sturdy enough to keep my Labs out of the kitchen where they had the habit of grazing off the counters. February 24, 2012
Love, Love, Love this Gate! Very attractive, love the width flexibility and just the right weight. not too heavy to move easily, but sturdy enough to do it's job. definitely recommend February 15, 2012
Pet Barrier with Gate Gate is sturdy, looks good, and works well. However, it REALLY needs levelers and levelers would greatly enhance stability. Considering the possible width of the gate, floor levels can change a lot. I have a 50-year old house, and some areas just aren't level. But I still like it a lot, and I plan to buy another one for a 2nd area in my house. February 14, 2012
Love it Beautiful, sturdy. Compliments decor. Unobtrusive. Wish it can in a narrower size so I could have another for my enterance way February 14, 2012
Pet gate My dog chewed through my previous 2 pet gates. This all metal gate has stopped that. My 3 year old has even figured out the locking mechanism. Installing was a breeze and the multi configurations made for a custom fit. Awesome product!!! February 8, 2012
Too Heavy-Hard to Handle This is a great gate for a stationary object-it is way too cumbersome to move and must be stepped over. I thought it would be higher and my dog could have just walked over it-I believe it could be fine for a toy type dog February 7, 2012
small pet gate Perfect for small dogs, sturdy and good looking in the house. Wish it had a door however it is small enough to step over so no worries. Bars are close enough together so no fears about the little guys putting their head through. Good purchase February 2, 2012
Great Solution We have a large number of dogs many of whom have proven adept at opening or knocking over all the other gates we have installed. I have been trying to find a better solution plus one that would separate our front room with a large opening from the rest of the house. I really liked this gate as it matched some of the iron work on our stairs and the sturdiness and bar spacing looked good. My only concern was how well it would fit the opening and whether the gate would tip over when several dogs jumped up on it at the same time. Well, nothing to worry about. It fit perfectly with maybe a 1/4 inch gap on one end. It doesn't tip at all no matter how many "kids" jump up on it. It doesn't slide either as it fits so well in the door jamb. My husband really likes the finish and I like how easy the latch mechanism is to use and closes behind you easily. It was very easy to put together and we are just thrilled to have something that looks nice AND works instead of all the various plastic ones we have had to put up with in the past. So glad we saw it in the Frontgate catalog and decided to give it a try! December 31, 2011
Love this gate!! This was a purchase well worth the price! When buying online, I rely a lot on user reviews and ratings before buying, and I concur with all the other positive reviews for this gate. This gate was made of excellent quality; very, very easy to assemble- really easy; does not even compare to the flimsy pet gates sold at pet stores; is sturdy and heavy enough to not get knocked down; looks very elegant and not like an eye catching or eye-sore pet gate and like that it sits lower and not waist high; and this blends in perfect with my home. I have 2 dachshunds and they cannot jump over the gate as this height is perfect for small to medium dogs. I get lots of compliments on this gate when people come over, wanting to know where I got it. I cannot think of anything I do not like about this gate! This was my first time buying with Frontgate, and I was very satisfied with this company and purchase. This was also shipped to me really, really fast with basic standard shipping. Definitely would recommend this gate and was worth every penny. December 17, 2011
Great Barrier! I purchased two of the 36" freestanding barriers to keep our exuberant puppy somewhat contained at work and at home. My office is in an old industrial building; somewhere in my mind I knew the floors weren't level, but I did not think about how that would impact the use of the freestanding pet barrier...it wobbled so much it was almost impossible to open the gate and I was afraid it would topple over. There are no levelers on the bottom of the barrier. It would have been nice if it had been designed with the type of levelers that just screw out to the height you need to make it sit level on the floor. I am a creative thinker and a big fan of velcro, so I was able to make little adhesive velcro pads of varying thickness to level it out. I did not have any problems with the barrier we are using at home, so our floors must be level. It is very sturdy...once it is level. It seems well made, but we'll see how it holds up over time. I was hoping our cats might be able to slip though the bars to get past the puppy, but they cannot fit through. We have been using the barriers for about 3 days now and the puppy has not managed to leap over it or push it out of the way. The latch/gate is a little tricky for children to operate...our 6-year old is still having a little trouble with it. Overall, I am very pleased with the product and would highly recommend it. December 16, 2011
Fantastic - Expensive looking gate This all metal oil rubbed bronze gate is the best I have ever seen. It is going to be a permanent part of my house because the dogs cannot seem to stop wiping their mouths and dirty paws on my living room carpet! It fits to the 1/4 inch our 70 inch span. The gate is easy to use and shuts behind you in case you forget. 36" high makes it impossible for the dogs to get over. Really cannot say enough about this gate - just beautiful. December 8, 2011
Great purchase decision The opening between my foyer and great room is 66.3" wide. I had been using two baby gates to block off the foyer/living room/dining room from my little dogs. Not only did the gates not look very good but they would fall down with the slightest touch. This barrier is sturdy, does not have to have holes drilled into the wall to hold it into place, and matches the iron railings of my staircase. In addition, it allows my dogs to see through it and know what is going on in these other parts of the house even though they cannot be in the area. December 7, 2011
Nice gate! This is my first purchase from Frontgate and I'm very happy with it. I'd been using a white plastic pen to keep my puppy contained, and it's functional but who wants to look at white plastic all day? This actually fits with my home decor. We didn't use the screws and instead just place the two pieces together, which makes it super easy to move and walk through and re-size based on where we put it. December 7, 2011
highly recommend Great quality product that looks great too! Would highly recommend this item. Gates off area while looking very nice to match your house. December 7, 2011
Loved It! We needed a pet gate solution for our oversized doorway. This gate fit the bill perfectly. The gate is beautiful, sturdy, and easy to put together. The best part is that it is free standing and does not have to be attached to the wall. December 4, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>
(27 Questions : 48 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
20-inch Freestanding Barrier
 
1 answer

Can this gate be used on just a door area?

Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DCIINC is loaded.
Additional information about DCIINC could not be loaded.
The gate is needed only to block a door exit not a very large space.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DCIINC is loaded.
Additional information about DCIINC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The Standard size Freestanding Barrier can collapse to as small as 27"W, which would accommodate smaller spaces.
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JHFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JHFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer

How deep is the side panel of the 36in. gate minus the horizontal support leg?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Remi is loaded.
Additional information about Remi could not be loaded.
I have to partition off an entryway that spans the edge of a stairway so need to ensure that the side panel coverage is adequate to secure that space.
Thanks
4 weeks, 2 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Remi is loaded.
Additional information about Remi could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door is not recommended for use on stairways.
4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
20-inch Freestanding Barrier
 
1 answer

How does this gate stay in place? My dog pushes ours out and escapes!.

Customer avatar
by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Melinda59 is loaded.
Additional information about Melinda59 could not be loaded.
What keeps this gate from moving if pushed? Or from falling over if pushed? My guys are determined.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Melinda59 is loaded.
Additional information about Melinda59 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The Freestanding Barrier does have rubber feet on the bottom to help provide traction and make it less likely to slide across a hardwood floor. The gate also has feet that stick out on the front, to help prevent the gate from tipping over.
3 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JHFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JHFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer

are there extensions for the 36" freestanding barrier with gate

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about steely is loaded.
Additional information about steely could not be loaded.
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about steely is loaded.
Additional information about steely could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. In reference to your question, we do currently have a 20-inch freestanding barrier available. Item number 30191.
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about STFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about STFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer

Does this gate bend into different configurations?

Customer avatar
by
Chicago
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LBA22 is loaded.
Additional information about LBA22 could not be loaded.
I need a gate that can block off a curved space.
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Chicago
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LBA22 is loaded.
Additional information about LBA22 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. In reference to your question, this gate does not bend. We do apologize for the inconvenience.
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about STFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about STFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
0