Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 366 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific buy Very pleased with dog barrier...we liked it so much we ordered a second smaller one! June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product I purchased a dog gate and it is very good quality. I am very pleased with my purchase. This was my first time to order from you. June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product I have been looking for a gate this size and finally found it. This gate is very solid and stable. April 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality and Beauty meet Function I finally gave in and purchased this gate as I have 3 Maltese that I like to keep in the back of my home. This gate was easy to assemble and is very impressive looking, as well as stable, sturdy and beautiful to look at. It blends with the decor in my home perfectly! Plus we can just step right over it when passing through. Truly a wonderful product! Fast delivery and great communication via email from Frontgate! Thankyou! March 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE this gate - beautiful and sturdy! I am beyond pleased with this gate - it is perfect for our new custom home! The material is high quality with a beautiful finish, and it's extremely sturdy and barely slides at all, even though it's on hardwood floors. The walk-through gate is perfect, only improvement would be if the manufacturer would create a way for you to hold the gate open. You can "kind of' keep it open but it does still swing partially closed about 1/4 of the way. However, it stays open enough for my dog to walk through when I want him to be able to do so. It looks so sturdy, he doesn't even try to move it and I doubt he could. We were concerned because the preferred hallway area was narrower than the narrowest setting, but we were able to "overlap" the hallway wall at the end of the hallway, and so the size ended up working fine. I am so glad I purchased this product and absolutely love it! (husband grumbled alot putting it together, though - can be a little confusing to assemble) March 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 20" Pet Barrier Gate Since we have a 70" opening between the kitchen & living room, it has been difficult to find a functional, attractive gate for our little Yorkie. This gate solved the problem, & we finally got rid of the hideous plastic one we were using. It's easy for us to step over, & just the right height for our cat to easily jump. My only wish would be that it could be slid open & closed instead of having to pull it into the kitchen when we want it open. Otherwise, we love it! March 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Beautiful We purchased this gate to give our little ones roaming room while going out. Leaves only to hardwood floors for easy clean up if necessary. They have their beds to relax and rest yet roam if wish. Wanted to look good with home decor and was very pleased. Looks beautiful and does a wonderful job with our pets. Worth the investment and looks very rich with decor. A must have purchase for the pets we love. February 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased. The free-standing gate went together with minimal assembly and easily fit the large opening. It is sturdy enough to keep my Labs out of the kitchen where they had the habit of grazing off the counters. February 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love, Love, Love this Gate! Very attractive, love the width flexibility and just the right weight. not too heavy to move easily, but sturdy enough to do it's job. definitely recommend February 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it Beautiful, sturdy. Compliments decor. Unobtrusive. Wish it can in a narrower size so I could have another for my enterance way February 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet gate My dog chewed through my previous 2 pet gates. This all metal gate has stopped that. My 3 year old has even figured out the locking mechanism. Installing was a breeze and the multi configurations made for a custom fit. Awesome product!!! February 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by small pet gate Perfect for small dogs, sturdy and good looking in the house. Wish it had a door however it is small enough to step over so no worries. Bars are close enough together so no fears about the little guys putting their head through. Good purchase February 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Solution We have a large number of dogs many of whom have proven adept at opening or knocking over all the other gates we have installed. I have been trying to find a better solution plus one that would separate our front room with a large opening from the rest of the house. I really liked this gate as it matched some of the iron work on our stairs and the sturdiness and bar spacing looked good. My only concern was how well it would fit the opening and whether the gate would tip over when several dogs jumped up on it at the same time. Well, nothing to worry about. It fit perfectly with maybe a 1/4 inch gap on one end. It doesn't tip at all no matter how many "kids" jump up on it. It doesn't slide either as it fits so well in the door jamb. My husband really likes the finish and I like how easy the latch mechanism is to use and closes behind you easily. It was very easy to put together and we are just thrilled to have something that looks nice AND works instead of all the various plastic ones we have had to put up with in the past. So glad we saw it in the Frontgate catalog and decided to give it a try! December 31, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this gate!! This was a purchase well worth the price! When buying online, I rely a lot on user reviews and ratings before buying, and I concur with all the other positive reviews for this gate. This gate was made of excellent quality; very, very easy to assemble- really easy; does not even compare to the flimsy pet gates sold at pet stores; is sturdy and heavy enough to not get knocked down; looks very elegant and not like an eye catching or eye-sore pet gate and like that it sits lower and not waist high; and this blends in perfect with my home. I have 2 dachshunds and they cannot jump over the gate as this height is perfect for small to medium dogs. I get lots of compliments on this gate when people come over, wanting to know where I got it. I cannot think of anything I do not like about this gate! This was my first time buying with Frontgate, and I was very satisfied with this company and purchase. This was also shipped to me really, really fast with basic standard shipping. Definitely would recommend this gate and was worth every penny. December 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Barrier! I purchased two of the 36" freestanding barriers to keep our exuberant puppy somewhat contained at work and at home. My office is in an old industrial building; somewhere in my mind I knew the floors weren't level, but I did not think about how that would impact the use of the freestanding pet barrier...it wobbled so much it was almost impossible to open the gate and I was afraid it would topple over. There are no levelers on the bottom of the barrier. It would have been nice if it had been designed with the type of levelers that just screw out to the height you need to make it sit level on the floor. I am a creative thinker and a big fan of velcro, so I was able to make little adhesive velcro pads of varying thickness to level it out. I did not have any problems with the barrier we are using at home, so our floors must be level. It is very sturdy...once it is level. It seems well made, but we'll see how it holds up over time. I was hoping our cats might be able to slip though the bars to get past the puppy, but they cannot fit through. We have been using the barriers for about 3 days now and the puppy has not managed to leap over it or push it out of the way. The latch/gate is a little tricky for children to operate...our 6-year old is still having a little trouble with it. Overall, I am very pleased with the product and would highly recommend it. December 16, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic - Expensive looking gate This all metal oil rubbed bronze gate is the best I have ever seen. It is going to be a permanent part of my house because the dogs cannot seem to stop wiping their mouths and dirty paws on my living room carpet! It fits to the 1/4 inch our 70 inch span. The gate is easy to use and shuts behind you in case you forget. 36" high makes it impossible for the dogs to get over. Really cannot say enough about this gate - just beautiful. December 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great purchase decision The opening between my foyer and great room is 66.3" wide. I had been using two baby gates to block off the foyer/living room/dining room from my little dogs. Not only did the gates not look very good but they would fall down with the slightest touch. This barrier is sturdy, does not have to have holes drilled into the wall to hold it into place, and matches the iron railings of my staircase. In addition, it allows my dogs to see through it and know what is going on in these other parts of the house even though they cannot be in the area. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice gate! This is my first purchase from Frontgate and I'm very happy with it. I'd been using a white plastic pen to keep my puppy contained, and it's functional but who wants to look at white plastic all day? This actually fits with my home decor. We didn't use the screws and instead just place the two pieces together, which makes it super easy to move and walk through and re-size based on where we put it. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by highly recommend Great quality product that looks great too! Would highly recommend this item. Gates off area while looking very nice to match your house. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved It! We needed a pet gate solution for our oversized doorway. This gate fit the bill perfectly. The gate is beautiful, sturdy, and easy to put together. The best part is that it is free standing and does not have to be attached to the wall. December 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate! This is a great product that delivers as promised. I have tried different gates over the years to contain my yellow lab in the kitchen when she is indoors. I bought two gates, one for each entry to our kitchen. They work well, are beautiful and can be easily opened with one hand. They are better then any other gate I have tried and worth the price. November 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! I spotted this gate in a friend's newly remodeled home. She had a longer version to block off a formal area of her open floor plan. I liked the fact that the gate was functional yet very attractive. Also, it is free standing so you don't have to mark up walls and you can easily use it for a variety of purposes. I use it to keep my small dog (schnauzer) out of my dining room. This is more expensive than an average pet gate, but worth it because it is very attractive and unique. November 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stylish Solution This was a stylish solution to the problem of keeping my friendly dog out of my formal living room. Although my dog is very intelligent she is not always mannerly and does not always wait to go outside to "do her business". I can now keep her off my carpet and my home still has the appearance I desire. I love the look (and the results) of this formal gate! November 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Pet Gate!!! We have purchased several of the 20" freestanding pet gates over the years. I'm thrilled to see that they are back in stock at Frontgate! We have a 4 lb Yorkie who is a great little jumper and pretty strong. These gates work perfectly to keep him confined to areas in both our home and workplace. They are easy to step over, easy to clean and blend with most rooms beautifully. The one in our salon has caught the eye of many a client and we have sent them to Frontgate every time. They all rave about how much they love this gate in their homes as well. I wish they made a version that could handle the elements outdoors as well. November 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great gate Love the gates . Size is perfect for a medium dog. Looks great and dog wont chew on it.. October 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Quality These Barstools are wonderful Quality! They are similar to my old bar stools in style, only much sturdier. I purchased the Cherry finish for contrast to my light wood floors and cabinets. The wood is a nice, heavy, sturdy piece with the rush seats for extra comfort. The stools have larger seats to fit everyone comfortably. The footrests are a very nice touch. My previous stools and broken spindles from resting your feet on them. My entire family loves these barstools! Finally, I was so very pleased, there wasn't any assembly :) October 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Metal dog gate This is the best dog gate I've had. I've had several freestanding and installed dog gates, and this is perfect. I bought this to replace a wood freestanding dog gate from another website that virtually disintegrated a week after purchasing. I didn't want to spend the money on this one. It was only $50 more, and I should have just bought this one. It's sturdy, and I have up to six small-to medium-sized dogs in my home at any given time, none of which can push it out of place. The gate, with some practice, is easy to use. It is easily assembled (my 12-year-old son put it together). I highly recommend this gate. October 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better pet gate In the end, this is a great-looking gate that actually matches our staircase. At first, I was completely thrown by how it goes together, and I still don't love the layout. But, it's much better than wooden gates we've had in the past, and there is no way our clever dogs will get this one open! October 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs hate it . . . I LOVE IT ! ! My two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels grew big enough from puppyhood to finally at will scale the 21 inch wooden gate I used to keep them contained in the kitchen since they arrived here when they were two months old (just a matter of time!). After they destroyed five pairs of my wife's shoes, two computer headsets, one TV remote control and lots of small, miscellaneous items (including furniture legs and the usual things puppies love to chew on, not to mention bad toilet habits on the wall to wall carpeting), I finally gave in and accepted that they were not, in truth, old enough/mature enough to behave outside of the kitchen yet. . . so, I bought a 36 inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate from Frontgate . . . all is peaceful and under control once again as they are allowed into the rest of the house when we allow them to be, not anytime they decide to launch over the old gate and destroy something new that day. This, of course, does not make Cole and Misu very happy, but it makes me grin from ear to ear . . . I have regained control of the house once again until such time that they get big enough to scale this new gate (HA! Cavalier's?? Never happen!) Great quality, strong, good looking gate . . . fits in to our decor and looks great while keeping Bonnie and Clyde from doing what they seem to enjoy so much . . . being 9 month old pups! Thanks, Frontgate! Well done! October 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Purchase This is the perfect dog gate...easy to put together and very easy to use. Looks amazing as well! October 9, 2011
  • 2016-05-25 T05:31:22.171-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_366, tr_366
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>
(42 Questions : 76 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
why does it say not recommended for stairways
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
3 weeks, 3 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item should not be placed at the top of a staircase, and should be put far enough away from the bottom that your pet will not try to jump over it.
3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
How do you order the actual 34 inch item advertised since it lists three sizes and only lets you select the 20 inch height options for purchase?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
This product is very confusing. It's called a 34 inch gate. The dimensions list 3 gates. One is 34 inches high and 55 - 68 in. width. The other two are 20 inches higher with varying widths. However, you can only select one of the two 20 in high gates to order on this page. How are customers supposed to order the 34 inch gate advertised in the picture?
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. To order this gate simply select the quantity from the drop down and the then the first "Add to Cart" button. The 34" gate only comes in one size, so there is no "Choose Size" option for this gate as there is for the 20" gate.
3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
20-inch Freestanding Barrier
 
1 answer
does the 20" freestanding barrier have a gate or is it step over ?
Customer avatar
by
florida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about userunfriendly is loaded.
Additional information about userunfriendly could not be loaded.
#30191
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
florida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about userunfriendly is loaded.
Additional information about userunfriendly could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for interest in the 20-inch Freestanding Barrier. This barrier does not have a door; it is low enough to step over.
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers
Is this more of a black or a brown?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about renedawn is loaded.
Additional information about renedawn could not be loaded.
Looking for glossy black to match our stair railings. Thanks!
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about renedawn is loaded.
Additional information about renedawn could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
It is not black - or glossy. Very nice - deep rich brownish hue.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item has an oil-rubbed bronze finish; it has a darker distressed finish over the bronze colored frame.
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers
Horizontal opening at base of door
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mojoken is loaded.
Additional information about Mojoken could not be loaded.
What are the dimensions of the opening at base of the door itself? Is an adult cat likely to get through it?
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mojoken is loaded.
Additional information about Mojoken could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
I am not in front of my gate at this time, but I do have three cats and they can not get through unless the door itself is opened.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. The horizontal openings on the door are approximately 2"H.
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 3 next>>
  • 2016-05-25 T05:29:44.540-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
2 3 next>>
Product:30191-20-inch Freestanding Barrier
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???