Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

20-inch Freestanding Barrier

Pet ProductsHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
20-inch Freestanding Barrier is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 388.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than the picture This barrier is beautiful. It matches the my accessories. I bought it to keep 3 Llasas out of my dining room. They have not tried to get through it, so I have ordered another for the other entrance. Thanks Frontgate!
Date published: 2010-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Pet Gate / Beautifully Crafted I purchased this pet gate to coordinate with my interior decor; the quality, craftsmanship and durability are outstanding and second-to-none. I needed a gate wide enough to expand the width of my master bedroom double doors to keep my dogs in my bedroom without having close the bedroom doors at night. This gate offers distance that far exceeds any 'cheap plastic pet/baby' gates sold elsewhere. The gate is sturdy enough to keep my 3 Weimaraners in place; while offering the ability to expand the width of the gate if needed. The 'pass through' gate has a secure locking mechanism that provides 2 different latches for added convenience. Very heavy weighted unit; probably weighs about 50-60 pounds; it is well constructed, beautiful and looks very nice with today's decor. This was a splurge for a 'pet gate'; but it is one that will outlast time; I am very pleased with this purchase. It took only minutes to put it together and required no additional tools than the 'hexi wrench' that came with the unit. Thank you Frontgate for yet another amazing product!
Date published: 2010-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Gate We are very pleased with the quality and appearance of the dog gate. It blends in nicely with our furnishings and is very heavy duty - but easy to open the pass thru gate.
Date published: 2010-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product The Freestanding Pet Barrier was easy to put in place, looks great and the walk-thru gate is user friendly. Its much better than having to step over the 'fence' we had up before.
Date published: 2010-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well pleased We could not be more pleased with the pet barrier. It was so simple to set up and it looks great. I just wish I had received the 15% off offer for waiting so long before we had ordered a second lesser barrier from another source.
Date published: 2010-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful pet barrier with gate I am very satisfied with the pet barrier fence purchased at FrontGate. It nicely blends into the home decor and keeps my Golden Retriever in the kitchen whenever needed. We also liked the Freestanding feature and that we did not have to drill (optional) holes to keep it steady for our configuration. I highly recommend it for its beautiful bronze look and the decorating details.
Date published: 2010-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great furniture protector! Excellent and attractive barrier for keeping the dog away from scratching furniture. Very simple to use when not making permanent.
Date published: 2010-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it. The gate is perfect and looks like it was made for the area. It looks elegant and fits in with the decor. Would recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2010-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit This was just what i wanted, perfet fit, sleek looking and keeps the labs out of dinning room, So glad i made this purchase
Date published: 2010-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another fine product I liked the gate so much I got another one. It is made of iron and makes noise when knocked over by a person. Made puppy afaird but he got over it. I love the gate easy to use looks good and the puppy cannot chew. Thanks
Date published: 2010-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Thing We EVER Bought! We have a couple of wonderful dogs, one @100 pounds, but they are a bit rambunctious when we open the front door, whether to answer it, come in from shopping or just to take out the trash! After searching many, many sites we happened upon FrontGate. What a wonderful find! We bought the 36"H Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate and set it up immediately, took longer to unpack it than set it up! We are now able to answer the door, shop and come home without fear of them running into the street, and even have people over without them jumping on them. And the price was half what other sites wanted and the quality was not as phenomenal, we're sure. It is beautiful and we will be ordering another one for the back room area. You won't go wrong with this one!
Date published: 2010-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The 36" Freestanding gate was easy to install and serves the purpose perfectly. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2010-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product The pet barrier is exactly what I wanted. My opening was 54 inches and I needed a larger size from the standard one. This is perfect for the space and it has the gate I needed. The finish is a dark brownish coppery look. Installation took only a few minutes. I love it. My only complaint is that I had to wait for the back order.
Date published: 2010-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Gate Purchase The gate is very useful. We have it anchored at the top of a staircase. It blends in well with the rod iron banister. High quality materials.
Date published: 2010-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Gate This gate is well made and best of all beautiful. It is done in an oil rubbed bronze finish that matches the fixtures in our home - rather than an ugly white dog gate that would stick out like a sore thumb. I also like that it is free standing rather than using tension poles which would rub my walls. It is heavy enough that my bulldog and german shepherd cannot push it out of the way.
Date published: 2010-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from barrier gate I bought this gate for the safety of my greyhound as an added barrier in case the front door is open. The locks are good because they're not the squeeze kind of locks,which the occasional dog can figure out can be opened with his teeth! The locks are simple,but I can't see how a dog can open them. I'd recommend it and have. (only thing is,not it's on sale and I only just put mine together after buying it at the regular price!)
Date published: 2010-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful purchase I wish I had done this sooner. I had trouble with my dogs during rain and snow using our diningroom rug as a personal potty. Now I no longer have to worry. The freestanding barrier is beautiful and fits in so well with our house. It actually is very nice to look at. I don't mind having it there at all. I highly recommend this for anyone with small dogs. it really is great if you have open rooms.
Date published: 2010-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a very sturdy and nice looking gate. I purchased the taller gate also which i like even better. It would be nice to have this same style taller and width the same as the 20" gate. I have 3 rotties and they can jump the 20 " gate but it is in a place where I just wanted to block off a room. They have learned to respect the gate. Our taller gate is very sturdy and they can't get over or through it. It blocks our livingroom from the foyer so visitors don't have to get bombarded when they come in. It keeps the dogs from scratching the door also. The walls don't have holes because the gate is freestanding.
Date published: 2010-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gate! I love the look and size of the gate. Easy to move and walk over if you have to. I have received many compliments on the look of my gate.
Date published: 2010-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2010-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best color choice The heavy duty bronze gates blend beautifully with decor and look far superior to more expensive but cheaper looking wooden gates. The bronze gates are much more elegant looking than gold, brass, white, or light wood gates sold by other companies. This is the only company that sells this color. Very pleased.
Date published: 2010-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect solution The opening between my living and family rooms was too wide for any standard pet store gate. Even though this gate was expensive, it was wide enough to keep my dog out of the living room, so I decided to give it a try. It has a quality appearance, and is sturdy, and has solved my problem.
Date published: 2010-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase
Date published: 2010-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product We have used a variety of different pet gates over the years but wanted one that would look good in our home that did not need to be installed in a wall. This gate is tall enough to keep our dogs contained and the walk-through door is very easy to use. Much safer than stepping over lower gates. The metal is finished with a contemporary bronze look so it does not look institutional but is heavy-duty so the gate can't be knocked over and dogs won't chew on it. There is some assembly required. We had a couple panels in the wrong place or upside down but with so few parts it was easy to tell how to fix our mistake.
Date published: 2010-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No regrets on this purchase These gates do the job of keeping our dogs off the carpet and are not an eye sore like most white plastic gates. Blend in well with our warm decor.
Date published: 2009-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved the tree Our 10 month old cocker cannot keep her mouth off anything new. To save our tree, we blocked the room with the barrier. Works great! We can see the tree but she can't get to it. It looks nice, too.
Date published: 2009-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish Solution Our pug was jumping over our 21" pet gate and this 36" fence and gate is not only attractive in our home, it offers solid construction and a high quality gate for ease in use. This gate has brought calm to our home again!
Date published: 2009-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent dog barrier I searched the web for a few weeks trying to find a pet gate tall enough that my 50 lb. shep. mix could not jump over and that my 30 lb. puppy could not climb. I also wanted something that looked pretty in my home. This gate is perfect, it fits an irregular shaped entry into my kitchen where I keep the dogs when I don't want them roaming free. It is pretty and was easy to assemble. Thus far my 50 lb dog stands up against it, but he cannot push it down. I love it. I might purchase another to block off the laundry room.
Date published: 2009-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 20" Freestanding Barrier This is a wonderful product and very well made. Blends in beautifully with any decor and does not look like an institutional dog gate.
Date published: 2009-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This product is great in preventing our 14 year old dog from going downstairs to our finished lower level...and yet at a convenient height to allow us to easily and safely step over it onto the floor prior to going down the stairs. It is attractive, sturdy and doesn't require anchoring to our stairway posts or the wall...and has no gate to open and close everytime we go up and down the stairs. It has been a perfect solution for us!
Date published: 2009-12-03
  • y_2017, m_3, d_25, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_357
  • loc_, sid_30191, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

THE 40-&) GATE HOW DO YOU AJUST IT TO FIT A 4 ft or a 5 ft opening

Asked by: Anonymous
There are holes drilled along the top and bottom crossbars with metal pegs that can be inserted to adjust the length. Mine is extended to 64" and is still sturdy and cannot be knocked over.
Answered by: sandyo92691
Date published: 2013-10-21

Are there panels within the gate, is there a flexibility to it? What are the sizes of each panel, can I adjust it to a width of 60in?

Im wondering if I can have to at different angles and not just straight.
Asked by: Timber
You may be able to find out under product specs. but it def. would cover a 5' wide opening. We have ours in a 4' wide doorway and there is plenty of room for expansion in increments of 2.5".
Answered by: CUx2
Date published: 2016-10-22

What length are the side returns of this and also it appears the gate can be on either side .. correct? Can the gate be in the middle also?

Asked by: s2pilot
The side returns are exactly 11" long. We assembled ours about 11 months ago, but I don't "think" you can have the gate on either side. Also, the gate's placement depends on how much or how little you expand the gate. See my pic - mine is spanning a 55" width (with more room available), so it puts the gate more to the side). The gate will fall wherever it does, based on how wide you make the gate - it can't be changed. But this is an AMAZING product and we love it!!
Answered by: cnazanimals
Date published: 2014-11-08

what is the weight 0f the 70" barrier?

Asked by: bevejean
I'm not sure because we don't have a scale at home but I would guess +/- 12#
Answered by: CUx2
Date published: 2016-10-22

why does it say not recommended for stairways

isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
Asked by: tonys
We have ours at the top of two steps from dinning room to living room and it works perfect
Answered by: dograiser
Date published: 2017-03-11
  • y_2017, m_3, d_25, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_46
  • loc_, sid_30191, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:30191-20-inch Freestanding Barrier

20-inch Freestanding Barrier

34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door

Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]