Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

20-inch Freestanding Barrier

Pet ProductsHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
20-inch Freestanding Barrier is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 394.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful & sturdy We have a Prairie Style home and a German Shepherd who enjoys the run of the house. That said she can can also serve as a hazard when she is sound asleep in the hallway at night. The heavy weight fence is a beautiful way to ensure she still can patrol a portion of the house at night, but not be a danger underfoot in our nighttime area.
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Barrier Gate Very high quality barrier and gate. Heavy duty. We thought we would have to anchor it to the walls for our very rambunctious dogs, but it really stays put! The gate latch is a tad bit cumbersome, but better it be cumbersome than easy to open! Overall, it is the best gate and an incredible value!
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gates are great. The pet gates are a big improvement over the baby gates we have been using. They were extremely easy to assemble and are working great.
Date published: 2014-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect solution! Ordered 2 of these gates to block off areas of our house. They fit into the decor of our home and are easy to adjust and move as necessary. The best part is that we didn't have to drill hardware into the woodwork. Our dog is small so no worries about him jumping over, but we can easily step over the gate. Thank you, Frontgate, for having a product like this!
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Barrier Perfect, was just what we wanted and thought we would have to have a custom gate for this spot. Great looking, quality and was shipped quickly. Thanks Frontgate for another amazing product.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice product I was tired of having a child gate leaned up against the walls to keep the dogs from sneaking down the hall way. Every time I went to step over it, I would catch my foot and about break my neck when it pulled the gate down. I just needed a gate that could be free standing but that was not five or six feet wide...I just had a hall way entrance to block. I found this gate...heavy, durable material that was easily assembled. Very nice in appearance, actually complements the rustic decor of the house. The walk through gate is easy to use and we now don't even latch it, just leave it closed...the dogs don't try it and we can get through even with our hands full. I would definitely recommend this product.
Date published: 2014-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Barrier Very pleased with the looks, and performance of this gate, does what it should while looking good.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Gate. Ordered another one! Great product! Love this gate for our large doorways. We use it free standing although it can be attached to the wall if you choose. It is well made and can be adjusted to any size that is stated. Easy to assemble too. We use these to keep our medium/large size dogs out of our living room and dining room. Even though it states not for children, if we mounted to the wall, I would use for our grandchildren. The gate can lock and they would not be able to work the gate themselves.
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 36" dog gate I got this dog gate 3 or 4 days ago. It was very easy to put together. The trickiest part was getting the boxes up the stairs. The boxes are not really heavy just awkward because of their size. The instructions took me a minute to understand but once I figured them out it was very simple. These gates come with very solid mounting hardware so they can be freestanding or mounted. Bonus. The gaps between the rails are 21/2" wide. The gate swings in one direction. I have two miniature schnauzer mixes that weight about 12 lbs. each and stand about 27" tall on their hind legs and they go crazy when they see a dog. There is no way they are going to knock these gates over and I have them freestanding. These also look great in my opinion. Our home was built in 2006 and this metal looks great with our existing metal railing (which is brown) on our front porch(yes I'm using them outside even thought they are intended to be indoor). The gate closures don't feel heavy duty but they are adequate. I bought 2 gates at first and I now just bought another. Very happy with my initial purchase.
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet gate Oh my gosh, I absolutely love this gate. I have a Yorkie and he is a runner. Needed something that looked very nice and rich looking. I found it with this gate. It looks so very nice and looks so much better than I thought. If you are looking for a nice looking gate than look no further you have found it.
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sturdy and stylish pet gate There's nothing attractive about blocking a hallway with a pet gate, but at least this one is good looking and matches my decor. It is very sturdy. Although the dimensions say width of 54 3/4 to 68 1/2", even with a doorway opening of 50" I had to use the extension panel. That piece is required to attach the sides, so unfortunately the gate is heavier and not as clean-looking as it would be without the extension panel overlapping the main panel. It took a little practice to open the gate with one hand but now everyone can do it (except the dogs, of course).
Date published: 2014-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well-made This gate is solid, easy to assemble, and it looks good as a piece of furniture. It is a good solution for high jumpers, as my little Italian Greyhound is - she quickly negotiated 2 shorter gates before I got this one. However, she is also a skinny little thing, and managed to squeeze her body about half way through, when I caught her! So, sadly, I had to return it. But I would recommend it for dogs who cannot slink through a 2-inch gap.
Date published: 2014-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent--good for bigger dogs. These gates introduced me to Frontgate several years ago. I was hooked, after receiving these good-looking, tall, high-quality dog gates that allowed us to keep our pups contained. We still use them to this day and many people ask where we got them. They look a little fancier, which I'd hoped to find. Truly well-made.
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate Very nice free standing gate. Good value for the money. Heavy weight. Only complaint is that it doesn't stay open by itself but we rigged it to stay open. In the next design, you could add a latch.
Date published: 2014-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Gate you will ever buy This gate is wonderful. It is made very sturdy and I absolutely love that you can walk through it. I was able to put it together in about 20 min. The gate does not stay open on its own so I went to the hardware store and got a black hook that I tied on to the door and when I want to keep the door open I just hook it to the side. The best thing about this gate is the way it looks. Every person that comes in my house comments about how expensive looking the gate is.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Gate that Works I have been looking for a year for a good looking iron gate to block our young English setters from going down our very wide open staircase. We didn't want to have to attach anything to the stairs. When the pups grow up we can remove the gate. It works great and is easy for us to go through if we need to go downstairs. Definitely fits the bill.
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Gate Excellent! Love it.
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from doggie gate This gate is awesome. I have 2 small dogs but one of them can really jump. It keeps them secure while they can still see everything and be a part of the action. The gate opens easily and it looks super. It was also easy to assemble.
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gate for very large dogs This is the 2nd gate like this that I have purchased as I now need the 2nd gate to keep my 3 extra large dogs (St Bernard, Great Pyrennees, and Aussie/German Shep Mix) out of other areas of the house. The 1st barrier/gate was purchased 4 yrs ago and still looks/works great. I have purchased other barriers in the past, and this is the best one so far. Price is completely worth it. These look nice too.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased with the purchase.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best gate out there This gate was my umpteenth try at a sturdy but nice looking pet gate for my Shih Tzu...and it was a homerun! I tried tension mounts (from other brands), accordion-style free-standing and walk-through gates. This one is the sturdiest and nicest looking. It is worth every $.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate this gate is so awesome that I was able to use it outside between my hedges. I am going to order two more. Cheaper that having someone install gates!!
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Purchase This gate works great to keep our dog from going down stairs. This gate is the perfect weight so that our dog can't move it around.
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good choice I have tried another free standing gate but this one is the best looking and very sturdy. The pass through door makes it so convenient. It also does not mark up the walls.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! We have 3 dogs, a German Shepherd (large dog), an American Eskimo (medium dog) and a Boxer mix (small dog). We had two of the old gates screwed together to make a big one. We needed a larger opening gate to go across the kitchen so we decided to buy this one. We absolutely love it! It's easy to install and easy to use. Absolutely love the door on it, which sometimes we leave open and the little dog will put her nose in it and open the door. Dogs seem to love it too and stick their noses through it to say hello.
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted and needed My 4 month old miniature schnauzer figured out how to bat her paw at our previous gate and open it. After having the house painted, we did not want a gate that had to be permanently all ached to the wall, and this fence was, and is absolutely perfect. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2014-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality quality quality Since I needed a pet gate for a wide opening I was prepared to spend over $100. I was quite pleased when I realized I could get this nice iron gate for the same or less than some of the wooden gates I was considering at other sites. I placed my order on Sunday and it was delivered on Thursday. I was extremely impressed with how well it was packaged. It was well wrapped and padded so it arrived in perfect condition. It is even nicer than I was expecting and is an attractive solution to to keeping my grandpup out of my dining room thus saving my expensive carpet!
Date published: 2014-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate! I have a little Papillion that managed to either jump or scooch around all the free standing gates I'd bought. This one has held up to the Bandit test. It was easy to put together and well worth the money!
Date published: 2014-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't be more pleased I ordered 2 freestanding barriers in different sizes. I was amazed at how quickly they arrived and the quality of the merchandise. They work perfectly, are just the right height for ease of passage and aesthetically appealing.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not only a great looking divider but sturdy! We purchased 2 of these pet barriers. One for the "box" doors leading into the living room from the den and one for a Kitchen doorway leading into the dining room. We have 3 Labs and these 2 barriers certainly do the job. They are sturdy, good looking, and allows the dogs to see what's going on in the other rooms without them making a nuisance of themselves. They blend in well with the other furnishings.
Date published: 2014-01-13
  • y_2017, m_4, d_28, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_363
  • loc_, sid_30191, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

THE 40-&) GATE HOW DO YOU AJUST IT TO FIT A 4 ft or a 5 ft opening

Asked by: Anonymous
There are holes drilled along the top and bottom crossbars with metal pegs that can be inserted to adjust the length. Mine is extended to 64" and is still sturdy and cannot be knocked over.
Answered by: sandyo92691
Date published: 2013-10-21

Are there panels within the gate, is there a flexibility to it? What are the sizes of each panel, can I adjust it to a width of 60in?

Im wondering if I can have to at different angles and not just straight.
Asked by: Timber
You may be able to find out under product specs. but it def. would cover a 5' wide opening. We have ours in a 4' wide doorway and there is plenty of room for expansion in increments of 2.5".
Answered by: CUx2
Date published: 2016-10-22

What length are the side returns of this and also it appears the gate can be on either side .. correct? Can the gate be in the middle also?

Asked by: s2pilot
The side returns are exactly 11" long. We assembled ours about 11 months ago, but I don't "think" you can have the gate on either side. Also, the gate's placement depends on how much or how little you expand the gate. See my pic - mine is spanning a 55" width (with more room available), so it puts the gate more to the side). The gate will fall wherever it does, based on how wide you make the gate - it can't be changed. But this is an AMAZING product and we love it!!
Answered by: cnazanimals
Date published: 2014-11-08

what is the weight 0f the 70" barrier?

Asked by: bevejean
I'm not sure because we don't have a scale at home but I would guess +/- 12#
Answered by: CUx2
Date published: 2016-10-22

why does it say not recommended for stairways

isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
Asked by: tonys
We have ours at the top of two steps from dinning room to living room and it works perfect
Answered by: dograiser
Date published: 2017-03-11
  • y_2017, m_4, d_28, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_47
  • loc_, sid_30191, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:30191-20-inch Freestanding Barrier

20-inch Freestanding Barrier

34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door

Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]