Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Pet Products
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
20-inch Freestanding Barrier 4.7 5 321 349
Great Solution We have a large number of dogs many of whom have proven adept at opening or knocking over all the other gates we have installed. I have been trying to find a better solution plus one that would separate our front room with a large opening from the rest of the house. I really liked this gate as it matched some of the iron work on our stairs and the sturdiness and bar spacing looked good. My only concern was how well it would fit the opening and whether the gate would tip over when several dogs jumped up on it at the same time. Well, nothing to worry about. It fit perfectly with maybe a 1/4 inch gap on one end. It doesn't tip at all no matter how many "kids" jump up on it. It doesn't slide either as it fits so well in the door jamb. My husband really likes the finish and I like how easy the latch mechanism is to use and closes behind you easily. It was very easy to put together and we are just thrilled to have something that looks nice AND works instead of all the various plastic ones we have had to put up with in the past. So glad we saw it in the Frontgate catalog and decided to give it a try! December 31, 2011
Love this gate!! This was a purchase well worth the price! When buying online, I rely a lot on user reviews and ratings before buying, and I concur with all the other positive reviews for this gate. This gate was made of excellent quality; very, very easy to assemble- really easy; does not even compare to the flimsy pet gates sold at pet stores; is sturdy and heavy enough to not get knocked down; looks very elegant and not like an eye catching or eye-sore pet gate and like that it sits lower and not waist high; and this blends in perfect with my home. I have 2 dachshunds and they cannot jump over the gate as this height is perfect for small to medium dogs. I get lots of compliments on this gate when people come over, wanting to know where I got it. I cannot think of anything I do not like about this gate! This was my first time buying with Frontgate, and I was very satisfied with this company and purchase. This was also shipped to me really, really fast with basic standard shipping. Definitely would recommend this gate and was worth every penny. December 17, 2011
Great Barrier! I purchased two of the 36" freestanding barriers to keep our exuberant puppy somewhat contained at work and at home. My office is in an old industrial building; somewhere in my mind I knew the floors weren't level, but I did not think about how that would impact the use of the freestanding pet barrier...it wobbled so much it was almost impossible to open the gate and I was afraid it would topple over. There are no levelers on the bottom of the barrier. It would have been nice if it had been designed with the type of levelers that just screw out to the height you need to make it sit level on the floor. I am a creative thinker and a big fan of velcro, so I was able to make little adhesive velcro pads of varying thickness to level it out. I did not have any problems with the barrier we are using at home, so our floors must be level. It is very sturdy...once it is level. It seems well made, but we'll see how it holds up over time. I was hoping our cats might be able to slip though the bars to get past the puppy, but they cannot fit through. We have been using the barriers for about 3 days now and the puppy has not managed to leap over it or push it out of the way. The latch/gate is a little tricky for children to operate...our 6-year old is still having a little trouble with it. Overall, I am very pleased with the product and would highly recommend it. December 16, 2011
Fantastic - Expensive looking gate This all metal oil rubbed bronze gate is the best I have ever seen. It is going to be a permanent part of my house because the dogs cannot seem to stop wiping their mouths and dirty paws on my living room carpet! It fits to the 1/4 inch our 70 inch span. The gate is easy to use and shuts behind you in case you forget. 36" high makes it impossible for the dogs to get over. Really cannot say enough about this gate - just beautiful. December 8, 2011
Great purchase decision The opening between my foyer and great room is 66.3" wide. I had been using two baby gates to block off the foyer/living room/dining room from my little dogs. Not only did the gates not look very good but they would fall down with the slightest touch. This barrier is sturdy, does not have to have holes drilled into the wall to hold it into place, and matches the iron railings of my staircase. In addition, it allows my dogs to see through it and know what is going on in these other parts of the house even though they cannot be in the area. December 7, 2011
Nice gate! This is my first purchase from Frontgate and I'm very happy with it. I'd been using a white plastic pen to keep my puppy contained, and it's functional but who wants to look at white plastic all day? This actually fits with my home decor. We didn't use the screws and instead just place the two pieces together, which makes it super easy to move and walk through and re-size based on where we put it. December 7, 2011
highly recommend Great quality product that looks great too! Would highly recommend this item. Gates off area while looking very nice to match your house. December 7, 2011
Loved It! We needed a pet gate solution for our oversized doorway. This gate fit the bill perfectly. The gate is beautiful, sturdy, and easy to put together. The best part is that it is free standing and does not have to be attached to the wall. December 4, 2011
Great Gate! This is a great product that delivers as promised. I have tried different gates over the years to contain my yellow lab in the kitchen when she is indoors. I bought two gates, one for each entry to our kitchen. They work well, are beautiful and can be easily opened with one hand. They are better then any other gate I have tried and worth the price. November 29, 2011
Perfect! I spotted this gate in a friend's newly remodeled home. She had a longer version to block off a formal area of her open floor plan. I liked the fact that the gate was functional yet very attractive. Also, it is free standing so you don't have to mark up walls and you can easily use it for a variety of purposes. I use it to keep my small dog (schnauzer) out of my dining room. This is more expensive than an average pet gate, but worth it because it is very attractive and unique. November 11, 2011
Stylish Solution This was a stylish solution to the problem of keeping my friendly dog out of my formal living room. Although my dog is very intelligent she is not always mannerly and does not always wait to go outside to "do her business". I can now keep her off my carpet and my home still has the appearance I desire. I love the look (and the results) of this formal gate! November 4, 2011
Best Pet Gate!!! We have purchased several of the 20" freestanding pet gates over the years. I'm thrilled to see that they are back in stock at Frontgate! We have a 4 lb Yorkie who is a great little jumper and pretty strong. These gates work perfectly to keep him confined to areas in both our home and workplace. They are easy to step over, easy to clean and blend with most rooms beautifully. The one in our salon has caught the eye of many a client and we have sent them to Frontgate every time. They all rave about how much they love this gate in their homes as well. I wish they made a version that could handle the elements outdoors as well. November 3, 2011
great gate Love the gates . Size is perfect for a medium dog. Looks great and dog wont chew on it.. October 28, 2011
Great Quality These Barstools are wonderful Quality! They are similar to my old bar stools in style, only much sturdier. I purchased the Cherry finish for contrast to my light wood floors and cabinets. The wood is a nice, heavy, sturdy piece with the rush seats for extra comfort. The stools have larger seats to fit everyone comfortably. The footrests are a very nice touch. My previous stools and broken spindles from resting your feet on them. My entire family loves these barstools! Finally, I was so very pleased, there wasn't any assembly :) October 25, 2011
Metal dog gate This is the best dog gate I've had. I've had several freestanding and installed dog gates, and this is perfect. I bought this to replace a wood freestanding dog gate from another website that virtually disintegrated a week after purchasing. I didn't want to spend the money on this one. It was only $50 more, and I should have just bought this one. It's sturdy, and I have up to six small-to medium-sized dogs in my home at any given time, none of which can push it out of place. The gate, with some practice, is easy to use. It is easily assembled (my 12-year-old son put it together). I highly recommend this gate. October 21, 2011
Better pet gate In the end, this is a great-looking gate that actually matches our staircase. At first, I was completely thrown by how it goes together, and I still don't love the layout. But, it's much better than wooden gates we've had in the past, and there is no way our clever dogs will get this one open! October 18, 2011
Dogs hate it . . . I LOVE IT ! ! My two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels grew big enough from puppyhood to finally at will scale the 21 inch wooden gate I used to keep them contained in the kitchen since they arrived here when they were two months old (just a matter of time!). After they destroyed five pairs of my wife's shoes, two computer headsets, one TV remote control and lots of small, miscellaneous items (including furniture legs and the usual things puppies love to chew on, not to mention bad toilet habits on the wall to wall carpeting), I finally gave in and accepted that they were not, in truth, old enough/mature enough to behave outside of the kitchen yet. . . so, I bought a 36 inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate from Frontgate . . . all is peaceful and under control once again as they are allowed into the rest of the house when we allow them to be, not anytime they decide to launch over the old gate and destroy something new that day. This, of course, does not make Cole and Misu very happy, but it makes me grin from ear to ear . . . I have regained control of the house once again until such time that they get big enough to scale this new gate (HA! Cavalier's?? Never happen!) Great quality, strong, good looking gate . . . fits in to our decor and looks great while keeping Bonnie and Clyde from doing what they seem to enjoy so much . . . being 9 month old pups! Thanks, Frontgate! Well done! October 12, 2011
Great Purchase This is the perfect dog gate...easy to put together and very easy to use. Looks amazing as well! October 9, 2011
Not just for Dogs I purchased this gate to keep my three cats from going into the room where I keep my baby grand piano. This gate is perfect! I also live in a bungalow style house and many people have asked if the gate came with the house since it blends so well with the decor. May 4, 2011
Great Purchase We have four small dogs and many visitors coming to the door. We put this up to prevent the dogs from getting to the front door or getting outside when someone comes. It works perfectly. The dogs can't jump over yet it's easy for us to step over. May 3, 2011
Very nice quality This product looks great in our house. We had to use two side by side to go across one area, and they fit perfectly. Then I bought another to cover the other side of the room. That one doesn't cover the doorway all the way because the holes where you can adjust length are not spaced closely enough. We had to use it either too long or too short. That is my only complaint though. The gates look so much nicer than anything you can buy in a store, I have gotten many compliments. They are low enough for adults and my four year old to walk over, yet high enough to keep the dog out of the living room. Very easy to put together! April 9, 2011
Classy Solution to My Doggie Problem After several pedestrian and ineffective attempts to contain my very large, very rambunctious puppy to the family room area of my home, I found the perfect solution with your freestanding 36" Pet Barrier with Gate. It was easy to put together, the gate is simple to use, and the oversized pup doesn't even try to jump it! Most importantly, it provides a classy, not utilitarian, look. So glad I found Frontgate and its superior products! March 30, 2011
Why did I wait so long? I've seen the freestanding gates in Frontgate for years and I finally got around to ordering one--amazing. Not only does it look so much better than pressure gates, but it leaves your walls clean and free of little pressure marks. I wish I had done this sooner! March 29, 2011
BEAUTIFUL PET GATE I was previously using a child closure to stop the dogs from getting into the rest of the house, but these gates do the job and better. I purchased two so that together they would cover the entire opening of the family room. The pass through gates are easy to use and the look is beautiful. My only wish was that they came in really long lengths so that it would be one continued barrier. March 12, 2011
Awesome This gate is awesome. I used to have a cheap (material wise, but cost wise they weren't cheap) wood and plastic gate. The area I need it for is wide so my first gate was never wide enough and I had to improvise to extend it. It fell apart and was terrible. Now my new gate is freestanding and easy to move. The price was great and totally worth it. It is sturdy and classy. I just wish they made a narrower one for another area I need to gate. Get it! You won't be sorry. March 9, 2011
great gate! This gate is what we were looking for to keep our puppy contained and also look nice when company comes over! Very well constructed. Highly recommend. March 6, 2011
Great product I bought two pet gates. They assembled easily, are top quality and will do the job of containing a German Shepherd who has not yet arrived. March 4, 2011
Great Buy!! Extremely nice quality and great price. March 3, 2011
Best Purchase Beautiful gate...fits right in with my decor and I love the fact that there did not have to be mounted to my walls. The gate door is perfect...Love it!!! February 24, 2011
Wonderful Gate This is a great gate. It is sturdy and well made, it is low enough to step over easily and strong enough to deter the dog from entering the room. Thanks. February 23, 2011
  • 2015-07-03T10:09:25.828-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_349, tr_349
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>
(38 Questions : 60 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
20-inch Freestanding Barrier
 
1 answer

does the 20" freestanding barrier have a gate or is it step over ?

Customer avatar
by
florida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about userunfriendly is loaded.
Additional information about userunfriendly could not be loaded.
#30191
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
florida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about userunfriendly is loaded.
Additional information about userunfriendly could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for interest in the 20-inch Freestanding Barrier. This barrier does not have a door; it is low enough to step over.
1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer

Of what materials is the frame fabricated?

Customer avatar
by
Miami, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cocoasmom is loaded.
Additional information about Cocoasmom could not be loaded.
Please explain if this is an all metal gate/fence, or if it has a wood frame. I need all metal bc my puppy chews like crazy and would damage a wood frame.
2 weeks, 2 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Miami, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cocoasmom is loaded.
Additional information about Cocoasmom could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item is handcrafted of powder coated tubular steel.
1 week, 3 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
20-inch Freestanding Barrier
 
1 answer

Is the gate always on the far side of the fence?

Customer avatar
by
NJ
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LaniNJ is loaded.
Additional information about LaniNJ could not be loaded.
I notice the gate is on the far end of this. When expanded is it possible that part of the expansion would move the gate more toward the middle of the barrier? My doorway is about 60 inches. I live in the northeast so rooms are small and I have obstacles that go out about 6 inches in front of the door frame on both sides, so having the gate flush against either end is not ideal for me, but otherwise I love this gate. Just want to make sure it will work. Thanks!
3 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
NJ
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LaniNJ is loaded.
Additional information about LaniNJ could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36 - inch Freestanding Barrier with Walk - Through Door. I am very sorry, but this item is designed so that he gate will always be on the far end of the item.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers

can the door be installed to open either in or out?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about rdsxroc is loaded.
Additional information about rdsxroc could not be loaded.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about rdsxroc is loaded.
Additional information about rdsxroc could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. We are looking into this information for you. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Answer: 
The 6-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door only opens on one side.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer

This is exactly what am I looking for except I do not want the front part to exceed 50 inches. Is there a way to do that?

Customer avatar
by
Nc
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Rogersinnc is loaded.
Additional information about Rogersinnc could not be loaded.
Is it possible to put the gate together and reduce the length? If not is there another similar gate? The mesh one is nice
, but this one seems to be more substantial and likely to last longer than mesh.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Nc
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Rogersinnc is loaded.
Additional information about Rogersinnc could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door can not be made smaller.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 next>>
  • 2015-07-03T10:12:31.277-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
2 3 next>>
Product:30191-20-inch Freestanding Barrier
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???