Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Pet ProductsHome
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 371 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better pet gate In the end, this is a great-looking gate that actually matches our staircase. At first, I was completely thrown by how it goes together, and I still don't love the layout. But, it's much better than wooden gates we've had in the past, and there is no way our clever dogs will get this one open! October 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs hate it . . . I LOVE IT ! ! My two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels grew big enough from puppyhood to finally at will scale the 21 inch wooden gate I used to keep them contained in the kitchen since they arrived here when they were two months old (just a matter of time!). After they destroyed five pairs of my wife's shoes, two computer headsets, one TV remote control and lots of small, miscellaneous items (including furniture legs and the usual things puppies love to chew on, not to mention bad toilet habits on the wall to wall carpeting), I finally gave in and accepted that they were not, in truth, old enough/mature enough to behave outside of the kitchen yet. . . so, I bought a 36 inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate from Frontgate . . . all is peaceful and under control once again as they are allowed into the rest of the house when we allow them to be, not anytime they decide to launch over the old gate and destroy something new that day. This, of course, does not make Cole and Misu very happy, but it makes me grin from ear to ear . . . I have regained control of the house once again until such time that they get big enough to scale this new gate (HA! Cavalier's?? Never happen!) Great quality, strong, good looking gate . . . fits in to our decor and looks great while keeping Bonnie and Clyde from doing what they seem to enjoy so much . . . being 9 month old pups! Thanks, Frontgate! Well done! October 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Purchase This is the perfect dog gate...easy to put together and very easy to use. Looks amazing as well! October 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not just for Dogs I purchased this gate to keep my three cats from going into the room where I keep my baby grand piano. This gate is perfect! I also live in a bungalow style house and many people have asked if the gate came with the house since it blends so well with the decor. May 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Purchase We have four small dogs and many visitors coming to the door. We put this up to prevent the dogs from getting to the front door or getting outside when someone comes. It works perfectly. The dogs can't jump over yet it's easy for us to step over. May 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice quality This product looks great in our house. We had to use two side by side to go across one area, and they fit perfectly. Then I bought another to cover the other side of the room. That one doesn't cover the doorway all the way because the holes where you can adjust length are not spaced closely enough. We had to use it either too long or too short. That is my only complaint though. The gates look so much nicer than anything you can buy in a store, I have gotten many compliments. They are low enough for adults and my four year old to walk over, yet high enough to keep the dog out of the living room. Very easy to put together! April 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classy Solution to My Doggie Problem After several pedestrian and ineffective attempts to contain my very large, very rambunctious puppy to the family room area of my home, I found the perfect solution with your freestanding 36" Pet Barrier with Gate. It was easy to put together, the gate is simple to use, and the oversized pup doesn't even try to jump it! Most importantly, it provides a classy, not utilitarian, look. So glad I found Frontgate and its superior products! March 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why did I wait so long? I've seen the freestanding gates in Frontgate for years and I finally got around to ordering one--amazing. Not only does it look so much better than pressure gates, but it leaves your walls clean and free of little pressure marks. I wish I had done this sooner! March 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEAUTIFUL PET GATE I was previously using a child closure to stop the dogs from getting into the rest of the house, but these gates do the job and better. I purchased two so that together they would cover the entire opening of the family room. The pass through gates are easy to use and the look is beautiful. My only wish was that they came in really long lengths so that it would be one continued barrier. March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome This gate is awesome. I used to have a cheap (material wise, but cost wise they weren't cheap) wood and plastic gate. The area I need it for is wide so my first gate was never wide enough and I had to improvise to extend it. It fell apart and was terrible. Now my new gate is freestanding and easy to move. The price was great and totally worth it. It is sturdy and classy. I just wish they made a narrower one for another area I need to gate. Get it! You won't be sorry. March 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great gate! This gate is what we were looking for to keep our puppy contained and also look nice when company comes over! Very well constructed. Highly recommend. March 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I bought two pet gates. They assembled easily, are top quality and will do the job of containing a German Shepherd who has not yet arrived. March 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy!! Extremely nice quality and great price. March 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Purchase Beautiful gate...fits right in with my decor and I love the fact that there did not have to be mounted to my walls. The gate door is perfect...Love it!!! February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Gate This is a great gate. It is sturdy and well made, it is low enough to step over easily and strong enough to deter the dog from entering the room. Thanks. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product Just love the Freestanding Pet Barrier and Gate. Great looking and very functional. It was very easy to assemble too. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the Trick bought this pet gate to keep new puppy in one area of the house w/o limiting access to everyone else. Having a gate that can open is very helpful, and the iron still keeps the house looking nice. The new puppy is the only one not happy with our new purchase but is adjusting very well. February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the Job and Looks Good Doing It I'm a dog rescuer who recently bought a new home and installed brand new expensive carpet in the living room. Not all of the dogs who pass through my home are perfectly housebroken. Need I say more? I needed a way to keep the dogs out of the living room. But I didn't want the usual doggy gate, the kind that requires pressure to force it to stand between walls and leaves marks, the kind that requires drilling hardware into the walls, etc. They're ugly, they damage the home, and one of my dogs quickly figured out that he could climb the gate and leap to the other side. These freestanding barriers are sturdy, very easy to assemble, and effective. The dogs took one look at them and turned and walked away. They're attractive, reasonably priced, and easy for me to step over. I am extremely pleased with my purchases. Prompt shipping too. February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Buy Gate is substanital and pretty. Works great with 2 dogs and 2 cats. I have 2 of gates. I felt is was a good buy. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freestanding Pet Barrier Love this barrier I have between my kitchen and family room and it is great. It looks nice and is easy to work.... February 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by best small gate ever these gates are perfect for small dogs. love it. bought several. look beautiful in my home too February 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wise purchase decision Easy to step over for the children. Stylish, sturdy & worth every penny! February 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy This Product is made very well and is beautiful!! The price is great too!! February 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great pet border Terrific product! It looks great and our dog has not tried to jump over it. February 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent gate We purchased this pet gate to keep our puppy contained in the family room. The gate is sturdy and attractive. I am very pleased with the item. I added a couple of extra cushions to protect the doorway from scratches from the sides, as well as one on the door so it won't scratch my wood door frame. February 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet GATE I love my Free-Standing Pet Gate. It is the second one I bought. It is sturdy and easy to step over. Looks very attractive in my home. February 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this product! This gate is a great find! Not only does it look great, but it is easy to get over and does not mark the walls or door frame. This height only works for a passive dog who is not adventurous. February 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 20" H Freestanding Barrier I love my new 20" H Freestanding Barriers. I bought 3, so no more mismatched gates that were tearing up my walls. Quality along with beauty...thanks Frontagate. January 31, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps them close but not in the way... This pet barrier is great! Very attractive and easily moved. It allows me to keep my dogs at a distance while I answer the door. Prior to this barrier I would have to hold them by the collar and shushhh them until they stopped barking! We are working on their manners, but, until we have completed that task, this barrier gets the job done. January 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Purchase I am very pleased with the gate. It's doing exactly what I wanted it to do and it looks great. I like the fact that it can be taken down and put away when not needed or when company comes over. January 25, 2011
  • 2016-08-24 T11:05:38.832-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_371, tr_371
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 13 next>>
(42 Questions : 85 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers
why does it say not recommended for stairways
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
3 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item should not be placed at the top of a staircase, and should be put far enough away from the bottom that your pet will not try to jump over it.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Probably for liability/safety reasons you would not want this at the top of stairs. At the bottom, it would probably be okay. You do need to have use of your hands without debilitating arthritis to unlatch the gate. You use your thumb to unlock it by sliding the lock mechanism sideways, then you lift up the door slightly to uplift the pin at the bottom; you can do this in a smooth motion with one hand. It will self-lock if allowed to close by itself; it will also "rest" closed enough without locking if you appose the door gate gently.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DecorHound is loaded.
Additional information about DecorHound could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
How do you order the actual 34 inch item advertised since it lists three sizes and only lets you select the 20 inch height options for purchase?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
This product is very confusing. It's called a 34 inch gate. The dimensions list 3 gates. One is 34 inches high and 55 - 68 in. width. The other two are 20 inches higher with varying widths. However, you can only select one of the two 20 in high gates to order on this page. How are customers supposed to order the 34 inch gate advertised in the picture?
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. To order this gate simply select the quantity from the drop down and the then the first "Add to Cart" button. The 34" gate only comes in one size, so there is no "Choose Size" option for this gate as there is for the 20" gate.
5 months, 4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
20-inch Freestanding Barrier
 
2 answers
does the 20" freestanding barrier have a gate or is it step over ?
Customer avatar
by
florida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about userunfriendly is loaded.
Additional information about userunfriendly could not be loaded.
#30191
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
florida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about userunfriendly is loaded.
Additional information about userunfriendly could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for interest in the 20-inch Freestanding Barrier. This barrier does not have a door; it is low enough to step over.
1 year, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It's a step over - there may be another design that has a gate, not sure...
4 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about CUx2 is loaded.
Additional information about CUx2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
3 answers
Is this more of a black or a brown?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about renedawn is loaded.
Additional information about renedawn could not be loaded.
Looking for glossy black to match our stair railings. Thanks!
1 year, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about renedawn is loaded.
Additional information about renedawn could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
It is not black - or glossy. Very nice - deep rich brownish hue.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item has an oil-rubbed bronze finish; it has a darker distressed finish over the bronze colored frame.
1 year, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
More of a brown; technically, it is a "bronzed" finish.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DecorHound is loaded.
Additional information about DecorHound could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers
Horizontal opening at base of door
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mojoken is loaded.
Additional information about Mojoken could not be loaded.
What are the dimensions of the opening at base of the door itself? Is an adult cat likely to get through it?
1 year, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mojoken is loaded.
Additional information about Mojoken could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
I am not in front of my gate at this time, but I do have three cats and they can not get through unless the door itself is opened.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. The horizontal openings on the door are approximately 2"H.
1 year, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
2 3 next>>
  • 2016-08-24 T11:05:49.958-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
2 3 next>>
Product:30191-20-inch Freestanding Barrier
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???