Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Pet ProductsHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 383 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by highly recommend Great quality product that looks great too! Would highly recommend this item. Gates off area while looking very nice to match your house. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved It! We needed a pet gate solution for our oversized doorway. This gate fit the bill perfectly. The gate is beautiful, sturdy, and easy to put together. The best part is that it is free standing and does not have to be attached to the wall. December 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate! This is a great product that delivers as promised. I have tried different gates over the years to contain my yellow lab in the kitchen when she is indoors. I bought two gates, one for each entry to our kitchen. They work well, are beautiful and can be easily opened with one hand. They are better then any other gate I have tried and worth the price. November 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect! I spotted this gate in a friend's newly remodeled home. She had a longer version to block off a formal area of her open floor plan. I liked the fact that the gate was functional yet very attractive. Also, it is free standing so you don't have to mark up walls and you can easily use it for a variety of purposes. I use it to keep my small dog (schnauzer) out of my dining room. This is more expensive than an average pet gate, but worth it because it is very attractive and unique. November 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stylish Solution This was a stylish solution to the problem of keeping my friendly dog out of my formal living room. Although my dog is very intelligent she is not always mannerly and does not always wait to go outside to "do her business". I can now keep her off my carpet and my home still has the appearance I desire. I love the look (and the results) of this formal gate! November 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Pet Gate!!! We have purchased several of the 20" freestanding pet gates over the years. I'm thrilled to see that they are back in stock at Frontgate! We have a 4 lb Yorkie who is a great little jumper and pretty strong. These gates work perfectly to keep him confined to areas in both our home and workplace. They are easy to step over, easy to clean and blend with most rooms beautifully. The one in our salon has caught the eye of many a client and we have sent them to Frontgate every time. They all rave about how much they love this gate in their homes as well. I wish they made a version that could handle the elements outdoors as well. November 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great gate Love the gates . Size is perfect for a medium dog. Looks great and dog wont chew on it.. October 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Quality These Barstools are wonderful Quality! They are similar to my old bar stools in style, only much sturdier. I purchased the Cherry finish for contrast to my light wood floors and cabinets. The wood is a nice, heavy, sturdy piece with the rush seats for extra comfort. The stools have larger seats to fit everyone comfortably. The footrests are a very nice touch. My previous stools and broken spindles from resting your feet on them. My entire family loves these barstools! Finally, I was so very pleased, there wasn't any assembly :) October 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Metal dog gate This is the best dog gate I've had. I've had several freestanding and installed dog gates, and this is perfect. I bought this to replace a wood freestanding dog gate from another website that virtually disintegrated a week after purchasing. I didn't want to spend the money on this one. It was only $50 more, and I should have just bought this one. It's sturdy, and I have up to six small-to medium-sized dogs in my home at any given time, none of which can push it out of place. The gate, with some practice, is easy to use. It is easily assembled (my 12-year-old son put it together). I highly recommend this gate. October 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better pet gate In the end, this is a great-looking gate that actually matches our staircase. At first, I was completely thrown by how it goes together, and I still don't love the layout. But, it's much better than wooden gates we've had in the past, and there is no way our clever dogs will get this one open! October 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dogs hate it . . . I LOVE IT ! ! My two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels grew big enough from puppyhood to finally at will scale the 21 inch wooden gate I used to keep them contained in the kitchen since they arrived here when they were two months old (just a matter of time!). After they destroyed five pairs of my wife's shoes, two computer headsets, one TV remote control and lots of small, miscellaneous items (including furniture legs and the usual things puppies love to chew on, not to mention bad toilet habits on the wall to wall carpeting), I finally gave in and accepted that they were not, in truth, old enough/mature enough to behave outside of the kitchen yet. . . so, I bought a 36 inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate from Frontgate . . . all is peaceful and under control once again as they are allowed into the rest of the house when we allow them to be, not anytime they decide to launch over the old gate and destroy something new that day. This, of course, does not make Cole and Misu very happy, but it makes me grin from ear to ear . . . I have regained control of the house once again until such time that they get big enough to scale this new gate (HA! Cavalier's?? Never happen!) Great quality, strong, good looking gate . . . fits in to our decor and looks great while keeping Bonnie and Clyde from doing what they seem to enjoy so much . . . being 9 month old pups! Thanks, Frontgate! Well done! October 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Purchase This is the perfect dog gate...easy to put together and very easy to use. Looks amazing as well! October 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not just for Dogs I purchased this gate to keep my three cats from going into the room where I keep my baby grand piano. This gate is perfect! I also live in a bungalow style house and many people have asked if the gate came with the house since it blends so well with the decor. May 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Purchase We have four small dogs and many visitors coming to the door. We put this up to prevent the dogs from getting to the front door or getting outside when someone comes. It works perfectly. The dogs can't jump over yet it's easy for us to step over. May 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice quality This product looks great in our house. We had to use two side by side to go across one area, and they fit perfectly. Then I bought another to cover the other side of the room. That one doesn't cover the doorway all the way because the holes where you can adjust length are not spaced closely enough. We had to use it either too long or too short. That is my only complaint though. The gates look so much nicer than anything you can buy in a store, I have gotten many compliments. They are low enough for adults and my four year old to walk over, yet high enough to keep the dog out of the living room. Very easy to put together! April 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classy Solution to My Doggie Problem After several pedestrian and ineffective attempts to contain my very large, very rambunctious puppy to the family room area of my home, I found the perfect solution with your freestanding 36" Pet Barrier with Gate. It was easy to put together, the gate is simple to use, and the oversized pup doesn't even try to jump it! Most importantly, it provides a classy, not utilitarian, look. So glad I found Frontgate and its superior products! March 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why did I wait so long? I've seen the freestanding gates in Frontgate for years and I finally got around to ordering one--amazing. Not only does it look so much better than pressure gates, but it leaves your walls clean and free of little pressure marks. I wish I had done this sooner! March 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEAUTIFUL PET GATE I was previously using a child closure to stop the dogs from getting into the rest of the house, but these gates do the job and better. I purchased two so that together they would cover the entire opening of the family room. The pass through gates are easy to use and the look is beautiful. My only wish was that they came in really long lengths so that it would be one continued barrier. March 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome This gate is awesome. I used to have a cheap (material wise, but cost wise they weren't cheap) wood and plastic gate. The area I need it for is wide so my first gate was never wide enough and I had to improvise to extend it. It fell apart and was terrible. Now my new gate is freestanding and easy to move. The price was great and totally worth it. It is sturdy and classy. I just wish they made a narrower one for another area I need to gate. Get it! You won't be sorry. March 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great gate! This gate is what we were looking for to keep our puppy contained and also look nice when company comes over! Very well constructed. Highly recommend. March 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I bought two pet gates. They assembled easily, are top quality and will do the job of containing a German Shepherd who has not yet arrived. March 4, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy!! Extremely nice quality and great price. March 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Purchase Beautiful gate...fits right in with my decor and I love the fact that there did not have to be mounted to my walls. The gate door is perfect...Love it!!! February 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Gate This is a great gate. It is sturdy and well made, it is low enough to step over easily and strong enough to deter the dog from entering the room. Thanks. February 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product Just love the Freestanding Pet Barrier and Gate. Great looking and very functional. It was very easy to assemble too. February 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the Trick bought this pet gate to keep new puppy in one area of the house w/o limiting access to everyone else. Having a gate that can open is very helpful, and the iron still keeps the house looking nice. The new puppy is the only one not happy with our new purchase but is adjusting very well. February 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the Job and Looks Good Doing It I'm a dog rescuer who recently bought a new home and installed brand new expensive carpet in the living room. Not all of the dogs who pass through my home are perfectly housebroken. Need I say more? I needed a way to keep the dogs out of the living room. But I didn't want the usual doggy gate, the kind that requires pressure to force it to stand between walls and leaves marks, the kind that requires drilling hardware into the walls, etc. They're ugly, they damage the home, and one of my dogs quickly figured out that he could climb the gate and leap to the other side. These freestanding barriers are sturdy, very easy to assemble, and effective. The dogs took one look at them and turned and walked away. They're attractive, reasonably priced, and easy for me to step over. I am extremely pleased with my purchases. Prompt shipping too. February 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Buy Gate is substanital and pretty. Works great with 2 dogs and 2 cats. I have 2 of gates. I felt is was a good buy. February 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freestanding Pet Barrier Love this barrier I have between my kitchen and family room and it is great. It looks nice and is easy to work.... February 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by best small gate ever these gates are perfect for small dogs. love it. bought several. look beautiful in my home too February 10, 2011
  • 2017-01-18 T08:45:11.626-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_383, tr_383
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 13 next>>
(46 Questions : 90 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
20-inch Freestanding Barrier
 
1 answer
Regarding pet barrier 20 inches high (product # 30191)
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about sila is loaded.
Additional information about sila could not be loaded.
I like to buy two barriers (70 plus inches each) to put side by side in order to cover a 110 inches opening. The question is what is the space between the two barriers when placed next to each other? can my dog escape? is it more than 2 inches? thank you
1 month, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about sila is loaded.
Additional information about sila could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 20-inch Freestanding Barrier. Putting two of these barriers next to each other would not leave less than an inch gap; however, they are designed to be placed against a wall on both sides to add stability. Not having a wall on both sides a barrier will make it easier for a pet to push against and move the barrier.
1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
what is the weight of this item?
Customer avatar
by
PA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JPking is loaded.
Additional information about JPking could not be loaded.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
PA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JPking is loaded.
Additional information about JPking could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item is 36 lbs.
1 month, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
Is it possible to use 2 gates side by side?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mulberrychick is loaded.
Additional information about mulberrychick could not be loaded.
I have a very wide opening of 87". I was hoping to use 2 gates side by side to block this opening. Would this be possible?
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mulberrychick is loaded.
Additional information about mulberrychick could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. You can put two gates side by side; however, they will not be as stable due to only one side being against a wall.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
How about cats?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about CherylML is loaded.
Additional information about CherylML could not be loaded.
Are the spaces small enough that a cat cannot get through?
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about CherylML is loaded.
Additional information about CherylML could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. There are 2" gaps between the bars. The size of your cat will determine whether it can fit through or jump over this gate.
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
3 answers
why does it say not recommended for stairways
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Probably for liability/safety reasons you would not want this at the top of stairs. At the bottom, it would probably be okay. You do need to have use of your hands without debilitating arthritis to unlatch the gate. You use your thumb to unlock it by sliding the lock mechanism sideways, then you lift up the door slightly to uplift the pin at the bottom; you can do this in a smooth motion with one hand. It will self-lock if allowed to close by itself; it will also "rest" closed enough without locking if you appose the door gate gently.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DecorHound is loaded.
Additional information about DecorHound could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We have ours at the top of two steps from dinning room to living room and it works perfect
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dograiser is loaded.
Additional information about dograiser could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item should not be placed at the top of a staircase, and should be put far enough away from the bottom that your pet will not try to jump over it.
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 next>>
  • 2017-01-18 T08:45:13.421-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_30191, prod, sort_default
2 3 next>>
Product:30191-20-inch Freestanding Barrier
The Frontgate Credit CardNow Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]