Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Pet ProductsHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
20-inch Freestanding Barrier is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 386.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome My husband says it was easy to put together. It looks great and is very sturdy. Door automatically closes so we put a little stopper for when we want it open.
Date published: 2010-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from peace of mind Have large older dogs that love to come up main stair. Arthritis has made this difficult. needed a good looking deterrent easy for us to go through. This is perfect. Looks great, reasonable price compared to competitors, just what we needed. Another frontgate homerun.
Date published: 2010-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful gate! We actually purchased this to keep our crawling baby away from the big screen TV and electronics. It's the perfect height to not interfere with viewing the screen, the look is beautiful and matches our decor, the gate is sturdy enough to do the intended job (not really being used as a safety gate except to keep some electronics safe, not our baby), would work very well for small pets. Extremely happy with our purchase!
Date published: 2010-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freestanding Barrier This is a beautiful looking solution for keeping our dog downstairs. It fits right into our old world decor and offers a much nicer look across the front of our wide spindle stair case.
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from iron barrier This is a well made gate. The iron work is very nice. They are heavy and are made of quality material. We have new puppies. So far they have held them in a specific area. We have 6 gates total. I am happy with the design. They are elegant and work well with our home design. I would agree that they function well. They are simple to put together and move around, and they have weight to the gate sections to keep your pet from eating your home and chair legs! The black paint does come off when you steam clean your floors daily. But it comes off easily. We like the fact that you can change the length of each gate within a few seconds. And then change it back. Very sturdy. A+ from our family. The only drawback is the cost for 6 gates! I wish they were half off!
Date published: 2010-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for our needs Only problem that 2 out of 3 people we talked to at Frontgate confirmed the correct width covered which is the width we needed. We ordered it with the hope that the 2 were correct. They were. It is perfect in size, great looking and great for our needs. No one else offered a similar barrier. The price was reasonable. Not much more I can say.
Date published: 2010-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great barrier for small dogs Nice weight - easy to assemble, great looking
Date published: 2010-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive, Durable & Functional We took in 2 adult Newfoundland dogs ( over 200+ lbs combined). We needed a gate to confine them to one area of the house during the night & while gone during the day. All hardware is supplied to attach the gate to the wall. Assembly of gate was easy & took no time. The dogs can put their feet up on top of gate & it remains secure. The door on the gate is an added bonus. Very attractive decor - fits in beautifully with our home. This product was exactly what we needed for giant breed dogs & large family!
Date published: 2010-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from just what we needed We have a new puppy and had looked at/tried out other dog gates. This one was exactly right - sturdy and decorative - easy to open and close and adjustable.
Date published: 2010-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DOG GONE SATISFIED awesome! high quality,better then i could ever have imagined.loved the fact that i did not have to screw this into the wall.As always pleased with my Frontgate purchase.
Date published: 2010-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great gate We have four dogs of varying sizes and this gate keeps them all out of our living room, which they had decided was a potty. The gate's tall enough that the whippet can't jump over, stable enough that the greyhound can't knock over, the rungs are close enough that the mini poodle can't slip through, and heavy enough that the lab can't push out of the way! It is also attractive and easy to walk through. It is a hassle to have to have a gate, but this has made it as pain-free as possible.
Date published: 2010-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality product, as advertised Elegant and sturdy gate. Easy set up.
Date published: 2010-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive Barrier I was looking for a pet barrier that would fit across the entry to my living room and be attractive enough to put there. This barrier is made of sturdy bronze material that goes well with the bronze hardware and fixtures in my home. I like that it is freestanding so I don't have any damage to my walls.
Date published: 2010-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service and quality of gates Your service was outstanding and we could not have found better gates for our new puppy Mimi. They are constructed well and do not detract from the decor of our home. Thank you.
Date published: 2010-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freestanding dog fence very good quality, fast delivery. Highly recommend Frontgate.
Date published: 2010-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gate. This gate looks great and my very clever and athletic dog can not climb over it. Note that if you have a very large dog, this gate would need to be secured to a wall via screws that come with it. However, with my smaller dog, that has not been necessary. Very sturdy and good quality product. Easy to assemble.
Date published: 2010-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pet gates very well constructed
Date published: 2010-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Solution We purchased the gate for an open stairway to the basement. This gate is the only one we could find that's tall enough to discourage our large dog from hopping over the top. Since the stairway is flush against a wall at the end of a hallway, it has also made that stairway safer against accidental tripping on the top stair. The gate can be operated with one hand, but it requires lifting so the dogs can't open it. The material and workmanship are excellent. It looks like furniture rather than some plastic temporary solution. I have no doubt it will last a long time, so I feel the price/value is also very good. We are very pleased!
Date published: 2010-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freestanding pet barrier with gate Great gate, and suits our needs perfectly. This is the second of the same gate we have bought because the first one worked so well. We have one in our kitchen and one outside!
Date published: 2010-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this item This is the best Pet Gate I have ever purchased. My monster cannot chew through this metal, it is very attractive, gives the kitchen a "bistro" look.
Date published: 2010-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Should have purchased long time ago this gate is too heavy for dogs to move out of the way - even terriers. Yet it is very attractive and matches our decor perfectly. I only wish I had purchased it long ago.
Date published: 2010-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely happy! We are extremely happy with the 20" free standing gates. They are so much more attractive than the average pet gates. The oil-rubbed bronze finish makes all the difference. Very attractive, well made & easy to assemble.
Date published: 2010-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from function and design as one! I have the higher gated freestanding barrier and this lower one is just as portable and works great in keeping animal and toddlers seperated. The black iron is well designed and very sturdy. A great price when compared to others. Very versitile and I love the fact that no walls were "harmed" in this setup!
Date published: 2010-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic metal freedom. We have two lakeland terriers...these are wonderful barriers for them. They were very easy to put together! They look fantastic. They have a great finish. They work very well for us. They have weight to each section. I researched so many puppy gates and these were worth the investment. The materials used are of a good quality and the color is perfect for our home. I wish they cost less. Buying 5 sections... it was expensive. A must have for long term pet freedom.
Date published: 2010-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Merchandise This is the second pet gate I have purchased from Frontgate and I received the same quality of service and merchandise as before. I would definitely order from them again.
Date published: 2010-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stable, attractive barrier The barrier is stable and attractive, easy for us to step over, and the sides swing open for when we want to let the dog or small child through. We have a cockapoo, and he can jump over it, so you may want to think about that when deciding on size. I gave it five stars because the size estimate was an error on my part. Otherwise, love the barrier.
Date published: 2010-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freestanding doggie Gate Let me just say that we have purchased 2 of these gates! One for home & one for our business (our dogs go to work with us). We abolutely LOVE this gate. First it is Beautiful, classy & Very durable! Second, we get compliaments ALL the time on it. It is the first gate that we put up and just leave it. No adjusting screws to walls or things to fiddle with! It is easy to assembly and then once that is done, its there STURDY until you want it moved! It keeps our dogs from going into the back bedrooms and getting into trouble! Its also nice for our shop too cause they can see everyone come in & out and the kids can see and pet our dogs and the dogs can stay out of our lobby. ITS THE BEST THING YOU WILL EVER INVEST IN! WE LOVE "BOTH" OF THEM! LOL
Date published: 2010-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2010-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase I love this product; it's good quality and flexible for different door opening widths. It's stylish and fits in with any decor. I love that it's free standing and sturdy so my dog can roam around in one room opposed to being cramped in a kennel. It was so easy to assemble...Big +
Date published: 2010-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GATE I ACTUALLY PURCHASED THIS GATE TO GIVE MY 5 SIBERIAN HUSKIES AN ADDED BARRIER BETWEEN THEM AND OUR RESCUED UMBRELLA COCKATOO'S CAGE. (BECAUSE THESE DOGS HAVE A STRONG PREY INSTINCT, I ALSO USED A PET STOP DISK UNDER THE CAGE.) THE BARRIER IS VERY WELL MADE AND IS QUITE ATTRACTIVE. THE GATE WORKS WELL. WE HAVE AN EARLIER MODEL AT THE BOTTOM OF OUR STAIRS AND THOUGH NICE, THE NEW BARRIER IS EVEN NICER. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Date published: 2010-06-28
  • y_2017, m_2, d_21, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_8, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_30, tr_356
  • loc_, sid_30191, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

THE 40-&) GATE HOW DO YOU AJUST IT TO FIT A 4 ft or a 5 ft opening

Asked by: Anonymous
There are holes drilled along the top and bottom crossbars with metal pegs that can be inserted to adjust the length. Mine is extended to 64" and is still sturdy and cannot be knocked over.
Answered by: sandyo92691
Date published: 2013-10-21

Are there panels within the gate, is there a flexibility to it? What are the sizes of each panel, can I adjust it to a width of 60in?

Im wondering if I can have to at different angles and not just straight.
Asked by: Timber
You may be able to find out under product specs. but it def. would cover a 5' wide opening. We have ours in a 4' wide doorway and there is plenty of room for expansion in increments of 2.5".
Answered by: CUx2
Date published: 2016-10-22

What length are the side returns of this and also it appears the gate can be on either side .. correct? Can the gate be in the middle also?

Asked by: s2pilot
The side returns are exactly 11" long. We assembled ours about 11 months ago, but I don't "think" you can have the gate on either side. Also, the gate's placement depends on how much or how little you expand the gate. See my pic - mine is spanning a 55" width (with more room available), so it puts the gate more to the side). The gate will fall wherever it does, based on how wide you make the gate - it can't be changed. But this is an AMAZING product and we love it!!
Answered by: cnazanimals
Date published: 2014-11-08

what is the weight 0f the 70" barrier?

Asked by: bevejean
I'm not sure because we don't have a scale at home but I would guess +/- 12#
Answered by: CUx2
Date published: 2016-10-22

why does it say not recommended for stairways

isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
Asked by: tonys
We have ours at the top of two steps from dinning room to living room and it works perfect
Answered by: dograiser
Date published: 2016-12-20
  • y_2017, m_2, d_21, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_46
  • loc_, sid_30191, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:30191-20-inch Freestanding Barrier
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]