Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Pet Products
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 445 466
Good looking - high quality I bought this gate to place at the bottom of our stairs, to keep the dogs from going up. It is a very nice gate - heavy, great quality, and very beautiful. It looks so much better than the usual dog gate, and I do like it alot. I was not able to use it at the bottom of our stairs, because the gate only opens in one direction. So, be aware that it only opens inward, and not outward. I should have looked more closely at the product before buying - this was my mistake. However, it would definitely be an improvement in functionality to have the gate open either way. FYI to Frontgate... I would recommend the gate. We kept it because we really liked it, and we were able to find another place to use it. June 6, 2014
Keep dogs safe and entrance beautiful Beautiful Gates. I have 2 German Shepherds over 100 bls. The barrier hold up well with them jumping up. We have had to attach to wall for additional support with eyes and rope and would have loved for them to be 42" high like the same single gates we purchased. April 30, 2014
attractive, fuctional heavy duty dog gate The gate was purchased for a large foyer to family room entrance. It is the first thing you see in our front door....and it looks very attractive. We have two 6 month old large, active puppies. It is perfectly sturdy and has shown no movement. ( The directions when received with the gate state for small dogs....however the picture in the brochure / online show a large dog: so a bit misleading) No worries if you have 1 or 2 large dogs. Our dogs do respect the gate and occasionally place their paws on it. The actual walk thru section is very functional, sturdy, and a good size. It stops the dogs from running to the door whenever it opens or someone arrives. Easy to put together, with size options of 2 3/4 inch increments We have place it against the wall beside the door opening rather than inside the door frame. Able to move if required, or needed in alternate area. No marking of walls. I WOULD RECOMMEND! February 26, 2014
looks beautiful We just received this gate for our new puppy. We have an extra wide opening and this was just perfect to keep her in the area. It looks beautiful and is very stable. February 25, 2014
Beautiful gate It is a beautiful gate and well made! The only thing I wish was different and thought it would be since it was an adjustable gate was how it adjusts. I expected it to be a sliding system not bolts So - that makes it not so convenient when I want to move to another location within the house. December 26, 2013
Great containment gate! Very stylish gate to contain our two 30 pound puppies! The gate is a must for inside containment! They could make the feet a bit longer, when both dogs jump up on it, afraid it will tip over, thus the con on durability. Otherwise, durable. December 5, 2013
Free Standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate The gate is very nice looking and an 'update' on most 'jail -type' looking pet gates. It would be helpful & convienent is the door was reversible November 4, 2013
Dog fence The front gate dog metallic free standing fence is aesthetic and functional. It contains my Siberian husky (70 lbs) where she needs to be. At first she tried to push it away but the fence is solid and heavy enough to maintain its position. I am very pleased with my purchase. I was informed at all times of the shipment date. October 14, 2013
It works! I recently bought a house & changed the carpet to wood floors except 1 room with nice white carpet which was terribly stained. Got it cleaned & it looked like new so had to keep 2 dogs & 1 cat out. I hated putting up any barrier since it took away from the openness of the house. But after trying baby gates, furniture, etc a friend turned me onto your website. I saw this gate, read the reviews & decided to try it. It's not perfect but the closest to perfect I believe possible, & it does the job!! September 15, 2013
Nice product! We are very pleased with the gate and it looks nice in our home. Only problem is our cat was still able,to climb over it which was the main reason we purchased It. Hopefully, with some discouragement and discipline, we can keep her out of our new renovated living room! August 26, 2013
Nice gates I bought two of these gates and they look great. My only complaint is that they are not as sturdy as I'd like. My mini pincher can tip the gate but fortunately not knock it over. July 20, 2013
dog gate A very nice gate that is easy to assemble and looks good July 15, 2013
Does the Job We purchased this gate for a couple of reasons; first, we wanted to keep out dog in the kitchen area and it definitely does the job. Second, we wanted our grandson to stay away from the stairway in the hallway and it also works for us. The only issue I have with the gate is that it wobbles; we are going to get chair pads to put on the bottom so that does not happen. May 23, 2013
Good Quality Gate The dog gate is durable, good quality and can withstand the pushing of a Cavalier Kinig Charles Spaniel dog. Be aware that one of the hinges needed a welding job to properly align the doors. April 18, 2013
Like it We really like how sturdy and attractive this gate is. With that said, it does close loudly. We also took the base or feet off of the bottom and mounted it directly onto our wall because it rocked when it closed. We have received many compliments on it. April 4, 2013
Nice product We actually purchased two of these gates and have been happy with them. One of the gates rubs a bit which I can probably adjust but otherwise the quality is good. The feet that stick out on one side are toe-busters so I recommend putting a plant or something next to them if they are not next to a wall. They are reasonably sturdy but a large dog could easily knock them over if they jumped against them although this is not a problem for us. March 7, 2013
Nice, but not useful for stairway I very much like the appearance, color, and heavy-duty quality, but we need for the door to swing the "other" way so it can be used at the bottom of a stairway. We have had to assemble it basically "wrongside out," but the bolt holes on the end wings do not match up that way and they cannot be solidly attached. The "pretty decorative side" of the gate and fence are consequently facing the wrong way, too. We will need to drill new holes, obtain and attach new hinges, and hopefully be able to move the latch (all of which I do not believe should be needed for the price). The gate needs to be redesigned so a choice can be made on which way you want it to swing when assembling it. March 1, 2013
34" Pet Mesh Gate - Elegant, functional This is a heavy gate which is GOOD. It looks very nice and fits the area I intended perfectly. So well, in fact that I've ordered a second one to block another wide passageway in our very open floorplan. The gate snaps closed with authority; however, it doesn't automatically latch, too much play in the gate or the bolt spring is too stiff. Anyway, it does the job and neither of my 65 lb dogs has tried to open it. The assembly instructions are hard to read, but the only thing that would have helped me is if they had noted that the end pieces are indeed different with one being for the right side and the other the left. I put it together backwards, of course, but it took only 3 minutes at most to correct once I figured out my mistatke. Very nice product, looks good in our home. February 19, 2013
Gate I love this gate, it is a nice looking and good quality gate. February 12, 2013
I love this gate. I love this gate. It really works well and is also elegant . A functional and beautiful piece of furniture, what could be better? January 1, 2013
Love This Pet Gate! We recently purchased the 34"H Expandable Free Standing Mesh Pet Gate because we wanted a "pass through" gate. It is BEAUTIFUL!! Love the height, I had fallen over a shorter 24" one because it was so easy to step over!! This one has you use the "door". The only thing we encountered was that the Hinge Pins did not fit!! They were so "thin" they did not fit in the end pieces! They let it wobble, move & rattle! We had to go to the hardware store and buy thicker ones that fixed the problem. My question would be why the manufacturer did not know this??? Or test it??? For the price I would have expected perfection in that area. After we fixed it, it works! Very attractive, fits in our style of home wonderfully. The hinges were the reason for only 4 stars instead of 5! December 27, 2012
well made but not wide enough. We have the fence extended to the max by only fastening the adjustable sections with one bolt on the top and bottom. It is still not wide enough for the opening so we have tried to tilt the side sections. There is still a gap the we had to block with a piece of furniture. I wish there was an extender available to increase the width of the fence. December 17, 2012
Great purchase! We are very pleased with the look, feel and functionality of the Expandable Free-standing Mesh Pet Gate. Recently, we adopted a puppy from a shelter. She cannot push over this gate or jump over it. Very happy with the results. December 17, 2012
Sturdy gate for small pets The gate feels solidly constructed. Parts fit well. Should stand up to pushing from a small to medium size dog or a cat. Wings can be tilted to allow it to cover a slightly larger opening than is given in the dimensions while still supporting the gate when the door is opened. Scrollwork is only on one side. It would look better if it was on both sides. All in all the gate seems to be worth the price. October 27, 2012
Great improvement Our kitchen doorway has an angled frame so spring-loaded dogs gates are constantly popping out of it. This gate was a welcomed relief from those. It adds ease and a bit more class to having a constant stream of rescues coming and going through our house. A couple negatives are the loud clatter it makes when the gate shuts and the fact that it only assembles with the door on the OPPOSITE side as pictured in the catalog. To reduce clatter (and make it easier to use), we completely removed the locking latch and inserted several felt chair pads throughout the unit. August 21, 2012
2 little screen defects. These are beautiful, quality gates that I am proud to have in my home. They look much better than baby gates. I like how they are free standing and very stable and also have an easy to open swinging gate. I have 2 gates. One had a patched hole in the screen, about 1 inch square, the other had a dent like a pole had poked it, about the size and shape of the end of your thumb.These are not major, but given the cost of the gates I would have expected them to be perfect. I am sure Frontgate would help me with the gates, but they were much to heavy and big to want to pack up. June 20, 2012
excellent quality gate, but... This is an attractive, wellmade gate but, sadly, we are not able to use it in our preferred location as we have a column on just one side (the right)that the gate must encompass and which prohibits the door from opening beyond half way. If we could have reversed the location of the door, we would have been thrilled. As it is we must return the gate. June 19, 2012
Mesh Pet Gate We ordered this pet gate because it was very nice looking and didn't look like your typical "baby gate". The gate works great for keeping our Vizsla out of a portion of our house that de doesn't belong in. The only downside, was that the gate door came slightly offset so it doesn't look straight, but it wasn't worth sending back for a new one. Overall, the gate is working out well and looks nice too. May 5, 2012
Good, but more adjustment needed. i was impressed by the quality of this piece, but wish the range of width settings was more flexible. With the existing adjustment holes 2'' apart the gate is either too wide or too narrow. Holes for adjustment that were 1'' apart or less would be better. April 20, 2012
Gate Sturdy I recently purchased your gate and found it to be very sturdy. The self closing gate spring seems too tight and does make it more difficult to walk through. It certainly does the job but I expected the finish to be better quality for the price. I debated over returning it for this reason but decided to keep it anyway. It is shipped in a huge heavy box but requires little assembly. My delivery person asked what was in the box and I replied a dog gate. He looked at the huge box and said " How big are your dogs?" April 3, 2012
  • 2015-03-29T09:21:05.792-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-13, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_466, tr_466
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_default
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 next>>
(28 Questions : 89 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
11 answers

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cricketsmomma is loaded.
Additional information about Cricketsmomma could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We have found the latch quite easy to work, and I have had my hands full a time or two. There is only a top latch, but it has proved to be all that is needed. We secured the gate with screws, so I cannot accurately answer your question of scooting. I can tell you the gate is quite heavy.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GracieS is loaded.
Additional information about GracieS could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
You probably do need one hand to open the gate. It is a sliding mechanism at the top only (no bottom latch). Once it is open, you can push through it with hands full and it swings back by itself to shut.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is only a latch up top and unless you push the latch or slam it - it stays slightly open. We prefer that as we have our gate to block up staircase and since we go up and down it a lot - it helps that it doesn't latch unless we want it too. Our dog can't get through it when it's not latched - as it stays closed well enough but this way you can just use your leg to open it while you may have items in your hands.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Answer: 
The gate does require a free hand to operate. It has a good weight to it so two hands are better. The lock is only on the top of the gate. I have two welsh corgis and they are not able to move it. Again, it has good weight to it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it is easy. I have an 8 week Golden and can carry him in one hand and pull the latch open with the other. The latch is only at the top and you don't need to stoop down or anything to undo it. The door swings back on it's own as well and latches. At this point we feel it is pretty sturdy because of the horizontal legs on on both sides and we haven't even connected all the pieces yet.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, it is easy to operate. It has one sliding lock on the top where you can reach down without bending (and I am 6'5"). The gate is heavy and hard to move, but the sides are angled and can be moved by the dog so he can wedge himself through if you don't anchor the sides firmly against the wall. But it is plenty heavy enough for Yorkies. We have 2.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about RaleighJacket is loaded.
Additional information about RaleighJacket could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
you need at least one free hand to operate the latch. it's a button you push in and heavy enough so it would be difficult for a dog to escape
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nocal is loaded.
Additional information about Nocal could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate is nice and heavy and our dog hasn't been able to move it, though to be fair, she hasn't tried very hard. It latches only at the top and requires just a finger to slide the bolt out. If you're coming from the other direction, however, you have to reach over the gate. When we come down the stairs, it's a little awkward to bend over and reach the latch. It closes easily behind you.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Latch is only on top and would require one hand to operate if you have it fully closed. I have a yorke and a jack russell and they have never pushed it. I have two of these gates. Love them.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate latches at the top only. It is very easy to open even with stuff in your hands. It is a slide type latch. This is a heavy metal gate so your Yorkie will not be able to push it open at the bottom. I have a Yorkie also. He is a jumper and climber. He can not jump over this gate or climb it. This gate is heavy so your dog will not be able to push it out of the way. It also has rubber on the bottom so it does not slide on hard wood floors easily. Also the door closes automaticlly and latches so you don't have to worry about your Yorkie pushing it open if you forget to latch it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Pennsylvania, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PAdogowner is loaded.
Additional information about PAdogowner could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
10 answers

How strong is the mesh?

2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Covington, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DawnRAT is loaded.
Additional information about DawnRAT could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The mesh is made from 100% steel, so it will stand up to pets' claws and teeth.
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EDFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about EDFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It's metal so it is pretty strong. My 8 week golden pup tried scratching at it and didn't damage it at all.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Not like a screen door. It's stiff metal.
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Very strong. It is hard metal mesh (similar to fireplace screen/skirt). It would be difficult for a dog to dig through it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is comparable to a good fireplace screen.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is pretty thick and sturdy although I imagine any dog that was really determined to scratch its way through might bend it and ruin the finish.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I was worried about the mesh when I ordered it, but I can tell you that I'm very pleased. Even the dogs leaning on it doesn't seem to affect it at all. Love this gate.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is just like a fireplace screen. It is very sturdy. This gate is put together very well. The screen is attached to the metal edges so it does not push in easily like some fireplace screens do.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LTP2 is loaded.
Additional information about LTP2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
9 answers

can the gate go on the other side (right)

2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Unfortunately, the gate for this item is built into the right front panel and is not able to be placed on the other side. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate is built on the right side of the gate and does not allow reversal of that situation.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Illinois, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DiandeB is loaded.
Additional information about DiandeB could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate cannot go on the other side. The holes to connect the pieces of the gate make it so that you cannot change the side of the gate. The only way you can get the door on the right is to face the gate the opposite way that's in the picture.
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about labfan213 is loaded.
Additional information about labfan213 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The only way I found to make the gate open the other way is to flip the front panel around, which obscures the decorative scrollwork a little bit.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about annap is loaded.
Additional information about annap could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It can't be moved, but you can flip the gate around to have it on the other side. Just be aware that the balance may be off, so it could topple over if pushed on with enough force.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
TX
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chuckso is loaded.
Additional information about Chuckso could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
mine actually came as the mirror image, but it is not reversible
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lakeliving is loaded.
Additional information about lakeliving could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Actually it IS on the right - or at least the one we received is. We wanted it on the left, as pictured in the catalog but it's on the rigtht.
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, my husband successfully installed the door backwards by mistake. It puts the fancy details on the other side of the screen, but still looks nice.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tmag is loaded.
Additional information about tmag could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Yes. We use it on a tile entry way to keep dogs out of stairs leading to basement.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LisaJP is loaded.
Additional information about LisaJP could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I have not used it at the top of stairs, but you will notice that it is very stable and would be difficult to push over. Of course, if your dog is heave or very large, they may be able to knock it over, but I've had a doberman all over mine and it never fell over.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would have to see your stairwell or at least know the dimensions but for the most part, this gate is just what it says it is "free standing" and it's quite sturdy. We have giant and large breed dogs (weigh 158, 110 and 85 lbs, respectively). Since the two larger dogs often "challenge" gates or simply barrel through them, we decided to turn this gate inward between our dining and living room. The gate opens "in" so they are unable to push on it - works like a charm. You'd have to be sure the gate expands past the opening at the top of your stairs but the opening between the two rooms in our house is 70" or almost 6 feet. the gate has a magnetic closure so it swings shut automatically if you let it go and latches. Hope this helps. (The gate is lovely and quite well made). Denise in Land O' Lakes
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nesie is loaded.
Additional information about Nesie could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
If using it for a pet it should be fine, it is free standing and very sturdy. Not sure I would use it for a child.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Kimrose is loaded.
Additional information about Kimrose could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is pretty sturdy, and it has the stand to balance it, but I don't know if someone can tip it down the stairs.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chantel is loaded.
Additional information about chantel could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would NOT use at the top of stairs! It may fall! Not a suction or screw in type and could tip over.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about khtustinca is loaded.
Additional information about khtustinca could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Surprise, AZ
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about AZCoach is loaded.
Additional information about AZCoach could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The description states that the opening is 55" wide, so I am concerned about whether or not it could adjust smaller.
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Argyle, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ttbrown6 is loaded.
Additional information about ttbrown6 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, the smallest size this gate can be adjusted to is 55". We do offer our 22"H Free-standing Mesh Pet Gate Barrier (item 42958) in two different size options, one of which adjusts between 40" - 70". We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The doorway where we placed the gate is less than 55 inches. We just put the side panels up against the wall on each side. The results were similar to one of the pictures on Frontgate. It shows the gate panels extended out from the doorway. It works and looks great.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Delaware, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Schatji is loaded.
Additional information about Schatji could not be loaded.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Answer: 
If there is wall on either or both sides of your opening, you can simply put it overlapping the doorway and the sides will come in to your wall. Otherwise, the shortest it assembles is 54 1/2"
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The smallest we were able to adjust it was for 51".
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. Just set it on one side of the door opening. It will be extend slightly over each side of the doorway, but will be side pieces will be flush against the wall. Look at the photo and just imagine the gate extended 3" wider on each side.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It will not be able to fit an opening 48" wide. I tested mine to see if I could make it fit, and it would not.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
  • 2015-03-29T09:26:25.098-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
  • 2015-03-29T09:26:25.105-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???