Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Pet Products
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 460 481
Love our Pet Gate I am so glad I waited for the Bronze Pet Gate with a door as we received it around the first week of July and it went together in about 15 minutes. It is great, looks great, and we have received lots of compliments on it. It looks and works just like the picture and has been a great improvement for the look of our entrance hall. Our dogs can not get to the door when the door bell rings and they seem to not have a problem with it. Saves me from haveing to try to step over or move a gate just to answer the door. LOVE IT LOVE IT. July 14, 2011
Amazing Gate This gate is fantastic! It is the only gate that I have seen out there that is made of high quality metal. It looks great and is very functional. I am very glad we made this purchase!! No regrets, you will have this gate for life!!! June 10, 2011
Fantastic Purchase The quality of this pet gate is tremendous. The free stand legs are exactly what we needed. It fit perfect in the space are using. It is extremely durable, functional, adjustable, and beautiful. The very best pet gate we have ever purchased. Highly recommend this product! April 9, 2011
Great looks and function we are very pleased with the mesh pet gate. It blends in with our decor and keeps our dog out of the rooms we don't want her in. It actually looks like part of our interior design! March 28, 2011
Love this gate but This is a beautiful gate! I love that's is free standing and looks like part of the decor as opposed to some wood or plastic "baby" gate. However, the picture is a little deceiving in that that door does not stand open. It's spring loaded. Not a heavy snap shut but it does not stay open. This presented a little problem for me because I put my dogs in our large utility room while we are out and they are litter trained so their beds, food, water and litter are in that room. When I come home, the door has to remain open for them to have access to all their stuff. For now, I'm using a small doggy bowl with a rubber bottom to prop right inside the hinged edge to keep it open. Since it's out of the way there and not that noticeable it works for me, at least til I can come up with an alternative solution. If you intend to just block off an area and let your dogs out when you want then you will not have any problems with the looks or workability with this gate. I love that it can be extended if I chose also. March 23, 2011
Great Look We got this gate to isolate our doggie from our master bedroom and it is really beautiful. A nice addition. We are very pleased with the purchase as we are with all our purchases from Frontgate. March 22, 2011
Best looking pet gate I have ever seen! Received the mesh gate and it was damaged, so Frongate immediately sent me a new one and it is just perfect. I love this item! March 22, 2011
Freestanding Steel Mesh Pet Gate I love the gate! Only one problem. The door squeaks - it is really really loud. Wakes the whole house. But, the gate is good looking and very functional. I would buy again and just know that overtime we open the gate it is really noisy. May 25, 2015
Great gate!!! We have dogs and cats. I visited my next door neighbor and saw this gate, fell in love immediately. Went home and ordered one. It is beautiful and fits well with the rest of our house. Prevents the dogs from running to the front door every time the door bell rings. The only thing that is missing in a small opening door for the cats to roam. If it had that opening I would give it 5 stars. Always disliked the ugly baby gates and glad I found this one. January 11, 2015
Freestanding Mesh Gate We are pleased with the looks of this gate. We were quite disappointed that the door actually was on the opposite side of where it appeared in the photo. We were not able to place it in the doorway that we had planned on. With this gate and the smaller gate that we purchased the hinges are rather noisy. It is not a pleasant sound every time we go in and out of the doors. December 3, 2014
Awesome gate and it looks great! Great gate for my needs. We needed a baby gate that would open to at least 68" and couldn't find any real baby gate that did that. This one works for our daughter as well as keeping our dogs our of our foyer space. The gate has a great design that looks elegant without it looking like a typical dog or baby gate. It was very easy to assemble, I think there are only four parts to it. Overall this is a great gate and it looks wonderful in our home. November 26, 2014
Nice looking gate The gate looks beautiful and is very sturdy. I thought I found a way to keep my lab out of the kitchen. I am sad to say she moved the gate. I don't thing most dogs will move it. It is just that my dog won't let anything keep her away from food. November 18, 2014
Beautiful gate I needed something to prevent my dog from sneaking into my dining room when we aren't home. I wanted something that I could leave there but would look elegant and yet not be permanent or mark the walls. So happy to finally get a coupon so we could afford this awesome freestanding gate!! It is expensive but it is beautiful! August 17, 2014
Beautiful and effective gate This is outstanding gate would almost expect it to cost more...one of a kind could not find anything like this anywhere else....easy to set up, durable construction.does not compromise good looking gate, bulldogs cannot tip over or move gate, door easy for me to go in and out. I will be placing three next to each other and also use one single....worth it for sure and will last for years. Wood can break and dogs can chew wood...this will last forever June 22, 2014
34" Expandable Steel Msh Gate Very nice piece, & functional to keeping dogs in/out of certain home areas. Very nice looks! Easy to put up! Wife LOVES it! Things that could be better.. Gate makes awful noise when closes.. NEEDS cushioning or control springs to keep from "clanging". WE LOVE IT! June 6, 2014
Good looking - high quality I bought this gate to place at the bottom of our stairs, to keep the dogs from going up. It is a very nice gate - heavy, great quality, and very beautiful. It looks so much better than the usual dog gate, and I do like it alot. I was not able to use it at the bottom of our stairs, because the gate only opens in one direction. So, be aware that it only opens inward, and not outward. I should have looked more closely at the product before buying - this was my mistake. However, it would definitely be an improvement in functionality to have the gate open either way. FYI to Frontgate... I would recommend the gate. We kept it because we really liked it, and we were able to find another place to use it. June 6, 2014
Keep dogs safe and entrance beautiful Beautiful Gates. I have 2 German Shepherds over 100 bls. The barrier hold up well with them jumping up. We have had to attach to wall for additional support with eyes and rope and would have loved for them to be 42" high like the same single gates we purchased. April 30, 2014
attractive, fuctional heavy duty dog gate The gate was purchased for a large foyer to family room entrance. It is the first thing you see in our front door....and it looks very attractive. We have two 6 month old large, active puppies. It is perfectly sturdy and has shown no movement. ( The directions when received with the gate state for small dogs....however the picture in the brochure / online show a large dog: so a bit misleading) No worries if you have 1 or 2 large dogs. Our dogs do respect the gate and occasionally place their paws on it. The actual walk thru section is very functional, sturdy, and a good size. It stops the dogs from running to the door whenever it opens or someone arrives. Easy to put together, with size options of 2 3/4 inch increments We have place it against the wall beside the door opening rather than inside the door frame. Able to move if required, or needed in alternate area. No marking of walls. I WOULD RECOMMEND! February 26, 2014
looks beautiful We just received this gate for our new puppy. We have an extra wide opening and this was just perfect to keep her in the area. It looks beautiful and is very stable. February 25, 2014
Beautiful gate It is a beautiful gate and well made! The only thing I wish was different and thought it would be since it was an adjustable gate was how it adjusts. I expected it to be a sliding system not bolts So - that makes it not so convenient when I want to move to another location within the house. December 26, 2013
Great containment gate! Very stylish gate to contain our two 30 pound puppies! The gate is a must for inside containment! They could make the feet a bit longer, when both dogs jump up on it, afraid it will tip over, thus the con on durability. Otherwise, durable. December 5, 2013
Free Standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate The gate is very nice looking and an 'update' on most 'jail -type' looking pet gates. It would be helpful & convienent is the door was reversible November 4, 2013
Dog fence The front gate dog metallic free standing fence is aesthetic and functional. It contains my Siberian husky (70 lbs) where she needs to be. At first she tried to push it away but the fence is solid and heavy enough to maintain its position. I am very pleased with my purchase. I was informed at all times of the shipment date. October 14, 2013
It works! I recently bought a house & changed the carpet to wood floors except 1 room with nice white carpet which was terribly stained. Got it cleaned & it looked like new so had to keep 2 dogs & 1 cat out. I hated putting up any barrier since it took away from the openness of the house. But after trying baby gates, furniture, etc a friend turned me onto your website. I saw this gate, read the reviews & decided to try it. It's not perfect but the closest to perfect I believe possible, & it does the job!! September 15, 2013
Nice product! We are very pleased with the gate and it looks nice in our home. Only problem is our cat was still able,to climb over it which was the main reason we purchased It. Hopefully, with some discouragement and discipline, we can keep her out of our new renovated living room! August 26, 2013
Nice gates I bought two of these gates and they look great. My only complaint is that they are not as sturdy as I'd like. My mini pincher can tip the gate but fortunately not knock it over. July 20, 2013
dog gate A very nice gate that is easy to assemble and looks good July 15, 2013
Does the Job We purchased this gate for a couple of reasons; first, we wanted to keep out dog in the kitchen area and it definitely does the job. Second, we wanted our grandson to stay away from the stairway in the hallway and it also works for us. The only issue I have with the gate is that it wobbles; we are going to get chair pads to put on the bottom so that does not happen. May 23, 2013
Good Quality Gate The dog gate is durable, good quality and can withstand the pushing of a Cavalier Kinig Charles Spaniel dog. Be aware that one of the hinges needed a welding job to properly align the doors. April 18, 2013
Like it We really like how sturdy and attractive this gate is. With that said, it does close loudly. We also took the base or feet off of the bottom and mounted it directly onto our wall because it rocked when it closed. We have received many compliments on it. April 4, 2013
  • 2015-08-01T11:23:30.270-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-13, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_481, tr_481
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_default
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 17 next>>
(29 Questions : 90 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
11 answers

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cricketsmomma is loaded.
Additional information about Cricketsmomma could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
You probably do need one hand to open the gate. It is a sliding mechanism at the top only (no bottom latch). Once it is open, you can push through it with hands full and it swings back by itself to shut.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
We have found the latch quite easy to work, and I have had my hands full a time or two. There is only a top latch, but it has proved to be all that is needed. We secured the gate with screws, so I cannot accurately answer your question of scooting. I can tell you the gate is quite heavy.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GracieS is loaded.
Additional information about GracieS could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is only a latch up top and unless you push the latch or slam it - it stays slightly open. We prefer that as we have our gate to block up staircase and since we go up and down it a lot - it helps that it doesn't latch unless we want it too. Our dog can't get through it when it's not latched - as it stays closed well enough but this way you can just use your leg to open it while you may have items in your hands.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Answer: 
The gate does require a free hand to operate. It has a good weight to it so two hands are better. The lock is only on the top of the gate. I have two welsh corgis and they are not able to move it. Again, it has good weight to it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it is easy. I have an 8 week Golden and can carry him in one hand and pull the latch open with the other. The latch is only at the top and you don't need to stoop down or anything to undo it. The door swings back on it's own as well and latches. At this point we feel it is pretty sturdy because of the horizontal legs on on both sides and we haven't even connected all the pieces yet.
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, it is easy to operate. It has one sliding lock on the top where you can reach down without bending (and I am 6'5"). The gate is heavy and hard to move, but the sides are angled and can be moved by the dog so he can wedge himself through if you don't anchor the sides firmly against the wall. But it is plenty heavy enough for Yorkies. We have 2.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about RaleighJacket is loaded.
Additional information about RaleighJacket could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate is nice and heavy and our dog hasn't been able to move it, though to be fair, she hasn't tried very hard. It latches only at the top and requires just a finger to slide the bolt out. If you're coming from the other direction, however, you have to reach over the gate. When we come down the stairs, it's a little awkward to bend over and reach the latch. It closes easily behind you.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate latches at the top only. It is very easy to open even with stuff in your hands. It is a slide type latch. This is a heavy metal gate so your Yorkie will not be able to push it open at the bottom. I have a Yorkie also. He is a jumper and climber. He can not jump over this gate or climb it. This gate is heavy so your dog will not be able to push it out of the way. It also has rubber on the bottom so it does not slide on hard wood floors easily. Also the door closes automaticlly and latches so you don't have to worry about your Yorkie pushing it open if you forget to latch it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
you need at least one free hand to operate the latch. it's a button you push in and heavy enough so it would be difficult for a dog to escape
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nocal is loaded.
Additional information about Nocal could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Latch is only on top and would require one hand to operate if you have it fully closed. I have a yorke and a jack russell and they have never pushed it. I have two of these gates. Love them.
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Pennsylvania, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PAdogowner is loaded.
Additional information about PAdogowner could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
10 answers

How strong is the mesh?

2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Covington, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DawnRAT is loaded.
Additional information about DawnRAT could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The mesh is made from 100% steel, so it will stand up to pets' claws and teeth.
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EDFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about EDFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Answer: 
Not like a screen door. It's stiff metal.
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Very strong. It is hard metal mesh (similar to fireplace screen/skirt). It would be difficult for a dog to dig through it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is comparable to a good fireplace screen.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It's metal so it is pretty strong. My 8 week golden pup tried scratching at it and didn't damage it at all.
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is pretty thick and sturdy although I imagine any dog that was really determined to scratch its way through might bend it and ruin the finish.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is just like a fireplace screen. It is very sturdy. This gate is put together very well. The screen is attached to the metal edges so it does not push in easily like some fireplace screens do.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I was worried about the mesh when I ordered it, but I can tell you that I'm very pleased. Even the dogs leaning on it doesn't seem to affect it at all. Love this gate.
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LTP2 is loaded.
Additional information about LTP2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
9 answers

can the gate go on the other side (right)

3 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Unfortunately, the gate for this item is built into the right front panel and is not able to be placed on the other side. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
3 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It can't be moved, but you can flip the gate around to have it on the other side. Just be aware that the balance may be off, so it could topple over if pushed on with enough force.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
TX
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chuckso is loaded.
Additional information about Chuckso could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate is built on the right side of the gate and does not allow reversal of that situation.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Illinois, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DiandeB is loaded.
Additional information about DiandeB could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
mine actually came as the mirror image, but it is not reversible
3 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lakeliving is loaded.
Additional information about lakeliving could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate cannot go on the other side. The holes to connect the pieces of the gate make it so that you cannot change the side of the gate. The only way you can get the door on the right is to face the gate the opposite way that's in the picture.
3 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about labfan213 is loaded.
Additional information about labfan213 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The only way I found to make the gate open the other way is to flip the front panel around, which obscures the decorative scrollwork a little bit.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about annap is loaded.
Additional information about annap could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Actually it IS on the right - or at least the one we received is. We wanted it on the left, as pictured in the catalog but it's on the rigtht.
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, my husband successfully installed the door backwards by mistake. It puts the fancy details on the other side of the screen, but still looks nice.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tmag is loaded.
Additional information about tmag could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
I have not used it at the top of stairs, but you will notice that it is very stable and would be difficult to push over. Of course, if your dog is heave or very large, they may be able to knock it over, but I've had a doberman all over mine and it never fell over.
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes. We use it on a tile entry way to keep dogs out of stairs leading to basement.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LisaJP is loaded.
Additional information about LisaJP could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would have to see your stairwell or at least know the dimensions but for the most part, this gate is just what it says it is "free standing" and it's quite sturdy. We have giant and large breed dogs (weigh 158, 110 and 85 lbs, respectively). Since the two larger dogs often "challenge" gates or simply barrel through them, we decided to turn this gate inward between our dining and living room. The gate opens "in" so they are unable to push on it - works like a charm. You'd have to be sure the gate expands past the opening at the top of your stairs but the opening between the two rooms in our house is 70" or almost 6 feet. the gate has a magnetic closure so it swings shut automatically if you let it go and latches. Hope this helps. (The gate is lovely and quite well made). Denise in Land O' Lakes
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nesie is loaded.
Additional information about Nesie could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
If using it for a pet it should be fine, it is free standing and very sturdy. Not sure I would use it for a child.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Kimrose is loaded.
Additional information about Kimrose could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is pretty sturdy, and it has the stand to balance it, but I don't know if someone can tip it down the stairs.
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chantel is loaded.
Additional information about chantel could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would NOT use at the top of stairs! It may fall! Not a suction or screw in type and could tip over.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about khtustinca is loaded.
Additional information about khtustinca could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Surprise, AZ
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about AZCoach is loaded.
Additional information about AZCoach could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The description states that the opening is 55" wide, so I am concerned about whether or not it could adjust smaller.
3 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Argyle, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ttbrown6 is loaded.
Additional information about ttbrown6 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, the smallest size this gate can be adjusted to is 55". We do offer our 22"H Free-standing Mesh Pet Gate Barrier (item 42958) in two different size options, one of which adjusts between 40" - 70". We apologize for any inconvenience.
3 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The doorway where we placed the gate is less than 55 inches. We just put the side panels up against the wall on each side. The results were similar to one of the pictures on Frontgate. It shows the gate panels extended out from the doorway. It works and looks great.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Delaware, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Schatji is loaded.
Additional information about Schatji could not be loaded.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Answer: 
If there is wall on either or both sides of your opening, you can simply put it overlapping the doorway and the sides will come in to your wall. Otherwise, the shortest it assembles is 54 1/2"
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The smallest we were able to adjust it was for 51".
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. Just set it on one side of the door opening. It will be extend slightly over each side of the doorway, but will be side pieces will be flush against the wall. Look at the photo and just imagine the gate extended 3" wider on each side.
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It will not be able to fit an opening 48" wide. I tested mine to see if I could make it fit, and it would not.
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
  • 2015-08-01T11:22:57.030-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???