Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Pet ProductsHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 941.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expandable Steel Mesh Pet Gate Purchased two gates to keep our dogs from entering certain rooms in our home. Not only are they sturdy, but are quite elegant looking. Have received many compliments. Would highly recommend!
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Steel Pet Gate The gate looks sooooooo much better than the old plastic one we had been using and is very sturdy, yet not too heavy to move when necessary. Great price on a very good product.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I love the gate. It has an elegant look unlike the others I have looked at. Very sturdy. I was very pleased with the purchase and product. Thank you
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! Works great and does what it is supposed to do. Even my husband could put it together.
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Product Works great! Keep in mind that you will most likely need to install the top wall support things (for lack of a better term). If you don't, the top could slide out of the doorway. I did not need them on the bottom. I did not use the sticky pads, only the supports. Its a tension issue. You cannot keep tightening to the wall without compromising your ability to open the door. Its not a flaw! There is no other way to do it. My only real complaint is that the directions could be better. It does not include an explanation of how to install the wall supports. Its pretty obvious, but directions should include everything.
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great dog gate the gate looks nice. It is sturdy.
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best dog gate this gate is the best for keepin our 2 new dogs in the main areas. we ordered a second for the front porch so they could sit out as well. The only complaint is that there is not an extra section to expand the size beyond the normal size. This is much better than a big box plastic barrier or baby gate, and looks like a Fireplace Screen more than a gate. Kudos..
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely stunning pet gate! I purchased two of the beautiful free standing metal mesh pet gates. They are of a high quality, very sturdy, extremely functional and simply beautiful to look at. I love the fact my two little puppies can see through the mesh and have plenty of natural light during my time away at work. I would purchase these again and again!
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 24"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate We have an eight month old West Highland Terrier. We kept her only in the family room/kitchen area with double doors closed to the main hall. Before the fence, we felt separated from the house. We bought this fence because it stands alone, as described, and works at many lengths. It was the perfect fence for us with the easy-t- use gate, It unlaches easy and self-closes, as described. It looks great, too.
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Serves Purpose Well This gate is handsome, heavy and serves the purpose of confining our elderly dog to keep him from stairs in our home. Because it is free standing, we need to put it in place only when our dog is left alone - and it is very easy to slide away. It was easy to assemble.
Date published: 2013-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful dog gate we just purchased a 100 year old row house in Baltimore and was looking for something that would separate our scotties from the kitchen/dining room. this is beautiful and functions exactly how we want it. the decor fits perfectly with the brick and hardwood floors of this home, the gate is very easy to open/close and weighty enough to prevent our two scotties from pushing it around
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Pet Gate
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Steel Mesh Pet Gate Great product. Nice looking, and my large hounds haven't managed to move it or get through it. Easy to assemble.
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from elegant sturdy The gate is a beautiful addition to the home. Very sturdy and an eye catcher. Sits in our piano room door and is absolutely a gorgeous piece of work. In fact I loved it so much I ordered a smaller one for the kitchen to dining room door. I cannot say enough about how impressed I am with the product.
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super pet gate I bought this to separate my great room/kitchen from my dining room and stairs to upstairs. I have 3 small dogs and they quickly learn to open most gates if they are not bolted down. This is perfect. It is heavy enough that they can't move it and it is really attractive. The self closing gate is easy to use and works perfeclty in the area I have placed it. Would highly recommend for an attractive change from regular pet gates.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this gate. This is a very attractive gate and allows me to now keep the sliding doors open but the dogs out of the living room.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Quality This gate served a dual purpose of keeping our large and sometimes headstrong golden doodle from greeting our guests as they enter our home and still look attractive. It is well made, went together easily (I did it myself and I am in my late sixties) and very nice to look at.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Visually Appealing, Functional and Strong Love this pet gate! It requires minor assembly when you receive it and the instructions are clear. I had it together in 10 minutes. The design has visual appeal and functional strength. My two Yorkies became quickly accustomed to the barrier because the mesh design allows them to see to the other side. The mesh design also helps to keep small pets from getting stuck between slats in other pet gate designs. I think this is a superior product and am very pleased. The free-standing design is sturdy and makes this a mobile product. No damage to existing wall structures in the home. My order was handled, processed, and shipped in the designated timeframe. The packaging was great, so no damage in transit. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from free standing steel mesh pet gate barrier I just recieved my pet gate today, with fast delivery, I was surprised with standard shipping, how fast we recieved it. Not only was it easy to assemble, really!! It is very sturdy & classy looking as well. We keep our dogs in the kitchen & we had old wooden gates dividing the kitchen & livingroom to keep them out. This product is defintely worth purchasing. We can now actually appreciate the beauty of our home now . Thank you Frontgate .
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Gate I give this gate five stars. Our new gate matches the fireplace cover and looks so nice. Much more attractive than those baby gates that I have always used before. I like the fact that it expands to fit exactly the space I need. My dog has not knocked it down, but he does scratch at it and I worried it would do something to the screen, but so far so good.
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dog Gate The gate was easy to assemble. It is sturdy and easy to use and looks nice with our decor. I give this gate a five star rating.
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful gate you dont' have to hide I have to contain my dog and these gates are beautiful enough to keep out all the time. And I love that I can walk through (vs. climbing over). Well made too. I was so impressed with the first one, I bought two more.
Date published: 2013-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 22" H Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Attractive, sturdy, and easily assembled. This pet barrier (not a gate) is perfect for blocking a room that is very visible from the front entry of my home. I highly recommend this stylish barrier.
Date published: 2013-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 22 inch freestanding mesh pet barrier Excellent product and overall experience. Item arrived quickly, was exactly as pictured in the catalog, assembled easily, works perfectly and looks beautiful!
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving the new gate! This gate is sturdy, stable and looks good too. We put it in an oversized doorway. We can walk through it easily and so can the pets when we leave it open. It comes with a self-closing spring loaded door but my spring let go within the first week. It was a happy accident because now we can leave it in place open or closed. Love the look and quality of the gate. Great price and would buy it all over again.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! We recently became the proud owners of Irish Wolfhound puppies. This door is perfect. Easy to install and use, looks great and the small door allows the Westie and the cat to come and go at their pleasure (to the puppies dismay) We bought two and love them!
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 42 h tension mount dual door I got this for the kitchen door, after puppy can jump easily over the shorter gate. I am very happy with this gate, its beautiful and if used carefully, the door stays in place. Now I don;t have to look all over for the puppy. Recommend to all with a puppy.
Date published: 2013-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gate Love the gate! Very sturdy and beautiful! We've received many compliments.
Date published: 2013-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and Attractive I have a one year old Doberman puppy who can jump over any gate - except this one! The mesh makes it impossible to climb, too. It probably helps that she can see through the gate, which also happens to be very solid-feeling. When I first installed it, I almost panicked because it was just a 1/2 of an inch too big to fit in the door frame even though I measured carefully before I ordered it. i was able to make it work by using the screws and knobs on one side and the screws by themselves on the other side. Very happy with this product.
Date published: 2013-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking dog door I needed a taller door because my agile dog leapt over gates of standard height. I loved the color and design of this door. The only issue was that i couldnt fit it in what i thought was a standard doorframe with all of the door/ frame protectors. Otherwise i love it. I got it to fit.
Date published: 2013-02-19
  • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_47, tr_894
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
Asked by: Cricketsmomma
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Answered by: PAdogowner
Date published: 2014-06-26

How strong is the mesh?

Asked by: DawnRAT
The mesh is very strong
Answered by: LTP2
Date published: 2013-10-21

can the gate go on the other side (right)

Asked by: Anonymous
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Answered by: GreensboroNC
Date published: 2013-10-21

I want to use this gate at the top of the stairs, has anyone used at top of stairs without wall for it to lean against?

Asked by: tmag
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Answered by: AZCoach
Date published: 2013-10-21

Will my energetic strong yorkie be able to push it aside to wiggle out the side?

Also, I see comments about it being heavy...I will be pushing it aside or sliding it smaller... when he is allowed into the other rooms. Is that easy to do on a daily basis? Love the look!
Asked by: Bailey2
In general, he should not be able to push it. It's pretty sturdy and heavy. However, if the gate doesn't fit the opening properly, and leaves inches open, or if you haven't used the screws to hold the end pieces securely in place, he could maybe wiggle those and snake through. You can't slide them smaller. The gate is screwed together into the configuration you need for your opening. The pieces don't 'slide'. You'd just have to lift the unit and move it aside. I size my gates so that the side pieces are inside the opening, not in front of the opening (as in the picture)... then my dog can't push or work it open.
Answered by: JAKnarr
Date published: 2014-09-06
  • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_118
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]