Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate

Pet ProductsHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 971.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doggie Gate This gate is well made and looks great. I bought it for my Aunt's 10,000 sq. ft. home so that when she opens the doors to the outside we can keep the dogs inside. She likes the gate very much and it matches her home very well.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Sophie Stopper We have tried for years to keep our little 5-lb Maltese in a safe place when we left the house and now we do! This is a heavyweight piece, the real deal and looks great to boot.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect We got this gate when we first got our puppy. It is super sturdy and looks as if it costs 3 times as much. Quality product that fits right in as if it was custom made for the space and easy to assemble. I would highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Styling Petgate For two years I had my table pads on end to protect my living room from my cat. Finally saw this gate, ordered it, and was delighted with it! It blends into the decor of my home and is barely visible to guests coming in. My cat doesn't even try to vault it even though I think she could. Well made and looks great!
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Love this gate. It works great for the doorway I bought it for. easy to assemble. High end look
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spot On Pet Gate I was having trouble containing my 70 pound half pit/half heeler to the kitchen while I was at work. It seems she just did not like the mailman and would barrel through the little white gate I had, causing chaos. I was careful to read the helpful reviews about this gate and am so glad I ordered it. It is much taller and she doesn't even try to go through or over it. It must be intimidating to her due to how tall it is. Anyway, it works! Not only that but it is darn cute. It looks like a little mini-screen door to me and it is substantially built. Yes, a very small dog or puppy could get through the sides; however, it would have to be a very small dog (extremely tiny.) I am very happy with this purchase. It also arrived in a timely manner and was a breeze to install.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my new dog gate!!! This is the third one that I have ordered, and I love them! We have a formal entry foyer and these gates are beautiful and do the job of keeping two small dogs blocked out. Easy assembly and so pretty.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality!!! We wanted to be able to block off a room and in looking for something that looked nice in our Victorian home. I took a chance and purchased this gate. When it arrived the box was heavy and when I opened it, it exceeded my expectations. The gate is beautiful. I am actually going to purchase the smaller one!
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Functional and Beautiful! This gate does a great job of meeting my needs and is very functional. On top of that, it looks very nice in my house and is of very high quality. I highly recommend it!
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Super gate, very heavy so it can't be pushed over, and very stylish!
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I ordered 2 of these gates to keep my dogs from wandering around the whole house. They look great and are super efficient! They are free-standing (so no drilling), sturdy (my dogs cannot knock them over or jump over them) and look amazing! I would recommend these to anyone looking for a decorative and functional, supportive gate.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Gate Ever I have therapy Yorkies and they want to see as much as be handled by my patients. I had the White bar version of this for several years and wanted something at home that would be less industrial. This is elegant, does the trick of letting the dogs see without being loose.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellently nade A sturdy gate (bought two) that is easy to assemble and easy to access in and out of room. Very pretty and decorative. Price worth it!!
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular Product-Great Service We are so pleased to have found Frontgate's Pet Gate. It is strong and attractive and flexible enough to move from doorway to doorway. When our shipment got "lost" in shipping, Frontgate's Customer Service was especially helpful and courteous.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice gate Other than trying to put in the bottom screws to affix the left side panel to the gate, it was easy to put together. I am very happy with the look, quality and sturdiness of this gate. It is holding up well and so far holding my dogs where they are supposed to be!
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Good Gate!" Bought this to keep a new puppy and our 15 year old English Setter in the kitchen area. Work well, no issues. Easily expandable to the width we needed and not difficult to put together. Heavy enough not to tip over! Pretty enough to look good in our home, plenty of positive comments.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect in every way! I was looking for a gate to contain our cats, so it needed to be higher than most I'd seen. I also wanted a compliment to our Tuscan-style home. This gate is both beautiful and functional.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and durable This gate is very sturdy and beautiful. Love it and will be buying another one for another area in our home.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet gate High quality well made product. Meets all expectation as advertised.
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Gate! After years of having our dachshunds pull down, chew up, and jump over traditional dog gates, we decided to try to find something more permanent and sturdy, but still attractive. We looked into having a custom gate built, but found it to be pretty pricey. However, most metal gates we found were in widths that would not even come close to our doorway's measurements. Our doorframe is 40.75" across, so we were initially sad to think that this gate would be barely too small, but we decided to try to find a solution, and we're so glad we took a chance! This gate is even more beautiful in person and very solid - the website pictures truly don't do it justice. We ended up building 2 columns for each side out of framing studs, trimmed them out to fill the gaps and still be a sturdy brace to support the gate, and painted them to match the other trim in our home. In the end, they make the gate look even more interesting, and we couldn't be happier! Our only regret is that this site doesn't have an option to share photos.
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Gate!!!!!!!!!!!! This was the best decision I ever made. I run a small dog business out of my home. I have been through countless wooden gates that cost just as much if not more and they only lastest for short periods of time with the doggie crew that I can have in my care at one time. Sturdy very attractive looking and built to last. The walk through door on the gate was exactly what I was looking for in a pet gate plus durability to last. If I could wish for one thing is that they made one just as tall with a walk through door that would fit a 36" opening like into a small hallway or bedroom doorway to block off. They offer something similar but not with the door on it. This one I have is for about a 54 to 58" opening and works great! You will not regret the purchase.
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Real quality that exceeds expectations We bought two of these pet gates - the single door size and the bigger one for a double French door. Both are finely crafted with a very nice bronze finish. The decorative detail is impressive. They really look handcrafted. They were very easy to assemble and adjust to fit. They are sturdy. It's not often that a product exceeds expectations so nicely. We are proud to have these gates in our house.
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pet gate is functional yet elegant My wife thought our 20 month Golden could not be fully trusted to keep out of mischief when we were out for a few hours. The crate seemed to be limiting. We wanted to sequester her to half of our foyer which we did with this beautiful gate. The opening is 63 inches. The gate is expandable to 70 inches. I was not looking for anything that would be permanently mounted to the wall and this free standing gate was the perfect solution. It is functional and cannot be toppled over by a hyper golden who weighs 65 pounds. The gate has a swinging door as well. The quality is better than you would expect for the price. I highly recommend it. The catalog photo is not a perfect representation of the color . I would say it is more black with bronze highlights than a bronze color overall. I would have preferred a more bronze color but none the less very happy with its decorative qualities in our home.
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MESH GATE THIS GATE IS FUNCTIONAL AS WELL AS GOOD LOOKING AND IS NOW THE SECOND ONE I PURCHASED
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! We purchased two of these gates. They were simple to set up and look great. We purchased these fences because of the gate feature and are very happy with them. The gate opens easily. These are also very good looking!
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid pet gate with super-easy setup Love it. Took about ten minutes to set it up out of the box. Shipping box was damaged, but due to adequate padding inside, product was not. Latch has nice and clean action, and end pieces keep it stable. We have a small dog, about 12lbs, but this gate should handle much larger dogs as well. Color matches our dark wood decor, and pins for attachment are quick and sturdy. Great product.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Gate I was so sorry we had to return this beautiful gate. Our doorway is too narrow and that is the only reason. This looks as good in person as it does online and is study. If they ever made one that started a little more narrow, I would buy one immediately.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! These are perfect for gating off my dogs in my sun room while I'm at work during the day. The opening is to the sun room is wide, so I loved that these came in the wider widths. They are heavy enough so they can't nudge them out of the way like the wooden ones, either. But, the best part is that they are beautiful enough to keep up even when guests come over. Putting away the ugly wooden gates gets old when you try to do it when guests come, but I allow these to remain because they are so decorative.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality, attractive look, worth the money It saves my home from 3 large dogs. that like to run through my home
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this gate The gate is very easy to assemble. The dogs can't get through it, metal works great since they chew everything and you can walk through it easily. Before I was stepping over a lower gate and sometimes the puppy would get in the way. Also it is very pretty!
Date published: 2016-12-21
  • y_2017, m_4, d_29, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_47, tr_924
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
Asked by: Cricketsmomma
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Answered by: PAdogowner
Date published: 2014-06-26

How strong is the mesh?

Asked by: DawnRAT
The mesh is very strong
Answered by: LTP2
Date published: 2013-10-21

can the gate go on the other side (right)

Asked by: Anonymous
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Answered by: GreensboroNC
Date published: 2013-10-21

I want to use this gate at the top of the stairs, has anyone used at top of stairs without wall for it to lean against?

Asked by: tmag
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Answered by: AZCoach
Date published: 2013-10-21

Will my energetic strong yorkie be able to push it aside to wiggle out the side?

Also, I see comments about it being heavy...I will be pushing it aside or sliding it smaller... when he is allowed into the other rooms. Is that easy to do on a daily basis? Love the look!
Asked by: Bailey2
In general, he should not be able to push it. It's pretty sturdy and heavy. However, if the gate doesn't fit the opening properly, and leaves inches open, or if you haven't used the screws to hold the end pieces securely in place, he could maybe wiggle those and snake through. You can't slide them smaller. The gate is screwed together into the configuration you need for your opening. The pieces don't 'slide'. You'd just have to lift the unit and move it aside. I size my gates so that the side pieces are inside the opening, not in front of the opening (as in the picture)... then my dog can't push or work it open.
Answered by: JAKnarr
Date published: 2014-09-06
  • y_2017, m_4, d_29, h_13CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_121
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]