Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Pet ProductsHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 918 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Awesome! This gate couldn't have worked any better! It looks even better than the pictures! My doorway is actually 32 inches and it fit perfectly with minor tweaks. I did not add the rubber "stoppers" to one side and it holds securely in place. My pet (Zoey, a Newfoundland dog) just had knee surgery and I needed to confine her to a small area. The gate is the perfect height and the smaller door would work well for smaller pets too! It is functional and actually looks great as well. I am extremely happy with this purchase! September 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for 2 Golden Retrievers We have been using a white plastic "baby" gate to keep our 85 pound dogs out of our dining room. This looks so much better in the entrance from our kitchen into our dining room. The door makes an easy entrance and exit between the rooms. Installation was super easy. We plan to order the similar gate for a wider doorway for the other entrance into our kitchen from our great room. We have only had it for a couple of weeks, so I can't comment on durability yet. September 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great gate! This gate is amazing. It is beautiful, sturdy, and not expensive at all. I purchased other gates in the past somewhere else at about the same price, but their quality does not compare to the quality of this one. August 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by 34 inch mesh gate for dogs Best gate ever. Perfect for large openings and beautiful. Works great for both our dogs. August 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Puppies saved from the precipice As our Boston Terrier got dementia, bad eyesight and other mobility problems, she lost the ability to go down stairs. The 22"H Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier saved her from the perils of our open layout condo and its staircases, protecting her from the risks of falling and the inevitable seizures that followed. We were happy to find a preventative that was also not a plastic baby gate. Thanks Frontgate! August 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love This Gate I've purchased two of these gates and love their appearance, durability and stability. The door latch is easy to use and the expandability of the gate is very useful. It's very sturdy. It's not something you'd expect to be complemented on, but we've had several visitors admire it. I recommend this gate highly over the other 34" gate that has rails rather than mesh. July 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally found the perfect pet gates I recently bought 3 of these gates and installed them yesterday. They are and look great!! Easy to assemble, sturdy, beautiful. My three dogs aren't too happy about it, especially the German Shepard, so are my Chow and pit mix. These gates are the highest out there! My regret is not discovering these gates before!! No cons!!! July 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Gate! This gate is beautiful and works well. It is easy to open the gate, and heavy enough that our goldendoodle cannot nose around it or knock it over. I highly recommend it. July 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous gate I already owned two other gates from Frontgate, so it was no surprise when this gate came and it was exactly as described. It is a good looking, sturdy gate, which mounts easily (though instructions were not good) and opens and closes easily. At first I thought that the height was unnecessarily tall, but the height is nice in that it makes it easy for adults to walk through without having to bend over to work a latch. When extended to fit a 36" doorway there are 3" spaces on either side of the uprights---which is definitely enough to let a puppy through. If the gate is in an even wider doorway, those will be wider as well, which is a point to consider. This can be seen in the catalog picture, so it should not be unexpected. In our case we were able to place pieces of wood in this space temporarily to narrow the spaces until the puppy grows. This completes my puppy-proofing, but if I did need another gate I would choose this product again. It's a great gate at a good price. July 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best BY FAR! I have been purchasing pet gates for close to 20 years and this is the best one I have ever seen /purchased! I dare say I will NEVER need to replace this one. Suck it up and pay the price, it will be less expensive in the long run because I seriously think it's going to last forever! July 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect addition We needed something a bit more permanent than using the old fashioned mesh gates. This is a beautiful piece, it was an easy install. Our small dog can get through the smaller door. It fits in perfectly with our home decor. It was a very good buy. Thank you. July 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST PET GATE EVER! This is the best pet gate that you can ever buy. It is very easy to put together. Small dogs (I'm not sure about big dogs) cannot knock it over nor jump over it. The door works great. I absolutely love this gate so much that I have bought two. The only thing wrong with this gate is that it is considered a signature item. So if you have a coupon for a discount even if it says on all items, IT WILL NOT WORK ON THIS GATE NOR ANY OF THEIR SIGNATURE ITEMS! I CONSIDER THIS TO BE UNFAIR AND UNJUST TO THE CUSTOMER. June 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good purchase This product is exactly what I was looking for. Good quality and beauty. June 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Beautiful I have an older home with some odd sized doorways and openings. Tired of trying to get cheap pressure point baby gates to fit the openings, I decided to get two of these when I saw they were on sale. Wow, are they gorgeous! They look almost like fireplace screens and everyone who has seen them has commented on how beautiful they look. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. June 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Purchase Beautiful and well-crafted dog gate. It is sturdy, functional, and attractive. Am buying another for a different room. Highly recommend. June 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Quality These pet gates cannot be found anywhere else, for the quality and durability. I have had some of mine for years and they are still in excellent condition. They keep the dogs in without having them inside a crate which I will never do. I know they are expensive but worth every penny. June 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful dog gates We now have 4 of these controlling access of our three english bulldogs. Tall and sturdy enough to keep them in or out of areas but low enough that we can step over them easily. They look great and we are completely satisfied. June 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet gate This gate is absolutely perfect. I've had several different gates and this one tops them all. June 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moraga Mike Steel free standing gates are well made and look great. So much style, strong as well and easy to move when we don't need them. Storage is also not bad fit great in our laundry room. June 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by pretty and functional Perfect for keeping my new puppy in an emclosed area. June 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So happy Not only is it elegant sturdy, and well made... It was worth every penny that I paid. June 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by doggie gate we had an unusual place to use a dog gate and as soon as I saw this free standing one...i ordered it. Its so nice and heavy duty...it works perfect for where we needed it. I would have liked it to come in other colors or finishes...but it was worth refinishing...for the perfect use. I also really liked how the sides moved to ease of entering and exiting without even having to move it...this gate had all my dilemmas covered !! One negative ...if you want a review...make it easier to sign in...my nickname is two letters...get over it! May 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb Pet Gate It arrived 3 days ago and I couldn't wait to install it as our dogs destroyed the previous gates. Firstly, it was extremely easy to assemble (and I'm not handyman). Secondly, it is substantial (heavy) and cannot be easily moved. Lastly, it looks as good as it does on the website. It adds to the house decor. All and all, I couldn't be more pleased. I feel that the money that I wasted on two less expensive gates was, just that, a waste of money. Kudos to Frontgate for providing a quality, good looking gate. May 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Gate We've Ever Bought Sturdy and attractive. This is the third gate in this style that we've purchased from Frontgate. It looks great and does the job, keeping our cats away from our new puppy and vice versa. Highly recommend. Assembly is simple. April 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Gate ever I bought this gate to replace the one I purchased in 2009. (Although this time I got the taller one with the gate.) Since the gate is used in an outdoor patio, lasting more than 5 years outside is great. As a matter of fact, the gate is so good looking that it is an "approved" one to use at our condo complex. April 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and sturdy This gate was easy to assemble. Very tastefully appointed and sturdy. This is a gate I would highly recommend. April 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME THE DOOR WORKED GREAT. LOOKED GREAT. KITTY DOOR HOLE WAS TOO BIG AND OUR MID SIZED DOG GOT THRU. FIX WAS TO CUT THE MESH IN THE KITTY DOOR AND DUCT TAPE TO AVOID SHARP EDGES, FIXED THE PROBLEM. WOULD BUY ANOTHER ONE SHOULD ONE BE NEEDED SOME WHERE ELSE. THANKS FOR A SOLUTION TO OUR KITTY/DOG PROBLEM. April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE THIS GATE!!!!!! I can't remember the last time I was this happy with a mail order. This gate is EXACTLY what we needed. We have twin granddaughters and two dogs. One of my dogs is a Houdini and I was worried about the gate not being not being heavy enough and that she would be able to push it over or move it. She absolutely cannot move this gate. I love that it does not touch the walls as the tension mounts going on and off the walls causes marks on the walls over time. I also love the door for us to go in and out of as opposed to climbing over to go in and out of the room. And another highlight is that it is attractive and not an eyesore. I highly recommend this gate. February 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Gate I have two small dogs and a new wool carpet. I purchased two gates because one was just about a foot shy of the opening between my living room and dining room where I need to contain my dogs. The gate is good quality and nice to look at. The door is easy to open for access. I am very happy with my purchase. January 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by 42inch Tension mount gate I bought this gate 1 year ago to keep my 3 lb yorkie in my kitchen when I am away from the house. It is a beautiful gate and the I love it. I did have to make an adjustment to the side because it has some opening on the sides that she could get thru. I just had my husband cut a 2x4 piece of would and painted it the same color as the gate , problem fixed. I used the wood between the wall and gate to fill in the space some so she could not get out. I love this gate and the style looks great in my home. The gate is spring loaded and you can not just leave it open which is fine for us. I just open the small door on the bottom for my yorkie. She loves her little door since she is still 3 lbs and can not get up on things. I recommend this gate to people with xs pups The mesh part is wonderful and beautiful January 18, 2016
  • 2016-10-30 T05:26:43.366-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_918, tr_918
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 30 next>>
(114 Questions : 263 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
22"H Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier
 
0 answers
How does this gate open? Does it slide open?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 2cats is loaded.
Additional information about 2cats could not be loaded.
3 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 2cats is loaded.
Additional information about 2cats could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
22"H Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier
 
0 answers
How wide is the gate opening? I am handicapped and need 25" clearance for my walker.
Customer avatar
by
Bridgeport, TX 76426, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Phaeton is loaded.
Additional information about Phaeton could not be loaded.
1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Bridgeport, TX 76426, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Phaeton is loaded.
Additional information about Phaeton could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
22"H Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier
 
1 answer
Door for this pet gate?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Winni is loaded.
Additional information about Winni could not be loaded.
Is there a door that swings open with this gate? From the picture and description, no mention of one. I need to be able to get in/out of the gated area and am looking for a pet gate that functions as a baby gate with a door that I can open and close without having to move the entire freestanding gate out of the way to enter or exit the room.
3 weeks, 4 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Winni is loaded.
Additional information about Winni could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 22"H Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier. This gate does not have a gate; since it is only 22"H, it is easily stepped over.
1 week, 5 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate
 
1 answer
Does the gate swing both ways (e.g. In and out)?
Customer avatar
by
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Kels is loaded.
Additional information about Kels could not be loaded.
2 months, 4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Kels is loaded.
Additional information about Kels could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate. The gate only swings in.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate
 
4 answers
Is the mesh steel? Can cat jump over the gate?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Racheljcs is loaded.
Additional information about Racheljcs could not be loaded.
Is the mesh made of steel? Our cats are jerks and will destroy any mesh within an hour. Also can cats jump over this gate? Has anyone experienced this? Thanks!
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Racheljcs is loaded.
Additional information about Racheljcs could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
This is a thicker mesh, not like a window screen. Yes, a very athletic cat could jump over it. One of our carts jumped from an end table over it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Atl
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JAScat is loaded.
Additional information about JAScat could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. We are looking into what material the mesh in this gate is made of. This gate is designed to primarily keep larger pet our of areas that smaller pets, such as cats, are allowed to go. A cat can most certainly climb up or jump over this gate.
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I am not certain of the material of the mesh. It is strong and sturdy however. A clever cat can most certainly climb it. A larger, agile cat could possibly leap up to the top, balance and then hop off.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Sea Ranch, CA 95497, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dmartin336 is loaded.
Additional information about dmartin336 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. The mesh is made of steel.
1 month, 4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 4 5 next>>
  • 2016-10-30 T05:25:32.270-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 next>>
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate
The Frontgate Credit CardNow Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]