Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Pet Products
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 422 441
shoddy workmanship Overall high quality materials, but shoddy workmanship was very disappointing. We ordered two of these. One arrived with a piece of the decorative trim broken off. The other was in great shape until you tried to latch the gate. Whoever put the latch mechanism together installed a simple but key piece incorrectly rendering the latch useless. I had to remove it from the gate and pry it apart to fix it. Once fixed it worked like a charm, but I expected much more attention to detail in a product like this that wasn't exactly cheap. Neither problem was bad enough to go through the hassle of re-packing & returning the products and waiting for replacements. Don't know where or by whom these were made, but they obviously had no pride in their workmanship. November 8, 2011
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate I have loved every gate I have purchased from Frontgate. This one however is a little flimsy. It is not made from as heavy gauge material as the other gates we have ordered from Frontgate. We needed a gate my husband could walk through, he has had knee replacement surgery. Our dogs are small so it not being as sturdy has not been a problem, It looks nice and has solved the problem of my husband having to step over to go into the next room. If you have large dogs, they might knock the gate over. January 21, 2014
Has it's problems I like the looks of this gate, and it was one of the few that I could get to block a larger doorway. I was thrilled with it for the first 2 weeks, after which time it would no longer "latch" by itself when you let the door swing shut. Now the latch assembly is very difficult to move and latch-luckily my dogs have not yet figured out they can push on the door, open it and get into the room I want them blocked out of. Don't know what to do about the situation cause I no longer have the packing to pack it up and ship back I wish it worked the way it did for the first 2 weeks. December 16, 2013
Visually Appealing, Functional and Strong Love this pet gate! It requires minor assembly when you receive it and the instructions are clear. I had it together in 10 minutes. The design has visual appeal and functional strength. My two Yorkies became quickly accustomed to the barrier because the mesh design allows them to see to the other side. The mesh design also helps to keep small pets from getting stuck between slats in other pet gate designs. I think this is a superior product and am very pleased. The free-standing design is sturdy and makes this a mobile product. No damage to existing wall structures in the home. My order was handled, processed, and shipped in the designated timeframe. The packaging was great, so no damage in transit. Highly recommend! March 14, 2013
Very pleased! We like the appearance and well it works. Very classy. March 12, 2014
Happy Happy Happy Very pleased with this purchase. I had to purchase two of these because we have a very wide opening to be gated. I like that is very well constructed and does not look like your ordinary dog gate. It looks very nice with my home decor. I have a dog that jumps over all the other gates that we have purchased and this one is tall enough that she won't be doing that anymore. And the gate is spring loaded so it closes quietly. January 24, 2014
NICEEEEE!!!! We love the way this gate looks & is made. It is tall, so it is perfect if you have a larger dog. Matches our deco perfect as we have lots of wood & rod iron thru out our home. The only issue we have is the base boards at the bottom stick out a tad further than i measured for, so in order to make it "fit" we had to remove one of the spin notches for adjusting the tightness & now it doesn't fit as snuggly on the bottom as the top & so it tends to slide slightly every time the gate is slammed. But that was my mistake, not the maker of the gate itself. Make sure you measure from your baseboards, not the mid/top section of the doorway your mounting it in to get the proper measurement & fit. Other than that - it's a great gate! September 24, 2011
Great dog gate We have 4 dogs on our farm, & for years we've been dealing with a rickety accordian style child gate to keep them in the kitchen(i did not want to anchor it into cherrywood cabinets). it did not work well & was a trip hazard. when i found this gate online i thought perhaps our problems were solved, & YES!!! it is great. It is wide enough & sturdy enough to keep our 45 lb puppy in as well as the 3 other dogs; the gate operates well, it is attractive, & was easy to assemble. we love it! It is a well made & very fuctional piece of equipment. December 13, 2013
Nice Style, Slightly Flawed Execution We purchased the 42"H expandable gate with door. Design is very nice when you look at from several feet away. Upon closer inspection and upon use, you see that it's not the greatest workmanship; not totally shoddy, but definitely could have been done better (assembly, paint, construction, etc.). i.e. once you've tightened the wheels enough that the gate is solid in the doorway (and cannot be pushed through by a hand), it's TOO tight to be able to open the door via the latch. So you have to loosen a wheel every time you want to open the door to let the dogs out or yourself in. Which, of course, defeats the purpose of buying a gate with a door in it... (ease of entry/exit). I give it a 3 for construction, and 5 for looks. December 18, 2011
Excellent Pet Gate We have been looking for a free standing gate that our dogs are unable to push around or move themselves and we believe this is the answer to our needs. Other pet gates we've owned were not as durable and our dog (who is smarter then the average mutt) discovered how to move it making it perform poorly. One of our dogs actually chewed through the mesh the gate was made of and that required us to place chairs in front of the gate to keep them in the kitchen. We've had this gate for over a month now and everyday when we get home, the dogs are all where we left them and we did not find any surprises waiting for us to clean up. This is exactly what we were looking for. August 11, 2013
looks beautiful We just received this gate for our new puppy. We have an extra wide opening and this was just perfect to keep her in the area. It looks beautiful and is very stable. February 25, 2014
Mesh Pet Gate I ordered two of these and the widest one is great, it fits nicely and is the size stated in the catalogue. However, the smaller one is supposed to open to a width of 41 1/2" with two screws (side by side) both top & bottom to support the gate. By using only one screw top & bottom I was only able to get the gate to a width of 40". This additional 1 1/2" is important because my hall is 46" wide. By centering the gate with a couple inches on each side I thought that would be good enough to keep my dog on one side. Right now I'm not sure it's going to work too well, but I'm willing to give it a test for a week or two before I decide if I will return the smaller one. I do really like the looks of the gates. Thank you. October 29, 2011
Really terrific dog gate! This free standing dog gate is a godsend!!! It is both durable & beautiful. I saw other reviewers complain about the finish. Either they got a bad product or they don't understand that it is bronze with a "worn finish" - in which some edges are scraped (displaying a touch of brass) for a certain designer look. This freestanding gate is very durable -- my dogs jump up & pounce on it & it does not fall over. We put it across our wide hallway. My husband drilled holes in order to customize the width & it fits well. It is really lovely & the mesh is that of a fireplace screen, so it stands up to my little (14 & 16 pound) dogs. They even scratch at the mesh & nothing is damaged at all. I definitely recommend it! November 8, 2011
Great gate! Looks so much nicer than traditional pet gates. Got the 42"high gate to keep the cats out of the bedroom at night. So far they haven't figured out how to jump over it! I am worried my littlest cat will squeeze through the bars (there's no mesh there). Gave the product 4 stars because of that, and because I also would like to be able to have the option to open the gate door from either side (be able to switch the door either way depending on how the room is laid out). As it is, we have the "pretty side" facing into the bedroom because of the way the gate door opens, just would've liked for it to be facing into the living room instead. Other than that, very easy to use and so much prettier!! Thank you Frontgate! October 20, 2011
wonder fence This dog fence is very attractive and strong. I use it on my patio to keep the ducks from our pond off the patio. It work beautifully. February 19, 2014
Beautiful Gate Very sturdy, quick ship, and easy to assemble.Will do the trick for our frisky dog! February 22, 2014
Nice, but not useful for stairway I very much like the appearance, color, and heavy-duty quality, but we need for the door to swing the "other" way so it can be used at the bottom of a stairway. We have had to assemble it basically "wrongside out," but the bolt holes on the end wings do not match up that way and they cannot be solidly attached. The "pretty decorative side" of the gate and fence are consequently facing the wrong way, too. We will need to drill new holes, obtain and attach new hinges, and hopefully be able to move the latch (all of which I do not believe should be needed for the price). The gate needs to be redesigned so a choice can be made on which way you want it to swing when assembling it. March 1, 2013
Excellent Pet Gate Love this pet gate. It works very well in keeping two of my dogs separated. One dog is very old and does not want to be bothered any more by the other animals in the house, yet he still needs to feel that he is taking part in the daily activities going on in the house. This gate allows him to see what is going on and doesn't let the other dogs bother him in his space. The construction of the gate is pretty good except that two internal nuts in the side panel were missing so two of the screws could not be used to stablize one of the side panels. I am still able to use the gate, however, this might present a problem if I use the gate in another location different from the present one. January 13, 2012
Nice and stylish pet gate With the exception of there not being any instructions in the package and needing to print a picture from this site in order to see how to put it together (and still, it only took about 10 minutes to put together), this is the best pet gate I've owned. It actually reminds me of a fireplace cover with its intricate designs and its ability to add beauty to a room. It's incredibly sturdy and stable; I don't worry about having dogs or cats around it. It's easy to open the latch with a little lever at the top of the door. The door will not stay open without holding it, which works well for me because I wouldn't want it to anyway. I look forward to many years with this quality gate! June 26, 2012
Exceeded Expectations Ordering this gate was easy, price was right, delivery was quick and assembling it was done in less than 10 minutes (including opening the box). This gate is so beautiful I cannot stop admiring it- besides looking good, it is solid and the gate opens so easily and automatically closes behind you. What an elegant way to keep my dogs out of certain areas of our home. January 1, 2014
Beautiful & Functional We purchased two of these gates over the holidays. We are very happy with them. They work very well and are a beautiful addition to our home. We have two rooms with large doorways. They keep my husky out of areas where he could otherwise get into trouble. They were on sale at the time, although still expensive, it was money very well spent. January 5, 2014
34" high Explandable mesh gate Excellent gate....easy....good looking...and it works February 11, 2014
This Expandable Gate is Great I absolutely love this gate. My only regret is that I didn't see ( or buy it) sooner. It is sturdy and very attractive. February 3, 2014
Pet Gate The box which the gate came in was in poor condition and I was afraid that the gate would be damaged. Fortunately, there was no damage to the gate! It turns out that the gate is better looking than I expected, expecially the mesh portion, which I didn't expect it to be metal. Only problem we had was the latch wasn't working after a couple of use, but my husband managed to fix it. Hopefully the gate is durable enough to last a couple of years. Also, since it is made out of metal, there's a tendancy for the gate to scratch hardwood floors, which it didn't expect! I temporarily solved it by placing felt on the bottom and side panel, which is a bit of a nuisance. November 7, 2012
Perfect We have two large pit bulls and purchased this gate to replace a tension gate that continually came loose & ruined our walls despite the tension mechanisms. It is not only decorative and beautiful, but solid & sturdy. I agree with another reviewer, it would be nice if the door stayed open so the dogs could venture in/out of the room but we prop it open with objects when needed. It was so nice & easy to move the gate from the room when we had recent visitors & no hassle to place it back. Not easy to do with those tension gates. It does make a loud noise if you allow the door to swing shut but you just have to learn to close it slowly. We love the look, it serves it's purpose and the quality is an added bonus. It's very decorative was easy to put together. I love that it is free standing & SOLID! Our dogs have not tried to push through it and it easily adjusts to various openings so it can be moved and used throughout the house. It's so nice to do away with those old white baby gates! This gate is classy, blends in like a piece of furniture & we are ordering a smaller one for another area. Love it! The height bothers my husband but it serves it's purpose especially with a 55 lb and 85 lb dog who could possibly jump over it. The gate is very functional, well made and appealing to the eye. Worth the money!!!! July 24, 2011
Best and Most Beautiful Gate I purchased because of the discount and because of the great reviews. You all didn't let me down. I LOVE this gate, and it is one of the best purchases I have ever made. (I'm probably coming back for another.) It is sturdy, I put it together myself (without my DH's help) in about 20 minutes. It is simply elegant and beautiful looking. Being able to walk through the gate is so much better than the prior gate that we had to move each time. Everyone in our family (from young to old) love it! November 7, 2013
Free-standing Steel Mesh Gate This gate is beautiful and matches the decor and other wrought-iron items around my home. The handy opening allows me to go through quickly and closes with a spring action. Felt-covered feet keep the floors unscratched and keeps the entire gate in place so my dogs stay out of the rooms I want them out of. December 31, 2013
Love this gate! Easy to put together. Adjustable for fitting different widths. Sturdy. And it looks great! January 30, 2014
Steel Mesh Pet Gate Excellent quality. Exactly what I needed to keep the cats and dog separate. It has a very classy look to it. January 28, 2014
Functional & Gorgeous! We recently bought a new house and the old baby gates that we put up to keep the dogs (1 boston terrier and 1 pug) from going into unwanted areas were really becoming an eye sore. The gates were wooden and the dogs had chewed on them from when they were younger and they were really ugly. We could not be happier with the frontgate Mesh pet gates. We bought this larger one and a smaller one. We get tons of compliments on how nice they are and it keeps the dogs out. My husdband even drilled an extra notch in the gate to make the opening smalller for the area we put it in. Really easy to assemble! Its worth the cost, we are really happy with the purchase. December 30, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 next>>
(26 Questions : 87 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
11 answers

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cricketsmomma is loaded.
Additional information about Cricketsmomma could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
You probably do need one hand to open the gate. It is a sliding mechanism at the top only (no bottom latch). Once it is open, you can push through it with hands full and it swings back by itself to shut.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
We have found the latch quite easy to work, and I have had my hands full a time or two. There is only a top latch, but it has proved to be all that is needed. We secured the gate with screws, so I cannot accurately answer your question of scooting. I can tell you the gate is quite heavy.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GracieS is loaded.
Additional information about GracieS could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is only a latch up top and unless you push the latch or slam it - it stays slightly open. We prefer that as we have our gate to block up staircase and since we go up and down it a lot - it helps that it doesn't latch unless we want it too. Our dog can't get through it when it's not latched - as it stays closed well enough but this way you can just use your leg to open it while you may have items in your hands.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Answer: 
The gate does require a free hand to operate. It has a good weight to it so two hands are better. The lock is only on the top of the gate. I have two welsh corgis and they are not able to move it. Again, it has good weight to it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it is easy. I have an 8 week Golden and can carry him in one hand and pull the latch open with the other. The latch is only at the top and you don't need to stoop down or anything to undo it. The door swings back on it's own as well and latches. At this point we feel it is pretty sturdy because of the horizontal legs on on both sides and we haven't even connected all the pieces yet.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, it is easy to operate. It has one sliding lock on the top where you can reach down without bending (and I am 6'5"). The gate is heavy and hard to move, but the sides are angled and can be moved by the dog so he can wedge himself through if you don't anchor the sides firmly against the wall. But it is plenty heavy enough for Yorkies. We have 2.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about RaleighJacket is loaded.
Additional information about RaleighJacket could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate is nice and heavy and our dog hasn't been able to move it, though to be fair, she hasn't tried very hard. It latches only at the top and requires just a finger to slide the bolt out. If you're coming from the other direction, however, you have to reach over the gate. When we come down the stairs, it's a little awkward to bend over and reach the latch. It closes easily behind you.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate latches at the top only. It is very easy to open even with stuff in your hands. It is a slide type latch. This is a heavy metal gate so your Yorkie will not be able to push it open at the bottom. I have a Yorkie also. He is a jumper and climber. He can not jump over this gate or climb it. This gate is heavy so your dog will not be able to push it out of the way. It also has rubber on the bottom so it does not slide on hard wood floors easily. Also the door closes automaticlly and latches so you don't have to worry about your Yorkie pushing it open if you forget to latch it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
you need at least one free hand to operate the latch. it's a button you push in and heavy enough so it would be difficult for a dog to escape
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nocal is loaded.
Additional information about Nocal could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Latch is only on top and would require one hand to operate if you have it fully closed. I have a yorke and a jack russell and they have never pushed it. I have two of these gates. Love them.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Pennsylvania, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PAdogowner is loaded.
Additional information about PAdogowner could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
10 answers

How strong is the mesh?

2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Covington, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DawnRAT is loaded.
Additional information about DawnRAT could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The mesh is made from 100% steel, so it will stand up to pets' claws and teeth.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EDFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about EDFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Not like a screen door. It's stiff metal.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Very strong. It is hard metal mesh (similar to fireplace screen/skirt). It would be difficult for a dog to dig through it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is comparable to a good fireplace screen.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It's metal so it is pretty strong. My 8 week golden pup tried scratching at it and didn't damage it at all.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is pretty thick and sturdy although I imagine any dog that was really determined to scratch its way through might bend it and ruin the finish.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is just like a fireplace screen. It is very sturdy. This gate is put together very well. The screen is attached to the metal edges so it does not push in easily like some fireplace screens do.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I was worried about the mesh when I ordered it, but I can tell you that I'm very pleased. Even the dogs leaning on it doesn't seem to affect it at all. Love this gate.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LTP2 is loaded.
Additional information about LTP2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
9 answers

can the gate go on the other side (right)

2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Unfortunately, the gate for this item is built into the right front panel and is not able to be placed on the other side. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It can't be moved, but you can flip the gate around to have it on the other side. Just be aware that the balance may be off, so it could topple over if pushed on with enough force.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
TX
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chuckso is loaded.
Additional information about Chuckso could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate is built on the right side of the gate and does not allow reversal of that situation.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Illinois, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DiandeB is loaded.
Additional information about DiandeB could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
mine actually came as the mirror image, but it is not reversible
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lakeliving is loaded.
Additional information about lakeliving could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate cannot go on the other side. The holes to connect the pieces of the gate make it so that you cannot change the side of the gate. The only way you can get the door on the right is to face the gate the opposite way that's in the picture.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about labfan213 is loaded.
Additional information about labfan213 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The only way I found to make the gate open the other way is to flip the front panel around, which obscures the decorative scrollwork a little bit.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about annap is loaded.
Additional information about annap could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Actually it IS on the right - or at least the one we received is. We wanted it on the left, as pictured in the catalog but it's on the rigtht.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, my husband successfully installed the door backwards by mistake. It puts the fancy details on the other side of the screen, but still looks nice.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tmag is loaded.
Additional information about tmag could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
I have not used it at the top of stairs, but you will notice that it is very stable and would be difficult to push over. Of course, if your dog is heave or very large, they may be able to knock it over, but I've had a doberman all over mine and it never fell over.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes. We use it on a tile entry way to keep dogs out of stairs leading to basement.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LisaJP is loaded.
Additional information about LisaJP could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would have to see your stairwell or at least know the dimensions but for the most part, this gate is just what it says it is "free standing" and it's quite sturdy. We have giant and large breed dogs (weigh 158, 110 and 85 lbs, respectively). Since the two larger dogs often "challenge" gates or simply barrel through them, we decided to turn this gate inward between our dining and living room. The gate opens "in" so they are unable to push on it - works like a charm. You'd have to be sure the gate expands past the opening at the top of your stairs but the opening between the two rooms in our house is 70" or almost 6 feet. the gate has a magnetic closure so it swings shut automatically if you let it go and latches. Hope this helps. (The gate is lovely and quite well made). Denise in Land O' Lakes
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nesie is loaded.
Additional information about Nesie could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
If using it for a pet it should be fine, it is free standing and very sturdy. Not sure I would use it for a child.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Kimrose is loaded.
Additional information about Kimrose could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is pretty sturdy, and it has the stand to balance it, but I don't know if someone can tip it down the stairs.
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chantel is loaded.
Additional information about chantel could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would NOT use at the top of stairs! It may fall! Not a suction or screw in type and could tip over.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about khtustinca is loaded.
Additional information about khtustinca could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Surprise, AZ
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about AZCoach is loaded.
Additional information about AZCoach could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The description states that the opening is 55" wide, so I am concerned about whether or not it could adjust smaller.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Argyle, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ttbrown6 is loaded.
Additional information about ttbrown6 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, the smallest size this gate can be adjusted to is 55". We do offer our 22"H Free-standing Mesh Pet Gate Barrier (item 42958) in two different size options, one of which adjusts between 40" - 70". We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The doorway where we placed the gate is less than 55 inches. We just put the side panels up against the wall on each side. The results were similar to one of the pictures on Frontgate. It shows the gate panels extended out from the doorway. It works and looks great.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Delaware, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Schatji is loaded.
Additional information about Schatji could not be loaded.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Answer: 
If there is wall on either or both sides of your opening, you can simply put it overlapping the doorway and the sides will come in to your wall. Otherwise, the shortest it assembles is 54 1/2"
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The smallest we were able to adjust it was for 51".
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. Just set it on one side of the door opening. It will be extend slightly over each side of the doorway, but will be side pieces will be flush against the wall. Look at the photo and just imagine the gate extended 3" wider on each side.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It will not be able to fit an opening 48" wide. I tested mine to see if I could make it fit, and it would not.
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???