GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
1
5
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Pet Products
Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Frontgate
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 411 430
Bronze-finished Mesh Pet Gate The packaging was falling apart when we received this product. The mesh was bent. The gate is not exactly what we expected but it does serve the purpose for which we purchased it. I would be happier with the product if I paid about a third of what it cost me. December 8, 2011
Free-standing Steel Mesh Gate This gate is beautiful and matches the decor and other wrought-iron items around my home. The handy opening allows me to go through quickly and closes with a spring action. Felt-covered feet keep the floors unscratched and keeps the entire gate in place so my dogs stay out of the rooms I want them out of. December 31, 2013
expandable free standing pet gate the appearance, functionality, and overall ease of operation, makes this gate an outstanding purchase. We have 2 gates and two Rhodesian Ridgeback puppies and these boundaries make for better dogs and keep our sanity. January 7, 2014
Not as nice as expected I just received this gate and although it looks good from a distance the paint was scratched in numerous places and I have to lift the gate part in order to close it because it is not aligned properly. I expected more from Frontgate. August 4, 2011
Amazing Gate This gate is fantastic! It is the only gate that I have seen out there that is made of high quality metal. It looks great and is very functional. I am very glad we made this purchase!! No regrets, you will have this gate for life!!! June 10, 2011
Love this dog gate!! This is the greatest dog gate. It's easy to use and enter the room but keeps my beagle from coming in and ruining the furniture. It's very nice looking for a pet gate. January 9, 2014
Love This Pet Gate! We recently purchased the 34"H Expandable Free Standing Mesh Pet Gate because we wanted a "pass through" gate. It is BEAUTIFUL!! Love the height, I had fallen over a shorter 24" one because it was so easy to step over!! This one has you use the "door". The only thing we encountered was that the Hinge Pins did not fit!! They were so "thin" they did not fit in the end pieces! They let it wobble, move & rattle! We had to go to the hardware store and buy thicker ones that fixed the problem. My question would be why the manufacturer did not know this??? Or test it??? For the price I would have expected perfection in that area. After we fixed it, it works! Very attractive, fits in our style of home wonderfully. The hinges were the reason for only 4 stars instead of 5! December 27, 2012
Beautiful gate It is a beautiful gate and well made! The only thing I wish was different and thought it would be since it was an adjustable gate was how it adjusts. I expected it to be a sliding system not bolts So - that makes it not so convenient when I want to move to another location within the house. December 26, 2013
Perfect fix! I have two large labs, that love to meet everyone that comes in the door. This gate works perfect to keep them from charging out the door, looks fantastic too!! January 6, 2014
Very attractive This gate is very attractive but the picture is misleading. The gate is spring loaded and won't stand open by itself, so leaving it open is not an option. April 5, 2011
Excellent Product This is a heavy duty dog gate. It is attractive and very easy to put together. We had a larger opening 52" and this worked perfectly. Would recommend it it anyone. January 1, 2014
34in.H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gat We love this gate to keep our chihuahuas where we want them! Will buy a couple more after I save my money! January 1, 2014
Excellent Pet Gate We have been looking for a free standing gate that our dogs are unable to push around or move themselves and we believe this is the answer to our needs. Other pet gates we've owned were not as durable and our dog (who is smarter then the average mutt) discovered how to move it making it perform poorly. One of our dogs actually chewed through the mesh the gate was made of and that required us to place chairs in front of the gate to keep them in the kitchen. We've had this gate for over a month now and everyday when we get home, the dogs are all where we left them and we did not find any surprises waiting for us to clean up. This is exactly what we were looking for. August 11, 2013
34" H expandable steel mesh gate Love this!!! Have 3 small dogs and it is wonderful at keeping them out of the parts of the house I don't want them in. Very sturdy and good looking. The gate closes behind itself so I don't have to worry about the kids leaving it open. True sanity saver! December 17, 2013
Best and Most Beautiful Gate I purchased because of the discount and because of the great reviews. You all didn't let me down. I LOVE this gate, and it is one of the best purchases I have ever made. (I'm probably coming back for another.) It is sturdy, I put it together myself (without my DH's help) in about 20 minutes. It is simply elegant and beautiful looking. Being able to walk through the gate is so much better than the prior gate that we had to move each time. Everyone in our family (from young to old) love it! November 7, 2013
shoddy workmanship Overall high quality materials, but shoddy workmanship was very disappointing. We ordered two of these. One arrived with a piece of the decorative trim broken off. The other was in great shape until you tried to latch the gate. Whoever put the latch mechanism together installed a simple but key piece incorrectly rendering the latch useless. I had to remove it from the gate and pry it apart to fix it. Once fixed it worked like a charm, but I expected much more attention to detail in a product like this that wasn't exactly cheap. Neither problem was bad enough to go through the hassle of re-packing & returning the products and waiting for replacements. Don't know where or by whom these were made, but they obviously had no pride in their workmanship. November 8, 2011
Love Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate I bought this gate to keep my 2 small dogs away from my Nice living room. I did not realize how sturdy this gate is. Even though I have small dogs, they try and Ram it to get it out, but without success. I love it! I would recommend to anyone who wants to keep their pets out of certain areas. Works great, very sturdy and easy to build. December 2, 2013
Gates Very pleased with this purchase. Went together without difficulties. And the hounds are out of the living room. December 24, 2013
Great dog gate I am very pleased! It was easy to assemble. It looks very nice and keeps the dogs out of the living room. I wasn't sure that it would be stable enough because the dogs are large but they haven't even moved it! Great for the purpose. December 13, 2013
Visually Appealing, Functional and Strong Love this pet gate! It requires minor assembly when you receive it and the instructions are clear. I had it together in 10 minutes. The design has visual appeal and functional strength. My two Yorkies became quickly accustomed to the barrier because the mesh design allows them to see to the other side. The mesh design also helps to keep small pets from getting stuck between slats in other pet gate designs. I think this is a superior product and am very pleased. The free-standing design is sturdy and makes this a mobile product. No damage to existing wall structures in the home. My order was handled, processed, and shipped in the designated timeframe. The packaging was great, so no damage in transit. Highly recommend! March 14, 2013
great buy I was looking for a gate that was both animal and owner friendly. In the boneyard of unsuccessful candidates I have found a winner. This item is everything one could want in a pet door. December 17, 2013
High Quality Gate We love this gate as it is very attractive and heavy. We have two Papillions and one long hair Chihuahua that are active and take over the house. Not anymore as this gate keeps them out but looks really nice doing it. December 12, 2013
Beautiful gate It's so hard to find gates for wide openings that are attractive. Really nice, functional and works well with our contemporary decor. Easy to assemble. December 16, 2013
Best purchase ever! Fabulous- easy to assemble - looks great- stable and easy to use! December 22, 2013
Great containment gate! Very stylish gate to contain our two 30 pound puppies! The gate is a must for inside containment! They could make the feet a bit longer, when both dogs jump up on it, afraid it will tip over, thus the con on durability. Otherwise, durable. December 5, 2013
expandable gates I am so thrilled with the gates… everyone compliments them. After rebuilding from sandy I wanted something that looked nice. They compliment everything beautifully. They are heavy so they can't be knocked over and look stunning. December 5, 2013
Beautiful pet gate We ordered this pet gate after our English Mastiff started to adopt our living room couch as his bed. This is a beautiful and effective way to keep him out of that room when we are not home. I've received many compliments on the gate from people visiting our home. It's beautiful, functional and well made. November 25, 2013
NICEEEEE!!!! We love the way this gate looks & is made. It is tall, so it is perfect if you have a larger dog. Matches our deco perfect as we have lots of wood & rod iron thru out our home. The only issue we have is the base boards at the bottom stick out a tad further than i measured for, so in order to make it "fit" we had to remove one of the spin notches for adjusting the tightness & now it doesn't fit as snuggly on the bottom as the top & so it tends to slide slightly every time the gate is slammed. But that was my mistake, not the maker of the gate itself. Make sure you measure from your baseboards, not the mid/top section of the doorway your mounting it in to get the proper measurement & fit. Other than that - it's a great gate! September 24, 2011
Tasteful and functional A very elegant addition to our home. Our labs find it special to walk through the open gate. It increases the privilege to be in that area of our home! December 8, 2013
Nice Style, Slightly Flawed Execution We purchased the 42"H expandable gate with door. Design is very nice when you look at from several feet away. Upon closer inspection and upon use, you see that it's not the greatest workmanship; not totally shoddy, but definitely could have been done better (assembly, paint, construction, etc.). i.e. once you've tightened the wheels enough that the gate is solid in the doorway (and cannot be pushed through by a hand), it's TOO tight to be able to open the door via the latch. So you have to loosen a wheel every time you want to open the door to let the dogs out or yourself in. Which, of course, defeats the purpose of buying a gate with a door in it... (ease of entry/exit). I give it a 3 for construction, and 5 for looks. December 18, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 next>>
(23 Questions : 84 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
11 answers

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cricketsmomma is loaded.
Additional information about Cricketsmomma could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
You probably do need one hand to open the gate. It is a sliding mechanism at the top only (no bottom latch). Once it is open, you can push through it with hands full and it swings back by itself to shut.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
We have found the latch quite easy to work, and I have had my hands full a time or two. There is only a top latch, but it has proved to be all that is needed. We secured the gate with screws, so I cannot accurately answer your question of scooting. I can tell you the gate is quite heavy.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GracieS is loaded.
Additional information about GracieS could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is only a latch up top and unless you push the latch or slam it - it stays slightly open. We prefer that as we have our gate to block up staircase and since we go up and down it a lot - it helps that it doesn't latch unless we want it too. Our dog can't get through it when it's not latched - as it stays closed well enough but this way you can just use your leg to open it while you may have items in your hands.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Answer: 
The gate does require a free hand to operate. It has a good weight to it so two hands are better. The lock is only on the top of the gate. I have two welsh corgis and they are not able to move it. Again, it has good weight to it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it is easy. I have an 8 week Golden and can carry him in one hand and pull the latch open with the other. The latch is only at the top and you don't need to stoop down or anything to undo it. The door swings back on it's own as well and latches. At this point we feel it is pretty sturdy because of the horizontal legs on on both sides and we haven't even connected all the pieces yet.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, it is easy to operate. It has one sliding lock on the top where you can reach down without bending (and I am 6'5"). The gate is heavy and hard to move, but the sides are angled and can be moved by the dog so he can wedge himself through if you don't anchor the sides firmly against the wall. But it is plenty heavy enough for Yorkies. We have 2.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about RaleighJacket is loaded.
Additional information about RaleighJacket could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate is nice and heavy and our dog hasn't been able to move it, though to be fair, she hasn't tried very hard. It latches only at the top and requires just a finger to slide the bolt out. If you're coming from the other direction, however, you have to reach over the gate. When we come down the stairs, it's a little awkward to bend over and reach the latch. It closes easily behind you.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate latches at the top only. It is very easy to open even with stuff in your hands. It is a slide type latch. This is a heavy metal gate so your Yorkie will not be able to push it open at the bottom. I have a Yorkie also. He is a jumper and climber. He can not jump over this gate or climb it. This gate is heavy so your dog will not be able to push it out of the way. It also has rubber on the bottom so it does not slide on hard wood floors easily. Also the door closes automaticlly and latches so you don't have to worry about your Yorkie pushing it open if you forget to latch it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
you need at least one free hand to operate the latch. it's a button you push in and heavy enough so it would be difficult for a dog to escape
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nocal is loaded.
Additional information about Nocal could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Latch is only on top and would require one hand to operate if you have it fully closed. I have a yorke and a jack russell and they have never pushed it. I have two of these gates. Love them.
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Pennsylvania, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PAdogowner is loaded.
Additional information about PAdogowner could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
10 answers

How strong is the mesh?

1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Covington, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DawnRAT is loaded.
Additional information about DawnRAT could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The mesh is made from 100% steel, so it will stand up to pets' claws and teeth.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EDFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about EDFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Not like a screen door. It's stiff metal.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Very strong. It is hard metal mesh (similar to fireplace screen/skirt). It would be difficult for a dog to dig through it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is comparable to a good fireplace screen.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It's metal so it is pretty strong. My 8 week golden pup tried scratching at it and didn't damage it at all.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is pretty thick and sturdy although I imagine any dog that was really determined to scratch its way through might bend it and ruin the finish.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is just like a fireplace screen. It is very sturdy. This gate is put together very well. The screen is attached to the metal edges so it does not push in easily like some fireplace screens do.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I was worried about the mesh when I ordered it, but I can tell you that I'm very pleased. Even the dogs leaning on it doesn't seem to affect it at all. Love this gate.
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LTP2 is loaded.
Additional information about LTP2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
9 answers

can the gate go on the other side (right)

2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Unfortunately, the gate for this item is built into the right front panel and is not able to be placed on the other side. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It can't be moved, but you can flip the gate around to have it on the other side. Just be aware that the balance may be off, so it could topple over if pushed on with enough force.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
TX
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chuckso is loaded.
Additional information about Chuckso could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate is built on the right side of the gate and does not allow reversal of that situation.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Illinois, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DiandeB is loaded.
Additional information about DiandeB could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
mine actually came as the mirror image, but it is not reversible
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lakeliving is loaded.
Additional information about lakeliving could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate cannot go on the other side. The holes to connect the pieces of the gate make it so that you cannot change the side of the gate. The only way you can get the door on the right is to face the gate the opposite way that's in the picture.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about labfan213 is loaded.
Additional information about labfan213 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The only way I found to make the gate open the other way is to flip the front panel around, which obscures the decorative scrollwork a little bit.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about annap is loaded.
Additional information about annap could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Actually it IS on the right - or at least the one we received is. We wanted it on the left, as pictured in the catalog but it's on the rigtht.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, my husband successfully installed the door backwards by mistake. It puts the fancy details on the other side of the screen, but still looks nice.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tmag is loaded.
Additional information about tmag could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
I have not used it at the top of stairs, but you will notice that it is very stable and would be difficult to push over. Of course, if your dog is heave or very large, they may be able to knock it over, but I've had a doberman all over mine and it never fell over.
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes. We use it on a tile entry way to keep dogs out of stairs leading to basement.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LisaJP is loaded.
Additional information about LisaJP could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would have to see your stairwell or at least know the dimensions but for the most part, this gate is just what it says it is "free standing" and it's quite sturdy. We have giant and large breed dogs (weigh 158, 110 and 85 lbs, respectively). Since the two larger dogs often "challenge" gates or simply barrel through them, we decided to turn this gate inward between our dining and living room. The gate opens "in" so they are unable to push on it - works like a charm. You'd have to be sure the gate expands past the opening at the top of your stairs but the opening between the two rooms in our house is 70" or almost 6 feet. the gate has a magnetic closure so it swings shut automatically if you let it go and latches. Hope this helps. (The gate is lovely and quite well made). Denise in Land O' Lakes
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nesie is loaded.
Additional information about Nesie could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
If using it for a pet it should be fine, it is free standing and very sturdy. Not sure I would use it for a child.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Kimrose is loaded.
Additional information about Kimrose could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is pretty sturdy, and it has the stand to balance it, but I don't know if someone can tip it down the stairs.
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chantel is loaded.
Additional information about chantel could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would NOT use at the top of stairs! It may fall! Not a suction or screw in type and could tip over.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about khtustinca is loaded.
Additional information about khtustinca could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Surprise, AZ
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about AZCoach is loaded.
Additional information about AZCoach could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The description states that the opening is 55" wide, so I am concerned about whether or not it could adjust smaller.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Argyle, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ttbrown6 is loaded.
Additional information about ttbrown6 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, the smallest size this gate can be adjusted to is 55". We do offer our 22"H Free-standing Mesh Pet Gate Barrier (item 42958) in two different size options, one of which adjusts between 40" - 70". We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The doorway where we placed the gate is less than 55 inches. We just put the side panels up against the wall on each side. The results were similar to one of the pictures on Frontgate. It shows the gate panels extended out from the doorway. It works and looks great.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Delaware, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Schatji is loaded.
Additional information about Schatji could not be loaded.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Answer: 
If there is wall on either or both sides of your opening, you can simply put it overlapping the doorway and the sides will come in to your wall. Otherwise, the shortest it assembles is 54 1/2"
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The smallest we were able to adjust it was for 51".
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. Just set it on one side of the door opening. It will be extend slightly over each side of the doorway, but will be side pieces will be flush against the wall. Look at the photo and just imagine the gate extended 3" wider on each side.
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It will not be able to fit an opening 48" wide. I tested mine to see if I could make it fit, and it would not.
1 year, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0