Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Pet Products
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 427 446
Best and Most Beautiful Gate I purchased because of the discount and because of the great reviews. You all didn't let me down. I LOVE this gate, and it is one of the best purchases I have ever made. (I'm probably coming back for another.) It is sturdy, I put it together myself (without my DH's help) in about 20 minutes. It is simply elegant and beautiful looking. Being able to walk through the gate is so much better than the prior gate that we had to move each time. Everyone in our family (from young to old) love it! November 7, 2013
Exceeded Expectations Ordering this gate was easy, price was right, delivery was quick and assembling it was done in less than 10 minutes (including opening the box). This gate is so beautiful I cannot stop admiring it- besides looking good, it is solid and the gate opens so easily and automatically closes behind you. What an elegant way to keep my dogs out of certain areas of our home. January 1, 2014
Beautiful & Functional We purchased two of these gates over the holidays. We are very happy with them. They work very well and are a beautiful addition to our home. We have two rooms with large doorways. They keep my husky out of areas where he could otherwise get into trouble. They were on sale at the time, although still expensive, it was money very well spent. January 5, 2014
Very decorative- but check width! The best looking pet gate I've ever seen. Very well built. The size in the catalog said it would fit a 32 1/2" door, which is a common interior door width, especially for an older house. Most newer houses are only 30". However, when I received the doors, the minimum size to fit was 33 1/2" (as measured and according to the manual that came with the door). I was able to "jerry" rig the doors by taking out the tension rods and screwing the doors into the casing. If I thought I could have found an attractive door as that somewhere else I would have sent them back, but they are so well made and decorative, I had to make them work. October 20, 2011
Functional and Beautiful The stairway to our basement is open to the family room. For years we have been using a baby gate to keep our small dogs from going into the basement Not only was that an eyesore but the gate would always fall down the stairs if not braced against the newel post correctly. Needless to say, when I saw this freestanding pet barrier in the catalog I was intrigued. The gate was easy to assemble and the is very attractive to look at. The gate is very sturdy and easily contains our 12 lb dogs. It provides a dependable barrier and the mesh front keeps the area visually 'open'. This was just what we were looking for. I love it.! October 29, 2011
nice size and weight - for dogs and kids Bought the one without the door and it is functional as a pet barrier and toddler gate. The 22 inch height makes it easy for adults to step over. Kids and dogs cant knock it down because the way the sides have leg extensions although it takes up more floor space and stubs the toes!. Finish is not even in paint appearance but for me you can't notice in the dim light. We set it to the widest dimension and leave it because it screws together and makes adjusting for different doors or stairs a pain. It' pretty heavy but no marks on walls or floors. No sharp edges or gaps for kids to hurt themselves or get fingers caught. December 21, 2011
Does the job, beautifully I bought this gate to keep to keep my Bernese Mt. Dog from wandering the house when we're gone. He has always been very trustworthy & dependable in the house, but as he is older and now suffering from DM, he hasn't got the control he used to. This gate keeps him contained in a safe (tiled) room in case he has an accident, but still allows him to see freely beyond it and therefore he doesn't stress out. In fact...since we put up the gate, he actually hasn't had many issues, I suppose because he is not wandering around or getting excited seeing 'exciting' things outside. He just seems content to lay on his bed in 'his room' until we return. He is a big dog, and could certainly move it if he was so inclined, but he is so docile and would not do that unless there was a reason...for example, a fire or an intruder. Therefore this gate works perfectly for us, but also looks beautiful, so I feel no need to move it when we have company. The door makes access simple and works great. As others have mentioned, it could be permanently attached if need be, but for our situation, it is fine as a stand alone. It arrived in perfect shape and is a breeze to 'assemble'...is a matter of inserting a few screws to set the width and popping in a few pins to hold the panels together. I felt the price was fair, the quality was great and the shipping was super fast. What else can you ask for?? November 12, 2012
Fabulous Pet Gate This gate fits into the decor of my home. The very wide open door between the living room and kitchen was closed off perfectly by this gate's dimensions. It looks very nice. It is not like anything you would find in regular pet stores. This is quality and classy. The pass through door closes and latches securely. The gate stays where it was intended. The dog that it is securing is a 10 - 11 lb pup. The metal grating separates the cats from the pup so neither is going to be injured until they are all socialized. One caveat: watch out if you have small children. They would need to be supervised around this gate. October 27, 2011
34" high Explandable mesh gate Excellent gate....easy....good looking...and it works February 11, 2014
This Expandable Gate is Great I absolutely love this gate. My only regret is that I didn't see ( or buy it) sooner. It is sturdy and very attractive. February 3, 2014
Free-standing Steel Mesh Gate This gate is beautiful and matches the decor and other wrought-iron items around my home. The handy opening allows me to go through quickly and closes with a spring action. Felt-covered feet keep the floors unscratched and keeps the entire gate in place so my dogs stay out of the rooms I want them out of. December 31, 2013
Classy pet gate We purchased the Frontgate Bronze-finished mesh pet gate, and really love it. It works very well and looks classy, and it was reasonably priced--what more could you want? We had other pet gates before, and they were a hassle to deal with and looked ugly, to boot. We've been using the Frontgate gate for around a month now, and the hinge and clasp mechanisms have been working smoothly so far, and it is easy to take the entire gate down if you want to--although we rarely do. We use a 10-lb. door stop to prop the gate open when necessary. Friends and neighbors have also been impressed with the look of the gate. October 10, 2011
Pretty nice gate We are pleased with the gate---it was easy to put together and looks great. My only issue with it is that it's not quite as adjustable as I'd thought from the description. We had actually ordered 2 to use to gate our dogs in our sunroom, and one fits great across a larger archway, but we couldn't make the other one small enough for the arch on the other side, which is just a little bigger than a standard door, and both the feet and door direction keep you from flipping it to make it work on the other side of the doorway. If it's a close call, don't throw the shipping box out until you're sure it fits. October 27, 2011
great dog gate We have a beautiful stone house with all natural materials - wood, stone, metals, glass, granite, etc. and only high quality furniture painstakingly chosen. Therefore, we were very picky about what this dog gate would look like, and whether it would work well for us. I have been very happy with it. It looks high quality, looks attractive in the house, feels very solid, and does not require messing up the walls with screw-ins. It also accomplishes its intended purpose. A good buy. October 2, 2013
It works! I recently bought a house & changed the carpet to wood floors except 1 room with nice white carpet which was terribly stained. Got it cleaned & it looked like new so had to keep 2 dogs & 1 cat out. I hated putting up any barrier since it took away from the openness of the house. But after trying baby gates, furniture, etc a friend turned me onto your website. I saw this gate, read the reviews & decided to try it. It's not perfect but the closest to perfect I believe possible, & it does the job!! September 15, 2013
Excellent and stylish I have been wanting to get this gate for quite sometime, but it was a little pricey, so I put it off. I am so glad that I finally pulled the trigger, the gate has been worth every penny. The set-up was so easy and the gate works perfectly. I has afraid that because I was blocking off such a wide area, that it would not work well, but it does. Not only does it work, but it is beautiful as well. Now instead of my ugly old baby gates that we had to step over, we have this beautiful gate that we can easily walk though. The gate worked so well, that I have ordered 2 additional gates. February 15, 2013
Beautiful gate It is a beautiful gate and well made! The only thing I wish was different and thought it would be since it was an adjustable gate was how it adjusts. I expected it to be a sliding system not bolts So - that makes it not so convenient when I want to move to another location within the house. December 26, 2013
Steel Mesh Pet Gate Excellent quality. Exactly what I needed to keep the cats and dog separate. It has a very classy look to it. January 28, 2014
Love this gate! Easy to put together. Adjustable for fitting different widths. Sturdy. And it looks great! January 30, 2014
Great find! ***** I'd been looking for a gate that would serve this purpose but also have eye appeal as it sits at our entry way. I needed exactly the dimensions given for large ( Bernese MT dogs) & this gate is not only very study, but almost elegant in appearance. People compliment about it as they come in & ask WHERE I found something so different than white or wood "Baby"gates.It looks like part of the decor & is VERY easy to assemble ( less than 10 minutes)& easy to go in & out. LOVE it! Would highly recommend it to anyone needing a gate to keep pets or babies,,,in /out~~~Thanks for a great product!! October 27, 2011
expandable free standing pet gate the appearance, functionality, and overall ease of operation, makes this gate an outstanding purchase. We have 2 gates and two Rhodesian Ridgeback puppies and these boundaries make for better dogs and keep our sanity. January 7, 2014
2nd purchase The gate looks ok. This is my 2nd purchase of this gate (first time purchase was nicer and seemed sturdier). My first purchase lasted approx. 2 two years then needed replacement. I have it in a very high traffic area in my home and it is used constantly. I would return and exchange this 2nd purchase though , as it is a bit wobbly and there are other minor issues, but I have bigger fish to fry. So I will keep it.....It's not a lifetime purchase. All in all, it's nicer than all other gates I have searched on the web and better than the alternative. The iron matches my decor. December 4, 2012
Love Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate I bought this gate to keep my 2 small dogs away from my Nice living room. I did not realize how sturdy this gate is. Even though I have small dogs, they try and Ram it to get it out, but without success. I love it! I would recommend to anyone who wants to keep their pets out of certain areas. Works great, very sturdy and easy to build. December 2, 2013
Wonderful puppy gate This is a wonderful gate for any size dog. Our daughter has large dogs that visit and this is sturdy enough to hold them and looks wonderful! January 15, 2014
Beautiful! I absolutely love our new pet gate! Our house is very open and there is no way to keep our dogs out of the formal dining room! The pet gate is perfect! The adjustable width allows me to move it with ease and it works beautifully! Assembly was minimal and from the time we opened the box to full installation was less than 30 minutes! The gate is sturdy and attractive. I am delighted with this purchase! It is worth every penny! October 17, 2013
Love this dog gate!! This is the greatest dog gate. It's easy to use and enter the room but keeps my beagle from coming in and ruining the furniture. It's very nice looking for a pet gate. January 9, 2014
Very nice. Love it! Very good quality and looks great. We have received several nice complements on it. January 20, 2014
Great design The heavy gauge construction of this gate was such an improvement over the wooden gate we had before. We use this gate to separate two 6 lb Pappillons from our 80 lb Lab at night time. This gate is heavy enough that it dissuades the Lab from easily pushing it aside and accessing areas we don't want her in. It is beautifully constructed and assembles in 5 minutes. It arrived perfectly packaged without the slightest scratch or blemish. The door only opens one way, but that was not a real problem for us. Overall we are very impressed!! May 22, 2013
2 little screen defects. These are beautiful, quality gates that I am proud to have in my home. They look much better than baby gates. I like how they are free standing and very stable and also have an easy to open swinging gate. I have 2 gates. One had a patched hole in the screen, about 1 inch square, the other had a dent like a pole had poked it, about the size and shape of the end of your thumb.These are not major, but given the cost of the gates I would have expected them to be perfect. I am sure Frontgate would help me with the gates, but they were much to heavy and big to want to pack up. June 20, 2012
Perfect fix! I have two large labs, that love to meet everyone that comes in the door. This gate works perfect to keep them from charging out the door, looks fantastic too!! January 6, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 15 next>>
(26 Questions : 87 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
11 answers

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cricketsmomma is loaded.
Additional information about Cricketsmomma could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
You probably do need one hand to open the gate. It is a sliding mechanism at the top only (no bottom latch). Once it is open, you can push through it with hands full and it swings back by itself to shut.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
We have found the latch quite easy to work, and I have had my hands full a time or two. There is only a top latch, but it has proved to be all that is needed. We secured the gate with screws, so I cannot accurately answer your question of scooting. I can tell you the gate is quite heavy.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GracieS is loaded.
Additional information about GracieS could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is only a latch up top and unless you push the latch or slam it - it stays slightly open. We prefer that as we have our gate to block up staircase and since we go up and down it a lot - it helps that it doesn't latch unless we want it too. Our dog can't get through it when it's not latched - as it stays closed well enough but this way you can just use your leg to open it while you may have items in your hands.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Answer: 
The gate does require a free hand to operate. It has a good weight to it so two hands are better. The lock is only on the top of the gate. I have two welsh corgis and they are not able to move it. Again, it has good weight to it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it is easy. I have an 8 week Golden and can carry him in one hand and pull the latch open with the other. The latch is only at the top and you don't need to stoop down or anything to undo it. The door swings back on it's own as well and latches. At this point we feel it is pretty sturdy because of the horizontal legs on on both sides and we haven't even connected all the pieces yet.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, it is easy to operate. It has one sliding lock on the top where you can reach down without bending (and I am 6'5"). The gate is heavy and hard to move, but the sides are angled and can be moved by the dog so he can wedge himself through if you don't anchor the sides firmly against the wall. But it is plenty heavy enough for Yorkies. We have 2.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about RaleighJacket is loaded.
Additional information about RaleighJacket could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate is nice and heavy and our dog hasn't been able to move it, though to be fair, she hasn't tried very hard. It latches only at the top and requires just a finger to slide the bolt out. If you're coming from the other direction, however, you have to reach over the gate. When we come down the stairs, it's a little awkward to bend over and reach the latch. It closes easily behind you.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate latches at the top only. It is very easy to open even with stuff in your hands. It is a slide type latch. This is a heavy metal gate so your Yorkie will not be able to push it open at the bottom. I have a Yorkie also. He is a jumper and climber. He can not jump over this gate or climb it. This gate is heavy so your dog will not be able to push it out of the way. It also has rubber on the bottom so it does not slide on hard wood floors easily. Also the door closes automaticlly and latches so you don't have to worry about your Yorkie pushing it open if you forget to latch it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
you need at least one free hand to operate the latch. it's a button you push in and heavy enough so it would be difficult for a dog to escape
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nocal is loaded.
Additional information about Nocal could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Latch is only on top and would require one hand to operate if you have it fully closed. I have a yorke and a jack russell and they have never pushed it. I have two of these gates. Love them.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Pennsylvania, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PAdogowner is loaded.
Additional information about PAdogowner could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
10 answers

How strong is the mesh?

2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Covington, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DawnRAT is loaded.
Additional information about DawnRAT could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The mesh is made from 100% steel, so it will stand up to pets' claws and teeth.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EDFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about EDFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Not like a screen door. It's stiff metal.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Very strong. It is hard metal mesh (similar to fireplace screen/skirt). It would be difficult for a dog to dig through it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is comparable to a good fireplace screen.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It's metal so it is pretty strong. My 8 week golden pup tried scratching at it and didn't damage it at all.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is pretty thick and sturdy although I imagine any dog that was really determined to scratch its way through might bend it and ruin the finish.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is just like a fireplace screen. It is very sturdy. This gate is put together very well. The screen is attached to the metal edges so it does not push in easily like some fireplace screens do.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I was worried about the mesh when I ordered it, but I can tell you that I'm very pleased. Even the dogs leaning on it doesn't seem to affect it at all. Love this gate.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LTP2 is loaded.
Additional information about LTP2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
9 answers

can the gate go on the other side (right)

2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Unfortunately, the gate for this item is built into the right front panel and is not able to be placed on the other side. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It can't be moved, but you can flip the gate around to have it on the other side. Just be aware that the balance may be off, so it could topple over if pushed on with enough force.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
TX
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chuckso is loaded.
Additional information about Chuckso could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate is built on the right side of the gate and does not allow reversal of that situation.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Illinois, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DiandeB is loaded.
Additional information about DiandeB could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
mine actually came as the mirror image, but it is not reversible
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lakeliving is loaded.
Additional information about lakeliving could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate cannot go on the other side. The holes to connect the pieces of the gate make it so that you cannot change the side of the gate. The only way you can get the door on the right is to face the gate the opposite way that's in the picture.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about labfan213 is loaded.
Additional information about labfan213 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The only way I found to make the gate open the other way is to flip the front panel around, which obscures the decorative scrollwork a little bit.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about annap is loaded.
Additional information about annap could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Actually it IS on the right - or at least the one we received is. We wanted it on the left, as pictured in the catalog but it's on the rigtht.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, my husband successfully installed the door backwards by mistake. It puts the fancy details on the other side of the screen, but still looks nice.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tmag is loaded.
Additional information about tmag could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
I have not used it at the top of stairs, but you will notice that it is very stable and would be difficult to push over. Of course, if your dog is heave or very large, they may be able to knock it over, but I've had a doberman all over mine and it never fell over.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes. We use it on a tile entry way to keep dogs out of stairs leading to basement.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LisaJP is loaded.
Additional information about LisaJP could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would have to see your stairwell or at least know the dimensions but for the most part, this gate is just what it says it is "free standing" and it's quite sturdy. We have giant and large breed dogs (weigh 158, 110 and 85 lbs, respectively). Since the two larger dogs often "challenge" gates or simply barrel through them, we decided to turn this gate inward between our dining and living room. The gate opens "in" so they are unable to push on it - works like a charm. You'd have to be sure the gate expands past the opening at the top of your stairs but the opening between the two rooms in our house is 70" or almost 6 feet. the gate has a magnetic closure so it swings shut automatically if you let it go and latches. Hope this helps. (The gate is lovely and quite well made). Denise in Land O' Lakes
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nesie is loaded.
Additional information about Nesie could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
If using it for a pet it should be fine, it is free standing and very sturdy. Not sure I would use it for a child.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Kimrose is loaded.
Additional information about Kimrose could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is pretty sturdy, and it has the stand to balance it, but I don't know if someone can tip it down the stairs.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chantel is loaded.
Additional information about chantel could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would NOT use at the top of stairs! It may fall! Not a suction or screw in type and could tip over.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about khtustinca is loaded.
Additional information about khtustinca could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Surprise, AZ
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about AZCoach is loaded.
Additional information about AZCoach could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The description states that the opening is 55" wide, so I am concerned about whether or not it could adjust smaller.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Argyle, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ttbrown6 is loaded.
Additional information about ttbrown6 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, the smallest size this gate can be adjusted to is 55". We do offer our 22"H Free-standing Mesh Pet Gate Barrier (item 42958) in two different size options, one of which adjusts between 40" - 70". We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The doorway where we placed the gate is less than 55 inches. We just put the side panels up against the wall on each side. The results were similar to one of the pictures on Frontgate. It shows the gate panels extended out from the doorway. It works and looks great.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Delaware, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Schatji is loaded.
Additional information about Schatji could not be loaded.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Answer: 
If there is wall on either or both sides of your opening, you can simply put it overlapping the doorway and the sides will come in to your wall. Otherwise, the shortest it assembles is 54 1/2"
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The smallest we were able to adjust it was for 51".
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. Just set it on one side of the door opening. It will be extend slightly over each side of the doorway, but will be side pieces will be flush against the wall. Look at the photo and just imagine the gate extended 3" wider on each side.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It will not be able to fit an opening 48" wide. I tested mine to see if I could make it fit, and it would not.
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???