Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
100 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1000.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy Not only is it elegant sturdy, and well made... It was worth every penny that I paid.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from doggie gate we had an unusual place to use a dog gate and as soon as I saw this free standing one...i ordered it. Its so nice and heavy duty...it works perfect for where we needed it. I would have liked it to come in other colors or finishes...but it was worth refinishing...for the perfect use. I also really liked how the sides moved to ease of entering and exiting without even having to move it...this gate had all my dilemmas covered !! One negative ...if you want a review...make it easier to sign in...my nickname is two letters...get over it!
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb Pet Gate It arrived 3 days ago and I couldn't wait to install it as our dogs destroyed the previous gates. Firstly, it was extremely easy to assemble (and I'm not handyman). Secondly, it is substantial (heavy) and cannot be easily moved. Lastly, it looks as good as it does on the website. It adds to the house decor. All and all, I couldn't be more pleased. I feel that the money that I wasted on two less expensive gates was, just that, a waste of money. Kudos to Frontgate for providing a quality, good looking gate.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Gate We've Ever Bought Sturdy and attractive. This is the third gate in this style that we've purchased from Frontgate. It looks great and does the job, keeping our cats away from our new puppy and vice versa. Highly recommend. Assembly is simple.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Gate ever I bought this gate to replace the one I purchased in 2009. (Although this time I got the taller one with the gate.) Since the gate is used in an outdoor patio, lasting more than 5 years outside is great. As a matter of fact, the gate is so good looking that it is an "approved" one to use at our condo complex.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and sturdy This gate was easy to assemble. Very tastefully appointed and sturdy. This is a gate I would highly recommend.
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME THE DOOR WORKED GREAT. LOOKED GREAT. KITTY DOOR HOLE WAS TOO BIG AND OUR MID SIZED DOG GOT THRU. FIX WAS TO CUT THE MESH IN THE KITTY DOOR AND DUCT TAPE TO AVOID SHARP EDGES, FIXED THE PROBLEM. WOULD BUY ANOTHER ONE SHOULD ONE BE NEEDED SOME WHERE ELSE. THANKS FOR A SOLUTION TO OUR KITTY/DOG PROBLEM.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS GATE!!!!!! I can't remember the last time I was this happy with a mail order. This gate is EXACTLY what we needed. We have twin granddaughters and two dogs. One of my dogs is a Houdini and I was worried about the gate not being not being heavy enough and that she would be able to push it over or move it. She absolutely cannot move this gate. I love that it does not touch the walls as the tension mounts going on and off the walls causes marks on the walls over time. I also love the door for us to go in and out of as opposed to climbing over to go in and out of the room. And another highlight is that it is attractive and not an eyesore. I highly recommend this gate.
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent buy! It is elegant and pretty and just what I needed
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate I have two small dogs and a new wool carpet. I purchased two gates because one was just about a foot shy of the opening between my living room and dining room where I need to contain my dogs. The gate is good quality and nice to look at. The door is easy to open for access. I am very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 42inch Tension mount gate I bought this gate 1 year ago to keep my 3 lb yorkie in my kitchen when I am away from the house. It is a beautiful gate and the I love it. I did have to make an adjustment to the side because it has some opening on the sides that she could get thru. I just had my husband cut a 2x4 piece of would and painted it the same color as the gate , problem fixed. I used the wood between the wall and gate to fill in the space some so she could not get out. I love this gate and the style looks great in my home. The gate is spring loaded and you can not just leave it open which is fine for us. I just open the small door on the bottom for my yorkie. She loves her little door since she is still 3 lbs and can not get up on things. I recommend this gate to people with xs pups The mesh part is wonderful and beautiful
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful gate I bought this gate a year ago for my yorkie She is 3 lbs This is great for her she can not get over it. This is not a walk thru but I use it for a second door from my kitchen I love it because it is mesh The only thing that would make it better would it to be a walk thru I can step over it but I have to be very careful to get my leg high enough
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful pet gate! We purchased this gate to block the areas that our dogs need to avoid. We have a home that doesn't have children so we have nicer things now. This gate definitely exudes the style fit for a nice home. It is sturdy, as well. I have no worries with my guests seeing this gate with the lovely attention to detail. The sweet pups are safe and sound while we are away and the home still looks lovely and stylish. Thanks FrontGate!
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gate, great buy! This gate is beautiful and exactly what we expected from seeing it in the catalog. Easy to assemble and looks beautiful in our home.
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gate! This item looks perfect at the entrance to our dining room to keep our dogs off the carpet. The quality is excellent and very sturdy and stable.
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase ever! Saved our wood doors. Purchased this awesome barrier to contain our 4 rescues ranging in size from 8 to 25 pounds whenever necessary, yet still allow them to feel part of the action so they don't bark or scratch behind a closed door. This is a beautiful yet sturdy barrier. It's very durable, even our little scratcher doesn't damage the metalwork. And it's very stable when positioned correctly. It's also tall enough so our dogs and cats do not attempt to jump over. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality gate This is a quality gate. Attractive and it works so well. Easy set up. Love it…love it…love it….
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expectations exceeded! We just received this gate. It was easy to assemble requiring only the one tool included. I had it up and in place in minutes. I am very impressed with the quality look, and construction. I did not realize that the gate has the spring loaded closing feature. I love that and the way it latches itself. The color is very tasteful.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great item if the size works for you My wife had been wanting some kind of divider to close off her spanky living room from the cats, one of which loved the soft cushions so much she'd still sleep on them even wrapped in plastic trash bags. The bags sure did not make the spanky room look so spanky anymore. We often toss the Frontgate catalogs because their prices tend to be high—but not so with this item. Even with shipping this was a great value because it solved a problem we'd been having for a couple years (since moving into our new home.) The gate works great, is very well constructed, stout and stable. The coloring works in our home... overall a great product at a reasonable price.
Date published: 2015-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase for new home Just moved to a new home and needed a dog gate that would match the decor and not look like the typical dog gate. Very happy with the purchase and qualityof the item
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and pretty! This is a beautiful way to keep your pets out of places you do not want them to go. Much prettier than a baby gate!
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Gate! Useful to keep large cats out. I am using the gate to keep out one "large" cat from mingling with the others. Interestingly enough, since at the sides of the gate there is some space, the "thinner" cats can easily slide in through the sides, whereas the larger cat cannot - perfect for what we needed. The gate is sturdy, beautiful to look at and opens only one way. It is self closing (so helpful!). No matter that the door may "slam", it doesn't jar the gate off the door. None of my animals push against it but I can't imagine that a medium sized dog can push it out of place. Maybe a large dog with effort can?? Anyway, it's a great gate for a good price.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quality gate I replaced a competitor's gate with this one for it's more appealing design. Other than purchasing a custom piece, this gate fits nicely within the decor of our living space.
Date published: 2015-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indoor gate is fabulous! I ordered this gate after seeing great reviews and needing a gate that can contain a Lab in a room with a wide entryway. I've struggled to find a gate that doesn't completely damage walls, doesn't quite fit the door opening, and doesn't fit non-square doorways and stairways. THIS GATE IS FANTASTIC! It's really stable in it's free-standing mode, is heavy and sturdy but not too heavy for me to move to block different rooms to keep my dog in different spaces based on our needs. It's a bit more expensive but ABSOLUTELY worth it. And it looks great.
Date published: 2015-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate! After renovating my master bedroom (including new wood floors and bedding) I wanted a way to keep my two Cavalier Spaniels in my master bath at night but did not want to close the door (they won't make a fuss as long as they can see me in bed!). This gate is perfect! It is sturdy and heavy enough to keep them out of the bedroom. It's not too heavy though - I can easily move it in the morning when I want to let them out. And it looks nice, too. I couldn't be more pleased with this gate.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant gate for your pet We have had so many people comment on this gate regarding its appearance. It is elegant for what it is used for. The only thing I would say we've run into is sometimes our guests in our home would go through the gate and trip over the bar at the bottom of the gate opening. We have dark slate floors so it blends into the floor if you're not watching where you are stepping. Other than that, we have gotten used to telling people to watch their step. Other than that, it is beautiful and very functional. No regrets!
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install Easy to install. Looks terrific.
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made We were looking for a classy gate for our home and this caught our eye. It is beautifully made with quality and style. Highly recommend this!
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great decision I searched and searched for a pet gate to keep our five cats out of the upstairs loft. Our home is open design with a sweeping staircase, so I wanted something tall enough to keep the more athletic of the cats from jumping over and the less athletic of the troupe from simply climbing over AND I wanted something attractive as well. This freestanding steel mesh gate does the job - beautifully - and there was no need to permanently install anything into the walls. A win/win all around!
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate The gate has worked out perfect. Family very impressed but dogs not so happy. They are off my screen door and no longer jump as we go outside. Gate is easy to assemble, door opens eay. Only CON I have is that I cant change the position of the swinging door to the opposite end.
Date published: 2015-10-06
  • y_2017, m_8, d_21, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_50, tr_950
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
Asked by: Cricketsmomma
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Answered by: PAdogowner
Date published: 2014-06-26

How strong is the mesh?

Asked by: DawnRAT
The mesh is very strong
Answered by: LTP2
Date published: 2013-10-21

can the gate go on the other side (right)

Asked by: Anonymous
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Answered by: GreensboroNC
Date published: 2013-10-21

I want to use this gate at the top of the stairs, has anyone used at top of stairs without wall for it to lean against?

Asked by: tmag
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Answered by: AZCoach
Date published: 2013-10-21

Will my energetic strong yorkie be able to push it aside to wiggle out the side?

Also, I see comments about it being heavy...I will be pushing it aside or sliding it smaller... when he is allowed into the other rooms. Is that easy to do on a daily basis? Love the look!
Asked by: Bailey2
In general, he should not be able to push it. It's pretty sturdy and heavy. However, if the gate doesn't fit the opening properly, and leaves inches open, or if you haven't used the screws to hold the end pieces securely in place, he could maybe wiggle those and snake through. You can't slide them smaller. The gate is screwed together into the configuration you need for your opening. The pieces don't 'slide'. You'd just have to lift the unit and move it aside. I size my gates so that the side pieces are inside the opening, not in front of the opening (as in the picture)... then my dog can't push or work it open.
Answered by: JAKnarr
Date published: 2014-09-06
  • y_2017, m_8, d_21, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_128
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]