Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate

Pet ProductsHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 968.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 34" Expandable Gate is Beautiful We received our gate today. A week ago it was delivered damaged, and Frontgate quickly shipped out another within a week. Excellent customer service!! The gate is easily assembled and is sturdy and beautiful. I was surprised when the instructions stated this gate was for small dogs weighing less than mine. My smallest dog is around 35#, and 4 more weighing from 55-108#. This gate is sturdy enough to keep them from entering a particular room. We are very pleased and would certainly recommend this to anyone who wants to keep dogs controlled into/out of any room. Thank you Frontgate!
Date published: 2014-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just fabulous I've purchased two - in order to keep guest bedroom doors open, but keep our pet OUT.
Date published: 2014-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!! This gate is everything and more! We have a 7 month old Coton de Tulear who weighs about 11 pounds. The gate is sturdy and attractive. Love that it is free standing and doesn't mar the woodwork of our doorway. Definitely worth every penny!
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this gate! Easy to put together. Adjustable for fitting different widths. Sturdy. And it looks great!
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving This Gate I did extensive research before purchasing this gate and still had reservations even as I was placing my order. This gate is exactly as described. It came in a very timely manner and is so stylish. This is not a dog gate to be ashamed of. The only drawback is the large spaces on each side of gate that my small dogs can squeeze thru. We love the gate so much, we did temporary fix and will make a permanent fix when our home remodeling has been completed. Glad we found Frontgate.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable QUALITY I was stunned when I opened the box to see this unbelievable expandable steel gate. It's like a piece of lasting quality furniture for the home. I had to put it in the entry to my formal dining room, as my old cat starting using the room for his litter box, every time something "upset" him. I needed something that did not look "cheap" and went with my house decor. I cannot say enough about this gate. It is beautiful. I'm a perfectionist, so when I say this... believe it. Frontgate is really a quality shopping experience.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dog gates These gates are great, adjustable to odd size opening and if placed properly at opening no one escapes to areas blocked off.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Steel Mesh Pet Gate Excellent quality. Exactly what I needed to keep the cats and dog separate. It has a very classy look to it.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 34"H expandable steel mesh gate Very attractive and sturdy gate. The package was quite heavy, but managed to get it indoors and set up with the help of a family member . Well packed. So far the gate has operated smoothly and stays latched-- a must since my puppy is an escape artist! Do wish that the free standing leg braces were a bit longer to allow for even more stability when the pup jumps against the screen. The ornate wrought iron scrolling goes well with the furnishings in the house, and have had compliments from everyone who has seen it. Very good quality for the price.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Happy Happy Very pleased with this purchase. I had to purchase two of these because we have a very wide opening to be gated. I like that is very well constructed and does not look like your ordinary dog gate. It looks very nice with my home decor. I have a dog that jumps over all the other gates that we have purchased and this one is tall enough that she won't be doing that anymore. And the gate is spring loaded so it closes quietly.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect in every way This pet barrier has wonderful transitional designer look, super flexibility, and is nicely made. It's the perfect height to contain my puppy to his designated training zone, but let him see where I am in remainder of the living area. Fairly easy for me to get over it when needed; light enough to move when I want, but heavy enough that the puppy can't push it around, even when he's grown to full 12 lbs.( A very large dog might need something taller though.)
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Gate Love it!
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice. Love it! Very good quality and looks great. We have received several nice complements on it.
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple Beauty We got 2 of these gates to put in our kitchen doorways. They were super easy to put up and are very effective at keeping our Dobies in; their height is a very efficacious mental barrier the dogs can still effectively see out. [Though, being simply tension mounted, it is possible that at 100 lbs our Dobies could push the gates hard enough to dislodge them given the right circumstances.] Our cats really like the little kitty doors so they can waltz in and out while the dogs stay in the kitchen!! lol i really like the dark brown powder coat finish on the metal and the elegant filigrees that make the gates something special that match our decor. And unlike a babygate, these gates are very easy to get in and out of. No more climbing over gates!! Yay! lol
Date published: 2014-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful puppy gate This is a wonderful gate for any size dog. Our daughter has large dogs that visit and this is sturdy enough to hold them and looks wonderful!
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever!!! I have a small dog (about 6 lbs)... so you would think almost any gate would be fine... WRONG!!! I tried baby gates from various stores in various styles, I tried pet gates from various pet stores in the various styles they offered, even some of the other ones Frontgate offered (no offense) were missing the mark for my fluffball of mischief! when I opened this gate and put it together (by the way it was very easy and took about 5 minutes.. no "extra" tools required) it was the first gate he didnt manage to find a way to climb over (yes you read that right), knock down, or shimmy through!! I so far am completely impressed because I almost gave up hope on any gate period!! Haha!! Take note that I'm only literally on day two of having the gate but so far so good!!! I will update with any changes but I'm crossing my fingers and toes this will be my only review posting for this item!!! I give it an A+++++++!!!
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pet gate This pet gate was even better than I expected. It's very attractive and sturdy enough to keep my puppy from knocking it over. Also, very easy to move around. Overall, very pleased with this gate.
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Satisified! The gate is well made, easy to install, looks great and we were very pleased with the price!
Date published: 2014-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this dog gate!! This is the greatest dog gate. It's easy to use and enter the room but keeps my beagle from coming in and ruining the furniture. It's very nice looking for a pet gate.
Date published: 2014-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE the doggie gates!!!! Seriously, these gates are gorgeous, sturdy, low enough that I can step over but keeps my little chihuahuas where they should be. Even my husband comments regularly how great they are. No more opening the usual ugly/typical baby gates, or ruining the doorways, or having to adjust them. I could not be happier, I have 2 so far and keep thinking where I could put another just to buy another.
Date published: 2014-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 42in.H tension-mount dual steel mesh pet gate I ordered the gate on Thursday and received it on the following Tuesday, before Christmas. great service and gate was just what i expected. we have 2 cats and the smaller one did manage to knock the gate once to go back to the other side, but it might have been our error in not adjusting the tension properly. overall great product, the only complaint would be if we can have the gate a little taller, maybe 4 to 4 1/2 feet tall instead of 3 1/2.
Date published: 2014-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from expandable free standing pet gate the appearance, functionality, and overall ease of operation, makes this gate an outstanding purchase. We have 2 gates and two Rhodesian Ridgeback puppies and these boundaries make for better dogs and keep our sanity.
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy I have 3 large dogs that have always found a way to knock down every gate we have purchased. This gate is heavy and durable with a door for the cat. Without the usual bars for them to stick their feet through they are not able to knock it down. Looks great and is very easy to install. Highly recommend this gate!!
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Beautifully made. I used the item in the hallway to keeps my cats and dogs separated. The bronze color blends into the hallway so it's not very obvious and easy to take down if there is an emergency. Would like to see product have an extra bar to make a better enclosure for a 36" hallway. Needed to put a Plexiglas piece to keep cats from sliding through the edge of the gate. The second gate is in the laundry room. It is strong enough barrier to hold 2 German Shepherds safely in the room. Do glad I brought this product.
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fix! I have two large labs, that love to meet everyone that comes in the door. This gate works perfect to keep them from charging out the door, looks fantastic too!!
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase This gate was easy to assemble and looks great! Perfect for our pet!
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful & Functional We purchased two of these gates over the holidays. We are very happy with them. They work very well and are a beautiful addition to our home. We have two rooms with large doorways. They keep my husky out of areas where he could otherwise get into trouble. They were on sale at the time, although still expensive, it was money very well spent.
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from well made pet door
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Free Standing Expandable Pet Gate Excellent quality, heavy metal construction! Much better than expected. The latching gate is easily opened and love the automatic closure. Beautiful accent piece that blends well with my décor. Easy to move to the side when needed. Big plus-no hardware holes in door facing or wall. Sheltie jumped against it a couple of times but it did not fall over or move. I love the height. Fast shipping. Easy to put together. One of the best purchases/choices I have ever made. (safe for pets-there is no way they can get a paw or head caught in it because of the heavy mesh)
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 34in.H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gat We love this gate to keep our chihuahuas where we want them! Will buy a couple more after I save my money!
Date published: 2014-01-02
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_47, tr_921
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
Asked by: Cricketsmomma
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Answered by: PAdogowner
Date published: 2014-06-26

How strong is the mesh?

Asked by: DawnRAT
The mesh is very strong
Answered by: LTP2
Date published: 2013-10-21

can the gate go on the other side (right)

Asked by: Anonymous
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Answered by: GreensboroNC
Date published: 2013-10-21

I want to use this gate at the top of the stairs, has anyone used at top of stairs without wall for it to lean against?

Asked by: tmag
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Answered by: AZCoach
Date published: 2013-10-21

Will my energetic strong yorkie be able to push it aside to wiggle out the side?

Also, I see comments about it being heavy...I will be pushing it aside or sliding it smaller... when he is allowed into the other rooms. Is that easy to do on a daily basis? Love the look!
Asked by: Bailey2
In general, he should not be able to push it. It's pretty sturdy and heavy. However, if the gate doesn't fit the opening properly, and leaves inches open, or if you haven't used the screws to hold the end pieces securely in place, he could maybe wiggle those and snake through. You can't slide them smaller. The gate is screwed together into the configuration you need for your opening. The pieces don't 'slide'. You'd just have to lift the unit and move it aside. I size my gates so that the side pieces are inside the opening, not in front of the opening (as in the picture)... then my dog can't push or work it open.
Answered by: JAKnarr
Date published: 2014-09-06
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_13CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_121
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]