Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Pet Products
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 445 466
22" pet gate Works great for my Yorkie. Keeps him out of trouble. November 9, 2011
Great Gate I have a chihuahua and this gate works wells and looks GREAT! LOVE IT! November 8, 2011
Really terrific dog gate! This free standing dog gate is a godsend!!! It is both durable & beautiful. I saw other reviewers complain about the finish. Either they got a bad product or they don't understand that it is bronze with a "worn finish" - in which some edges are scraped (displaying a touch of brass) for a certain designer look. This freestanding gate is very durable -- my dogs jump up & pounce on it & it does not fall over. We put it across our wide hallway. My husband drilled holes in order to customize the width & it fits well. It is really lovely & the mesh is that of a fireplace screen, so it stands up to my little (14 & 16 pound) dogs. They even scratch at the mesh & nothing is damaged at all. I definitely recommend it! November 8, 2011
BEAUTIFUL AND SAFE This is the second one I purchased, I have four small yorkies. What I love the most is they cannot get their heads stuck in any part of the gate. We love the walk thru, it is the safest gate for the animals and their master no climbing over gates any more. Had a close call with dogs head getting stuck between bars on old gate........ November 6, 2011
THE PERFECT GATE We searched at least a 100 sites and none compared to what Frontgate had online. We looked-for something functional as well as decorative and this gate fits both needs. The gate is like a piece of furniture and is not intrusive. The price is above average, but so is the product. As we know, you get what you pay for. You will not be disappointed with this purchase. November 4, 2011
Beautiful Gate Between grandkids and dogs we have kept a folding gate up to keep everyone out of the living room for now. And the gate looked awful and had to be propped up. When I saw this in the catalogue, I thought it would be a great replacement. It is a beautiful piece and looks wonderful. The ability to open a door to go into the room is so nice and much better than stepping over the old one. We are really happy with it and recommend it. November 3, 2011
Beautiful Appearance I puchased one freestanding and one tension mount gate, both in the lower height style.. The freestanding is BEAUTIFUL, works well and is free from defects! The tension mount is another story returned the 1st one due to several defects. 2nd gate is no better with a defective door latch and drill hole problems with the tension mount not worth the hassle of another exchange and trip to UPS! DISAPPOINTED! November 2, 2011
Wonderful Product The gate I purchased is wonderful. It's sturdy, beautiful looking, and was easy to put together. I am very pleased with my decision to buy from Frontgate. Thank you! October 31, 2011
Functional and Beautiful The stairway to our basement is open to the family room. For years we have been using a baby gate to keep our small dogs from going into the basement Not only was that an eyesore but the gate would always fall down the stairs if not braced against the newel post correctly. Needless to say, when I saw this freestanding pet barrier in the catalog I was intrigued. The gate was easy to assemble and the is very attractive to look at. The gate is very sturdy and easily contains our 12 lb dogs. It provides a dependable barrier and the mesh front keeps the area visually 'open'. This was just what we were looking for. I love it.! October 29, 2011
Perfect With the addition of Apollo the "Can Leap Gates in a Single Bound" dog, I needed gate that was tall enough to contain him and yet attractive enough to place between my living room and my kitchen/family room. This gate is perfect. It's attractive and it has foiled my incredible leaping dog. October 29, 2011
Mesh Pet Gate Very good gate. Easy to assemble and looks very nice. It is only 22' high, which is fine for our small dogs. Smaller gate does NOT have a gate though. All in all, very good! October 28, 2011
Great find! ***** I'd been looking for a gate that would serve this purpose but also have eye appeal as it sits at our entry way. I needed exactly the dimensions given for large ( Bernese MT dogs) & this gate is not only very study, but almost elegant in appearance. People compliment about it as they come in & ask WHERE I found something so different than white or wood "Baby"gates.It looks like part of the decor & is VERY easy to assemble ( less than 10 minutes)& easy to go in & out. LOVE it! Would highly recommend it to anyone needing a gate to keep pets or babies,,,in /out~~~Thanks for a great product!! October 27, 2011
Fabulous Pet Gate This gate fits into the decor of my home. The very wide open door between the living room and kitchen was closed off perfectly by this gate's dimensions. It looks very nice. It is not like anything you would find in regular pet stores. This is quality and classy. The pass through door closes and latches securely. The gate stays where it was intended. The dog that it is securing is a 10 - 11 lb pup. The metal grating separates the cats from the pup so neither is going to be injured until they are all socialized. One caveat: watch out if you have small children. They would need to be supervised around this gate. October 27, 2011
Perfect! All around great, easy to put together and use. Love the sturdiness and quality. It is a nice addition to have and not make the room look- ugh, pet lives here. Even when not in use it looks great and is a added decor when in use, have had comments of- Oh, this is nice! I like that style- where did u find that at? It's sturdy and looks great! October 27, 2011
Sturdiest Gate Ever To honest, I thought I was getting a wooden pet gate but this unit is metal. It is the best pet gate that I seen on the market for the price. The only small negative is that the entryway that I want to use it in is two inches shorter than the sma;;est width of the gate. However, I fixed that with drilling a few new holes and I knew about the width diffferencfes before purchase. The gate is spring loaded and there are pads installed on the sides to protect the walls. This is just good engineering. October 19, 2011
22 Inch Free Standing Mesh Gate Two gates arrived properly packaged and were easily assembled. The quality is very nice and they are sturdy and designed not to tip over. The gates are perfect for a small or large dog. The appearance is an asset to our/any home decor. I would highly recommend this gate. October 18, 2011
Elegant Quality and fit/finish are top notch..Had some concerns about the mesh durability, but was pleasantly surprised to see it was not screen door type material. It is like a firescreen type which is impervious to the dog's claws. October 18, 2011
Very Nice Gate Very nice looking gate. Metal construction. Best looking dog gate I have seen. The lower version is easy to step over, but a jumper could easily jump over it. The free standing gate is adjusted by removing 4 bolts and moving to a new set of holes. It is not possible to get an exact fit +- roughly 4 inches. This was not an issue for us as it is free standing and it does not need to fit exactly. October 18, 2011
Best Dog Gate Ever I purchased this gate to keep my new labradoodle puppy from going up the stairs. I am considering purchasing two more gates to keep her from entering my formal rooms..the quality is excellent! Every one that comes over comments on how pretty and unique the gate is. I love that the gate is free standing and doesn't require holes in the woodwork. I highly recommend this gate. October 16, 2011
Classy pet gate We purchased the Frontgate Bronze-finished mesh pet gate, and really love it. It works very well and looks classy, and it was reasonably priced--what more could you want? We had other pet gates before, and they were a hassle to deal with and looked ugly, to boot. We've been using the Frontgate gate for around a month now, and the hinge and clasp mechanisms have been working smoothly so far, and it is easy to take the entire gate down if you want to--although we rarely do. We use a 10-lb. door stop to prop the gate open when necessary. Friends and neighbors have also been impressed with the look of the gate. October 10, 2011
Best Gate Ever! I love this gate, was easy to install, very sturdy/stable. No bending over to adjust, opens easily, closes itself. Does not add anything negative to room decor. Mesh makes it blend into the interior, vs. standing out. Adds additional safety for my dogs October 8, 2011
Great product October 5, 2011
Great Home Addition Functional as well as beautiful, this gate was easy to assemble and use. Awesome product October 5, 2011
great purchase This looks stunning, the Yorkies can't escape their areas of the house and the gate is easy for humans to manage. This is a substantial, handsome piece. October 5, 2011
Beautifully Elegant and Perfectly Practical!! This doggie gate is perfect for my furry felines. Two of our kitties are jumpers and there is no way they will escape the room with this gate in place. This gate was worth the price and more as it looks elegant in any room. This gate would also be perfect for a baby gate as it has no open areas where a little finger would get caught. I wish I could get one for every room but my doorways are all different sizes. This product is awesome! October 2, 2011
bronze finished mesh pet gate I have 2 very large dogs(over 120lbs.) & this contains them very well. If you have jumpers, it might pose a problem as they can be pushed over with excessive force. They're very attractive & add to the decor rather than making your home look like a kennel. September 25, 2011
NICEEEEE!!!! We love the way this gate looks & is made. It is tall, so it is perfect if you have a larger dog. Matches our deco perfect as we have lots of wood & rod iron thru out our home. The only issue we have is the base boards at the bottom stick out a tad further than i measured for, so in order to make it "fit" we had to remove one of the spin notches for adjusting the tightness & now it doesn't fit as snuggly on the bottom as the top & so it tends to slide slightly every time the gate is slammed. But that was my mistake, not the maker of the gate itself. Make sure you measure from your baseboards, not the mid/top section of the doorway your mounting it in to get the proper measurement & fit. Other than that - it's a great gate! September 24, 2011
Does the job Classy, sturdy, looks like a fireplace screen but attractive. Easy set up. September 24, 2011
WONDERFUL GATE I NEEDED A GATE THAT HAD NO GAPS AND THIS MESH WORKS WONDERFULLY TO KEEP MY PET RABBIT IN AND NOT ABLE TO SQUEEZE THOUGH. NICE WORK September 23, 2011
Pet Gate, freestanding We love the gate. We had an odd width for a door opening and the larger gate accomidated it very well. It is so much easier to have a hindged door VS climbing over a gate. It's as pretty as the picture and it looks great with our decor. Our dogs are happier (too) knowing a gate won't fall on them if it comes loose from the wall. September 23, 2011
  • 2015-03-30T09:32:40.901-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_466, tr_466
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 16 next>>
(28 Questions : 89 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
11 answers

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cricketsmomma is loaded.
Additional information about Cricketsmomma could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We have found the latch quite easy to work, and I have had my hands full a time or two. There is only a top latch, but it has proved to be all that is needed. We secured the gate with screws, so I cannot accurately answer your question of scooting. I can tell you the gate is quite heavy.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GracieS is loaded.
Additional information about GracieS could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
You probably do need one hand to open the gate. It is a sliding mechanism at the top only (no bottom latch). Once it is open, you can push through it with hands full and it swings back by itself to shut.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is only a latch up top and unless you push the latch or slam it - it stays slightly open. We prefer that as we have our gate to block up staircase and since we go up and down it a lot - it helps that it doesn't latch unless we want it too. Our dog can't get through it when it's not latched - as it stays closed well enough but this way you can just use your leg to open it while you may have items in your hands.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Answer: 
The gate does require a free hand to operate. It has a good weight to it so two hands are better. The lock is only on the top of the gate. I have two welsh corgis and they are not able to move it. Again, it has good weight to it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it is easy. I have an 8 week Golden and can carry him in one hand and pull the latch open with the other. The latch is only at the top and you don't need to stoop down or anything to undo it. The door swings back on it's own as well and latches. At this point we feel it is pretty sturdy because of the horizontal legs on on both sides and we haven't even connected all the pieces yet.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, it is easy to operate. It has one sliding lock on the top where you can reach down without bending (and I am 6'5"). The gate is heavy and hard to move, but the sides are angled and can be moved by the dog so he can wedge himself through if you don't anchor the sides firmly against the wall. But it is plenty heavy enough for Yorkies. We have 2.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about RaleighJacket is loaded.
Additional information about RaleighJacket could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
you need at least one free hand to operate the latch. it's a button you push in and heavy enough so it would be difficult for a dog to escape
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nocal is loaded.
Additional information about Nocal could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate is nice and heavy and our dog hasn't been able to move it, though to be fair, she hasn't tried very hard. It latches only at the top and requires just a finger to slide the bolt out. If you're coming from the other direction, however, you have to reach over the gate. When we come down the stairs, it's a little awkward to bend over and reach the latch. It closes easily behind you.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Latch is only on top and would require one hand to operate if you have it fully closed. I have a yorke and a jack russell and they have never pushed it. I have two of these gates. Love them.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate latches at the top only. It is very easy to open even with stuff in your hands. It is a slide type latch. This is a heavy metal gate so your Yorkie will not be able to push it open at the bottom. I have a Yorkie also. He is a jumper and climber. He can not jump over this gate or climb it. This gate is heavy so your dog will not be able to push it out of the way. It also has rubber on the bottom so it does not slide on hard wood floors easily. Also the door closes automaticlly and latches so you don't have to worry about your Yorkie pushing it open if you forget to latch it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Pennsylvania, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PAdogowner is loaded.
Additional information about PAdogowner could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
10 answers

How strong is the mesh?

2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Covington, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DawnRAT is loaded.
Additional information about DawnRAT could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The mesh is made from 100% steel, so it will stand up to pets' claws and teeth.
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EDFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about EDFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It's metal so it is pretty strong. My 8 week golden pup tried scratching at it and didn't damage it at all.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Not like a screen door. It's stiff metal.
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Very strong. It is hard metal mesh (similar to fireplace screen/skirt). It would be difficult for a dog to dig through it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is comparable to a good fireplace screen.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is pretty thick and sturdy although I imagine any dog that was really determined to scratch its way through might bend it and ruin the finish.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I was worried about the mesh when I ordered it, but I can tell you that I'm very pleased. Even the dogs leaning on it doesn't seem to affect it at all. Love this gate.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is just like a fireplace screen. It is very sturdy. This gate is put together very well. The screen is attached to the metal edges so it does not push in easily like some fireplace screens do.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LTP2 is loaded.
Additional information about LTP2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
9 answers

can the gate go on the other side (right)

2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Unfortunately, the gate for this item is built into the right front panel and is not able to be placed on the other side. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate is built on the right side of the gate and does not allow reversal of that situation.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Illinois, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DiandeB is loaded.
Additional information about DiandeB could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate cannot go on the other side. The holes to connect the pieces of the gate make it so that you cannot change the side of the gate. The only way you can get the door on the right is to face the gate the opposite way that's in the picture.
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about labfan213 is loaded.
Additional information about labfan213 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The only way I found to make the gate open the other way is to flip the front panel around, which obscures the decorative scrollwork a little bit.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about annap is loaded.
Additional information about annap could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It can't be moved, but you can flip the gate around to have it on the other side. Just be aware that the balance may be off, so it could topple over if pushed on with enough force.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
TX
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chuckso is loaded.
Additional information about Chuckso could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
mine actually came as the mirror image, but it is not reversible
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lakeliving is loaded.
Additional information about lakeliving could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Actually it IS on the right - or at least the one we received is. We wanted it on the left, as pictured in the catalog but it's on the rigtht.
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, my husband successfully installed the door backwards by mistake. It puts the fancy details on the other side of the screen, but still looks nice.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tmag is loaded.
Additional information about tmag could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Yes. We use it on a tile entry way to keep dogs out of stairs leading to basement.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LisaJP is loaded.
Additional information about LisaJP could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I have not used it at the top of stairs, but you will notice that it is very stable and would be difficult to push over. Of course, if your dog is heave or very large, they may be able to knock it over, but I've had a doberman all over mine and it never fell over.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would have to see your stairwell or at least know the dimensions but for the most part, this gate is just what it says it is "free standing" and it's quite sturdy. We have giant and large breed dogs (weigh 158, 110 and 85 lbs, respectively). Since the two larger dogs often "challenge" gates or simply barrel through them, we decided to turn this gate inward between our dining and living room. The gate opens "in" so they are unable to push on it - works like a charm. You'd have to be sure the gate expands past the opening at the top of your stairs but the opening between the two rooms in our house is 70" or almost 6 feet. the gate has a magnetic closure so it swings shut automatically if you let it go and latches. Hope this helps. (The gate is lovely and quite well made). Denise in Land O' Lakes
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nesie is loaded.
Additional information about Nesie could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
If using it for a pet it should be fine, it is free standing and very sturdy. Not sure I would use it for a child.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Kimrose is loaded.
Additional information about Kimrose could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is pretty sturdy, and it has the stand to balance it, but I don't know if someone can tip it down the stairs.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chantel is loaded.
Additional information about chantel could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would NOT use at the top of stairs! It may fall! Not a suction or screw in type and could tip over.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about khtustinca is loaded.
Additional information about khtustinca could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Surprise, AZ
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about AZCoach is loaded.
Additional information about AZCoach could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The description states that the opening is 55" wide, so I am concerned about whether or not it could adjust smaller.
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Argyle, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ttbrown6 is loaded.
Additional information about ttbrown6 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, the smallest size this gate can be adjusted to is 55". We do offer our 22"H Free-standing Mesh Pet Gate Barrier (item 42958) in two different size options, one of which adjusts between 40" - 70". We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The doorway where we placed the gate is less than 55 inches. We just put the side panels up against the wall on each side. The results were similar to one of the pictures on Frontgate. It shows the gate panels extended out from the doorway. It works and looks great.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Delaware, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Schatji is loaded.
Additional information about Schatji could not be loaded.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Answer: 
If there is wall on either or both sides of your opening, you can simply put it overlapping the doorway and the sides will come in to your wall. Otherwise, the shortest it assembles is 54 1/2"
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The smallest we were able to adjust it was for 51".
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. Just set it on one side of the door opening. It will be extend slightly over each side of the doorway, but will be side pieces will be flush against the wall. Look at the photo and just imagine the gate extended 3" wider on each side.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It will not be able to fit an opening 48" wide. I tested mine to see if I could make it fit, and it would not.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
  • 2015-03-30T09:40:29.944-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
  • 2015-03-30T09:40:30.048-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???