Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
100 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1001.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works well does what it supposed to and with style . i just weigh they had this in more sizes, wider. There's absolutely nothing for opening that are in the 40-50" range
Date published: 2014-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Pet Barrier looks like furniture, keeps the dog out of the living room, and is easy for me to step over when I want to enter the room.
Date published: 2014-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate So pleased with the look and quality of this gate. I just wish they also made this expandable style as a higher walk through gate.
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace Of Mind At Last We have three cats all of which came from the local shelter. One of our cats was found in the woods near an area campground and was assumed to be a run away. This cat loves to bolt past you when you open the front door. We had tried every type of deterrent, water spray, ultra sound barriers, scolding and nothing seemed to work. We installed this pet gate in the 36 inch opening in the front entry way mud room. It worked instantly our problem was solved. The cat can't enter the mud room so it can't get out the front door. It easily installs in a half hour, looks great and is well engineered.
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Gate Very sturdy, quick ship, and easy to assemble.Will do the trick for our frisky dog!
Date published: 2014-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classy room enclosure This door is perfect. It's metal so the dog doesn't chew on it. It opens like a gate for people or large dogs and it has a small door for little dogs. Both can be latched to stay shut. The mesh keeps the dog from trying to climb over and it is decoratively trimmed so that it looks really good. Great purchase! I'm very pleased.
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonder fence This dog fence is very attractive and strong. I use it on my patio to keep the ducks from our pond off the patio. It work beautifully.
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this gate We have gotten many compliments on this beautiful gate after buying it for our precious little furry friend. Thank you!
Date published: 2014-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Gate We have 2 Maltese puppies. I bought 3 of these gates and I couldn't be happier. I initially purchased wooden and plastic gates, various brands, and nothing compares to these iron gates. They are sturdy and safe. I won't hesitate to buy taller gates from Frontgate in the future if my dogs outgrow these gates. This is, by far, the best product for this size gate that I've found anywhere. Thank you, Frontgate!
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY IMPRESSED BEFORE THIS PURCHASE, LIVING WITH AN UGLY CHILD GATE IN MAIN HALLWAY... THIS PET GATE WAS EVEN MORE SUBSTANTIAL THAN IT LOOKED IN THE CATALOG. EXCELLENT VALUE FOR THE MONEY. ADJUSTABLE WIDTH ALLOWED US TO FIT WITHIN 1/8 OF OUR OPENING. GUESTS ARE VERY IMPRESSED AND IT'S EASY TO STEP OVER! MY HUSBAND'S COMMENT: IT'S ONE OF THOSE THINGS YOU ASK YOURSELF, WHY DIDN'T WE DO THIS YEARS AGO!?
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 34" high Explandable mesh gate Excellent gate....easy....good looking...and it works
Date published: 2014-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gates! Thank you for offering a pet gate that actually has some style to it! We have a small dog that we want to keep out of a couple rooms when we aren't around. We bought these gates and love them. We don't even bolt them together, just having them there is enough to deter her. They look great and we can easily step over them and just move them when we have company and want easy access to the rooms.
Date published: 2014-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate I have been looking for a gate to keep my ferret contained in my office at work without having to close my door. It was difficult to find a gate without any gaps in it that she could squeeze through. This gate was perfect. It was solid all the way around and it was heavy enough that I don't worry about her tipping it if she climbs on it (or the cats)! Plus everyone at work, including our clients, commented on how attractive it was. Big thumbs up all the way around!
Date published: 2014-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Purchase We bought two of these gates to restrict our new Yorkie puppy to one room while being housebroken. The gates are absolutely beautiful and actually look like they might have been built for our house. Everyone that has seen them comments on how nice and beautiful they are and want to know where we got them. They came already assembled and were very easy to set up. It was an ingenious design to have the larger gate that we can walk through and to also have the smaller opening that allows a small dog or cat to go through if you want to leave the gate closed. We sometimes prop the gates open because they will not stay open by themselves. Also, if they are placed in a doorway that is used often, they will need to be adjusted occasionally because they move somewhat with use, since they are not permanently fastened. This may not be an issue with someone using it in a doorway that has a doorjamb but ours is just an archway so the ends of the gates are resting against sheetrock. I still gave it 5 stars because we are very pleased with them!
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Expandable Gate is Great I absolutely love this gate. My only regret is that I didn't see ( or buy it) sooner. It is sturdy and very attractive.
Date published: 2014-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 34" Expandable Gate is Beautiful We received our gate today. A week ago it was delivered damaged, and Frontgate quickly shipped out another within a week. Excellent customer service!! The gate is easily assembled and is sturdy and beautiful. I was surprised when the instructions stated this gate was for small dogs weighing less than mine. My smallest dog is around 35#, and 4 more weighing from 55-108#. This gate is sturdy enough to keep them from entering a particular room. We are very pleased and would certainly recommend this to anyone who wants to keep dogs controlled into/out of any room. Thank you Frontgate!
Date published: 2014-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just fabulous I've purchased two - in order to keep guest bedroom doors open, but keep our pet OUT.
Date published: 2014-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!! This gate is everything and more! We have a 7 month old Coton de Tulear who weighs about 11 pounds. The gate is sturdy and attractive. Love that it is free standing and doesn't mar the woodwork of our doorway. Definitely worth every penny!
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this gate! Easy to put together. Adjustable for fitting different widths. Sturdy. And it looks great!
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving This Gate I did extensive research before purchasing this gate and still had reservations even as I was placing my order. This gate is exactly as described. It came in a very timely manner and is so stylish. This is not a dog gate to be ashamed of. The only drawback is the large spaces on each side of gate that my small dogs can squeeze thru. We love the gate so much, we did temporary fix and will make a permanent fix when our home remodeling has been completed. Glad we found Frontgate.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable QUALITY I was stunned when I opened the box to see this unbelievable expandable steel gate. It's like a piece of lasting quality furniture for the home. I had to put it in the entry to my formal dining room, as my old cat starting using the room for his litter box, every time something "upset" him. I needed something that did not look "cheap" and went with my house decor. I cannot say enough about this gate. It is beautiful. I'm a perfectionist, so when I say this... believe it. Frontgate is really a quality shopping experience.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dog gates These gates are great, adjustable to odd size opening and if placed properly at opening no one escapes to areas blocked off.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Steel Mesh Pet Gate Excellent quality. Exactly what I needed to keep the cats and dog separate. It has a very classy look to it.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 34"H expandable steel mesh gate Very attractive and sturdy gate. The package was quite heavy, but managed to get it indoors and set up with the help of a family member . Well packed. So far the gate has operated smoothly and stays latched-- a must since my puppy is an escape artist! Do wish that the free standing leg braces were a bit longer to allow for even more stability when the pup jumps against the screen. The ornate wrought iron scrolling goes well with the furnishings in the house, and have had compliments from everyone who has seen it. Very good quality for the price.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Happy Happy Very pleased with this purchase. I had to purchase two of these because we have a very wide opening to be gated. I like that is very well constructed and does not look like your ordinary dog gate. It looks very nice with my home decor. I have a dog that jumps over all the other gates that we have purchased and this one is tall enough that she won't be doing that anymore. And the gate is spring loaded so it closes quietly.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect in every way This pet barrier has wonderful transitional designer look, super flexibility, and is nicely made. It's the perfect height to contain my puppy to his designated training zone, but let him see where I am in remainder of the living area. Fairly easy for me to get over it when needed; light enough to move when I want, but heavy enough that the puppy can't push it around, even when he's grown to full 12 lbs.( A very large dog might need something taller though.)
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice. Love it! Very good quality and looks great. We have received several nice complements on it.
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple Beauty We got 2 of these gates to put in our kitchen doorways. They were super easy to put up and are very effective at keeping our Dobies in; their height is a very efficacious mental barrier the dogs can still effectively see out. [Though, being simply tension mounted, it is possible that at 100 lbs our Dobies could push the gates hard enough to dislodge them given the right circumstances.] Our cats really like the little kitty doors so they can waltz in and out while the dogs stay in the kitchen!! lol i really like the dark brown powder coat finish on the metal and the elegant filigrees that make the gates something special that match our decor. And unlike a babygate, these gates are very easy to get in and out of. No more climbing over gates!! Yay! lol
Date published: 2014-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful puppy gate This is a wonderful gate for any size dog. Our daughter has large dogs that visit and this is sturdy enough to hold them and looks wonderful!
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever!!! I have a small dog (about 6 lbs)... so you would think almost any gate would be fine... WRONG!!! I tried baby gates from various stores in various styles, I tried pet gates from various pet stores in the various styles they offered, even some of the other ones Frontgate offered (no offense) were missing the mark for my fluffball of mischief! when I opened this gate and put it together (by the way it was very easy and took about 5 minutes.. no "extra" tools required) it was the first gate he didnt manage to find a way to climb over (yes you read that right), knock down, or shimmy through!! I so far am completely impressed because I almost gave up hope on any gate period!! Haha!! Take note that I'm only literally on day two of having the gate but so far so good!!! I will update with any changes but I'm crossing my fingers and toes this will be my only review posting for this item!!! I give it an A+++++++!!!
Date published: 2014-01-14
  • y_2017, m_9, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_50, tr_951
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
Asked by: Cricketsmomma
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Answered by: PAdogowner
Date published: 2014-06-26

How strong is the mesh?

Asked by: DawnRAT
The mesh is very strong
Answered by: LTP2
Date published: 2013-10-21

can the gate go on the other side (right)

Asked by: Anonymous
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Answered by: GreensboroNC
Date published: 2013-10-21

I want to use this gate at the top of the stairs, has anyone used at top of stairs without wall for it to lean against?

Asked by: tmag
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Answered by: AZCoach
Date published: 2013-10-21

Will my energetic strong yorkie be able to push it aside to wiggle out the side?

Also, I see comments about it being heavy...I will be pushing it aside or sliding it smaller... when he is allowed into the other rooms. Is that easy to do on a daily basis? Love the look!
Asked by: Bailey2
In general, he should not be able to push it. It's pretty sturdy and heavy. However, if the gate doesn't fit the opening properly, and leaves inches open, or if you haven't used the screws to hold the end pieces securely in place, he could maybe wiggle those and snake through. You can't slide them smaller. The gate is screwed together into the configuration you need for your opening. The pieces don't 'slide'. You'd just have to lift the unit and move it aside. I size my gates so that the side pieces are inside the opening, not in front of the opening (as in the picture)... then my dog can't push or work it open.
Answered by: JAKnarr
Date published: 2014-09-06
  • y_2017, m_9, d_18, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_130
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]