Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Pet ProductsHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 943.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pet gate is functional yet elegant My wife thought our 20 month Golden could not be fully trusted to keep out of mischief when we were out for a few hours. The crate seemed to be limiting. We wanted to sequester her to half of our foyer which we did with this beautiful gate. The opening is 63 inches. The gate is expandable to 70 inches. I was not looking for anything that would be permanently mounted to the wall and this free standing gate was the perfect solution. It is functional and cannot be toppled over by a hyper golden who weighs 65 pounds. The gate has a swinging door as well. The quality is better than you would expect for the price. I highly recommend it. The catalog photo is not a perfect representation of the color . I would say it is more black with bronze highlights than a bronze color overall. I would have preferred a more bronze color but none the less very happy with its decorative qualities in our home.
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MESH GATE THIS GATE IS FUNCTIONAL AS WELL AS GOOD LOOKING AND IS NOW THE SECOND ONE I PURCHASED
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! We purchased two of these gates. They were simple to set up and look great. We purchased these fences because of the gate feature and are very happy with them. The gate opens easily. These are also very good looking!
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid pet gate with super-easy setup Love it. Took about ten minutes to set it up out of the box. Shipping box was damaged, but due to adequate padding inside, product was not. Latch has nice and clean action, and end pieces keep it stable. We have a small dog, about 12lbs, but this gate should handle much larger dogs as well. Color matches our dark wood decor, and pins for attachment are quick and sturdy. Great product.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Gate I was so sorry we had to return this beautiful gate. Our doorway is too narrow and that is the only reason. This looks as good in person as it does online and is study. If they ever made one that started a little more narrow, I would buy one immediately.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! These are perfect for gating off my dogs in my sun room while I'm at work during the day. The opening is to the sun room is wide, so I loved that these came in the wider widths. They are heavy enough so they can't nudge them out of the way like the wooden ones, either. But, the best part is that they are beautiful enough to keep up even when guests come over. Putting away the ugly wooden gates gets old when you try to do it when guests come, but I allow these to remain because they are so decorative.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality, attractive look, worth the money It saves my home from 3 large dogs. that like to run through my home
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this gate The gate is very easy to assemble. The dogs can't get through it, metal works great since they chew everything and you can walk through it easily. Before I was stepping over a lower gate and sometimes the puppy would get in the way. Also it is very pretty!
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mesh gate These gates are super sturdy and easily assembled in 5 minutes. They are easy to step over, at 22" high and come with felt pads on the bottoms so they will not scratch flooring.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and Look - This product was nothing short of the quality I expect from FrontGate - Very sturdy - Pleasant looking - I expect it to last a very long time. The design is perfect if you have a dog at the puppy stage as you don't have to worry about it getting caught between the posts or other designs. This was a good choice and I recommend it. MH
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best dog fence!! Ordered this to replace a broken freestanding wooden/metal pet barrier. I was concerned about the quality but as soon as I received it all my concerns were gone!! Nicely made and looks elegant. It is heavier than my other gate so my dogs can't push it open (a problem with the wooden one). Has worked out great!! Very happy with this purchase!!!
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completely satisfied We have three bulldogs and a Doberman all of which could easily jump this gate if they really wanted to. But they respect it. I have it in my foyer at the living room entrance. At 22 inches high, it's just enough to discourage them from doing that. It's weighted nicely and will not tip over with a little nudge. To setup was easy and I am very happy with its appearance. Unless your dog is a known jumper I would not hesitate to give it a try.
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tension mount pet gate. We are so happy with the gate. It is so well designed and can be used in several venues in our home. It is easy to install and is so attractive.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog gate Such a lovely addition to my home. This strong and sturdy gate is perfect for my golden retriever. It's heavy and versitile in my hallway that has an angled wall. Also this fat has the perfect height so it's easy to walk through and keep the dog at bay.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Well made and very sturdy. Received many compliments on it as to how decorative & rich looking it is. It adds to the room.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality Pet Gate The Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier is beautiful and excellent quality. I purchased two since the room has two different entrances. It is easy to pick up and move even though a substantial quality steel. I am very happy and impressed with my purchase.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Notch Pet Gate This product truly is top notch. All steel construction. Easy to assemble. Looks like custom-made. Fits almost any decor.
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best I've had numerous dog containment products over the years and this is the most attractive, durable yet. I also enjoy the self closing feature on the gate. There is the challenge of putting it together and adjusting the width but it was not too difficult for me.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This was exactly what I needed. Love this gate. Great quality (as is everything with Frontgate). Love the height and product is solid. Liked it so much ordered a second one for another hallway. Well worth the price.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect pet gate! I had been searching for months for a wide pet gate to separate my family room from the adjacent living room and front door. I finally decided on this free standing mesh pet gate, after seeing the reviews and loving the look. It really exceeded my expectations, which were already high. The steel is very high quality, and it was so easy to put together with just a few elbow rods and six screws! Probably took me 5 minutes, max. The design on the gate is quite lovely, and it has got to be the nicest pet gate, ever. I am very comfortable keeping this gate out in view at all times. The gate swings smoothly, and I am really impressed with the sturdiness of the entire design. I am very happy with this purchase. Thank you, Frontgate!
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate Love this item. Well-made anod durable.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for 2 Golden Retrievers This is the second Steel mesh pet gate we have purchased to keep our 2 80+ dogs contained inside our house. We are very happy with both purchases.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Decorative pet gate Perfect gate for all of our pets. I wish it came in narrower sizes. I had to angle it on a wall with the door frame to fit a narrow doorway. The measurements didn't work out as planned, but I found a solution that fit our needs.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Awesome! This gate couldn't have worked any better! It looks even better than the pictures! My doorway is actually 32 inches and it fit perfectly with minor tweaks. I did not add the rubber "stoppers" to one side and it holds securely in place. My pet (Zoey, a Newfoundland dog) just had knee surgery and I needed to confine her to a small area. The gate is the perfect height and the smaller door would work well for smaller pets too! It is functional and actually looks great as well. I am extremely happy with this purchase!
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for 2 Golden Retrievers We have been using a white plastic "baby" gate to keep our 85 pound dogs out of our dining room. This looks so much better in the entrance from our kitchen into our dining room. The door makes an easy entrance and exit between the rooms. Installation was super easy. We plan to order the similar gate for a wider doorway for the other entrance into our kitchen from our great room. We have only had it for a couple of weeks, so I can't comment on durability yet.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gate! This gate is amazing. It is beautiful, sturdy, and not expensive at all. I purchased other gates in the past somewhere else at about the same price, but their quality does not compare to the quality of this one.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 34 inch mesh gate for dogs Best gate ever. Perfect for large openings and beautiful. Works great for both our dogs.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puppies saved from the precipice As our Boston Terrier got dementia, bad eyesight and other mobility problems, she lost the ability to go down stairs. The 22"H Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier saved her from the perils of our open layout condo and its staircases, protecting her from the risks of falling and the inevitable seizures that followed. We were happy to find a preventative that was also not a plastic baby gate. Thanks Frontgate!
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Gate I've purchased two of these gates and love their appearance, durability and stability. The door latch is easy to use and the expandability of the gate is very useful. It's very sturdy. It's not something you'd expect to be complemented on, but we've had several visitors admire it. I recommend this gate highly over the other 34" gate that has rails rather than mesh.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally found the perfect pet gates I recently bought 3 of these gates and installed them yesterday. They are and look great!! Easy to assemble, sturdy, beautiful. My three dogs aren't too happy about it, especially the German Shepard, so are my Chow and pit mix. These gates are the highest out there! My regret is not discovering these gates before!! No cons!!!
Date published: 2016-07-28
  • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_47, tr_896
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
Asked by: Cricketsmomma
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Answered by: PAdogowner
Date published: 2014-06-26

How strong is the mesh?

Asked by: DawnRAT
The mesh is very strong
Answered by: LTP2
Date published: 2013-10-21

can the gate go on the other side (right)

Asked by: Anonymous
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Answered by: GreensboroNC
Date published: 2013-10-21

I want to use this gate at the top of the stairs, has anyone used at top of stairs without wall for it to lean against?

Asked by: tmag
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Answered by: AZCoach
Date published: 2013-10-21

Will my energetic strong yorkie be able to push it aside to wiggle out the side?

Also, I see comments about it being heavy...I will be pushing it aside or sliding it smaller... when he is allowed into the other rooms. Is that easy to do on a daily basis? Love the look!
Asked by: Bailey2
In general, he should not be able to push it. It's pretty sturdy and heavy. However, if the gate doesn't fit the opening properly, and leaves inches open, or if you haven't used the screws to hold the end pieces securely in place, he could maybe wiggle those and snake through. You can't slide them smaller. The gate is screwed together into the configuration you need for your opening. The pieces don't 'slide'. You'd just have to lift the unit and move it aside. I size my gates so that the side pieces are inside the opening, not in front of the opening (as in the picture)... then my dog can't push or work it open.
Answered by: JAKnarr
Date published: 2014-09-06
  • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_118
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]