GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
1
5
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Pet Products
Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Frontgate
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 417 436
Love it! It was so easy to put together. My schnoodle puppy can no longer leap over this gate like the first one I bought that was 24 inches. August 6, 2014
Love it! This item is perfect for me. It is very sturdy and easy to open and close! I put it at the top of the stairs and I am able to have it "wrap" around the edges of the wall to secure it. Very attractive. Guest thought it was a screen for my fireplace. July 18, 2014
attractive, fuctional heavy duty dog gate The gate was purchased for a large foyer to family room entrance. It is the first thing you see in our front door....and it looks very attractive. We have two 6 month old large, active puppies. It is perfectly sturdy and has shown no movement. ( The directions when received with the gate state for small dogs....however the picture in the brochure / online show a large dog: so a bit misleading) No worries if you have 1 or 2 large dogs. Our dogs do respect the gate and occasionally place their paws on it. The actual walk thru section is very functional, sturdy, and a good size. It stops the dogs from running to the door whenever it opens or someone arrives. Easy to put together, with size options of 2 3/4 inch increments We have place it against the wall beside the door opening rather than inside the door frame. Able to move if required, or needed in alternate area. No marking of walls. I WOULD RECOMMEND! February 26, 2014
Beautiful I love the Expandable Free Standing Pet Gate that I purchased. Its beautiful and practical.. Easy to assemble and fits perfectly at the top of the stairway where I am using it. Very sturdy. July 16, 2014
expandable freestanding gate Very easy to assemble. Sturdy, nice looking and works well. July 18, 2014
Absolutely love it Is it possible for something as utilitarian as a pet gate to actually be attractive? Do you really want to spend this much? If it's this gate, then the answer is an emphatic yes. It's also easy to assemble and very sturdy. Mine gets heavy daily usage and has held up to the constant back-and-forth foot traffic (human), while keeping the dogs safely contained and away from the open front door. Great product, and far more stable and substantial than I was expecting. Vastly superior to the 'big-box' kind, and light-years better-looking than a kiddie gate. Highly recommended for small dogs (as well as medium-to-large dogs that aren't aggressive jumpers or climbers). June 16, 2014
Good looking - high quality I bought this gate to place at the bottom of our stairs, to keep the dogs from going up. It is a very nice gate - heavy, great quality, and very beautiful. It looks so much better than the usual dog gate, and I do like it alot. I was not able to use it at the bottom of our stairs, because the gate only opens in one direction. So, be aware that it only opens inward, and not outward. I should have looked more closely at the product before buying - this was my mistake. However, it would definitely be an improvement in functionality to have the gate open either way. FYI to Frontgate... I would recommend the gate. We kept it because we really liked it, and we were able to find another place to use it. June 6, 2014
Best Purchase Ever!!! I have a small dog (about 6 lbs)... so you would think almost any gate would be fine... WRONG!!! I tried baby gates from various stores in various styles, I tried pet gates from various pet stores in the various styles they offered, even some of the other ones Frontgate offered (no offense) were missing the mark for my fluffball of mischief! when I opened this gate and put it together (by the way it was very easy and took about 5 minutes.. no "extra" tools required) it was the first gate he didnt manage to find a way to climb over (yes you read that right), knock down, or shimmy through!! I so far am completely impressed because I almost gave up hope on any gate period!! Haha!! Take note that I'm only literally on day two of having the gate but so far so good!!! I will update with any changes but I'm crossing my fingers and toes this will be my only review posting for this item!!! I give it an A+++++++!!! January 14, 2014
Beautiful and effective gate This is outstanding gate would almost expect it to cost more...one of a kind could not find anything like this anywhere else....easy to set up, durable construction.does not compromise good looking gate, bulldogs cannot tip over or move gate, door easy for me to go in and out. I will be placing three next to each other and also use one single....worth it for sure and will last for years. Wood can break and dogs can chew wood...this will last forever June 22, 2014
My Dog Laughed at this Gate This gate is beautiful! It is a lot more appealing then a safety gate with boring bars. Aesthetically, this gate is unique and would gain five stars simply on that. Also, the materials used are nice and heavy. However, my 90 pound lab ran through it and created a dog-shaped dent in the mesh. After my bull-of-a-dog charged at the gate a couple more times, the mesh gave up and tore. This gate would be wonderful for a medium or small dog. The larger breeds that cannot appreciate their own size are not a good match with this gate. June 12, 2014
Attractive and easy to put together pet gate We love this! It was even easy to assemble and we are not usually good at this. Many pet gates use a suspension mechanism that can be tricky to secure. This is freestanding and it is so pretty. An online coupon we found for frontgate made it also a great value. June 11, 2014
34" H Expandable Free-Standing Mesh Pet Gate Very attractive, fits into traditional decor. Keeps the pets out, but the door allows for easy egress. June 13, 2014
34" Expandable Steel Msh Gate Very nice piece, & functional to keeping dogs in/out of certain home areas. Very nice looks! Easy to put up! Wife LOVES it! Things that could be better.. Gate makes awful noise when closes.. NEEDS cushioning or control springs to keep from "clanging". WE LOVE IT! June 6, 2014
Outstanding Purchase We have 3 dogs and foster for a rescue organization so keeping our guys in check is necessary. We have tried baby gates but they are obviously designed for temporary use and are less than attractive. This gate is outstanding . It was easy to put together(8 screws and 4 hinge pins). The design and quality makes it a attractive addition to our home. We have large dogs, one is 100 pounds, and it stands up to all of them. They are unable to move it or push through it. The spring loaded gate makes it easier to pass through and the latch is sturdy and designed to lock by itself when the gate is closed. This is the gate to have for a classy look and reliable use. July 30, 2012
Great product! Love the dog gate! It is so sturdy and with the expandable ability it fits almost any area! It is a great looking product and adds to the look of our house. June 2, 2014
Beautiful, but... It's very attractive, i'll give it that. It was very easy to assemble - from box to final placement in under 10 minutes. After I put it in place I did notice that it was somewhat out of alignment - I have to lift one side as it closes otherwise it won't latch. The latch itself also seems to be in need of either oiling, or is out of alignment too. The latch won't slide, so i'll play with it for a minute to get it all back into alignment - and it will work fine for a few days, then pops back out of alignment. This could be because the whole thing is out of alignment. I could have notified Frontgate, I could have asked for a return or an exchange - but quite honestly, the prospect of having to box this thing back up was the reason I didn't. The box wasn't fully in tact when it got to me, and was left in the rain the day it was delivered - so the box could not be salvaged. I love the way it looks - just wished it worked as well as it looks. After having problems I read the customer reviews in greater detail only to find that some others have complained about the exact same things. I have learned my lesson. October 31, 2013
Expandalbe freestanding steel mesh pet gate love it, love it. love it. it fits perfectly where I have put it and the dogs can't come out of the kitchen, but they can still see us and it keeps them happy. and if I have to remove it, I just pick it up and put it elsewhere. thank you. May 22, 2014
Very nice, expected a little better There were a few things, quality wise that did not live up to my expectations. What I like: The gate is beautiful, better even in person. It is the perfect height for my lab and the latch is easy to open. What I didn't like: The door isn't perfectly square, so it doesn't close unless I lift it a little to latch. My house is new and my tile floor is perfectly level, so it's definitely the gate and not my floor. Also the gate opens "in" so if you place it in front of a staircase, you cannot open the door all the way, this makes it difficult for a large dog or my husband to fit through. But, I really like this gate and I would definitely purchase it again, considering the price and lack of other options available. August 13, 2013
super pet gate Marvelous quality and durability. Plus the attention to decorative details is very attractive rather than being an eye-sore in your home. Absolutely worth the cost. May 19, 2014
Keep dogs safe and entrance beautiful Beautiful Gates. I have 2 German Shepherds over 100 bls. The barrier hold up well with them jumping up. We have had to attach to wall for additional support with eyes and rope and would have loved for them to be 42" high like the same single gates we purchased. April 30, 2014
Love this Pet Gate Wonderful product, high quality and stylish. Keeps my pets off the carpet and the bronze finish blends nicely with the decor. This is the fourth gate of this type I have bought from Frontgate for myself and family members; they are great! November 9, 2011
Functional & Stylish We installed this in our family room and is a stylish barrier for our 56 lb Lab pup. She is pretty obedient but like any pup can be destructive. This is sturdy, easy to install. Nice to have a solution in place which doesn't look like the normal doggy doors (white with bars). April 23, 2014
Wonderful, Pretty and Sturdy Gate We have nine dogs and need to keep them out of certain areas. We did not want the traditional gates with bars that attach to the wall or doorway, since these gates were going to be located in our main living area and the spaces to be blocked off were very odd sizes (larger than usual). We purchased two of these gates to accomplish that. The gates are very sturdy, well made and very attractive. They stand up by themselves and do not fall over, even when our 210 pound Mastiffs bump them.The walk-through openings are great and easy to open and close. One suggestion; I do wish they would fold up to a small size so we could easily put them away when we have company. All in all, you can't go wrong with this gate. Beautiful and worth the price. And they were delivered very quickly! December 26, 2013
Heavy duty quality gates!! I was extremely pleased with these two gates. My great room has two very large openings and we wanted to keep our dogs out when not at home. They are very heavy and therefore can not be pushed over. They are elegant looking and actually pretty, not like a wooden or plastic baby or pet gates. I was so happy to find these when surfing the Internet for wide pet gates. One look at the picture, and I knew immediately I had to have these. Luckily for me, they were very affordable and I feel like I got more than my money's worth. September 26, 2013
34" H expandable mesh pet gate This gate is fantastic! It’s very sturdy, good quality and beautiful. Initially I thought the price was a bit high, but found others in the same and higher price range. Now that I have it, all I can say, it’s well worth the price! I’ve tried vinyl, wood and plastic gates and my 12LB dog has successfully jumped over, chew through, or climbed over all of them. And she’s not a destructive dog, it’s as though she just has to get to the other side. So much for dog training! Because this gate is metal she won't chew it, its mesh so she can't climb it and it's tall so she can't jump over it. She may not be happy, but I am most definitely happy! No more hair or nesting spots on the Living room sofa! Working perfectly! Again it's so nice I don't have to remove it when guests come over and with the spring-reaction built-in door access it's a breeze for humans to go through. February 7, 2012
Beautiful & Functional We ordered the expanding pet gate for a 64 inch doorway in preparation for a new puppy. Our old gate was by admission ugly and hard to handle; however, with such a large opening our options have always been limited. I was thrilled to find such a stylish, affordable expandable gate. It was easy to assemble and the swinging door is so handy. It arrived well packed with no damage. My current dog is 20 lbs but doesn't jump on the gate, so when the new puppy arrives the gate will get the test for being sturdy. So far we are very pleased with our purchase. August 27, 2013
nice looking pet gate This gate is more decorative than others I have seen. It was easy to put together and to use, I like it and am glad I found something that is not only functional but decorative too. April 22, 2014
Free standing gate This item was shipped promptly at no charge. The quality is excellent and matches my decor perfectly while being very functional. Easy to set up! I have been recommending it to many people!! April 17, 2014
Not Worth the Trouble - Worst Packaging Ever While I am using the product and like the mesh design, I would caution folks that you may get the same result with a less expensive dog gate...The product arrived in the worst packaging I have ever encountered. One entire side of the over-sized package was completely open, styrofoam was everywhere, there were no instructions, and one of the hinges was bent (looks to have happened during manufacturing and not during shipping). Overall, I managed to get it assembled and decided it was too bulky to mess with a return. The gate looks nice and is sturdy enough, but it is not the quality that I would expect from Frontgate. January 15, 2012
34"H Expandable free-standing steel mesh pet gate This gate does not correspond to the picture shown on the web site. Perhaps the website has reversed the picture. The picture shows the gate with a dog going through on the left side. The gate is actually on the right side. The product is not reversible. What is particularly aggravating is that I called before buying it to make sure the gate operated on the left side and was assured it was on the left side. I have a unique room configuration which makes that important. Other than that the product works as advertised. March 10, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
(24 Questions : 85 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
11 answers

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cricketsmomma is loaded.
Additional information about Cricketsmomma could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
You probably do need one hand to open the gate. It is a sliding mechanism at the top only (no bottom latch). Once it is open, you can push through it with hands full and it swings back by itself to shut.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
We have found the latch quite easy to work, and I have had my hands full a time or two. There is only a top latch, but it has proved to be all that is needed. We secured the gate with screws, so I cannot accurately answer your question of scooting. I can tell you the gate is quite heavy.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GracieS is loaded.
Additional information about GracieS could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is only a latch up top and unless you push the latch or slam it - it stays slightly open. We prefer that as we have our gate to block up staircase and since we go up and down it a lot - it helps that it doesn't latch unless we want it too. Our dog can't get through it when it's not latched - as it stays closed well enough but this way you can just use your leg to open it while you may have items in your hands.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Answer: 
The gate does require a free hand to operate. It has a good weight to it so two hands are better. The lock is only on the top of the gate. I have two welsh corgis and they are not able to move it. Again, it has good weight to it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it is easy. I have an 8 week Golden and can carry him in one hand and pull the latch open with the other. The latch is only at the top and you don't need to stoop down or anything to undo it. The door swings back on it's own as well and latches. At this point we feel it is pretty sturdy because of the horizontal legs on on both sides and we haven't even connected all the pieces yet.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, it is easy to operate. It has one sliding lock on the top where you can reach down without bending (and I am 6'5"). The gate is heavy and hard to move, but the sides are angled and can be moved by the dog so he can wedge himself through if you don't anchor the sides firmly against the wall. But it is plenty heavy enough for Yorkies. We have 2.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about RaleighJacket is loaded.
Additional information about RaleighJacket could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate is nice and heavy and our dog hasn't been able to move it, though to be fair, she hasn't tried very hard. It latches only at the top and requires just a finger to slide the bolt out. If you're coming from the other direction, however, you have to reach over the gate. When we come down the stairs, it's a little awkward to bend over and reach the latch. It closes easily behind you.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate latches at the top only. It is very easy to open even with stuff in your hands. It is a slide type latch. This is a heavy metal gate so your Yorkie will not be able to push it open at the bottom. I have a Yorkie also. He is a jumper and climber. He can not jump over this gate or climb it. This gate is heavy so your dog will not be able to push it out of the way. It also has rubber on the bottom so it does not slide on hard wood floors easily. Also the door closes automaticlly and latches so you don't have to worry about your Yorkie pushing it open if you forget to latch it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
you need at least one free hand to operate the latch. it's a button you push in and heavy enough so it would be difficult for a dog to escape
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nocal is loaded.
Additional information about Nocal could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Latch is only on top and would require one hand to operate if you have it fully closed. I have a yorke and a jack russell and they have never pushed it. I have two of these gates. Love them.
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Pennsylvania, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PAdogowner is loaded.
Additional information about PAdogowner could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
10 answers

How strong is the mesh?

2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Covington, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DawnRAT is loaded.
Additional information about DawnRAT could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The mesh is made from 100% steel, so it will stand up to pets' claws and teeth.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EDFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about EDFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Not like a screen door. It's stiff metal.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Very strong. It is hard metal mesh (similar to fireplace screen/skirt). It would be difficult for a dog to dig through it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is comparable to a good fireplace screen.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It's metal so it is pretty strong. My 8 week golden pup tried scratching at it and didn't damage it at all.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is pretty thick and sturdy although I imagine any dog that was really determined to scratch its way through might bend it and ruin the finish.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is just like a fireplace screen. It is very sturdy. This gate is put together very well. The screen is attached to the metal edges so it does not push in easily like some fireplace screens do.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I was worried about the mesh when I ordered it, but I can tell you that I'm very pleased. Even the dogs leaning on it doesn't seem to affect it at all. Love this gate.
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LTP2 is loaded.
Additional information about LTP2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
9 answers

can the gate go on the other side (right)

2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Unfortunately, the gate for this item is built into the right front panel and is not able to be placed on the other side. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It can't be moved, but you can flip the gate around to have it on the other side. Just be aware that the balance may be off, so it could topple over if pushed on with enough force.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
TX
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chuckso is loaded.
Additional information about Chuckso could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate is built on the right side of the gate and does not allow reversal of that situation.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Illinois, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DiandeB is loaded.
Additional information about DiandeB could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
mine actually came as the mirror image, but it is not reversible
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lakeliving is loaded.
Additional information about lakeliving could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate cannot go on the other side. The holes to connect the pieces of the gate make it so that you cannot change the side of the gate. The only way you can get the door on the right is to face the gate the opposite way that's in the picture.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about labfan213 is loaded.
Additional information about labfan213 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The only way I found to make the gate open the other way is to flip the front panel around, which obscures the decorative scrollwork a little bit.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about annap is loaded.
Additional information about annap could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Actually it IS on the right - or at least the one we received is. We wanted it on the left, as pictured in the catalog but it's on the rigtht.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, my husband successfully installed the door backwards by mistake. It puts the fancy details on the other side of the screen, but still looks nice.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tmag is loaded.
Additional information about tmag could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
I have not used it at the top of stairs, but you will notice that it is very stable and would be difficult to push over. Of course, if your dog is heave or very large, they may be able to knock it over, but I've had a doberman all over mine and it never fell over.
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes. We use it on a tile entry way to keep dogs out of stairs leading to basement.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LisaJP is loaded.
Additional information about LisaJP could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would have to see your stairwell or at least know the dimensions but for the most part, this gate is just what it says it is "free standing" and it's quite sturdy. We have giant and large breed dogs (weigh 158, 110 and 85 lbs, respectively). Since the two larger dogs often "challenge" gates or simply barrel through them, we decided to turn this gate inward between our dining and living room. The gate opens "in" so they are unable to push on it - works like a charm. You'd have to be sure the gate expands past the opening at the top of your stairs but the opening between the two rooms in our house is 70" or almost 6 feet. the gate has a magnetic closure so it swings shut automatically if you let it go and latches. Hope this helps. (The gate is lovely and quite well made). Denise in Land O' Lakes
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nesie is loaded.
Additional information about Nesie could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
If using it for a pet it should be fine, it is free standing and very sturdy. Not sure I would use it for a child.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Kimrose is loaded.
Additional information about Kimrose could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is pretty sturdy, and it has the stand to balance it, but I don't know if someone can tip it down the stairs.
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chantel is loaded.
Additional information about chantel could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would NOT use at the top of stairs! It may fall! Not a suction or screw in type and could tip over.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about khtustinca is loaded.
Additional information about khtustinca could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Surprise, AZ
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about AZCoach is loaded.
Additional information about AZCoach could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The description states that the opening is 55" wide, so I am concerned about whether or not it could adjust smaller.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Argyle, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ttbrown6 is loaded.
Additional information about ttbrown6 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, the smallest size this gate can be adjusted to is 55". We do offer our 22"H Free-standing Mesh Pet Gate Barrier (item 42958) in two different size options, one of which adjusts between 40" - 70". We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The doorway where we placed the gate is less than 55 inches. We just put the side panels up against the wall on each side. The results were similar to one of the pictures on Frontgate. It shows the gate panels extended out from the doorway. It works and looks great.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Delaware, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Schatji is loaded.
Additional information about Schatji could not be loaded.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Answer: 
If there is wall on either or both sides of your opening, you can simply put it overlapping the doorway and the sides will come in to your wall. Otherwise, the shortest it assembles is 54 1/2"
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The smallest we were able to adjust it was for 51".
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. Just set it on one side of the door opening. It will be extend slightly over each side of the doorway, but will be side pieces will be flush against the wall. Look at the photo and just imagine the gate extended 3" wider on each side.
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It will not be able to fit an opening 48" wide. I tested mine to see if I could make it fit, and it would not.
1 year, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0