Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Pet ProductsHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 943.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality gate This is a quality gate. Attractive and it works so well. Easy set up. Love it…love it…love it….
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expectations exceeded! We just received this gate. It was easy to assemble requiring only the one tool included. I had it up and in place in minutes. I am very impressed with the quality look, and construction. I did not realize that the gate has the spring loaded closing feature. I love that and the way it latches itself. The color is very tasteful.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great item if the size works for you My wife had been wanting some kind of divider to close off her spanky living room from the cats, one of which loved the soft cushions so much she'd still sleep on them even wrapped in plastic trash bags. The bags sure did not make the spanky room look so spanky anymore. We often toss the Frontgate catalogs because their prices tend to be high—but not so with this item. Even with shipping this was a great value because it solved a problem we'd been having for a couple years (since moving into our new home.) The gate works great, is very well constructed, stout and stable. The coloring works in our home... overall a great product at a reasonable price.
Date published: 2015-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase for new home Just moved to a new home and needed a dog gate that would match the decor and not look like the typical dog gate. Very happy with the purchase and qualityof the item
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and pretty! This is a beautiful way to keep your pets out of places you do not want them to go. Much prettier than a baby gate!
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Gate! Useful to keep large cats out. I am using the gate to keep out one "large" cat from mingling with the others. Interestingly enough, since at the sides of the gate there is some space, the "thinner" cats can easily slide in through the sides, whereas the larger cat cannot - perfect for what we needed. The gate is sturdy, beautiful to look at and opens only one way. It is self closing (so helpful!). No matter that the door may "slam", it doesn't jar the gate off the door. None of my animals push against it but I can't imagine that a medium sized dog can push it out of place. Maybe a large dog with effort can?? Anyway, it's a great gate for a good price.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quality gate I replaced a competitor's gate with this one for it's more appealing design. Other than purchasing a custom piece, this gate fits nicely within the decor of our living space.
Date published: 2015-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indoor gate is fabulous! I ordered this gate after seeing great reviews and needing a gate that can contain a Lab in a room with a wide entryway. I've struggled to find a gate that doesn't completely damage walls, doesn't quite fit the door opening, and doesn't fit non-square doorways and stairways. THIS GATE IS FANTASTIC! It's really stable in it's free-standing mode, is heavy and sturdy but not too heavy for me to move to block different rooms to keep my dog in different spaces based on our needs. It's a bit more expensive but ABSOLUTELY worth it. And it looks great.
Date published: 2015-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate! After renovating my master bedroom (including new wood floors and bedding) I wanted a way to keep my two Cavalier Spaniels in my master bath at night but did not want to close the door (they won't make a fuss as long as they can see me in bed!). This gate is perfect! It is sturdy and heavy enough to keep them out of the bedroom. It's not too heavy though - I can easily move it in the morning when I want to let them out. And it looks nice, too. I couldn't be more pleased with this gate.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant gate for your pet We have had so many people comment on this gate regarding its appearance. It is elegant for what it is used for. The only thing I would say we've run into is sometimes our guests in our home would go through the gate and trip over the bar at the bottom of the gate opening. We have dark slate floors so it blends into the floor if you're not watching where you are stepping. Other than that, we have gotten used to telling people to watch their step. Other than that, it is beautiful and very functional. No regrets!
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install Easy to install. Looks terrific.
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made We were looking for a classy gate for our home and this caught our eye. It is beautifully made with quality and style. Highly recommend this!
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great decision I searched and searched for a pet gate to keep our five cats out of the upstairs loft. Our home is open design with a sweeping staircase, so I wanted something tall enough to keep the more athletic of the cats from jumping over and the less athletic of the troupe from simply climbing over AND I wanted something attractive as well. This freestanding steel mesh gate does the job - beautifully - and there was no need to permanently install anything into the walls. A win/win all around!
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate The gate has worked out perfect. Family very impressed but dogs not so happy. They are off my screen door and no longer jump as we go outside. Gate is easy to assemble, door opens eay. Only CON I have is that I cant change the position of the swinging door to the opposite end.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice ... Looks Great This gate is very sturdy. I like the swing gate on it to have easy access into the room that is blocking my two golden retriever puppies from getting in. It looks expensive and doesn't cheapen the look of our home. So, I am happy to have ordered it and was so happy to have gotten the free shipping code. Front Gate has first class interior decor and exterior decor. Love the catalogs. Will order from you again. Thank You!!
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnificent Quality and remarkable beauty beyond what picture is able to display. Distressing around both edges of frame was gorgeous and genius. Thank you!
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a fabulous gate This is a high quality gate that looks great. Excellent finish. Easy to put together. I usually do not write reviews, but this looks so great in my house I wanted to tell others. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2015-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Pet Gate My only regret with this purchase is that I did not find it sooner. It's stylish, but most importantly completely functional. My dog is an Italian Greyhound/Chihuahua mix and he could easily scale all other pet gates I tried before. Not this one! It's great because he can stay on "his side of the fence" but still feel like he can see into the real world on the other side. The little doggie door within the gate is a great feature for those times when he's able to come and go at will. There's no way he can scale this - and his a very prolific jumper. I would highly recommend this gate to anyone - it's very, very, very sturdy - and attractive!
Date published: 2015-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST MADE PET GATE EVER I purchased this pet gate because of the height and the durable steel construction of the entire gate. I have a small dog that can jump over most indoor gates and this one has been a life saver. Only non positive feature that I could list is that it should be available in a shorter width. My husband works with metal and was able to cut it down to the width that I needed. It looks great, like it was delivered that way. There is not a better pet gate available for purchase anywhere.
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant and Functional I purchased this Pet Gate for my front door. It fits and functions perfectly while being quite lovely aesthetically. I am very, very pleased with this product!
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate We purchased the large and small 22" gates. We have 3 labs. The dogs love the gates because they can see in the room. We love the gates because it keeps the dogs off of the new carpet. These gates are sooooo durable. They look so much nicer than the cheap baby gate we were using. I really like that they are low enough for me to step over. Great product. Love it.
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful This gate is so sturdy that even when my dog jumps on the gate he doesn't even shake it. It is very easy to put together. People who come in my house and see the gate don't quite understand what it is doing in my living room. (They think it's suppose to go in front of my fireplace. Which is a great idea if you need to keep babies or puppies away from the fireplace). I love this gate and like looking at it. I came back to the site to purchase another one to replace a baby gate. The free standing feature can't be beat by any other gate. The money for this gate is worth every cent!
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than a gate! Beautiful decor! If u need something to keep the hounds at bay, but care about how your home looks. This is it. Gate swings shut, but we tie it back when not in use. We use it primarily when guests arrive. Excited dogs can jump on the guests and we can't have that! Stands up beautifully. Goes together in minutes and looks great. Thank you Frontgate!
Date published: 2015-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made and looks great The gate comes packaged very well and it is very easy to put together and then install. It will go in any home and look good.
Date published: 2015-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever Does the job it is intended to do and looks fabulous. Highly recommend. Super easy to install as well. Receive compliments on it all the time.
Date published: 2015-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this!! I purchased this gate on the recommendation of a friend. It is wonderful! It's beautiful to look at and definitely works in keeping the dogs where I want them! Excellent quality and looks a lot more expensive than it was!
Date published: 2015-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product
Date published: 2015-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from free standing steel mesh gate We love this gate. We have now 2. I have one at the front entrance door as well as the door opening onto balcony at the back of home. Gates are sturdy, elegant and easy to assemble and disassemble Highly recommend
Date published: 2015-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate We bought two of these gates to use on our deck to keep our dog from running off the deck while we are outside. She only runs off the deck if a cat tempts her and she does not obey our calls to come back if that happens. We also need a convenient way for people to exit the deck, thus making conventional barriers impractical. This gate seems to fit the bill and it is attractive as well. We realize it has not been promoted as an outside product, so we will have to see how it holds up, but I would not hesitate to recommend it for anyone using it indoors.
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous pet gate Just received the pet gate and put it together in minutes. It is very sturdy and really nice looking. It will be perfect to keep my little Maltese out of the living and dining room when she is home alone. I got the larger size as my hallway was a couple of inches wider so this is perfect. I will probably get another one for my vacation home after I test this out for a couple of weeks. Thank you Frontgate!
Date published: 2015-06-11
  • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_47, tr_896
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
Asked by: Cricketsmomma
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Answered by: PAdogowner
Date published: 2014-06-26

How strong is the mesh?

Asked by: DawnRAT
The mesh is very strong
Answered by: LTP2
Date published: 2013-10-21

can the gate go on the other side (right)

Asked by: Anonymous
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Answered by: GreensboroNC
Date published: 2013-10-21

I want to use this gate at the top of the stairs, has anyone used at top of stairs without wall for it to lean against?

Asked by: tmag
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Answered by: AZCoach
Date published: 2013-10-21

Will my energetic strong yorkie be able to push it aside to wiggle out the side?

Also, I see comments about it being heavy...I will be pushing it aside or sliding it smaller... when he is allowed into the other rooms. Is that easy to do on a daily basis? Love the look!
Asked by: Bailey2
In general, he should not be able to push it. It's pretty sturdy and heavy. However, if the gate doesn't fit the opening properly, and leaves inches open, or if you haven't used the screws to hold the end pieces securely in place, he could maybe wiggle those and snake through. You can't slide them smaller. The gate is screwed together into the configuration you need for your opening. The pieces don't 'slide'. You'd just have to lift the unit and move it aside. I size my gates so that the side pieces are inside the opening, not in front of the opening (as in the picture)... then my dog can't push or work it open.
Answered by: JAKnarr
Date published: 2014-09-06
  • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_118
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]