Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
100 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1000.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Well made and very sturdy. Received many compliments on it as to how decorative & rich looking it is. It adds to the room.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality Pet Gate The Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier is beautiful and excellent quality. I purchased two since the room has two different entrances. It is easy to pick up and move even though a substantial quality steel. I am very happy and impressed with my purchase.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Notch Pet Gate This product truly is top notch. All steel construction. Easy to assemble. Looks like custom-made. Fits almost any decor.
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best I've had numerous dog containment products over the years and this is the most attractive, durable yet. I also enjoy the self closing feature on the gate. There is the challenge of putting it together and adjusting the width but it was not too difficult for me.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This was exactly what I needed. Love this gate. Great quality (as is everything with Frontgate). Love the height and product is solid. Liked it so much ordered a second one for another hallway. Well worth the price.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect pet gate! I had been searching for months for a wide pet gate to separate my family room from the adjacent living room and front door. I finally decided on this free standing mesh pet gate, after seeing the reviews and loving the look. It really exceeded my expectations, which were already high. The steel is very high quality, and it was so easy to put together with just a few elbow rods and six screws! Probably took me 5 minutes, max. The design on the gate is quite lovely, and it has got to be the nicest pet gate, ever. I am very comfortable keeping this gate out in view at all times. The gate swings smoothly, and I am really impressed with the sturdiness of the entire design. I am very happy with this purchase. Thank you, Frontgate!
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate Love this item. Well-made anod durable.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for 2 Golden Retrievers This is the second Steel mesh pet gate we have purchased to keep our 2 80+ dogs contained inside our house. We are very happy with both purchases.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Decorative pet gate Perfect gate for all of our pets. I wish it came in narrower sizes. I had to angle it on a wall with the door frame to fit a narrow doorway. The measurements didn't work out as planned, but I found a solution that fit our needs.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Awesome! This gate couldn't have worked any better! It looks even better than the pictures! My doorway is actually 32 inches and it fit perfectly with minor tweaks. I did not add the rubber "stoppers" to one side and it holds securely in place. My pet (Zoey, a Newfoundland dog) just had knee surgery and I needed to confine her to a small area. The gate is the perfect height and the smaller door would work well for smaller pets too! It is functional and actually looks great as well. I am extremely happy with this purchase!
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for 2 Golden Retrievers We have been using a white plastic "baby" gate to keep our 85 pound dogs out of our dining room. This looks so much better in the entrance from our kitchen into our dining room. The door makes an easy entrance and exit between the rooms. Installation was super easy. We plan to order the similar gate for a wider doorway for the other entrance into our kitchen from our great room. We have only had it for a couple of weeks, so I can't comment on durability yet.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gate! This gate is amazing. It is beautiful, sturdy, and not expensive at all. I purchased other gates in the past somewhere else at about the same price, but their quality does not compare to the quality of this one.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 34 inch mesh gate for dogs Best gate ever. Perfect for large openings and beautiful. Works great for both our dogs.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puppies saved from the precipice As our Boston Terrier got dementia, bad eyesight and other mobility problems, she lost the ability to go down stairs. The 22"H Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier saved her from the perils of our open layout condo and its staircases, protecting her from the risks of falling and the inevitable seizures that followed. We were happy to find a preventative that was also not a plastic baby gate. Thanks Frontgate!
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Gate I've purchased two of these gates and love their appearance, durability and stability. The door latch is easy to use and the expandability of the gate is very useful. It's very sturdy. It's not something you'd expect to be complemented on, but we've had several visitors admire it. I recommend this gate highly over the other 34" gate that has rails rather than mesh.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally found the perfect pet gates I recently bought 3 of these gates and installed them yesterday. They are and look great!! Easy to assemble, sturdy, beautiful. My three dogs aren't too happy about it, especially the German Shepard, so are my Chow and pit mix. These gates are the highest out there! My regret is not discovering these gates before!! No cons!!!
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Gate! This gate is beautiful and works well. It is easy to open the gate, and heavy enough that our goldendoodle cannot nose around it or knock it over. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase ever This item is awesome
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous gate I already owned two other gates from Frontgate, so it was no surprise when this gate came and it was exactly as described. It is a good looking, sturdy gate, which mounts easily (though instructions were not good) and opens and closes easily. At first I thought that the height was unnecessarily tall, but the height is nice in that it makes it easy for adults to walk through without having to bend over to work a latch. When extended to fit a 36" doorway there are 3" spaces on either side of the uprights---which is definitely enough to let a puppy through. If the gate is in an even wider doorway, those will be wider as well, which is a point to consider. This can be seen in the catalog picture, so it should not be unexpected. In our case we were able to place pieces of wood in this space temporarily to narrow the spaces until the puppy grows. This completes my puppy-proofing, but if I did need another gate I would choose this product again. It's a great gate at a good price.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best BY FAR! I have been purchasing pet gates for close to 20 years and this is the best one I have ever seen /purchased! I dare say I will NEVER need to replace this one. Suck it up and pay the price, it will be less expensive in the long run because I seriously think it's going to last forever!
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect addition We needed something a bit more permanent than using the old fashioned mesh gates. This is a beautiful piece, it was an easy install. Our small dog can get through the smaller door. It fits in perfectly with our home decor. It was a very good buy. Thank you.
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST PET GATE EVER! This is the best pet gate that you can ever buy. It is very easy to put together. Small dogs (I'm not sure about big dogs) cannot knock it over nor jump over it. The door works great. I absolutely love this gate so much that I have bought two. The only thing wrong with this gate is that it is considered a signature item. So if you have a coupon for a discount even if it says on all items, IT WILL NOT WORK ON THIS GATE NOR ANY OF THEIR SIGNATURE ITEMS! I CONSIDER THIS TO BE UNFAIR AND UNJUST TO THE CUSTOMER.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good purchase This product is exactly what I was looking for. Good quality and beauty.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Beautiful I have an older home with some odd sized doorways and openings. Tired of trying to get cheap pressure point baby gates to fit the openings, I decided to get two of these when I saw they were on sale. Wow, are they gorgeous! They look almost like fireplace screens and everyone who has seen them has commented on how beautiful they look. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.
Date published: 2016-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase Beautiful and well-crafted dog gate. It is sturdy, functional, and attractive. Am buying another for a different room. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality These pet gates cannot be found anywhere else, for the quality and durability. I have had some of mine for years and they are still in excellent condition. They keep the dogs in without having them inside a crate which I will never do. I know they are expensive but worth every penny.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful dog gates We now have 4 of these controlling access of our three english bulldogs. Tall and sturdy enough to keep them in or out of areas but low enough that we can step over them easily. They look great and we are completely satisfied.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet gate This gate is absolutely perfect. I've had several different gates and this one tops them all.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Moraga Mike Steel free standing gates are well made and look great. So much style, strong as well and easy to move when we don't need them. Storage is also not bad fit great in our laundry room.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pretty and functional Perfect for keeping my new puppy in an emclosed area.
Date published: 2016-06-11
  • y_2017, m_8, d_21, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_50, tr_950
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
Asked by: Cricketsmomma
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Answered by: PAdogowner
Date published: 2014-06-26

How strong is the mesh?

Asked by: DawnRAT
The mesh is very strong
Answered by: LTP2
Date published: 2013-10-21

can the gate go on the other side (right)

Asked by: Anonymous
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Answered by: GreensboroNC
Date published: 2013-10-21

I want to use this gate at the top of the stairs, has anyone used at top of stairs without wall for it to lean against?

Asked by: tmag
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Answered by: AZCoach
Date published: 2013-10-21

Will my energetic strong yorkie be able to push it aside to wiggle out the side?

Also, I see comments about it being heavy...I will be pushing it aside or sliding it smaller... when he is allowed into the other rooms. Is that easy to do on a daily basis? Love the look!
Asked by: Bailey2
In general, he should not be able to push it. It's pretty sturdy and heavy. However, if the gate doesn't fit the opening properly, and leaves inches open, or if you haven't used the screws to hold the end pieces securely in place, he could maybe wiggle those and snake through. You can't slide them smaller. The gate is screwed together into the configuration you need for your opening. The pieces don't 'slide'. You'd just have to lift the unit and move it aside. I size my gates so that the side pieces are inside the opening, not in front of the opening (as in the picture)... then my dog can't push or work it open.
Answered by: JAKnarr
Date published: 2014-09-06
  • y_2017, m_8, d_21, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_128
  • loc_, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]