GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
1
5
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
Pet Products
Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Frontgate
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 394 412
shoddy workmanship Overall high quality materials, but shoddy workmanship was very disappointing. We ordered two of these. One arrived with a piece of the decorative trim broken off. The other was in great shape until you tried to latch the gate. Whoever put the latch mechanism together installed a simple but key piece incorrectly rendering the latch useless. I had to remove it from the gate and pry it apart to fix it. Once fixed it worked like a charm, but I expected much more attention to detail in a product like this that wasn't exactly cheap. Neither problem was bad enough to go through the hassle of re-packing & returning the products and waiting for replacements. Don't know where or by whom these were made, but they obviously had no pride in their workmanship. November 8, 2011
Great looking and functional gate! Best looking pet gate out there!! Beautiful piece of furniture even if you don't have pets!!! September 12, 2013
Nice product! We are very pleased with the gate and it looks nice in our home. Only problem is our cat was still able,to climb over it which was the main reason we purchased It. Hopefully, with some discouragement and discipline, we can keep her out of our new renovated living room! August 26, 2013
Nice, but not useful for stairway I very much like the appearance, color, and heavy-duty quality, but we need for the door to swing the "other" way so it can be used at the bottom of a stairway. We have had to assemble it basically "wrongside out," but the bolt holes on the end wings do not match up that way and they cannot be solidly attached. The "pretty decorative side" of the gate and fence are consequently facing the wrong way, too. We will need to drill new holes, obtain and attach new hinges, and hopefully be able to move the latch (all of which I do not believe should be needed for the price). The gate needs to be redesigned so a choice can be made on which way you want it to swing when assembling it. March 1, 2013
NICEEEEE!!!! We love the way this gate looks & is made. It is tall, so it is perfect if you have a larger dog. Matches our deco perfect as we have lots of wood & rod iron thru out our home. The only issue we have is the base boards at the bottom stick out a tad further than i measured for, so in order to make it "fit" we had to remove one of the spin notches for adjusting the tightness & now it doesn't fit as snuggly on the bottom as the top & so it tends to slide slightly every time the gate is slammed. But that was my mistake, not the maker of the gate itself. Make sure you measure from your baseboards, not the mid/top section of the doorway your mounting it in to get the proper measurement & fit. Other than that - it's a great gate! September 24, 2011
Nice Style, Slightly Flawed Execution We purchased the 42"H expandable gate with door. Design is very nice when you look at from several feet away. Upon closer inspection and upon use, you see that it's not the greatest workmanship; not totally shoddy, but definitely could have been done better (assembly, paint, construction, etc.). i.e. once you've tightened the wheels enough that the gate is solid in the doorway (and cannot be pushed through by a hand), it's TOO tight to be able to open the door via the latch. So you have to loosen a wheel every time you want to open the door to let the dogs out or yourself in. Which, of course, defeats the purpose of buying a gate with a door in it... (ease of entry/exit). I give it a 3 for construction, and 5 for looks. December 18, 2011
Mesh Pet Gate I ordered two of these and the widest one is great, it fits nicely and is the size stated in the catalogue. However, the smaller one is supposed to open to a width of 41 1/2" with two screws (side by side) both top & bottom to support the gate. By using only one screw top & bottom I was only able to get the gate to a width of 40". This additional 1 1/2" is important because my hall is 46" wide. By centering the gate with a couple inches on each side I thought that would be good enough to keep my dog on one side. Right now I'm not sure it's going to work too well, but I'm willing to give it a test for a week or two before I decide if I will return the smaller one. I do really like the looks of the gates. Thank you. October 29, 2011
Really terrific dog gate! This free standing dog gate is a godsend!!! It is both durable & beautiful. I saw other reviewers complain about the finish. Either they got a bad product or they don't understand that it is bronze with a "worn finish" - in which some edges are scraped (displaying a touch of brass) for a certain designer look. This freestanding gate is very durable -- my dogs jump up & pounce on it & it does not fall over. We put it across our wide hallway. My husband drilled holes in order to customize the width & it fits well. It is really lovely & the mesh is that of a fireplace screen, so it stands up to my little (14 & 16 pound) dogs. They even scratch at the mesh & nothing is damaged at all. I definitely recommend it! November 8, 2011
Great gate! Looks so much nicer than traditional pet gates. Got the 42"high gate to keep the cats out of the bedroom at night. So far they haven't figured out how to jump over it! I am worried my littlest cat will squeeze through the bars (there's no mesh there). Gave the product 4 stars because of that, and because I also would like to be able to have the option to open the gate door from either side (be able to switch the door either way depending on how the room is laid out). As it is, we have the "pretty side" facing into the bedroom because of the way the gate door opens, just would've liked for it to be facing into the living room instead. Other than that, very easy to use and so much prettier!! Thank you Frontgate! October 20, 2011
Great design The heavy gauge construction of this gate was such an improvement over the wooden gate we had before. We use this gate to separate two 6 lb Pappillons from our 80 lb Lab at night time. This gate is heavy enough that it dissuades the Lab from easily pushing it aside and accessing areas we don't want her in. It is beautifully constructed and assembles in 5 minutes. It arrived perfectly packaged without the slightest scratch or blemish. The door only opens one way, but that was not a real problem for us. Overall we are very impressed!! May 22, 2013
Great Product! This gate works perfectly. We have an 85 Lb dog and a 35 Lb dog and the gate works well for both of them. It is very stable and was easy to install ( free standing). August 9, 2013
Great dog gate! I work with a dog rescue so I'm always looking for products that will make my life easier. This gate is wonderful and exceeding my expectations. The quality is better than anything I've ever seen. It's appropriately heavy too so it's not easy for the dogs to move. And - it's pretty! Thanks Frontgate for offering such a great product. July 13, 2013
Pet Gate The box which the gate came in was in poor condition and I was afraid that the gate would be damaged. Fortunately, there was no damage to the gate! It turns out that the gate is better looking than I expected, expecially the mesh portion, which I didn't expect it to be metal. Only problem we had was the latch wasn't working after a couple of use, but my husband managed to fix it. Hopefully the gate is durable enough to last a couple of years. Also, since it is made out of metal, there's a tendancy for the gate to scratch hardwood floors, which it didn't expect! I temporarily solved it by placing felt on the bottom and side panel, which is a bit of a nuisance. November 7, 2012
Nice and stylish pet gate With the exception of there not being any instructions in the package and needing to print a picture from this site in order to see how to put it together (and still, it only took about 10 minutes to put together), this is the best pet gate I've owned. It actually reminds me of a fireplace cover with its intricate designs and its ability to add beauty to a room. It's incredibly sturdy and stable; I don't worry about having dogs or cats around it. It's easy to open the latch with a little lever at the top of the door. The door will not stay open without holding it, which works well for me because I wouldn't want it to anyway. I look forward to many years with this quality gate! June 26, 2012
Expanding Dod Gate nice gate, works well, nice appearance, very reasonable price for how big it is. August 9, 2013
Excellent Pet Gate Love this pet gate. It works very well in keeping two of my dogs separated. One dog is very old and does not want to be bothered any more by the other animals in the house, yet he still needs to feel that he is taking part in the daily activities going on in the house. This gate allows him to see what is going on and doesn't let the other dogs bother him in his space. The construction of the gate is pretty good except that two internal nuts in the side panel were missing so two of the screws could not be used to stablize one of the side panels. I am still able to use the gate, however, this might present a problem if I use the gate in another location different from the present one. January 13, 2012
Awesome gate Love this gate. It is classy, very sturdy, made well and easy to put together. August 9, 2013
Most gorgeous pet gate ever! This puts all other pet gates to shame, and I've had them all. This is a lovely piece of furniture like a well-designed fireplace grate. Love the self-closing feature too. Easy to assemble. Very luxurious. July 26, 2013
Beautiful We looked at many gates before deciding on ordering this one. It is beautiful and very easy to operate. My husband had devised a box in front of our stairs and a cooling rack tied to our stairs to keep our pets downstairs...pretty tacky... AND we had family coming for Christmas to see our beautiful new home! The service was AMAZING...we ordered on a Sunday night and it was delivered on Tuesday. We didn't request express shipping...just whatever the standard shipping option was. I would definitely recommend this piece of furniture if you need a way to keep your pets contained and want something that doesn't look tacky in your home! December 31, 2012
sturdy and nice looking Very functional, I especially appreciate the screws that keep the side wings from folding and collapsing. I have one dog that finds no obstacle too high to jump, and can jump this, but because it is so sturdy, it stays upright with no harm done! July 13, 2013
Nice gates I bought two of these gates and they look great. My only complaint is that they are not as sturdy as I'd like. My mini pincher can tip the gate but fortunately not knock it over. July 20, 2013
Perfect We have two large pit bulls and purchased this gate to replace a tension gate that continually came loose & ruined our walls despite the tension mechanisms. It is not only decorative and beautiful, but solid & sturdy. I agree with another reviewer, it would be nice if the door stayed open so the dogs could venture in/out of the room but we prop it open with objects when needed. It was so nice & easy to move the gate from the room when we had recent visitors & no hassle to place it back. Not easy to do with those tension gates. It does make a loud noise if you allow the door to swing shut but you just have to learn to close it slowly. We love the look, it serves it's purpose and the quality is an added bonus. It's very decorative was easy to put together. I love that it is free standing & SOLID! Our dogs have not tried to push through it and it easily adjusts to various openings so it can be moved and used throughout the house. It's so nice to do away with those old white baby gates! This gate is classy, blends in like a piece of furniture & we are ordering a smaller one for another area. Love it! The height bothers my husband but it serves it's purpose especially with a 55 lb and 85 lb dog who could possibly jump over it. The gate is very functional, well made and appealing to the eye. Worth the money!!!! July 24, 2011
Excellent and stylish I have been wanting to get this gate for quite sometime, but it was a little pricey, so I put it off. I am so glad that I finally pulled the trigger, the gate has been worth every penny. The set-up was so easy and the gate works perfectly. I has afraid that because I was blocking off such a wide area, that it would not work well, but it does. Not only does it work, but it is beautiful as well. Now instead of my ugly old baby gates that we had to step over, we have this beautiful gate that we can easily walk though. The gate worked so well, that I have ordered 2 additional gates. February 15, 2013
34"H Expandable Freestanding Steel Mesh Pet Gate Excellent quality! Looks very beautiful! Would highly recommend. We have two Great Danes (much taller than the gate) and we have no problems! Thanks for an elegant gate that does its job. July 15, 2013
Quality at a very affordable price! When this gate arrived, it far exceeded my expectations! For the price I was not expecting it to be as heavy and well-made ... and it does not look bad in my home at all. I also like the fact that my dogs can see through it and it is heavy enough they cannot knock it down. Also love the details -- cushioned so it does not mar my moldings or door frame. Thank you Frontgate! You never disappoint! June 3, 2013
Functional & Gorgeous! We recently bought a new house and the old baby gates that we put up to keep the dogs (1 boston terrier and 1 pug) from going into unwanted areas were really becoming an eye sore. The gates were wooden and the dogs had chewed on them from when they were younger and they were really ugly. We could not be happier with the frontgate Mesh pet gates. We bought this larger one and a smaller one. We get tons of compliments on how nice they are and it keeps the dogs out. My husdband even drilled an extra notch in the gate to make the opening smalller for the area we put it in. Really easy to assemble! Its worth the cost, we are really happy with the purchase. December 30, 2011
Great dog gate This looks beautiful, but even better, functions very well. I have 4 dogs, ranging in size from 6-60 pounds. This works great for all of them. July 16, 2013
I really like it! From the condition the box arrived in I genuinely thought it had been damaged in transit but as I unpacked it I found it to be in good condition. It was easy to assemble with only a few parts to put together however like other reviewers I found there were some issues with the construction. The latch for the gate was twisted around and wouldn't catch and one of the side panels didn't line up quite right. Both were remedied by the use of a hammer & screwdriver. I am not even a little bit handy but I was able to identify and resolve the issues. These were clearly flaws in the manufacturing were not the result of it being damaged during shipping. December 16, 2011
Does the job, beautifully I bought this gate to keep to keep my Bernese Mt. Dog from wandering the house when we're gone. He has always been very trustworthy & dependable in the house, but as he is older and now suffering from DM, he hasn't got the control he used to. This gate keeps him contained in a safe (tiled) room in case he has an accident, but still allows him to see freely beyond it and therefore he doesn't stress out. In fact...since we put up the gate, he actually hasn't had many issues, I suppose because he is not wandering around or getting excited seeing 'exciting' things outside. He just seems content to lay on his bed in 'his room' until we return. He is a big dog, and could certainly move it if he was so inclined, but he is so docile and would not do that unless there was a reason...for example, a fire or an intruder. Therefore this gate works perfectly for us, but also looks beautiful, so I feel no need to move it when we have company. The door makes access simple and works great. As others have mentioned, it could be permanently attached if need be, but for our situation, it is fine as a stand alone. It arrived in perfect shape and is a breeze to 'assemble'...is a matter of inserting a few screws to set the width and popping in a few pins to hold the panels together. I felt the price was fair, the quality was great and the shipping was super fast. What else can you ask for?? November 12, 2012
Great looking Pet Gate Finally, a great looking pet gate that doesn't require installation, holes in walls, etc. Was able to put this together with the help of my teenage son with mild frustration. It is a bit weighty and bulky to work with during assembly which caused much of the frustration. This gate is located by a rarely used room, so the need to use the door is not a frequent one. The gate looks great, stands on its own and looks like a deliberate part of the decor rather than an eyesore. Love it! April 9, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>
(23 Questions : 84 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
11 answers

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cricketsmomma is loaded.
Additional information about Cricketsmomma could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
You probably do need one hand to open the gate. It is a sliding mechanism at the top only (no bottom latch). Once it is open, you can push through it with hands full and it swings back by itself to shut.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We have found the latch quite easy to work, and I have had my hands full a time or two. There is only a top latch, but it has proved to be all that is needed. We secured the gate with screws, so I cannot accurately answer your question of scooting. I can tell you the gate is quite heavy.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GracieS is loaded.
Additional information about GracieS could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate does require a free hand to operate. It has a good weight to it so two hands are better. The lock is only on the top of the gate. I have two welsh corgis and they are not able to move it. Again, it has good weight to it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it is easy. I have an 8 week Golden and can carry him in one hand and pull the latch open with the other. The latch is only at the top and you don't need to stoop down or anything to undo it. The door swings back on it's own as well and latches. At this point we feel it is pretty sturdy because of the horizontal legs on on both sides and we haven't even connected all the pieces yet.
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, it is easy to operate. It has one sliding lock on the top where you can reach down without bending (and I am 6'5"). The gate is heavy and hard to move, but the sides are angled and can be moved by the dog so he can wedge himself through if you don't anchor the sides firmly against the wall. But it is plenty heavy enough for Yorkies. We have 2.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about RaleighJacket is loaded.
Additional information about RaleighJacket could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate is nice and heavy and our dog hasn't been able to move it, though to be fair, she hasn't tried very hard. It latches only at the top and requires just a finger to slide the bolt out. If you're coming from the other direction, however, you have to reach over the gate. When we come down the stairs, it's a little awkward to bend over and reach the latch. It closes easily behind you.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate latches at the top only. It is very easy to open even with stuff in your hands. It is a slide type latch. This is a heavy metal gate so your Yorkie will not be able to push it open at the bottom. I have a Yorkie also. He is a jumper and climber. He can not jump over this gate or climb it. This gate is heavy so your dog will not be able to push it out of the way. It also has rubber on the bottom so it does not slide on hard wood floors easily. Also the door closes automaticlly and latches so you don't have to worry about your Yorkie pushing it open if you forget to latch it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
you need at least one free hand to operate the latch. it's a button you push in and heavy enough so it would be difficult for a dog to escape
1 year, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nocal is loaded.
Additional information about Nocal could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Latch is only on top and would require one hand to operate if you have it fully closed. I have a yorke and a jack russell and they have never pushed it. I have two of these gates. Love them.
1 year, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Pennsylvania, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PAdogowner is loaded.
Additional information about PAdogowner could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is only a latch up top and unless you push the latch or slam it - it stays slightly open. We prefer that as we have our gate to block up staircase and since we go up and down it a lot - it helps that it doesn't latch unless we want it too. Our dog can't get through it when it's not latched - as it stays closed well enough but this way you can just use your leg to open it while you may have items in your hands.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Has staff answer
 
10 answers

How strong is the mesh?

1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Covington, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DawnRAT is loaded.
Additional information about DawnRAT could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The mesh is made from 100% steel, so it will stand up to pets' claws and teeth.
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EDFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about EDFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Not like a screen door. It's stiff metal.
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Very strong. It is hard metal mesh (similar to fireplace screen/skirt). It would be difficult for a dog to dig through it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is comparable to a good fireplace screen.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It's metal so it is pretty strong. My 8 week golden pup tried scratching at it and didn't damage it at all.
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is pretty thick and sturdy although I imagine any dog that was really determined to scratch its way through might bend it and ruin the finish.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is just like a fireplace screen. It is very sturdy. This gate is put together very well. The screen is attached to the metal edges so it does not push in easily like some fireplace screens do.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I was worried about the mesh when I ordered it, but I can tell you that I'm very pleased. Even the dogs leaning on it doesn't seem to affect it at all. Love this gate.
1 year, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LTP2 is loaded.
Additional information about LTP2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
9 answers

can the gate go on the other side (right)

1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Unfortunately, the gate for this item is built into the right front panel and is not able to be placed on the other side. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It can't be moved, but you can flip the gate around to have it on the other side. Just be aware that the balance may be off, so it could topple over if pushed on with enough force.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
TX
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chuckso is loaded.
Additional information about Chuckso could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate is built on the right side of the gate and does not allow reversal of that situation.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Illinois, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DiandeB is loaded.
Additional information about DiandeB could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
mine actually came as the mirror image, but it is not reversible
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lakeliving is loaded.
Additional information about lakeliving could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate cannot go on the other side. The holes to connect the pieces of the gate make it so that you cannot change the side of the gate. The only way you can get the door on the right is to face the gate the opposite way that's in the picture.
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about labfan213 is loaded.
Additional information about labfan213 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The only way I found to make the gate open the other way is to flip the front panel around, which obscures the decorative scrollwork a little bit.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about annap is loaded.
Additional information about annap could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Actually it IS on the right - or at least the one we received is. We wanted it on the left, as pictured in the catalog but it's on the rigtht.
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, my husband successfully installed the door backwards by mistake. It puts the fancy details on the other side of the screen, but still looks nice.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tmag is loaded.
Additional information about tmag could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
I have not used it at the top of stairs, but you will notice that it is very stable and would be difficult to push over. Of course, if your dog is heave or very large, they may be able to knock it over, but I've had a doberman all over mine and it never fell over.
1 year, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes. We use it on a tile entry way to keep dogs out of stairs leading to basement.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LisaJP is loaded.
Additional information about LisaJP could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would have to see your stairwell or at least know the dimensions but for the most part, this gate is just what it says it is "free standing" and it's quite sturdy. We have giant and large breed dogs (weigh 158, 110 and 85 lbs, respectively). Since the two larger dogs often "challenge" gates or simply barrel through them, we decided to turn this gate inward between our dining and living room. The gate opens "in" so they are unable to push on it - works like a charm. You'd have to be sure the gate expands past the opening at the top of your stairs but the opening between the two rooms in our house is 70" or almost 6 feet. the gate has a magnetic closure so it swings shut automatically if you let it go and latches. Hope this helps. (The gate is lovely and quite well made). Denise in Land O' Lakes
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nesie is loaded.
Additional information about Nesie could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
If using it for a pet it should be fine, it is free standing and very sturdy. Not sure I would use it for a child.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Kimrose is loaded.
Additional information about Kimrose could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is pretty sturdy, and it has the stand to balance it, but I don't know if someone can tip it down the stairs.
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chantel is loaded.
Additional information about chantel could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would NOT use at the top of stairs! It may fall! Not a suction or screw in type and could tip over.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about khtustinca is loaded.
Additional information about khtustinca could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Surprise, AZ
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about AZCoach is loaded.
Additional information about AZCoach could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The description states that the opening is 55" wide, so I am concerned about whether or not it could adjust smaller.
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Argyle, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ttbrown6 is loaded.
Additional information about ttbrown6 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, the smallest size this gate can be adjusted to is 55". We do offer our 22"H Free-standing Mesh Pet Gate Barrier (item 42958) in two different size options, one of which adjusts between 40" - 70". We apologize for any inconvenience.
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The doorway where we placed the gate is less than 55 inches. We just put the side panels up against the wall on each side. The results were similar to one of the pictures on Frontgate. It shows the gate panels extended out from the doorway. It works and looks great.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Delaware, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Schatji is loaded.
Additional information about Schatji could not be loaded.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Answer: 
If there is wall on either or both sides of your opening, you can simply put it overlapping the doorway and the sides will come in to your wall. Otherwise, the shortest it assembles is 54 1/2"
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The smallest we were able to adjust it was for 51".
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. Just set it on one side of the door opening. It will be extend slightly over each side of the doorway, but will be side pieces will be flush against the wall. Look at the photo and just imagine the gate extended 3" wider on each side.
1 year, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It will not be able to fit an opening 48" wide. I tested mine to see if I could make it fit, and it would not.
1 year, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
0