GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
1
5
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Pet Products
Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Frontgate
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 413 432
Nice, but not useful for stairway I very much like the appearance, color, and heavy-duty quality, but we need for the door to swing the "other" way so it can be used at the bottom of a stairway. We have had to assemble it basically "wrongside out," but the bolt holes on the end wings do not match up that way and they cannot be solidly attached. The "pretty decorative side" of the gate and fence are consequently facing the wrong way, too. We will need to drill new holes, obtain and attach new hinges, and hopefully be able to move the latch (all of which I do not believe should be needed for the price). The gate needs to be redesigned so a choice can be made on which way you want it to swing when assembling it. March 1, 2013
Best purchase ever! Fabulous- easy to assemble - looks great- stable and easy to use! December 22, 2013
Great containment gate! Very stylish gate to contain our two 30 pound puppies! The gate is a must for inside containment! They could make the feet a bit longer, when both dogs jump up on it, afraid it will tip over, thus the con on durability. Otherwise, durable. December 5, 2013
Beautiful pet gate We ordered this pet gate after our English Mastiff started to adopt our living room couch as his bed. This is a beautiful and effective way to keep him out of that room when we are not home. I've received many compliments on the gate from people visiting our home. It's beautiful, functional and well made. November 25, 2013
expandable gates I am so thrilled with the gates… everyone compliments them. After rebuilding from sandy I wanted something that looked nice. They compliment everything beautifully. They are heavy so they can't be knocked over and look stunning. December 5, 2013
Tasteful and functional A very elegant addition to our home. Our labs find it special to walk through the open gate. It increases the privilege to be in that area of our home! December 8, 2013
great dog gate We have a beautiful stone house with all natural materials - wood, stone, metals, glass, granite, etc. and only high quality furniture painstakingly chosen. Therefore, we were very picky about what this dog gate would look like, and whether it would work well for us. I have been very happy with it. It looks high quality, looks attractive in the house, feels very solid, and does not require messing up the walls with screw-ins. It also accomplishes its intended purpose. A good buy. October 2, 2013
Excellent Pet Gate Love this pet gate. It works very well in keeping two of my dogs separated. One dog is very old and does not want to be bothered any more by the other animals in the house, yet he still needs to feel that he is taking part in the daily activities going on in the house. This gate allows him to see what is going on and doesn't let the other dogs bother him in his space. The construction of the gate is pretty good except that two internal nuts in the side panel were missing so two of the screws could not be used to stablize one of the side panels. I am still able to use the gate, however, this might present a problem if I use the gate in another location different from the present one. January 13, 2012
Beautiful! I absolutely love our new pet gate! Our house is very open and there is no way to keep our dogs out of the formal dining room! The pet gate is perfect! The adjustable width allows me to move it with ease and it works beautifully! Assembly was minimal and from the time we opened the box to full installation was less than 30 minutes! The gate is sturdy and attractive. I am delighted with this purchase! It is worth every penny! October 17, 2013
Nice and stylish pet gate With the exception of there not being any instructions in the package and needing to print a picture from this site in order to see how to put it together (and still, it only took about 10 minutes to put together), this is the best pet gate I've owned. It actually reminds me of a fireplace cover with its intricate designs and its ability to add beauty to a room. It's incredibly sturdy and stable; I don't worry about having dogs or cats around it. It's easy to open the latch with a little lever at the top of the door. The door will not stay open without holding it, which works well for me because I wouldn't want it to anyway. I look forward to many years with this quality gate! June 26, 2012
It works! I recently bought a house & changed the carpet to wood floors except 1 room with nice white carpet which was terribly stained. Got it cleaned & it looked like new so had to keep 2 dogs & 1 cat out. I hated putting up any barrier since it took away from the openness of the house. But after trying baby gates, furniture, etc a friend turned me onto your website. I saw this gate, read the reviews & decided to try it. It's not perfect but the closest to perfect I believe possible, & it does the job!! September 15, 2013
Beautiful solution to a dog problem This good-looking and easy to assemble dog gate has solved the problem of my 3 large dogs (2 labs, 1 bernese mountain dog) from "greeting" our guests at the door. It looks like it was custom made to fit the space, one of the best purchases I have made in a long time. Thanks! November 12, 2013
Pet Gate The box which the gate came in was in poor condition and I was afraid that the gate would be damaged. Fortunately, there was no damage to the gate! It turns out that the gate is better looking than I expected, expecially the mesh portion, which I didn't expect it to be metal. Only problem we had was the latch wasn't working after a couple of use, but my husband managed to fix it. Hopefully the gate is durable enough to last a couple of years. Also, since it is made out of metal, there's a tendancy for the gate to scratch hardwood floors, which it didn't expect! I temporarily solved it by placing felt on the bottom and side panel, which is a bit of a nuisance. November 7, 2012
Perfect Not only does the gate look great, but it was the perfect size and durable. December 3, 2013
Pet Gate I really liked the 34"H Mesh Pet Gate for our living room. The Color of the mesh was also great match with our furniture. Now much more easier to manage my Doberman Pinscher. I definitely recommend this adjustable gate if you have a large breed dog. November 12, 2013
Perfect We have two large pit bulls and purchased this gate to replace a tension gate that continually came loose & ruined our walls despite the tension mechanisms. It is not only decorative and beautiful, but solid & sturdy. I agree with another reviewer, it would be nice if the door stayed open so the dogs could venture in/out of the room but we prop it open with objects when needed. It was so nice & easy to move the gate from the room when we had recent visitors & no hassle to place it back. Not easy to do with those tension gates. It does make a loud noise if you allow the door to swing shut but you just have to learn to close it slowly. We love the look, it serves it's purpose and the quality is an added bonus. It's very decorative was easy to put together. I love that it is free standing & SOLID! Our dogs have not tried to push through it and it easily adjusts to various openings so it can be moved and used throughout the house. It's so nice to do away with those old white baby gates! This gate is classy, blends in like a piece of furniture & we are ordering a smaller one for another area. Love it! The height bothers my husband but it serves it's purpose especially with a 55 lb and 85 lb dog who could possibly jump over it. The gate is very functional, well made and appealing to the eye. Worth the money!!!! July 24, 2011
Gate Looks great, quality bad. overpriced for what I received. December 3, 2013
Pet Gate OUTSTANDING!!! I purchased a pet gate from you and OMG!!!! It is the best. It looks nice and works great. I have expense hard wood floors in part of my home and I wanted to keep my Westie Dog off of them because he was marking. This gate is fantastic!!! Thank you November 8, 2013
Beautiful We looked at many gates before deciding on ordering this one. It is beautiful and very easy to operate. My husband had devised a box in front of our stairs and a cooling rack tied to our stairs to keep our pets downstairs...pretty tacky... AND we had family coming for Christmas to see our beautiful new home! The service was AMAZING...we ordered on a Sunday night and it was delivered on Tuesday. We didn't request express shipping...just whatever the standard shipping option was. I would definitely recommend this piece of furniture if you need a way to keep your pets contained and want something that doesn't look tacky in your home! December 31, 2012
Functional & Gorgeous! We recently bought a new house and the old baby gates that we put up to keep the dogs (1 boston terrier and 1 pug) from going into unwanted areas were really becoming an eye sore. The gates were wooden and the dogs had chewed on them from when they were younger and they were really ugly. We could not be happier with the frontgate Mesh pet gates. We bought this larger one and a smaller one. We get tons of compliments on how nice they are and it keeps the dogs out. My husdband even drilled an extra notch in the gate to make the opening smalller for the area we put it in. Really easy to assemble! Its worth the cost, we are really happy with the purchase. December 30, 2011
Nice, sturdy gate This is a nice, attractive gate! Easy to put together, also. My only wish is that it had a smaller pet door for my cats so they could come & go as they please while keeping my larger dog out. November 8, 2013
I really like it! From the condition the box arrived in I genuinely thought it had been damaged in transit but as I unpacked it I found it to be in good condition. It was easy to assemble with only a few parts to put together however like other reviewers I found there were some issues with the construction. The latch for the gate was twisted around and wouldn't catch and one of the side panels didn't line up quite right. Both were remedied by the use of a hammer & screwdriver. I am not even a little bit handy but I was able to identify and resolve the issues. These were clearly flaws in the manufacturing were not the result of it being damaged during shipping. December 16, 2011
Dog fence The front gate dog metallic free standing fence is aesthetic and functional. It contains my Siberian husky (70 lbs) where she needs to be. At first she tried to push it away but the fence is solid and heavy enough to maintain its position. I am very pleased with my purchase. I was informed at all times of the shipment date. October 14, 2013
Beautiful and Solid Pet Gate I am pleasantly surprised at how solid and sturdy the gate is. It has a beautiful bronze finish and elegant detail. To be honest, it looks nicer than some of my furniture. The door lines up perfectly with the rest of the gate and has a spring built in the large door, so it will automatically close. The small pet door is hinged and will stay open or close to your preference. Our kitty is known to be afraid of new things but has no problem going through while keeping our Golden Retriever out. Gave 4 stars only because we have a standard door but it didn't fit. I had to take parts off and use a corner wall to mount it. Otherwise love it! November 13, 2011
Very decorative- but check width! The best looking pet gate I've ever seen. Very well built. The size in the catalog said it would fit a 32 1/2" door, which is a common interior door width, especially for an older house. Most newer houses are only 30". However, when I received the doors, the minimum size to fit was 33 1/2" (as measured and according to the manual that came with the door). I was able to "jerry" rig the doors by taking out the tension rods and screwing the doors into the casing. If I thought I could have found an attractive door as that somewhere else I would have sent them back, but they are so well made and decorative, I had to make them work. October 20, 2011
Free Standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate The gate is very nice looking and an 'update' on most 'jail -type' looking pet gates. It would be helpful & convienent is the door was reversible November 4, 2013
Functional and Beautiful The stairway to our basement is open to the family room. For years we have been using a baby gate to keep our small dogs from going into the basement Not only was that an eyesore but the gate would always fall down the stairs if not braced against the newel post correctly. Needless to say, when I saw this freestanding pet barrier in the catalog I was intrigued. The gate was easy to assemble and the is very attractive to look at. The gate is very sturdy and easily contains our 12 lb dogs. It provides a dependable barrier and the mesh front keeps the area visually 'open'. This was just what we were looking for. I love it.! October 29, 2011
Does the job, beautifully I bought this gate to keep to keep my Bernese Mt. Dog from wandering the house when we're gone. He has always been very trustworthy & dependable in the house, but as he is older and now suffering from DM, he hasn't got the control he used to. This gate keeps him contained in a safe (tiled) room in case he has an accident, but still allows him to see freely beyond it and therefore he doesn't stress out. In fact...since we put up the gate, he actually hasn't had many issues, I suppose because he is not wandering around or getting excited seeing 'exciting' things outside. He just seems content to lay on his bed in 'his room' until we return. He is a big dog, and could certainly move it if he was so inclined, but he is so docile and would not do that unless there was a reason...for example, a fire or an intruder. Therefore this gate works perfectly for us, but also looks beautiful, so I feel no need to move it when we have company. The door makes access simple and works great. As others have mentioned, it could be permanently attached if need be, but for our situation, it is fine as a stand alone. It arrived in perfect shape and is a breeze to 'assemble'...is a matter of inserting a few screws to set the width and popping in a few pins to hold the panels together. I felt the price was fair, the quality was great and the shipping was super fast. What else can you ask for?? November 12, 2012
nice size and weight - for dogs and kids Bought the one without the door and it is functional as a pet barrier and toddler gate. The 22 inch height makes it easy for adults to step over. Kids and dogs cant knock it down because the way the sides have leg extensions although it takes up more floor space and stubs the toes!. Finish is not even in paint appearance but for me you can't notice in the dim light. We set it to the widest dimension and leave it because it screws together and makes adjusting for different doors or stairs a pain. It' pretty heavy but no marks on walls or floors. No sharp edges or gaps for kids to hurt themselves or get fingers caught. December 21, 2011
Great purchase!!! Love the gate for our new puppy! Easy to put together and ready to use within minutes! November 5, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 15 next>>
(23 Questions : 84 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
 
11 answers

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cricketsmomma is loaded.
Additional information about Cricketsmomma could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
You probably do need one hand to open the gate. It is a sliding mechanism at the top only (no bottom latch). Once it is open, you can push through it with hands full and it swings back by itself to shut.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
We have found the latch quite easy to work, and I have had my hands full a time or two. There is only a top latch, but it has proved to be all that is needed. We secured the gate with screws, so I cannot accurately answer your question of scooting. I can tell you the gate is quite heavy.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GracieS is loaded.
Additional information about GracieS could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is only a latch up top and unless you push the latch or slam it - it stays slightly open. We prefer that as we have our gate to block up staircase and since we go up and down it a lot - it helps that it doesn't latch unless we want it too. Our dog can't get through it when it's not latched - as it stays closed well enough but this way you can just use your leg to open it while you may have items in your hands.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Answer: 
The gate does require a free hand to operate. It has a good weight to it so two hands are better. The lock is only on the top of the gate. I have two welsh corgis and they are not able to move it. Again, it has good weight to it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it is easy. I have an 8 week Golden and can carry him in one hand and pull the latch open with the other. The latch is only at the top and you don't need to stoop down or anything to undo it. The door swings back on it's own as well and latches. At this point we feel it is pretty sturdy because of the horizontal legs on on both sides and we haven't even connected all the pieces yet.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, it is easy to operate. It has one sliding lock on the top where you can reach down without bending (and I am 6'5"). The gate is heavy and hard to move, but the sides are angled and can be moved by the dog so he can wedge himself through if you don't anchor the sides firmly against the wall. But it is plenty heavy enough for Yorkies. We have 2.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about RaleighJacket is loaded.
Additional information about RaleighJacket could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate is nice and heavy and our dog hasn't been able to move it, though to be fair, she hasn't tried very hard. It latches only at the top and requires just a finger to slide the bolt out. If you're coming from the other direction, however, you have to reach over the gate. When we come down the stairs, it's a little awkward to bend over and reach the latch. It closes easily behind you.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate latches at the top only. It is very easy to open even with stuff in your hands. It is a slide type latch. This is a heavy metal gate so your Yorkie will not be able to push it open at the bottom. I have a Yorkie also. He is a jumper and climber. He can not jump over this gate or climb it. This gate is heavy so your dog will not be able to push it out of the way. It also has rubber on the bottom so it does not slide on hard wood floors easily. Also the door closes automaticlly and latches so you don't have to worry about your Yorkie pushing it open if you forget to latch it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
you need at least one free hand to operate the latch. it's a button you push in and heavy enough so it would be difficult for a dog to escape
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nocal is loaded.
Additional information about Nocal could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Latch is only on top and would require one hand to operate if you have it fully closed. I have a yorke and a jack russell and they have never pushed it. I have two of these gates. Love them.
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Pennsylvania, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PAdogowner is loaded.
Additional information about PAdogowner could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
10 answers

How strong is the mesh?

2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Covington, LA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DawnRAT is loaded.
Additional information about DawnRAT could not be loaded.
Closed to new answers
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The mesh is made from 100% steel, so it will stand up to pets' claws and teeth.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EDFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about EDFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Not like a screen door. It's stiff metal.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Very strong. It is hard metal mesh (similar to fireplace screen/skirt). It would be difficult for a dog to dig through it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasHomeowner5 is loaded.
Additional information about TexasHomeowner5 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreyhoundLover is loaded.
Additional information about GreyhoundLover could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is comparable to a good fireplace screen.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Horsham, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lfinoke is loaded.
Additional information about Lfinoke could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It's metal so it is pretty strong. My 8 week golden pup tried scratching at it and didn't damage it at all.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PupDog is loaded.
Additional information about PupDog could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is pretty thick and sturdy although I imagine any dog that was really determined to scratch its way through might bend it and ruin the finish.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is just like a fireplace screen. It is very sturdy. This gate is put together very well. The screen is attached to the metal edges so it does not push in easily like some fireplace screens do.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I was worried about the mesh when I ordered it, but I can tell you that I'm very pleased. Even the dogs leaning on it doesn't seem to affect it at all. Love this gate.
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The mesh is very strong
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LTP2 is loaded.
Additional information about LTP2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
9 answers

can the gate go on the other side (right)

2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Unfortunately, the gate for this item is built into the right front panel and is not able to be placed on the other side. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It can't be moved, but you can flip the gate around to have it on the other side. Just be aware that the balance may be off, so it could topple over if pushed on with enough force.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
TX
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chuckso is loaded.
Additional information about Chuckso could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate is built on the right side of the gate and does not allow reversal of that situation.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Illinois, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DiandeB is loaded.
Additional information about DiandeB could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
mine actually came as the mirror image, but it is not reversible
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lakeliving is loaded.
Additional information about lakeliving could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the gate cannot go on the other side. The holes to connect the pieces of the gate make it so that you cannot change the side of the gate. The only way you can get the door on the right is to face the gate the opposite way that's in the picture.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about labfan213 is loaded.
Additional information about labfan213 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The only way I found to make the gate open the other way is to flip the front panel around, which obscures the decorative scrollwork a little bit.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about annap is loaded.
Additional information about annap could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Actually it IS on the right - or at least the one we received is. We wanted it on the left, as pictured in the catalog but it's on the rigtht.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, my husband successfully installed the door backwards by mistake. It puts the fancy details on the other side of the screen, but still looks nice.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Greensboro, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GreensboroNC is loaded.
Additional information about GreensboroNC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tmag is loaded.
Additional information about tmag could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
I have not used it at the top of stairs, but you will notice that it is very stable and would be difficult to push over. Of course, if your dog is heave or very large, they may be able to knock it over, but I've had a doberman all over mine and it never fell over.
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes. We use it on a tile entry way to keep dogs out of stairs leading to basement.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LisaJP is loaded.
Additional information about LisaJP could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would have to see your stairwell or at least know the dimensions but for the most part, this gate is just what it says it is "free standing" and it's quite sturdy. We have giant and large breed dogs (weigh 158, 110 and 85 lbs, respectively). Since the two larger dogs often "challenge" gates or simply barrel through them, we decided to turn this gate inward between our dining and living room. The gate opens "in" so they are unable to push on it - works like a charm. You'd have to be sure the gate expands past the opening at the top of your stairs but the opening between the two rooms in our house is 70" or almost 6 feet. the gate has a magnetic closure so it swings shut automatically if you let it go and latches. Hope this helps. (The gate is lovely and quite well made). Denise in Land O' Lakes
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Land O' Lakes, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nesie is loaded.
Additional information about Nesie could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
If using it for a pet it should be fine, it is free standing and very sturdy. Not sure I would use it for a child.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Kimrose is loaded.
Additional information about Kimrose could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is pretty sturdy, and it has the stand to balance it, but I don't know if someone can tip it down the stairs.
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chantel is loaded.
Additional information about chantel could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would NOT use at the top of stairs! It may fall! Not a suction or screw in type and could tip over.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about khtustinca is loaded.
Additional information about khtustinca could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Surprise, AZ
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about AZCoach is loaded.
Additional information about AZCoach could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The description states that the opening is 55" wide, so I am concerned about whether or not it could adjust smaller.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Argyle, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ttbrown6 is loaded.
Additional information about ttbrown6 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, the smallest size this gate can be adjusted to is 55". We do offer our 22"H Free-standing Mesh Pet Gate Barrier (item 42958) in two different size options, one of which adjusts between 40" - 70". We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The doorway where we placed the gate is less than 55 inches. We just put the side panels up against the wall on each side. The results were similar to one of the pictures on Frontgate. It shows the gate panels extended out from the doorway. It works and looks great.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Delaware, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Schatji is loaded.
Additional information about Schatji could not be loaded.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Answer: 
If there is wall on either or both sides of your opening, you can simply put it overlapping the doorway and the sides will come in to your wall. Otherwise, the shortest it assembles is 54 1/2"
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Wagmore is loaded.
Additional information about Wagmore could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The smallest we were able to adjust it was for 51".
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Neen is loaded.
Additional information about Neen could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
No. Just set it on one side of the door opening. It will be extend slightly over each side of the doorway, but will be side pieces will be flush against the wall. Look at the photo and just imagine the gate extended 3" wider on each side.
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LNMART is loaded.
Additional information about LNMART could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It will not be able to fit an opening 48" wide. I tested mine to see if I could make it fit, and it would not.
1 year, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0