Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 150 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Must Have for your Dog This gate is functional and very sturdy. It is easy to open for the humans. My dog loves it too. She can set on the floor and watch us. I wish they made it for oversized areas. Well made. I would buy again. January 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heavy duty gate I purchased this product to keep the dog from entering part of the house. All the other gates he destroyed. When I received it, I found out it was better than expected. The dog has tried breaking the gate for weeks now and finally gave up. The gate is stronger than I expected. We like it alot. December 28, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much better than a baby gate! This is a nice stylish and functional gate, unfortunately it arrived damaged. Customer service was great about sending a new one. This gate matches the other free standing gates we have ordered from frontgate and they are all of excellent quality and work well. December 14, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT PURCHASE This gate is great! Looks nice and very functional. I just wish you offered one that expands up to 36" and i would buy another! very easy to put together...looks like it will last forever. December 9, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by good product I ordered the wrong size but loved the gate. saw one at a friends and thought it would be perfect for my stairs. November 3, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this Pet Barrier This is the best pet barrier I have ever purchased. Excellent quality, my little monster cannot chew through his confinement, the gate is very attractive and gives the kitchen a sort of "bistro" look rather than just a pet gate. September 7, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate!! Wonderful gate....it looks great and is super easy for my kids to use! Wish it came in a wider size... September 2, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great! Looks great! Perfectly matches my freestanding gate from Frontgate. Not hard to assemble. Very adaptable, so I expect I'll never have to buy another pet gate again! August 27, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT GATE I am very pleased with our 34" expanding pet gate. Our dogs are resticted to certain areas, but the cat can still fit thru on the side - perfect! Color and style fit well with any decor. June 1, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! If you have a big dog...this is a must!! I use it to keep my dog out of the dining room. The gate makes it really easy for us to get into the kitchen and keeps our dog out. Great buy and looks beautiful with the rest of my decor. May 12, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Pet Gate This is such a high quality and beautiful pet gate. My 9 year old daughter actually installed the gate herself without any difficulty. My only wish is that a cat door is installed at the bottom. February 24, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous Gate! This gate is just about perfect! The antique bronze finish looks beautiful in my home--much better than plastic or white metal. The installation took less than five minutes. We did not feel the need, nor did we want to, to screw the protective plates to the wall. I was a bit worried since it said on the packaging (but not on the product description on the website) that it would hold up to 40 lbs. but it can withstand my two 6 mo. old goldendoodles--no problem. Wish it would prop open. February 23, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Purchase The 34" expandible gate works perfect to manage our dogs territory. The look and quality are great..love it! January 14, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful pet gate I've had several pet gates, but this one is the classiest. The metal is so beautiful and goes so well my my home decor. It was very easy to install and assemble. We're very pleased!! January 12, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Love Love this gate! This gate is beautiful! Loved everything about it but I had to send it back because I needed a gate that would expand to 36". I tried to get Frontgate to send me another extension but that was not possible. Maybe they will consider making another piece so that it will extend to 36". If they do I will definitely buy this gate. Anyone looking for a beautifully crafted pet gate should consider taking a look at this one. January 1, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stress Free Living!! The 34"H Expanding Pet Gate combines beauty, functionality and the joy of stress-free dog feeding mornings. Our old-old 16+ years Standard Poodle requires a geriatric diet... which the young pups like to raid. With the automatic feature of the 34"H Expanding Pet Gate, the gate closes automatically without manual intervention. This is a real treasure that provides us true peace of mind (and peace for our geriatric canine). And our friends have commented on the incredible beauty of the gate as well! December 23, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Gate is Great Excellent for blocking off a room or containing pets... sturdy and stylish. The mechanics are very smooth and operation is easy. November 27, 2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice high quality pet gate I replaced a pet gate that was actually a baby gate to keep my dog on the deck instead of getting into the fenceless front yard. The baby gate was fine but it was white and the handle ended up breaking in my hands during the cold weather. The Frontgate gate is not really meant to be outdoors so it will be interesting to see how it holds up. It is a nice quality, I really like the antique iron look and it closes very solidly behind me without having to be closed each time like I had to with the previous gate. September 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good looking and sturdy This gate was not my first choice but I needed matching gates for different size openings and this was the only model that would work for us. It is sturdy, set it up in 15 - 20 minutes, lots of protecting packing material to remove. I am getting used to the "unlatching" process, not easy to do with full hands. I had a party recently and the guests remarked on it's good looks but thought the opening process was a little awkward. We have only had the gates for 2 weeks but it does appear to be durable. We also bought the low gate and I appreciate the ability to just step over it. May 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 34" Pet Gate Appearance looks great. However, in terms of durability, lanch area for both bottom and top came right off after my dog played with this. I wondered if there is a replacement part for this. May 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Security! This is a great heavy duty gate. The gate would have been given 5 stars if it had levelers or longer tension screws. When you have a house that is over 100 years old, nothing is level or perfectly sized. Thank goodness there were anchors for the wall to keep it in place. I purchased the extension gate for when we needed a wider gate in a different area. The door we have it installed in only needed the base gate unit. Unfortunately the door has an uneven frame, which required the tension screws to be a little longer than what is provided; which meant we had to use the anchors to keep the gate in place. April 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Much more convient I was hopping over the cheep wooden gates we had and this was badly needed. It does the job and looks nice. Wish it had the cat door in it as well and then it would be perfect. September 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does the job I wanted something semi-permanent to separate the living area from the bedrooms. The hallway is traveled constantly and the barrier gates were a pain to undo and redo every trip. With this gate, it is mounted firmly and the gate swing either way easily. July 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works for Need I received this gate last week and installation was simple. My only complaint is the bottom of the two slide "buttons" to catch the gate closed does not work. I think they are spring loaded - and the bottom one slides without the "spring" action. Since the top one works fine, I am keeping the gate. May 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gates are great - computer program needs improved My dog gates are great. They match my house to a "T". When I called for another one, however, the computer did not show a coupon that I had received, so they would not grant me a 15% reduction. So, I decided to purchase another gate at a local store. I am not as happy with the newly purchased gate, but will live with it. Thanks for providing great products. Think about a review of your computer program. Cyclone January 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice appearance The dog gates work very well and are great. Wish there was a way to buy and add more extensions for wider entries. November 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stopped unwanted pet traffic in our LR I liked the iron color and the subtle design. The best part is the way the gates open. Our Brittany cannot open it with his nose! August 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by a very nice product The gate is very nice. It looks classy, almost like a decorative piece of furniture. It was easy to assemble, but took some force to fit into the door opening. The only slight drawback I see is that the moving part of the gate has to be lifted at the same time as the little sliding knobs have to be pressed, and I usually have something in my other hand. It's not a big problem, but I think it's a small design flaw. July 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 34-inch Exapanding pet gate This gate is easy to install-reading the directions helps. It's study but elegant. The latch is ergonomic and intuitive for an adult to open, probably too challenging for young children and impossible for a dog. Passing through the gate becomes second nature very quickly. The vertical rails prevents the dog from climbing. The dog doesn't like it as much as I do. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet Gate The gate looks great. It was very easy to assemble which is a huge plus. The gate does not have a feature that permits it to stay open. February 20, 2012
  • 2016-07-24 T16:24:37.923-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_150, tr_150
  • loc_en_US, sid_30193, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
(32 Questions : 36 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
34-inch Extra Wide Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
1 answer
how do you assemble the gate?
Customer avatar
by
Bethesda, MD, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JoanBethesda is loaded.
Additional information about JoanBethesda could not be loaded.
I have the two pieces added on to make the gate wider and the gate is up and sturdy. I don't see how to close the actual gate. the latch doesn't reach
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
User submitted photo
1 month, 4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Bethesda, MD, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JoanBethesda is loaded.
Additional information about JoanBethesda could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Extra Wide Tension Mount Pet Gate. To latch your gate, please adjust the top adjuster knobs until the spacing is the same at the top and bottom of the gate door, and then it will latch.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
1 answer
Does anyone sell a 60" wide tension mounted gate?
Customer avatar
by
Houston, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about wildgrape is loaded.
Additional information about wildgrape could not be loaded.
Our dog is 90 lbs, and we need to keep him in the kitchen - my husband doesn't like the freestanding gate with the decorative filagree on it. We don't want to screw one to the wall.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about wildgrape is loaded.
Additional information about wildgrape could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate. Unfortunately, we do not currently carry a tension mount pet gate that is 60"W. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
34-inch Extra Wide Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
1 answer
how wide is the door
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
how wide is the door
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Extra Wide Tension Mount Pet Gate. The door opening is approximately 19" wide.
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
2 answers
My opening is 42.33" wide. Will this gate work?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about suwaneefamilyof4 is loaded.
Additional information about suwaneefamilyof4 could not be loaded.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about suwaneefamilyof4 is loaded.
Additional information about suwaneefamilyof4 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate. The extra large size only extends to 42" W which will not work in an opening the is 42.33"W.
5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
make sure you get the XL
5 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Texas54 is loaded.
Additional information about Texas54 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
2 answers
How does the bottom of the gate release to open the door?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about superboo is loaded.
Additional information about superboo could not be loaded.
For the two top buttons, the top one is on a spring and releases one of the sliding latches and the lower one is not on a spring release and releases the other sliding latch. Is that correct? Once I release the two buttons, the top is open but the vertical base pin is still inserted and restricts me from opening the door unless I manually pull up on the door itself. Is that the correct function or should the gate be able to be opened by simply sliding over the two top buttons and swinging the door open?
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about superboo is loaded.
Additional information about superboo could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
It is working exactly as it should - you have to lift up then swing the gate open (releases the bottom pin).
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate. To open this gate you need to push release and lift up.
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
  • 2016-07-24 T16:24:09.099-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_30193, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:30193-34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???