Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 159.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice high quality pet gate I replaced a pet gate that was actually a baby gate to keep my dog on the deck instead of getting into the fenceless front yard. The baby gate was fine but it was white and the handle ended up breaking in my hands during the cold weather. The Frontgate gate is not really meant to be outdoors so it will be interesting to see how it holds up. It is a nice quality, I really like the antique iron look and it closes very solidly behind me without having to be closed each time like I had to with the previous gate.
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good looking and sturdy This gate was not my first choice but I needed matching gates for different size openings and this was the only model that would work for us. It is sturdy, set it up in 15 - 20 minutes, lots of protecting packing material to remove. I am getting used to the "unlatching" process, not easy to do with full hands. I had a party recently and the guests remarked on it's good looks but thought the opening process was a little awkward. We have only had the gates for 2 weeks but it does appear to be durable. We also bought the low gate and I appreciate the ability to just step over it.
Date published: 2014-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 34" Pet Gate Appearance looks great. However, in terms of durability, lanch area for both bottom and top came right off after my dog played with this. I wondered if there is a replacement part for this.
Date published: 2014-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Security! This is a great heavy duty gate. The gate would have been given 5 stars if it had levelers or longer tension screws. When you have a house that is over 100 years old, nothing is level or perfectly sized. Thank goodness there were anchors for the wall to keep it in place. I purchased the extension gate for when we needed a wider gate in a different area. The door we have it installed in only needed the base gate unit. Unfortunately the door has an uneven frame, which required the tension screws to be a little longer than what is provided; which meant we had to use the anchors to keep the gate in place.
Date published: 2014-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much more convient I was hopping over the cheep wooden gates we had and this was badly needed. It does the job and looks nice. Wish it had the cat door in it as well and then it would be perfect.
Date published: 2013-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job I wanted something semi-permanent to separate the living area from the bedrooms. The hallway is traveled constantly and the barrier gates were a pain to undo and redo every trip. With this gate, it is mounted firmly and the gate swing either way easily.
Date published: 2013-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works for Need I received this gate last week and installation was simple. My only complaint is the bottom of the two slide "buttons" to catch the gate closed does not work. I think they are spring loaded - and the bottom one slides without the "spring" action. Since the top one works fine, I am keeping the gate.
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gates are great - computer program needs improved My dog gates are great. They match my house to a "T". When I called for another one, however, the computer did not show a coupon that I had received, so they would not grant me a 15% reduction. So, I decided to purchase another gate at a local store. I am not as happy with the newly purchased gate, but will live with it. Thanks for providing great products. Think about a review of your computer program. Cyclone
Date published: 2013-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice appearance The dog gates work very well and are great. Wish there was a way to buy and add more extensions for wider entries.
Date published: 2012-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stopped unwanted pet traffic in our LR I liked the iron color and the subtle design. The best part is the way the gates open. Our Brittany cannot open it with his nose!
Date published: 2012-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a very nice product The gate is very nice. It looks classy, almost like a decorative piece of furniture. It was easy to assemble, but took some force to fit into the door opening. The only slight drawback I see is that the moving part of the gate has to be lifted at the same time as the little sliding knobs have to be pressed, and I usually have something in my other hand. It's not a big problem, but I think it's a small design flaw.
Date published: 2012-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great looking gate
Date published: 2012-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 34-inch Exapanding pet gate This gate is easy to install-reading the directions helps. It's study but elegant. The latch is ergonomic and intuitive for an adult to open, probably too challenging for young children and impossible for a dog. Passing through the gate becomes second nature very quickly. The vertical rails prevents the dog from climbing. The dog doesn't like it as much as I do.
Date published: 2012-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pet Gate The gate looks great. It was very easy to assemble which is a huge plus. The gate does not have a feature that permits it to stay open.
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Gate Looks great, easy to install, works well.
Date published: 2011-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful and elegant This gate is easy to assemble, easy to use and great for the elderly. No stepping over lower fences running the risk of tripping and falling. Looks great with any de'cor. The one con would be no extensions for larger openings without sacrificing the distance between rails to prevent smaller dogs from squeezing through the side panels. Still I'll be purchasing another one soon.
Date published: 2011-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smart looking pet gate Looks nice. Works well. Fairly easy to assemble, but would have liked simple instructions or a diagram.
Date published: 2010-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gate looks great The gate looks great in our home. It is constructed of the finest materials and built to last. I am still trying to get it to adjust well between the walls for the gate to latch. Im sure this is my error and not the gate. It still keeps my dogs locked up with the spring gate. Thanks Frontgate.
Date published: 2010-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 36"freestanding expandable pet barrier Nice looking. Good quality. Would be nice if gate opened front and back like other pet barrier I purchased.
Date published: 2010-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Gate Handsome gate that is useful to contain big dogs.
Date published: 2010-01-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A sturdy gate with poorly designed latch hardware I ordered the gate in July 2015 and by August 2015, the mechanism that holds the spring-loaded peg at the botton of the gate door has begun to slip out of its socket preventing the door from closing until I push the plastic housing back up into the gate. I had to place a very small piece of tape to prevent it from falling out of place. Not the end of the world but for the price I paid I never would have expected such poorly designed latch hardware. The gate itself is very nice; I just worry how long it will function if it's already starting to break down after only a month of use.
Date published: 2015-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gate vs. very stubborn dog The gate is attractive, very easy to install. At first my 60lb mixed breed seemed to have little trouble getting through it (not over it, too high for that!). Never sure how he did it; he'd be waiting inside the front door everytime I came home and the gate would be behind him right where I left it AND latched. Tightened the top down quite a bit and put something in front of it so he couldn't jump at it, seems to be working for now. I don't understand why they furnish two sliding bolts to latch the gate, but only one is spring loaded. The other is so easily moved by finger pressure that I'm not sure it does any good at all. I would have springloaded both of them for more security and latching power. We'll see if this holds or not.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The gate is functional and looks good however there were two issues. Pinched fingers while setting up the extenders and puppies under 15lbs can escape through the extended area. Better for larger dogs.
Date published: 2010-07-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor design Design is that the gate opening is wider at the top than at the bottom. In order for the gate to latch, a LOT more tension must be put on the top of the gate, causing indention & damage to drywall. That much tension would not be necessary for the gate to stay in place, and still allow the gate to latch. An easy modification to the gate's design would provide a superior product! As it is though, not a great design!
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Met my expectations but annoying to open and close The gate with the extension is what I had expected, however it tis difficult to open and close quickly and easily because it must be lifted up each time. Poor design if I am carrying something, as I often am!
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from beautiful looks but use does not equal appearance Can't get the door to function properly in the opening. Beautiful looking but I will probably return it.
Date published: 2013-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality For the Money!!! I bought this gate because I needed to keep my dogs from going to the second story of our home & this gate was by far the best looking of all of the gates that I saw, so I didn't mind paying the hefty price. But once it was put together I was horrified at the poor construction. The gate is wobbly & is definitely not good for small dogs as they can easily get through the large gaps on the sides. And to take it up & down...what a pain!!! You basically have to reassemble the gate each time. If it wasn't such a heavy item, I would return it without a doubt!!! This item is definitely not up to Frontgate's high standards!!!
Date published: 2014-11-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing Dog Gate I've ordered this gate 2 times and both gates have been defective. The gate doesn't latch because it wasn't welded properly. I'm disappointed because it really looked nice and I was looking forward to the upgrade.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from pet gate order X2270772-00017 I ordered item FG64303 bronze 34H tension mount pet gate(28.5-42). The first one that I received was bent so bad that I could not bend it so that the latch parts matched up. The replacement was also bent but not as badly. So i bent it enough to get the two latch parts to match up. But even after that it seems that the gate is not very stable at the top and that is leaving 1/8 of an inch between the two latch parts. If you adjust it so the is no space between the two latch parts it is much more stable. I would not recommend that anybody buy this gate.
Date published: 2013-04-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not what i wanted this was too short for my area, and i want to send it back
Date published: 2013-03-21
  • y_2017, m_2, d_21, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_153
  • loc_, sid_30193, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

Our door has a 36" opening. Will this gate work?

Asked by: biggers
I have a 35" opening and had to use wood blocks to extend. Good quality, but 33 is about the full span to keep the rigid frame. The other freestanding might be too large for you.
Answered by: sueB
Date published: 2013-10-21

Does the door open both ways?

Asked by: christiann
Yes
Answered by: Animalcaregiver
Date published: 2016-09-05

I have a 44" opening will this gate fit ?

Asked by: Kathiem
Yes this will fit just fine
Answered by: Fussy1
Date published: 2016-10-29

Installation on baseboards?

My baseboard molding is 2.5 inches high and 1 inch deep. In order to install this, two criteria must be met: 1) Do the bottom mounts set against the walll no higher than 2.25 inches? 2) Because the top tension mounts will each be extended close to 1 inch wider than the bottom, will the gate be stable?
Asked by: HHB1
I had a similar setup and wouldn't recommend it. The molding is a little too small to provide a secure fit and the difference in width at the top would make it dislodge easily in that doorway. Have used in a solid doorframe with no issues.
Answered by: NeoMastiffMomma
Date published: 2017-01-14

Is the gate entirely metal? Is there any plastic on the hinges or the latch?

Asked by: agranger
Entirely metal. No plastic.
Answered by: Animalcaregiver
Date published: 2016-09-05
  • y_2017, m_2, d_21, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_38
  • loc_, sid_30193, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:30193-34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]