Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate 4.6 5 165 172
Great sturdy Gate!! Great sturdy gate for the money. Easy to put together, and yet it is very sturdy not flimsy!! 5-Star rating!!! August 29, 2009
Nice high quality pet gate I replaced a pet gate that was actually a baby gate to keep my dog on the deck instead of getting into the fenceless front yard. The baby gate was fine but it was white and the handle ended up breaking in my hands during the cold weather. The Frontgate gate is not really meant to be outdoors so it will be interesting to see how it holds up. It is a nice quality, I really like the antique iron look and it closes very solidly behind me without having to be closed each time like I had to with the previous gate. September 24, 2014
Good looking and sturdy This gate was not my first choice but I needed matching gates for different size openings and this was the only model that would work for us. It is sturdy, set it up in 15 - 20 minutes, lots of protecting packing material to remove. I am getting used to the "unlatching" process, not easy to do with full hands. I had a party recently and the guests remarked on it's good looks but thought the opening process was a little awkward. We have only had the gates for 2 weeks but it does appear to be durable. We also bought the low gate and I appreciate the ability to just step over it. May 18, 2014
34" Pet Gate Appearance looks great. However, in terms of durability, lanch area for both bottom and top came right off after my dog played with this. I wondered if there is a replacement part for this. May 9, 2014
Security! This is a great heavy duty gate. The gate would have been given 5 stars if it had levelers or longer tension screws. When you have a house that is over 100 years old, nothing is level or perfectly sized. Thank goodness there were anchors for the wall to keep it in place. I purchased the extension gate for when we needed a wider gate in a different area. The door we have it installed in only needed the base gate unit. Unfortunately the door has an uneven frame, which required the tension screws to be a little longer than what is provided; which meant we had to use the anchors to keep the gate in place. April 29, 2014
Much more convient I was hopping over the cheep wooden gates we had and this was badly needed. It does the job and looks nice. Wish it had the cat door in it as well and then it would be perfect. September 2, 2013
Does the job I wanted something semi-permanent to separate the living area from the bedrooms. The hallway is traveled constantly and the barrier gates were a pain to undo and redo every trip. With this gate, it is mounted firmly and the gate swing either way easily. July 12, 2013
Works for Need I received this gate last week and installation was simple. My only complaint is the bottom of the two slide "buttons" to catch the gate closed does not work. I think they are spring loaded - and the bottom one slides without the "spring" action. Since the top one works fine, I am keeping the gate. May 20, 2013
21" Gate I wanted a gate that had a higher end look, not a plastic gate. The quality is great. The only negative I can think of is that the small doggy door doesn't open flat against the gate, it opens at 90 degrees. May 9, 2013
Gates are great - computer program needs improved My dog gates are great. They match my house to a "T". When I called for another one, however, the computer did not show a coupon that I had received, so they would not grant me a 15% reduction. So, I decided to purchase another gate at a local store. I am not as happy with the newly purchased gate, but will live with it. Thanks for providing great products. Think about a review of your computer program. Cyclone January 19, 2013
Very nice appearance The dog gates work very well and are great. Wish there was a way to buy and add more extensions for wider entries. November 26, 2012
nice product Gate was what we needed. Arrived quickly. Easy to install. August 25, 2012
Stopped unwanted pet traffic in our LR I liked the iron color and the subtle design. The best part is the way the gates open. Our Brittany cannot open it with his nose! August 4, 2012
a very nice product The gate is very nice. It looks classy, almost like a decorative piece of furniture. It was easy to assemble, but took some force to fit into the door opening. The only slight drawback I see is that the moving part of the gate has to be lifted at the same time as the little sliding knobs have to be pressed, and I usually have something in my other hand. It's not a big problem, but I think it's a small design flaw. July 27, 2012
34-inch Exapanding pet gate This gate is easy to install-reading the directions helps. It's study but elegant. The latch is ergonomic and intuitive for an adult to open, probably too challenging for young children and impossible for a dog. Passing through the gate becomes second nature very quickly. The vertical rails prevents the dog from climbing. The dog doesn't like it as much as I do. March 2, 2012
Pet Gate The gate looks great. It was very easy to assemble which is a huge plus. The gate does not have a feature that permits it to stay open. February 20, 2012
Nice gate for small pets On the plus side: (1) gate stays in place remarkably well, much better than other baby or pet gates that we have had, (2) looks nicer than other baby o pet gates that we have had, (3) our dogs have not, so far, tried to jump over it, although I suspect they could if they really wanted to, (4) it is not too difficult to step over. Negatives: (1) The people in the house do have to step over the gate--I knew this when I bought it so it wasn't a surprise, but unless you want to take the gate up and down all the time, the people in the house will have to step over it. This is only and issue when my arms are full (e.g., carrying groceries). It doesn't bother me enough to send it back, but for someone who is unsteady on their feet it might not be the best choice. February 14, 2012
Nice Gate Looks great, easy to install, works well. March 26, 2011
Useful and elegant This gate is easy to assemble, easy to use and great for the elderly. No stepping over lower fences running the risk of tripping and falling. Looks great with any de'cor. The one con would be no extensions for larger openings without sacrificing the distance between rails to prevent smaller dogs from squeezing through the side panels. Still I'll be purchasing another one soon. January 13, 2011
Smart looking pet gate Looks nice. Works well. Fairly easy to assemble, but would have liked simple instructions or a diagram. November 16, 2010
pet gate with door well constucted, door could be a little taller for using on stairs. September 14, 2010
Perfect for small dogs Love this gate ... matches our stairs and keeps our little dogs from going up where we don't want them! Do wish the gate was a little harder for them to open ... .my dogs figured out if they paw at it long enough, it will open for them, so we tie it shut. July 25, 2010
Gate looks great The gate looks great in our home. It is constructed of the finest materials and built to last. I am still trying to get it to adjust well between the walls for the gate to latch. Im sure this is my error and not the gate. It still keeps my dogs locked up with the spring gate. Thanks Frontgate. May 12, 2010
36"freestanding expandable pet barrier Nice looking. Good quality. Would be nice if gate opened front and back like other pet barrier I purchased. May 12, 2010
Nice Gate Handsome gate that is useful to contain big dogs. January 4, 2010
very good quality the product is great, however, my 90 pound tibetian mastiff can squeeze through the cat door, which defeats the purpose of the gate. October 16, 2009
Gate vs. very stubborn dog The gate is attractive, very easy to install. At first my 60lb mixed breed seemed to have little trouble getting through it (not over it, too high for that!). Never sure how he did it; he'd be waiting inside the front door everytime I came home and the gate would be behind him right where I left it AND latched. Tightened the top down quite a bit and put something in front of it so he couldn't jump at it, seems to be working for now. I don't understand why they furnish two sliding bolts to latch the gate, but only one is spring loaded. The other is so easily moved by finger pressure that I'm not sure it does any good at all. I would have springloaded both of them for more security and latching power. We'll see if this holds or not. March 25, 2014
Could be easier to assemble Friend's with master's degrees can't figure out the hardware that goes against the wall. I can't get it to be stable. If my husband hadn't thrown the box away accidentally, it would go back. It's beautiful, very good quality but hard to set up and down September 28, 2010
The gate is functional and looks good however there were two issues. Pinched fingers while setting up the extenders and puppies under 15lbs can escape through the extended area. Better for larger dogs. July 21, 2010
Met my expectations but annoying to open and close The gate with the extension is what I had expected, however it tis difficult to open and close quickly and easily because it must be lifted up each time. Poor design if I am carrying something, as I often am! July 8, 2013
  • 2015-08-03T11:40:04.901-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_172, tr_172
  • loc_en_US, sid_30193, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
(28 Questions : 32 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
1 answer

I have a 44" opening will this gate fit ?

Customer avatar
by
Florida, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Kathiem is loaded.
Additional information about Kathiem could not be loaded.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Kathiem is loaded.
Additional information about Kathiem could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate. Unfortunately, the extra wide only extends to 42"W and will not fit a 44" wide opening.
3 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
1 answer

Do you have to lift the gate to release it to open?

Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about QualityKat is loaded.
Additional information about QualityKat could not be loaded.
I thought when you pulled the latch, the bottom bolt would lift and release the gate. Instead, I have to lift the gate high enough to release the bolt. Is this a design flaw or a defective gate?
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
4 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about QualityKat is loaded.
Additional information about QualityKat could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We apologize for the difficulty you are having with the 34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate and we ask that you call us at 1-800-537-8484 vwith the order number and/or the purchaser's name and billing address so we can assist you further.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
1 answer

Does the door open both ways?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about christiann is loaded.
Additional information about christiann could not be loaded.
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about christiann is loaded.
Additional information about christiann could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The 34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate door does open in both directions.
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
34-inch XL Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
1 answer

what is the difference between the XL? I need a 36" wide gate

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about CocoBrandy is loaded.
Additional information about CocoBrandy could not be loaded.
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about CocoBrandy is loaded.
Additional information about CocoBrandy could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Given your needs, you would need the 34-inch XL Tension Mount Pet Gate, which expands up to 42", versus the standard version (item 30193), which only expands to 33"
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
1 answer

Could this gate be used at the top of stairs?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PConnor is loaded.
Additional information about PConnor could not be loaded.
1 year, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PConnor is loaded.
Additional information about PConnor could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The 34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate should not be placed at the top of the stairs
1 year, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
  • 2015-08-03T11:38:51.365-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_30193, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:30193-34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???