Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Pet ProductsHome
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 150 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Gate Love the gates - bought the smaller one also. They are nicely made and look great in my home. I would highly recommend them. Frontgate has quality items and I have purchased from them for years and will continue to do so. November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and functional! We needed a gate to keep our dogs away from the front door and save the mailman's hand when he delivers the mail through the slot. We didn't want a plastic baby gate and this one fit the bill in the beautiful rubbed bronze. Quality construction and easy to install. Perfect! November 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best product!!!! Performance and beauty. I had purchased gates from a quality company and the cost was twice as much and my doggies went through the bars. NOT with FRONTGATE gates. these are fantastic!!! I am always asked where I purchased them from and I give them as house warming gifts. AWESOME PRODUCT!! THANK YOU! October 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super gate! This gate is great! It opens from either side and closes gently by itself. Very NICE quality! July 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome This gate is amazing! It's attractive and highly effective in keeping our large golden retriever from other rooms. I wish I would have purchased it over a year ago. July 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mission Accomplished: No Dog in Bedroom When I first took the gate out of it's packaging it was not "love at first sight". The gate looked lopsided and as though the closure would never lock in place. Buyer do not be deceived. Once the gate was expanded between the two walls and the tension was gauged properly, everything fit perfectly. Assembly was very simple and easy. The finish is nice, with a little bit of copper color distressing to give a patina effect. The locking mechanism is plastic and time will tell if it ages well. For now, this worked perfectly for our needs and our medium sized cavapoo was very accepting and respectful of its presence in our home. June 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and highly functional! Exactly as described! Easy to install! No complaints! April 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate Thiis is a very well made product and it works great. It was easy to install. Our doorway opening is 30.5" and we did not need to use the expanders. It probably would fit a 31.5" or 32" doorway. Now that the dogs have gotten used to it we often just leave it open. The bar across the bottom lets them know that this is a "barrier" and they typically don't walk through it even when it's open. It's a must when our daughter's boxer comes to visit though! April 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 34 inch expanding Gate Excellent quality, very durable and extremely attractive. March 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Metal Gate We have tried many kinds of gates between our kitchen and dinning room to keep our two Brittany's out of the living room and finally we found one that works. The door way we installed it in has built in decorative open shelving on both sides so we could not screw anything into the opening. This gate is attractive and extremely easy to setup and install. The gate opens and closed easy which has stopped the problem of my kids just straddling the gate rather then removing it to get through. I purchased with a 20% discount coupon but it would have been worth it at full price! January 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to install This gate is very easy to install. Looks great and easy to open and close. Keeps dogs confined with style. January 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly the Finest! This is our second of these gates to own. The buyers of our previous home asked for the bronze Frontgate dog gate in the contract! We tried to live without one here for a few months, but I finally ordered another. This one is probably 5 years newer than the last, and I do think it's even better quality; they've fine-tuned a few things on the hardware, very smooth-closing now. The bronze is so pretty, so much classier than a traditional baby/dog gate. Plus, you can open or close it with your hands full. Expensive, but worth every penny. January 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Practical Solution We purchased a pet gate to replace a plastic child gate that we use when our "grand dog" comes for a visit. The new gate is beautiful in the oil rubbed bronze that matches the hardware in the home. It is also very safe as Grandma and Grandpa can open the gate and walk through instead of trying to climb over it and getting hung up half way over. Can't wat for Splash to come for a visit and try out the new gate. January 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Winner! Probably like others, I was influenced by the near 100% positive reviews. I like this gate and think it goes very well with my house. The quality is just one shade from simply perfect. The instructions, in my case, were not so forward and easy. When I did install the gate, I found there are very minor lapses. But overall, I am thrilled with this gate and it usefulness and appearance. January 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Durable yet Decorative Gate I've had this gate for years and still looks as nice as when I first bought it. Even though I lost the pin that fits into the bottom of the gate to keep the gate in place, the gate is still very durable and useful. It's currently holding back a very bouncy Newfoundland puppy with no problem. The only item that they could improve on is the plastic piece that is on the bottom rail where the pin in the door inserts into the bottom rail for stability. The gate cleans well with just some mild soap and water and it doesn't rust!!! Outstanding product. Thanks Frontgate for caring this item! December 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet gate is simply the best Used to have that old wooden gate that was an eye sore and had to be moved every time. Now we have this sturdy, beautiful looking gate. Has not budged in few weeks and doesn't look like it ever will. Highly recommended. Price is right too. Great value and tall enough so that our dogs will not try to jump over. December 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gate review i was surprised at the subtlety and beauty of the finish with the rubbed brass highlights. I was also very pleased with the automatic spring loaded shutting of the gate. It is easy to operate. I am certain that I will enjoy it and my carpet will remain cleaner for longer without the dogs having access into that room. November 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Purchase We are so happy with this gate. It is great quality, easy to install and looks great. Love the double locking feature. Highly recommend. Thank you!!! November 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than imagined I am so happy I purchased two of the pet gates. They look like it is part of the design of the house and fully functional for our needs as well. My two dogs are contained and happy. October 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by High quality We love this gate, we bought it to contain our Airdale from certain areas of our home. It is very heavy and not your ordinary kiddie gate. Very fashionable and will go well with your decor. October 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great purchase. Purchased this for doorway betweem kitchen and dining room. It looks great and is easy to open , which is nice, especially since this is a frequently used door. I would buy another if needed in the future. October 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutey Outstanding Bought this gate last month. The quality of materials and fit/finish blow the competitiion away. October 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service We purchased some items in 2009 from the Charlotte, NC store and we returned them at a later point, howver since we live in Maryland we took a store credit which was fine. The lady who helped me for this order was able to find the credit and expedite the Dog gates that I ordered. We love them. Thanks for the great customer service. April 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by High quality - priced right Attractive, sturdy and well engineered. Gate actually closes automatically. Eliminates having to drill holes and permanently marring woodwork. Will come down when puppy is house broken. March 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stylish,functional dog gate This is the first gate that our dog has not found a way over or through. It is constructed of quality metal, easy to set up, and goes well with our decor. The self-closing mechanism is a bonus. February 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better Than Described Although our purchase of the 21" Pet Gate a couple years ago was a great purchase, this gate is the best ever. We use both gates for different reasons. The 34" gate is very easy use in areas people need access to. February 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product We liked the first one and ordered a second one, Thanks February 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great All-Purpose Gate! This great is wonderful! It's very sturdy and has withstood some forceful pushes from our 90 pound lab without budging. We needed a good, strong gate that wouldn't be an eye sore and this one definitely does the job. The door feature is easy to use and doesn't compromise the structure at all... a must buy! January 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Attractive, sturdy gate Even though I'd prefer not to have to have a gate at all, I'm glad that a fine looking gate like this was available. It's sturdy and as attractive as a gate can be for the money. I'm pleased with it and would purchase it again if I needed one for another doorway. The gate door swings both ways which is very convenient. January 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great product and a good price What a great gate! We had purchased the plastic gates years ago for our first puppy. But white plastic looks cheep and hard to get in and out of. I bought one to try out. After 4 hours of receiving and installation (less then 10min) I placed an order for three more! Most pet stores sell gates for around the same price that just wont stand up to the looks and style of these. January 19, 2011
  • 2016-07-27 T13:02:33.389-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_150, tr_150
  • loc_en_US, sid_30193, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
(32 Questions : 36 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
34-inch Extra Wide Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
1 answer
how do you assemble the gate?
Customer avatar
by
Bethesda, MD, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JoanBethesda is loaded.
Additional information about JoanBethesda could not be loaded.
I have the two pieces added on to make the gate wider and the gate is up and sturdy. I don't see how to close the actual gate. the latch doesn't reach
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
User submitted photo
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Bethesda, MD, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JoanBethesda is loaded.
Additional information about JoanBethesda could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Extra Wide Tension Mount Pet Gate. To latch your gate, please adjust the top adjuster knobs until the spacing is the same at the top and bottom of the gate door, and then it will latch.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
1 answer
Does anyone sell a 60" wide tension mounted gate?
Customer avatar
by
Houston, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about wildgrape is loaded.
Additional information about wildgrape could not be loaded.
Our dog is 90 lbs, and we need to keep him in the kitchen - my husband doesn't like the freestanding gate with the decorative filagree on it. We don't want to screw one to the wall.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about wildgrape is loaded.
Additional information about wildgrape could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate. Unfortunately, we do not currently carry a tension mount pet gate that is 60"W. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause
3 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
34-inch Extra Wide Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
1 answer
how wide is the door
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
how wide is the door
2 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Extra Wide Tension Mount Pet Gate. The door opening is approximately 19" wide.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
2 answers
My opening is 42.33" wide. Will this gate work?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about suwaneefamilyof4 is loaded.
Additional information about suwaneefamilyof4 could not be loaded.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about suwaneefamilyof4 is loaded.
Additional information about suwaneefamilyof4 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate. The extra large size only extends to 42" W which will not work in an opening the is 42.33"W.
5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
make sure you get the XL
5 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Texas54 is loaded.
Additional information about Texas54 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
2 answers
How does the bottom of the gate release to open the door?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about superboo is loaded.
Additional information about superboo could not be loaded.
For the two top buttons, the top one is on a spring and releases one of the sliding latches and the lower one is not on a spring release and releases the other sliding latch. Is that correct? Once I release the two buttons, the top is open but the vertical base pin is still inserted and restricts me from opening the door unless I manually pull up on the door itself. Is that the correct function or should the gate be able to be opened by simply sliding over the two top buttons and swinging the door open?
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about superboo is loaded.
Additional information about superboo could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
It is working exactly as it should - you have to lift up then swing the gate open (releases the bottom pin).
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate. To open this gate you need to push release and lift up.
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
  • 2016-07-27 T13:01:52.176-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_30193, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:30193-34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???