Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Pet ProductsHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 159.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase. Purchased this for doorway betweem kitchen and dining room. It looks great and is easy to open , which is nice, especially since this is a frequently used door. I would buy another if needed in the future.
Date published: 2011-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutey Outstanding Bought this gate last month. The quality of materials and fit/finish blow the competitiion away.
Date published: 2011-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Customer Service We purchased some items in 2009 from the Charlotte, NC store and we returned them at a later point, howver since we live in Maryland we took a store credit which was fine. The lady who helped me for this order was able to find the credit and expedite the Dog gates that I ordered. We love them. Thanks for the great customer service.
Date published: 2011-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality - priced right Attractive, sturdy and well engineered. Gate actually closes automatically. Eliminates having to drill holes and permanently marring woodwork. Will come down when puppy is house broken.
Date published: 2011-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish,functional dog gate This is the first gate that our dog has not found a way over or through. It is constructed of quality metal, easy to set up, and goes well with our decor. The self-closing mechanism is a bonus.
Date published: 2011-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Than Described Although our purchase of the 21" Pet Gate a couple years ago was a great purchase, this gate is the best ever. We use both gates for different reasons. The 34" gate is very easy use in areas people need access to.
Date published: 2011-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product We liked the first one and ordered a second one, Thanks
Date published: 2011-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great All-Purpose Gate! This great is wonderful! It's very sturdy and has withstood some forceful pushes from our 90 pound lab without budging. We needed a good, strong gate that wouldn't be an eye sore and this one definitely does the job. The door feature is easy to use and doesn't compromise the structure at all... a must buy!
Date published: 2011-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive, sturdy gate Even though I'd prefer not to have to have a gate at all, I'm glad that a fine looking gate like this was available. It's sturdy and as attractive as a gate can be for the money. I'm pleased with it and would purchase it again if I needed one for another doorway. The gate door swings both ways which is very convenient.
Date published: 2011-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great product and a good price What a great gate! We had purchased the plastic gates years ago for our first puppy. But white plastic looks cheep and hard to get in and out of. I bought one to try out. After 4 hours of receiving and installation (less then 10min) I placed an order for three more! Most pet stores sell gates for around the same price that just wont stand up to the looks and style of these.
Date published: 2011-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have for your Dog This gate is functional and very sturdy. It is easy to open for the humans. My dog loves it too. She can set on the floor and watch us. I wish they made it for oversized areas. Well made. I would buy again.
Date published: 2011-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy duty gate I purchased this product to keep the dog from entering part of the house. All the other gates he destroyed. When I received it, I found out it was better than expected. The dog has tried breaking the gate for weeks now and finally gave up. The gate is stronger than I expected. We like it alot.
Date published: 2010-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much better than a baby gate! This is a nice stylish and functional gate, unfortunately it arrived damaged. Customer service was great about sending a new one. This gate matches the other free standing gates we have ordered from frontgate and they are all of excellent quality and work well.
Date published: 2010-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PURCHASE This gate is great! Looks nice and very functional. I just wish you offered one that expands up to 36" and i would buy another! very easy to put together...looks like it will last forever.
Date published: 2010-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product I ordered the wrong size but loved the gate. saw one at a friends and thought it would be perfect for my stairs.
Date published: 2010-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this Pet Barrier This is the best pet barrier I have ever purchased. Excellent quality, my little monster cannot chew through his confinement, the gate is very attractive and gives the kitchen a sort of "bistro" look rather than just a pet gate.
Date published: 2010-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate!! Wonderful gate....it looks great and is super easy for my kids to use! Wish it came in a wider size...
Date published: 2010-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! Looks great! Perfectly matches my freestanding gate from Frontgate. Not hard to assemble. Very adaptable, so I expect I'll never have to buy another pet gate again!
Date published: 2010-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate Review Love it
Date published: 2010-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GATE I am very pleased with our 34" expanding pet gate. Our dogs are resticted to certain areas, but the cat can still fit thru on the side - perfect! Color and style fit well with any decor.
Date published: 2010-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! If you have a big dog...this is a must!! I use it to keep my dog out of the dining room. The gate makes it really easy for us to get into the kitchen and keeps our dog out. Great buy and looks beautiful with the rest of my decor.
Date published: 2010-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pet Gate This is such a high quality and beautiful pet gate. My 9 year old daughter actually installed the gate herself without any difficulty. My only wish is that a cat door is installed at the bottom.
Date published: 2010-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Gate! This gate is just about perfect! The antique bronze finish looks beautiful in my home--much better than plastic or white metal. The installation took less than five minutes. We did not feel the need, nor did we want to, to screw the protective plates to the wall. I was a bit worried since it said on the packaging (but not on the product description on the website) that it would hold up to 40 lbs. but it can withstand my two 6 mo. old goldendoodles--no problem. Wish it would prop open.
Date published: 2010-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purchase The 34" expandible gate works perfect to manage our dogs territory. The look and quality are great..love it!
Date published: 2010-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful pet gate I've had several pet gates, but this one is the classiest. The metal is so beautiful and goes so well my my home decor. It was very easy to install and assemble. We're very pleased!!
Date published: 2010-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love Love this gate! This gate is beautiful! Loved everything about it but I had to send it back because I needed a gate that would expand to 36". I tried to get Frontgate to send me another extension but that was not possible. Maybe they will consider making another piece so that it will extend to 36". If they do I will definitely buy this gate. Anyone looking for a beautifully crafted pet gate should consider taking a look at this one.
Date published: 2010-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stress Free Living!! The 34"H Expanding Pet Gate combines beauty, functionality and the joy of stress-free dog feeding mornings. Our old-old 16+ years Standard Poodle requires a geriatric diet... which the young pups like to raid. With the automatic feature of the 34"H Expanding Pet Gate, the gate closes automatically without manual intervention. This is a real treasure that provides us true peace of mind (and peace for our geriatric canine). And our friends have commented on the incredible beauty of the gate as well!
Date published: 2009-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate is Great Excellent for blocking off a room or containing pets... sturdy and stylish. The mechanics are very smooth and operation is easy.
Date published: 2009-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2009-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality Beautiful gate - I love being able to use something other than a plastic baby gate to keep my mastiffs out of certain areas. I knock it a star because it is rather tricky to open, to the extent that I have to take it down when company comes over or I need to coach everyone through the process several times. However, the slide and lift mechanism certainly keeps the dogs out! Heavy metal, lovely finish.
Date published: 2017-01-14
  • y_2017, m_2, d_21, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_153
  • loc_, sid_30193, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

Our door has a 36" opening. Will this gate work?

Asked by: biggers
I have a 35" opening and had to use wood blocks to extend. Good quality, but 33 is about the full span to keep the rigid frame. The other freestanding might be too large for you.
Answered by: sueB
Date published: 2013-10-21

Does the door open both ways?

Asked by: christiann
Yes
Answered by: Animalcaregiver
Date published: 2016-09-05

I have a 44" opening will this gate fit ?

Asked by: Kathiem
Yes this will fit just fine
Answered by: Fussy1
Date published: 2016-10-29

Installation on baseboards?

My baseboard molding is 2.5 inches high and 1 inch deep. In order to install this, two criteria must be met: 1) Do the bottom mounts set against the walll no higher than 2.25 inches? 2) Because the top tension mounts will each be extended close to 1 inch wider than the bottom, will the gate be stable?
Asked by: HHB1
I had a similar setup and wouldn't recommend it. The molding is a little too small to provide a secure fit and the difference in width at the top would make it dislodge easily in that doorway. Have used in a solid doorframe with no issues.
Answered by: NeoMastiffMomma
Date published: 2017-01-14

Is the gate entirely metal? Is there any plastic on the hinges or the latch?

Asked by: agranger
Entirely metal. No plastic.
Answered by: Animalcaregiver
Date published: 2016-09-05
  • y_2017, m_2, d_21, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_38
  • loc_, sid_30193, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:30193-34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]