Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Pet Products
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 177 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Gate is Great Excellent for blocking off a room or containing pets... sturdy and stylish. The mechanics are very smooth and operation is easy. November 27, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Functional & Beautiful Pet Gate We love this pet gate. Living in an apartment we have close quarters with our dogs. This gate is easy to install, easy to walk over room to room and keeps pet hair to a miniumum in my kitchen! I bought 2 so I could close off the kitchen and the entry. When it is time to go out I just open the dog door and my pets walk on through! We love our expanding pet gates. Di I mention they are beautiful and don't detract from my traditional decor with cheap white plastic or wood likie you find in the pet store. September 18, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by stylish sturdy gate This gate is a perfect gate to block off my two small dogs, but easy enough for our family (two kids 9 and 7, and mother 65) to step over. It looks great with my decor, and I plan on ordering more for another area so they all match! The only thing that would make it better is if there where small extenders offered to fit awkward size spaces. I also purchased the freestanding expandable gate for the bottom of my stairs, and I love it! Thank you for reading! September 9, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great sturdy Gate!! Great sturdy gate for the money. Easy to put together, and yet it is very sturdy not flimsy!! 5-Star rating!!! August 29, 2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Well built gate Nice little gate for smaller dogs who can't jump it. Well built. Does require some assembly but not too bad. Easily adjusts to most any size door. My only complaint is the pin that 'locks' the gate shut. My dog has actually figured out how to open the latch, requiring us to use a large binder clip (like for a bundle of papers) to clip the gate shut. This could be easily redesigned so the pin is at the top and dogs would have much more trouble. October 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice high quality pet gate I replaced a pet gate that was actually a baby gate to keep my dog on the deck instead of getting into the fenceless front yard. The baby gate was fine but it was white and the handle ended up breaking in my hands during the cold weather. The Frontgate gate is not really meant to be outdoors so it will be interesting to see how it holds up. It is a nice quality, I really like the antique iron look and it closes very solidly behind me without having to be closed each time like I had to with the previous gate. September 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good looking and sturdy This gate was not my first choice but I needed matching gates for different size openings and this was the only model that would work for us. It is sturdy, set it up in 15 - 20 minutes, lots of protecting packing material to remove. I am getting used to the "unlatching" process, not easy to do with full hands. I had a party recently and the guests remarked on it's good looks but thought the opening process was a little awkward. We have only had the gates for 2 weeks but it does appear to be durable. We also bought the low gate and I appreciate the ability to just step over it. May 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 34" Pet Gate Appearance looks great. However, in terms of durability, lanch area for both bottom and top came right off after my dog played with this. I wondered if there is a replacement part for this. May 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Security! This is a great heavy duty gate. The gate would have been given 5 stars if it had levelers or longer tension screws. When you have a house that is over 100 years old, nothing is level or perfectly sized. Thank goodness there were anchors for the wall to keep it in place. I purchased the extension gate for when we needed a wider gate in a different area. The door we have it installed in only needed the base gate unit. Unfortunately the door has an uneven frame, which required the tension screws to be a little longer than what is provided; which meant we had to use the anchors to keep the gate in place. April 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Much more convient I was hopping over the cheep wooden gates we had and this was badly needed. It does the job and looks nice. Wish it had the cat door in it as well and then it would be perfect. September 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does the job I wanted something semi-permanent to separate the living area from the bedrooms. The hallway is traveled constantly and the barrier gates were a pain to undo and redo every trip. With this gate, it is mounted firmly and the gate swing either way easily. July 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works for Need I received this gate last week and installation was simple. My only complaint is the bottom of the two slide "buttons" to catch the gate closed does not work. I think they are spring loaded - and the bottom one slides without the "spring" action. Since the top one works fine, I am keeping the gate. May 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 21" Gate I wanted a gate that had a higher end look, not a plastic gate. The quality is great. The only negative I can think of is that the small doggy door doesn't open flat against the gate, it opens at 90 degrees. May 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gates are great - computer program needs improved My dog gates are great. They match my house to a "T". When I called for another one, however, the computer did not show a coupon that I had received, so they would not grant me a 15% reduction. So, I decided to purchase another gate at a local store. I am not as happy with the newly purchased gate, but will live with it. Thanks for providing great products. Think about a review of your computer program. Cyclone January 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice appearance The dog gates work very well and are great. Wish there was a way to buy and add more extensions for wider entries. November 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice product Gate was what we needed. Arrived quickly. Easy to install. August 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stopped unwanted pet traffic in our LR I liked the iron color and the subtle design. The best part is the way the gates open. Our Brittany cannot open it with his nose! August 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by a very nice product The gate is very nice. It looks classy, almost like a decorative piece of furniture. It was easy to assemble, but took some force to fit into the door opening. The only slight drawback I see is that the moving part of the gate has to be lifted at the same time as the little sliding knobs have to be pressed, and I usually have something in my other hand. It's not a big problem, but I think it's a small design flaw. July 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 34-inch Exapanding pet gate This gate is easy to install-reading the directions helps. It's study but elegant. The latch is ergonomic and intuitive for an adult to open, probably too challenging for young children and impossible for a dog. Passing through the gate becomes second nature very quickly. The vertical rails prevents the dog from climbing. The dog doesn't like it as much as I do. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet Gate The gate looks great. It was very easy to assemble which is a huge plus. The gate does not have a feature that permits it to stay open. February 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice gate for small pets On the plus side: (1) gate stays in place remarkably well, much better than other baby or pet gates that we have had, (2) looks nicer than other baby o pet gates that we have had, (3) our dogs have not, so far, tried to jump over it, although I suspect they could if they really wanted to, (4) it is not too difficult to step over. Negatives: (1) The people in the house do have to step over the gate--I knew this when I bought it so it wasn't a surprise, but unless you want to take the gate up and down all the time, the people in the house will have to step over it. This is only and issue when my arms are full (e.g., carrying groceries). It doesn't bother me enough to send it back, but for someone who is unsteady on their feet it might not be the best choice. February 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Gate Looks great, easy to install, works well. March 26, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Useful and elegant This gate is easy to assemble, easy to use and great for the elderly. No stepping over lower fences running the risk of tripping and falling. Looks great with any de'cor. The one con would be no extensions for larger openings without sacrificing the distance between rails to prevent smaller dogs from squeezing through the side panels. Still I'll be purchasing another one soon. January 13, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Smart looking pet gate Looks nice. Works well. Fairly easy to assemble, but would have liked simple instructions or a diagram. November 16, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by pet gate with door well constucted, door could be a little taller for using on stairs. September 14, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for small dogs Love this gate ... matches our stairs and keeps our little dogs from going up where we don't want them! Do wish the gate was a little harder for them to open ... .my dogs figured out if they paw at it long enough, it will open for them, so we tie it shut. July 25, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gate looks great The gate looks great in our home. It is constructed of the finest materials and built to last. I am still trying to get it to adjust well between the walls for the gate to latch. Im sure this is my error and not the gate. It still keeps my dogs locked up with the spring gate. Thanks Frontgate. May 12, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by 36"freestanding expandable pet barrier Nice looking. Good quality. Would be nice if gate opened front and back like other pet barrier I purchased. May 12, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Gate Handsome gate that is useful to contain big dogs. January 4, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by very good quality the product is great, however, my 90 pound tibetian mastiff can squeeze through the cat door, which defeats the purpose of the gate. October 16, 2009
  • 2016-01-13 T08:54:51.080-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_177, tr_177
  • loc_en_US, sid_30193, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
(31 Questions : 36 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
2 answers

How does the bottom of the gate release to open the door?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about superboo is loaded.
Additional information about superboo could not be loaded.
For the two top buttons, the top one is on a spring and releases one of the sliding latches and the lower one is not on a spring release and releases the other sliding latch. Is that correct? Once I release the two buttons, the top is open but the vertical base pin is still inserted and restricts me from opening the door unless I manually pull up on the door itself. Is that the correct function or should the gate be able to be opened by simply sliding over the two top buttons and swinging the door open?
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about superboo is loaded.
Additional information about superboo could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate. To open this gate you need to push release and lift up.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is working exactly as it should - you have to lift up then swing the gate open (releases the bottom pin).
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
1 answer

How do you assemble this gate?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Peeks is loaded.
Additional information about Peeks could not be loaded.
4 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Peeks is loaded.
Additional information about Peeks could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate. This item does require minor assembly during installation. Please refer to the link to the instructions PDF in the overview for more details.
4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
1 answer

i have an 33 1/2 opening... which size gate should i purchased?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dghunt is loaded.
Additional information about dghunt could not be loaded.
5 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dghunt is loaded.
Additional information about dghunt could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate. Since your opening is more then 33", we recommend purchasing the Extra-wide 34"H Expanding Pet Gate (64303) or the 21"H Expanding Pet Gate (30194) if you are looking for a lower gate.
5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
1 answer

I have a 44" opening will this gate fit ?

Customer avatar
by
Florida, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Kathiem is loaded.
Additional information about Kathiem could not be loaded.
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Kathiem is loaded.
Additional information about Kathiem could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate. Unfortunately, the extra wide only extends to 42"W and will not fit a 44" wide opening.
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
 
1 answer

Do you have to lift the gate to release it to open?

Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about QualityKat is loaded.
Additional information about QualityKat could not be loaded.
I thought when you pulled the latch, the bottom bolt would lift and release the gate. Instead, I have to lift the gate high enough to release the bolt. Is this a design flaw or a defective gate?
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Houston
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about QualityKat is loaded.
Additional information about QualityKat could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We apologize for the difficulty you are having with the 34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate and we ask that you call us at 1-800-537-8484 vwith the order number and/or the purchaser's name and billing address so we can assist you further.
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
2 next>>
  • 2016-01-13 T08:52:09.370-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_30193, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:30193-34-inch Expanding Tension Mount Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???