Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Pet ProductsHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 223 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freestanding Pet Barrier with Door Wonderful product! Everything (and more) that we had hoped it would be. Delivery was timely. I would definitely order from this company again. November 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So thrilled with our purchase This free-standing gate was the absolute answer to our "problem" - a puppy who could clear almost any height gate.......except this one! Love it. November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect solution for a pet free room The freestanding pet barrier was easy to assemble and looks great. We love the walk-through door! It makes it so easy for everyone (pet and humans) to go from one room to the other. October 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fence for dog It is well made and heavy enough to restrain large 75 pound greyhound. Its versatility is in its well planned reversals of door opening to extensions. It looks like wrought iron and appears to be painted and primed. I would recommend anyone needing a restraint at a door opening to buy this product. September 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great to contain 4 month old lab puppies We bought 3 of these gates to contain our puppies in what we call their playroom. We removed our dining room table and replaced it with the crate we use for their comfort while we are gone. The walk through doors are great for us to go from the kitchen to the living room. They look nice and all of our puppy visitors have a easy time going from room to room. May 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy/barrier This is the second freestanding pet barrier we purchased. The first one is used between the kitchen and the den, and this one is to protect the space for our cat to have access for the master bedroom and the living room area. The barrier is heavy and prevents our 50 lb. dog from getting to the cat as well as we can easily "walk" through the gate. No more climbing over baby gates. It is easy to assemble. It took about 10 minutes, My only suggestion is centering the door would be beneficial, though the construction might be less sturdy. May 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Excellent gate and has adjustable width. Nice height and good quality with professional finish. Well made and sturdy, does not tip of slide our of place. Gate option is wonderful and is just a tad bit difficult to open and lift if you don't have both hands free. But we just don't latch it all the time so that we can just swing it open. I so wish i had found this before we went through every other gate in all the pet stores which did not work at all. Thank you Frontgate. April 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Purchase - Perfect for Our Needs Our 3' tall Golden Doodle is strong and enjoys a challenge. Finn immediately saw that he couldn't open the door on his own and that the gate was heavy so he hasn't even tried to move it. The fixtures in our home are oil-rubbed bronze, so most people don't notice the gate and those that do comment on how nicely it matches our decor. We also take it outside onto the deck to keep Finn contained. It works perfectly there, also and is easily moved. This is the perfect gate to fit our needs and match our fixtures and decor. It was a great first purchase from Front Gate. I won't think twice about my next purchase. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful & sturdy We have a Prairie Style home and a German Shepherd who enjoys the run of the house. That said she can can also serve as a hazard when she is sound asleep in the hallway at night. The heavy weight fence is a beautiful way to ensure she still can patrol a portion of the house at night, but not be a danger underfoot in our nighttime area. December 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Barrier Gate Very high quality barrier and gate. Heavy duty. We thought we would have to anchor it to the walls for our very rambunctious dogs, but it really stays put! The gate latch is a tad bit cumbersome, but better it be cumbersome than easy to open! Overall, it is the best gate and an incredible value! December 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Barrier Perfect, was just what we wanted and thought we would have to have a custom gate for this spot. Great looking, quality and was shipped quickly. Thanks Frontgate for another amazing product. December 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice product I was tired of having a child gate leaned up against the walls to keep the dogs from sneaking down the hall way. Every time I went to step over it, I would catch my foot and about break my neck when it pulled the gate down. I just needed a gate that could be free standing but that was not five or six feet wide...I just had a hall way entrance to block. I found this gate...heavy, durable material that was easily assembled. Very nice in appearance, actually complements the rustic decor of the house. The walk through gate is easy to use and we now don't even latch it, just leave it closed...the dogs don't try it and we can get through even with our hands full. I would definitely recommend this product. November 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Barrier Very pleased with the looks, and performance of this gate, does what it should while looking good. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this Gate. Ordered another one! Great product! Love this gate for our large doorways. We use it free standing although it can be attached to the wall if you choose. It is well made and can be adjusted to any size that is stated. Easy to assemble too. We use these to keep our medium/large size dogs out of our living room and dining room. Even though it states not for children, if we mounted to the wall, I would use for our grandchildren. The gate can lock and they would not be able to work the gate themselves. November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 36" dog gate I got this dog gate 3 or 4 days ago. It was very easy to put together. The trickiest part was getting the boxes up the stairs. The boxes are not really heavy just awkward because of their size. The instructions took me a minute to understand but once I figured them out it was very simple. These gates come with very solid mounting hardware so they can be freestanding or mounted. Bonus. The gaps between the rails are 21/2" wide. The gate swings in one direction. I have two miniature schnauzer mixes that weight about 12 lbs. each and stand about 27" tall on their hind legs and they go crazy when they see a dog. There is no way they are going to knock these gates over and I have them freestanding. These also look great in my opinion. Our home was built in 2006 and this metal looks great with our existing metal railing (which is brown) on our front porch(yes I'm using them outside even thought they are intended to be indoor). The gate closures don't feel heavy duty but they are adequate. I bought 2 gates at first and I now just bought another. Very happy with my initial purchase. November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet gate Oh my gosh, I absolutely love this gate. I have a Yorkie and he is a runner. Needed something that looked very nice and rich looking. I found it with this gate. It looks so very nice and looks so much better than I thought. If you are looking for a nice looking gate than look no further you have found it. October 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by sturdy and stylish pet gate There's nothing attractive about blocking a hallway with a pet gate, but at least this one is good looking and matches my decor. It is very sturdy. Although the dimensions say width of 54 3/4 to 68 1/2", even with a doorway opening of 50" I had to use the extension panel. That piece is required to attach the sides, so unfortunately the gate is heavier and not as clean-looking as it would be without the extension panel overlapping the main panel. It took a little practice to open the gate with one hand but now everyone can do it (except the dogs, of course). October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very well-made This gate is solid, easy to assemble, and it looks good as a piece of furniture. It is a good solution for high jumpers, as my little Italian Greyhound is - she quickly negotiated 2 shorter gates before I got this one. However, she is also a skinny little thing, and managed to squeeze her body about half way through, when I caught her! So, sadly, I had to return it. But I would recommend it for dogs who cannot slink through a 2-inch gap. October 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent--good for bigger dogs. These gates introduced me to Frontgate several years ago. I was hooked, after receiving these good-looking, tall, high-quality dog gates that allowed us to keep our pups contained. We still use them to this day and many people ask where we got them. They look a little fancier, which I'd hoped to find. Truly well-made. September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate Very nice free standing gate. Good value for the money. Heavy weight. Only complaint is that it doesn't stay open by itself but we rigged it to stay open. In the next design, you could add a latch. August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Gate you will ever buy This gate is wonderful. It is made very sturdy and I absolutely love that you can walk through it. I was able to put it together in about 20 min. The gate does not stay open on its own so I went to the hardware store and got a black hook that I tied on to the door and when I want to keep the door open I just hook it to the side. The best thing about this gate is the way it looks. Every person that comes in my house comments about how expensive looking the gate is. May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Gate that Works I have been looking for a year for a good looking iron gate to block our young English setters from going down our very wide open staircase. We didn't want to have to attach anything to the stairs. When the pups grow up we can remove the gate. It works great and is easy for us to go through if we need to go downstairs. Definitely fits the bill. May 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by doggie gate This gate is awesome. I have 2 small dogs but one of them can really jump. It keeps them secure while they can still see everything and be a part of the action. The gate opens easily and it looks super. It was also easy to assemble. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best gate for very large dogs This is the 2nd gate like this that I have purchased as I now need the 2nd gate to keep my 3 extra large dogs (St Bernard, Great Pyrennees, and Aussie/German Shep Mix) out of other areas of the house. The 1st barrier/gate was purchased 4 yrs ago and still looks/works great. I have purchased other barriers in the past, and this is the best one so far. Price is completely worth it. These look nice too. April 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Gate this gate is so awesome that I was able to use it outside between my hedges. I am going to order two more. Cheaper that having someone install gates!! March 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Purchase This gate works great to keep our dog from going down stairs. This gate is the perfect weight so that our dog can't move it around. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good choice I have tried another free standing gate but this one is the best looking and very sturdy. The pass through door makes it so convenient. It also does not mark up the walls. March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! We have 3 dogs, a German Shepherd (large dog), an American Eskimo (medium dog) and a Boxer mix (small dog). We had two of the old gates screwed together to make a big one. We needed a larger opening gate to go across the kitchen so we decided to buy this one. We absolutely love it! It's easy to install and easy to use. Absolutely love the door on it, which sometimes we leave open and the little dog will put her nose in it and open the door. Dogs seem to love it too and stick their noses through it to say hello. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I wanted and needed My 4 month old miniature schnauzer figured out how to bat her paw at our previous gate and open it. After having the house painted, we did not want a gate that had to be permanently all ached to the wall, and this fence was, and is absolutely perfect. Highly recommend. February 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate! I have a little Papillion that managed to either jump or scooch around all the free standing gates I'd bought. This one has held up to the Bandit test. It was easy to put together and well worth the money! February 5, 2014
  • 2016-10-30 T05:25:52.971-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_223, tr_223
  • loc_en_US, sid_31077, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
(33 Questions : 62 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers
why does it say not recommended for stairways
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
5 months, 4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Probably for liability/safety reasons you would not want this at the top of stairs. At the bottom, it would probably be okay. You do need to have use of your hands without debilitating arthritis to unlatch the gate. You use your thumb to unlock it by sliding the lock mechanism sideways, then you lift up the door slightly to uplift the pin at the bottom; you can do this in a smooth motion with one hand. It will self-lock if allowed to close by itself; it will also "rest" closed enough without locking if you appose the door gate gently.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
4 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DecorHound is loaded.
Additional information about DecorHound could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item should not be placed at the top of a staircase, and should be put far enough away from the bottom that your pet will not try to jump over it.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
How do you order the actual 34 inch item advertised since it lists three sizes and only lets you select the 20 inch height options for purchase?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
This product is very confusing. It's called a 34 inch gate. The dimensions list 3 gates. One is 34 inches high and 55 - 68 in. width. The other two are 20 inches higher with varying widths. However, you can only select one of the two 20 in high gates to order on this page. How are customers supposed to order the 34 inch gate advertised in the picture?
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. To order this gate simply select the quantity from the drop down and the then the first "Add to Cart" button. The 34" gate only comes in one size, so there is no "Choose Size" option for this gate as there is for the 20" gate.
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
3 answers
Is this more of a black or a brown?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about renedawn is loaded.
Additional information about renedawn could not be loaded.
Looking for glossy black to match our stair railings. Thanks!
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about renedawn is loaded.
Additional information about renedawn could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
It is not black - or glossy. Very nice - deep rich brownish hue.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item has an oil-rubbed bronze finish; it has a darker distressed finish over the bronze colored frame.
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
More of a brown; technically, it is a "bronzed" finish.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
4 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DecorHound is loaded.
Additional information about DecorHound could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers
Horizontal opening at base of door
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mojoken is loaded.
Additional information about Mojoken could not be loaded.
What are the dimensions of the opening at base of the door itself? Is an adult cat likely to get through it?
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mojoken is loaded.
Additional information about Mojoken could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. The horizontal openings on the door are approximately 2"H.
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Answer: 
I am not in front of my gate at this time, but I do have three cats and they can not get through unless the door itself is opened.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers
Of what materials is the frame fabricated?
Customer avatar
by
Miami, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cocoasmom is loaded.
Additional information about Cocoasmom could not be loaded.
Please explain if this is an all metal gate/fence, or if it has a wood frame. I need all metal bc my puppy chews like crazy and would damage a wood frame.
1 year, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Miami, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cocoasmom is loaded.
Additional information about Cocoasmom could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
No wood - all metal
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item is handcrafted of powder coated tubular steel.
1 year, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 next>>
  • 2016-10-30 T05:25:26.539-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_31077, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:31077-34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate
The Frontgate Credit CardNow Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]