Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

36"H Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
36"H Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 240.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny I have two willful (but totally lovable) long haired dachshunds. When I adopted them at 4 months old, and just 10 pounds, they quickly broke a lesser quality wooden gate that I hoped would confine them to the kitchen area while at work. I had to resort to a crate which was large and ugly, but filled a need for the past year. I had been searching for a strong, durable gate that would fit a 72 inch opening and also be "furniture" quality. There are not many good options out there to choose from. This gate met all my needs and then some. I had a neighbor help me assemble it as it was a bit heavy and the instructions not that clear. Once set up and in place I had several opportunities to see how well the gate does the job and kept my boys, now 15 pounds, contained. When I am home I tie a ribbon around to door to allow us to move from room to room. And when I am away from home, I now leave with confidence knowing all is well!!! I am very happy to have found this beautiful and sturdy gate and consider it money well spent.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I have 3 dogs, who need to be separated at times. This gate is aesthetically pleasing and sturdy. I am VERY happy with this!!
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Pet Gate This is the perfect gate for anyone needing something attractive and large enough for bigger dogs and larger spaces. Love that it's a freestanding gate and that I don't have to ruin my walls. It's also nice and heavy so our dogs cannot move it like other freestanding gates, and it has a door so we can walk through. It is perfect for our needs.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what we needed Just got a new puppy and wanted to limit what rooms he could go to. This was the nicest thing we saw. Very easy for us to walk though, adjustable size and easy to assemble. Extremely pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality The quality is very nice... but beware that the instructions are a bit of a challenge as the diagrams are tiny and unclear. I also don't understand why they call it freestanding when they send brackets that have to be drilled into the wall.. I've not attached mine to the wall yet, because it requires tools to remove it away from the opening if say you wanted to move it when guests came over. It's a bit deceiving regarding that description of freestanding... my 2 yr old grandson was pulling on it and banging it against the wall but it didn't tip over. I believe it needs attaching to the wall, but I've hired a handyman to come up with a way to attach it where it could be easily removed if desired. I would buy again, regardless of this little snafu...
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality gate! This is the most attractive, sturdy, pet gate on the market. We placed it in Our foyer to protect our front doors when visitors come. it is standing in place and the door is extremely secure. it doesn't look like a cheap pet gate, rather it is quite attractive considering it's purpose.
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks good very effective Easy to put together.. looks good and is very durable..nothing more to say
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality I have had my gates now for almost 2 years and they still look as good as when i bought them. They are by far the best gates for my pets and also for the small children that come to visit.I highly recommend them to anyone who is considering buying them ,they are well worth the money!
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, just what we needed Sturdy and beautiful free-standing gate. It took a while for me to put it together by myself, but I did get it together; directions were decent, but required intuition on my part, as it wasn't all spelled out, detail by detail. I am purchasing more to make my own "pen" for an elderly disabled pet that has frequent "accidents".
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gate ever! We ordered four of the pet gates for four of our neighbors who had seen ours. They all love the gate and have commented on the outstanding quality. Thank you for offering this gate as there is nothing as good anywhere!!
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality We love our pets, but... Didn't really want to have to get a gate to keep the dogs out but since we did, this gate is the perfect gate to get. Good looking, sturdy and fit our large opening.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate meets expectations We bought this gate to keep our dogs in our bedroom at night without having to close the double doors to the room. We like the air circulation with the doors open, but we regularly foster dogs and don't want them roaming the house while we sleep. The gate and the door in the gate work like a charm. It was easy to assemble and very well built. I would highly recommend!
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gate This gate was well made and we absolutely love the finish. EZ to install and we are very pleased with Frontgate.
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Perfect for our needs and puppy control. Looks good, too!
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freestanding Pet Barrier with Door Wonderful product! Everything (and more) that we had hoped it would be. Delivery was timely. I would definitely order from this company again.
Date published: 2015-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So thrilled with our purchase This free-standing gate was the absolute answer to our "problem" - a puppy who could clear almost any height gate.......except this one! Love it.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect solution for a pet free room The freestanding pet barrier was easy to assemble and looks great. We love the walk-through door! It makes it so easy for everyone (pet and humans) to go from one room to the other.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fence for dog It is well made and heavy enough to restrain large 75 pound greyhound. Its versatility is in its well planned reversals of door opening to extensions. It looks like wrought iron and appears to be painted and primed. I would recommend anyone needing a restraint at a door opening to buy this product.
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great to contain 4 month old lab puppies We bought 3 of these gates to contain our puppies in what we call their playroom. We removed our dining room table and replaced it with the crate we use for their comfort while we are gone. The walk through doors are great for us to go from the kitchen to the living room. They look nice and all of our puppy visitors have a easy time going from room to room.
Date published: 2015-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy/barrier This is the second freestanding pet barrier we purchased. The first one is used between the kitchen and the den, and this one is to protect the space for our cat to have access for the master bedroom and the living room area. The barrier is heavy and prevents our 50 lb. dog from getting to the cat as well as we can easily "walk" through the gate. No more climbing over baby gates. It is easy to assemble. It took about 10 minutes, My only suggestion is centering the door would be beneficial, though the construction might be less sturdy.
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Excellent gate and has adjustable width. Nice height and good quality with professional finish. Well made and sturdy, does not tip of slide our of place. Gate option is wonderful and is just a tad bit difficult to open and lift if you don't have both hands free. But we just don't latch it all the time so that we can just swing it open. I so wish i had found this before we went through every other gate in all the pet stores which did not work at all. Thank you Frontgate.
Date published: 2015-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase - Perfect for Our Needs Our 3' tall Golden Doodle is strong and enjoys a challenge. Finn immediately saw that he couldn't open the door on his own and that the gate was heavy so he hasn't even tried to move it. The fixtures in our home are oil-rubbed bronze, so most people don't notice the gate and those that do comment on how nicely it matches our decor. We also take it outside onto the deck to keep Finn contained. It works perfectly there, also and is easily moved. This is the perfect gate to fit our needs and match our fixtures and decor. It was a great first purchase from Front Gate. I won't think twice about my next purchase.
Date published: 2015-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful & sturdy We have a Prairie Style home and a German Shepherd who enjoys the run of the house. That said she can can also serve as a hazard when she is sound asleep in the hallway at night. The heavy weight fence is a beautiful way to ensure she still can patrol a portion of the house at night, but not be a danger underfoot in our nighttime area.
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Barrier Gate Very high quality barrier and gate. Heavy duty. We thought we would have to anchor it to the walls for our very rambunctious dogs, but it really stays put! The gate latch is a tad bit cumbersome, but better it be cumbersome than easy to open! Overall, it is the best gate and an incredible value!
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Barrier Perfect, was just what we wanted and thought we would have to have a custom gate for this spot. Great looking, quality and was shipped quickly. Thanks Frontgate for another amazing product.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice product I was tired of having a child gate leaned up against the walls to keep the dogs from sneaking down the hall way. Every time I went to step over it, I would catch my foot and about break my neck when it pulled the gate down. I just needed a gate that could be free standing but that was not five or six feet wide...I just had a hall way entrance to block. I found this gate...heavy, durable material that was easily assembled. Very nice in appearance, actually complements the rustic decor of the house. The walk through gate is easy to use and we now don't even latch it, just leave it closed...the dogs don't try it and we can get through even with our hands full. I would definitely recommend this product.
Date published: 2014-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Barrier Very pleased with the looks, and performance of this gate, does what it should while looking good.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Gate. Ordered another one! Great product! Love this gate for our large doorways. We use it free standing although it can be attached to the wall if you choose. It is well made and can be adjusted to any size that is stated. Easy to assemble too. We use these to keep our medium/large size dogs out of our living room and dining room. Even though it states not for children, if we mounted to the wall, I would use for our grandchildren. The gate can lock and they would not be able to work the gate themselves.
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 36" dog gate I got this dog gate 3 or 4 days ago. It was very easy to put together. The trickiest part was getting the boxes up the stairs. The boxes are not really heavy just awkward because of their size. The instructions took me a minute to understand but once I figured them out it was very simple. These gates come with very solid mounting hardware so they can be freestanding or mounted. Bonus. The gaps between the rails are 21/2" wide. The gate swings in one direction. I have two miniature schnauzer mixes that weight about 12 lbs. each and stand about 27" tall on their hind legs and they go crazy when they see a dog. There is no way they are going to knock these gates over and I have them freestanding. These also look great in my opinion. Our home was built in 2006 and this metal looks great with our existing metal railing (which is brown) on our front porch(yes I'm using them outside even thought they are intended to be indoor). The gate closures don't feel heavy duty but they are adequate. I bought 2 gates at first and I now just bought another. Very happy with my initial purchase.
Date published: 2014-11-07
  • y_2017, m_6, d_24, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_228
  • loc_, sid_31077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

What length are the side returns of this and also it appears the gate can be on either side .. correct? Can the gate be in the middle also?

Asked by: s2pilot
The side returns are exactly 11" long. We assembled ours about 11 months ago, but I don't "think" you can have the gate on either side. Also, the gate's placement depends on how much or how little you expand the gate. See my pic - mine is spanning a 55" width (with more room available), so it puts the gate more to the side). The gate will fall wherever it does, based on how wide you make the gate - it can't be changed. But this is an AMAZING product and we love it!!
Answered by: cnazanimals
Date published: 2014-11-08

why does it say not recommended for stairways

isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
Asked by: tonys
We have ours at the top of two steps from dinning room to living room and it works perfect
Answered by: dograiser
Date published: 2017-03-11

how secure is the latch on the gate?

I'm wondering if the latch is secure enough to prevent a child from accidently opening the gate for the dog? Can you give a little more detail on how you open the latch (magnetic, squeeze and pull up, etc)? thank you!
Asked by: erinS
The latch is 2 parts, to be opened with one-hand. There were no instructions on this, so I had to figure it out. Use your thumb on the slide thumb-piece to unlock this horizontal slide pin, then slightly lift up to unlatch the lower pin. So, it is a smooth, one-handed, 2-part motion to unlatch and open the gate. It will automatically close and re-latch on its own if given it's own "weight"; I can prevent the door from automatically re-latching by apposing it gently. I can see if one had debilitating arthritis in the hand it might be hard to operate.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20

Does the gate swing shut automatically?

I have two young kids, and I'm afraid they'll plow through without shutting the gate behind themselves. Does it swing shut automatically?
Asked by: jenbelle
Yes, it will shut automatically unless you gently appose the door to the gate, where you can (intentionally) prevent it from latching/locking.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20

Of what materials is the frame fabricated?

Please explain if this is an all metal gate/fence, or if it has a wood frame. I need all metal bc my puppy chews like crazy and would damage a wood frame.
Asked by: Cocoasmom
Frame is all metal. Gate mechanism, fasteners, all of it.
Answered by: RunCarloRun
Date published: 2017-03-19
  • y_2017, m_6, d_24, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_36
  • loc_, sid_31077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:31077-36"H Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate

36"H Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door

Freestanding Pet Barrier in Bronze

Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]