Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Pet ProductsHome
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 220 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate This product is great - looks good, high quality manufacture, and very easy to assemble. Plenty tall enough to keep dogs from jumping on or over it, and the gate makes it very convenient for humans. Highly satisfied! January 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice gate Solid,easy to assemble, came quickly after ordering. We also got the spring loaded gate for the smaller opening in the kitchen. January 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smart purchase Stylish, durable gate. We got our gate just in time for Christmas and our guests loved them and wanted to know where we purchased our gate. More importantly, our precious pets know their boundaries. January 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by dog gate Great quality, sturdy, looks nice. The only thing that is a little tricky is the way you lift the gate to open it. I couldn't find anything that I liked better, or that was wide enough for the area we are using it for. Over all a great purchase. January 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog gate works great Because this gate is going to be a part of the interior of our home for a number of months, we needed it to be not only sturdy (a growing Samoyed) but also attractive and of high quality. This product did not disappoint, and we are very pleased with it (once we remembered it was there and no longer ran into it in the dark!). The only aspect of it we wish were different, is if the gate could be 6" wider for easier pass through. December 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by pet barrier This freestanding pet barrier with the walk-through door is amazing. Not only is it functional, but it is very attractive and fits in with our decor. We are using it on our front porch. If we needed another 'barrier' I would not hesitate to purchase another. Excellent price, super delivery and comes in different styles. Love it! December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We'll worth it Sturdy and great looking! We bought 3 sets and love them. November 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by More Than Just a Pet Barrier Although designed and marketed as a barrier for pets, we decided to give this product a try for our two grandchildren, who are just starting to walk. I read the reviews, and purchased this gate understanding that it would not be suitable for isolating a staircase due to the way the gate opens. However, with a minimal effort I drilled four additional holes in the gate, which has allowed us to set it up in a manner to safequard the grandkids from getting to the stairs, and the gate now opens away from the staircase. I also used the neat mounting plates supplied by Frontgate to make this gate so sturdy that they cannot even move it when they decide to "yank" back and forth on it. If you are the least bit handy, you CAN adapt this gate to keep the little ones off the stairs. Thank you Frontgate for manufacturing a product that was so easy to adapt to our needs. October 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier We couldn't ask for a nicer gate! Thanks Frontgate! October 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Gates Sturdy, easy to put together and the perfect solution for keeping my dogs on the deck or out of a room. I would recommend them to anyone. The perfect temporary solution without having to install a barrier. I use mine in the house and out. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier Excellent product. Has helped us with a difficult situation that has been a problem for several years. Our dog barks less now and does not nip at your heels due to the ease of control the gate has given us. Great Job on this. thanks August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate! This was a great purchase, it looks nice and sturdy and keeps back two labs and a pug! I would highly recommend. July 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Attractive Finish and very sturdy I put two of these together to form a large area for my new Golden Retriever puppy . The gates open so easily and they are very substantial so they do not move even when my puppy jumps. He does not chew on the metal.The door on the gate has a latch as well as a lock - both really easy to use and very well made. I just ordered another. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value This sturdy gate is perfect for blocking off our wide hallway to prevent our exuberant lab puppy from accessing the more formal areas of our home. The gate is easy to operate single handed, once you know how... our guests have been a little baffled by it. Ours arrived with a bent bottom pin that didn't align properly, but that was easily fixed with a pair of pliers. Aesthetically, it fits nicely in our 7000 sf home. Today, I'm ordering the matching smaller doorway gate to replace the light wood & white plastic one we have there currently. May 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate! We almost lost our little cat when the wind blew open our front door because the latch hadn't caught completely. This gate is amazing. It has essentially turned our foyer into a large vestibule so guests can enter without letting our treasured kitty escape. It's easy to put together, very well made, and nice looking! It's worth every penny knowing I can have peace of mind knowing that we won't lose our furry friend. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really, really a great gate! This is a wonderful looking freestanding metal barrier/gate. The look and feel is sturdy and, we are hoping, "chew proof"! (We also have a very similar great looking/functioning gate that is made of wood and wire. The difference for us is that the wood on this barrier/gate was attractive for the dogs to chew.) We highly recommend this metal barrier/gate and would buy it again. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Gate! Product is just as described and pictured - very nice quality and appearance, heavy duty material & construction and seems as though it will last for years. Good value for the dollar. March 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice Freestanding Pet Gate This pet gate is wonderful. Works very well. We use it to keep the dogs off people coming in the front door. Its very cute that they are so intersted in whos at the door that they don't realize they could just run around the other side of the living room to get to the door! But it holds up just fine to 2 Bostons and a Great Dane. December 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful dog pet gate I needed to gate off our living room from our terrier. All the standard barriers and gates were ugly, cheap looking and generally unworkable. We came across the Frontgate Freestanding Pet Barrier. It is a beautiful bronze colored almost black metal barrier that is completely adjustable. The added advantage is that it has an easy and secure walk-through door allowing quick access to the room in which it is set up. Love it! December 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Gate for Big Dogs I raise and breed Bernese Mtn Dogs. I have searched for an attractive, tall gate with a door that has the flexibility of being both free standing or fixed. In general my dogs are not jumpers, so the 36-inch gating works very well for me. I had just called a carpenter to build/install gating with door for my back hall but I am calling him back to say don't bother. I have purchased two of these and will likely purchase another one or two. Some I will fix to the walls (back hall) and others I will use as free standing (bedrooms). The adjustable (wide) width is super with an open floor plan. My only suggestion for its design is that it would be nice if the overall gate position could be left or right (current design is left) . November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice - great looking, as promised Great looking pet gate. Nice bronze, oil rubbed metal - looks great in home; and, great improvement over adjustable we'd used previously. Can expand to be quite wide. Has heft / weight to it; but, not so much that it is difficult to move about the house. Gate is great - and worth the extra $$$ to have versus those without. Arrived on time. August 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love It! Sturdy and beautiful gate that doesn't require being mounted onto wall. Met all my expectations and fits our wide entry well. July 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice! Gate is heavy, quality construction. It keeps my Giant Schnauzers off my doors and out of restricted areas ...and even looks great in my home! July 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by wrought iron pet gate We love our wrought iron pet gate. It looks very classy and we love the quality. We use it for our grandbaby and Alaskan malamutes to keep them apart. July 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Gate - bronze finish (antique) This gate is gorgeous! Simple to secure to opening, adjusts quite a bit for size, and looks so beautiful. I have a lanai I finished into a den and it's off the living room/kitchen...want to keep the two little dogs I have in their own area when I have company and this is perfect. It's classy and has upscale finishes and design. Material is first quality. A great value for the money - shipped right away, quick assemby. You can't go wrong w/this purchase. July 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Execellent Pet Gate I love this gate! This is actually the second one I have purchased because I used the first one and was so impressed. I have two GSPs and a Chocolate Lab - this gate keeps all three adult pups safe from harm and from moving into areas of the house where they could be destructive.. It is sturdy, perfect height, adjustable and mimics the iron staircase in my entryway. I love that we can walk through the accessable door so my family doesn't have to move the barrier each time we want to pass on the other side. However, while it is robust and keeps the pets at bay it is still light enough to move easily when necessary. Great gate for staircases and entryways without doors. Love, love, love! July 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Purchase ever We love this product. We bought it to keep our dogs from going upstairs, since that area is carpeted. We only use the front section and zip-tie it to the staircase. It truly looks like part of the stairs. If we need to take the gate down, we simply cut the ties and then re-install with new ones after we have finished our project. We have recommended this to many of our friends, once they realize it is not part of the stair case. July 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent extra long gate attractive and functiona This is an attractive freestanding barrier in our foyer. When we had a pet run through the foyer doors and get hit by a car, I was told of the Frontgate website. I ordered it immediately. It has given me confidence that once the pets go through the double doors to the foyer they are kept from running out the door when someone is out the door. It stops them from going any further. So happy I ordered it. Thanks for making it available. June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product I have been looking for a gate this size and finally found it. This gate is very solid and stable. April 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE this gate - beautiful and sturdy! I am beyond pleased with this gate - it is perfect for our new custom home! The material is high quality with a beautiful finish, and it's extremely sturdy and barely slides at all, even though it's on hardwood floors. The walk-through gate is perfect, only improvement would be if the manufacturer would create a way for you to hold the gate open. You can "kind of' keep it open but it does still swing partially closed about 1/4 of the way. However, it stays open enough for my dog to walk through when I want him to be able to do so. It looks so sturdy, he doesn't even try to move it and I doubt he could. We were concerned because the preferred hallway area was narrower than the narrowest setting, but we were able to "overlap" the hallway wall at the end of the hallway, and so the size ended up working fine. I am so glad I purchased this product and absolutely love it! (husband grumbled alot putting it together, though - can be a little confusing to assemble) March 7, 2012
  • 2016-08-25 T11:49:42.368-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_220, tr_220
  • loc_en_US, sid_31077, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
(33 Questions : 62 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers
why does it say not recommended for stairways
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
3 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Probably for liability/safety reasons you would not want this at the top of stairs. At the bottom, it would probably be okay. You do need to have use of your hands without debilitating arthritis to unlatch the gate. You use your thumb to unlock it by sliding the lock mechanism sideways, then you lift up the door slightly to uplift the pin at the bottom; you can do this in a smooth motion with one hand. It will self-lock if allowed to close by itself; it will also "rest" closed enough without locking if you appose the door gate gently.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DecorHound is loaded.
Additional information about DecorHound could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item should not be placed at the top of a staircase, and should be put far enough away from the bottom that your pet will not try to jump over it.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
How do you order the actual 34 inch item advertised since it lists three sizes and only lets you select the 20 inch height options for purchase?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
This product is very confusing. It's called a 34 inch gate. The dimensions list 3 gates. One is 34 inches high and 55 - 68 in. width. The other two are 20 inches higher with varying widths. However, you can only select one of the two 20 in high gates to order on this page. How are customers supposed to order the 34 inch gate advertised in the picture?
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. To order this gate simply select the quantity from the drop down and the then the first "Add to Cart" button. The 34" gate only comes in one size, so there is no "Choose Size" option for this gate as there is for the 20" gate.
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
3 answers
Is this more of a black or a brown?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about renedawn is loaded.
Additional information about renedawn could not be loaded.
Looking for glossy black to match our stair railings. Thanks!
1 year, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about renedawn is loaded.
Additional information about renedawn could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
It is not black - or glossy. Very nice - deep rich brownish hue.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item has an oil-rubbed bronze finish; it has a darker distressed finish over the bronze colored frame.
1 year, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
More of a brown; technically, it is a "bronzed" finish.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DecorHound is loaded.
Additional information about DecorHound could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers
Horizontal opening at base of door
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mojoken is loaded.
Additional information about Mojoken could not be loaded.
What are the dimensions of the opening at base of the door itself? Is an adult cat likely to get through it?
1 year, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mojoken is loaded.
Additional information about Mojoken could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
I am not in front of my gate at this time, but I do have three cats and they can not get through unless the door itself is opened.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. The horizontal openings on the door are approximately 2"H.
1 year, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
2 answers
Of what materials is the frame fabricated?
Customer avatar
by
Miami, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cocoasmom is loaded.
Additional information about Cocoasmom could not be loaded.
Please explain if this is an all metal gate/fence, or if it has a wood frame. I need all metal bc my puppy chews like crazy and would damage a wood frame.
1 year, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Miami, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Cocoasmom is loaded.
Additional information about Cocoasmom could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
No wood - all metal
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EKMG is loaded.
Additional information about EKMG could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item is handcrafted of powder coated tubular steel.
1 year, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
  • 2016-08-25 T11:48:58.388-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_31077, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:31077-34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???