Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Pet ProductsHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 233.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Perfect for what we needed and no drilling required.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional and beautiful This gate is not only very functional but beautiful. I do not enjoy having gates inside of my home but needed something to contain my Doberman Pinscher. I bought this gate and also the matching, more narrow version. The iron quality is very pretty and has a slightly distressed look that matches my decor. I could not find prettier gates anywhere else.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Large Pet Gate We purchased 2 gates from Frontage for 2 separate areas. The gates match all of our decor and blend in nicely as they are in focal points of our home. The smaller wall mounted gate is wonderful and when set up correctly will swing shut on it's own. The 34" freestanding gate fits the space nicely but it does not shut on it's own so if my 11 and 14 year olds pass through it, they rarely stop to shut it and all 3 dogs push through it into our formal living space and upstairs where we don't want them. It takes some effort to shut the door. You have to pull back and lift. For this reason, and this reason only I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5.
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent quality Impressed with the quality and style. I was really wanting something "sturdy" but freestanding (although it also comes with hardware to attach it to the wall). This fits the bill. Only taking off a star because I wish there was more flexibility in where the gate location is/direction of swing and having the option to connect the short side sections (the ones that support it) either direction. There is really only one way to put it together. The overall width is the only thing that can be changed. With that said, I went ahead and ordered a second one for another area of my house.
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pet Barrier This product was easy to set up and very nice looking in our home. I like that the gate can be easily moved to different locations/doorways. It is heavy enough to keep our small dog contained. The only drawback has been that there are times I want to keep the walk-through door open so our pet can move freely around the house with us. We have a small rock to prop open the door when we do this...I understand the reason of having the door swing closed but it would be helpful to be able to leave open at times. The width of the walk-through door opening is a little small but workable. A larger person may find it troublesome. Besides these small criticisms we have enjoyed using this pet barrier. Nice looking gate and functions well for us.
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gate! This gate is pretty and functions perfectly - that is, it keeps our dogs confined to one area. The gate that opens is heavy and a little difficult to open, but it certainly works and serves the purpose. I'm glad the quality matches the price!
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 36" Dog Barrier Gate w/Walk-Through Door Well made/great quality gate! Works very well with our new puppy and decor blends wonderfully in our home. Only wish is the door lock clicks automatically upon closing, so there's no chance of our puppy pushing through the unlocked gate to get through.
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good buy works well I purchased this gate to give my cats an area where my dogs wouldn't bother them. So far it has worked beautifully. Not hard to assemble. I set it up exactly where I had planned. I have three large sized dogs and they respect the gate.
Date published: 2014-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good buy The only minor problem with the gate is that it swings only one way. It would be nice if the gate could be altered to either set the hinges on either side of the gate, or allow the gate to swing either inward or outward. Other than that, the product is excellent.
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from just the trick We've got an 80lb giant schnoodle who loves to rush the door when the door bell rings, but she respects this gate. It was easy to put together, but sturdy enough to take a couple of paws, and light enough to maneuver around without totally disassembling. I don't know how it would hold if she jumped up on it, but its rigid enough not to buckle when you open the gate to pass through and the mechanism keeps its alignment without fiddling around to find it.
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy Easy to put together. Nice and sturdy.
Date published: 2012-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful but tricky gate I purchased this gate to spare my carpeted areas from our chihuahua. It has worked wonders. However the gate mechanism doesn't work as well as the gate I purchased for the narrower doorway. The other gate closes easily, but I have to manually lift this gate to close it. It would be great if they both functioned as easily. The gate is beautiful and matches my wrought iron stair railings, pairing it perfectly in my home.
Date published: 2012-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I bought it This pet barrier is just what we needed to keep our 90 lb. Lab safe and secure while we're away from the house. It is versitle and sturdy, even as a freestanding gate. The quality and design were both up to our expections.
Date published: 2012-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Freestanding pet gate I have a friend who owns one, so purchased one myself. We knew it would be perfect for our new home. Wonderful service also. Thank you.
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pet Barrier with Gate Gate is sturdy, looks good, and works well. However, it REALLY needs levelers and levelers would greatly enhance stability. Considering the possible width of the gate, floor levels can change a lot. I have a 50-year old house, and some areas just aren't level. But I still like it a lot, and I plan to buy another one for a 2nd area in my house.
Date published: 2012-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality - Nice, sturdy and attractive at a decent price. Easy to assemble, and gate works well. No disappointments here. Will serve it's intended temporary purpose until puppy is house broken.
Date published: 2011-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps the dogs under control Works great to keep our dogs away from the main entryway in our home. Really happy that this product has a walkthru gate that is easy to use.
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nicest I have seen one or 2 flaws I had been wanting to purchase this gate since I bought my house 6 months ago. It was on sale recently and I jumped on it. You won't find a nicer gate on any pet website. Only real issue i had was the spring loaded latch on the gate itself. You have to make sure each end of the gate is straight and not angled at all but even then it seems like the latch is a tad to long to close properly when it hits the gate. It's supposed to hit the angled metal on the gate and push the latch backwards. I found it locking at the bottom which is a different mechanism, but the top the latch wouldn't hit the angled metal on the gate because it was to long and wouldn't hit the angled piece on the other side. I took off the panel to the latch(which is nice that you can actually do that.) And put a small screw through the latch (it's plastic ) to keep the latch from sticking out as far. The gate works perfectly now. My dogs hate it. =)
Date published: 2011-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Stand Alone Gate My family needed to block off 2 entrances to our kitchen and we used for the larger one. It's by far the most attractive gate we found and it works very well. The door feature is wonderful and it's a good purchase. The only cons are that it doesn't have anyway to really "stay put" since it's stand alone.
Date published: 2011-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good looking, sturdy gate This gate is very nice looking as compared to other "cheap" plastic gates. It's easy to assemble and is pretty sturdy as well. It's holding my 12 week old Golden "in" nicely but the idea is that it'll continue to be sufficient for when he's full grown. I'm pretty confident that it will work fine. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I wish it was built such that the door would swing open both ways. I purchased another matching exanding gate that fits in a standard doorway and the door on that swings both ways. It's more convenient to use that way.
Date published: 2011-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Now happy with gate After a second attempt, the gate is finally together and we are happy with it. First attempt had a wrong part!!!
Date published: 2010-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pet barrier I like this item and have two of them. However now you advertise a cheaper white one and it may be lighter in weight. The two I have are a bit heavy to move and that is what I do, move them when I have company. My dogs are small and therefore I do not need the rod iron one. On the other hand they are very attractive and are not noticed right off when you come into the house. MUCH better than the kind you attatch to the walls either through screwing or pressure bolts. I would reccomend this to people with all dogs including large but not agressive dogs. I have given this item a rating of four and that is because I would like the hatch to be a bit easier to work. BUT if you had a dog that could push and jump up you would like it just the way it is and would rate it a five.
Date published: 2010-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality Item This is a high quality item - but it would be much more useful if it were more versatile in sizing smaller.
Date published: 2010-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks and Functionality I'm very happy with the purchase of the freestanding pet gate. It is attractive, functional, and it really has prevented my dog from getting into restricted areas of the house. The only improvement/change I would make is to change to a latch gate lock instead of the buttons which necessitate lifting the gate and then sliding the lock in. Other than that, I am really happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2010-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great pet gate great purchase, beautiful addition to my home. Unfortunately, it's not long enough and there are not any extensions for it. Had to add some baby gates to it to make it work. Still love it. Wish they'd add extensions. Would buy them.
Date published: 2010-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from free standing dog gate It is nice looking and works fine only one problem in assembling this item. One side was fine but the other had a problem lining up the pre drilled holes to stabilize it. the insert on the front panel would not accept the bolts to secure the side panel on one side of the gate.
Date published: 2010-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Practical/Pretty Sturdy It's perfect for small/medium size pet. It's sturdy and no need to drill holes in the walls. It was easy to put together and easy to use for all members of the family. The product looks elegant and good quality of the paint, it blends in nicely in our home.
Date published: 2010-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Problem Solver For anyone wanting a substantial pet barrier in a wider opening, while allowing easy passage for both adults and children, this is the answer. The design is clean, width is adjustable, and the color is softer than a harsh black, working well with my off-white decor. The latch mechanism was difficult to manage for my 5-6 year old grandchildren until they became familiar with it, but the gate otherwise operates easily.
Date published: 2010-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Pet Gate I was very happy with the appearance of this pet gate. Its also very sturdy and well constructed. I have 3 small dogs and triplet babies, and this is not my first pet gate, but definitely the prettiest. My only complaint about it is that on the gate it says "do not use around children" or something close to that, and the description on the website mentioned nothing about that. I purchased this to separate my dogs from my babies, but now just use them in other areas other then i had originally intended them for. Overall, still very happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2010-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great barrier I purchased both the 20" free standing barrier and the 36" free standing barrier. I love them both. The gate however on the 36" barrier is a little hard to open and close. If I juggle it and lift it, I can get it open but it is not easy. Other than that, it is attractive, heavy, and easy to assemble and disassemble for storage.
Date published: 2010-01-26
  • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_8, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_221
  • loc_, sid_31077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

What length are the side returns of this and also it appears the gate can be on either side .. correct? Can the gate be in the middle also?

Asked by: s2pilot
The side returns are exactly 11" long. We assembled ours about 11 months ago, but I don't "think" you can have the gate on either side. Also, the gate's placement depends on how much or how little you expand the gate. See my pic - mine is spanning a 55" width (with more room available), so it puts the gate more to the side). The gate will fall wherever it does, based on how wide you make the gate - it can't be changed. But this is an AMAZING product and we love it!!
Answered by: cnazanimals
Date published: 2014-11-08

why does it say not recommended for stairways

isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
Asked by: tonys
We have ours at the top of two steps from dinning room to living room and it works perfect
Answered by: dograiser
Date published: 2016-12-20

how secure is the latch on the gate?

I'm wondering if the latch is secure enough to prevent a child from accidently opening the gate for the dog? Can you give a little more detail on how you open the latch (magnetic, squeeze and pull up, etc)? thank you!
Asked by: erinS
The latch is 2 parts, to be opened with one-hand. There were no instructions on this, so I had to figure it out. Use your thumb on the slide thumb-piece to unlock this horizontal slide pin, then slightly lift up to unlatch the lower pin. So, it is a smooth, one-handed, 2-part motion to unlatch and open the gate. It will automatically close and re-latch on its own if given it's own "weight"; I can prevent the door from automatically re-latching by apposing it gently. I can see if one had debilitating arthritis in the hand it might be hard to operate.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20

Does the gate swing shut automatically?

I have two young kids, and I'm afraid they'll plow through without shutting the gate behind themselves. Does it swing shut automatically?
Asked by: jenbelle
Yes, it will shut automatically unless you gently appose the door to the gate, where you can (intentionally) prevent it from latching/locking.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20

Is this more of a black or a brown?

Looking for glossy black to match our stair railings. Thanks!
Asked by: renedawn
More of a brown; technically, it is a "bronzed" finish.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20
  • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_36
  • loc_, sid_31077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:31077-34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]