Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Pet ProductsHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 231 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet Barrier with Gate Gate is sturdy, looks good, and works well. However, it REALLY needs levelers and levelers would greatly enhance stability. Considering the possible width of the gate, floor levels can change a lot. I have a 50-year old house, and some areas just aren't level. But I still like it a lot, and I plan to buy another one for a 2nd area in my house. February 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good quality - Nice, sturdy and attractive at a decent price. Easy to assemble, and gate works well. No disappointments here. Will serve it's intended temporary purpose until puppy is house broken. March 9, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Keeps the dogs under control Works great to keep our dogs away from the main entryway in our home. Really happy that this product has a walkthru gate that is easy to use. February 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nicest I have seen one or 2 flaws I had been wanting to purchase this gate since I bought my house 6 months ago. It was on sale recently and I jumped on it. You won't find a nicer gate on any pet website. Only real issue i had was the spring loaded latch on the gate itself. You have to make sure each end of the gate is straight and not angled at all but even then it seems like the latch is a tad to long to close properly when it hits the gate. It's supposed to hit the angled metal on the gate and push the latch backwards. I found it locking at the bottom which is a different mechanism, but the top the latch wouldn't hit the angled metal on the gate because it was to long and wouldn't hit the angled piece on the other side. I took off the panel to the latch(which is nice that you can actually do that.) And put a small screw through the latch (it's plastic ) to keep the latch from sticking out as far. The gate works perfectly now. My dogs hate it. =) February 2, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Stand Alone Gate My family needed to block off 2 entrances to our kitchen and we used for the larger one. It's by far the most attractive gate we found and it works very well. The door feature is wonderful and it's a good purchase. The only cons are that it doesn't have anyway to really "stay put" since it's stand alone. January 24, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good looking, sturdy gate This gate is very nice looking as compared to other "cheap" plastic gates. It's easy to assemble and is pretty sturdy as well. It's holding my 12 week old Golden "in" nicely but the idea is that it'll continue to be sufficient for when he's full grown. I'm pretty confident that it will work fine. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I wish it was built such that the door would swing open both ways. I purchased another matching exanding gate that fits in a standard doorway and the door on that swings both ways. It's more convenient to use that way. January 21, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Now happy with gate After a second attempt, the gate is finally together and we are happy with it. First attempt had a wrong part!!! December 23, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet barrier I like this item and have two of them. However now you advertise a cheaper white one and it may be lighter in weight. The two I have are a bit heavy to move and that is what I do, move them when I have company. My dogs are small and therefore I do not need the rod iron one. On the other hand they are very attractive and are not noticed right off when you come into the house. MUCH better than the kind you attatch to the walls either through screwing or pressure bolts. I would reccomend this to people with all dogs including large but not agressive dogs. I have given this item a rating of four and that is because I would like the hatch to be a bit easier to work. BUT if you had a dog that could push and jump up you would like it just the way it is and would rate it a five. November 18, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quality Item This is a high quality item - but it would be much more useful if it were more versatile in sizing smaller. October 7, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks and Functionality I'm very happy with the purchase of the freestanding pet gate. It is attractive, functional, and it really has prevented my dog from getting into restricted areas of the house. The only improvement/change I would make is to change to a latch gate lock instead of the buttons which necessitate lifting the gate and then sliding the lock in. Other than that, I am really happy with the purchase. August 4, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by great pet gate great purchase, beautiful addition to my home. Unfortunately, it's not long enough and there are not any extensions for it. Had to add some baby gates to it to make it work. Still love it. Wish they'd add extensions. Would buy them. July 3, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by free standing dog gate It is nice looking and works fine only one problem in assembling this item. One side was fine but the other had a problem lining up the pre drilled holes to stabilize it. the insert on the front panel would not accept the bolts to secure the side panel on one side of the gate. June 13, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Practical/Pretty Sturdy It's perfect for small/medium size pet. It's sturdy and no need to drill holes in the walls. It was easy to put together and easy to use for all members of the family. The product looks elegant and good quality of the paint, it blends in nicely in our home. May 14, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Problem Solver For anyone wanting a substantial pet barrier in a wider opening, while allowing easy passage for both adults and children, this is the answer. The design is clean, width is adjustable, and the color is softer than a harsh black, working well with my off-white decor. The latch mechanism was difficult to manage for my 5-6 year old grandchildren until they became familiar with it, but the gate otherwise operates easily. May 13, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Pet Gate I was very happy with the appearance of this pet gate. Its also very sturdy and well constructed. I have 3 small dogs and triplet babies, and this is not my first pet gate, but definitely the prettiest. My only complaint about it is that on the gate it says "do not use around children" or something close to that, and the description on the website mentioned nothing about that. I purchased this to separate my dogs from my babies, but now just use them in other areas other then i had originally intended them for. Overall, still very happy with the purchase. April 23, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great barrier I purchased both the 20" free standing barrier and the 36" free standing barrier. I love them both. The gate however on the 36" barrier is a little hard to open and close. If I juggle it and lift it, I can get it open but it is not easy. Other than that, it is attractive, heavy, and easy to assemble and disassemble for storage. January 26, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by 36" freestanding gate Assembly on this product was easy and quick This is a well-made, hardy, heavy-duty gate. But it is not so heavy that you cannot move with ease..I have a 140 lb Irish Wolfhound that I want to keep contained and it works great. December 27, 2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice gate Nice gate, however, I wish they made the same one taller. I have a puppy right name, but will be a larger dog and not sure if the gate would withstand a taller, heavier dog. Also do not like the lock. It is awkward. The gate is not as heavy as I thought it would be. In order to open you have to hold down the gate with your foot , or rest your other hand on op of gate, otherwise it is hard to pull up on gate to open. Nice looking, and well crafted, other than the locking mechanism. October 28, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Completely Happy with Gate I purchased this gate because the pictures showed the door opening in either direction. It does not do that unless you attach the sides in a way that ignores the slots for pins that give the gate additional stability. I also found the door latch a pain to use on this gate. We previously purchased the 34" Expandable Free Standing Steel Mesh Gate and love it. We purchased a second one to replace this gate. The latch on it is much easier to use and the gate seems sturdier. You also have to attach the sides on the Mesh gate "backwards" to get the door to open in the direction we need, but it seems sturdy enough in that configuration. July 30, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Gate lock faulty The lower sliding lock is not long enough to reach receptacle in frame. Your customer service rep is sending a replacement. October 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty but ineffectual Gate arrived in a timely manner & was easy to put together. Very nice looking but, unfortunately, doesn't contain my three dogs. Not sure who the escape artist is (Lab, Min Pin or Jack Russell) but they are able to move the gate. Tried putting it on carpeting and hardwood and bracing/weighting it with chairs and weights to no avail. I am considering bolting it to the wall since I have already thrown away the packaging and can't return it. If your dog is deterred by the physical presence of a gate, this may work for you. October 7, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Sturdy enough The side rails that support the free-standing nature of the gate can be easily opened by my 20 lb tibetan terrior. They should somehow lock in place. As a result it is not satisfactory for our purpose of keeping the dog out of the living room. March 22, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Looks good, wobbly on uneven floor. It looks and feels like a high quality product. Relatively easy to put together and is effective at keeping the dog on one side or another. Only issue, is that it is designed for a totally flat floor. Given my old house the floor has settled and so the gate rocks when touching it as the center bar and four foot pads do not all touch the ground. I am off to the hardware store to see if I can find additional pads to place under the feet to remedy. Would be nice if feet were adjustable. May 29, 2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by good pet barrier this item is of general good quality. However, the adjustable section does not properly align with bolt holes so only a partial attachment for the adjustable section was possible. April 22, 2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by It works It works to keep my two huskies from heading where I don't want them to go.... I do however have to say that the picture makes the coloring of this look a lot darker than it is. Mine has a reddish uneven tone that is not at all reflected in the picture. I love it for it's function, but I am definitely not a fan of the way it looks! February 4, 2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by This is the wrong gate to order! We purchased one of the self closing mesh pet gates from Frontgateand and it was amazing. The build quality was extremely good with heavy metal and an incredibly good spring loaded self closing door. We liked it so much that we ordered two more, or so I thought. I mistakenly ordered this gate. When you search on the site for dog gate you get a different selection than when you just search for gate. I ended ordering this gate instead of the mesh. While this gate is better looking the gauge of metal is much lighter and the door will not self close. Opening and closing requires you to lift the door to allow the locking pins to clear the bars and engage. If you open the gate it will close but not lock thus defeating the purpose of a gate. We are returning these and getting another set of the mesh gates. September 28, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Quality I brought this gate over two years ago thinking it would last but just after the year warranty had expired I had to start patching it. The problem is the "weak" spot where the bottom of the gate connects to the bottom rail. There it is a single piece of metal (not the hollowed out rails used everywhere else) and is subject to stress fractures. I finally have to throw this gate out the window because the soft metal cannot be repaired anymore. Don't buy this gate...If it was as well made as they said it is they would give you a lifetime warranty! October 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor quality for freestanding The freestanding portion of this gate is horrible. The gate material itself is sturdy, but the hardware and the stability of the gate is the worst I have seen. There are small pins that connect the sides and they are too small so that there is no stability. This is a pet gate, how can such a small detail as stability be overlooked. If it did not cost so much and would easier to pack up, I would have returned it in a heartbeat. Now I feel that somehow I will have to find some hardware to adapt the stability. Frontgate...very poor choice. Question your quality of items now.... March 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor quality The pet barrier is unstable and is not made well. We were surprised because we have always loved all of our other Frontgate purchases over the years. We have it boxed up and will be returning it. It only took a few minutes to realize how unsteady the entire thing was once we had it set up. It looks great but is not of the quality we expected from Frontgate. We are really dissapointed. We will be more careful from now on when ordering. January 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by buyer beware I have never been disatisfied with anything I have ever purchased from frontgate, so this is a first. You can't make this gate small enough for a average hallway and the tension gate wasn't wide enough. This gate is not stable on carpeting, the supports on the back side make it impossibe to also turn the gate in the opposite direction so the door could be use in a better traffic flow. They need to go back to the drawing board on this one. January 12, 2013
  • 2017-01-22 T08:57:47.266-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_231, tr_231
  • loc_en_US, sid_31077, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
(36 Questions : 66 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
what is the weight of this item?
Customer avatar
by
PA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JPking is loaded.
Additional information about JPking could not be loaded.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
PA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JPking is loaded.
Additional information about JPking could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item is 36 lbs.
1 month, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
Is it possible to use 2 gates side by side?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mulberrychick is loaded.
Additional information about mulberrychick could not be loaded.
I have a very wide opening of 87". I was hoping to use 2 gates side by side to block this opening. Would this be possible?
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mulberrychick is loaded.
Additional information about mulberrychick could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. You can put two gates side by side; however, they will not be as stable due to only one side being against a wall.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
How about cats?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about CherylML is loaded.
Additional information about CherylML could not be loaded.
Are the spaces small enough that a cat cannot get through?
2 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about CherylML is loaded.
Additional information about CherylML could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. There are 2" gaps between the bars. The size of your cat will determine whether it can fit through or jump over this gate.
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
3 answers
why does it say not recommended for stairways
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Probably for liability/safety reasons you would not want this at the top of stairs. At the bottom, it would probably be okay. You do need to have use of your hands without debilitating arthritis to unlatch the gate. You use your thumb to unlock it by sliding the lock mechanism sideways, then you lift up the door slightly to uplift the pin at the bottom; you can do this in a smooth motion with one hand. It will self-lock if allowed to close by itself; it will also "rest" closed enough without locking if you appose the door gate gently.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DecorHound is loaded.
Additional information about DecorHound could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item should not be placed at the top of a staircase, and should be put far enough away from the bottom that your pet will not try to jump over it.
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We have ours at the top of two steps from dinning room to living room and it works perfect
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dograiser is loaded.
Additional information about dograiser could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
How do you order the actual 34 inch item advertised since it lists three sizes and only lets you select the 20 inch height options for purchase?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
This product is very confusing. It's called a 34 inch gate. The dimensions list 3 gates. One is 34 inches high and 55 - 68 in. width. The other two are 20 inches higher with varying widths. However, you can only select one of the two 20 in high gates to order on this page. How are customers supposed to order the 34 inch gate advertised in the picture?
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. To order this gate simply select the quantity from the drop down and the then the first "Add to Cart" button. The 34" gate only comes in one size, so there is no "Choose Size" option for this gate as there is for the 20" gate.
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 3 next>>
  • 2017-01-22 T08:57:49.352-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_31077, prod, sort_default
2 3 next>>
Product:31077-34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate
The Frontgate Credit CardNow Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]