Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 233.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Gate that Works I have been looking for a year for a good looking iron gate to block our young English setters from going down our very wide open staircase. We didn't want to have to attach anything to the stairs. When the pups grow up we can remove the gate. It works great and is easy for us to go through if we need to go downstairs. Definitely fits the bill.
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from doggie gate This gate is awesome. I have 2 small dogs but one of them can really jump. It keeps them secure while they can still see everything and be a part of the action. The gate opens easily and it looks super. It was also easy to assemble.
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gate for very large dogs This is the 2nd gate like this that I have purchased as I now need the 2nd gate to keep my 3 extra large dogs (St Bernard, Great Pyrennees, and Aussie/German Shep Mix) out of other areas of the house. The 1st barrier/gate was purchased 4 yrs ago and still looks/works great. I have purchased other barriers in the past, and this is the best one so far. Price is completely worth it. These look nice too.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased with the purchase.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate this gate is so awesome that I was able to use it outside between my hedges. I am going to order two more. Cheaper that having someone install gates!!
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Purchase This gate works great to keep our dog from going down stairs. This gate is the perfect weight so that our dog can't move it around.
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good choice I have tried another free standing gate but this one is the best looking and very sturdy. The pass through door makes it so convenient. It also does not mark up the walls.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! We have 3 dogs, a German Shepherd (large dog), an American Eskimo (medium dog) and a Boxer mix (small dog). We had two of the old gates screwed together to make a big one. We needed a larger opening gate to go across the kitchen so we decided to buy this one. We absolutely love it! It's easy to install and easy to use. Absolutely love the door on it, which sometimes we leave open and the little dog will put her nose in it and open the door. Dogs seem to love it too and stick their noses through it to say hello.
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted and needed My 4 month old miniature schnauzer figured out how to bat her paw at our previous gate and open it. After having the house painted, we did not want a gate that had to be permanently all ached to the wall, and this fence was, and is absolutely perfect. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2014-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate! I have a little Papillion that managed to either jump or scooch around all the free standing gates I'd bought. This one has held up to the Bandit test. It was easy to put together and well worth the money!
Date published: 2014-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not only a great looking divider but sturdy! We purchased 2 of these pet barriers. One for the "box" doors leading into the living room from the den and one for a Kitchen doorway leading into the dining room. We have 3 Labs and these 2 barriers certainly do the job. They are sturdy, good looking, and allows the dogs to see what's going on in the other rooms without them making a nuisance of themselves. They blend in well with the other furnishings.
Date published: 2014-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate This product is great - looks good, high quality manufacture, and very easy to assemble. Plenty tall enough to keep dogs from jumping on or over it, and the gate makes it very convenient for humans. Highly satisfied!
Date published: 2014-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice gate Solid,easy to assemble, came quickly after ordering. We also got the spring loaded gate for the smaller opening in the kitchen.
Date published: 2014-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart purchase Stylish, durable gate. We got our gate just in time for Christmas and our guests loved them and wanted to know where we purchased our gate. More importantly, our precious pets know their boundaries.
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dog gate Great quality, sturdy, looks nice. The only thing that is a little tricky is the way you lift the gate to open it. I couldn't find anything that I liked better, or that was wide enough for the area we are using it for. Over all a great purchase.
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog gate works great Because this gate is going to be a part of the interior of our home for a number of months, we needed it to be not only sturdy (a growing Samoyed) but also attractive and of high quality. This product did not disappoint, and we are very pleased with it (once we remembered it was there and no longer ran into it in the dark!). The only aspect of it we wish were different, is if the gate could be 6" wider for easier pass through.
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pet barrier This freestanding pet barrier with the walk-through door is amazing. Not only is it functional, but it is very attractive and fits in with our decor. We are using it on our front porch. If we needed another 'barrier' I would not hesitate to purchase another. Excellent price, super delivery and comes in different styles. Love it!
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We'll worth it Sturdy and great looking! We bought 3 sets and love them.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Than Just a Pet Barrier Although designed and marketed as a barrier for pets, we decided to give this product a try for our two grandchildren, who are just starting to walk. I read the reviews, and purchased this gate understanding that it would not be suitable for isolating a staircase due to the way the gate opens. However, with a minimal effort I drilled four additional holes in the gate, which has allowed us to set it up in a manner to safequard the grandkids from getting to the stairs, and the gate now opens away from the staircase. I also used the neat mounting plates supplied by Frontgate to make this gate so sturdy that they cannot even move it when they decide to "yank" back and forth on it. If you are the least bit handy, you CAN adapt this gate to keep the little ones off the stairs. Thank you Frontgate for manufacturing a product that was so easy to adapt to our needs.
Date published: 2013-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier We couldn't ask for a nicer gate! Thanks Frontgate!
Date published: 2013-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gates Sturdy, easy to put together and the perfect solution for keeping my dogs on the deck or out of a room. I would recommend them to anyone. The perfect temporary solution without having to install a barrier. I use mine in the house and out.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier Excellent product. Has helped us with a difficult situation that has been a problem for several years. Our dog barks less now and does not nip at your heels due to the ease of control the gate has given us. Great Job on this. thanks
Date published: 2013-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate! This was a great purchase, it looks nice and sturdy and keeps back two labs and a pug! I would highly recommend.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive Finish and very sturdy I put two of these together to form a large area for my new Golden Retriever puppy . The gates open so easily and they are very substantial so they do not move even when my puppy jumps. He does not chew on the metal.The door on the gate has a latch as well as a lock - both really easy to use and very well made. I just ordered another.
Date published: 2013-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value This sturdy gate is perfect for blocking off our wide hallway to prevent our exuberant lab puppy from accessing the more formal areas of our home. The gate is easy to operate single handed, once you know how... our guests have been a little baffled by it. Ours arrived with a bent bottom pin that didn't align properly, but that was easily fixed with a pair of pliers. Aesthetically, it fits nicely in our 7000 sf home. Today, I'm ordering the matching smaller doorway gate to replace the light wood & white plastic one we have there currently.
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate! We almost lost our little cat when the wind blew open our front door because the latch hadn't caught completely. This gate is amazing. It has essentially turned our foyer into a large vestibule so guests can enter without letting our treasured kitty escape. It's easy to put together, very well made, and nice looking! It's worth every penny knowing I can have peace of mind knowing that we won't lose our furry friend.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really, really a great gate! This is a wonderful looking freestanding metal barrier/gate. The look and feel is sturdy and, we are hoping, "chew proof"! (We also have a very similar great looking/functioning gate that is made of wood and wire. The difference for us is that the wood on this barrier/gate was attractive for the dogs to chew.) We highly recommend this metal barrier/gate and would buy it again.
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Gate! Product is just as described and pictured - very nice quality and appearance, heavy duty material & construction and seems as though it will last for years. Good value for the dollar.
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 36 inch pet barrier well made and easy to assemble
Date published: 2013-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Freestanding Pet Gate This pet gate is wonderful. Works very well. We use it to keep the dogs off people coming in the front door. Its very cute that they are so intersted in whos at the door that they don't realize they could just run around the other side of the living room to get to the door! But it holds up just fine to 2 Bostons and a Great Dane.
Date published: 2012-12-27
  • y_2017, m_2, d_18, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_221
  • loc_, sid_31077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

What length are the side returns of this and also it appears the gate can be on either side .. correct? Can the gate be in the middle also?

Asked by: s2pilot
The side returns are exactly 11" long. We assembled ours about 11 months ago, but I don't "think" you can have the gate on either side. Also, the gate's placement depends on how much or how little you expand the gate. See my pic - mine is spanning a 55" width (with more room available), so it puts the gate more to the side). The gate will fall wherever it does, based on how wide you make the gate - it can't be changed. But this is an AMAZING product and we love it!!
Answered by: cnazanimals
Date published: 2014-11-08

why does it say not recommended for stairways

isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
Asked by: tonys
We have ours at the top of two steps from dinning room to living room and it works perfect
Answered by: dograiser
Date published: 2016-12-20

how secure is the latch on the gate?

I'm wondering if the latch is secure enough to prevent a child from accidently opening the gate for the dog? Can you give a little more detail on how you open the latch (magnetic, squeeze and pull up, etc)? thank you!
Asked by: erinS
The latch is 2 parts, to be opened with one-hand. There were no instructions on this, so I had to figure it out. Use your thumb on the slide thumb-piece to unlock this horizontal slide pin, then slightly lift up to unlatch the lower pin. So, it is a smooth, one-handed, 2-part motion to unlatch and open the gate. It will automatically close and re-latch on its own if given it's own "weight"; I can prevent the door from automatically re-latching by apposing it gently. I can see if one had debilitating arthritis in the hand it might be hard to operate.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20

Does the gate swing shut automatically?

I have two young kids, and I'm afraid they'll plow through without shutting the gate behind themselves. Does it swing shut automatically?
Asked by: jenbelle
Yes, it will shut automatically unless you gently appose the door to the gate, where you can (intentionally) prevent it from latching/locking.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20

Is this more of a black or a brown?

Looking for glossy black to match our stair railings. Thanks!
Asked by: renedawn
More of a brown; technically, it is a "bronzed" finish.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20
  • y_2017, m_2, d_18, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_36
  • loc_, sid_31077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:31077-34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]