Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 233.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service and quality of gates Your service was outstanding and we could not have found better gates for our new puppy Mimi. They are constructed well and do not detract from the decor of our home. Thank you.
Date published: 2010-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gate. This gate looks great and my very clever and athletic dog can not climb over it. Note that if you have a very large dog, this gate would need to be secured to a wall via screws that come with it. However, with my smaller dog, that has not been necessary. Very sturdy and good quality product. Easy to assemble.
Date published: 2010-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Solution We purchased the gate for an open stairway to the basement. This gate is the only one we could find that's tall enough to discourage our large dog from hopping over the top. Since the stairway is flush against a wall at the end of a hallway, it has also made that stairway safer against accidental tripping on the top stair. The gate can be operated with one hand, but it requires lifting so the dogs can't open it. The material and workmanship are excellent. It looks like furniture rather than some plastic temporary solution. I have no doubt it will last a long time, so I feel the price/value is also very good. We are very pleased!
Date published: 2010-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freestanding pet barrier with gate Great gate, and suits our needs perfectly. This is the second of the same gate we have bought because the first one worked so well. We have one in our kitchen and one outside!
Date published: 2010-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this item This is the best Pet Gate I have ever purchased. My monster cannot chew through this metal, it is very attractive, gives the kitchen a "bistro" look.
Date published: 2010-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Merchandise This is the second pet gate I have purchased from Frontgate and I received the same quality of service and merchandise as before. I would definitely order from them again.
Date published: 2010-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2010-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase I love this product; it's good quality and flexible for different door opening widths. It's stylish and fits in with any decor. I love that it's free standing and sturdy so my dog can roam around in one room opposed to being cramped in a kennel. It was so easy to assemble...Big +
Date published: 2010-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GATE I ACTUALLY PURCHASED THIS GATE TO GIVE MY 5 SIBERIAN HUSKIES AN ADDED BARRIER BETWEEN THEM AND OUR RESCUED UMBRELLA COCKATOO'S CAGE. (BECAUSE THESE DOGS HAVE A STRONG PREY INSTINCT, I ALSO USED A PET STOP DISK UNDER THE CAGE.) THE BARRIER IS VERY WELL MADE AND IS QUITE ATTRACTIVE. THE GATE WORKS WELL. WE HAVE AN EARLIER MODEL AT THE BOTTOM OF OUR STAIRS AND THOUGH NICE, THE NEW BARRIER IS EVEN NICER. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Date published: 2010-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase Keeps my dogs on the back porch. Sturdy enough for outside and looks great. Works for our 5lb dogs and 135 lb dog.
Date published: 2010-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Merchandise & Service Extremely happy with the quality of the pet gate I purchased and measures up to everything described on the website. Quite pleased on how quickly the merchandise was shipped and received. Will definitely be placing future orders to Frontgate.
Date published: 2010-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a perfect gate for keeping pets out of certain areas of your home. It has a nice look. It is very steady and goes with the more formal areas of your home.
Date published: 2010-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PURCHASE I am very pleased with my purchase of the 36" freestanding pet barrier w/gate. It is sturdy as well as good looking and works well with our home decor.
Date published: 2010-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog owner's best friend We are delighted with the pet barrier: it is attractive, sturdy and versatile. It has made life with our three dogs in our remodeled house much easier. We deploy it in a number of ways to give the pups a sense of being with us without letting them trash the new digs.
Date published: 2010-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than Picture This gate looks great in my Spanish home!! It is more elegant than the picture suggests given that the metal has an oil-rubbed bronze finish. For the price, I think this gate is a wonderful value especially if you live in an upscale home. It was easy to put together for the free standing and comes with a kit to permantly attach to the wall.
Date published: 2010-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXACTLY WHAT WE NEEDED No surprises, exactly what we needed, great quality and delivered early
Date published: 2010-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pet gate this gate is awesome and looks great in the house. very easy to assemble.
Date published: 2010-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very, very pleased! Very attractive and easy to assemble. We often take care of friends' dogs and have our own two. We can now leave them in our "dog room" while we are gone with the double doors closed and not worry about them jumping on or sctatching the doors. Be sure to bracket it to the wall if you have larger dogs who could push it with their weight. The gate lets you go in and out easily when installed with the wall brackets. We wish we had owned it years ago - it's perfect for our needs!
Date published: 2010-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST GATE I HAVE EVER PURCHASED I have purchased many gates in my time and have never had such a pleasure in owning this one. It is of the finest qualities in workmanship, very easy to assemble, works well and looks great in my home. Thanks Frontgate for intruducing me. Texan
Date published: 2010-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from free standing pet barrier Beautiful looking. Great quality. Only complaint is that the lock/clasp at the top doesn't stay closed.
Date published: 2010-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Have This pet gate is a life saver and it looks GREAT!!! It blends in very well with the rest of my decor and is easy on the eyes as well as functional.
Date published: 2010-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly like the picture I couldn't have been more pleased with how easy and quick this was to assemble. It shipped in four solid pieces, and most of the assembly is accomplished by dropping in 4 L bolts. The gate is sturdy and easy to latch and unlatch. This is the real deal.
Date published: 2010-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not what you would expect This has worked out so well! I use this barrier with gate in front of a window. I no longer have to keep a crate up in my living room to protect the window. One of my dogs has a tendency to get in the blinds when she sees strangers or other critters. This protects the blinds but doesn't take up as much space as a crate.
Date published: 2010-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pet barrier very easy to put together , the design and material is appropriate for home decore.
Date published: 2010-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dog and owner lifesaver we've had a problem with our 3 dogs attacking the front door whenever guests arrive. With this gate we now have a permanent solution and it's attractive too. We permanently attached it to the walls.
Date published: 2010-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 36" H Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate Excellent product. Was purchased to keep our two large-breed puppies (currently weighing in at 84 lbs and 64 lbs) in the tiled area of the house. Has been very effective and is also appealing from a design standpoint. The bronze wrought-iron look is a good match to our black wrought iron stair rails. We currently have our home for sale and a realtor remarked that she loved the gate and was going to buy the same product due to its outstanding looks and functionality. Note that we elected the freestanding option and did not drill holes into the wall to make it a permanent fixture.
Date published: 2010-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Free Standing pet barrier with gate Very stable and beautiful. It fits perfectly with my victorian furniture. It was very easy to put together, well worth the price and wait!
Date published: 2010-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Pet Gate / Beautifully Crafted I purchased this pet gate to coordinate with my interior decor; the quality, craftsmanship and durability are outstanding and second-to-none. I needed a gate wide enough to expand the width of my master bedroom double doors to keep my dogs in my bedroom without having close the bedroom doors at night. This gate offers distance that far exceeds any 'cheap plastic pet/baby' gates sold elsewhere. The gate is sturdy enough to keep my 3 Weimaraners in place; while offering the ability to expand the width of the gate if needed. The 'pass through' gate has a secure locking mechanism that provides 2 different latches for added convenience. Very heavy weighted unit; probably weighs about 50-60 pounds; it is well constructed, beautiful and looks very nice with today's decor. This was a splurge for a 'pet gate'; but it is one that will outlast time; I am very pleased with this purchase. It took only minutes to put it together and required no additional tools than the 'hexi wrench' that came with the unit. Thank you Frontgate for yet another amazing product!
Date published: 2010-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Gate We are very pleased with the quality and appearance of the dog gate. It blends in nicely with our furnishings and is very heavy duty - but easy to open the pass thru gate.
Date published: 2010-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product The Freestanding Pet Barrier was easy to put in place, looks great and the walk-thru gate is user friendly. Its much better than having to step over the 'fence' we had up before.
Date published: 2010-03-15
  • y_2017, m_2, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_221
  • loc_, sid_31077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

What length are the side returns of this and also it appears the gate can be on either side .. correct? Can the gate be in the middle also?

Asked by: s2pilot
The side returns are exactly 11" long. We assembled ours about 11 months ago, but I don't "think" you can have the gate on either side. Also, the gate's placement depends on how much or how little you expand the gate. See my pic - mine is spanning a 55" width (with more room available), so it puts the gate more to the side). The gate will fall wherever it does, based on how wide you make the gate - it can't be changed. But this is an AMAZING product and we love it!!
Answered by: cnazanimals
Date published: 2014-11-08

why does it say not recommended for stairways

isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
Asked by: tonys
We have ours at the top of two steps from dinning room to living room and it works perfect
Answered by: dograiser
Date published: 2016-12-20

how secure is the latch on the gate?

I'm wondering if the latch is secure enough to prevent a child from accidently opening the gate for the dog? Can you give a little more detail on how you open the latch (magnetic, squeeze and pull up, etc)? thank you!
Asked by: erinS
The latch is 2 parts, to be opened with one-hand. There were no instructions on this, so I had to figure it out. Use your thumb on the slide thumb-piece to unlock this horizontal slide pin, then slightly lift up to unlatch the lower pin. So, it is a smooth, one-handed, 2-part motion to unlatch and open the gate. It will automatically close and re-latch on its own if given it's own "weight"; I can prevent the door from automatically re-latching by apposing it gently. I can see if one had debilitating arthritis in the hand it might be hard to operate.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20

Does the gate swing shut automatically?

I have two young kids, and I'm afraid they'll plow through without shutting the gate behind themselves. Does it swing shut automatically?
Asked by: jenbelle
Yes, it will shut automatically unless you gently appose the door to the gate, where you can (intentionally) prevent it from latching/locking.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20

Is this more of a black or a brown?

Looking for glossy black to match our stair railings. Thanks!
Asked by: renedawn
More of a brown; technically, it is a "bronzed" finish.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20
  • y_2017, m_2, d_22, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_36
  • loc_, sid_31077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:31077-34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]