Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 233.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well pleased We could not be more pleased with the pet barrier. It was so simple to set up and it looks great. I just wish I had received the 15% off offer for waiting so long before we had ordered a second lesser barrier from another source.
Date published: 2010-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful pet barrier with gate I am very satisfied with the pet barrier fence purchased at FrontGate. It nicely blends into the home decor and keeps my Golden Retriever in the kitchen whenever needed. We also liked the Freestanding feature and that we did not have to drill (optional) holes to keep it steady for our configuration. I highly recommend it for its beautiful bronze look and the decorating details.
Date published: 2010-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it. The gate is perfect and looks like it was made for the area. It looks elegant and fits in with the decor. Would recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2010-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit This was just what i wanted, perfet fit, sleek looking and keeps the labs out of dinning room, So glad i made this purchase
Date published: 2010-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Thing We EVER Bought! We have a couple of wonderful dogs, one @100 pounds, but they are a bit rambunctious when we open the front door, whether to answer it, come in from shopping or just to take out the trash! After searching many, many sites we happened upon FrontGate. What a wonderful find! We bought the 36"H Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate and set it up immediately, took longer to unpack it than set it up! We are now able to answer the door, shop and come home without fear of them running into the street, and even have people over without them jumping on them. And the price was half what other sites wanted and the quality was not as phenomenal, we're sure. It is beautiful and we will be ordering another one for the back room area. You won't go wrong with this one!
Date published: 2010-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The 36" Freestanding gate was easy to install and serves the purpose perfectly. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2010-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product The pet barrier is exactly what I wanted. My opening was 54 inches and I needed a larger size from the standard one. This is perfect for the space and it has the gate I needed. The finish is a dark brownish coppery look. Installation took only a few minutes. I love it. My only complaint is that I had to wait for the back order.
Date published: 2010-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Gate Purchase The gate is very useful. We have it anchored at the top of a staircase. It blends in well with the rod iron banister. High quality materials.
Date published: 2010-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Gate This gate is well made and best of all beautiful. It is done in an oil rubbed bronze finish that matches the fixtures in our home - rather than an ugly white dog gate that would stick out like a sore thumb. I also like that it is free standing rather than using tension poles which would rub my walls. It is heavy enough that my bulldog and german shepherd cannot push it out of the way.
Date published: 2010-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from barrier gate I bought this gate for the safety of my greyhound as an added barrier in case the front door is open. The locks are good because they're not the squeeze kind of locks,which the occasional dog can figure out can be opened with his teeth! The locks are simple,but I can't see how a dog can open them. I'd recommend it and have. (only thing is,not it's on sale and I only just put mine together after buying it at the regular price!)
Date published: 2010-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2010-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect solution The opening between my living and family rooms was too wide for any standard pet store gate. Even though this gate was expensive, it was wide enough to keep my dog out of the living room, so I decided to give it a try. It has a quality appearance, and is sturdy, and has solved my problem.
Date published: 2010-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product We have used a variety of different pet gates over the years but wanted one that would look good in our home that did not need to be installed in a wall. This gate is tall enough to keep our dogs contained and the walk-through door is very easy to use. Much safer than stepping over lower gates. The metal is finished with a contemporary bronze look so it does not look institutional but is heavy-duty so the gate can't be knocked over and dogs won't chew on it. There is some assembly required. We had a couple panels in the wrong place or upside down but with so few parts it was easy to tell how to fix our mistake.
Date published: 2010-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish Solution Our pug was jumping over our 21" pet gate and this 36" fence and gate is not only attractive in our home, it offers solid construction and a high quality gate for ease in use. This gate has brought calm to our home again!
Date published: 2009-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent dog barrier I searched the web for a few weeks trying to find a pet gate tall enough that my 50 lb. shep. mix could not jump over and that my 30 lb. puppy could not climb. I also wanted something that looked pretty in my home. This gate is perfect, it fits an irregular shaped entry into my kitchen where I keep the dogs when I don't want them roaming free. It is pretty and was easy to assemble. Thus far my 50 lb dog stands up against it, but he cannot push it down. I love it. I might purchase another to block off the laundry room.
Date published: 2009-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best choice-highly recommended This gate is exactly what I was looking for. It is attractive and well made. I have 3 dogs, one standard poodle, a standard pom, and a chihuahua, and they love it too!
Date published: 2009-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the trick... We have a wide hallway connecting the dining room and the family room (where the baby plays). So while I love my dog, my wife hates dog hair on the baby even more…this product fit the bill – a sturdy, moveable barrier that works well with the décor. Love the fact I didn’t have to drill holes or attach anything to the walls!
Date published: 2009-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gate! Had trouble finding a gate wide enough to go across our kitchen area that didn't need to be screwed into the wall/cabinets.... This gate is wide enough and looks great too!
Date published: 2009-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Looks great, perfect height, easy to pass through, well made, sturdy, works well and was a good choice.
Date published: 2009-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool Barrier Sturdy, beautiful & the assembly was truly "mild".
Date published: 2009-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice piece We really enjoy our new gate. It looks beautiful in our home and is very functional. It does a great job keeping our little rescue animals safe and sound.
Date published: 2009-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Purchase We received our new gate in a very timely fashion. According to my husband who was the installer, the installation instructions were great! The gate works exactly as advertised. It is very solid, the attention to detail is great and it looks like furniture; not a pet gate!
Date published: 2009-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2009-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, attractive pet barrier Not only does this pet barrier and gate blend in with the wrought iron in my home, but it contains my 75# rambunctious dog from areas where he is unwelcome. Because it is freestanding, there is no damage to adjacent walls. Minimal, easy assembly!
Date published: 2009-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great gate great gate, allows easy entry for me but keeps out my large dog. Looks nice--not like a baby gate
Date published: 2009-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purchase This is a solid, good looking product that so far is working for three large young dogs. It is very attractive unlike most doggie gates I've used and is more durable than some other nice looking wooden gates I've used.
Date published: 2009-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Buy This gate was a saving grace for us. Our goldendoodle puppy made an olympic sport of jumping our previous gate and following us upstairs. This new gate is high enough that she no longer attempts the jump. It is nice looking, durable, easy to set up, and of great quality. We were worried about a large gate being an eye sore, but this gate looks like a quality piece of furniture that does not detract from our home decor. Thank you!
Date published: 2009-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great solution for our dog. This is a great-looking, sturdy, and easy to assemble dog fence. Even though our dog hates it, we love it!
Date published: 2009-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good Works great. Exactly what I expected. High quality product. I ordered a second one.
Date published: 2009-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freestanding Dog gate I am very happy with the freestanding gate I ordered. I like the ease of moving it without having to dissassemble everything. The gate is large enough to move thru yet keeps the pets in the area intended. I reccommend this to anyone with pets trying to keep them in a pet friendly area. It was also very easy to assemble.
Date published: 2009-08-31
  • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_221
  • loc_, sid_31077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

What length are the side returns of this and also it appears the gate can be on either side .. correct? Can the gate be in the middle also?

Asked by: s2pilot
The side returns are exactly 11" long. We assembled ours about 11 months ago, but I don't "think" you can have the gate on either side. Also, the gate's placement depends on how much or how little you expand the gate. See my pic - mine is spanning a 55" width (with more room available), so it puts the gate more to the side). The gate will fall wherever it does, based on how wide you make the gate - it can't be changed. But this is an AMAZING product and we love it!!
Answered by: cnazanimals
Date published: 2014-11-08

why does it say not recommended for stairways

isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
Asked by: tonys
We have ours at the top of two steps from dinning room to living room and it works perfect
Answered by: dograiser
Date published: 2016-12-20

how secure is the latch on the gate?

I'm wondering if the latch is secure enough to prevent a child from accidently opening the gate for the dog? Can you give a little more detail on how you open the latch (magnetic, squeeze and pull up, etc)? thank you!
Asked by: erinS
The latch is 2 parts, to be opened with one-hand. There were no instructions on this, so I had to figure it out. Use your thumb on the slide thumb-piece to unlock this horizontal slide pin, then slightly lift up to unlatch the lower pin. So, it is a smooth, one-handed, 2-part motion to unlatch and open the gate. It will automatically close and re-latch on its own if given it's own "weight"; I can prevent the door from automatically re-latching by apposing it gently. I can see if one had debilitating arthritis in the hand it might be hard to operate.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20

Does the gate swing shut automatically?

I have two young kids, and I'm afraid they'll plow through without shutting the gate behind themselves. Does it swing shut automatically?
Asked by: jenbelle
Yes, it will shut automatically unless you gently appose the door to the gate, where you can (intentionally) prevent it from latching/locking.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20

Is this more of a black or a brown?

Looking for glossy black to match our stair railings. Thanks!
Asked by: renedawn
More of a brown; technically, it is a "bronzed" finish.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20
  • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_36
  • loc_, sid_31077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:31077-34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]