Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 231 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect solution The opening between my living and family rooms was too wide for any standard pet store gate. Even though this gate was expensive, it was wide enough to keep my dog out of the living room, so I decided to give it a try. It has a quality appearance, and is sturdy, and has solved my problem. January 14, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product We have used a variety of different pet gates over the years but wanted one that would look good in our home that did not need to be installed in a wall. This gate is tall enough to keep our dogs contained and the walk-through door is very easy to use. Much safer than stepping over lower gates. The metal is finished with a contemporary bronze look so it does not look institutional but is heavy-duty so the gate can't be knocked over and dogs won't chew on it. There is some assembly required. We had a couple panels in the wrong place or upside down but with so few parts it was easy to tell how to fix our mistake. January 1, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stylish Solution Our pug was jumping over our 21" pet gate and this 36" fence and gate is not only attractive in our home, it offers solid construction and a high quality gate for ease in use. This gate has brought calm to our home again! December 14, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent dog barrier I searched the web for a few weeks trying to find a pet gate tall enough that my 50 lb. shep. mix could not jump over and that my 30 lb. puppy could not climb. I also wanted something that looked pretty in my home. This gate is perfect, it fits an irregular shaped entry into my kitchen where I keep the dogs when I don't want them roaming free. It is pretty and was easy to assemble. Thus far my 50 lb dog stands up against it, but he cannot push it down. I love it. I might purchase another to block off the laundry room. December 10, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best choice-highly recommended This gate is exactly what I was looking for. It is attractive and well made. I have 3 dogs, one standard poodle, a standard pom, and a chihuahua, and they love it too! December 3, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the trick... We have a wide hallway connecting the dining room and the family room (where the baby plays). So while I love my dog, my wife hates dog hair on the baby even more…this product fit the bill – a sturdy, moveable barrier that works well with the décor. Love the fact I didn’t have to drill holes or attach anything to the walls! December 2, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great gate! Had trouble finding a gate wide enough to go across our kitchen area that didn't need to be screwed into the wall/cabinets.... This gate is wide enough and looks great too! November 27, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product Looks great, perfect height, easy to pass through, well made, sturdy, works well and was a good choice. November 13, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cool Barrier Sturdy, beautiful & the assembly was truly "mild". November 11, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice piece We really enjoy our new gate. It looks beautiful in our home and is very functional. It does a great job keeping our little rescue animals safe and sound. November 10, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Purchase We received our new gate in a very timely fashion. According to my husband who was the installer, the installation instructions were great! The gate works exactly as advertised. It is very solid, the attention to detail is great and it looks like furniture; not a pet gate! October 7, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy, attractive pet barrier Not only does this pet barrier and gate blend in with the wrought iron in my home, but it contains my 75# rambunctious dog from areas where he is unwelcome. Because it is freestanding, there is no damage to adjacent walls. Minimal, easy assembly! September 24, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by great gate great gate, allows easy entry for me but keeps out my large dog. Looks nice--not like a baby gate September 23, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Purchase This is a solid, good looking product that so far is working for three large young dogs. It is very attractive unlike most doggie gates I've used and is more durable than some other nice looking wooden gates I've used. September 10, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Buy This gate was a saving grace for us. Our goldendoodle puppy made an olympic sport of jumping our previous gate and following us upstairs. This new gate is high enough that she no longer attempts the jump. It is nice looking, durable, easy to set up, and of great quality. We were worried about a large gate being an eye sore, but this gate looks like a quality piece of furniture that does not detract from our home decor. Thank you! September 5, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great solution for our dog. This is a great-looking, sturdy, and easy to assemble dog fence. Even though our dog hates it, we love it! September 1, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by good Works great. Exactly what I expected. High quality product. I ordered a second one. September 1, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freestanding Dog gate I am very happy with the freestanding gate I ordered. I like the ease of moving it without having to dissassemble everything. The gate is large enough to move thru yet keeps the pets in the area intended. I reccommend this to anyone with pets trying to keep them in a pet friendly area. It was also very easy to assemble. August 31, 2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Functional and beautiful This gate is not only very functional but beautiful. I do not enjoy having gates inside of my home but needed something to contain my Doberman Pinscher. I bought this gate and also the matching, more narrow version. The iron quality is very pretty and has a slightly distressed look that matches my decor. I could not find prettier gates anywhere else. December 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Large Pet Gate We purchased 2 gates from Frontage for 2 separate areas. The gates match all of our decor and blend in nicely as they are in focal points of our home. The smaller wall mounted gate is wonderful and when set up correctly will swing shut on it's own. The 34" freestanding gate fits the space nicely but it does not shut on it's own so if my 11 and 14 year olds pass through it, they rarely stop to shut it and all 3 dogs push through it into our formal living space and upstairs where we don't want them. It takes some effort to shut the door. You have to pull back and lift. For this reason, and this reason only I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5. August 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent quality Impressed with the quality and style. I was really wanting something "sturdy" but freestanding (although it also comes with hardware to attach it to the wall). This fits the bill. Only taking off a star because I wish there was more flexibility in where the gate location is/direction of swing and having the option to connect the short side sections (the ones that support it) either direction. There is really only one way to put it together. The overall width is the only thing that can be changed. With that said, I went ahead and ordered a second one for another area of my house. November 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet Barrier This product was easy to set up and very nice looking in our home. I like that the gate can be easily moved to different locations/doorways. It is heavy enough to keep our small dog contained. The only drawback has been that there are times I want to keep the walk-through door open so our pet can move freely around the house with us. We have a small rock to prop open the door when we do this...I understand the reason of having the door swing closed but it would be helpful to be able to leave open at times. The width of the walk-through door opening is a little small but workable. A larger person may find it troublesome. Besides these small criticisms we have enjoyed using this pet barrier. Nice looking gate and functions well for us. September 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great gate! This gate is pretty and functions perfectly - that is, it keeps our dogs confined to one area. The gate that opens is heavy and a little difficult to open, but it certainly works and serves the purpose. I'm glad the quality matches the price! April 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 36" Dog Barrier Gate w/Walk-Through Door Well made/great quality gate! Works very well with our new puppy and decor blends wonderfully in our home. Only wish is the door lock clicks automatically upon closing, so there's no chance of our puppy pushing through the unlocked gate to get through. February 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good buy works well I purchased this gate to give my cats an area where my dogs wouldn't bother them. So far it has worked beautifully. Not hard to assemble. I set it up exactly where I had planned. I have three large sized dogs and they respect the gate. January 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good buy The only minor problem with the gate is that it swings only one way. It would be nice if the gate could be altered to either set the hinges on either side of the gate, or allow the gate to swing either inward or outward. Other than that, the product is excellent. June 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by just the trick We've got an 80lb giant schnoodle who loves to rush the door when the door bell rings, but she respects this gate. It was easy to put together, but sturdy enough to take a couple of paws, and light enough to maneuver around without totally disassembling. I don't know how it would hold if she jumped up on it, but its rigid enough not to buckle when you open the gate to pass through and the mechanism keeps its alignment without fiddling around to find it. January 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful but tricky gate I purchased this gate to spare my carpeted areas from our chihuahua. It has worked wonders. However the gate mechanism doesn't work as well as the gate I purchased for the narrower doorway. The other gate closes easily, but I have to manually lift this gate to close it. It would be great if they both functioned as easily. The gate is beautiful and matches my wrought iron stair railings, pairing it perfectly in my home. July 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Glad I bought it This pet barrier is just what we needed to keep our 90 lb. Lab safe and secure while we're away from the house. It is versitle and sturdy, even as a freestanding gate. The quality and design were both up to our expections. April 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Freestanding pet gate I have a friend who owns one, so purchased one myself. We knew it would be perfect for our new home. Wonderful service also. Thank you. February 25, 2012
  • 2017-01-21 T07:13:24.784-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_231, tr_231
  • loc_en_US, sid_31077, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>
(36 Questions : 66 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
what is the weight of this item?
Customer avatar
by
PA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JPking is loaded.
Additional information about JPking could not be loaded.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
PA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JPking is loaded.
Additional information about JPking could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item is 36 lbs.
1 month, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
Is it possible to use 2 gates side by side?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mulberrychick is loaded.
Additional information about mulberrychick could not be loaded.
I have a very wide opening of 87". I was hoping to use 2 gates side by side to block this opening. Would this be possible?
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mulberrychick is loaded.
Additional information about mulberrychick could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. You can put two gates side by side; however, they will not be as stable due to only one side being against a wall.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
How about cats?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about CherylML is loaded.
Additional information about CherylML could not be loaded.
Are the spaces small enough that a cat cannot get through?
2 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about CherylML is loaded.
Additional information about CherylML could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. There are 2" gaps between the bars. The size of your cat will determine whether it can fit through or jump over this gate.
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
3 answers
why does it say not recommended for stairways
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tonys is loaded.
Additional information about tonys could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Probably for liability/safety reasons you would not want this at the top of stairs. At the bottom, it would probably be okay. You do need to have use of your hands without debilitating arthritis to unlatch the gate. You use your thumb to unlock it by sliding the lock mechanism sideways, then you lift up the door slightly to uplift the pin at the bottom; you can do this in a smooth motion with one hand. It will self-lock if allowed to close by itself; it will also "rest" closed enough without locking if you appose the door gate gently.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DecorHound is loaded.
Additional information about DecorHound could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This item should not be placed at the top of a staircase, and should be put far enough away from the bottom that your pet will not try to jump over it.
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We have ours at the top of two steps from dinning room to living room and it works perfect
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dograiser is loaded.
Additional information about dograiser could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door
 
1 answer
How do you order the actual 34 inch item advertised since it lists three sizes and only lets you select the 20 inch height options for purchase?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
This product is very confusing. It's called a 34 inch gate. The dimensions list 3 gates. One is 34 inches high and 55 - 68 in. width. The other two are 20 inches higher with varying widths. However, you can only select one of the two 20 in high gates to order on this page. How are customers supposed to order the 34 inch gate advertised in the picture?
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KateIndy is loaded.
Additional information about KateIndy could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. To order this gate simply select the quantity from the drop down and the then the first "Add to Cart" button. The 34" gate only comes in one size, so there is no "Choose Size" option for this gate as there is for the 20" gate.
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 3 next>>
  • 2017-01-21 T07:12:28.966-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_31077, prod, sort_default
2 3 next>>
Product:31077-34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate
The Frontgate Credit CardNow Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]