Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 240.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks and Functionality I'm very happy with the purchase of the freestanding pet gate. It is attractive, functional, and it really has prevented my dog from getting into restricted areas of the house. The only improvement/change I would make is to change to a latch gate lock instead of the buttons which necessitate lifting the gate and then sliding the lock in. Other than that, I am really happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2010-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great pet gate great purchase, beautiful addition to my home. Unfortunately, it's not long enough and there are not any extensions for it. Had to add some baby gates to it to make it work. Still love it. Wish they'd add extensions. Would buy them.
Date published: 2010-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from free standing dog gate It is nice looking and works fine only one problem in assembling this item. One side was fine but the other had a problem lining up the pre drilled holes to stabilize it. the insert on the front panel would not accept the bolts to secure the side panel on one side of the gate.
Date published: 2010-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Practical/Pretty Sturdy It's perfect for small/medium size pet. It's sturdy and no need to drill holes in the walls. It was easy to put together and easy to use for all members of the family. The product looks elegant and good quality of the paint, it blends in nicely in our home.
Date published: 2010-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Problem Solver For anyone wanting a substantial pet barrier in a wider opening, while allowing easy passage for both adults and children, this is the answer. The design is clean, width is adjustable, and the color is softer than a harsh black, working well with my off-white decor. The latch mechanism was difficult to manage for my 5-6 year old grandchildren until they became familiar with it, but the gate otherwise operates easily.
Date published: 2010-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Pet Gate I was very happy with the appearance of this pet gate. Its also very sturdy and well constructed. I have 3 small dogs and triplet babies, and this is not my first pet gate, but definitely the prettiest. My only complaint about it is that on the gate it says "do not use around children" or something close to that, and the description on the website mentioned nothing about that. I purchased this to separate my dogs from my babies, but now just use them in other areas other then i had originally intended them for. Overall, still very happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2010-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great barrier I purchased both the 20" free standing barrier and the 36" free standing barrier. I love them both. The gate however on the 36" barrier is a little hard to open and close. If I juggle it and lift it, I can get it open but it is not easy. Other than that, it is attractive, heavy, and easy to assemble and disassemble for storage.
Date published: 2010-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 36" freestanding gate Assembly on this product was easy and quick This is a well-made, hardy, heavy-duty gate. But it is not so heavy that you cannot move with ease..I have a 140 lb Irish Wolfhound that I want to keep contained and it works great.
Date published: 2009-12-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice gate Nice gate, however, I wish they made the same one taller. I have a puppy right name, but will be a larger dog and not sure if the gate would withstand a taller, heavier dog. Also do not like the lock. It is awkward. The gate is not as heavy as I thought it would be. In order to open you have to hold down the gate with your foot , or rest your other hand on op of gate, otherwise it is hard to pull up on gate to open. Nice looking, and well crafted, other than the locking mechanism.
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Completely Happy with Gate I purchased this gate because the pictures showed the door opening in either direction. It does not do that unless you attach the sides in a way that ignores the slots for pins that give the gate additional stability. I also found the door latch a pain to use on this gate. We previously purchased the 34" Expandable Free Standing Steel Mesh Gate and love it. We purchased a second one to replace this gate. The latch on it is much easier to use and the gate seems sturdier. You also have to attach the sides on the Mesh gate "backwards" to get the door to open in the direction we need, but it seems sturdy enough in that configuration.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gate lock faulty The lower sliding lock is not long enough to reach receptacle in frame. Your customer service rep is sending a replacement.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty but ineffectual Gate arrived in a timely manner & was easy to put together. Very nice looking but, unfortunately, doesn't contain my three dogs. Not sure who the escape artist is (Lab, Min Pin or Jack Russell) but they are able to move the gate. Tried putting it on carpeting and hardwood and bracing/weighting it with chairs and weights to no avail. I am considering bolting it to the wall since I have already thrown away the packaging and can't return it. If your dog is deterred by the physical presence of a gate, this may work for you.
Date published: 2011-10-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Sturdy enough The side rails that support the free-standing nature of the gate can be easily opened by my 20 lb tibetan terrior. They should somehow lock in place. As a result it is not satisfactory for our purpose of keeping the dog out of the living room.
Date published: 2011-03-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks good, wobbly on uneven floor. It looks and feels like a high quality product. Relatively easy to put together and is effective at keeping the dog on one side or another. Only issue, is that it is designed for a totally flat floor. Given my old house the floor has settled and so the gate rocks when touching it as the center bar and four foot pads do not all touch the ground. I am off to the hardware store to see if I can find additional pads to place under the feet to remedy. Would be nice if feet were adjustable.
Date published: 2010-05-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good pet barrier this item is of general good quality. However, the adjustable section does not properly align with bolt holes so only a partial attachment for the adjustable section was possible.
Date published: 2010-04-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It works It works to keep my two huskies from heading where I don't want them to go.... I do however have to say that the picture makes the coloring of this look a lot darker than it is. Mine has a reddish uneven tone that is not at all reflected in the picture. I love it for it's function, but I am definitely not a fan of the way it looks!
Date published: 2010-02-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is the wrong gate to order! We purchased one of the self closing mesh pet gates from Frontgateand and it was amazing. The build quality was extremely good with heavy metal and an incredibly good spring loaded self closing door. We liked it so much that we ordered two more, or so I thought. I mistakenly ordered this gate. When you search on the site for dog gate you get a different selection than when you just search for gate. I ended ordering this gate instead of the mesh. While this gate is better looking the gauge of metal is much lighter and the door will not self close. Opening and closing requires you to lift the door to allow the locking pins to clear the bars and engage. If you open the gate it will close but not lock thus defeating the purpose of a gate. We are returning these and getting another set of the mesh gates.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality I brought this gate over two years ago thinking it would last but just after the year warranty had expired I had to start patching it. The problem is the "weak" spot where the bottom of the gate connects to the bottom rail. There it is a single piece of metal (not the hollowed out rails used everywhere else) and is subject to stress fractures. I finally have to throw this gate out the window because the soft metal cannot be repaired anymore. Don't buy this gate...If it was as well made as they said it is they would give you a lifetime warranty!
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality for freestanding The freestanding portion of this gate is horrible. The gate material itself is sturdy, but the hardware and the stability of the gate is the worst I have seen. There are small pins that connect the sides and they are too small so that there is no stability. This is a pet gate, how can such a small detail as stability be overlooked. If it did not cost so much and would easier to pack up, I would have returned it in a heartbeat. Now I feel that somehow I will have to find some hardware to adapt the stability. Frontgate...very poor choice. Question your quality of items now....
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality The pet barrier is unstable and is not made well. We were surprised because we have always loved all of our other Frontgate purchases over the years. We have it boxed up and will be returning it. It only took a few minutes to realize how unsteady the entire thing was once we had it set up. It looks great but is not of the quality we expected from Frontgate. We are really dissapointed. We will be more careful from now on when ordering.
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from buyer beware I have never been disatisfied with anything I have ever purchased from frontgate, so this is a first. You can't make this gate small enough for a average hallway and the tension gate wasn't wide enough. This gate is not stable on carpeting, the supports on the back side make it impossibe to also turn the gate in the opposite direction so the door could be use in a better traffic flow. They need to go back to the drawing board on this one.
Date published: 2013-01-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the price This gate looks ok but it's not worth the price! It also requires assembly The only positive to this was they send you a prepaid return label except you have to pay for UPS to come pick it up from your house!
Date published: 2011-02-15
  • y_2017, m_4, d_28, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_228
  • loc_, sid_31077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

What length are the side returns of this and also it appears the gate can be on either side .. correct? Can the gate be in the middle also?

Asked by: s2pilot
The side returns are exactly 11" long. We assembled ours about 11 months ago, but I don't "think" you can have the gate on either side. Also, the gate's placement depends on how much or how little you expand the gate. See my pic - mine is spanning a 55" width (with more room available), so it puts the gate more to the side). The gate will fall wherever it does, based on how wide you make the gate - it can't be changed. But this is an AMAZING product and we love it!!
Answered by: cnazanimals
Date published: 2014-11-08

why does it say not recommended for stairways

isthis comment meant for top of stairs? I need one for the bottom of a staircase to replace one I have which has no door and leans against the
Asked by: tonys
We have ours at the top of two steps from dinning room to living room and it works perfect
Answered by: dograiser
Date published: 2017-03-11

how secure is the latch on the gate?

I'm wondering if the latch is secure enough to prevent a child from accidently opening the gate for the dog? Can you give a little more detail on how you open the latch (magnetic, squeeze and pull up, etc)? thank you!
Asked by: erinS
The latch is 2 parts, to be opened with one-hand. There were no instructions on this, so I had to figure it out. Use your thumb on the slide thumb-piece to unlock this horizontal slide pin, then slightly lift up to unlatch the lower pin. So, it is a smooth, one-handed, 2-part motion to unlatch and open the gate. It will automatically close and re-latch on its own if given it's own "weight"; I can prevent the door from automatically re-latching by apposing it gently. I can see if one had debilitating arthritis in the hand it might be hard to operate.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20

Does the gate swing shut automatically?

I have two young kids, and I'm afraid they'll plow through without shutting the gate behind themselves. Does it swing shut automatically?
Asked by: jenbelle
Yes, it will shut automatically unless you gently appose the door to the gate, where you can (intentionally) prevent it from latching/locking.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20

Of what materials is the frame fabricated?

Please explain if this is an all metal gate/fence, or if it has a wood frame. I need all metal bc my puppy chews like crazy and would damage a wood frame.
Asked by: Cocoasmom
Frame is all metal. Gate mechanism, fasteners, all of it.
Answered by: RunCarloRun
Date published: 2017-03-19
  • y_2017, m_4, d_28, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_36
  • loc_, sid_31077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:31077-34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate

34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door

20-inch Freestanding Barrier

Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]