Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 106 110
Very Pleased! I am very pleased with this gate. It is well made and looks beautiful in the doorway. It was extremely easy to put into the doorway right out of the box. One thing of note - For some reason, I did not receive the installation hardware at the time of shipping, but a quick call and I received everything I needed within 3 days. Highly Recommended. August 26, 2014
Great Purchase but... This gate worked exactly as the description said. The only exception is that our door frame is at the wide end of the maximum width for the gate. This means that there is a large gap on either side of the gate where normal sized cats can still get through. Not a problem though. I purchased a sheet of quarter inch thick plexiglass (36 inches long) which I cut two pieces to fit the width of the gap (around 3 inches wide each) on each side, drilled three holes equally distanced apart onto the plexiglass and one at the top and attached it to the frame with cable ties. Perfect fit and the cats cannot get through. LOVE the product. Excellent quality, very sturdy and appears very durable. The spring-loaded hinges are an added convenience in closing the door. I would definitely recommend it if your door width is narrow but think about getting something to "close the gap" if your door width is wide because the cats will definitely get through it. 4 1/2 to 5 stars. October 22, 2012
Very effective gate I'm fostering a kitty that's FIV+, but I have 2 healthy cats of my own. They cannot come in contact with each other at all. I needed a gate that I knew the cats couldn't jump over or get through. Frontgate is the only company that has such a gate. It's a nice bronze color and is attractive and decorative, unlike most of the other gates out there. I like the fact that it is tension-mounted so it can be moved if need be. None of the cats has attempted to scale the gate, and I don't think they will in the future either. Previously, I was using a 30" high fireplace screen and had to move it or climb over it, so the self-closing walk through feature is wonderful! I lucked out because it was on sale plus free shipping when I found it! The reason I rated it 4 stars instead of 5 is due to the limited extension width of only 33.5-37.5". My space is on the wider side at 36.5", so there were gaps in the side bars that my smaller cat would undoubtedly climb through. I read many of the reviews and found that several people who had the same issue remedied it by using pieces of plexiglas on each side, so that's what I've done also. It takes away from the beauty of the gate a bit, but solves the gap problem. It would be nice if a wider gate was available, or at least one with bars on the sides that were closer together. In summary, though, this is a great gate. It solved my problem, made my life easier and looks pretty good. I would recommend this product. June 20, 2014
Beautiful gate! This is a beautiful gate. The height is tall enough for any dog. However, on each side there is a big gap which my Maltese can squeeze through. I ended up purchasing clear fiberglass pieces to keep her from doing so. The gate came detached from the base, so I had some difficulty getting it on. I had to use my own screws and "rig" it, but when all was said and done it is a beautiful gate. August 22, 2014
Not 5 stars! The overall appearance is good. It would be nice to have some sort of brackets to attach permanently to the wall. Also, I could do without the small animal gate on the bottom. I have to think of a way glue it shut because it is easily opened and I will never use it. August 19, 2014
Good Quality and Functional While this is obviously a good quality pet gate, the workmanship is betrayed by a few easy fixes. The gate itself doesn't fit a standard doorway - it is considerably larger but the things that I found most irritating are the horrendous amount of noise the hinges make even after I applied WD40 and the thunderous crashing sound each time the door closes. This constant rattle and crashing definitely detracts from the beauty of the gate. August 5, 2014
Dog Gate I love this gate so much I bought a 2nd one. It is very sturdy and far prettier than any other gate I've ever seen. Friends than come over are always asking me where I got it. It's extra tall too so my lab can't jump over it. I like how it opens one way and auto closes so we don't actually have to "lock" it which makes going through the doorway so much easier. July 18, 2014
Pet Gate - No More Gates To Constantly Undo! Excellent! We are so pleased with this product. We were able to get rid of 3 conventional wooden gates throughout the house. Now we can rest assured that the cat and two big dogs will not meet within the same household. The cat could jump over the other gates, but not this one! Major bonus for us is the gate - for our easy passage. The installation was easy. Highly recommend this product. April 24, 2014
Finally a gate that contains my climbing dog! I had been using the old wood baby gates to keep my two dogs contained in a room while I was away. My 9 lb dog quickly learned how to climb the gate. I added a second gate on top, and she successfully climbed that gate, or she would someone knock the bottom gate down, even though it was tight against the sides. I started putting baskets, 5 gallon water bottles and anything else in the room to create a gauntlet. Finally, I searched and found the Frontgate metal, mesh gate. So easy for me to leave now with a simple latch. And the dog can't climb, and in 2 weeks, she hasn't knocked it down. Thank you Frontgate! June 7, 2014
Everyone Loves the Look of this Gate Not only does everyone love the look, but the functionality for multi-species-households (dog, cat, human) is the best I've ever seen. Even my dog trainer commented on it at first glimpse. I've never heard so many people comment so positively and enthusiastically on something so utilitarian as this gate. And the cats, in particular are thrilled, only poor Fido can't come and go at will :( . It's one of the best buys I've ever made. May 18, 2014
Great Gate but not for little fur babies :) When I saw these gates I had to have them to keep my two Morkies from the living room. My realtor has several beautiful gates from Frontgate, so she won me over and now I am a Frontgate fan!!! However, when I opened the first gate it was damaged (the actual door and latch would not meet so that I could close it properly) and my dogs (3lbs & 4lbs) could still squeeze through the sides. I returned the gates (btw the customer service rep was AWESOME!!) and exchanged them for the smaller gates hopefully these will work :) I have damaged my based boards using these cheap plastic gates :( so now I have to repair the damage caused. However, these new gates are going to be a beautiful addition to my home :) March 10, 2014
42" H FRONTGATE Pet Gate The gate is well made and is attractive; more of custom look than the competitors offer. The locking mechanism works easily and smoothly, so when the spring loaded door swings closed the mechanism always latches or when you close it lightly. Although the gate contains my 30 pound, 7 month old Wheaten Terrier puppy using just the gate tension after adjustment, a heavier dog might be able to push the gate down so I would recommend using the included plastic cups that can be screwed to the wall. The Frontgate website has the assembly instructions available, which should answer any further questions. April 5, 2014
Simple Beauty We got 2 of these gates to put in our kitchen doorways. They were super easy to put up and are very effective at keeping our Dobies in; their height is a very efficacious mental barrier the dogs can still effectively see out. [Though, being simply tension mounted, it is possible that at 100 lbs our Dobies could push the gates hard enough to dislodge them given the right circumstances.] Our cats really like the little kitty doors so they can waltz in and out while the dogs stay in the kitchen!! lol i really like the dark brown powder coat finish on the metal and the elegant filigrees that make the gates something special that match our decor. And unlike a babygate, these gates are very easy to get in and out of. No more climbing over gates!! Yay! lol January 18, 2014
beautiful gate! This gate is absolutely beautiful! I am very glad I purchased it--high quality and looks wonderful in our home compared to the very blah looking gate we used to have. The only downsides are that it has spring hinges to stay closed, so you have to prop it open with something VERY heavy to get it to stay open. Seems redundant since you can latch it to stay closed anyway...I also wish it were a bit wider and shorter. It fits my doorway, but there are big gaps on each side. My dogs are too big to get the shorter gate, but this gate is super tall. I also have troubles with the latch. Maybe I just need to try some WD40? It just sticks and isn't easy to open, even though I have the gate lined up perfectly. Overall, though, love it! Glad I bought it and referred some Facebook friends to buy it when they liked it in a pic I posted of my dog :) April 3, 2013
Quality Product but Awkward Size When I bought this gate I was concerned only about the maximum "door" width as I was sure it had to be small enough to go in a standard door frame… Right? Wrong! When it arrived it looked beautiful and was very sturdy, but it is too big to put in a doorway. Unfortunately my hallways approximately where I want it are too big, so I planned on making some "modifications" so it would work since it was the only thing I found on the market that looked like it could withstand a dog while protecting and keeping comfortable a cat. Anyhow, the tension design is going to make these difficult. I still think I can make it work, but it's not a very flexible product so you better measure carefully and make sure you know EXACTLY where you'll want to put it before you buy. Quite frankly I don't understand why the designers haven't upped the range of space it can span either, because now that I've seen the way the "feet" at each corner work, it would have been really easy to put longer feet in and give customers more versatility and/or the option to use it in more than one place in their house. I guess if I could find the right size screws I could arrange for that myself although to be fair the gate would probably stand less fortresslike than it will with the wooden blocks I plan to nail to my walls tomorrow. February 14, 2014
Well-made gate Very attractive and sturdy gate in a taller than usual size. Put in place easily, works well and no way dogs can jump this height! May 11, 2014
Peace Of Mind At Last We have three cats all of which came from the local shelter. One of our cats was found in the woods near an area campground and was assumed to be a run away. This cat loves to bolt past you when you open the front door. We had tried every type of deterrent, water spray, ultra sound barriers, scolding and nothing seemed to work. We installed this pet gate in the 36 inch opening in the front entry way mud room. It worked instantly our problem was solved. The cat can't enter the mud room so it can't get out the front door. It easily installs in a half hour, looks great and is well engineered. February 24, 2014
Very nice I ordered two. They are very nice, sturdy... If you are not into the "Aged" appearance I would suggest picking another gate. It has gold paint speraticly throughout the gate trying to give the appearance of an aged look. I had to return one of the two requesting replacement due to the gate being slightly bent...not allowing gate to "lock" properly. September 18, 2011
Nice Gate This is a very pretty gate - so much better than the plastic ones that don't do anything for a person's decor. I agree with the reviewers that wish for additional sizes, but am lucky enough that this gate fit where I needed it. I really appreciate how tall the gate is; it's much taller than any others that are described as being extra-tall. I have three large dogs, and none has tried to jump it. March 17, 2014
Pet gate We had ordered the longer version of this and it was great. The only complaint would be there's not an option to order extra extension panels but theses are GREAT!! March 27, 2014
Loving This Gate I did extensive research before purchasing this gate and still had reservations even as I was placing my order. This gate is exactly as described. It came in a very timely manner and is so stylish. This is not a dog gate to be ashamed of. The only drawback is the large spaces on each side of gate that my small dogs can squeeze thru. We love the gate so much, we did temporary fix and will make a permanent fix when our home remodeling has been completed. Glad we found Frontgate. January 29, 2014
Pet Gates Purchased two of these and just wish I had ordered them earlier. Gates arrived quickly and well packaged. Easy to install and operate, very well built, looks great, and love how the door closes behind you automatically. March 12, 2014
BE SURE TO MEASURE This is a great & classy gate, but I 'assumed' my doorways were standard size and that this gate would fit. My doorways are about 1" smaller than required for this gate to work correctly, so now I'm trying to rig it up so I can still use it. If it fit my doorway, I'm sure it would be spectacular. Remember the old adage: measure twice, cut once. February 20, 2014
Great Product Beautifully made. I used the item in the hallway to keeps my cats and dogs separated. The bronze color blends into the hallway so it's not very obvious and easy to take down if there is an emergency. Would like to see product have an extra bar to make a better enclosure for a 36" hallway. Needed to put a Plexiglas piece to keep cats from sliding through the edge of the gate. The second gate is in the laundry room. It is strong enough barrier to hold 2 German Shepherds safely in the room. Do glad I brought this product. January 7, 2014
Classy room enclosure This door is perfect. It's metal so the dog doesn't chew on it. It opens like a gate for people or large dogs and it has a small door for little dogs. Both can be latched to stay shut. The mesh keeps the dog from trying to climb over and it is decoratively trimmed so that it looks really good. Great purchase! I'm very pleased. February 20, 2014
Loved it so much - both a second one I absolutely love this gate. It is beautiful, solid and safe. I love my cats but don't want them in the bedrooms due to allergies. This gate is tall enough that they have not even attempted to jump over. The gate is easy to open with just one finger and with the spring loaded closing makes it wonderful to use when your arms are full. My only wish is that they would make one that is about 6-8' wider for my other stairway. The wider ones are shorter and the cats can jump over that height. Overall, I love it and have had several visitors get the information so they can order it also. December 6, 2013
works well does what it supposed to and with style . i just weigh they had this in more sizes, wider. There's absolutely nothing for opening that are in the 40-50" range February 27, 2014
42in.H tension-mount dual steel mesh pet gate I ordered the gate on Thursday and received it on the following Tuesday, before Christmas. great service and gate was just what i expected. we have 2 cats and the smaller one did manage to knock the gate once to go back to the other side, but it might have been our error in not adjusting the tension properly. overall great product, the only complaint would be if we can have the gate a little taller, maybe 4 to 4 1/2 feet tall instead of 3 1/2. January 8, 2014
Beautiful Gate! Thank heavens I found this beautiful gate at Frontgate. We recently rescued a very active dog and brought him into our houseful of cats. I had purchased another less expensive pet gate with cat door and was very unhappy with it. Our dog, who weighs 44 pounds, slipped right through the cat door of the other gate. I also didn't like the appearance of that other gate. I happened upon this beautiful gate and hoped it would do the trick. It's sturdy, beautiful, and the cat door is small enough to keep Buddy contained. Just like some other reviewers have noted, the gate is a tad wider than some doorways of older homes. However, with some ingenuity, we were able to install it anyway. I love this gate!!! March 13, 2012
Attractive Dog Gate This is the second dog gate I have purchased from Frontgate. I bought the matching larger gate several months prior. The gate is very attractive and looks much better in our house than the plastic baby gates we replaced with it. Our only problem is that we didn't measure before we ordered it. I just assumed our doorway was standard, but the gate was too wide. We ended up having to put it behind the opening and put wooden blocks at each of the tension screws to make up the size difference. If you screw it too tightly the gate won't shut well, so you have to loosen it for the walk through gate feature to work best. July 10, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
(29 Questions : 43 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about webcollins is loaded.
Additional information about webcollins could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, none of the pet gates we carry are recommended to be used as a baby gate. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it could....but it is a little tall for a baby gate...and a little pricey for one too!
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ITSALLGOOD is loaded.
Additional information about ITSALLGOOD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would be wary of a crawling baby or toddler getting their head stuck in the cat door....
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 5BigDogs is loaded.
Additional information about 5BigDogs could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
No, the door only swings one way. There is a sliding latch that holds the gate shut once the door in properly inserted in the doorway.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Both the top and bottom gate open one way and that is why (IMO) it is sturdy. Nice sliding tension latch for the gate, the smaller gate has a latch that drops behind a fixed bar for closure.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Crestedcanine is loaded.
Additional information about Crestedcanine could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Parker is loaded.
Additional information about Parker could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

Can this gate be used on stairs

I have several cats and I want to keep them from going upstairs in my home.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chloe4631 is loaded.
Additional information about Chloe4631 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, this item is not recommended for use on stairs. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate has to be mounted correctly before the latch will stay closed. If you can create enough tension using a stair rung and the wall, (or whatever you will be attaching it to) then I think it would be perfect!
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lender is loaded.
Additional information about Lender could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. Unfortunately, this item only adjusts up to 37.5" wide. We apologize for this inconvenience. We do have a 34" high free-standing pet gate that adjusts from 55" to 69" wide.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is 42" TALL not wide.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ITSALLGOOD is loaded.
Additional information about ITSALLGOOD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about AussieMom is loaded.
Additional information about AussieMom could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Gate. The cat door does latch.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MZFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MZFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
I was thinking of using the twist tie that came with the gate to secure the cat door. Twist and cut short on the outside to prevent pet scrathes... I think my cat might learn to play with the lever and simply lift it up and don't trust just that latch. Give that a try!
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???