Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 118 122
Great Purchase but... This gate worked exactly as the description said. The only exception is that our door frame is at the wide end of the maximum width for the gate. This means that there is a large gap on either side of the gate where normal sized cats can still get through. Not a problem though. I purchased a sheet of quarter inch thick plexiglass (36 inches long) which I cut two pieces to fit the width of the gap (around 3 inches wide each) on each side, drilled three holes equally distanced apart onto the plexiglass and one at the top and attached it to the frame with cable ties. Perfect fit and the cats cannot get through. LOVE the product. Excellent quality, very sturdy and appears very durable. The spring-loaded hinges are an added convenience in closing the door. I would definitely recommend it if your door width is narrow but think about getting something to "close the gap" if your door width is wide because the cats will definitely get through it. 4 1/2 to 5 stars. October 22, 2012
Beautiful gate - cat door very flimsy While this is a beautiful gate – please be careful. I have three large breed dogs 70-80 lbs. and ordered this gate because it was tall enough for them not to jump over it (not the cat door). We had the gate installed for one week and a dog managed to open the cat door which is not very secure. She broke the hinges off the cat door removing it from the gate and somehow managed to fit through the cat door. She has arthritis so there is no way she went over the gate. I am just happy that she did not hurt herself but please be careful and secure the cat door if you are not using it. Now I have to figure out how to reattach the cat door and permanently seal it. December 5, 2014
Wonderful Purchase We bought two of these gates to restrict our new Yorkie puppy to one room while being housebroken. The gates are absolutely beautiful and actually look like they might have been built for our house. Everyone that has seen them comments on how nice and beautiful they are and want to know where we got them. They came already assembled and were very easy to set up. It was an ingenious design to have the larger gate that we can walk through and to also have the smaller opening that allows a small dog or cat to go through if you want to leave the gate closed. We sometimes prop the gates open because they will not stay open by themselves. Also, if they are placed in a doorway that is used often, they will need to be adjusted occasionally because they move somewhat with use, since they are not permanently fastened. This may not be an issue with someone using it in a doorway that has a doorjamb but ours is just an archway so the ends of the gates are resting against sheetrock. I still gave it 5 stars because we are very pleased with them! February 4, 2014
Attractive, quality barrier & gate We installed it two weeks ago in an archway (no door frame) between the kitchen and a hall to separate two large resident dogs from a temporarily resident cat (while cat and owner look for a new home in this area). We used two 2x6s on each side of the arch (painted to match the walls) to make it narrow enough (39.25 – 6 = 33.25”) for the gate to fit tight and no gaps: 2 screws into studs to attach the first 2x6 (notched to fit over baseboards), and 2 screws to attach the second 2x6 on top of the first with these screws placed so they are covered by the pressure pads. Easy to patch 4 screw holes in arch walls when the gate comes down. Gate opens into the dog side so opening it backs them up; added screws on the cat side next to the pressure pads in case the dogs push against the gate; wired the little door shut. The frame sits on the tile kitchen floor, not “floated” above. The installation is quite sturdy but just to be sure we close the cat in the bedroom when nobody is home. Easy to unlatch the gate and step through – we never let it slam. In frequent daily use, the hinges that seemed noisy at first are hardly noticeable. September 4, 2014
Perfect fit This was a gift for a friend who has 2 Afghan hounds and was in desperate need of a way to keep them out of the kitchen. I delivered it to her and helped install it, which was super simple. She LOVED it. It is well constructed, easy to use, attractive (bonus), and TALL. Of course the ultimate question is: Did it keep them out? YES!! Neither dog has figured out how to traverse this bad boy. Highly recommend it. December 2, 2014
Best Pet/BabyGate Ever I now have 4 of these in various places in my home which allow me to control access of pets and small children to parts of my home that are not pet or child-proof. Attractive, nice quality, blend in with furnishings, automatically close, easy to install or remove temporarily. Tall enough for large dogs and to prevent young children from opening them. Love these gates - they do a great job! December 2, 2014
Very Nice Tension Mount Pet Gate We have had this gate for about 4 weeks now and have really enjoyed it. We put it on the entrance to our master bedroom which can be seen when we have guests over. We have wood floors everywhere downstairs except our room which is carpet and we don't want the dogs in there. I wanted something a little more "fancy" than just a standard baby gate which we are using in the utility room. It's very sturdy and has a smaller pet gate that you can open at the bottom if necessary (we don't use it). The latch is easy for all 3 of my kids to use without any trouble . The only negative in my opinion is that it only swings one way, it won't go both directions. I still gave it 5 stars even though it doesn't do that just because it's something that I have to get used to. My other gate will go either way, however if I did not have the other one I probably wouldn't even notice. August 8, 2014
Nice gate, good customer support I love this gate. It keeps my two big dogs out of the kitchen and it looks very pretty. It's easy to open and close the gate, which only opens one way. The latch is easy, everything is easy. Now all we need is one that expands a bit wider and looks exactly the same. This gate only fits very narrow doorways. Most places in my house I need a gate are too wide for this one and there is no other wider option yet. November 27, 2014
Beautiful gate This is a beautiful gate. I already own the shorter one for about 3 years so I know it's durable and worth it. Actually ordered another one! December 4, 2014
Perfect Gate We also have the free standing expandable version of this gate for the past 3 years, we moved needed another gate in a doorway. The gates are very durable- I have a 165 pound mastiff. The gates match each other and match my 100 year old colonial home. We always receive compliments from guest. We also have a cat, we love the walkthrough for the cat. Super easy to install. Worth every penny! November 22, 2014
Strong spring-back makes for constant adjustments This gate looks great, or it did for the first few days before it slammed shut and knocked itself loose and fell over. Detail work broke with that first fall. If you have a smaller door frame it may be ok, but there is no stability with a bit wider door where almost fully extended. I did not want to have holes in my door frames, so purchased this gate. I would not get this one again as it is always slipping out of place and I am constantly adjusting. If you do not have kids(or neighbor kids) you could probably control this factor, but no so for me. Keeps the dogs out most of the time, but one of mine always checks to see if it has moved from being slammed shut and made the latch not catch, then not quite effective. I have the freestanding model and will most likely get another of those instead - it is nice a sturdy and does not slide out of place when it slams shut... June 28, 2014
VERY NICE LOOKING AS WELL AS USEFUL it looks great, is fine quality and useful for my 2 large dogs and 1 small dog November 18, 2014
Very effective gate I'm fostering a kitty that's FIV+, but I have 2 healthy cats of my own. They cannot come in contact with each other at all. I needed a gate that I knew the cats couldn't jump over or get through. Frontgate is the only company that has such a gate. It's a nice bronze color and is attractive and decorative, unlike most of the other gates out there. I like the fact that it is tension-mounted so it can be moved if need be. None of the cats has attempted to scale the gate, and I don't think they will in the future either. Previously, I was using a 30" high fireplace screen and had to move it or climb over it, so the self-closing walk through feature is wonderful! I lucked out because it was on sale plus free shipping when I found it! The reason I rated it 4 stars instead of 5 is due to the limited extension width of only 33.5-37.5". My space is on the wider side at 36.5", so there were gaps in the side bars that my smaller cat would undoubtedly climb through. I read many of the reviews and found that several people who had the same issue remedied it by using pieces of plexiglas on each side, so that's what I've done also. It takes away from the beauty of the gate a bit, but solves the gap problem. It would be nice if a wider gate was available, or at least one with bars on the sides that were closer together. In summary, though, this is a great gate. It solved my problem, made my life easier and looks pretty good. I would recommend this product. June 20, 2014
Pet Gate is saving my house! I have 14 rescue dogs who are all allowed in the house but the lower free-standing gates I ordered from you last year, which I also love, were easily jumped by a batch of smooth fox terriers that we are re-homing. I ordered two of these and they are easy to install and look lovely in my ante-bellum style home. My formal areas look pretty but are off limits to the dogs thanks to these very lovely sturdy and easy to open gates. September 23, 2014
Pet Gate - No More Gates To Constantly Undo! Excellent! We are so pleased with this product. We were able to get rid of 3 conventional wooden gates throughout the house. Now we can rest assured that the cat and two big dogs will not meet within the same household. The cat could jump over the other gates, but not this one! Major bonus for us is the gate - for our easy passage. The installation was easy. Highly recommend this product. April 24, 2014
beautiful gate! This gate is absolutely beautiful! I am very glad I purchased it--high quality and looks wonderful in our home compared to the very blah looking gate we used to have. The only downsides are that it has spring hinges to stay closed, so you have to prop it open with something VERY heavy to get it to stay open. Seems redundant since you can latch it to stay closed anyway...I also wish it were a bit wider and shorter. It fits my doorway, but there are big gaps on each side. My dogs are too big to get the shorter gate, but this gate is super tall. I also have troubles with the latch. Maybe I just need to try some WD40? It just sticks and isn't easy to open, even though I have the gate lined up perfectly. Overall, though, love it! Glad I bought it and referred some Facebook friends to buy it when they liked it in a pic I posted of my dog :) April 3, 2013
Beautiful gate! This is a beautiful gate. The height is tall enough for any dog. However, on each side there is a big gap which my Maltese can squeeze through. I ended up purchasing clear fiberglass pieces to keep her from doing so. The gate came detached from the base, so I had some difficulty getting it on. I had to use my own screws and "rig" it, but when all was said and done it is a beautiful gate. August 22, 2014
Very Pleased! I am very pleased with this gate. It is well made and looks beautiful in the doorway. It was extremely easy to put into the doorway right out of the box. One thing of note - For some reason, I did not receive the installation hardware at the time of shipping, but a quick call and I received everything I needed within 3 days. Highly Recommended. August 26, 2014
Good Quality and Functional While this is obviously a good quality pet gate, the workmanship is betrayed by a few easy fixes. The gate itself doesn't fit a standard doorway - it is considerably larger but the things that I found most irritating are the horrendous amount of noise the hinges make even after I applied WD40 and the thunderous crashing sound each time the door closes. This constant rattle and crashing definitely detracts from the beauty of the gate. August 5, 2014
Not 5 stars! The overall appearance is good. It would be nice to have some sort of brackets to attach permanently to the wall. Also, I could do without the small animal gate on the bottom. I have to think of a way glue it shut because it is easily opened and I will never use it. August 19, 2014
Very nice I ordered two. They are very nice, sturdy... If you are not into the "Aged" appearance I would suggest picking another gate. It has gold paint speraticly throughout the gate trying to give the appearance of an aged look. I had to return one of the two requesting replacement due to the gate being slightly bent...not allowing gate to "lock" properly. September 18, 2011
Simple Beauty We got 2 of these gates to put in our kitchen doorways. They were super easy to put up and are very effective at keeping our Dobies in; their height is a very efficacious mental barrier the dogs can still effectively see out. [Though, being simply tension mounted, it is possible that at 100 lbs our Dobies could push the gates hard enough to dislodge them given the right circumstances.] Our cats really like the little kitty doors so they can waltz in and out while the dogs stay in the kitchen!! lol i really like the dark brown powder coat finish on the metal and the elegant filigrees that make the gates something special that match our decor. And unlike a babygate, these gates are very easy to get in and out of. No more climbing over gates!! Yay! lol January 18, 2014
Finally a gate that contains my climbing dog! I had been using the old wood baby gates to keep my two dogs contained in a room while I was away. My 9 lb dog quickly learned how to climb the gate. I added a second gate on top, and she successfully climbed that gate, or she would someone knock the bottom gate down, even though it was tight against the sides. I started putting baskets, 5 gallon water bottles and anything else in the room to create a gauntlet. Finally, I searched and found the Frontgate metal, mesh gate. So easy for me to leave now with a simple latch. And the dog can't climb, and in 2 weeks, she hasn't knocked it down. Thank you Frontgate! June 7, 2014
AMAZING I was very impressed with the quality, and beauty of this elegant gate. I received my gate very quickly, and was surprised at how simple it was to put up. It is an AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL gate, and highly recommended. I've had several gates in the past, but this one tops them all!! Thank you, Frontgate. January 26, 2012
Great Gate but not for little fur babies :) When I saw these gates I had to have them to keep my two Morkies from the living room. My realtor has several beautiful gates from Frontgate, so she won me over and now I am a Frontgate fan!!! However, when I opened the first gate it was damaged (the actual door and latch would not meet so that I could close it properly) and my dogs (3lbs & 4lbs) could still squeeze through the sides. I returned the gates (btw the customer service rep was AWESOME!!) and exchanged them for the smaller gates hopefully these will work :) I have damaged my based boards using these cheap plastic gates :( so now I have to repair the damage caused. However, these new gates are going to be a beautiful addition to my home :) March 10, 2014
Dog Gate I love this gate so much I bought a 2nd one. It is very sturdy and far prettier than any other gate I've ever seen. Friends than come over are always asking me where I got it. It's extra tall too so my lab can't jump over it. I like how it opens one way and auto closes so we don't actually have to "lock" it which makes going through the doorway so much easier. July 18, 2014
Quality Product but Awkward Size When I bought this gate I was concerned only about the maximum "door" width as I was sure it had to be small enough to go in a standard door frame… Right? Wrong! When it arrived it looked beautiful and was very sturdy, but it is too big to put in a doorway. Unfortunately my hallways approximately where I want it are too big, so I planned on making some "modifications" so it would work since it was the only thing I found on the market that looked like it could withstand a dog while protecting and keeping comfortable a cat. Anyhow, the tension design is going to make these difficult. I still think I can make it work, but it's not a very flexible product so you better measure carefully and make sure you know EXACTLY where you'll want to put it before you buy. Quite frankly I don't understand why the designers haven't upped the range of space it can span either, because now that I've seen the way the "feet" at each corner work, it would have been really easy to put longer feet in and give customers more versatility and/or the option to use it in more than one place in their house. I guess if I could find the right size screws I could arrange for that myself although to be fair the gate would probably stand less fortresslike than it will with the wooden blocks I plan to nail to my walls tomorrow. February 14, 2014
42" H FRONTGATE Pet Gate The gate is well made and is attractive; more of custom look than the competitors offer. The locking mechanism works easily and smoothly, so when the spring loaded door swings closed the mechanism always latches or when you close it lightly. Although the gate contains my 30 pound, 7 month old Wheaten Terrier puppy using just the gate tension after adjustment, a heavier dog might be able to push the gate down so I would recommend using the included plastic cups that can be screwed to the wall. The Frontgate website has the assembly instructions available, which should answer any further questions. April 5, 2014
Everyone Loves the Look of this Gate Not only does everyone love the look, but the functionality for multi-species-households (dog, cat, human) is the best I've ever seen. Even my dog trainer commented on it at first glimpse. I've never heard so many people comment so positively and enthusiastically on something so utilitarian as this gate. And the cats, in particular are thrilled, only poor Fido can't come and go at will :( . It's one of the best buys I've ever made. May 18, 2014
Peace Of Mind At Last We have three cats all of which came from the local shelter. One of our cats was found in the woods near an area campground and was assumed to be a run away. This cat loves to bolt past you when you open the front door. We had tried every type of deterrent, water spray, ultra sound barriers, scolding and nothing seemed to work. We installed this pet gate in the 36 inch opening in the front entry way mud room. It worked instantly our problem was solved. The cat can't enter the mud room so it can't get out the front door. It easily installs in a half hour, looks great and is well engineered. February 24, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
(31 Questions : 45 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about webcollins is loaded.
Additional information about webcollins could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, none of the pet gates we carry are recommended to be used as a baby gate. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it could....but it is a little tall for a baby gate...and a little pricey for one too!
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ITSALLGOOD is loaded.
Additional information about ITSALLGOOD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would be wary of a crawling baby or toddler getting their head stuck in the cat door....
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 5BigDogs is loaded.
Additional information about 5BigDogs could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
No, the door only swings one way. There is a sliding latch that holds the gate shut once the door in properly inserted in the doorway.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Both the top and bottom gate open one way and that is why (IMO) it is sturdy. Nice sliding tension latch for the gate, the smaller gate has a latch that drops behind a fixed bar for closure.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Crestedcanine is loaded.
Additional information about Crestedcanine could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Parker is loaded.
Additional information about Parker could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I dont have cats so dont need dual door but afraid my yorkies could squeeze thru on the other gate. Hard to tell from pictures but dont want to spend extra money if i dont have to
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Chicago, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chibearfan is loaded.
Additional information about chibearfan could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. The space between the bars on the side panels are half the width of the gate with no dual door.
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2

Answer: 
no way your small yorkie would fit through!
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about otann is loaded.
Additional information about otann could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
There are large openings on either side of this gate when using in a doorway 36"+. The wider the doorway the larger the opening in the sides. Cats and small or slender dogs could fit through. Openings are either side are wide enough that a dog could easily get their head caught in it. Disappointing, its a beautiful piece.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Pinehurst, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Caroline22 is loaded.
Additional information about Caroline22 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

What is the height of item 46128?

In the catalog I just received the height is shown as 33 3/4" but on the web sight it is indicated as 42". Which is correct.? Does it come in two different heights?
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Dee-Dee
La
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The height of this item is 42". It was previously offered in a smaller size, however that item is no longer available. We apologize for any confusion.
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
mine arrived and was 42"
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
ohio
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Dichelle is loaded.
Additional information about Dichelle could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

Can this gate be used on stairs

I have several cats and I want to keep them from going upstairs in my home.
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chloe4631 is loaded.
Additional information about Chloe4631 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, this item is not recommended for use on stairs. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate has to be mounted correctly before the latch will stay closed. If you can create enough tension using a stair rung and the wall, (or whatever you will be attaching it to) then I think it would be perfect!
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???