Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 127 131
CLASSY DOGGY GATE THIS IS AWESOME, AND BEAUTIFUL. IT FITS GREAT AND YOU CAN KEEP IT UP ALL THE TIME BECAUSE IT OPENS UP FOR ME TO GO THROUGH AND IT HAS THE LITTLE ONE AT THE BOTTOM FOR YOUR SMALL PET TO GO IN AND OUT WITHOUT OPENING THE BIG GATE. LOVE IT!!! VERY NICE QUALITY PRODUCT February 2, 2015
Great solid gate! This gate is well built and solid! I've owned many gates over the years. My blue Doberman is energetic and a big lummox, so she can often take down a flimsy gate with the push of her paw. This one not at all! I really love this gate if you haven't gotten the jest as yet! Only one thing would make it better was if (it came in white or other colors). Even though it's beautiful with a bronze finish, it also makes it stand out like a sore thumb, against the white walls of the hall. January 1, 2015
Perfect solution for dogs and cats I bought two of these gates when I brought a small dog into my home with three cats. I have a three story townhouse with hardwood floors through out my house. My little dog doesn't get any traction on the stairs so I need to carry him up and down. My cats need access to their litter boxes in the garage. The gate(s) are perfect. They contain the dog, yet the "kitty door" is so handy for the cats. They can go up and down the stairs as these please. The gate is also attractive and sturdy. When I called about the. gate, because I did have some questions, the service representative did a fabulous job. She was so helpful! I now own three gates and I do highly recommend them. December 24, 2014
Beautiful gate This is a beautiful gate. I already own the shorter one for about 3 years so I know it's durable and worth it. Actually ordered another one! December 4, 2014
Perfect fit This was a gift for a friend who has 2 Afghan hounds and was in desperate need of a way to keep them out of the kitchen. I delivered it to her and helped install it, which was super simple. She LOVED it. It is well constructed, easy to use, attractive (bonus), and TALL. Of course the ultimate question is: Did it keep them out? YES!! Neither dog has figured out how to traverse this bad boy. Highly recommend it. December 2, 2014
Best Pet/BabyGate Ever I now have 4 of these in various places in my home which allow me to control access of pets and small children to parts of my home that are not pet or child-proof. Attractive, nice quality, blend in with furnishings, automatically close, easy to install or remove temporarily. Tall enough for large dogs and to prevent young children from opening them. Love these gates - they do a great job! December 2, 2014
Nice gate, good customer support I love this gate. It keeps my two big dogs out of the kitchen and it looks very pretty. It's easy to open and close the gate, which only opens one way. The latch is easy, everything is easy. Now all we need is one that expands a bit wider and looks exactly the same. This gate only fits very narrow doorways. Most places in my house I need a gate are too wide for this one and there is no other wider option yet. November 27, 2014
Perfect Gate We also have the free standing expandable version of this gate for the past 3 years, we moved needed another gate in a doorway. The gates are very durable- I have a 165 pound mastiff. The gates match each other and match my 100 year old colonial home. We always receive compliments from guest. We also have a cat, we love the walkthrough for the cat. Super easy to install. Worth every penny! November 22, 2014
VERY NICE LOOKING AS WELL AS USEFUL it looks great, is fine quality and useful for my 2 large dogs and 1 small dog November 18, 2014
Pet Gate is saving my house! I have 14 rescue dogs who are all allowed in the house but the lower free-standing gates I ordered from you last year, which I also love, were easily jumped by a batch of smooth fox terriers that we are re-homing. I ordered two of these and they are easy to install and look lovely in my ante-bellum style home. My formal areas look pretty but are off limits to the dogs thanks to these very lovely sturdy and easy to open gates. September 23, 2014
Attractive, quality barrier & gate We installed it two weeks ago in an archway (no door frame) between the kitchen and a hall to separate two large resident dogs from a temporarily resident cat (while cat and owner look for a new home in this area). We used two 2x6s on each side of the arch (painted to match the walls) to make it narrow enough (39.25 – 6 = 33.25”) for the gate to fit tight and no gaps: 2 screws into studs to attach the first 2x6 (notched to fit over baseboards), and 2 screws to attach the second 2x6 on top of the first with these screws placed so they are covered by the pressure pads. Easy to patch 4 screw holes in arch walls when the gate comes down. Gate opens into the dog side so opening it backs them up; added screws on the cat side next to the pressure pads in case the dogs push against the gate; wired the little door shut. The frame sits on the tile kitchen floor, not “floated” above. The installation is quite sturdy but just to be sure we close the cat in the bedroom when nobody is home. Easy to unlatch the gate and step through – we never let it slam. In frequent daily use, the hinges that seemed noisy at first are hardly noticeable. September 4, 2014
Very Pleased! I am very pleased with this gate. It is well made and looks beautiful in the doorway. It was extremely easy to put into the doorway right out of the box. One thing of note - For some reason, I did not receive the installation hardware at the time of shipping, but a quick call and I received everything I needed within 3 days. Highly Recommended. August 26, 2014
Not 5 stars! The overall appearance is good. It would be nice to have some sort of brackets to attach permanently to the wall. Also, I could do without the small animal gate on the bottom. I have to think of a way glue it shut because it is easily opened and I will never use it. August 19, 2014
Very Nice Tension Mount Pet Gate We have had this gate for about 4 weeks now and have really enjoyed it. We put it on the entrance to our master bedroom which can be seen when we have guests over. We have wood floors everywhere downstairs except our room which is carpet and we don't want the dogs in there. I wanted something a little more "fancy" than just a standard baby gate which we are using in the utility room. It's very sturdy and has a smaller pet gate that you can open at the bottom if necessary (we don't use it). The latch is easy for all 3 of my kids to use without any trouble . The only negative in my opinion is that it only swings one way, it won't go both directions. I still gave it 5 stars even though it doesn't do that just because it's something that I have to get used to. My other gate will go either way, however if I did not have the other one I probably wouldn't even notice. August 8, 2014
Dog Gate I love this gate so much I bought a 2nd one. It is very sturdy and far prettier than any other gate I've ever seen. Friends than come over are always asking me where I got it. It's extra tall too so my lab can't jump over it. I like how it opens one way and auto closes so we don't actually have to "lock" it which makes going through the doorway so much easier. July 18, 2014
Finally a gate that contains my climbing dog! I had been using the old wood baby gates to keep my two dogs contained in a room while I was away. My 9 lb dog quickly learned how to climb the gate. I added a second gate on top, and she successfully climbed that gate, or she would someone knock the bottom gate down, even though it was tight against the sides. I started putting baskets, 5 gallon water bottles and anything else in the room to create a gauntlet. Finally, I searched and found the Frontgate metal, mesh gate. So easy for me to leave now with a simple latch. And the dog can't climb, and in 2 weeks, she hasn't knocked it down. Thank you Frontgate! June 7, 2014
Everyone Loves the Look of this Gate Not only does everyone love the look, but the functionality for multi-species-households (dog, cat, human) is the best I've ever seen. Even my dog trainer commented on it at first glimpse. I've never heard so many people comment so positively and enthusiastically on something so utilitarian as this gate. And the cats, in particular are thrilled, only poor Fido can't come and go at will :( . It's one of the best buys I've ever made. May 18, 2014
Well-made gate Very attractive and sturdy gate in a taller than usual size. Put in place easily, works well and no way dogs can jump this height! May 11, 2014
Pet Gate - No More Gates To Constantly Undo! Excellent! We are so pleased with this product. We were able to get rid of 3 conventional wooden gates throughout the house. Now we can rest assured that the cat and two big dogs will not meet within the same household. The cat could jump over the other gates, but not this one! Major bonus for us is the gate - for our easy passage. The installation was easy. Highly recommend this product. April 24, 2014
Pet gate We had ordered the longer version of this and it was great. The only complaint would be there's not an option to order extra extension panels but theses are GREAT!! March 27, 2014
Nice Gate This is a very pretty gate - so much better than the plastic ones that don't do anything for a person's decor. I agree with the reviewers that wish for additional sizes, but am lucky enough that this gate fit where I needed it. I really appreciate how tall the gate is; it's much taller than any others that are described as being extra-tall. I have three large dogs, and none has tried to jump it. March 17, 2014
Pet Gates Purchased two of these and just wish I had ordered them earlier. Gates arrived quickly and well packaged. Easy to install and operate, very well built, looks great, and love how the door closes behind you automatically. March 12, 2014
works well does what it supposed to and with style . i just weigh they had this in more sizes, wider. There's absolutely nothing for opening that are in the 40-50" range February 27, 2014
Peace Of Mind At Last We have three cats all of which came from the local shelter. One of our cats was found in the woods near an area campground and was assumed to be a run away. This cat loves to bolt past you when you open the front door. We had tried every type of deterrent, water spray, ultra sound barriers, scolding and nothing seemed to work. We installed this pet gate in the 36 inch opening in the front entry way mud room. It worked instantly our problem was solved. The cat can't enter the mud room so it can't get out the front door. It easily installs in a half hour, looks great and is well engineered. February 24, 2014
Classy room enclosure This door is perfect. It's metal so the dog doesn't chew on it. It opens like a gate for people or large dogs and it has a small door for little dogs. Both can be latched to stay shut. The mesh keeps the dog from trying to climb over and it is decoratively trimmed so that it looks really good. Great purchase! I'm very pleased. February 20, 2014
Wonderful Purchase We bought two of these gates to restrict our new Yorkie puppy to one room while being housebroken. The gates are absolutely beautiful and actually look like they might have been built for our house. Everyone that has seen them comments on how nice and beautiful they are and want to know where we got them. They came already assembled and were very easy to set up. It was an ingenious design to have the larger gate that we can walk through and to also have the smaller opening that allows a small dog or cat to go through if you want to leave the gate closed. We sometimes prop the gates open because they will not stay open by themselves. Also, if they are placed in a doorway that is used often, they will need to be adjusted occasionally because they move somewhat with use, since they are not permanently fastened. This may not be an issue with someone using it in a doorway that has a doorjamb but ours is just an archway so the ends of the gates are resting against sheetrock. I still gave it 5 stars because we are very pleased with them! February 4, 2014
Just fabulous I've purchased two - in order to keep guest bedroom doors open, but keep our pet OUT. January 31, 2014
Loving This Gate I did extensive research before purchasing this gate and still had reservations even as I was placing my order. This gate is exactly as described. It came in a very timely manner and is so stylish. This is not a dog gate to be ashamed of. The only drawback is the large spaces on each side of gate that my small dogs can squeeze thru. We love the gate so much, we did temporary fix and will make a permanent fix when our home remodeling has been completed. Glad we found Frontgate. January 29, 2014
Simple Beauty We got 2 of these gates to put in our kitchen doorways. They were super easy to put up and are very effective at keeping our Dobies in; their height is a very efficacious mental barrier the dogs can still effectively see out. [Though, being simply tension mounted, it is possible that at 100 lbs our Dobies could push the gates hard enough to dislodge them given the right circumstances.] Our cats really like the little kitty doors so they can waltz in and out while the dogs stay in the kitchen!! lol i really like the dark brown powder coat finish on the metal and the elegant filigrees that make the gates something special that match our decor. And unlike a babygate, these gates are very easy to get in and out of. No more climbing over gates!! Yay! lol January 18, 2014
Very Satisified! The gate is well made, easy to install, looks great and we were very pleased with the price! January 12, 2014
  • 2015-08-02T11:12:05.382-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_131, tr_131
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
(35 Questions : 51 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
I dont have cats so dont need dual door but afraid my yorkies could squeeze thru on the other gate. Hard to tell from pictures but dont want to spend extra money if i dont have to
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Chicago, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chibearfan is loaded.
Additional information about chibearfan could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. The space between the bars on the side panels are half the width of the gate with no dual door.
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3

Answer: 
no way your small yorkie would fit through!
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about otann is loaded.
Additional information about otann could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
There are large openings on either side of this gate when using in a doorway 36"+. The wider the doorway the larger the opening in the sides. Cats and small or slender dogs could fit through. Openings are either side are wide enough that a dog could easily get their head caught in it. Disappointing, its a beautiful piece.
7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Pinehurst, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Caroline22 is loaded.
Additional information about Caroline22 could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about webcollins is loaded.
Additional information about webcollins could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, none of the pet gates we carry are recommended to be used as a baby gate. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it could....but it is a little tall for a baby gate...and a little pricey for one too!
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ITSALLGOOD is loaded.
Additional information about ITSALLGOOD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would be wary of a crawling baby or toddler getting their head stuck in the cat door....
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 5BigDogs is loaded.
Additional information about 5BigDogs could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
No, the door only swings one way. There is a sliding latch that holds the gate shut once the door in properly inserted in the doorway.
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Both the top and bottom gate open one way and that is why (IMO) it is sturdy. Nice sliding tension latch for the gate, the smaller gate has a latch that drops behind a fixed bar for closure.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Crestedcanine is loaded.
Additional information about Crestedcanine could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Parker is loaded.
Additional information about Parker could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

What is the height of item 46128?

In the catalog I just received the height is shown as 33 3/4" but on the web sight it is indicated as 42". Which is correct.? Does it come in two different heights?
3 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Dee-Dee
La
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The height of this item is 42". It was previously offered in a smaller size, however that item is no longer available. We apologize for any confusion.
3 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
mine arrived and was 42"
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
ohio
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Dichelle is loaded.
Additional information about Dichelle could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

Can this gate be used on stairs

I have several cats and I want to keep them from going upstairs in my home.
3 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chloe4631 is loaded.
Additional information about Chloe4631 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, this item is not recommended for use on stairs. We apologize for any inconvenience.
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate has to be mounted correctly before the latch will stay closed. If you can create enough tension using a stair rung and the wall, (or whatever you will be attaching it to) then I think it would be perfect!
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
  • 2015-08-02T11:05:00.285-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???