Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 106 110
Very Happy I have 3 large dogs that have always found a way to knock down every gate we have purchased. This gate is heavy and durable with a door for the cat. Without the usual bars for them to stick their feet through they are not able to knock it down. Looks great and is very easy to install. Highly recommend this gate!! January 7, 2014
Gate with people & small pet door solved problem We use it to limit access to a second story loft after one of our cats fell from the second story. Now they can only go up when supervised. Previously we were using a shorter baby gate and cardboard, which looked hideous! The cardboard was necessary because the cats could climb the baby gate grid. They cannot do that with the mesh screen of the Frontgate pet gate. It is so much easier for "people" get upstairs now, without having to remove the baby gate and the cardboard. November 19, 2013
Metal Decorative 42 Inch Steel Mesh Gate This product is very useful and strong for my American Staffordshire Pitbull. Everyone who sees it usually comments how it goes very nice with the metal and wood bannister in my house. The added height on this item is perfect as Thor can't jump over it. The little door stays locked which I really like because at times Thor can be a little aggressive and I don't need him getting the little door open. Excellent purchase and quality! November 26, 2013
Just fabulous I've purchased two - in order to keep guest bedroom doors open, but keep our pet OUT. January 31, 2014
Pet Gate for 36" opening We received the pet gate in record time and it was packaged extremely well but we were missing the 4 screws for wall application but wasn't a problem. The design is classy without being overwhelming and is very sturdy. Gets great comments from our friends and because of the looks we can leave it up all the time. Only con was that it has too much open space at the sides to the wall-3" each side. Could use additional rails and maybe a slightly shorter availability. November 7, 2013
Good Quality Product Works great! Keep in mind that you will most likely need to install the top wall support things (for lack of a better term). If you don't, the top could slide out of the doorway. I did not need them on the bottom. I did not use the sticky pads, only the supports. Its a tension issue. You cannot keep tightening to the wall without compromising your ability to open the door. Its not a flaw! There is no other way to do it. My only real complaint is that the directions could be better. It does not include an explanation of how to install the wall supports. Its pretty obvious, but directions should include everything. April 6, 2013
It didn't quite work but very nice I thought my bedroom doors were normal size but it is a town home they might be a bit narrower than normal. I was able to install the gate, but I had to leave the rubber bumpers/tension knobs off of one side. It is a beautiful gate. The cat door is a bit too large and my dog is on the small side (24 lbs) though twice the size of my cats. I am still in the process of figuring out how to add something to the cat door to make it too small for the dog, but still big enough for my cats to easily get through. It would definitely work great if I had a larger dog. August 5, 2013
Very Satisified! The gate is well made, easy to install, looks great and we were very pleased with the price! January 12, 2014
Looovvve it!! Great quality and very attractive. Sturdy, installed in minutes. Thrilled with this gate which makes "gating" a home decorating accessory vs an ugly necessity. January 1, 2014
Pet gates The gates are lovely, but wouldn't work for my 65 pound Golden Retrievers. Too bad for me! January 6, 2014
Nice Look More convenient to walk thru the door rather than step over the child gates we had previously. Have larger dogs (65lbs) and smaller dogs (10-15lbs) and thought the small door would be good feature. Hoped to let little dogs have escape hatch from bigger dogs but found our 65lb and 45lb could manage to worm their way through. Although not working out exactly as planned we still plan on purchasing another similar gate or two. September 30, 2013
Beautiful gate, great quality This gate is beautiful, and the quality is terrific. That being said, I had to return this product. I bought it for a purpose other than intended. I thought this might be a good way to keep my furry babes from darting out the front door every time it is opened. It looked great, but the way the adjustable fittings fit into the door frame made it a little unstable, and the door knob wound up being the exact height of the gate, so it was awkward trying to get a key in and turn it. I wish I could have used this gate somewhere else in my home, because it is so nice! February 15, 2013
Wrong information First, I love the gate however, in the description it states that it fits into a doorway that is at least 31.5" but the actual instructions and size of the gate say that it is at least 33.5". Then, the small door is installed backwards to what the picture is, so you cannot open the little door while the big gate is closed unless you open the big one, go through it, shut it, then open the little one, then open the big one again, go through it and then shut it. Maybe I just received a defectively installed little door! Would be nice to have one that was installed correctly! September 28, 2012
The gate does what it's supposed to do It's sturdy, tall and good looking. The tension adjustments took a while to get the door to close properly. I wish they would make this in a version that mounts to the wall instead of the tension mount. Even with the tension as tight as possible, the weight of the door (it's spring loaded) swinging shut will move the mounts enough to mar the paint on the wall. October 21, 2013
Love it!!! I love the tension mount gate. The animals are contained and it is attractive unlike most pet gates! Very easy to install and love the ability to open gate and walk thru. Excellent buy! December 5, 2013
life saver I have a Multi pet house hold. 3 cats and 2 ex-large dogs. This was pretty simple to install even adjusting, for my slightly smaller door frame It is elegant and sturdy. I am very please with my purchase. I set it up to open into the room so I could leave the small door open for the cats to get into their litter boxes. No gate to hop over or remove just open the door. It's fantastic! II wish I had found this years ago. September 17, 2013
Sturdy and Attractive I have a one year old Doberman puppy who can jump over any gate - except this one! The mesh makes it impossible to climb, too. It probably helps that she can see through the gate, which also happens to be very solid-feeling. When I first installed it, I almost panicked because it was just a 1/2 of an inch too big to fit in the door frame even though I measured carefully before I ordered it. i was able to make it work by using the screws and knobs on one side and the screws by themselves on the other side. Very happy with this product. February 21, 2013
Very well made I bought two of these gates and was only able to use one as they are for a wider opening than most doors frames. We were able to use it at the end of the hallway where we have a rock archway and it looks great. We did have to attach the top of the gate into the rock to keep it from moving when it closed. I love the fact that it so much taller than the others out on the market, my one Dalmatian can jump over the old one, but NOT this one. We will use the other one outside this spring to keep the dogs at bay when the kitchen door is open. February 10, 2013
Love this Gate!!! My door frame is actually to small for both sides but it still works perfectly with the tension springs on one side. I thought I was going to have to ship it back but decided to try it anyway and it is great. I have two large dogs and one smaller dog and they don't even try to go through. My cats love it because it gives them peace in the bedroom and access to their litter boxes without the dogs hanging around, AND it keeps my new carpet in great condition. Can't wait to buy the other gate for the other hallway. Ease of use is priceless!!! June 27, 2012
Attractive and functional pet gate As the proud owner of 4 dogs, ranging in size from 75 to 130 lbs, I needed sturdy pet barriers that look good in the house. I am so pleased with my purchase - not only are the gates attractive, they are substantial! My rowdy boys lean heavily against the mesh from time-to-time, but they have yet to dislodge any of these barriers. Moreover, the gates latch firmly and securely - nothing pops open. 4 stars because gates cannot accomodate entryways less than 32". As per usual with Frontgate, my order was well-packaged and shipped promptly. March 1, 2012
Attractive and functional The gate is beautiful and works great to keep the dogs out while allowing the cat to go where he pleases November 18, 2013
Dual Door Pet Gate Since we have a family of dogs and a cat, we found this gate to be the perfect solution. Although it seemed pricey, the quality of Frontgate products have normally supported the price tag. We are pleased over all with the item except for the rubber disk pads were only held on by a cheap piece of 2-sided tape, and kept failing off while I was installing the gate. Otherwise I would have given the item 5 stars. I do especially like the self closing feature as I know my kids would forget to close it on their own. August 5, 2012
Excellent purchase I am so happy I decided to purchase this gate, not only is it functional it is very stylish. It's tall enough so our two dogs can't jump over. I like that you secure it in place using tension instead of making holes in the wall. It is very sturdy and the walk through gate is great! Not sure why I waited so long to purchase the gate. I would recommend this gate to anyone looking for a high quality stylish gate for their home, works and looks much better than any plastic or wood baby gate on the market. June 1, 2012
Steel Mesh Pet Gate I have 7 dogs all sizes from a chihuahua to a collie and this gate was exactly what I needed. The mesh allows air flow through and the dogs can see me in the gameroom. I put it in my kitchen door that leads out to my gameroom. The gate is tall enough that my dogs do not try to climb or jump over it. I'm very happy with this purchase and would recommend this gate to buy. July 24, 2013
Pet Gate We purchased 2 gates to close off the kitchen from the dogs. The gates are attractive and tall enough that husband and I do not have to bend over to open them. The latch is easy to use and yet the dogs have not figured out how to open it yet. I do have a very athletic girl that is able to jump the gate, but that is certainly not the fault of the gate. I will be purchasing one more soon for the spare bedroom where I keep two of my dogs when we are not home. February 18, 2013
Doggie Gate The Doggie gate is very nice looking and functional. I have 3 dogs, Great Dane, Boston Terrier, and mix terrier. The gate works to separate our living area from the social areas. The height of the gate is great and overall strength appears to be great. The auto-shut is good; the three year old daughter likes to slam it a bunch. July 24, 2013
Very good product, but... Very elegant-looking and decorative. Installed faily quickly with few problems. However: cats can still get through on the sides - I went to the home improvement store and bought some plastic to put in to fix this. Cats were the whole reason to buy this gate, because of the upright bars on the sides. Instructions are inadequate: don't explain very well about placing the protective pads. Only came with 3 screws, and don't explain where to use the screws. July 21, 2012
Attractive dog gate Visually attractive in color (dark antique bronze finish) and design. My gate arrived with several manufacturing defects, so Frontgate is replacing when the next shipment arrives. The main door does not stay open on its own, you will need a door stop or weight if you choose to leave open. Tension holds well. I needed help assembling, but others may not. Overall a very attractive and well priced dog gate. April 6, 2013
Perfect fit and beautiful to look at I had purchased a similar gate from Frontgate, that was so well constructed and looked beautiful, that I had to purchase 2 additional gates. This gate is as well constructed as the first gate I purchased, and is just as beautiful. The set-up again was easy and the gate works perfectly. So instead of my ugly old baby gates that we had to step over, we have this beautiful gate that we can easily walk though. February 15, 2013
The Cat's opinion The gate is very well made and attractive I love the scroll work and color of the metal. The gate would work great for a dog however a cat is able to get around the edges. The main gate latch should be adjustable the spring does not always close the bolt. The gate would get a 5 star rating on appearance. We added some bars to the side to prevent the cat from getting around the edges so it can be fixed but not a great design. December 3, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
(29 Questions : 43 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about webcollins is loaded.
Additional information about webcollins could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, none of the pet gates we carry are recommended to be used as a baby gate. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it could....but it is a little tall for a baby gate...and a little pricey for one too!
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ITSALLGOOD is loaded.
Additional information about ITSALLGOOD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would be wary of a crawling baby or toddler getting their head stuck in the cat door....
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 5BigDogs is loaded.
Additional information about 5BigDogs could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
No, the door only swings one way. There is a sliding latch that holds the gate shut once the door in properly inserted in the doorway.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Both the top and bottom gate open one way and that is why (IMO) it is sturdy. Nice sliding tension latch for the gate, the smaller gate has a latch that drops behind a fixed bar for closure.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Crestedcanine is loaded.
Additional information about Crestedcanine could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Parker is loaded.
Additional information about Parker could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

Can this gate be used on stairs

I have several cats and I want to keep them from going upstairs in my home.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chloe4631 is loaded.
Additional information about Chloe4631 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, this item is not recommended for use on stairs. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate has to be mounted correctly before the latch will stay closed. If you can create enough tension using a stair rung and the wall, (or whatever you will be attaching it to) then I think it would be perfect!
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Lender is loaded.
Additional information about Lender could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. Unfortunately, this item only adjusts up to 37.5" wide. We apologize for this inconvenience. We do have a 34" high free-standing pet gate that adjusts from 55" to 69" wide.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is 42" TALL not wide.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ITSALLGOOD is loaded.
Additional information about ITSALLGOOD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about AussieMom is loaded.
Additional information about AussieMom could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Gate. The cat door does latch.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MZFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MZFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
I was thinking of using the twist tie that came with the gate to secure the cat door. Twist and cut short on the outside to prevent pet scrathes... I think my cat might learn to play with the lever and simply lift it up and don't trust just that latch. Give that a try!
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???