Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 114 118
Great Product Beautifully made. I used the item in the hallway to keeps my cats and dogs separated. The bronze color blends into the hallway so it's not very obvious and easy to take down if there is an emergency. Would like to see product have an extra bar to make a better enclosure for a 36" hallway. Needed to put a Plexiglas piece to keep cats from sliding through the edge of the gate. The second gate is in the laundry room. It is strong enough barrier to hold 2 German Shepherds safely in the room. Do glad I brought this product. January 7, 2014
Pet gate We had ordered the longer version of this and it was great. The only complaint would be there's not an option to order extra extension panels but theses are GREAT!! March 27, 2014
BE SURE TO MEASURE This is a great & classy gate, but I 'assumed' my doorways were standard size and that this gate would fit. My doorways are about 1" smaller than required for this gate to work correctly, so now I'm trying to rig it up so I can still use it. If it fit my doorway, I'm sure it would be spectacular. Remember the old adage: measure twice, cut once. February 20, 2014
Classy room enclosure This door is perfect. It's metal so the dog doesn't chew on it. It opens like a gate for people or large dogs and it has a small door for little dogs. Both can be latched to stay shut. The mesh keeps the dog from trying to climb over and it is decoratively trimmed so that it looks really good. Great purchase! I'm very pleased. February 20, 2014
Pet Gates Purchased two of these and just wish I had ordered them earlier. Gates arrived quickly and well packaged. Easy to install and operate, very well built, looks great, and love how the door closes behind you automatically. March 12, 2014
Attractive Dog Gate This is the second dog gate I have purchased from Frontgate. I bought the matching larger gate several months prior. The gate is very attractive and looks much better in our house than the plastic baby gates we replaced with it. Our only problem is that we didn't measure before we ordered it. I just assumed our doorway was standard, but the gate was too wide. We ended up having to put it behind the opening and put wooden blocks at each of the tension screws to make up the size difference. If you screw it too tightly the gate won't shut well, so you have to loosen it for the walk through gate feature to work best. July 10, 2013
42in.H tension-mount dual steel mesh pet gate I ordered the gate on Thursday and received it on the following Tuesday, before Christmas. great service and gate was just what i expected. we have 2 cats and the smaller one did manage to knock the gate once to go back to the other side, but it might have been our error in not adjusting the tension properly. overall great product, the only complaint would be if we can have the gate a little taller, maybe 4 to 4 1/2 feet tall instead of 3 1/2. January 8, 2014
Good Quality Product Works great! Keep in mind that you will most likely need to install the top wall support things (for lack of a better term). If you don't, the top could slide out of the doorway. I did not need them on the bottom. I did not use the sticky pads, only the supports. Its a tension issue. You cannot keep tightening to the wall without compromising your ability to open the door. Its not a flaw! There is no other way to do it. My only real complaint is that the directions could be better. It does not include an explanation of how to install the wall supports. Its pretty obvious, but directions should include everything. April 6, 2013
works well does what it supposed to and with style . i just weigh they had this in more sizes, wider. There's absolutely nothing for opening that are in the 40-50" range February 27, 2014
Gate with people & small pet door solved problem We use it to limit access to a second story loft after one of our cats fell from the second story. Now they can only go up when supervised. Previously we were using a shorter baby gate and cardboard, which looked hideous! The cardboard was necessary because the cats could climb the baby gate grid. They cannot do that with the mesh screen of the Frontgate pet gate. It is so much easier for "people" get upstairs now, without having to remove the baby gate and the cardboard. November 19, 2013
It didn't quite work but very nice I thought my bedroom doors were normal size but it is a town home they might be a bit narrower than normal. I was able to install the gate, but I had to leave the rubber bumpers/tension knobs off of one side. It is a beautiful gate. The cat door is a bit too large and my dog is on the small side (24 lbs) though twice the size of my cats. I am still in the process of figuring out how to add something to the cat door to make it too small for the dog, but still big enough for my cats to easily get through. It would definitely work great if I had a larger dog. August 5, 2013
Pet Gate for 36" opening We received the pet gate in record time and it was packaged extremely well but we were missing the 4 screws for wall application but wasn't a problem. The design is classy without being overwhelming and is very sturdy. Gets great comments from our friends and because of the looks we can leave it up all the time. Only con was that it has too much open space at the sides to the wall-3" each side. Could use additional rails and maybe a slightly shorter availability. November 7, 2013
Metal Decorative 42 Inch Steel Mesh Gate This product is very useful and strong for my American Staffordshire Pitbull. Everyone who sees it usually comments how it goes very nice with the metal and wood bannister in my house. The added height on this item is perfect as Thor can't jump over it. The little door stays locked which I really like because at times Thor can be a little aggressive and I don't need him getting the little door open. Excellent purchase and quality! November 26, 2013
Very Happy I have 3 large dogs that have always found a way to knock down every gate we have purchased. This gate is heavy and durable with a door for the cat. Without the usual bars for them to stick their feet through they are not able to knock it down. Looks great and is very easy to install. Highly recommend this gate!! January 7, 2014
Wrong information First, I love the gate however, in the description it states that it fits into a doorway that is at least 31.5" but the actual instructions and size of the gate say that it is at least 33.5". Then, the small door is installed backwards to what the picture is, so you cannot open the little door while the big gate is closed unless you open the big one, go through it, shut it, then open the little one, then open the big one again, go through it and then shut it. Maybe I just received a defectively installed little door! Would be nice to have one that was installed correctly! September 28, 2012
Beautiful gate, great quality This gate is beautiful, and the quality is terrific. That being said, I had to return this product. I bought it for a purpose other than intended. I thought this might be a good way to keep my furry babes from darting out the front door every time it is opened. It looked great, but the way the adjustable fittings fit into the door frame made it a little unstable, and the door knob wound up being the exact height of the gate, so it was awkward trying to get a key in and turn it. I wish I could have used this gate somewhere else in my home, because it is so nice! February 15, 2013
Very well made I bought two of these gates and was only able to use one as they are for a wider opening than most doors frames. We were able to use it at the end of the hallway where we have a rock archway and it looks great. We did have to attach the top of the gate into the rock to keep it from moving when it closed. I love the fact that it so much taller than the others out on the market, my one Dalmatian can jump over the old one, but NOT this one. We will use the other one outside this spring to keep the dogs at bay when the kitchen door is open. February 10, 2013
Sturdy and Attractive I have a one year old Doberman puppy who can jump over any gate - except this one! The mesh makes it impossible to climb, too. It probably helps that she can see through the gate, which also happens to be very solid-feeling. When I first installed it, I almost panicked because it was just a 1/2 of an inch too big to fit in the door frame even though I measured carefully before I ordered it. i was able to make it work by using the screws and knobs on one side and the screws by themselves on the other side. Very happy with this product. February 21, 2013
Just fabulous I've purchased two - in order to keep guest bedroom doors open, but keep our pet OUT. January 31, 2014
Love this Gate!!! My door frame is actually to small for both sides but it still works perfectly with the tension springs on one side. I thought I was going to have to ship it back but decided to try it anyway and it is great. I have two large dogs and one smaller dog and they don't even try to go through. My cats love it because it gives them peace in the bedroom and access to their litter boxes without the dogs hanging around, AND it keeps my new carpet in great condition. Can't wait to buy the other gate for the other hallway. Ease of use is priceless!!! June 27, 2012
Nice Look More convenient to walk thru the door rather than step over the child gates we had previously. Have larger dogs (65lbs) and smaller dogs (10-15lbs) and thought the small door would be good feature. Hoped to let little dogs have escape hatch from bigger dogs but found our 65lb and 45lb could manage to worm their way through. Although not working out exactly as planned we still plan on purchasing another similar gate or two. September 30, 2013
Attractive and functional pet gate As the proud owner of 4 dogs, ranging in size from 75 to 130 lbs, I needed sturdy pet barriers that look good in the house. I am so pleased with my purchase - not only are the gates attractive, they are substantial! My rowdy boys lean heavily against the mesh from time-to-time, but they have yet to dislodge any of these barriers. Moreover, the gates latch firmly and securely - nothing pops open. 4 stars because gates cannot accomodate entryways less than 32". As per usual with Frontgate, my order was well-packaged and shipped promptly. March 1, 2012
life saver I have a Multi pet house hold. 3 cats and 2 ex-large dogs. This was pretty simple to install even adjusting, for my slightly smaller door frame It is elegant and sturdy. I am very please with my purchase. I set it up to open into the room so I could leave the small door open for the cats to get into their litter boxes. No gate to hop over or remove just open the door. It's fantastic! II wish I had found this years ago. September 17, 2013
The gate does what it's supposed to do It's sturdy, tall and good looking. The tension adjustments took a while to get the door to close properly. I wish they would make this in a version that mounts to the wall instead of the tension mount. Even with the tension as tight as possible, the weight of the door (it's spring loaded) swinging shut will move the mounts enough to mar the paint on the wall. October 21, 2013
Looovvve it!! Great quality and very attractive. Sturdy, installed in minutes. Thrilled with this gate which makes "gating" a home decorating accessory vs an ugly necessity. January 1, 2014
Dual Door Pet Gate Since we have a family of dogs and a cat, we found this gate to be the perfect solution. Although it seemed pricey, the quality of Frontgate products have normally supported the price tag. We are pleased over all with the item except for the rubber disk pads were only held on by a cheap piece of 2-sided tape, and kept failing off while I was installing the gate. Otherwise I would have given the item 5 stars. I do especially like the self closing feature as I know my kids would forget to close it on their own. August 5, 2012
Very Satisified! The gate is well made, easy to install, looks great and we were very pleased with the price! January 12, 2014
Excellent purchase I am so happy I decided to purchase this gate, not only is it functional it is very stylish. It's tall enough so our two dogs can't jump over. I like that you secure it in place using tension instead of making holes in the wall. It is very sturdy and the walk through gate is great! Not sure why I waited so long to purchase the gate. I would recommend this gate to anyone looking for a high quality stylish gate for their home, works and looks much better than any plastic or wood baby gate on the market. June 1, 2012
Pet gates The gates are lovely, but wouldn't work for my 65 pound Golden Retrievers. Too bad for me! January 6, 2014
Love it!!! I love the tension mount gate. The animals are contained and it is attractive unlike most pet gates! Very easy to install and love the ability to open gate and walk thru. Excellent buy! December 5, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
(29 Questions : 44 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about webcollins is loaded.
Additional information about webcollins could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, none of the pet gates we carry are recommended to be used as a baby gate. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it could....but it is a little tall for a baby gate...and a little pricey for one too!
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ITSALLGOOD is loaded.
Additional information about ITSALLGOOD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would be wary of a crawling baby or toddler getting their head stuck in the cat door....
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 5BigDogs is loaded.
Additional information about 5BigDogs could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
No, the door only swings one way. There is a sliding latch that holds the gate shut once the door in properly inserted in the doorway.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Both the top and bottom gate open one way and that is why (IMO) it is sturdy. Nice sliding tension latch for the gate, the smaller gate has a latch that drops behind a fixed bar for closure.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Crestedcanine is loaded.
Additional information about Crestedcanine could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Parker is loaded.
Additional information about Parker could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I dont have cats so dont need dual door but afraid my yorkies could squeeze thru on the other gate. Hard to tell from pictures but dont want to spend extra money if i dont have to
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Chicago, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chibearfan is loaded.
Additional information about chibearfan could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. The space between the bars on the side panels are half the width of the gate with no dual door.
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2

Answer: 
no way your small yorkie would fit through!
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about otann is loaded.
Additional information about otann could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
There are large openings on either side of this gate when using in a doorway 36"+. The wider the doorway the larger the opening in the sides. Cats and small or slender dogs could fit through. Openings are either side are wide enough that a dog could easily get their head caught in it. Disappointing, its a beautiful piece.
1 week, 1 day ago
Customer avatar
by
Pinehurst, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Caroline22 is loaded.
Additional information about Caroline22 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

What is the height of item 46128?

In the catalog I just received the height is shown as 33 3/4" but on the web sight it is indicated as 42". Which is correct.? Does it come in two different heights?
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Dee-Dee
La
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The height of this item is 42". It was previously offered in a smaller size, however that item is no longer available. We apologize for any confusion.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
mine arrived and was 42"
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
ohio
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Dichelle is loaded.
Additional information about Dichelle could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

Can this gate be used on stairs

I have several cats and I want to keep them from going upstairs in my home.
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chloe4631 is loaded.
Additional information about Chloe4631 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, this item is not recommended for use on stairs. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate has to be mounted correctly before the latch will stay closed. If you can create enough tension using a stair rung and the wall, (or whatever you will be attaching it to) then I think it would be perfect!
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???