Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 158.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice gate, good customer support I love this gate. It keeps my two big dogs out of the kitchen and it looks very pretty. It's easy to open and close the gate, which only opens one way. The latch is easy, everything is easy. Now all we need is one that expands a bit wider and looks exactly the same. This gate only fits very narrow doorways. Most places in my house I need a gate are too wide for this one and there is no other wider option yet.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Gate We also have the free standing expandable version of this gate for the past 3 years, we moved needed another gate in a doorway. The gates are very durable- I have a 165 pound mastiff. The gates match each other and match my 100 year old colonial home. We always receive compliments from guest. We also have a cat, we love the walkthrough for the cat. Super easy to install. Worth every penny!
Date published: 2014-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY NICE LOOKING AS WELL AS USEFUL it looks great, is fine quality and useful for my 2 large dogs and 1 small dog
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate is saving my house! I have 14 rescue dogs who are all allowed in the house but the lower free-standing gates I ordered from you last year, which I also love, were easily jumped by a batch of smooth fox terriers that we are re-homing. I ordered two of these and they are easy to install and look lovely in my ante-bellum style home. My formal areas look pretty but are off limits to the dogs thanks to these very lovely sturdy and easy to open gates.
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive, quality barrier & gate We installed it two weeks ago in an archway (no door frame) between the kitchen and a hall to separate two large resident dogs from a temporarily resident cat (while cat and owner look for a new home in this area). We used two 2x6s on each side of the arch (painted to match the walls) to make it narrow enough (39.25 – 6 = 33.25”) for the gate to fit tight and no gaps: 2 screws into studs to attach the first 2x6 (notched to fit over baseboards), and 2 screws to attach the second 2x6 on top of the first with these screws placed so they are covered by the pressure pads. Easy to patch 4 screw holes in arch walls when the gate comes down. Gate opens into the dog side so opening it backs them up; added screws on the cat side next to the pressure pads in case the dogs push against the gate; wired the little door shut. The frame sits on the tile kitchen floor, not “floated” above. The installation is quite sturdy but just to be sure we close the cat in the bedroom when nobody is home. Easy to unlatch the gate and step through – we never let it slam. In frequent daily use, the hinges that seemed noisy at first are hardly noticeable.
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased! I am very pleased with this gate. It is well made and looks beautiful in the doorway. It was extremely easy to put into the doorway right out of the box. One thing of note - For some reason, I did not receive the installation hardware at the time of shipping, but a quick call and I received everything I needed within 3 days. Highly Recommended.
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not 5 stars! The overall appearance is good. It would be nice to have some sort of brackets to attach permanently to the wall. Also, I could do without the small animal gate on the bottom. I have to think of a way glue it shut because it is easily opened and I will never use it.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Tension Mount Pet Gate We have had this gate for about 4 weeks now and have really enjoyed it. We put it on the entrance to our master bedroom which can be seen when we have guests over. We have wood floors everywhere downstairs except our room which is carpet and we don't want the dogs in there. I wanted something a little more "fancy" than just a standard baby gate which we are using in the utility room. It's very sturdy and has a smaller pet gate that you can open at the bottom if necessary (we don't use it). The latch is easy for all 3 of my kids to use without any trouble . The only negative in my opinion is that it only swings one way, it won't go both directions. I still gave it 5 stars even though it doesn't do that just because it's something that I have to get used to. My other gate will go either way, however if I did not have the other one I probably wouldn't even notice.
Date published: 2014-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Gate I love this gate so much I bought a 2nd one. It is very sturdy and far prettier than any other gate I've ever seen. Friends than come over are always asking me where I got it. It's extra tall too so my lab can't jump over it. I like how it opens one way and auto closes so we don't actually have to "lock" it which makes going through the doorway so much easier.
Date published: 2014-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a gate that contains my climbing dog! I had been using the old wood baby gates to keep my two dogs contained in a room while I was away. My 9 lb dog quickly learned how to climb the gate. I added a second gate on top, and she successfully climbed that gate, or she would someone knock the bottom gate down, even though it was tight against the sides. I started putting baskets, 5 gallon water bottles and anything else in the room to create a gauntlet. Finally, I searched and found the Frontgate metal, mesh gate. So easy for me to leave now with a simple latch. And the dog can't climb, and in 2 weeks, she hasn't knocked it down. Thank you Frontgate!
Date published: 2014-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone Loves the Look of this Gate Not only does everyone love the look, but the functionality for multi-species-households (dog, cat, human) is the best I've ever seen. Even my dog trainer commented on it at first glimpse. I've never heard so many people comment so positively and enthusiastically on something so utilitarian as this gate. And the cats, in particular are thrilled, only poor Fido can't come and go at will :( . It's one of the best buys I've ever made.
Date published: 2014-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well-made gate Very attractive and sturdy gate in a taller than usual size. Put in place easily, works well and no way dogs can jump this height!
Date published: 2014-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate - No More Gates To Constantly Undo! Excellent! We are so pleased with this product. We were able to get rid of 3 conventional wooden gates throughout the house. Now we can rest assured that the cat and two big dogs will not meet within the same household. The cat could jump over the other gates, but not this one! Major bonus for us is the gate - for our easy passage. The installation was easy. Highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2014-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent purchase
Date published: 2014-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet gate We had ordered the longer version of this and it was great. The only complaint would be there's not an option to order extra extension panels but theses are GREAT!!
Date published: 2014-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Gate This is a very pretty gate - so much better than the plastic ones that don't do anything for a person's decor. I agree with the reviewers that wish for additional sizes, but am lucky enough that this gate fit where I needed it. I really appreciate how tall the gate is; it's much taller than any others that are described as being extra-tall. I have three large dogs, and none has tried to jump it.
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gates Purchased two of these and just wish I had ordered them earlier. Gates arrived quickly and well packaged. Easy to install and operate, very well built, looks great, and love how the door closes behind you automatically.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works well does what it supposed to and with style . i just weigh they had this in more sizes, wider. There's absolutely nothing for opening that are in the 40-50" range
Date published: 2014-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace Of Mind At Last We have three cats all of which came from the local shelter. One of our cats was found in the woods near an area campground and was assumed to be a run away. This cat loves to bolt past you when you open the front door. We had tried every type of deterrent, water spray, ultra sound barriers, scolding and nothing seemed to work. We installed this pet gate in the 36 inch opening in the front entry way mud room. It worked instantly our problem was solved. The cat can't enter the mud room so it can't get out the front door. It easily installs in a half hour, looks great and is well engineered.
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classy room enclosure This door is perfect. It's metal so the dog doesn't chew on it. It opens like a gate for people or large dogs and it has a small door for little dogs. Both can be latched to stay shut. The mesh keeps the dog from trying to climb over and it is decoratively trimmed so that it looks really good. Great purchase! I'm very pleased.
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Purchase We bought two of these gates to restrict our new Yorkie puppy to one room while being housebroken. The gates are absolutely beautiful and actually look like they might have been built for our house. Everyone that has seen them comments on how nice and beautiful they are and want to know where we got them. They came already assembled and were very easy to set up. It was an ingenious design to have the larger gate that we can walk through and to also have the smaller opening that allows a small dog or cat to go through if you want to leave the gate closed. We sometimes prop the gates open because they will not stay open by themselves. Also, if they are placed in a doorway that is used often, they will need to be adjusted occasionally because they move somewhat with use, since they are not permanently fastened. This may not be an issue with someone using it in a doorway that has a doorjamb but ours is just an archway so the ends of the gates are resting against sheetrock. I still gave it 5 stars because we are very pleased with them!
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just fabulous I've purchased two - in order to keep guest bedroom doors open, but keep our pet OUT.
Date published: 2014-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving This Gate I did extensive research before purchasing this gate and still had reservations even as I was placing my order. This gate is exactly as described. It came in a very timely manner and is so stylish. This is not a dog gate to be ashamed of. The only drawback is the large spaces on each side of gate that my small dogs can squeeze thru. We love the gate so much, we did temporary fix and will make a permanent fix when our home remodeling has been completed. Glad we found Frontgate.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple Beauty We got 2 of these gates to put in our kitchen doorways. They were super easy to put up and are very effective at keeping our Dobies in; their height is a very efficacious mental barrier the dogs can still effectively see out. [Though, being simply tension mounted, it is possible that at 100 lbs our Dobies could push the gates hard enough to dislodge them given the right circumstances.] Our cats really like the little kitty doors so they can waltz in and out while the dogs stay in the kitchen!! lol i really like the dark brown powder coat finish on the metal and the elegant filigrees that make the gates something special that match our decor. And unlike a babygate, these gates are very easy to get in and out of. No more climbing over gates!! Yay! lol
Date published: 2014-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Satisified! The gate is well made, easy to install, looks great and we were very pleased with the price!
Date published: 2014-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 42in.H tension-mount dual steel mesh pet gate I ordered the gate on Thursday and received it on the following Tuesday, before Christmas. great service and gate was just what i expected. we have 2 cats and the smaller one did manage to knock the gate once to go back to the other side, but it might have been our error in not adjusting the tension properly. overall great product, the only complaint would be if we can have the gate a little taller, maybe 4 to 4 1/2 feet tall instead of 3 1/2.
Date published: 2014-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy I have 3 large dogs that have always found a way to knock down every gate we have purchased. This gate is heavy and durable with a door for the cat. Without the usual bars for them to stick their feet through they are not able to knock it down. Looks great and is very easy to install. Highly recommend this gate!!
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Beautifully made. I used the item in the hallway to keeps my cats and dogs separated. The bronze color blends into the hallway so it's not very obvious and easy to take down if there is an emergency. Would like to see product have an extra bar to make a better enclosure for a 36" hallway. Needed to put a Plexiglas piece to keep cats from sliding through the edge of the gate. The second gate is in the laundry room. It is strong enough barrier to hold 2 German Shepherds safely in the room. Do glad I brought this product.
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looovvve it!! Great quality and very attractive. Sturdy, installed in minutes. Thrilled with this gate which makes "gating" a home decorating accessory vs an ugly necessity.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it so much - both a second one I absolutely love this gate. It is beautiful, solid and safe. I love my cats but don't want them in the bedrooms due to allergies. This gate is tall enough that they have not even attempted to jump over. The gate is easy to open with just one finger and with the spring loaded closing makes it wonderful to use when your arms are full. My only wish is that they would make one that is about 6-8' wider for my other stairway. The wider ones are shorter and the cats can jump over that height. Overall, I love it and have had several visitors get the information so they can order it also.
Date published: 2013-12-06
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_152
  • loc_, sid_46128, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

Are the bars on the side panels on this dual door gate closer together than the gate with no dual door? I have very small yorkies.

I dont have cats so dont need dual door but afraid my yorkies could squeeze thru on the other gate. Hard to tell from pictures but dont want to spend extra money if i dont have to
Asked by: chibearfan
Well, our new kitten was able to zip through the sides very easily, after we applied it to our 36"-wide doorway. If there was a way to close that gap, we would not have returned it.
Answered by: justawful
Date published: 2016-10-01

Is the mesh steel? Can cat jump over the gate?

Is the mesh made of steel? Our cats are jerks and will destroy any mesh within an hour. Also can cats jump over this gate? Has anyone experienced this? Thanks!
Asked by: Racheljcs
This is a thicker mesh, not like a window screen. Yes, a very athletic cat could jump over it. One of our carts jumped from an end table over it.
Answered by: JAScat
Date published: 2016-12-03

Is there a way to secure the small cat door so that it remains open?

Or can the small door be left off completely when assembling?
Asked by: Jakeblues
I do not think that the cat door could be removed without cutting through its hinges using heavy duty power tool as is arrives fully assembled and the hinges of the cat are soldiered together. Removing the cat gate in this fashion would leave sharp edges where the hinges were cut. This would leave the potential for severe (even fatal) injuries to your cat or dog (henceforth referee to as a "cat gate" as I am using the smaller gate for my cat). It may be possible that an iron file would be capable of sanding the sharp edges down. Doing so would invariably leave markings on the area. I expect that this would also be very time consuming and would be difficult to do. We opted to keep the cat door open rather than attempt to remove it.When we installed the gate in our doorframe, we found that that the cat gate would swing partially closed when we opened and close the gate as well as after our tiny (5 lb) cat would walk through it per her tail bumping into the frame of the cat door. The cat door would only close partially such that there was only an inch or two between the two doors. Granted, our cat is older so I believe that the smaller opening confused her, it also made it impossible for her to run though it quickly when our 7momthold (50lb) Goldendoodle would chase her. If you do not have a dog that would be chasing your cat and he or she can be taught to bat the smaller opening enough to go through the cat gate thsi may not be an issue for you. However, if you goal is to keep the cat gate fully open then the partial closure would be a problem as is was for us. To remedy this issue, we placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie. When this occurred, our cat would just stand outside the door as if it were fully closed rather than paw it open. . To remedy the partial door closure issue and keep the cat door completely open, we placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie was appropri We placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie. That said., I would caution you not to over tighten the ziptie on the off chance (unlikely as the gate is quite sturdy) that it would mar the gate itself. This gate is fantastic despite the tiny bit of time it takes to secure the smaller gate in a fully open position. In fact, I had returned to this page to buy a second gate. Off to do so now! I hope that helps!
Answered by: LexiTwist
Date published: 2017-04-15

Can a cat climb the mesh portion.

I am wanting to keep my cat from going upstairs. He needs a really tall gate and he will climb screen doors so I didn't know if the would be a suitable option.
Asked by: saskuya
Yes!! My cats LOVE it to get away from the puppy's rambunctiousness. It's very tall and has a little door to keep the cats in or out.
Answered by: JAScat
Date published: 2016-12-03

Does the door swing both ways? How does it latch?

Asked by: 5BigDogs
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Answered by: Parker
Date published: 2015-07-25
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_51
  • loc_, sid_46128, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]