Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 150 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog Gate I love this gate so much I bought a 2nd one. It is very sturdy and far prettier than any other gate I've ever seen. Friends than come over are always asking me where I got it. It's extra tall too so my lab can't jump over it. I like how it opens one way and auto closes so we don't actually have to "lock" it which makes going through the doorway so much easier. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally a gate that contains my climbing dog! I had been using the old wood baby gates to keep my two dogs contained in a room while I was away. My 9 lb dog quickly learned how to climb the gate. I added a second gate on top, and she successfully climbed that gate, or she would someone knock the bottom gate down, even though it was tight against the sides. I started putting baskets, 5 gallon water bottles and anything else in the room to create a gauntlet. Finally, I searched and found the Frontgate metal, mesh gate. So easy for me to leave now with a simple latch. And the dog can't climb, and in 2 weeks, she hasn't knocked it down. Thank you Frontgate! June 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everyone Loves the Look of this Gate Not only does everyone love the look, but the functionality for multi-species-households (dog, cat, human) is the best I've ever seen. Even my dog trainer commented on it at first glimpse. I've never heard so many people comment so positively and enthusiastically on something so utilitarian as this gate. And the cats, in particular are thrilled, only poor Fido can't come and go at will :( . It's one of the best buys I've ever made. May 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well-made gate Very attractive and sturdy gate in a taller than usual size. Put in place easily, works well and no way dogs can jump this height! May 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Gate - No More Gates To Constantly Undo! Excellent! We are so pleased with this product. We were able to get rid of 3 conventional wooden gates throughout the house. Now we can rest assured that the cat and two big dogs will not meet within the same household. The cat could jump over the other gates, but not this one! Major bonus for us is the gate - for our easy passage. The installation was easy. Highly recommend this product. April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet gate We had ordered the longer version of this and it was great. The only complaint would be there's not an option to order extra extension panels but theses are GREAT!! March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Gate This is a very pretty gate - so much better than the plastic ones that don't do anything for a person's decor. I agree with the reviewers that wish for additional sizes, but am lucky enough that this gate fit where I needed it. I really appreciate how tall the gate is; it's much taller than any others that are described as being extra-tall. I have three large dogs, and none has tried to jump it. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Gates Purchased two of these and just wish I had ordered them earlier. Gates arrived quickly and well packaged. Easy to install and operate, very well built, looks great, and love how the door closes behind you automatically. March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by works well does what it supposed to and with style . i just weigh they had this in more sizes, wider. There's absolutely nothing for opening that are in the 40-50" range February 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peace Of Mind At Last We have three cats all of which came from the local shelter. One of our cats was found in the woods near an area campground and was assumed to be a run away. This cat loves to bolt past you when you open the front door. We had tried every type of deterrent, water spray, ultra sound barriers, scolding and nothing seemed to work. We installed this pet gate in the 36 inch opening in the front entry way mud room. It worked instantly our problem was solved. The cat can't enter the mud room so it can't get out the front door. It easily installs in a half hour, looks great and is well engineered. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classy room enclosure This door is perfect. It's metal so the dog doesn't chew on it. It opens like a gate for people or large dogs and it has a small door for little dogs. Both can be latched to stay shut. The mesh keeps the dog from trying to climb over and it is decoratively trimmed so that it looks really good. Great purchase! I'm very pleased. February 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Purchase We bought two of these gates to restrict our new Yorkie puppy to one room while being housebroken. The gates are absolutely beautiful and actually look like they might have been built for our house. Everyone that has seen them comments on how nice and beautiful they are and want to know where we got them. They came already assembled and were very easy to set up. It was an ingenious design to have the larger gate that we can walk through and to also have the smaller opening that allows a small dog or cat to go through if you want to leave the gate closed. We sometimes prop the gates open because they will not stay open by themselves. Also, if they are placed in a doorway that is used often, they will need to be adjusted occasionally because they move somewhat with use, since they are not permanently fastened. This may not be an issue with someone using it in a doorway that has a doorjamb but ours is just an archway so the ends of the gates are resting against sheetrock. I still gave it 5 stars because we are very pleased with them! February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just fabulous I've purchased two - in order to keep guest bedroom doors open, but keep our pet OUT. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loving This Gate I did extensive research before purchasing this gate and still had reservations even as I was placing my order. This gate is exactly as described. It came in a very timely manner and is so stylish. This is not a dog gate to be ashamed of. The only drawback is the large spaces on each side of gate that my small dogs can squeeze thru. We love the gate so much, we did temporary fix and will make a permanent fix when our home remodeling has been completed. Glad we found Frontgate. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple Beauty We got 2 of these gates to put in our kitchen doorways. They were super easy to put up and are very effective at keeping our Dobies in; their height is a very efficacious mental barrier the dogs can still effectively see out. [Though, being simply tension mounted, it is possible that at 100 lbs our Dobies could push the gates hard enough to dislodge them given the right circumstances.] Our cats really like the little kitty doors so they can waltz in and out while the dogs stay in the kitchen!! lol i really like the dark brown powder coat finish on the metal and the elegant filigrees that make the gates something special that match our decor. And unlike a babygate, these gates are very easy to get in and out of. No more climbing over gates!! Yay! lol January 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Satisified! The gate is well made, easy to install, looks great and we were very pleased with the price! January 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 42in.H tension-mount dual steel mesh pet gate I ordered the gate on Thursday and received it on the following Tuesday, before Christmas. great service and gate was just what i expected. we have 2 cats and the smaller one did manage to knock the gate once to go back to the other side, but it might have been our error in not adjusting the tension properly. overall great product, the only complaint would be if we can have the gate a little taller, maybe 4 to 4 1/2 feet tall instead of 3 1/2. January 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Happy I have 3 large dogs that have always found a way to knock down every gate we have purchased. This gate is heavy and durable with a door for the cat. Without the usual bars for them to stick their feet through they are not able to knock it down. Looks great and is very easy to install. Highly recommend this gate!! January 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Beautifully made. I used the item in the hallway to keeps my cats and dogs separated. The bronze color blends into the hallway so it's not very obvious and easy to take down if there is an emergency. Would like to see product have an extra bar to make a better enclosure for a 36" hallway. Needed to put a Plexiglas piece to keep cats from sliding through the edge of the gate. The second gate is in the laundry room. It is strong enough barrier to hold 2 German Shepherds safely in the room. Do glad I brought this product. January 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looovvve it!! Great quality and very attractive. Sturdy, installed in minutes. Thrilled with this gate which makes "gating" a home decorating accessory vs an ugly necessity. January 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it so much - both a second one I absolutely love this gate. It is beautiful, solid and safe. I love my cats but don't want them in the bedrooms due to allergies. This gate is tall enough that they have not even attempted to jump over. The gate is easy to open with just one finger and with the spring loaded closing makes it wonderful to use when your arms are full. My only wish is that they would make one that is about 6-8' wider for my other stairway. The wider ones are shorter and the cats can jump over that height. Overall, I love it and have had several visitors get the information so they can order it also. December 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it!!! I love the tension mount gate. The animals are contained and it is attractive unlike most pet gates! Very easy to install and love the ability to open gate and walk thru. Excellent buy! December 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Metal Decorative 42 Inch Steel Mesh Gate This product is very useful and strong for my American Staffordshire Pitbull. Everyone who sees it usually comments how it goes very nice with the metal and wood bannister in my house. The added height on this item is perfect as Thor can't jump over it. The little door stays locked which I really like because at times Thor can be a little aggressive and I don't need him getting the little door open. Excellent purchase and quality! November 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Attractive and functional The gate is beautiful and works great to keep the dogs out while allowing the cat to go where he pleases November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Gate for 36" opening We received the pet gate in record time and it was packaged extremely well but we were missing the 4 screws for wall application but wasn't a problem. The design is classy without being overwhelming and is very sturdy. Gets great comments from our friends and because of the looks we can leave it up all the time. Only con was that it has too much open space at the sides to the wall-3" each side. Could use additional rails and maybe a slightly shorter availability. November 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by life saver I have a Multi pet house hold. 3 cats and 2 ex-large dogs. This was pretty simple to install even adjusting, for my slightly smaller door frame It is elegant and sturdy. I am very please with my purchase. I set it up to open into the room so I could leave the small door open for the cats to get into their litter boxes. No gate to hop over or remove just open the door. It's fantastic! II wish I had found this years ago. September 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a five star product This gate looks great and is well constructed and easy to install. It is being used in a high traffice area and everyone in the household is pleased with it. I would recommend this product to anyone. August 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this purchase Delivered prior to estimated delivery time. The gate is beautiful, strong and functional and installation was easy. Would strongly recommend this product to anyone. August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It didn't quite work but very nice I thought my bedroom doors were normal size but it is a town home they might be a bit narrower than normal. I was able to install the gate, but I had to leave the rubber bumpers/tension knobs off of one side. It is a beautiful gate. The cat door is a bit too large and my dog is on the small side (24 lbs) though twice the size of my cats. I am still in the process of figuring out how to add something to the cat door to make it too small for the dog, but still big enough for my cats to easily get through. It would definitely work great if I had a larger dog. August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice looking/effective pet gate This higher pet gate is sturdy and effective yet looks nice in your home. It was easy to install and has kept our 85 lb dog in his own space when needed. August 5, 2013
  • 2016-12-07 T06:13:49.530-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_150, tr_150
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
(48 Questions : 79 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
I dont have cats so dont need dual door but afraid my yorkies could squeeze thru on the other gate. Hard to tell from pictures but dont want to spend extra money if i dont have to
4 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Chicago, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chibearfan is loaded.
Additional information about chibearfan could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
no way your small yorkie would fit through!
4 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about otann is loaded.
Additional information about otann could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. The space between the bars on the side panels are half the width of the gate with no dual door.
4 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3

Answer: 
Well, our new kitten was able to zip through the sides very easily, after we applied it to our 36"-wide doorway. If there was a way to close that gap, we would not have returned it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
4 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about justawful is loaded.
Additional information about justawful could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I bought this and I had my husband cut a piece of wood and I got a stain and I stained the wood the color of the gate
looks just fine I had a 36 in door too
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Alabama, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Bamagail is loaded.
Additional information about Bamagail could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There are large openings on either side of this gate when using in a doorway 36"+. The wider the doorway the larger the opening in the sides. Cats and small or slender dogs could fit through. Openings are either side are wide enough that a dog could easily get their head caught in it. Disappointing, its a beautiful piece.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Pinehurst, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Caroline22 is loaded.
Additional information about Caroline22 could not be loaded.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Is the mesh made of steel? Our cats are jerks and will destroy any mesh within an hour. Also can cats jump over this gate? Has anyone experienced this? Thanks!
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Racheljcs is loaded.
Additional information about Racheljcs could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
This is a thicker mesh, not like a window screen. Yes, a very athletic cat could jump over it. One of our carts jumped from an end table over it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Atl
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JAScat is loaded.
Additional information about JAScat could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. The mesh is made of steel.
3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I am not certain of the material of the mesh. It is strong and sturdy however. A clever cat can most certainly climb it. A larger, agile cat could possibly leap up to the top, balance and then hop off.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Sea Ranch, CA 95497, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dmartin336 is loaded.
Additional information about dmartin336 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. We are looking into what material the mesh in this gate is made of. This gate is designed to primarily keep larger pet our of areas that smaller pets, such as cats, are allowed to go. A cat can most certainly climb up or jump over this gate.
3 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
4 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about webcollins is loaded.
Additional information about webcollins could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Yes it could....but it is a little tall for a baby gate...and a little pricey for one too!
4 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ITSALLGOOD is loaded.
Additional information about ITSALLGOOD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, none of the pet gates we carry are recommended to be used as a baby gate. We apologize for any inconvenience.
4 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would be wary of a crawling baby or toddler getting their head stuck in the cat door....
4 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
4 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 5BigDogs is loaded.
Additional information about 5BigDogs could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Both the top and bottom gate open one way and that is why (IMO) it is sturdy. Nice sliding tension latch for the gate, the smaller gate has a latch that drops behind a fixed bar for closure.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
4 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Crestedcanine is loaded.
Additional information about Crestedcanine could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Parker is loaded.
Additional information about Parker could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the door only swings one way. There is a sliding latch that holds the gate shut once the door in properly inserted in the doorway.
4 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
3 answers
Can this gate be mounted on wall?
I have used several tension-mount gates and I'm done with them. I need one I can mount on wall. Please advise. Thank you.
3 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Virginia, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Elphie is loaded.
Additional information about Elphie could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This gate is not intended to be mounted to the wall and would not include any type of hardware to do so. Mounting it to the wall would require some type of modification to the product, which would void the 1 year warranty. We apologize for any inconvenience.
3 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, this mounts to the walls. It is very secure with the added tension pushing into the mounts.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Atlanta
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JAScat is loaded.
Additional information about JAScat could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
unfortunatley, it can't be mounted given the material the gate comes with.
3 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about otann is loaded.
Additional information about otann could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 next>>
  • 2016-12-07 T06:12:20.765-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_default
2 3 next>>
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate
The Frontgate Credit CardNow Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]