Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 145 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Gate This gate is one of the few that I could find that is high quality, taller than standard height, and a good price. I have received a lot of compliments on the gate and have been frequently asked where I purchased it. July 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Purchase Ever LOVE this pet gate. Great quality, very well built, heavy duty and looks fabulous! Looks great and very functional in hallway. I did have to build additional side panels to keep cats from squeezing through gaps in sides by wall. Turned out wonderful!!! July 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful & Sturdy This is my second gate purchase so obviously I love it. This is the first time we bought one with the cat door and it is so well done and classy. I definitely recommend it. July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing I love the gate. It has an elegant look unlike the others I have looked at. Very sturdy. I was very pleased with the purchase and product. Thank you April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Quality Product Works great! Keep in mind that you will most likely need to install the top wall support things (for lack of a better term). If you don't, the top could slide out of the doorway. I did not need them on the bottom. I did not use the sticky pads, only the supports. Its a tension issue. You cannot keep tightening to the wall without compromising your ability to open the door. Its not a flaw! There is no other way to do it. My only real complaint is that the directions could be better. It does not include an explanation of how to install the wall supports. Its pretty obvious, but directions should include everything. April 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product! We recently became the proud owners of Irish Wolfhound puppies. This door is perfect. Easy to install and use, looks great and the small door allows the Westie and the cat to come and go at their pleasure (to the puppies dismay) We bought two and love them! February 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 42 h tension mount dual door I got this for the kitchen door, after puppy can jump easily over the shorter gate. I am very happy with this gate, its beautiful and if used carefully, the door stays in place. Now I don;t have to look all over for the puppy. Recommend to all with a puppy. February 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy and Attractive I have a one year old Doberman puppy who can jump over any gate - except this one! The mesh makes it impossible to climb, too. It probably helps that she can see through the gate, which also happens to be very solid-feeling. When I first installed it, I almost panicked because it was just a 1/2 of an inch too big to fit in the door frame even though I measured carefully before I ordered it. i was able to make it work by using the screws and knobs on one side and the screws by themselves on the other side. Very happy with this product. February 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great looking dog door I needed a taller door because my agile dog leapt over gates of standard height. I loved the color and design of this door. The only issue was that i couldnt fit it in what i thought was a standard doorframe with all of the door/ frame protectors. Otherwise i love it. I got it to fit. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Gate We purchased 2 gates to close off the kitchen from the dogs. The gates are attractive and tall enough that husband and I do not have to bend over to open them. The latch is easy to use and yet the dogs have not figured out how to open it yet. I do have a very athletic girl that is able to jump the gate, but that is certainly not the fault of the gate. I will be purchasing one more soon for the spare bedroom where I keep two of my dogs when we are not home. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect fit and beautiful to look at I had purchased a similar gate from Frontgate, that was so well constructed and looked beautiful, that I had to purchase 2 additional gates. This gate is as well constructed as the first gate I purchased, and is just as beautiful. The set-up again was easy and the gate works perfectly. So instead of my ugly old baby gates that we had to step over, we have this beautiful gate that we can easily walk though. February 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Pet Gate This is a great gate. It looks nice and my very large dog can't jump over it. The installation was fairly easy and it didn't require that we attach anything to our door frame. February 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Large Dog Friendly Love these gates. Three large 100 pound plus dogs and two cats! The gates work well for the entire family. February 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very well made I bought two of these gates and was only able to use one as they are for a wider opening than most doors frames. We were able to use it at the end of the hallway where we have a rock archway and it looks great. We did have to attach the top of the gate into the rock to keep it from moving when it closed. I love the fact that it so much taller than the others out on the market, my one Dalmatian can jump over the old one, but NOT this one. We will use the other one outside this spring to keep the dogs at bay when the kitchen door is open. February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate This gate is unusually good looking and very easy to install. I was concerned that I didn't need this tall a gate but it actually is easier to open (no stooping) when carrying items through it. Sturdy, solid construction and everything has stayed snug through several months of use to date. Keeps my gang in place and my cat happy! November 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Purchase but... This gate worked exactly as the description said. The only exception is that our door frame is at the wide end of the maximum width for the gate. This means that there is a large gap on either side of the gate where normal sized cats can still get through. Not a problem though. I purchased a sheet of quarter inch thick plexiglass (36 inches long) which I cut two pieces to fit the width of the gap (around 3 inches wide each) on each side, drilled three holes equally distanced apart onto the plexiglass and one at the top and attached it to the frame with cable ties. Perfect fit and the cats cannot get through. LOVE the product. Excellent quality, very sturdy and appears very durable. The spring-loaded hinges are an added convenience in closing the door. I would definitely recommend it if your door width is narrow but think about getting something to "close the gap" if your door width is wide because the cats will definitely get through it. 4 1/2 to 5 stars. October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thwarted my clever cat My cat learned how to escape out the bottom of a retractable screen door and I needed to find something stylish and sturdy to contain him. Either that, or live with never having my front door open for fresh air again! I purchased this gate based mainly on looks - it is much more attractive looking than anything else I've seen online. Lo and behold, the gate works great! My little escape artist immediately ran to the door after I installed the gate, and started pawing at the bottom and sides to try to get out. The look of disgust he gave me when he realized he could no longer get out was priceless! He doesn't realize it is for his own good - does he really want to be some coyote's dinner? I think not. As another reviewer stated, the finish is aged. I initially thought that the paint or coating was peeling, but it was just random spots of gold paint. Not my taste on the finish, but the design and effectiveness make it worth it! October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Pet Gate! This is the best gate ever. It looks really nice and is perfect for separating an area that you don't want your pet to go into. The only thing I wish it had was a latch to keep the gate open when you don't want it closed and then you don't have to worry about taking it down. Doesn't matter, I have fixed that and still love it! xoFlea October 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great purchase The gate is excellent quality, great appearance, and most of all very funtional. It is easy to operate for all ages.I like the way the tension works. There are no springs which can be dangerous and hard on the wood or wall. October 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate This gate is very lovely and elegant for a pet gate. It functions very well and looks nice as well. Thank you October 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this Gate!!! My door frame is actually to small for both sides but it still works perfectly with the tension springs on one side. I thought I was going to have to ship it back but decided to try it anyway and it is great. I have two large dogs and one smaller dog and they don't even try to go through. My cats love it because it gives them peace in the bedroom and access to their litter boxes without the dogs hanging around, AND it keeps my new carpet in great condition. Can't wait to buy the other gate for the other hallway. Ease of use is priceless!!! June 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dichelle This gate is beautiful and definitely high end. I just opened a upscale grooming salon and was looking for a safety gate and the plastic ones weren't going to cut it!! This gate is sturdy and get's nothing but compliments! Even though it is tension mounted, it comes with "cups" that you can install to the walls or passage area the keep the gate from slipping...an excellent feature I didn't even realize was included! June 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent purchase I am so happy I decided to purchase this gate, not only is it functional it is very stylish. It's tall enough so our two dogs can't jump over. I like that you secure it in place using tension instead of making holes in the wall. It is very sturdy and the walk through gate is great! Not sure why I waited so long to purchase the gate. I would recommend this gate to anyone looking for a high quality stylish gate for their home, works and looks much better than any plastic or wood baby gate on the market. June 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Looking Gate! We looked everywhere for a pet gate that didn't look like a "pet gate". Thanks to Frontgate we found exactly what we were looking for. This beautiful gate is very sturdy and high enough to keep our large dog separated from our guest. We are very happy with the purchase and plan on using this lovely gate for many years. April 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great purchase for our home & animals! Love this beautiful & practical gate for our labrador retriever and 2 cats!!! April 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Gate!!! This gate is beautiful and functional! I was so tired of looking at those ugly baby gates in my house. I wish I had ordered this sooner! It' s worth every penny. Now my dogs contained and my house still looks beautiful! April 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased with my purchase The Tension mount I ordered came quickly and was in good shape. It was as nice as the picture showed. Very pleased, would order again. March 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Gate! Thank heavens I found this beautiful gate at Frontgate. We recently rescued a very active dog and brought him into our houseful of cats. I had purchased another less expensive pet gate with cat door and was very unhappy with it. Our dog, who weighs 44 pounds, slipped right through the cat door of the other gate. I also didn't like the appearance of that other gate. I happened upon this beautiful gate and hoped it would do the trick. It's sturdy, beautiful, and the cat door is small enough to keep Buddy contained. Just like some other reviewers have noted, the gate is a tad wider than some doorways of older homes. However, with some ingenuity, we were able to install it anyway. I love this gate!!! March 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love our 42" Pet gate We inherited a cat, and yes, I know it's difficult to corral a cat while making the space accessable to us humans, but this pet gate is great. It looks terrific and is made of high quality materials. the people door makes it easy to pass through, and the cat door lets Sylvia out when the time is appropriate. We'd highly recommend this product. March 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by very nice! I was very pleased with the quality of this gate. Our cats love it and it keeps the dogs out of their space. February 7, 2012
  • 2016-08-26 T10:55:40.266-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_145, tr_145
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
(47 Questions : 74 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
I dont have cats so dont need dual door but afraid my yorkies could squeeze thru on the other gate. Hard to tell from pictures but dont want to spend extra money if i dont have to
4 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Chicago, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chibearfan is loaded.
Additional information about chibearfan could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
no way your small yorkie would fit through!
3 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about otann is loaded.
Additional information about otann could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. The space between the bars on the side panels are half the width of the gate with no dual door.
4 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3

Answer: 
Well, our new kitten was able to zip through the sides very easily, after we applied it to our 36"-wide doorway. If there was a way to close that gap, we would not have returned it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about justawful is loaded.
Additional information about justawful could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I bought this and I had my husband cut a piece of wood and I got a stain and I stained the wood the color of the gate
looks just fine I had a 36 in door too
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Alabama, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Bamagail is loaded.
Additional information about Bamagail could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There are large openings on either side of this gate when using in a doorway 36"+. The wider the doorway the larger the opening in the sides. Cats and small or slender dogs could fit through. Openings are either side are wide enough that a dog could easily get their head caught in it. Disappointing, its a beautiful piece.
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Pinehurst, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Caroline22 is loaded.
Additional information about Caroline22 could not be loaded.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
4 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about webcollins is loaded.
Additional information about webcollins could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Yes it could....but it is a little tall for a baby gate...and a little pricey for one too!
3 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ITSALLGOOD is loaded.
Additional information about ITSALLGOOD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, none of the pet gates we carry are recommended to be used as a baby gate. We apologize for any inconvenience.
4 years ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would be wary of a crawling baby or toddler getting their head stuck in the cat door....
3 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 5BigDogs is loaded.
Additional information about 5BigDogs could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Both the top and bottom gate open one way and that is why (IMO) it is sturdy. Nice sliding tension latch for the gate, the smaller gate has a latch that drops behind a fixed bar for closure.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Crestedcanine is loaded.
Additional information about Crestedcanine could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Parker is loaded.
Additional information about Parker could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the door only swings one way. There is a sliding latch that holds the gate shut once the door in properly inserted in the doorway.
3 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
3 answers
Wall To Wall is 37.5"
Will this gate fit an area that measures 37.5" wall to wall?
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
San Tan Valley, AZ, USA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Not really...my doorways are exactly 37.5" wide, and I have several problems, possibly causing me to send the gates back. (I purchased three of them.)

1. The gate becomes rather flimsy, and the tension simply does not hold in a doorway this width, even with the self-stick tape/rubber pads now included.

2. My Maltese, who is a chunk of a Maltese at about 12-13 pounds, can force himself through the openings in the sides. There is simply too much space between the doorway edges/frame and the gate in a doorway this width.

I am debating whether or not to add "temporary" 1 x 4's to the insides of the doorways so that the gates will fit. I'm just not sure I want to go there, though. The gates are beautiful, but so is my home. I don't know if I want to tacky up the doorways now by trying to make these gates work.

I'm at a loss. I just received the gates yesterday. Not sure what I'm going to do yet.
1 year ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about TexasLovesFrontgate is loaded.
Additional information about TexasLovesFrontgate could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet gate easily installs in doorways that are 33.5"-37.5" wide.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I did exactly what you said I added a stained board to solve that problem I had a real problem finding one to keep my 3 lb yorkie in she could get through all the other gates
7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Alabama, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Bamagail is loaded.
Additional information about Bamagail could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I understand that the cat door has a latch. Does the homeowner have to unlatch the cat door to allow a cat to go in or out? Most healthy adult cats can easily jump over a 42" barrier, but if you chose to include cat gate, shouldn't the cat be able to "let himself out?" (In my opinion, a cat door should open when the cat pushes on it from either direction, because the gate itself is not a barrier to most cats; even a kitten should be able to climb over using the mesh)
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
North Carolina, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about doxymo is loaded.
Additional information about doxymo could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. If the small door is note latched, a cat should be able to push it open. However, the small gate is designed to allow a smaller pet out of one area of your home without having to open the larger gate and letting a larger pet out as well. It can be used for small dogs as well as cats.
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The cat door has a latch that is not very "secure" since it's just a catch that rotates and hooks onto a bolt. you can certainly leave the little door open or closed and the cat can get through on it's own. The little door is not self closing so once it's open, I doubt a cat will turn around to close it #that will take SOME training, for sure!! - good luck on that trick!# . My cats don't seem to be interested in jumping the gate. They are too lazy? But even my "hyper" cat won't jump it. My door is 36" wide #where I have placed the gate# and I will say that the sides of the gate have enough space in between the door jam and the actual gate that allows a thin cat to get through the sides. I imagine that if my adult thin cats get through the sides, a kitten certainly can. Indeed, the mesh can allow a cat to get past it. I suggest in the initial training, be near the gate and spray water mist at the cat who climbs the mesh. That will stop the behavior without hurting them. Again, out thin cats can get through the sides and the large cat cannot and won't jump or climb the gate - she just sits sadly on the "wrong" side #even though she's on the right side!# Enjoy!
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
San Diego
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about LittleLadyMe is loaded.
Additional information about LittleLadyMe could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is a latch on one side, which can be left unlatched.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JeannieMarie is loaded.
Additional information about JeannieMarie could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 next>>
  • 2016-08-26 T10:54:15.886-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_default
2 3 next>>
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???