Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 114 118
Pet Gate We purchased 2 gates to close off the kitchen from the dogs. The gates are attractive and tall enough that husband and I do not have to bend over to open them. The latch is easy to use and yet the dogs have not figured out how to open it yet. I do have a very athletic girl that is able to jump the gate, but that is certainly not the fault of the gate. I will be purchasing one more soon for the spare bedroom where I keep two of my dogs when we are not home. February 18, 2013
Very good product, but... Very elegant-looking and decorative. Installed faily quickly with few problems. However: cats can still get through on the sides - I went to the home improvement store and bought some plastic to put in to fix this. Cats were the whole reason to buy this gate, because of the upright bars on the sides. Instructions are inadequate: don't explain very well about placing the protective pads. Only came with 3 screws, and don't explain where to use the screws. July 21, 2012
Steel Mesh Pet Gate I have 7 dogs all sizes from a chihuahua to a collie and this gate was exactly what I needed. The mesh allows air flow through and the dogs can see me in the gameroom. I put it in my kitchen door that leads out to my gameroom. The gate is tall enough that my dogs do not try to climb or jump over it. I'm very happy with this purchase and would recommend this gate to buy. July 24, 2013
Attractive dog gate Visually attractive in color (dark antique bronze finish) and design. My gate arrived with several manufacturing defects, so Frontgate is replacing when the next shipment arrives. The main door does not stay open on its own, you will need a door stop or weight if you choose to leave open. Tension holds well. I needed help assembling, but others may not. Overall a very attractive and well priced dog gate. April 6, 2013
The Cat's opinion The gate is very well made and attractive I love the scroll work and color of the metal. The gate would work great for a dog however a cat is able to get around the edges. The main gate latch should be adjustable the spring does not always close the bolt. The gate would get a 5 star rating on appearance. We added some bars to the side to prevent the cat from getting around the edges so it can be fixed but not a great design. December 3, 2012
Perfect fit and beautiful to look at I had purchased a similar gate from Frontgate, that was so well constructed and looked beautiful, that I had to purchase 2 additional gates. This gate is as well constructed as the first gate I purchased, and is just as beautiful. The set-up again was easy and the gate works perfectly. So instead of my ugly old baby gates that we had to step over, we have this beautiful gate that we can easily walk though. February 15, 2013
Doggie Gate The Doggie gate is very nice looking and functional. I have 3 dogs, Great Dane, Boston Terrier, and mix terrier. The gate works to separate our living area from the social areas. The height of the gate is great and overall strength appears to be great. The auto-shut is good; the three year old daughter likes to slam it a bunch. July 24, 2013
Attractive and functional The gate is beautiful and works great to keep the dogs out while allowing the cat to go where he pleases November 18, 2013
Dichelle This gate is beautiful and definitely high end. I just opened a upscale grooming salon and was looking for a safety gate and the plastic ones weren't going to cut it!! This gate is sturdy and get's nothing but compliments! Even though it is tension mounted, it comes with "cups" that you can install to the walls or passage area the keep the gate from slipping...an excellent feature I didn't even realize was included! June 15, 2012
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Gate This is a really great product in terms of quality and design, however it is made for doorways in modern McMansions and not an average sized home built in 1955. It is even too large for my entryways in between rooms which I thought were average. I'm not returning it because it will be too much of a hassle so we are having our handyman work something out on the outside of the door. Should be interesting. February 7, 2012
Beautiful Gate This is a great product. It is perfect for what I needed it for. Be sure to measure your door frame, it does not fit every door. The only con I have for it is that since the gate itself is so heavy it kinda slams shut. I have gotten to depend on it now though to close behind me. July 18, 2013
Excellent (but needs one thing!) This is a beautiful and highly functional gate. I have two -- one on each side of my kitchen, and they look lovely, they're indestructible, and my bulldog can't jump over. However, I could use one more in a wider-than-standard doorway, and there's no optional expansion panel available. The maker should offer 6" side panels to expand the width. Highly recommended! January 28, 2012
Great dog gate. After having dogs for over 35 years I have gone through lots of dog gates. This gate is the best one I have ever purchased. The design is just charming and it does the job because it is strong enough to keep a Doberman in. So glad I found it! July 23, 2013
Best Purchase Ever LOVE this pet gate. Great quality, very well built, heavy duty and looks fabulous! Looks great and very functional in hallway. I did have to build additional side panels to keep cats from squeezing through gaps in sides by wall. Turned out wonderful!!! July 10, 2013
Beautiful gate I purchased this gate to keep cats (and unsupervised dogs) out of the carpeted rooms of my home. Other gates that I have purchased were made of aluminum bars and the cats were able to go right through them. I choose this particular gate because of the metal mesh which is much more functional and attractive than the "jail cell" looking gates. The only problem I encountered is that my door frame required that I install the gate at it's widest adjustment which left a gap, between the outer most bar and the door frame, wide enough for a normal size cat to get through. Also, at the very widest adjustment, the gate did not feel secure enough to withstand my 3, 135 lb., Tibetan Mastiffs should they decide to push against it. I have custom made doors and trim that are not standard, so I knew that I would probably need to make some modifications to install the gate properly. In order to reduce the gap and get a more secure fit, I cut a piece of wood, the height of the gate, for each side of the door frame. The pressure from the installed gate holds the wood securely in place so it wasn't necessary to permantly alter the door frame. Since the wood inserts are stained to match the other trim, they don't detract from the appearance of the gate or the door. Installed in this manner, the gate is very functional, sturdy and attractive. I did worry that the cats would use the mesh to climb over the gate but that hasn't been a problem so I have since purchased a second gate. I would give this item 5 stars except that I feel that there should be more side bars spaced be closer together. I've yet to see any pet gate that is designed specifically to keep cats out but this one works better than anything else I've tried. Overall, it is the nicest gate I've seen and I am very pleased with the two I have purchased. September 3, 2013
This is a five star product This gate looks great and is well constructed and easy to install. It is being used in a high traffice area and everyone in the household is pleased with it. I would recommend this product to anyone. August 16, 2013
Best Pet Gate! This is the best gate ever. It looks really nice and is perfect for separating an area that you don't want your pet to go into. The only thing I wish it had was a latch to keep the gate open when you don't want it closed and then you don't have to worry about taking it down. Doesn't matter, I have fixed that and still love it! xoFlea October 16, 2012
Great Gate This gate is unusually good looking and very easy to install. I was concerned that I didn't need this tall a gate but it actually is easier to open (no stooping) when carrying items through it. Sturdy, solid construction and everything has stayed snug through several months of use to date. Keeps my gang in place and my cat happy! November 19, 2012
Love our 42" Pet gate We inherited a cat, and yes, I know it's difficult to corral a cat while making the space accessable to us humans, but this pet gate is great. It looks terrific and is made of high quality materials. the people door makes it easy to pass through, and the cat door lets Sylvia out when the time is appropriate. We'd highly recommend this product. March 11, 2012
Hoping this works Just got this and it does not fit our doorway in our 20 year old house but it is such a novel and needed item for us with cats and dogs we are hoping to make this work. I wish Frontgate would have anticipated differing widths in doorways. Don't give up on a great idea Frontgate! You are the only people out there addressing this need. August 17, 2012
Beautiful Gate This gate is one of the few that I could find that is high quality, taller than standard height, and a good price. I have received a lot of compliments on the gate and have been frequently asked where I purchased it. July 10, 2013
Love this purchase Delivered prior to estimated delivery time. The gate is beautiful, strong and functional and installation was easy. Would strongly recommend this product to anyone. August 13, 2013
Best Looking Gate! We looked everywhere for a pet gate that didn't look like a "pet gate". Thanks to Frontgate we found exactly what we were looking for. This beautiful gate is very sturdy and high enough to keep our large dog separated from our guest. We are very happy with the purchase and plan on using this lovely gate for many years. April 13, 2012
Great looking dog door I needed a taller door because my agile dog leapt over gates of standard height. I loved the color and design of this door. The only issue was that i couldnt fit it in what i thought was a standard doorframe with all of the door/ frame protectors. Otherwise i love it. I got it to fit. February 18, 2013
Nice looking/effective pet gate This higher pet gate is sturdy and effective yet looks nice in your home. It was easy to install and has kept our 85 lb dog in his own space when needed. August 5, 2013
AMAZING I was very impressed with the quality, and beauty of this elegant gate. I received my gate very quickly, and was surprised at how simple it was to put up. It is an AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL gate, and highly recommended. I've had several gates in the past, but this one tops them all!! Thank you, Frontgate. January 26, 2012
Somewhat Disappointing Arrived tightly boxed. Instructions poorly written. One side of gate, the iron vertical bars are bowed. The picture shown on-line does not look bowed to me. For my use, it does a fair job; not as good as I anticipated. If this was purchased through a local store, I would have returned the item. May 25, 2012
Great Product! We recently became the proud owners of Irish Wolfhound puppies. This door is perfect. Easy to install and use, looks great and the small door allows the Westie and the cat to come and go at their pleasure (to the puppies dismay) We bought two and love them! February 22, 2013
42 h tension mount dual door I got this for the kitchen door, after puppy can jump easily over the shorter gate. I am very happy with this gate, its beautiful and if used carefully, the door stays in place. Now I don;t have to look all over for the puppy. Recommend to all with a puppy. February 21, 2013
Beautiful & Sturdy This is my second gate purchase so obviously I love it. This is the first time we bought one with the cat door and it is so well done and classy. I definitely recommend it. July 5, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
(29 Questions : 44 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about webcollins is loaded.
Additional information about webcollins could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, none of the pet gates we carry are recommended to be used as a baby gate. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it could....but it is a little tall for a baby gate...and a little pricey for one too!
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ITSALLGOOD is loaded.
Additional information about ITSALLGOOD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would be wary of a crawling baby or toddler getting their head stuck in the cat door....
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 5BigDogs is loaded.
Additional information about 5BigDogs could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
No, the door only swings one way. There is a sliding latch that holds the gate shut once the door in properly inserted in the doorway.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Both the top and bottom gate open one way and that is why (IMO) it is sturdy. Nice sliding tension latch for the gate, the smaller gate has a latch that drops behind a fixed bar for closure.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Crestedcanine is loaded.
Additional information about Crestedcanine could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Parker is loaded.
Additional information about Parker could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I dont have cats so dont need dual door but afraid my yorkies could squeeze thru on the other gate. Hard to tell from pictures but dont want to spend extra money if i dont have to
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Chicago, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chibearfan is loaded.
Additional information about chibearfan could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. The space between the bars on the side panels are half the width of the gate with no dual door.
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2

Answer: 
no way your small yorkie would fit through!
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about otann is loaded.
Additional information about otann could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
There are large openings on either side of this gate when using in a doorway 36"+. The wider the doorway the larger the opening in the sides. Cats and small or slender dogs could fit through. Openings are either side are wide enough that a dog could easily get their head caught in it. Disappointing, its a beautiful piece.
1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Pinehurst, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Caroline22 is loaded.
Additional information about Caroline22 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

What is the height of item 46128?

In the catalog I just received the height is shown as 33 3/4" but on the web sight it is indicated as 42". Which is correct.? Does it come in two different heights?
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Dee-Dee
La
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The height of this item is 42". It was previously offered in a smaller size, however that item is no longer available. We apologize for any confusion.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
mine arrived and was 42"
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
ohio
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Dichelle is loaded.
Additional information about Dichelle could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

Can this gate be used on stairs

I have several cats and I want to keep them from going upstairs in my home.
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chloe4631 is loaded.
Additional information about Chloe4631 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, this item is not recommended for use on stairs. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate has to be mounted correctly before the latch will stay closed. If you can create enough tension using a stair rung and the wall, (or whatever you will be attaching it to) then I think it would be perfect!
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???