Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 161.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it so much - both a second one I absolutely love this gate. It is beautiful, solid and safe. I love my cats but don't want them in the bedrooms due to allergies. This gate is tall enough that they have not even attempted to jump over. The gate is easy to open with just one finger and with the spring loaded closing makes it wonderful to use when your arms are full. My only wish is that they would make one that is about 6-8' wider for my other stairway. The wider ones are shorter and the cats can jump over that height. Overall, I love it and have had several visitors get the information so they can order it also.
Date published: 2013-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!! I love the tension mount gate. The animals are contained and it is attractive unlike most pet gates! Very easy to install and love the ability to open gate and walk thru. Excellent buy!
Date published: 2013-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Metal Decorative 42 Inch Steel Mesh Gate This product is very useful and strong for my American Staffordshire Pitbull. Everyone who sees it usually comments how it goes very nice with the metal and wood bannister in my house. The added height on this item is perfect as Thor can't jump over it. The little door stays locked which I really like because at times Thor can be a little aggressive and I don't need him getting the little door open. Excellent purchase and quality!
Date published: 2013-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive and functional The gate is beautiful and works great to keep the dogs out while allowing the cat to go where he pleases
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate for 36" opening We received the pet gate in record time and it was packaged extremely well but we were missing the 4 screws for wall application but wasn't a problem. The design is classy without being overwhelming and is very sturdy. Gets great comments from our friends and because of the looks we can leave it up all the time. Only con was that it has too much open space at the sides to the wall-3" each side. Could use additional rails and maybe a slightly shorter availability.
Date published: 2013-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase The pet gate is sturdy and easy to use.
Date published: 2013-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from life saver I have a Multi pet house hold. 3 cats and 2 ex-large dogs. This was pretty simple to install even adjusting, for my slightly smaller door frame It is elegant and sturdy. I am very please with my purchase. I set it up to open into the room so I could leave the small door open for the cats to get into their litter boxes. No gate to hop over or remove just open the door. It's fantastic! II wish I had found this years ago.
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a five star product This gate looks great and is well constructed and easy to install. It is being used in a high traffice area and everyone in the household is pleased with it. I would recommend this product to anyone.
Date published: 2013-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this purchase Delivered prior to estimated delivery time. The gate is beautiful, strong and functional and installation was easy. Would strongly recommend this product to anyone.
Date published: 2013-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It didn't quite work but very nice I thought my bedroom doors were normal size but it is a town home they might be a bit narrower than normal. I was able to install the gate, but I had to leave the rubber bumpers/tension knobs off of one side. It is a beautiful gate. The cat door is a bit too large and my dog is on the small side (24 lbs) though twice the size of my cats. I am still in the process of figuring out how to add something to the cat door to make it too small for the dog, but still big enough for my cats to easily get through. It would definitely work great if I had a larger dog.
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice looking/effective pet gate This higher pet gate is sturdy and effective yet looks nice in your home. It was easy to install and has kept our 85 lb dog in his own space when needed.
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doggie Gate The Doggie gate is very nice looking and functional. I have 3 dogs, Great Dane, Boston Terrier, and mix terrier. The gate works to separate our living area from the social areas. The height of the gate is great and overall strength appears to be great. The auto-shut is good; the three year old daughter likes to slam it a bunch.
Date published: 2013-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Steel Mesh Pet Gate I have 7 dogs all sizes from a chihuahua to a collie and this gate was exactly what I needed. The mesh allows air flow through and the dogs can see me in the gameroom. I put it in my kitchen door that leads out to my gameroom. The gate is tall enough that my dogs do not try to climb or jump over it. I'm very happy with this purchase and would recommend this gate to buy.
Date published: 2013-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dog gate. After having dogs for over 35 years I have gone through lots of dog gates. This gate is the best one I have ever purchased. The design is just charming and it does the job because it is strong enough to keep a Doberman in. So glad I found it!
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Gate This is a great product. It is perfect for what I needed it for. Be sure to measure your door frame, it does not fit every door. The only con I have for it is that since the gate itself is so heavy it kinda slams shut. I have gotten to depend on it now though to close behind me.
Date published: 2013-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from really like it but My 34 lb dog was able to squeeze through the cat door. Was sorry to return it. Had a very easy return. Recommend both the product and Frontgate
Date published: 2013-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Gate This gate is one of the few that I could find that is high quality, taller than standard height, and a good price. I have received a lot of compliments on the gate and have been frequently asked where I purchased it.
Date published: 2013-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever LOVE this pet gate. Great quality, very well built, heavy duty and looks fabulous! Looks great and very functional in hallway. I did have to build additional side panels to keep cats from squeezing through gaps in sides by wall. Turned out wonderful!!!
Date published: 2013-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful & Sturdy This is my second gate purchase so obviously I love it. This is the first time we bought one with the cat door and it is so well done and classy. I definitely recommend it.
Date published: 2013-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I love the gate. It has an elegant look unlike the others I have looked at. Very sturdy. I was very pleased with the purchase and product. Thank you
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Product Works great! Keep in mind that you will most likely need to install the top wall support things (for lack of a better term). If you don't, the top could slide out of the doorway. I did not need them on the bottom. I did not use the sticky pads, only the supports. Its a tension issue. You cannot keep tightening to the wall without compromising your ability to open the door. Its not a flaw! There is no other way to do it. My only real complaint is that the directions could be better. It does not include an explanation of how to install the wall supports. Its pretty obvious, but directions should include everything.
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! We recently became the proud owners of Irish Wolfhound puppies. This door is perfect. Easy to install and use, looks great and the small door allows the Westie and the cat to come and go at their pleasure (to the puppies dismay) We bought two and love them!
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 42 h tension mount dual door I got this for the kitchen door, after puppy can jump easily over the shorter gate. I am very happy with this gate, its beautiful and if used carefully, the door stays in place. Now I don;t have to look all over for the puppy. Recommend to all with a puppy.
Date published: 2013-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and Attractive I have a one year old Doberman puppy who can jump over any gate - except this one! The mesh makes it impossible to climb, too. It probably helps that she can see through the gate, which also happens to be very solid-feeling. When I first installed it, I almost panicked because it was just a 1/2 of an inch too big to fit in the door frame even though I measured carefully before I ordered it. i was able to make it work by using the screws and knobs on one side and the screws by themselves on the other side. Very happy with this product.
Date published: 2013-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking dog door I needed a taller door because my agile dog leapt over gates of standard height. I loved the color and design of this door. The only issue was that i couldnt fit it in what i thought was a standard doorframe with all of the door/ frame protectors. Otherwise i love it. I got it to fit.
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate We purchased 2 gates to close off the kitchen from the dogs. The gates are attractive and tall enough that husband and I do not have to bend over to open them. The latch is easy to use and yet the dogs have not figured out how to open it yet. I do have a very athletic girl that is able to jump the gate, but that is certainly not the fault of the gate. I will be purchasing one more soon for the spare bedroom where I keep two of my dogs when we are not home.
Date published: 2013-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the gate! Looks great and very functional!!
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit and beautiful to look at I had purchased a similar gate from Frontgate, that was so well constructed and looked beautiful, that I had to purchase 2 additional gates. This gate is as well constructed as the first gate I purchased, and is just as beautiful. The set-up again was easy and the gate works perfectly. So instead of my ugly old baby gates that we had to step over, we have this beautiful gate that we can easily walk though.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pet Gate This is a great gate. It looks nice and my very large dog can't jump over it. The installation was fairly easy and it didn't require that we attach anything to our door frame.
Date published: 2013-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large Dog Friendly Love these gates. Three large 100 pound plus dogs and two cats! The gates work well for the entire family.
Date published: 2013-02-14
  • y_2017, m_5, d_22, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_155
  • loc_, sid_46128, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

Are the bars on the side panels on this dual door gate closer together than the gate with no dual door? I have very small yorkies.

I dont have cats so dont need dual door but afraid my yorkies could squeeze thru on the other gate. Hard to tell from pictures but dont want to spend extra money if i dont have to
Asked by: chibearfan
Well, our new kitten was able to zip through the sides very easily, after we applied it to our 36"-wide doorway. If there was a way to close that gap, we would not have returned it.
Answered by: justawful
Date published: 2016-10-01

Is the mesh steel? Can cat jump over the gate?

Is the mesh made of steel? Our cats are jerks and will destroy any mesh within an hour. Also can cats jump over this gate? Has anyone experienced this? Thanks!
Asked by: Racheljcs
This is a thicker mesh, not like a window screen. Yes, a very athletic cat could jump over it. One of our carts jumped from an end table over it.
Answered by: JAScat
Date published: 2016-12-03

Is there a way to secure the small cat door so that it remains open?

Or can the small door be left off completely when assembling?
Asked by: Jakeblues
I do not think that the cat door could be removed without cutting through its hinges using heavy duty power tool as is arrives fully assembled and the hinges of the cat are soldiered together. Removing the cat gate in this fashion would leave sharp edges where the hinges were cut. This would leave the potential for severe (even fatal) injuries to your cat or dog (henceforth referee to as a "cat gate" as I am using the smaller gate for my cat). It may be possible that an iron file would be capable of sanding the sharp edges down. Doing so would invariably leave markings on the area. I expect that this would also be very time consuming and would be difficult to do. We opted to keep the cat door open rather than attempt to remove it.When we installed the gate in our doorframe, we found that that the cat gate would swing partially closed when we opened and close the gate as well as after our tiny (5 lb) cat would walk through it per her tail bumping into the frame of the cat door. The cat door would only close partially such that there was only an inch or two between the two doors. Granted, our cat is older so I believe that the smaller opening confused her, it also made it impossible for her to run though it quickly when our 7momthold (50lb) Goldendoodle would chase her. If you do not have a dog that would be chasing your cat and he or she can be taught to bat the smaller opening enough to go through the cat gate thsi may not be an issue for you. However, if you goal is to keep the cat gate fully open then the partial closure would be a problem as is was for us. To remedy this issue, we placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie. When this occurred, our cat would just stand outside the door as if it were fully closed rather than paw it open. . To remedy the partial door closure issue and keep the cat door completely open, we placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie was appropri We placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie. That said., I would caution you not to over tighten the ziptie on the off chance (unlikely as the gate is quite sturdy) that it would mar the gate itself. This gate is fantastic despite the tiny bit of time it takes to secure the smaller gate in a fully open position. In fact, I had returned to this page to buy a second gate. Off to do so now! I hope that helps!
Answered by: LexiTwist
Date published: 2017-04-15

Can a cat climb the mesh portion.

I am wanting to keep my cat from going upstairs. He needs a really tall gate and he will climb screen doors so I didn't know if the would be a suitable option.
Asked by: saskuya
Yes!! My cats LOVE it to get away from the puppy's rambunctiousness. It's very tall and has a little door to keep the cats in or out.
Answered by: JAScat
Date published: 2016-12-03

Does the door swing both ways? How does it latch?

Asked by: 5BigDogs
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Answered by: Parker
Date published: 2015-07-25
  • y_2017, m_5, d_22, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_52
  • loc_, sid_46128, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]