Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 126 130
Large Dog Friendly Love these gates. Three large 100 pound plus dogs and two cats! The gates work well for the entire family. February 14, 2013
Very well made I bought two of these gates and was only able to use one as they are for a wider opening than most doors frames. We were able to use it at the end of the hallway where we have a rock archway and it looks great. We did have to attach the top of the gate into the rock to keep it from moving when it closed. I love the fact that it so much taller than the others out on the market, my one Dalmatian can jump over the old one, but NOT this one. We will use the other one outside this spring to keep the dogs at bay when the kitchen door is open. February 10, 2013
Great Gate This gate is unusually good looking and very easy to install. I was concerned that I didn't need this tall a gate but it actually is easier to open (no stooping) when carrying items through it. Sturdy, solid construction and everything has stayed snug through several months of use to date. Keeps my gang in place and my cat happy! November 19, 2012
Great Purchase but... This gate worked exactly as the description said. The only exception is that our door frame is at the wide end of the maximum width for the gate. This means that there is a large gap on either side of the gate where normal sized cats can still get through. Not a problem though. I purchased a sheet of quarter inch thick plexiglass (36 inches long) which I cut two pieces to fit the width of the gap (around 3 inches wide each) on each side, drilled three holes equally distanced apart onto the plexiglass and one at the top and attached it to the frame with cable ties. Perfect fit and the cats cannot get through. LOVE the product. Excellent quality, very sturdy and appears very durable. The spring-loaded hinges are an added convenience in closing the door. I would definitely recommend it if your door width is narrow but think about getting something to "close the gap" if your door width is wide because the cats will definitely get through it. 4 1/2 to 5 stars. October 22, 2012
Thwarted my clever cat My cat learned how to escape out the bottom of a retractable screen door and I needed to find something stylish and sturdy to contain him. Either that, or live with never having my front door open for fresh air again! I purchased this gate based mainly on looks - it is much more attractive looking than anything else I've seen online. Lo and behold, the gate works great! My little escape artist immediately ran to the door after I installed the gate, and started pawing at the bottom and sides to try to get out. The look of disgust he gave me when he realized he could no longer get out was priceless! He doesn't realize it is for his own good - does he really want to be some coyote's dinner? I think not. As another reviewer stated, the finish is aged. I initially thought that the paint or coating was peeling, but it was just random spots of gold paint. Not my taste on the finish, but the design and effectiveness make it worth it! October 22, 2012
Best Pet Gate! This is the best gate ever. It looks really nice and is perfect for separating an area that you don't want your pet to go into. The only thing I wish it had was a latch to keep the gate open when you don't want it closed and then you don't have to worry about taking it down. Doesn't matter, I have fixed that and still love it! xoFlea October 16, 2012
Great purchase The gate is excellent quality, great appearance, and most of all very funtional. It is easy to operate for all ages.I like the way the tension works. There are no springs which can be dangerous and hard on the wood or wall. October 12, 2012
Great Gate This gate is very lovely and elegant for a pet gate. It functions very well and looks nice as well. Thank you October 3, 2012
Love this Gate!!! My door frame is actually to small for both sides but it still works perfectly with the tension springs on one side. I thought I was going to have to ship it back but decided to try it anyway and it is great. I have two large dogs and one smaller dog and they don't even try to go through. My cats love it because it gives them peace in the bedroom and access to their litter boxes without the dogs hanging around, AND it keeps my new carpet in great condition. Can't wait to buy the other gate for the other hallway. Ease of use is priceless!!! June 27, 2012
Dichelle This gate is beautiful and definitely high end. I just opened a upscale grooming salon and was looking for a safety gate and the plastic ones weren't going to cut it!! This gate is sturdy and get's nothing but compliments! Even though it is tension mounted, it comes with "cups" that you can install to the walls or passage area the keep the gate from slipping...an excellent feature I didn't even realize was included! June 15, 2012
Excellent purchase I am so happy I decided to purchase this gate, not only is it functional it is very stylish. It's tall enough so our two dogs can't jump over. I like that you secure it in place using tension instead of making holes in the wall. It is very sturdy and the walk through gate is great! Not sure why I waited so long to purchase the gate. I would recommend this gate to anyone looking for a high quality stylish gate for their home, works and looks much better than any plastic or wood baby gate on the market. June 1, 2012
Best Looking Gate! We looked everywhere for a pet gate that didn't look like a "pet gate". Thanks to Frontgate we found exactly what we were looking for. This beautiful gate is very sturdy and high enough to keep our large dog separated from our guest. We are very happy with the purchase and plan on using this lovely gate for many years. April 13, 2012
Great purchase for our home & animals! Love this beautiful & practical gate for our labrador retriever and 2 cats!!! April 10, 2012
Wonderful Gate!!! This gate is beautiful and functional! I was so tired of looking at those ugly baby gates in my house. I wish I had ordered this sooner! It' s worth every penny. Now my dogs contained and my house still looks beautiful! April 7, 2012
Pleased with my purchase The Tension mount I ordered came quickly and was in good shape. It was as nice as the picture showed. Very pleased, would order again. March 23, 2012
Beautiful Gate! Thank heavens I found this beautiful gate at Frontgate. We recently rescued a very active dog and brought him into our houseful of cats. I had purchased another less expensive pet gate with cat door and was very unhappy with it. Our dog, who weighs 44 pounds, slipped right through the cat door of the other gate. I also didn't like the appearance of that other gate. I happened upon this beautiful gate and hoped it would do the trick. It's sturdy, beautiful, and the cat door is small enough to keep Buddy contained. Just like some other reviewers have noted, the gate is a tad wider than some doorways of older homes. However, with some ingenuity, we were able to install it anyway. I love this gate!!! March 13, 2012
Love our 42" Pet gate We inherited a cat, and yes, I know it's difficult to corral a cat while making the space accessable to us humans, but this pet gate is great. It looks terrific and is made of high quality materials. the people door makes it easy to pass through, and the cat door lets Sylvia out when the time is appropriate. We'd highly recommend this product. March 11, 2012
very nice! I was very pleased with the quality of this gate. Our cats love it and it keeps the dogs out of their space. February 7, 2012
Utility and Style! This gate is extremely well made with the trademark Frontgate style - not available at the local pet store-or anywhere else. February 1, 2012
Excellent (but needs one thing!) This is a beautiful and highly functional gate. I have two -- one on each side of my kitchen, and they look lovely, they're indestructible, and my bulldog can't jump over. However, I could use one more in a wider-than-standard doorway, and there's no optional expansion panel available. The maker should offer 6" side panels to expand the width. Highly recommended! January 28, 2012
AMAZING I was very impressed with the quality, and beauty of this elegant gate. I received my gate very quickly, and was surprised at how simple it was to put up. It is an AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL gate, and highly recommended. I've had several gates in the past, but this one tops them all!! Thank you, Frontgate. January 26, 2012
Beautiful gate! This is a beautiful gate. The height is tall enough for any dog. However, on each side there is a big gap which my Maltese can squeeze through. I ended up purchasing clear fiberglass pieces to keep her from doing so. The gate came detached from the base, so I had some difficulty getting it on. I had to use my own screws and "rig" it, but when all was said and done it is a beautiful gate. August 22, 2014
Very effective gate I'm fostering a kitty that's FIV+, but I have 2 healthy cats of my own. They cannot come in contact with each other at all. I needed a gate that I knew the cats couldn't jump over or get through. Frontgate is the only company that has such a gate. It's a nice bronze color and is attractive and decorative, unlike most of the other gates out there. I like the fact that it is tension-mounted so it can be moved if need be. None of the cats has attempted to scale the gate, and I don't think they will in the future either. Previously, I was using a 30" high fireplace screen and had to move it or climb over it, so the self-closing walk through feature is wonderful! I lucked out because it was on sale plus free shipping when I found it! The reason I rated it 4 stars instead of 5 is due to the limited extension width of only 33.5-37.5". My space is on the wider side at 36.5", so there were gaps in the side bars that my smaller cat would undoubtedly climb through. I read many of the reviews and found that several people who had the same issue remedied it by using pieces of plexiglas on each side, so that's what I've done also. It takes away from the beauty of the gate a bit, but solves the gap problem. It would be nice if a wider gate was available, or at least one with bars on the sides that were closer together. In summary, though, this is a great gate. It solved my problem, made my life easier and looks pretty good. I would recommend this product. June 20, 2014
Good design, quality and appearance We purchased this for our 8 week old standard poodle puppy. It arrived quickly, was well packaged and came with good instructions for mounting to door frame. Installation took some time, needed to make a few adjustments tightening or loosening on one side or the other so that door could shut and not hit doorknob. Success! I recommended using the double stick mounting pads and mounting door as low as possible as takes some getting used to walking thru gate without an occasional trip on the bottom frame which can jar the mounting pads away from the door frame if not securely mounted. The color is oil rubbed bronze and it is well made and looks beautiful because our deck railings are a similar color and design so they compliment one another. Our puppy is now 12 weeks and growing by the week so I am not sure how much longer she can use the puppy / kitty door so my only wish was another option with a larger dogie door that be left open or latched shut like this one. April 14, 2014
42" H FRONTGATE Pet Gate The gate is well made and is attractive; more of custom look than the competitors offer. The locking mechanism works easily and smoothly, so when the spring loaded door swings closed the mechanism always latches or when you close it lightly. Although the gate contains my 30 pound, 7 month old Wheaten Terrier puppy using just the gate tension after adjustment, a heavier dog might be able to push the gate down so I would recommend using the included plastic cups that can be screwed to the wall. The Frontgate website has the assembly instructions available, which should answer any further questions. April 5, 2014
Great Gate but not for little fur babies :) When I saw these gates I had to have them to keep my two Morkies from the living room. My realtor has several beautiful gates from Frontgate, so she won me over and now I am a Frontgate fan!!! However, when I opened the first gate it was damaged (the actual door and latch would not meet so that I could close it properly) and my dogs (3lbs & 4lbs) could still squeeze through the sides. I returned the gates (btw the customer service rep was AWESOME!!) and exchanged them for the smaller gates hopefully these will work :) I have damaged my based boards using these cheap plastic gates :( so now I have to repair the damage caused. However, these new gates are going to be a beautiful addition to my home :) March 10, 2014
BE SURE TO MEASURE This is a great & classy gate, but I 'assumed' my doorways were standard size and that this gate would fit. My doorways are about 1" smaller than required for this gate to work correctly, so now I'm trying to rig it up so I can still use it. If it fit my doorway, I'm sure it would be spectacular. Remember the old adage: measure twice, cut once. February 20, 2014
Quality Product but Awkward Size When I bought this gate I was concerned only about the maximum "door" width as I was sure it had to be small enough to go in a standard door frame… Right? Wrong! When it arrived it looked beautiful and was very sturdy, but it is too big to put in a doorway. Unfortunately my hallways approximately where I want it are too big, so I planned on making some "modifications" so it would work since it was the only thing I found on the market that looked like it could withstand a dog while protecting and keeping comfortable a cat. Anyhow, the tension design is going to make these difficult. I still think I can make it work, but it's not a very flexible product so you better measure carefully and make sure you know EXACTLY where you'll want to put it before you buy. Quite frankly I don't understand why the designers haven't upped the range of space it can span either, because now that I've seen the way the "feet" at each corner work, it would have been really easy to put longer feet in and give customers more versatility and/or the option to use it in more than one place in their house. I guess if I could find the right size screws I could arrange for that myself although to be fair the gate would probably stand less fortresslike than it will with the wooden blocks I plan to nail to my walls tomorrow. February 14, 2014
Pet gates The gates are lovely, but wouldn't work for my 65 pound Golden Retrievers. Too bad for me! January 6, 2014
Gate with people & small pet door solved problem We use it to limit access to a second story loft after one of our cats fell from the second story. Now they can only go up when supervised. Previously we were using a shorter baby gate and cardboard, which looked hideous! The cardboard was necessary because the cats could climb the baby gate grid. They cannot do that with the mesh screen of the Frontgate pet gate. It is so much easier for "people" get upstairs now, without having to remove the baby gate and the cardboard. November 19, 2013
  • 2015-05-26T09:25:16.662-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_130, tr_130
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
(34 Questions : 50 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about webcollins is loaded.
Additional information about webcollins could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, none of the pet gates we carry are recommended to be used as a baby gate. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it could....but it is a little tall for a baby gate...and a little pricey for one too!
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ITSALLGOOD is loaded.
Additional information about ITSALLGOOD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would be wary of a crawling baby or toddler getting their head stuck in the cat door....
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 5BigDogs is loaded.
Additional information about 5BigDogs could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
No, the door only swings one way. There is a sliding latch that holds the gate shut once the door in properly inserted in the doorway.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Both the top and bottom gate open one way and that is why (IMO) it is sturdy. Nice sliding tension latch for the gate, the smaller gate has a latch that drops behind a fixed bar for closure.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Crestedcanine is loaded.
Additional information about Crestedcanine could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Parker is loaded.
Additional information about Parker could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I dont have cats so dont need dual door but afraid my yorkies could squeeze thru on the other gate. Hard to tell from pictures but dont want to spend extra money if i dont have to
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Chicago, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chibearfan is loaded.
Additional information about chibearfan could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
no way your small yorkie would fit through!
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about otann is loaded.
Additional information about otann could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. The space between the bars on the side panels are half the width of the gate with no dual door.
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3

Answer: 
There are large openings on either side of this gate when using in a doorway 36"+. The wider the doorway the larger the opening in the sides. Cats and small or slender dogs could fit through. Openings are either side are wide enough that a dog could easily get their head caught in it. Disappointing, its a beautiful piece.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Pinehurst, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Caroline22 is loaded.
Additional information about Caroline22 could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

What is the height of item 46128?

In the catalog I just received the height is shown as 33 3/4" but on the web sight it is indicated as 42". Which is correct.? Does it come in two different heights?
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Dee-Dee
La
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The height of this item is 42". It was previously offered in a smaller size, however that item is no longer available. We apologize for any confusion.
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
mine arrived and was 42"
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
ohio
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Dichelle is loaded.
Additional information about Dichelle could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

Can this gate be used on stairs

I have several cats and I want to keep them from going upstairs in my home.
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chloe4631 is loaded.
Additional information about Chloe4631 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, this item is not recommended for use on stairs. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate has to be mounted correctly before the latch will stay closed. If you can create enough tension using a stair rung and the wall, (or whatever you will be attaching it to) then I think it would be perfect!
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
  • 2015-05-26T09:29:48.935-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
  • 2015-05-26T09:29:48.939-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???