Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 150 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doggie Gate The Doggie gate is very nice looking and functional. I have 3 dogs, Great Dane, Boston Terrier, and mix terrier. The gate works to separate our living area from the social areas. The height of the gate is great and overall strength appears to be great. The auto-shut is good; the three year old daughter likes to slam it a bunch. July 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Steel Mesh Pet Gate I have 7 dogs all sizes from a chihuahua to a collie and this gate was exactly what I needed. The mesh allows air flow through and the dogs can see me in the gameroom. I put it in my kitchen door that leads out to my gameroom. The gate is tall enough that my dogs do not try to climb or jump over it. I'm very happy with this purchase and would recommend this gate to buy. July 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dog gate. After having dogs for over 35 years I have gone through lots of dog gates. This gate is the best one I have ever purchased. The design is just charming and it does the job because it is strong enough to keep a Doberman in. So glad I found it! July 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Gate This is a great product. It is perfect for what I needed it for. Be sure to measure your door frame, it does not fit every door. The only con I have for it is that since the gate itself is so heavy it kinda slams shut. I have gotten to depend on it now though to close behind me. July 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by really like it but My 34 lb dog was able to squeeze through the cat door. Was sorry to return it. Had a very easy return. Recommend both the product and Frontgate July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Gate This gate is one of the few that I could find that is high quality, taller than standard height, and a good price. I have received a lot of compliments on the gate and have been frequently asked where I purchased it. July 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Purchase Ever LOVE this pet gate. Great quality, very well built, heavy duty and looks fabulous! Looks great and very functional in hallway. I did have to build additional side panels to keep cats from squeezing through gaps in sides by wall. Turned out wonderful!!! July 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful & Sturdy This is my second gate purchase so obviously I love it. This is the first time we bought one with the cat door and it is so well done and classy. I definitely recommend it. July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing I love the gate. It has an elegant look unlike the others I have looked at. Very sturdy. I was very pleased with the purchase and product. Thank you April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Quality Product Works great! Keep in mind that you will most likely need to install the top wall support things (for lack of a better term). If you don't, the top could slide out of the doorway. I did not need them on the bottom. I did not use the sticky pads, only the supports. Its a tension issue. You cannot keep tightening to the wall without compromising your ability to open the door. Its not a flaw! There is no other way to do it. My only real complaint is that the directions could be better. It does not include an explanation of how to install the wall supports. Its pretty obvious, but directions should include everything. April 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product! We recently became the proud owners of Irish Wolfhound puppies. This door is perfect. Easy to install and use, looks great and the small door allows the Westie and the cat to come and go at their pleasure (to the puppies dismay) We bought two and love them! February 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 42 h tension mount dual door I got this for the kitchen door, after puppy can jump easily over the shorter gate. I am very happy with this gate, its beautiful and if used carefully, the door stays in place. Now I don;t have to look all over for the puppy. Recommend to all with a puppy. February 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy and Attractive I have a one year old Doberman puppy who can jump over any gate - except this one! The mesh makes it impossible to climb, too. It probably helps that she can see through the gate, which also happens to be very solid-feeling. When I first installed it, I almost panicked because it was just a 1/2 of an inch too big to fit in the door frame even though I measured carefully before I ordered it. i was able to make it work by using the screws and knobs on one side and the screws by themselves on the other side. Very happy with this product. February 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great looking dog door I needed a taller door because my agile dog leapt over gates of standard height. I loved the color and design of this door. The only issue was that i couldnt fit it in what i thought was a standard doorframe with all of the door/ frame protectors. Otherwise i love it. I got it to fit. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Gate We purchased 2 gates to close off the kitchen from the dogs. The gates are attractive and tall enough that husband and I do not have to bend over to open them. The latch is easy to use and yet the dogs have not figured out how to open it yet. I do have a very athletic girl that is able to jump the gate, but that is certainly not the fault of the gate. I will be purchasing one more soon for the spare bedroom where I keep two of my dogs when we are not home. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect fit and beautiful to look at I had purchased a similar gate from Frontgate, that was so well constructed and looked beautiful, that I had to purchase 2 additional gates. This gate is as well constructed as the first gate I purchased, and is just as beautiful. The set-up again was easy and the gate works perfectly. So instead of my ugly old baby gates that we had to step over, we have this beautiful gate that we can easily walk though. February 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Pet Gate This is a great gate. It looks nice and my very large dog can't jump over it. The installation was fairly easy and it didn't require that we attach anything to our door frame. February 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Large Dog Friendly Love these gates. Three large 100 pound plus dogs and two cats! The gates work well for the entire family. February 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very well made I bought two of these gates and was only able to use one as they are for a wider opening than most doors frames. We were able to use it at the end of the hallway where we have a rock archway and it looks great. We did have to attach the top of the gate into the rock to keep it from moving when it closed. I love the fact that it so much taller than the others out on the market, my one Dalmatian can jump over the old one, but NOT this one. We will use the other one outside this spring to keep the dogs at bay when the kitchen door is open. February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate This gate is unusually good looking and very easy to install. I was concerned that I didn't need this tall a gate but it actually is easier to open (no stooping) when carrying items through it. Sturdy, solid construction and everything has stayed snug through several months of use to date. Keeps my gang in place and my cat happy! November 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Purchase but... This gate worked exactly as the description said. The only exception is that our door frame is at the wide end of the maximum width for the gate. This means that there is a large gap on either side of the gate where normal sized cats can still get through. Not a problem though. I purchased a sheet of quarter inch thick plexiglass (36 inches long) which I cut two pieces to fit the width of the gap (around 3 inches wide each) on each side, drilled three holes equally distanced apart onto the plexiglass and one at the top and attached it to the frame with cable ties. Perfect fit and the cats cannot get through. LOVE the product. Excellent quality, very sturdy and appears very durable. The spring-loaded hinges are an added convenience in closing the door. I would definitely recommend it if your door width is narrow but think about getting something to "close the gap" if your door width is wide because the cats will definitely get through it. 4 1/2 to 5 stars. October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thwarted my clever cat My cat learned how to escape out the bottom of a retractable screen door and I needed to find something stylish and sturdy to contain him. Either that, or live with never having my front door open for fresh air again! I purchased this gate based mainly on looks - it is much more attractive looking than anything else I've seen online. Lo and behold, the gate works great! My little escape artist immediately ran to the door after I installed the gate, and started pawing at the bottom and sides to try to get out. The look of disgust he gave me when he realized he could no longer get out was priceless! He doesn't realize it is for his own good - does he really want to be some coyote's dinner? I think not. As another reviewer stated, the finish is aged. I initially thought that the paint or coating was peeling, but it was just random spots of gold paint. Not my taste on the finish, but the design and effectiveness make it worth it! October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Pet Gate! This is the best gate ever. It looks really nice and is perfect for separating an area that you don't want your pet to go into. The only thing I wish it had was a latch to keep the gate open when you don't want it closed and then you don't have to worry about taking it down. Doesn't matter, I have fixed that and still love it! xoFlea October 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great purchase The gate is excellent quality, great appearance, and most of all very funtional. It is easy to operate for all ages.I like the way the tension works. There are no springs which can be dangerous and hard on the wood or wall. October 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate This gate is very lovely and elegant for a pet gate. It functions very well and looks nice as well. Thank you October 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this Gate!!! My door frame is actually to small for both sides but it still works perfectly with the tension springs on one side. I thought I was going to have to ship it back but decided to try it anyway and it is great. I have two large dogs and one smaller dog and they don't even try to go through. My cats love it because it gives them peace in the bedroom and access to their litter boxes without the dogs hanging around, AND it keeps my new carpet in great condition. Can't wait to buy the other gate for the other hallway. Ease of use is priceless!!! June 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dichelle This gate is beautiful and definitely high end. I just opened a upscale grooming salon and was looking for a safety gate and the plastic ones weren't going to cut it!! This gate is sturdy and get's nothing but compliments! Even though it is tension mounted, it comes with "cups" that you can install to the walls or passage area the keep the gate from slipping...an excellent feature I didn't even realize was included! June 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent purchase I am so happy I decided to purchase this gate, not only is it functional it is very stylish. It's tall enough so our two dogs can't jump over. I like that you secure it in place using tension instead of making holes in the wall. It is very sturdy and the walk through gate is great! Not sure why I waited so long to purchase the gate. I would recommend this gate to anyone looking for a high quality stylish gate for their home, works and looks much better than any plastic or wood baby gate on the market. June 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Looking Gate! We looked everywhere for a pet gate that didn't look like a "pet gate". Thanks to Frontgate we found exactly what we were looking for. This beautiful gate is very sturdy and high enough to keep our large dog separated from our guest. We are very happy with the purchase and plan on using this lovely gate for many years. April 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great purchase for our home & animals! Love this beautiful & practical gate for our labrador retriever and 2 cats!!! April 10, 2012
  • 2016-12-08 T06:28:50.689-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_150, tr_150
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
(48 Questions : 79 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
I dont have cats so dont need dual door but afraid my yorkies could squeeze thru on the other gate. Hard to tell from pictures but dont want to spend extra money if i dont have to
4 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Chicago, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chibearfan is loaded.
Additional information about chibearfan could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
no way your small yorkie would fit through!
4 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about otann is loaded.
Additional information about otann could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. The space between the bars on the side panels are half the width of the gate with no dual door.
4 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3

Answer: 
Well, our new kitten was able to zip through the sides very easily, after we applied it to our 36"-wide doorway. If there was a way to close that gap, we would not have returned it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
4 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Raleigh, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about justawful is loaded.
Additional information about justawful could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I bought this and I had my husband cut a piece of wood and I got a stain and I stained the wood the color of the gate
looks just fine I had a 36 in door too
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Alabama, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Bamagail is loaded.
Additional information about Bamagail could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There are large openings on either side of this gate when using in a doorway 36"+. The wider the doorway the larger the opening in the sides. Cats and small or slender dogs could fit through. Openings are either side are wide enough that a dog could easily get their head caught in it. Disappointing, its a beautiful piece.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Pinehurst, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Caroline22 is loaded.
Additional information about Caroline22 could not be loaded.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Is the mesh made of steel? Our cats are jerks and will destroy any mesh within an hour. Also can cats jump over this gate? Has anyone experienced this? Thanks!
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Racheljcs is loaded.
Additional information about Racheljcs could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
This is a thicker mesh, not like a window screen. Yes, a very athletic cat could jump over it. One of our carts jumped from an end table over it.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Atl
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JAScat is loaded.
Additional information about JAScat could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. The mesh is made of steel.
3 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I am not certain of the material of the mesh. It is strong and sturdy however. A clever cat can most certainly climb it. A larger, agile cat could possibly leap up to the top, balance and then hop off.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Sea Ranch, CA 95497, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dmartin336 is loaded.
Additional information about dmartin336 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. We are looking into what material the mesh in this gate is made of. This gate is designed to primarily keep larger pet our of areas that smaller pets, such as cats, are allowed to go. A cat can most certainly climb up or jump over this gate.
3 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
4 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about webcollins is loaded.
Additional information about webcollins could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Yes it could....but it is a little tall for a baby gate...and a little pricey for one too!
4 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ITSALLGOOD is loaded.
Additional information about ITSALLGOOD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, none of the pet gates we carry are recommended to be used as a baby gate. We apologize for any inconvenience.
4 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would be wary of a crawling baby or toddler getting their head stuck in the cat door....
4 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
4 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 5BigDogs is loaded.
Additional information about 5BigDogs could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Both the top and bottom gate open one way and that is why (IMO) it is sturdy. Nice sliding tension latch for the gate, the smaller gate has a latch that drops behind a fixed bar for closure.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
4 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Crestedcanine is loaded.
Additional information about Crestedcanine could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Parker is loaded.
Additional information about Parker could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, the door only swings one way. There is a sliding latch that holds the gate shut once the door in properly inserted in the doorway.
4 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
3 answers
Can this gate be mounted on wall?
I have used several tension-mount gates and I'm done with them. I need one I can mount on wall. Please advise. Thank you.
3 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Virginia, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Elphie is loaded.
Additional information about Elphie could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This gate is not intended to be mounted to the wall and would not include any type of hardware to do so. Mounting it to the wall would require some type of modification to the product, which would void the 1 year warranty. We apologize for any inconvenience.
3 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, this mounts to the walls. It is very secure with the added tension pushing into the mounts.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Atlanta
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JAScat is loaded.
Additional information about JAScat could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
unfortunatley, it can't be mounted given the material the gate comes with.
3 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about otann is loaded.
Additional information about otann could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 next>>
  • 2016-12-08 T06:26:58.659-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_default
2 3 next>>
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate
The Frontgate Credit CardNow Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]