Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate 4.6 5 126 130
The gate does what it's supposed to do It's sturdy, tall and good looking. The tension adjustments took a while to get the door to close properly. I wish they would make this in a version that mounts to the wall instead of the tension mount. Even with the tension as tight as possible, the weight of the door (it's spring loaded) swinging shut will move the mounts enough to mar the paint on the wall. October 21, 2013
Nice Look More convenient to walk thru the door rather than step over the child gates we had previously. Have larger dogs (65lbs) and smaller dogs (10-15lbs) and thought the small door would be good feature. Hoped to let little dogs have escape hatch from bigger dogs but found our 65lb and 45lb could manage to worm their way through. Although not working out exactly as planned we still plan on purchasing another similar gate or two. September 30, 2013
Beautiful gate I purchased this gate to keep cats (and unsupervised dogs) out of the carpeted rooms of my home. Other gates that I have purchased were made of aluminum bars and the cats were able to go right through them. I choose this particular gate because of the metal mesh which is much more functional and attractive than the "jail cell" looking gates. The only problem I encountered is that my door frame required that I install the gate at it's widest adjustment which left a gap, between the outer most bar and the door frame, wide enough for a normal size cat to get through. Also, at the very widest adjustment, the gate did not feel secure enough to withstand my 3, 135 lb., Tibetan Mastiffs should they decide to push against it. I have custom made doors and trim that are not standard, so I knew that I would probably need to make some modifications to install the gate properly. In order to reduce the gap and get a more secure fit, I cut a piece of wood, the height of the gate, for each side of the door frame. The pressure from the installed gate holds the wood securely in place so it wasn't necessary to permantly alter the door frame. Since the wood inserts are stained to match the other trim, they don't detract from the appearance of the gate or the door. Installed in this manner, the gate is very functional, sturdy and attractive. I did worry that the cats would use the mesh to climb over the gate but that hasn't been a problem so I have since purchased a second gate. I would give this item 5 stars except that I feel that there should be more side bars spaced be closer together. I've yet to see any pet gate that is designed specifically to keep cats out but this one works better than anything else I've tried. Overall, it is the nicest gate I've seen and I am very pleased with the two I have purchased. September 3, 2013
Attractive Dog Gate This is the second dog gate I have purchased from Frontgate. I bought the matching larger gate several months prior. The gate is very attractive and looks much better in our house than the plastic baby gates we replaced with it. Our only problem is that we didn't measure before we ordered it. I just assumed our doorway was standard, but the gate was too wide. We ended up having to put it behind the opening and put wooden blocks at each of the tension screws to make up the size difference. If you screw it too tightly the gate won't shut well, so you have to loosen it for the walk through gate feature to work best. July 10, 2013
Attractive dog gate Visually attractive in color (dark antique bronze finish) and design. My gate arrived with several manufacturing defects, so Frontgate is replacing when the next shipment arrives. The main door does not stay open on its own, you will need a door stop or weight if you choose to leave open. Tension holds well. I needed help assembling, but others may not. Overall a very attractive and well priced dog gate. April 6, 2013
Nice but tall This is a nice gate, but it is very tall. We purchased the matching one for larger opening and we wish the height on both gates were the same. It also closes a bit loudly, but we still like it and get compliments on it. April 4, 2013
beautiful gate! This gate is absolutely beautiful! I am very glad I purchased it--high quality and looks wonderful in our home compared to the very blah looking gate we used to have. The only downsides are that it has spring hinges to stay closed, so you have to prop it open with something VERY heavy to get it to stay open. Seems redundant since you can latch it to stay closed anyway...I also wish it were a bit wider and shorter. It fits my doorway, but there are big gaps on each side. My dogs are too big to get the shorter gate, but this gate is super tall. I also have troubles with the latch. Maybe I just need to try some WD40? It just sticks and isn't easy to open, even though I have the gate lined up perfectly. Overall, though, love it! Glad I bought it and referred some Facebook friends to buy it when they liked it in a pic I posted of my dog :) April 3, 2013
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate As much as I like the gate, I am returning it, as it won't work in the doorway that I planned to use it in. It would be great if they offered it in different widths. February 17, 2013
Beautiful gate, great quality This gate is beautiful, and the quality is terrific. That being said, I had to return this product. I bought it for a purpose other than intended. I thought this might be a good way to keep my furry babes from darting out the front door every time it is opened. It looked great, but the way the adjustable fittings fit into the door frame made it a little unstable, and the door knob wound up being the exact height of the gate, so it was awkward trying to get a key in and turn it. I wish I could have used this gate somewhere else in my home, because it is so nice! February 15, 2013
dual gate door like the look of it, but the pads that stick to the wall aren't sticky enough. A short, pointy protrusion on the pad, that could grip the wall better, would be nice. Otherwise it looks nice, keeps the dogs in place better than the previous "child" gate November 21, 2012
Hoping this works Just got this and it does not fit our doorway in our 20 year old house but it is such a novel and needed item for us with cats and dogs we are hoping to make this work. I wish Frontgate would have anticipated differing widths in doorways. Don't give up on a great idea Frontgate! You are the only people out there addressing this need. August 17, 2012
Dual Door Pet Gate Since we have a family of dogs and a cat, we found this gate to be the perfect solution. Although it seemed pricey, the quality of Frontgate products have normally supported the price tag. We are pleased over all with the item except for the rubber disk pads were only held on by a cheap piece of 2-sided tape, and kept failing off while I was installing the gate. Otherwise I would have given the item 5 stars. I do especially like the self closing feature as I know my kids would forget to close it on their own. August 5, 2012
Very good product, but... Very elegant-looking and decorative. Installed faily quickly with few problems. However: cats can still get through on the sides - I went to the home improvement store and bought some plastic to put in to fix this. Cats were the whole reason to buy this gate, because of the upright bars on the sides. Instructions are inadequate: don't explain very well about placing the protective pads. Only came with 3 screws, and don't explain where to use the screws. July 21, 2012
Attractive and functional pet gate As the proud owner of 4 dogs, ranging in size from 75 to 130 lbs, I needed sturdy pet barriers that look good in the house. I am so pleased with my purchase - not only are the gates attractive, they are substantial! My rowdy boys lean heavily against the mesh from time-to-time, but they have yet to dislodge any of these barriers. Moreover, the gates latch firmly and securely - nothing pops open. 4 stars because gates cannot accomodate entryways less than 32". As per usual with Frontgate, my order was well-packaged and shipped promptly. March 1, 2012
Tension-Mount Dual Door Gate Looking at the picture of what appears to be a very large dog, I assumed the door was taller. I should have measured it and read 42". Just hoping our 125 lb dog does not figure out how to go over it, and continue eating the cat's food. January 21, 2012
Very nice I ordered two. They are very nice, sturdy... If you are not into the "Aged" appearance I would suggest picking another gate. It has gold paint speraticly throughout the gate trying to give the appearance of an aged look. I had to return one of the two requesting replacement due to the gate being slightly bent...not allowing gate to "lock" properly. September 18, 2011
Beautiful gate - cat door very flimsy While this is a beautiful gate – please be careful. I have three large breed dogs 70-80 lbs. and ordered this gate because it was tall enough for them not to jump over it (not the cat door). We had the gate installed for one week and a dog managed to open the cat door which is not very secure. She broke the hinges off the cat door removing it from the gate and somehow managed to fit through the cat door. She has arthritis so there is no way she went over the gate. I am just happy that she did not hurt herself but please be careful and secure the cat door if you are not using it. Now I have to figure out how to reattach the cat door and permanently seal it. December 5, 2014
Good Quality and Functional While this is obviously a good quality pet gate, the workmanship is betrayed by a few easy fixes. The gate itself doesn't fit a standard doorway - it is considerably larger but the things that I found most irritating are the horrendous amount of noise the hinges make even after I applied WD40 and the thunderous crashing sound each time the door closes. This constant rattle and crashing definitely detracts from the beauty of the gate. August 5, 2014
Good quality, but upsetting. I purchased these gates for a very large dog and a very open kitchen floor plan. I measured for the space and ordered the 3 gates expecting them to fit like a glove in each of the spaces. When I started to assemble them into the spaces one of them, a space 33.5" wide, fit perfectly; I couldn't ask for a greater fit. The material is of good quality and the tension rods don't mar the wall. Then, when I moved on to the next gate, with a larger width of 37.5". Now the product says that it should fit a space from 33.5" to 37.5", and granted it fit in the second door space, it also required the tension rods to be extended all the way out, causing the gate to lose it's stability. I encountered this same problem with gate number 3. Also the latch was broken on the 2nd gate and stiff on the 3rd gate. If the company had offered a gate that was slightly larger than the model I purchased it would have been perfect. I feel as if the product was incorrectly listed, that they never should have said it could fit a space 37.5" if it truly couldn't. It's too bad that I'm going to have to have to modify them to work or return them. February 25, 2014
The Cat's opinion The gate is very well made and attractive I love the scroll work and color of the metal. The gate would work great for a dog however a cat is able to get around the edges. The main gate latch should be adjustable the spring does not always close the bolt. The gate would get a 5 star rating on appearance. We added some bars to the side to prevent the cat from getting around the edges so it can be fixed but not a great design. December 3, 2012
Wrong information First, I love the gate however, in the description it states that it fits into a doorway that is at least 31.5" but the actual instructions and size of the gate say that it is at least 33.5". Then, the small door is installed backwards to what the picture is, so you cannot open the little door while the big gate is closed unless you open the big one, go through it, shut it, then open the little one, then open the big one again, go through it and then shut it. Maybe I just received a defectively installed little door! Would be nice to have one that was installed correctly! September 28, 2012
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Gate This is a really great product in terms of quality and design, however it is made for doorways in modern McMansions and not an average sized home built in 1955. It is even too large for my entryways in between rooms which I thought were average. I'm not returning it because it will be too much of a hassle so we are having our handyman work something out on the outside of the door. Should be interesting. February 7, 2012
Be Careful about dimensions My gate was delivered by UPS today. The metal frame was sprung so bad that the gate wouldn't close well enough to latch. Their description said the gate would work for an opening with width up to 37.5 inches, and the width of the hallway I bought it for is 36.5 inches. Although I was able to tighten the knobs on each side of the gate frame to where it stayed put, there was a large enough gap between the gate and the wall on both sides for my cat to get through. So I'll put a piece of 2 X 4 lumber up against the wall on each side of the gate so my cat can't get through. Not at all the classy look I was after by buying this gate. March 3, 2015
We wanted this to work We wanted this gate to work. We need the extra height as we have large dogs. The installation instructions stated for small to medium pets 8-44 lbs. I don't recall seeing this on the product details. However small animals could pass right through either side. I was very disappointed in this gate. We purchased two and paid for expedited delivery. They are sturdy but the openings on either side are large enough for a cat or slender dog to slide right through. No need for a cat door. A dog could get its head caught in the sides easily or animals you may wish to separate can still reach each other. This gate will not work with a 36" frame without leaving close to 4 inches on either side. Would be nice if they would make extensions for this. This gate is listed as working in openings 33.5 to 37.5. but if you're opening is more than 35, you will most likely not be happy with this product if you are trying to separate animals or do not wish a cat or small animal to pass through the sides. I called to speak with their installation experts and they confirmed there was nothing we could do to correct this. December 11, 2014
Strong spring-back makes for constant adjustments This gate looks great, or it did for the first few days before it slammed shut and knocked itself loose and fell over. Detail work broke with that first fall. If you have a smaller door frame it may be ok, but there is no stability with a bit wider door where almost fully extended. I did not want to have holes in my door frames, so purchased this gate. I would not get this one again as it is always slipping out of place and I am constantly adjusting. If you do not have kids(or neighbor kids) you could probably control this factor, but no so for me. Keeps the dogs out most of the time, but one of mine always checks to see if it has moved from being slammed shut and made the latch not catch, then not quite effective. I have the freestanding model and will most likely get another of those instead - it is nice a sturdy and does not slide out of place when it slams shut... June 28, 2014
Quality Control Issues First gate arrived mission some inserts that could not be supplied and gate had to be replaced. Second deivery had a defective latch which had to be replaced. Manyfacturer needs to have better quality control. April 7, 2013
Somewhat Disappointing Arrived tightly boxed. Instructions poorly written. One side of gate, the iron vertical bars are bowed. The picture shown on-line does not look bowed to me. For my use, it does a fair job; not as good as I anticipated. If this was purchased through a local store, I would have returned the item. May 25, 2012
Does not work for cats, as advertised Cat was able to climb over this in a week. Does not work for cats. Perhaps it would work if it was not a mesh, which the cat can climb on. I am returning this item. The ad lead me to believe that it works with cats. Unfortunately I wasted my shipping charges - unless they are reimbursed. March 17, 2015
  • 2015-05-26T09:25:17.741-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_130, tr_130
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5
(34 Questions : 50 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about webcollins is loaded.
Additional information about webcollins could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, none of the pet gates we carry are recommended to be used as a baby gate. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes it could....but it is a little tall for a baby gate...and a little pricey for one too!
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ITSALLGOOD is loaded.
Additional information about ITSALLGOOD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would be wary of a crawling baby or toddler getting their head stuck in the cat door....
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 5BigDogs is loaded.
Additional information about 5BigDogs could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
No, the door only swings one way. There is a sliding latch that holds the gate shut once the door in properly inserted in the doorway.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Both the top and bottom gate open one way and that is why (IMO) it is sturdy. Nice sliding tension latch for the gate, the smaller gate has a latch that drops behind a fixed bar for closure.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Florida, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Crestedcanine is loaded.
Additional information about Crestedcanine could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Parker is loaded.
Additional information about Parker could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I dont have cats so dont need dual door but afraid my yorkies could squeeze thru on the other gate. Hard to tell from pictures but dont want to spend extra money if i dont have to
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Chicago, IL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about chibearfan is loaded.
Additional information about chibearfan could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
no way your small yorkie would fit through!
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about otann is loaded.
Additional information about otann could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. The space between the bars on the side panels are half the width of the gate with no dual door.
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3

Answer: 
There are large openings on either side of this gate when using in a doorway 36"+. The wider the doorway the larger the opening in the sides. Cats and small or slender dogs could fit through. Openings are either side are wide enough that a dog could easily get their head caught in it. Disappointing, its a beautiful piece.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Pinehurst, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Caroline22 is loaded.
Additional information about Caroline22 could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

What is the height of item 46128?

In the catalog I just received the height is shown as 33 3/4" but on the web sight it is indicated as 42". Which is correct.? Does it come in two different heights?
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Dee-Dee
La
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The height of this item is 42". It was previously offered in a smaller size, however that item is no longer available. We apologize for any confusion.
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
mine arrived and was 42"
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
ohio
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Dichelle is loaded.
Additional information about Dichelle could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
2 answers

Can this gate be used on stairs

I have several cats and I want to keep them from going upstairs in my home.
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Chloe4631 is loaded.
Additional information about Chloe4631 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, this item is not recommended for use on stairs. We apologize for any inconvenience.
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The gate has to be mounted correctly before the latch will stay closed. If you can create enough tension using a stair rung and the wall, (or whatever you will be attaching it to) then I think it would be perfect!
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jemstar2 is loaded.
Additional information about jemstar2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
  • 2015-05-26T09:29:48.935-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
  • 2015-05-26T09:29:48.939-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???