Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 154.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thwarted my clever cat My cat learned how to escape out the bottom of a retractable screen door and I needed to find something stylish and sturdy to contain him. Either that, or live with never having my front door open for fresh air again! I purchased this gate based mainly on looks - it is much more attractive looking than anything else I've seen online. Lo and behold, the gate works great! My little escape artist immediately ran to the door after I installed the gate, and started pawing at the bottom and sides to try to get out. The look of disgust he gave me when he realized he could no longer get out was priceless! He doesn't realize it is for his own good - does he really want to be some coyote's dinner? I think not. As another reviewer stated, the finish is aged. I initially thought that the paint or coating was peeling, but it was just random spots of gold paint. Not my taste on the finish, but the design and effectiveness make it worth it!
Date published: 2012-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Pet Gate! This is the best gate ever. It looks really nice and is perfect for separating an area that you don't want your pet to go into. The only thing I wish it had was a latch to keep the gate open when you don't want it closed and then you don't have to worry about taking it down. Doesn't matter, I have fixed that and still love it! xoFlea
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase The gate is excellent quality, great appearance, and most of all very funtional. It is easy to operate for all ages.I like the way the tension works. There are no springs which can be dangerous and hard on the wood or wall.
Date published: 2012-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate This gate is very lovely and elegant for a pet gate. It functions very well and looks nice as well. Thank you
Date published: 2012-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Gate!!! My door frame is actually to small for both sides but it still works perfectly with the tension springs on one side. I thought I was going to have to ship it back but decided to try it anyway and it is great. I have two large dogs and one smaller dog and they don't even try to go through. My cats love it because it gives them peace in the bedroom and access to their litter boxes without the dogs hanging around, AND it keeps my new carpet in great condition. Can't wait to buy the other gate for the other hallway. Ease of use is priceless!!!
Date published: 2012-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dichelle This gate is beautiful and definitely high end. I just opened a upscale grooming salon and was looking for a safety gate and the plastic ones weren't going to cut it!! This gate is sturdy and get's nothing but compliments! Even though it is tension mounted, it comes with "cups" that you can install to the walls or passage area the keep the gate from slipping...an excellent feature I didn't even realize was included!
Date published: 2012-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent purchase I am so happy I decided to purchase this gate, not only is it functional it is very stylish. It's tall enough so our two dogs can't jump over. I like that you secure it in place using tension instead of making holes in the wall. It is very sturdy and the walk through gate is great! Not sure why I waited so long to purchase the gate. I would recommend this gate to anyone looking for a high quality stylish gate for their home, works and looks much better than any plastic or wood baby gate on the market.
Date published: 2012-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Looking Gate! We looked everywhere for a pet gate that didn't look like a "pet gate". Thanks to Frontgate we found exactly what we were looking for. This beautiful gate is very sturdy and high enough to keep our large dog separated from our guest. We are very happy with the purchase and plan on using this lovely gate for many years.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase for our home & animals! Love this beautiful & practical gate for our labrador retriever and 2 cats!!!
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Gate!!! This gate is beautiful and functional! I was so tired of looking at those ugly baby gates in my house. I wish I had ordered this sooner! It' s worth every penny. Now my dogs contained and my house still looks beautiful!
Date published: 2012-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleased with my purchase The Tension mount I ordered came quickly and was in good shape. It was as nice as the picture showed. Very pleased, would order again.
Date published: 2012-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Gate! Thank heavens I found this beautiful gate at Frontgate. We recently rescued a very active dog and brought him into our houseful of cats. I had purchased another less expensive pet gate with cat door and was very unhappy with it. Our dog, who weighs 44 pounds, slipped right through the cat door of the other gate. I also didn't like the appearance of that other gate. I happened upon this beautiful gate and hoped it would do the trick. It's sturdy, beautiful, and the cat door is small enough to keep Buddy contained. Just like some other reviewers have noted, the gate is a tad wider than some doorways of older homes. However, with some ingenuity, we were able to install it anyway. I love this gate!!!
Date published: 2012-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love our 42" Pet gate We inherited a cat, and yes, I know it's difficult to corral a cat while making the space accessable to us humans, but this pet gate is great. It looks terrific and is made of high quality materials. the people door makes it easy to pass through, and the cat door lets Sylvia out when the time is appropriate. We'd highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice! I was very pleased with the quality of this gate. Our cats love it and it keeps the dogs out of their space.
Date published: 2012-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Utility and Style! This gate is extremely well made with the trademark Frontgate style - not available at the local pet store-or anywhere else.
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent (but needs one thing!) This is a beautiful and highly functional gate. I have two -- one on each side of my kitchen, and they look lovely, they're indestructible, and my bulldog can't jump over. However, I could use one more in a wider-than-standard doorway, and there's no optional expansion panel available. The maker should offer 6" side panels to expand the width. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2012-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING I was very impressed with the quality, and beauty of this elegant gate. I received my gate very quickly, and was surprised at how simple it was to put up. It is an AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL gate, and highly recommended. I've had several gates in the past, but this one tops them all!! Thank you, Frontgate.
Date published: 2012-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful gate! This is a beautiful gate. The height is tall enough for any dog. However, on each side there is a big gap which my Maltese can squeeze through. I ended up purchasing clear fiberglass pieces to keep her from doing so. The gate came detached from the base, so I had some difficulty getting it on. I had to use my own screws and "rig" it, but when all was said and done it is a beautiful gate.
Date published: 2014-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very effective gate I'm fostering a kitty that's FIV+, but I have 2 healthy cats of my own. They cannot come in contact with each other at all. I needed a gate that I knew the cats couldn't jump over or get through. Frontgate is the only company that has such a gate. It's a nice bronze color and is attractive and decorative, unlike most of the other gates out there. I like the fact that it is tension-mounted so it can be moved if need be. None of the cats has attempted to scale the gate, and I don't think they will in the future either. Previously, I was using a 30" high fireplace screen and had to move it or climb over it, so the self-closing walk through feature is wonderful! I lucked out because it was on sale plus free shipping when I found it! The reason I rated it 4 stars instead of 5 is due to the limited extension width of only 33.5-37.5". My space is on the wider side at 36.5", so there were gaps in the side bars that my smaller cat would undoubtedly climb through. I read many of the reviews and found that several people who had the same issue remedied it by using pieces of plexiglas on each side, so that's what I've done also. It takes away from the beauty of the gate a bit, but solves the gap problem. It would be nice if a wider gate was available, or at least one with bars on the sides that were closer together. In summary, though, this is a great gate. It solved my problem, made my life easier and looks pretty good. I would recommend this product.
Date published: 2014-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good design, quality and appearance We purchased this for our 8 week old standard poodle puppy. It arrived quickly, was well packaged and came with good instructions for mounting to door frame. Installation took some time, needed to make a few adjustments tightening or loosening on one side or the other so that door could shut and not hit doorknob. Success! I recommended using the double stick mounting pads and mounting door as low as possible as takes some getting used to walking thru gate without an occasional trip on the bottom frame which can jar the mounting pads away from the door frame if not securely mounted. The color is oil rubbed bronze and it is well made and looks beautiful because our deck railings are a similar color and design so they compliment one another. Our puppy is now 12 weeks and growing by the week so I am not sure how much longer she can use the puppy / kitty door so my only wish was another option with a larger dogie door that be left open or latched shut like this one.
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 42" H FRONTGATE Pet Gate The gate is well made and is attractive; more of custom look than the competitors offer. The locking mechanism works easily and smoothly, so when the spring loaded door swings closed the mechanism always latches or when you close it lightly. Although the gate contains my 30 pound, 7 month old Wheaten Terrier puppy using just the gate tension after adjustment, a heavier dog might be able to push the gate down so I would recommend using the included plastic cups that can be screwed to the wall. The Frontgate website has the assembly instructions available, which should answer any further questions.
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Gate but not for little fur babies :) When I saw these gates I had to have them to keep my two Morkies from the living room. My realtor has several beautiful gates from Frontgate, so she won me over and now I am a Frontgate fan!!! However, when I opened the first gate it was damaged (the actual door and latch would not meet so that I could close it properly) and my dogs (3lbs & 4lbs) could still squeeze through the sides. I returned the gates (btw the customer service rep was AWESOME!!) and exchanged them for the smaller gates hopefully these will work :) I have damaged my based boards using these cheap plastic gates :( so now I have to repair the damage caused. However, these new gates are going to be a beautiful addition to my home :)
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BE SURE TO MEASURE This is a great & classy gate, but I 'assumed' my doorways were standard size and that this gate would fit. My doorways are about 1" smaller than required for this gate to work correctly, so now I'm trying to rig it up so I can still use it. If it fit my doorway, I'm sure it would be spectacular. Remember the old adage: measure twice, cut once.
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality Product but Awkward Size When I bought this gate I was concerned only about the maximum "door" width as I was sure it had to be small enough to go in a standard door frame… Right? Wrong! When it arrived it looked beautiful and was very sturdy, but it is too big to put in a doorway. Unfortunately my hallways approximately where I want it are too big, so I planned on making some "modifications" so it would work since it was the only thing I found on the market that looked like it could withstand a dog while protecting and keeping comfortable a cat. Anyhow, the tension design is going to make these difficult. I still think I can make it work, but it's not a very flexible product so you better measure carefully and make sure you know EXACTLY where you'll want to put it before you buy. Quite frankly I don't understand why the designers haven't upped the range of space it can span either, because now that I've seen the way the "feet" at each corner work, it would have been really easy to put longer feet in and give customers more versatility and/or the option to use it in more than one place in their house. I guess if I could find the right size screws I could arrange for that myself although to be fair the gate would probably stand less fortresslike than it will with the wooden blocks I plan to nail to my walls tomorrow.
Date published: 2014-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pet gates The gates are lovely, but wouldn't work for my 65 pound Golden Retrievers. Too bad for me!
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gate with people & small pet door solved problem We use it to limit access to a second story loft after one of our cats fell from the second story. Now they can only go up when supervised. Previously we were using a shorter baby gate and cardboard, which looked hideous! The cardboard was necessary because the cats could climb the baby gate grid. They cannot do that with the mesh screen of the Frontgate pet gate. It is so much easier for "people" get upstairs now, without having to remove the baby gate and the cardboard.
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 42in expandable gate
Date published: 2013-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The gate does what it's supposed to do It's sturdy, tall and good looking. The tension adjustments took a while to get the door to close properly. I wish they would make this in a version that mounts to the wall instead of the tension mount. Even with the tension as tight as possible, the weight of the door (it's spring loaded) swinging shut will move the mounts enough to mar the paint on the wall.
Date published: 2013-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Look More convenient to walk thru the door rather than step over the child gates we had previously. Have larger dogs (65lbs) and smaller dogs (10-15lbs) and thought the small door would be good feature. Hoped to let little dogs have escape hatch from bigger dogs but found our 65lb and 45lb could manage to worm their way through. Although not working out exactly as planned we still plan on purchasing another similar gate or two.
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful gate I purchased this gate to keep cats (and unsupervised dogs) out of the carpeted rooms of my home. Other gates that I have purchased were made of aluminum bars and the cats were able to go right through them. I choose this particular gate because of the metal mesh which is much more functional and attractive than the "jail cell" looking gates. The only problem I encountered is that my door frame required that I install the gate at it's widest adjustment which left a gap, between the outer most bar and the door frame, wide enough for a normal size cat to get through. Also, at the very widest adjustment, the gate did not feel secure enough to withstand my 3, 135 lb., Tibetan Mastiffs should they decide to push against it. I have custom made doors and trim that are not standard, so I knew that I would probably need to make some modifications to install the gate properly. In order to reduce the gap and get a more secure fit, I cut a piece of wood, the height of the gate, for each side of the door frame. The pressure from the installed gate holds the wood securely in place so it wasn't necessary to permantly alter the door frame. Since the wood inserts are stained to match the other trim, they don't detract from the appearance of the gate or the door. Installed in this manner, the gate is very functional, sturdy and attractive. I did worry that the cats would use the mesh to climb over the gate but that hasn't been a problem so I have since purchased a second gate. I would give this item 5 stars except that I feel that there should be more side bars spaced be closer together. I've yet to see any pet gate that is designed specifically to keep cats out but this one works better than anything else I've tried. Overall, it is the nicest gate I've seen and I am very pleased with the two I have purchased.
Date published: 2013-09-03
  • y_2017, m_2, d_24, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_148
  • loc_, sid_46128, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

Are the bars on the side panels on this dual door gate closer together than the gate with no dual door? I have very small yorkies.

I dont have cats so dont need dual door but afraid my yorkies could squeeze thru on the other gate. Hard to tell from pictures but dont want to spend extra money if i dont have to
Asked by: chibearfan
Well, our new kitten was able to zip through the sides very easily, after we applied it to our 36"-wide doorway. If there was a way to close that gap, we would not have returned it.
Answered by: justawful
Date published: 2016-10-01

Is the mesh steel? Can cat jump over the gate?

Is the mesh made of steel? Our cats are jerks and will destroy any mesh within an hour. Also can cats jump over this gate? Has anyone experienced this? Thanks!
Asked by: Racheljcs
This is a thicker mesh, not like a window screen. Yes, a very athletic cat could jump over it. One of our carts jumped from an end table over it.
Answered by: JAScat
Date published: 2016-12-03

Is there a way to secure the small cat door so that it remains open?

Or can the small door be left off completely when assembling?
Asked by: Jakeblues
I do not think that the cat door could be removed without cutting through its hinges using heavy duty power tool as is arrives fully assembled and the hinges of the cat are soldiered together. Removing the cat gate in this fashion would leave sharp edges where the hinges were cut. This would leave the potential for severe (even fatal) injuries to your cat or dog (henceforth referee to as a "cat gate" as I am using the smaller gate for my cat). It may be possible that an iron file would be capable of sanding the sharp edges down. Doing so would invariably leave markings on the area. I expect that this would also be very time consuming and would be difficult to do. We opted to keep the cat door open rather than attempt to remove it.When we installed the gate in our doorframe, we found that that the cat gate would swing partially closed when we opened and close the gate as well as after our tiny (5 lb) cat would walk through it per her tail bumping into the frame of the cat door. The cat door would only close partially such that there was only an inch or two between the two doors. Granted, our cat is older so I believe that the smaller opening confused her, it also made it impossible for her to run though it quickly when our 7momthold (50lb) Goldendoodle would chase her. If you do not have a dog that would be chasing your cat and he or she can be taught to bat the smaller opening enough to go through the cat gate thsi may not be an issue for you. However, if you goal is to keep the cat gate fully open then the partial closure would be a problem as is was for us. To remedy this issue, we placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie. When this occurred, our cat would just stand outside the door as if it were fully closed rather than paw it open. . To remedy the partial door closure issue and keep the cat door completely open, we placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie was appropri We placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie. That said., I would caution you not to over tighten the ziptie on the off chance (unlikely as the gate is quite sturdy) that it would mar the gate itself. This gate is fantastic despite the tiny bit of time it takes to secure the smaller gate in a fully open position. In fact, I had returned to this page to buy a second gate. Off to do so now! I hope that helps!
Answered by: LexiTwist
Date published: 2017-02-10

Can a cat climb the mesh portion.

I am wanting to keep my cat from going upstairs. He needs a really tall gate and he will climb screen doors so I didn't know if the would be a suitable option.
Asked by: saskuya
Yes!! My cats LOVE it to get away from the puppy's rambunctiousness. It's very tall and has a little door to keep the cats in or out.
Answered by: JAScat
Date published: 2016-12-03

Does the door swing both ways? How does it latch?

Asked by: 5BigDogs
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Answered by: Parker
Date published: 2015-07-25
  • y_2017, m_2, d_24, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_49
  • loc_, sid_46128, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]