Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Outdoor LivingHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 28 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful & Sturdy I would have given 5 stars, but the items came in 3 shipments (leaving me worried I didn't have all the parts) and the magnet that holds to door on was broken. Other than that, it looks really great and is so sturdy I don't think it will blink if a hurricane comes through. I heartily recommend. September 19, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful mailbox I wanted to review this mailbox so hopefully some improvements could be made. First - the mailbox itself is beautiful and sturdy and I love it. Worth the small headache to get it up. You have to have some tools to install it yourself - you have to dig a hole 30" deep. You also have to purchase a wood post the put in the ground and adhere the mailbox to. The post length is not standard so my husband had to cut it at home. Not a big deal, but you will need a large saw. Also, the screw used to adhere the monogram letter to the door wouldn't work, and they have to send us a new one, which also didn't work. We ended up finding one at the hardware store. Not a deal breaker - just annoying. I'm sure if you hire a handyman to do it - he will have all the proper tools. July 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Mailbox! This mailbox is absolutely gorgeous. After three years, it still looks great. I haven't had problems with the paint chipping or peeling, but I live in an arid climate where only the summer heat is an issue. The installation wasn't easy because of poorly spaced screw holes which required new ones to be drilled. Also, the initial plate on the door cannot be tightened completely for a similar reason. The installation was done by my handyman...if it was me, I would have returned the thing out of frustration. Other than that, the craftsmanship seems good. The door opens and closes smoothly and the magnetic closure is very nice. The size of the box is perfect for small packages. I would definitely purchase this again. January 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Classy Mailbox Really nice mailbox. There may a better one out there but I couldn't find it. We live in Florida and the Outgoing Signal Flag is made of plastic and I fear subject to premature demise as our sun destroys plastic,. but hopefully they sell a replacement flags. July 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just what I was looking for! Can't yet comment on the long-term longevity of this mailbox but it's clearly the most striking box in my upscale neighborhood. However, I would anticipate the cast aluminum construction with powdercoat finish will prove to be durable as long as it's not scratched during assembly. For sure, it's not going to rust. Make no mistake though, this is a large box...be sure you pay close attention to the measurements listed in the description. It's not an issue where I live because the lots are 3 - 3½ acres in a hilly subdivision so a large box doesn't look odd in the vicinity of more 'normal' sized boxes. But it would overwhelm smaller boxes if the mailboxes were closer together. As far as putting the side plaques on the box, I'd recommend drilling the holes with a 13/64" drill bit rather than the 3/16" specified in the instructions so the threads on the threaded studs aren't damaged when tapping them through the holes you drill in the sides of the mailbox. The included silicone sealer will prevent any moisture from getting into the box even with the slightly oversize holes. Believe me, drilling slightly oversized holes will lead to a lot less profanity when trying to get those side plaques on. ;-) The slight indentations (drill hole marks) were properly located in the mailbox but the tapped holes in the plaques weren't perfectly vertical; thus, the studs weren't exactly 90° to the plaques when installed. That caused a slight problem when installing the plaques on the box but the oversized drill holes accommodated the complication. Other than that, the install was uneventful for anyone with the usual complement of home tools. November 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Super Looking Mailbox I have waited until this was installed for a couple months before writing a review...so far, Its held up very well and definately is awesome looking. Only reason I did not give 5 star is due to assembly. Alot of the pre existing holes were mislocated or to small so they all had to be drilled out again. You can get it assembled in an hour or so, but its kind of a pain in the butt and should be easier than this. Lets hope it holds up well as time goes by. The large size of this mailbox holds even fairly large packages also and the magnetic closure works great. So far, so good. July 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Was Expecting More The mailbox is nice overall but I thought that I was getting the mailbox, post and base. I interpreted the description as this being a set. Upon receiving only the mailbox I reviewed the item description and while it does have the 3 items described under the mailbox it has additional item numbers for the post and base. I now have to order and wait for the additional items along with more expenditure. I wish this was made clearer. March 16, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could be better for the price! I purchased this mailbox Sept 2012. I love the size and the look of it. The material is also good. Unfortunately, the paint job did not last anymore than 25 months from installation. The paint starts chipping off. I am trying to figure out how to salvage it. It may require a complete paint job to make it look decent again. I figured for the high price it would have lasted longer than 2 years. Too bad....... May 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The best looking in the community gate Really is the best looking mailbox, I received a lot of compliments... but I don't know what's happened that in less that a year start to peel. I sent a message with photos and Frontage answer the next day, I have to order a new one, pay for it, but they will credit me, once they pick up the boxes. So, I have to say that the customer service is great. September 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by BEAUTIFUL MAILBOX WITH BIG MALFUNCTION This has got to be the most beautiful mailbox I have ever seen. It catches the eye of everyone passing by it. It was the most difficult thing my husband has ever tried to assemble. Hole were not were they should have been, screws were not long enough. My husband is STILL complaining. September 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by mailbox peeling My mail box is peeling as well. It looked so great when it was new, but I am very disappointed about how poorly it has aged. For that much money, I expected more longevity. Has any one tried to repaint it or touch it up? DMF Cons: Quality, Durability, Appearance, poor value September 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by mailbox disappointment My mail box is peeling too (as are others in our neighborhood). It looked so great when it was new, but I am so disappointed about how poorly it aged. For that much money, I expected more longevity. Has any one tried to repaint it or touch it up? K P. So Cal May 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful Mailbox But Not Perfect While this is a beautiful mailbox it is not without problems from a assembly standpoint. The hardware provided does not thread easily. if you get the post cover insure that the post you purchase to put in the ground is VERY straight. I thought my post was straight however I still had to hammer the post over down around the post. Also I am not sure what kind of hand configuration you need to get all 3 screws in the component that the mailbox sits on connected to the post. The drill points for attaching the side plates with the address were very difficult to see and it took several iterations to get hols that lined up with the attachment screws. Even the locations where the screws attach to secure the mailbox to the support were poorly machined and were difficult to attach. As I said Beautiful mailbox assembly took WAY longer than expected. September 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Paint Chips This mailbox is functional and sturd, and is very stylish.. However... It started to chip immediately. Now, three short years later, half the paint has chipped off. Do. Not. Buy. I will replace it with a cheaper one. Not worth the money at all. September 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Powder coating blisters and peels I purchased my mailbox a little over two years ago. I ordered the monogram and address plate to go on the mailbox. Very difficult to assemble. The screws did not line up ended up using Gorilla glue to mount these plates to the mailbox. After last winter the powder coating began to blister and peel it does not hold up to road salts. For the price I am not happy that it did not last for more than two years. November 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Purchase My mailbox is also peeling, I called to get touch up paint but I feel you should not have to see it peel after a year! February 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Balmoral mailbox It was a fine looking mailbox when it arrived, but it started pealing after a year. Then last year the flag broke off. Now a couple of months ago the door came off. I love Frontgate, but this is not their normal quality. December 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beautiful Mailbox - INFERIOR Quality We purchased this mailbox last November after much research. I actually called the manufacturer before purchasing because I found multiple reviews mentioning issues with the powdercoat flaking or pealing. The woman I spoke with at Whitehall assured me the powdercoat issues as well as the issues with the latch breaking had been addressed. Guess what? My husband told me today the powdercoat is flaking. We will be calling Whitehall tomorrow. I am soooooo disappointed. August 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst purchase we purchased this mailbox 6+ years ago. The coating on the exterior on BOTH sides is peeling off. They say lifetime warranty but not for this. If I would have know I needed to replace my box every few years I would have purchased a cheapie. You don't expect this from Frontgate. What a disappointment!!! July 23, 2013
  • 2016-10-30 T05:28:19.068-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_28, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_78842, prod, sort_default
<<prev2
(11 Questions : 15 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Balmoral Mailbox
 
0 answers
I am interested in the Black Malmoral Mailbox. Just wondering if I could get the trim in silver rather then the gold
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Gronk is loaded.
Additional information about Gronk could not be loaded.
1 day ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Gronk is loaded.
Additional information about Gronk could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Balmoral Mailbox
 
2 answers
1. is there a paper holder for this setup?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cdmoran is loaded.
Additional information about cdmoran could not be loaded.
2. How does post install-over a 4x4 or is it standalone?
4 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cdmoran is loaded.
Additional information about cdmoran could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Balmoral Mailbox. This item does not have a paper holder option; it is designed to be installed over a 4x4.
4 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
The post slips right into the bronze post cover. Very easy to do!
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 month, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about BellaStella is loaded.
Additional information about BellaStella could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Balmoral Mailbox
 
2 answers
What is the weight of the Balmoral Mailbox?
Customer avatar
by
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about drcolemn is loaded.
Additional information about drcolemn could not be loaded.
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about drcolemn is loaded.
Additional information about drcolemn could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for you interest in the Balmoral Mailbox. As listed in the dimensions, this item is 16 lbs.
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
All of the elements including the mailbox itself, the hollow post, the finial (top) and the optional base are about 20 pounds since it is made from cast aluminum, not steel. It should withstand a few whacks from a baseball bat, but not an all-out assault from a crazed teenager. The strength of installation itself is based upon the 4x4 post primarily, and not the aluminum over-post.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 month, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
United States
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JFL1 is loaded.
Additional information about JFL1 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Balmoral Mailbox
 
1 answer
Use of Balmoral Post with Capitol Mailbox
Customer avatar
by
CT
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lisad2 is loaded.
Additional information about lisad2 could not be loaded.
Can the Balmoral Post be used with the Capitol mailbox?
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
CT
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lisad2 is loaded.
Additional information about lisad2 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Yes, the Balmoral post features a flat surface that the mailbox sits on, so you can put the Capitol on the post.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Balmoral Mailbox
 
1 answer
are replacement parts available?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EmilyL is loaded.
Additional information about EmilyL could not be loaded.
Are replacement parts available? Specifically for replacing the flag if it would be become damaged. Is the flag plastic?
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about EmilyL is loaded.
Additional information about EmilyL could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Balmoral Mailbox. Please call us at 1-800-537-8484 with the order number and/or purchaser's name and billing zip code so we can assist you with replacement parts.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
  • 2016-10-30 T05:27:13.788-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_78842, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:78842-Balmoral Mailbox
The Frontgate Credit CardNow Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]