Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

Balmoral Mailbox

Outdoor LivingHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Balmoral Mailbox is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 34.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Balmoral Mailbox This mailbox is high is a high quality product. Very sturdy and well made.
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mailbox This is our second Balmoral Mailbox, the first was dented and marked by someone with a very aggressive bat!! It looks lovely at the end of the drive. Having the house number helps visitors find us easily and it is big enough to take small parcels. Hopefully I will not have to replace it but if necessary I would buy another Balmoral mailbox.
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit our needs perfectly the mailbox was large, with solid construction, very visible numbers, etc.
Date published: 2013-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful mailbox. After reading the first two reviews, I am pleased to say that the "hole location" issues have been resolved and my installation went quite smoothly. The mail box is very well made. My only complaint is that when it shipped to me, the address plaques were missing. Front gate was very quick to resolve this oversight.
Date published: 2012-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful & Sturdy I would have given 5 stars, but the items came in 3 shipments (leaving me worried I didn't have all the parts) and the magnet that holds to door on was broken. Other than that, it looks really great and is so sturdy I don't think it will blink if a hurricane comes through. I heartily recommend.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful mailbox I wanted to review this mailbox so hopefully some improvements could be made. First - the mailbox itself is beautiful and sturdy and I love it. Worth the small headache to get it up. You have to have some tools to install it yourself - you have to dig a hole 30" deep. You also have to purchase a wood post the put in the ground and adhere the mailbox to. The post length is not standard so my husband had to cut it at home. Not a big deal, but you will need a large saw. Also, the screw used to adhere the monogram letter to the door wouldn't work, and they have to send us a new one, which also didn't work. We ended up finding one at the hardware store. Not a deal breaker - just annoying. I'm sure if you hire a handyman to do it - he will have all the proper tools.
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Mailbox! This mailbox is absolutely gorgeous. After three years, it still looks great. I haven't had problems with the paint chipping or peeling, but I live in an arid climate where only the summer heat is an issue. The installation wasn't easy because of poorly spaced screw holes which required new ones to be drilled. Also, the initial plate on the door cannot be tightened completely for a similar reason. The installation was done by my handyman...if it was me, I would have returned the thing out of frustration. Other than that, the craftsmanship seems good. The door opens and closes smoothly and the magnetic closure is very nice. The size of the box is perfect for small packages. I would definitely purchase this again.
Date published: 2015-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Classy Mailbox Really nice mailbox. There may a better one out there but I couldn't find it. We live in Florida and the Outgoing Signal Flag is made of plastic and I fear subject to premature demise as our sun destroys plastic,. but hopefully they sell a replacement flags.
Date published: 2013-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for! Can't yet comment on the long-term longevity of this mailbox but it's clearly the most striking box in my upscale neighborhood. However, I would anticipate the cast aluminum construction with powdercoat finish will prove to be durable as long as it's not scratched during assembly. For sure, it's not going to rust. Make no mistake though, this is a large box...be sure you pay close attention to the measurements listed in the description. It's not an issue where I live because the lots are 3 - 3½ acres in a hilly subdivision so a large box doesn't look odd in the vicinity of more 'normal' sized boxes. But it would overwhelm smaller boxes if the mailboxes were closer together. As far as putting the side plaques on the box, I'd recommend drilling the holes with a 13/64" drill bit rather than the 3/16" specified in the instructions so the threads on the threaded studs aren't damaged when tapping them through the holes you drill in the sides of the mailbox. The included silicone sealer will prevent any moisture from getting into the box even with the slightly oversize holes. Believe me, drilling slightly oversized holes will lead to a lot less profanity when trying to get those side plaques on. ;-) The slight indentations (drill hole marks) were properly located in the mailbox but the tapped holes in the plaques weren't perfectly vertical; thus, the studs weren't exactly 90° to the plaques when installed. That caused a slight problem when installing the plaques on the box but the oversized drill holes accommodated the complication. Other than that, the install was uneventful for anyone with the usual complement of home tools.
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super Looking Mailbox I have waited until this was installed for a couple months before writing a review...so far, Its held up very well and definately is awesome looking. Only reason I did not give 5 star is due to assembly. Alot of the pre existing holes were mislocated or to small so they all had to be drilled out again. You can get it assembled in an hour or so, but its kind of a pain in the butt and should be easier than this. Lets hope it holds up well as time goes by. The large size of this mailbox holds even fairly large packages also and the magnetic closure works great. So far, so good.
Date published: 2012-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I hired a professional to install the mailbox. The holes are powder coated so it was extremely difficult to get the screws into the 'arm' the the mailbox sits on. 1 screw had to be left off because it just wouldn't go in. Also, after installation when you open the mailbox it shakes back and forth. Somehow the actual mailbox needs to be connected to the post to stabilize it. For the money that I paid I'm very disappointed. Looks great but doesn't function great.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Was Expecting More The mailbox is nice overall but I thought that I was getting the mailbox, post and base. I interpreted the description as this being a set. Upon receiving only the mailbox I reviewed the item description and while it does have the 3 items described under the mailbox it has additional item numbers for the post and base. I now have to order and wait for the additional items along with more expenditure. I wish this was made clearer.
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better for the price! I purchased this mailbox Sept 2012. I love the size and the look of it. The material is also good. Unfortunately, the paint job did not last anymore than 25 months from installation. The paint starts chipping off. I am trying to figure out how to salvage it. It may require a complete paint job to make it look decent again. I figured for the high price it would have lasted longer than 2 years. Too bad.......
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The best looking in the community gate Really is the best looking mailbox, I received a lot of compliments... but I don't know what's happened that in less that a year start to peel. I sent a message with photos and Frontage answer the next day, I have to order a new one, pay for it, but they will credit me, once they pick up the boxes. So, I have to say that the customer service is great.
Date published: 2013-09-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from BEAUTIFUL MAILBOX WITH BIG MALFUNCTION This has got to be the most beautiful mailbox I have ever seen. It catches the eye of everyone passing by it. It was the most difficult thing my husband has ever tried to assemble. Hole were not were they should have been, screws were not long enough. My husband is STILL complaining.
Date published: 2012-09-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from mailbox peeling My mail box is peeling as well. It looked so great when it was new, but I am very disappointed about how poorly it has aged. For that much money, I expected more longevity. Has any one tried to repaint it or touch it up? DMF Cons: Quality, Durability, Appearance, poor value
Date published: 2014-09-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from mailbox disappointment My mail box is peeling too (as are others in our neighborhood). It looked so great when it was new, but I am so disappointed about how poorly it aged. For that much money, I expected more longevity. Has any one tried to repaint it or touch it up? K P. So Cal
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beautiful Mailbox But Not Perfect While this is a beautiful mailbox it is not without problems from a assembly standpoint. The hardware provided does not thread easily. if you get the post cover insure that the post you purchase to put in the ground is VERY straight. I thought my post was straight however I still had to hammer the post over down around the post. Also I am not sure what kind of hand configuration you need to get all 3 screws in the component that the mailbox sits on connected to the post. The drill points for attaching the side plates with the address were very difficult to see and it took several iterations to get hols that lined up with the attachment screws. Even the locations where the screws attach to secure the mailbox to the support were poorly machined and were difficult to attach. As I said Beautiful mailbox assembly took WAY longer than expected.
Date published: 2013-09-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice looking but ........ This mailbox is pretty and appears to be well made but the gold paint used for the address and number is not visible on the white mailbox. It is not even reflective and still cannot be seen when you are close up to the box. In the night is cannot be seen. A big disappointment!!! Now have to pay twice to have the number and address plate repainted to a visible color!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Expected a longer life We have also had the coating bubble up and peel off after about 6 years. Definitely expected a longer lifespan after having paid so much for this mailbox. It is so classy when it is new. We are so disappointed and would also like to know if anyone has had any luck with painting it and if so, what product you have used. Only buy this if you can afford to replace it!
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Paint Chips This mailbox is functional and sturd, and is very stylish.. However... It started to chip immediately. Now, three short years later, half the paint has chipped off. Do. Not. Buy. I will replace it with a cheaper one. Not worth the money at all.
Date published: 2015-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Powder coating blisters and peels I purchased my mailbox a little over two years ago. I ordered the monogram and address plate to go on the mailbox. Very difficult to assemble. The screws did not line up ended up using Gorilla glue to mount these plates to the mailbox. After last winter the powder coating began to blister and peel it does not hold up to road salts. For the price I am not happy that it did not last for more than two years.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Purchase My mailbox is also peeling, I called to get touch up paint but I feel you should not have to see it peel after a year!
Date published: 2014-02-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Balmoral mailbox It was a fine looking mailbox when it arrived, but it started pealing after a year. Then last year the flag broke off. Now a couple of months ago the door came off. I love Frontgate, but this is not their normal quality.
Date published: 2013-12-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beautiful Mailbox - INFERIOR Quality We purchased this mailbox last November after much research. I actually called the manufacturer before purchasing because I found multiple reviews mentioning issues with the powdercoat flaking or pealing. The woman I spoke with at Whitehall assured me the powdercoat issues as well as the issues with the latch breaking had been addressed. Guess what? My husband told me today the powdercoat is flaking. We will be calling Whitehall tomorrow. I am soooooo disappointed.
Date published: 2013-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst purchase we purchased this mailbox 6+ years ago. The coating on the exterior on BOTH sides is peeling off. They say lifetime warranty but not for this. If I would have know I needed to replace my box every few years I would have purchased a cheapie. You don't expect this from Frontgate. What a disappointment!!!
Date published: 2013-07-23
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_33
  • loc_, sid_78842, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

1. is there a paper holder for this setup?

2. How does post install-over a 4x4 or is it standalone?
Asked by: cdmoran
The post slides over a 4 x 4 wooden post that you secure in the ground. Attachment of the metal post to the wood is via 2 lag screws at the bottom of the metal post.
Answered by: MattDTampa
Date published: 2017-02-02

Is there a newspaper holder that fits below this mailbox?

Also, does it fit on a normal sized post, such as the Capitol mailbox? Thank you
Asked by: donnaandjeff
There is no newspaper holder and since the box is so big, you do not need one. It is big enough to hold small packages.
Answered by: Gwen
Date published: 2017-01-27

What is the weight of the Balmoral Mailbox?

Asked by: drcolemn
All of the elements including the mailbox itself, the hollow post, the finial (top) and the optional base are about 20 pounds since it is made from cast aluminum, not steel. It should withstand a few whacks from a baseball bat, but not an all-out assault from a crazed teenager. The strength of installation itself is based upon the 4x4 post primarily, and not the aluminum over-post.
Answered by: JFL1
Date published: 2016-11-19

Does it get better reviews than the Capitol mail box?

Asked by: curious
I have read the reviews and having owned this one before we brought the Balmoral, I can tell you the negative ones are correct. The installation instructions for this one were so bad, I did it my own way. Lucky I did. This mail was hit 3 times and it was the 3rd hit that broke the brackets.
Answered by: Gwen
Date published: 2013-10-21

Is the post hollow, as I need it to fit over an existing steel pole that is 2" by 2"

Asked by: mememe
You MUST have a 4x4 treated lumber post. That post must either be mounted to a special post mounting spike (HD or Lowes) or must be set into the ground more than 30-36 inches. A wheelbarrow full of quickcrete will also work, but beware that if you set the post in concrete that water will wick down into the hole and begin to rot the post eventually, so filing the space above the cement level with marble rocks or something than can drain and evaporate is a good idea for rainy or wet climates.
Answered by: JFL1
Date published: 2016-11-19
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_13CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_12
  • loc_, sid_78842, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:78842-Balmoral Mailbox

Balmoral Mailbox

Balmoral Deluxe Post

Balmoral Plant Hook

Balmoral Decorative Base

Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]