Top_Nav_v2_Font
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Outdoor LivingHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 65.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox Excellent quality and relatively easy to assemble. Two observations though. The holes for the side and front plates do not line up and need to be drilled much larger than specified in the instructions to make them fit. Also, after applying liberal amouts of silicon to seal all the openings, there remains a large hole (for the centre-mounting option) in the bottom of the box! This needs a separate plug (not supplied).
Date published: 2013-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Capital Monogrammed Mailbox Purchased the mailbox, post, and newsletter slot in the bronze tone. The system is easy to install and adds instant curb appeal. The door is nicely weighted and clasps shut keeping rain and snow out of the box even in stormy conditions. We have a number of bronze sculptures installed throughout our property and wanted a mailbox that did not pull attention away from our artwork, and enhanced our landscape. After looking for a number of years we found this bronze Capital Monogrammed Mailbox. We feel it has definitely helped us achieve our goal.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks very good Really haven't had long enough to rate quality of item, but it looks great
Date published: 2013-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mail n Style Beautiful quality mailbox. Makes you feel good about sending snail mail! Just the added elegance Ithat was needed for the total house renovation. Completely satisfied!
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from bespeaks class Loved the mailbox except it was shorter than i would have liked. would heartily recommend this product which lends an elegant finishing touch to my frontage.
Date published: 2011-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fundamentally Sound With Issues The mailbox and its accessories looked great coming out of the box. Installation was not a major issue, but if you're not handy you will need a professional to do the installation. I discovered the only major con after the mailbox was installed. Looking at the mailbox from the front, the left side rear had a minor crease in the metal. Not a deal killer, but enough to make me wish I had completed a complete inspeciton of the product before I performed the install.
Date published: 2011-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mailbox Post Decorative Base The mailbox post decorative base adds a lot to the look of this mailbox, but if you live in a neighborhood where people do not curb their dogs, all of the paint peels off the base to leave an aluminum metal underneath that sticks out like a sore thumb and definitely will require repainting. This happened in less than one year. The rest of the mailbox is still in great shape despite a hard winter.
Date published: 2011-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality product
Date published: 2011-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful mailbox I was surprised when I received the mailbox at its size. This is a very BIG mailbox. I guess I didn't pay attention to the dimensions. The mailman will not have to worry about space, that's for sure! I was also surprised that the plates that were personalized were not already attached to the mailbox. I would have preferred that already be done. Just one more thing on the Honey-Do list that doesn't seem to get done!
Date published: 2011-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Corrosion does not hold up well against the Florida salt air and sun. Significant corrosion and fading after only one year. Too expensive to be replacing annually
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Durability an issue About to order my 3rd mailbox. They just do not weather very well in the Northeast. Paint chips off and rusts.
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from mailbox I love the mailbox. I've always wanted one. I was surprised to find that I had to assemble the address and monogram plates to the box. I certainly did not like the fact that I had to drill holes in the mailbox. For the price, I would have expected the product to come fully assembled.
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Replacement base - paint peeled off original This was a replacement base - the paint peeled off in big chunks after just over a year (when the warranty ran out). The mailbox & the post are fine. I would hope this new one will last but I doubt it...
Date published: 2013-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tough Mailbox installation This is a great looking sturdy product but not a mailbox the average homeowner can install by themselves. NONE of the pre drilled holes matched up and they all had to be re drilled to make them fit. Certainly not an easy task and requires proper drill bits and an electric drill. A wooden post has to also be purchased and concrete has to be mixed and poured around to keep stable. After several hours we finally finished. Looks great but make sure you have help to install.
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox We had our first Capitol Monogrammed mailbox for less than year before the exterior coating started to chip off. I contacted Frontgate and after some jumping through hoops was able to have it replaced with a new one. We have had our 2nd mailbox for about 10 years now. The coating has held up good but now the front door has broken off. I am very disappointed in the product. It was very expensive to begin with and should hold up better in my opinion. I could have purchased 20 cheap mailboxes for the price of this one.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mail box Waited years to find the right mailbox. Found this one & had to save money for it as it was very expensive for me. So pleased when I finally had it in place. It did well for several years. Then the finish began to peel off. So disappointed as it had been so expensive. Saved money again & decided to give it another try. I live in central NY so maybe the harsh winters had something to do with it. If that were the case, it should have been addressed in catalogue description. It is now in place & it is beautiful. Hope it last longer than the first one.
Date published: 2015-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It lasted total of 3 years It was gorgeous for the 1st year but the second year the paint literally lifted off in huge flakes. The 3rd year the hinged door broke and now we have to replace it because the piece that broke was plastic. If the door had not broken I would have taken the time to repaint it but now I'm going to replace it with a less expensive version from the local DIY store. Granted we live in S. FL but I never expected it to last less than 5 years.
Date published: 2011-05-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Took way to long! Nice product, but took over a month to get it.
Date published: 2015-07-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not made for winter weather After having this beautiful mailbox up for one winter in the Midwest, the paint is all blistered!! I can't imagine what it will look like after a 2nd winter!! If you live in an area where you get snow and they salt the roads, reconsider this mailbox!! It was beautiful before it was put up!
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Poor Quality We bought this mailbox a couple of years ago (not cheap by the way). Although it does look great, the door hinge broke. We can't get it fixed and will have to buy another mailbox. Think twice before you invest in this one. Not good quality and not what we expected from Frontgate.
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DID NOT LAST I have never before in all of my many internet purchases felt strongly enough to write a review. But this mailbox was such a dissapontment. The paint peeled and the pin holding the door fell out. Do not waste your money!
Date published: 2013-07-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money - this mailbox does not last My husband and I have been Frontgate customers for many years. ALL the products we've purchased, EXCEPT the Capitol Mongrammed Mailbox, have been of quality craftsmanship. We are extremely disappointed in this mailbox; for the price, I expected it to last for years. For the first three years, I loved the mailbox, yet it's now a costly eyesore because the finish became dull and blistered after three years. We live in a moderate, MW climate, and I expected this mailbox to last much longer.
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed! I've ordered 5 of these mailboxes over the last few years. None of them have held up well. Three went to my children. One door fell off almost immediately. My son in law removed the initial plaque on the front and fixed the door himself. The other two had the finish peel off in less than a year. The one I ordered for myself had the door fall off which I returned for repair. Then the finish started to peel off. We built a brick column around it finally thinking thhat would solve the problem. Then the door fell of again. The ONlY reason I ordered the same box again is because We needed a box that would fit the hole we have for it in the brick column. That's why we did not add any personalization. The plaque on front is just too heavy for the door.
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Initially proud, now embarrassed My wife and I have been Frontgate customers since 1995. We have purchased numerous products for our homes and have come to associate Frontgate with uncompromising quality. We purchased the Capitol Mono Mailbox in 2007. We were really impressed. This mailbox stood out in our neighborhood and really complimented our home. After the 2nd winter, we began to notice the paint was flaking along the center top ridge. The flaking began around the unused screws used to mount the mailbox topper. Years three and four this became more pronounced and began to spread to the corners. Unfortunately, the mailbox is an eyesore and an embarrassment today. We purchased another today, but before it is installed we will take it to a local paint shop to have it clear coated. Frontgate, you should check in to the quality control of your supplier. A quick clear coat at the factory could solve these problems. As you loyal customers we LOVED this product. We still do, but painting our mailbox every two years is not how we define hassle free. Brian St. Joseph, MO PS As soon as the new mailbox comes back from the paint booth, I will return the old mailbox to you, so that you can use it as an example to the manufacturer.
Date published: 2013-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mailbox does not last This mailbox is beautiful and sturdy when first received but do not expect it to last. We too have been the envy of the neighborhood, but in 4 years we are on our second box. The door broke after three years (would not stay shut). Now the paint is falling of the replacement we received a year ago. Terrible quality! Don't be deceived!
Date published: 2013-01-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Purchase Ever from Frontgate This mail box was absolutely beautiful when I received it. After four years the paint has a dull sheen, but that really does not bother me. What has me distressed is the fact that the left side of the door is broken and I cannot seem to repair it. There is a round plastic piece and metal round bar that secures the door and it always falls out and the door hangs to one side when it is opened. I purchased the mailbox, post, newspaper holder, and name plate; very expensive and too much money to pay for a defective box. I am very disappointed with this purchase and I have made many from Frontgate.
Date published: 2011-06-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not last After only one year and one winter - the mailbox is rusting and the paint is peeling I would not get this, unless you like painting each year
Date published: 2011-05-03
  • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_62
  • loc_, sid_14802, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

Does the post fit over an existing post?

Does this post go over an existing 4 x 6 or 4 x 4, or does a new hole need to be dug?
Asked by: helen88
Fits over standard 4x4 pole
Answered by: g0803
Date published: 2016-10-22

I am thing about replacing my mailbox only as I bought the entire set years ago. Has the color changed?

Asked by: pfurtney
I have a white one on ours the paint has peeled off and it does get mildew on which we do clean off with 50/50 bleach and water. Hope this helps. We are on our third mailbox the door keeps falling off our first one was back in 2006 then in 2008 and now in 2016.
Answered by: Denise1179
Date published: 2016-10-22

Does the mailbox post need to be cemented into the ground?

Asked by: Owens
yes
Answered by: JeffCicora
Date published: 2017-01-01

Can you get just a replacement letter for your mailbox?

Asked by: Felex
Thank you for your interest in the Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox. We are able to order replacement door and side plaques. Please contact our Product Specialists at 800 537 8484.
Answered by: MZFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-21

Can we get new address plates

we moved and loved the mailbox so much we took it with us, but now need the address plates for each side. Can we order new ones?
Asked by: Barblorene
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. Yes, you can purchase new address plaques for the sides of the mailbox. Please call our Product Specialists at 800-537-8484 to order.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2015-12-05
  • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_8CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_18
  • loc_, sid_14802, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:14802-Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]