Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Outdoor LivingHome
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 61 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mail n Style Beautiful quality mailbox. Makes you feel good about sending snail mail! Just the added elegance Ithat was needed for the total house renovation. Completely satisfied! April 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by bespeaks class Loved the mailbox except it was shorter than i would have liked. would heartily recommend this product which lends an elegant finishing touch to my frontage. September 9, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fundamentally Sound With Issues The mailbox and its accessories looked great coming out of the box. Installation was not a major issue, but if you're not handy you will need a professional to do the installation. I discovered the only major con after the mailbox was installed. Looking at the mailbox from the front, the left side rear had a minor crease in the metal. Not a deal killer, but enough to make me wish I had completed a complete inspeciton of the product before I performed the install. September 6, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mailbox Post Decorative Base The mailbox post decorative base adds a lot to the look of this mailbox, but if you live in a neighborhood where people do not curb their dogs, all of the paint peels off the base to leave an aluminum metal underneath that sticks out like a sore thumb and definitely will require repainting. This happened in less than one year. The rest of the mailbox is still in great shape despite a hard winter. May 9, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful mailbox I was surprised when I received the mailbox at its size. This is a very BIG mailbox. I guess I didn't pay attention to the dimensions. The mailman will not have to worry about space, that's for sure! I was also surprised that the plates that were personalized were not already attached to the mailbox. I would have preferred that already be done. Just one more thing on the Honey-Do list that doesn't seem to get done! March 9, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Corrosion does not hold up well against the Florida salt air and sun. Significant corrosion and fading after only one year. Too expensive to be replacing annually February 2, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Durability an issue About to order my 3rd mailbox. They just do not weather very well in the Northeast. Paint chips off and rusts. June 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by mailbox I love the mailbox. I've always wanted one. I was surprised to find that I had to assemble the address and monogram plates to the box. I certainly did not like the fact that I had to drill holes in the mailbox. For the price, I would have expected the product to come fully assembled. December 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Replacement base - paint peeled off original This was a replacement base - the paint peeled off in big chunks after just over a year (when the warranty ran out). The mailbox & the post are fine. I would hope this new one will last but I doubt it... June 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tough Mailbox installation This is a great looking sturdy product but not a mailbox the average homeowner can install by themselves. NONE of the pre drilled holes matched up and they all had to be re drilled to make them fit. Certainly not an easy task and requires proper drill bits and an electric drill. A wooden post has to also be purchased and concrete has to be mixed and poured around to keep stable. After several hours we finally finished. Looks great but make sure you have help to install. June 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mail box Waited years to find the right mailbox. Found this one & had to save money for it as it was very expensive for me. So pleased when I finally had it in place. It did well for several years. Then the finish began to peel off. So disappointed as it had been so expensive. Saved money again & decided to give it another try. I live in central NY so maybe the harsh winters had something to do with it. If that were the case, it should have been addressed in catalogue description. It is now in place & it is beautiful. Hope it last longer than the first one. August 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by It lasted total of 3 years It was gorgeous for the 1st year but the second year the paint literally lifted off in huge flakes. The 3rd year the hinged door broke and now we have to replace it because the piece that broke was plastic. If the door had not broken I would have taken the time to repaint it but now I'm going to replace it with a less expensive version from the local DIY store. Granted we live in S. FL but I never expected it to last less than 5 years. May 22, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not made for winter weather After having this beautiful mailbox up for one winter in the Midwest, the paint is all blistered!! I can't imagine what it will look like after a 2nd winter!! If you live in an area where you get snow and they salt the roads, reconsider this mailbox!! It was beautiful before it was put up! July 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Poor Quality We bought this mailbox a couple of years ago (not cheap by the way). Although it does look great, the door hinge broke. We can't get it fixed and will have to buy another mailbox. Think twice before you invest in this one. Not good quality and not what we expected from Frontgate. April 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by DID NOT LAST I have never before in all of my many internet purchases felt strongly enough to write a review. But this mailbox was such a dissapontment. The paint peeled and the pin holding the door fell out. Do not waste your money! July 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Save your money - this mailbox does not last My husband and I have been Frontgate customers for many years. ALL the products we've purchased, EXCEPT the Capitol Mongrammed Mailbox, have been of quality craftsmanship. We are extremely disappointed in this mailbox; for the price, I expected it to last for years. For the first three years, I loved the mailbox, yet it's now a costly eyesore because the finish became dull and blistered after three years. We live in a moderate, MW climate, and I expected this mailbox to last much longer. May 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed! I've ordered 5 of these mailboxes over the last few years. None of them have held up well. Three went to my children. One door fell off almost immediately. My son in law removed the initial plaque on the front and fixed the door himself. The other two had the finish peel off in less than a year. The one I ordered for myself had the door fall off which I returned for repair. Then the finish started to peel off. We built a brick column around it finally thinking thhat would solve the problem. Then the door fell of again. The ONlY reason I ordered the same box again is because We needed a box that would fit the hole we have for it in the brick column. That's why we did not add any personalization. The plaque on front is just too heavy for the door. April 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Initially proud, now embarrassed My wife and I have been Frontgate customers since 1995. We have purchased numerous products for our homes and have come to associate Frontgate with uncompromising quality. We purchased the Capitol Mono Mailbox in 2007. We were really impressed. This mailbox stood out in our neighborhood and really complimented our home. After the 2nd winter, we began to notice the paint was flaking along the center top ridge. The flaking began around the unused screws used to mount the mailbox topper. Years three and four this became more pronounced and began to spread to the corners. Unfortunately, the mailbox is an eyesore and an embarrassment today. We purchased another today, but before it is installed we will take it to a local paint shop to have it clear coated. Frontgate, you should check in to the quality control of your supplier. A quick clear coat at the factory could solve these problems. As you loyal customers we LOVED this product. We still do, but painting our mailbox every two years is not how we define hassle free. Brian St. Joseph, MO PS As soon as the new mailbox comes back from the paint booth, I will return the old mailbox to you, so that you can use it as an example to the manufacturer. March 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mailbox does not last This mailbox is beautiful and sturdy when first received but do not expect it to last. We too have been the envy of the neighborhood, but in 4 years we are on our second box. The door broke after three years (would not stay shut). Now the paint is falling of the replacement we received a year ago. Terrible quality! Don't be deceived! January 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Purchase Ever from Frontgate This mail box was absolutely beautiful when I received it. After four years the paint has a dull sheen, but that really does not bother me. What has me distressed is the fact that the left side of the door is broken and I cannot seem to repair it. There is a round plastic piece and metal round bar that secures the door and it always falls out and the door hangs to one side when it is opened. I purchased the mailbox, post, newspaper holder, and name plate; very expensive and too much money to pay for a defective box. I am very disappointed with this purchase and I have made many from Frontgate. June 21, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does not last After only one year and one winter - the mailbox is rusting and the paint is peeling I would not get this, unless you like painting each year May 3, 2011
  • 2016-08-30 T05:25:30.636-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_61, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_14802, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3
(17 Questions : 19 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox
 
1 answer
Can the post be mounted on cement/sidewalk?
Customer avatar
by
California
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Bkmason is loaded.
Additional information about Bkmason could not be loaded.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
California
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Bkmason is loaded.
Additional information about Bkmason could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox. The Capitol Post & Bracket (14803) are designed to be installed with in the ground with a 4"x4". Before installing your deluxe mailbox post, consult your local branch of the US post office for road setback requirement and height from roadbed or curb.
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox
 
1 answer
Mailbox 9 yrs old. Looking very dull. How do I clean?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jaxson is loaded.
Additional information about Jaxson could not be loaded.
Length of Ownership: 6-10 years
2 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jaxson is loaded.
Additional information about Jaxson could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox. To clean this item we recommend regular cleaning using non-abrasive soap and water. To help protect your mailbox after cleaning you may apply a coat of carnauba wax to the surface.
2 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox
 
1 answer
I just ordered a mail box with the personalized address.
Customer avatar
by
Ohio
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Prego is loaded.
Additional information about Prego could not be loaded.
I didn't put the whole address. I think it was pregnancy brain. I don't know how I didn't catch it. What is the cost to reorder just the personalized adress plates. Bc from reading I can't return it. Can't you just remelt the plate? For the cost I feel there should be something you can do.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Ohio
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Prego is loaded.
Additional information about Prego could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox. To order replacement address plaques please contact our customer service at 1-888-263-9850 or service@frontgate.com.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox
 
1 answer
Can I use this mailbox with a different base?
Customer avatar
by
Minnesota
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nphin is loaded.
Additional information about Nphin could not be loaded.
I am thinking of buying this mailbox. Can it be installed on a different post other than the one it is shown with? Does it matter if it is not the same manufacturer? The post I have has a newspaper holder and flower box.

Will the assembly instructions show how to secure to another base?
3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Minnesota
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Nphin is loaded.
Additional information about Nphin could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox. This mailbox could be used on a different base or post. However, the pre - drilled holes are designed to line up with the matching post and bracket, and the included instructions are for the matching items.
2 months, 4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox
 
2 answers
I am thing about replacing my mailbox only as I bought the entire set years ago. Has the color changed?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about pfurtney is loaded.
Additional information about pfurtney could not be loaded.
Length of Ownership: 10+ years
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about pfurtney is loaded.
Additional information about pfurtney could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox. The color options for this item are the same, and a replacement mailbox should still match your original post and bracket.
3 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I have a white one on ours the paint has peeled off and it does get mildew on which we do clean off with 50/50 bleach and water. Hope this helps. We are on our third mailbox the door keeps falling off our first one was back in 2006 then in 2008 and now in 2016.
Length of Ownership: 10+ years
1 week, 3 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Hampton, NH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Denise1179 is loaded.
Additional information about Denise1179 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
  • 2016-08-30 T05:25:14.725-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_14802, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:14802-Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???