Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox

Outdoor LivingHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Capitol Mailbox is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 76.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Missing items The product is well made however the installation is not well thought out. When you order the side panels for your address there is no installation hardware. Seem odd as the top name plate comes with hardware. It requires a special trip to the hardware store and a drill to install the panels. You would think they would have figured this out already rather than the customer to do the last bit of engineering and getting hardware!!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful but not durable I love the look and size of this mailbox. It is truly beautiful. The lifetime warranty is also a great (and necessary) thing. Unfortunately, my brackets have just broken for the third time, dropping the mailbox to the ground. It is too heavy for the brackets when it snows. I did get replacements at 50% off the last time and a free mailbox due to the damage it sustained, but it took months to figure it out between Frontgate and the manufacturer to finally get everything I needed to replace it. When I did, it was beautiful again. Not sure how long it might take this time to get brackets - they should sell or have them available as a individual item versus having the purchase the pole with them.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mailbox is nice but The mailbox and everything that comes with it are very pretty, however, the monogram letter that goes on the front is done in such an ornate way that one can't actually make out what the letter is. Very messy looking and takes away from the personalization of the mailbox.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Mailbox but somewhat difficult assembly This is a very nice mailbox, pretty, nice and heavy, feels like it will last a long time. One issue I had right off the bat though, was that one of the threaded holes in the topper was angled fairly severely and that made it very difficult to mount the topper. The holes in the top of the mailbox to mount the topper are only slightly larger than the screws that go through them, so any deviation in the angle of those screws makes mounting the topper very tricky. Which kind of leads to my second issue, not so much a complaint, but words of advice. When you drill the holes to attach the address plates and monogrammed front plate, use a drill bit one size larger than is detailed in the instructions or you will again have a very difficult time lining up the screws with the holes.
Date published: 2015-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish install was easier While the mailbox looks very nice and is very durable, the install was very difficult since the screw holes were not predrilled. I needed to get someone who had a strong drill to be able to install this expensive mailbox. I found out the manufacturer sells the same box at a cheaper price and is pre drilled.
Date published: 2015-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great mailbox, strong build Large well made mailbox, mailbox side address plates should be pre drilled and holes tapped better. Had a hard time with a few screws because they were not tapped well. If box is ordered with momgrams holes should be pre drilled.
Date published: 2014-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful, but a pain to assemble My husband was in a state of aggravation. This is the second mailbox we ordered. Our first had deteriorated over time. We were reordering the box, not the post. The panel holes had to be re-drilled. You have that complaint in quite a few reviews. It would be nice if the company corrected the error and lined up the holes.
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from better Much better. This is our third mailbox ( moved, etc), the first was a nightmare to set up. None of the holes matched to place the plaques. The second was the same. Our third box was much easier to assemble. I could tell there was an effort to fix some of the problems. this is still not perfect. I think the plaques should be pre-placed on the mailbox by Frontgate. For the price, this service should be included. ' thanks
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mailbox topper does not fit I thought they were uniform or standard but alas no, so I will have to pay for a special fix to use the piece. It is very pretty and looks well made, but a mistake on my part to order. I should have used somewhere that could help me confirm measurements.
Date published: 2014-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Mailbox Nice-looking mailbox, not the easiest to assemble. My mother was very pleased.
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox Excellent quality and relatively easy to assemble. Two observations though. The holes for the side and front plates do not line up and need to be drilled much larger than specified in the instructions to make them fit. Also, after applying liberal amouts of silicon to seal all the openings, there remains a large hole (for the centre-mounting option) in the bottom of the box! This needs a separate plug (not supplied).
Date published: 2013-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Capital Monogrammed Mailbox Purchased the mailbox, post, and newsletter slot in the bronze tone. The system is easy to install and adds instant curb appeal. The door is nicely weighted and clasps shut keeping rain and snow out of the box even in stormy conditions. We have a number of bronze sculptures installed throughout our property and wanted a mailbox that did not pull attention away from our artwork, and enhanced our landscape. After looking for a number of years we found this bronze Capital Monogrammed Mailbox. We feel it has definitely helped us achieve our goal.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks very good Really haven't had long enough to rate quality of item, but it looks great
Date published: 2013-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mail n Style Beautiful quality mailbox. Makes you feel good about sending snail mail! Just the added elegance Ithat was needed for the total house renovation. Completely satisfied!
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from bespeaks class Loved the mailbox except it was shorter than i would have liked. would heartily recommend this product which lends an elegant finishing touch to my frontage.
Date published: 2011-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fundamentally Sound With Issues The mailbox and its accessories looked great coming out of the box. Installation was not a major issue, but if you're not handy you will need a professional to do the installation. I discovered the only major con after the mailbox was installed. Looking at the mailbox from the front, the left side rear had a minor crease in the metal. Not a deal killer, but enough to make me wish I had completed a complete inspeciton of the product before I performed the install.
Date published: 2011-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mailbox Post Decorative Base The mailbox post decorative base adds a lot to the look of this mailbox, but if you live in a neighborhood where people do not curb their dogs, all of the paint peels off the base to leave an aluminum metal underneath that sticks out like a sore thumb and definitely will require repainting. This happened in less than one year. The rest of the mailbox is still in great shape despite a hard winter.
Date published: 2011-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality product
Date published: 2011-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful mailbox I was surprised when I received the mailbox at its size. This is a very BIG mailbox. I guess I didn't pay attention to the dimensions. The mailman will not have to worry about space, that's for sure! I was also surprised that the plates that were personalized were not already attached to the mailbox. I would have preferred that already be done. Just one more thing on the Honey-Do list that doesn't seem to get done!
Date published: 2011-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the mailbox but quality over time not great This mailbox is beautiful, a real eye catcher. We purchased the mailbox, post & base 4 years ago and love it. However, the color black has faded & the base paint peeled off in sheets. Disappointed! For the amount of money paid, I expect more from Frontgate!
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Corrosion does not hold up well against the Florida salt air and sun. Significant corrosion and fading after only one year. Too expensive to be replacing annually
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Durability an issue About to order my 3rd mailbox. They just do not weather very well in the Northeast. Paint chips off and rusts.
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from mailbox I love the mailbox. I've always wanted one. I was surprised to find that I had to assemble the address and monogram plates to the box. I certainly did not like the fact that I had to drill holes in the mailbox. For the price, I would have expected the product to come fully assembled.
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Replacement base - paint peeled off original This was a replacement base - the paint peeled off in big chunks after just over a year (when the warranty ran out). The mailbox & the post are fine. I would hope this new one will last but I doubt it...
Date published: 2013-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tough Mailbox installation This is a great looking sturdy product but not a mailbox the average homeowner can install by themselves. NONE of the pre drilled holes matched up and they all had to be re drilled to make them fit. Certainly not an easy task and requires proper drill bits and an electric drill. A wooden post has to also be purchased and concrete has to be mixed and poured around to keep stable. After several hours we finally finished. Looks great but make sure you have help to install.
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox We had our first Capitol Monogrammed mailbox for less than year before the exterior coating started to chip off. I contacted Frontgate and after some jumping through hoops was able to have it replaced with a new one. We have had our 2nd mailbox for about 10 years now. The coating has held up good but now the front door has broken off. I am very disappointed in the product. It was very expensive to begin with and should hold up better in my opinion. I could have purchased 20 cheap mailboxes for the price of this one.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mail box Waited years to find the right mailbox. Found this one & had to save money for it as it was very expensive for me. So pleased when I finally had it in place. It did well for several years. Then the finish began to peel off. So disappointed as it had been so expensive. Saved money again & decided to give it another try. I live in central NY so maybe the harsh winters had something to do with it. If that were the case, it should have been addressed in catalogue description. It is now in place & it is beautiful. Hope it last longer than the first one.
Date published: 2015-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It lasted total of 3 years It was gorgeous for the 1st year but the second year the paint literally lifted off in huge flakes. The 3rd year the hinged door broke and now we have to replace it because the piece that broke was plastic. If the door had not broken I would have taken the time to repaint it but now I'm going to replace it with a less expensive version from the local DIY store. Granted we live in S. FL but I never expected it to last less than 5 years.
Date published: 2011-05-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Took way to long! Nice product, but took over a month to get it.
Date published: 2015-07-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not made for winter weather After having this beautiful mailbox up for one winter in the Midwest, the paint is all blistered!! I can't imagine what it will look like after a 2nd winter!! If you live in an area where you get snow and they salt the roads, reconsider this mailbox!! It was beautiful before it was put up!
Date published: 2014-07-31
  • y_2017, m_6, d_24, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_73
  • loc_, sid_14802, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

Does the post fit over an existing post?

Does this post go over an existing 4 x 6 or 4 x 4, or does a new hole need to be dug?
Asked by: helen88
Fits over standard 4x4 pole
Answered by: g0803
Date published: 2017-04-18

I am thing about replacing my mailbox only as I bought the entire set years ago. Has the color changed?

Asked by: pfurtney
I have a white one on ours the paint has peeled off and it does get mildew on which we do clean off with 50/50 bleach and water. Hope this helps. We are on our third mailbox the door keeps falling off our first one was back in 2006 then in 2008 and now in 2016.
Answered by: Denise1179
Date published: 2016-10-22

Can I use this mailbox with a different base?

I am thinking of buying this mailbox. Can it be installed on a different post other than the one it is shown with? Does it matter if it is not the same manufacturer? The post I have has a newspaper holder and flower box. Will the assembly instructions show how to secure to another base?
Asked by: Nphin
I ordered the mailbox only, hoping it would attach to my existing post. That did not work...so I ordered the Frontgate post and was happy with the improved quality over my current plastic post cover.
Answered by: Henryii
Date published: 2017-05-31

Does the mailbox post need to be cemented into the ground?

Asked by: Owens
yes
Answered by: JeffCicora
Date published: 2017-03-04

Can you get just a replacement letter for your mailbox?

Asked by: Felex
Thank you for your interest in the Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox. We are able to order replacement door and side plaques. Please contact our Product Specialists at 800 537 8484.
Answered by: MZFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-21
  • y_2017, m_6, d_24, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_20
  • loc_, sid_14802, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:14802-Capitol Monogrammed Mailbox

Capitol Mailbox

Capitol Post & Bracket

Newspaper Holder

Mailbox Topper

Mailbox Post Decorative Base

Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]