Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Kitchen & Entertaining
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Durachill Beverage Dispenser 4 5 124 128
Looks nicer than it is This beverage container works well and holds a large amount but just be aware that the tub is plastic and not glass as the picture looks. It's a little more flimsy than you would think but still works well. April 25, 2012
Little Disappointed I have to admit I was rather disappointed upon receiving this product. The photo of it plus the standard to which I hold Frontgate products led me to believe it would be of better quality. The container is made of a hard plastic substrate and for the price I would have expected it to be glass. It is fine to use but again, the price to me dictated it to be of much better quality. Will think twice before ordering my next product from FG and just make sure the quality warrants the cost. March 23, 2012
Came scratched The designed look great - unfortunately the plastic container was scratched when I took it out of the box. May 19, 2014
Ordered two; one leaks badly out of the spigot I ordered two of these in the 3 gallon size. One was perfect. The other leaked badly at the base of the spigot the very first time that I tried it, despite tightening the nut on the back of the spigot as much as I could as per the instructions. They are sending me a new one, which will hopefully not leak too. May 7, 2014
Mixed I've always been happy with my purchases from Frontgate. This one, I'm mixed. Everything was sent immediately however, the actual piece was not very effective. By having the ice chamber at the bottom doesn't chill the beverage. The internal cooling unit does, however you have to change it quite frequently. I got the larger unit but now wish I got the smaller one. We entertain frequently and the smaller would have been sufficient enough for any small or large (200) party August 27, 2013
attractive but stops up Used with fruit recipe but beverage dispenser stopped up and guests had to use ladle, very messy and created disorganization with lid off and ladle in. Unattractive and sticky. June 15, 2013
Just too big! While I have not used this item yet, the 5 gallon is simply gigantic! What was I thinking?! Quality looks excellent. June 13, 2013
Lovely -- but quality questionable These dispensers really are lovely and would have served the purpose.. we purchased 5 for events. Three of the five had to be returned due to leaking spouts. I feel they should have a much better seal on them to avoid this problem. September 28, 2012
Beverage Dispenser Leaks It's unfortunate but the quality typically expected and received from Frontgate was not evident with this product. The dispenser valve leaked badly where the valve is attached to the dispenser bowl. Using only hand strength I attempted tightening the connector but it still leaked and I was afraid to use more force as it might have done permanent damage to the plastic and/or plexiglas parts. The purchase is being returned with the first major & seriious disappointment that we've had from Frontgate. August 13, 2012
terrible Very disstaisfied with the quality of the product. One was put togerther fine, one leaked - it was put in backwards, without a washer, was unable to get it to stop leaking. Not satiffied with the plastic container that the liquid sit in, looks great in the picture, but not the case when you actually see it. Kind of cheap looking and does not seem to durable. July 25, 2012
Not the typical Frontgate quality Product had lots of rough spots on the machined surfaces. The bottom rubber ring was very off-center and falling off. The acrylic container had numerous scratches, seems like this should have been glass for the amount of money charged. Disappointed, not the typical high quality received from Frontgate in the past. July 11, 2012
Beverage Dispenser I am disappointed that this dispenser does not keep the drinks very cold and it is not for very long. For the price of this dispenser I would have thought it was constructed of glass and not plastic. If it were constructed of glass I think the liquids in this dispenser would be cold and for a much longer time. Also, I already scrathed the dispenser when I mistakenly used something other than a soft cloth to clean it. I would consider buying another of these dispensers only if it was constructed of glass and the price was the same. July 10, 2012
Leaky Spigot I bought the 3 gallon beverage dispenser for a recent party. I tested it at home and it worked fine, but at the party it had a continuous leak from the spigot. It was very disappointing considering the cost of this item June 23, 2012
Not as good as I thought it would be The ice melts too fast and does not keep the water cold. Disappointing for frontgate, their quality is usually better. June 13, 2014
Disappointing I had high expectations for this product, as our family loves to drink water mixed with fruit slices, and we were.constantly refilling smaller containers. I expected that this dispenser would keep liquids cold for hours, similar to a thermos or other double-walled container. The base of the dispenser is double-walled, and ice cubes don't melt for hours ( even overnight). However, it does not chill the liquid at all, since it is underneath it.. The tube in the center is not double-walled, and ice melts almost immediately. it also doesn't hold much ice. Since the body of the dispenser is made of plastic, it doesn't hold a chill. In order to keep liquids chilled you would have to put ice in it which negates the whole purpose of the design. My order was filled promptly-I have no criticism whatsoever regarding the customer service aspects of the transaction, The design flaws in this product outweigh its usefulness. A simple glass jug with a spout would perform better. I think this dispenser is a waste of money. June 7, 2013
It leaks!!! Just got mine for a party this Saturday. I opened the box and filled it with water and it leaks. Going back in the box and sending it back. Disappointment!!! April 22, 2013
Unfortunate purchase I had purchased two of these chillers; and although they look fantastic the spicket leads considerably. I had read a couple of other reviews indicating that this happened to several people, but I had hoped it had been corrected. It made a huge mess, so I ended up having to default to another option, which was extremely unfortunate. I have returned both of them and am looking forward to a full refund. October 10, 2012
Disappointing I was excited to purchase and use this product. The stainless steel parts work but the beverage container is a cheap plastic. I'm not sure why it is not glass but I wouldn't buy another one and wouldn't recommend this product to another person. Plastic plus lemons and other citrus items, over time, are simply not a good combination. I probably assumed it would be glass given the investment in the stainless steel parts and the images online. August 29, 2012
Very Dissapointing The basin that holds the liquid is very low quality. On the first use the spigot leaked. At first a little and then a stream. I am returning it. Very disappointing. August 22, 2012
Sorry I am sorry to say that I had to return the dispenser. The spigot leaked on the first use. The dispenser was great looking and made of quality material. I had read other reviews that said the spigot leaked but thought the problem would have been corrected. A real disappointment. July 23, 2012
Disappointed First time I used leaking around the connection to the jar and got lemonade all over the kitchen floor very disappointed in quality July 8, 2012
Did not meet expectations Beverage dispenser did not keep liquids cold; plastic liquid container scratched easily; ice insert is not large enough and ice melts quickly; spigot is not well-fitting - moves easily and leaks Appearance is attractive June 25, 2012
Worst purchase Ever I ordered this for my son's midddle school functions. I was very impressed with the way it looked and was proud to put it on the serving table at a beloved, retiring VP reception. It leaked from the spigot throughout the reception and I had to put a towel under it to keep it from dripping onto the floor, having to change the towel several times during the 2 hour reception. I sent that one back and ordered another, this time I tested it before using it at a fuction. It also leaks at the same spot. It has now been sent back and I will not reorder it. Frontgate lived up to their responsiblilty and didn't charge me the shipping costs. May 30, 2012
inferior product I recently purchased 2 - 3 gallon beverage dispensers. The first one I got had a line on the inside of the plastic container that holds the liquid and I called and you sent me a replacement. The second one that I received had a lid that did not fit properly and it had a leak in the plastic container that holds the liquid. I went ahead and kept the one that has the line on the inside of the container and returned the other one. I really like the beverage container but I just wish that you had one without any flaws!! May 17, 2012
disappointed Mothers Day gift! when my wife removed the Durachill Beverage Dispenser from the packaging it had rust marks and scratches on the stainless steel areas (knob, cover, body & base). I am very disappointed as this is not the "Frontgate" quality that we are used to. i find it hard to believe this was even QC inspected. Please advise what to do as have placed the unit back in the box. thank you. May 16, 2012
Looks great but leaks!! I wish they made this dispenser work properly it leaks BIG TIME!!! April 29, 2012
  • 2015-07-31T11:45:48.470-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_128, tr_128
  • loc_en_US, sid_48567, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5
(9 Questions : 18 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
I want to use it for real lemonade and I wonder if the pulp will clog the spigot. Also, if I freeze fruits like strawberries, raspberries,citrus to further enhance the coldness will it impede the flow of liquid? So far, very happy with purchase.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Raceland, KY, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about shugie is loaded.
Additional information about shugie could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. The spigot on the dispenser does not have a filter, so things like fruit pulp should flow through just fine. We do recommend cleaning it thoroughly to ensure there is no pulp left in the dispenser after use that could harden or mold. Also, frozen fruits or berries would not impede the flow of liquid as long as they were not small enough to get stuck inside the spigot. However, some stirring may be needed to keep the fruit from the opening when in dispensing.
3 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes, shugie, the pulp will clog the spigot. Thanks for the idea of freezing the fruit before putting it in--- should make it pretty while helping chill the contents! May also clog upon thaw, but hopefully contents willl be gone by then!
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MarLawr is loaded.
Additional information about MarLawr could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
I've put lemons and limes in mine and it hasen't stoped up the spigot.
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about 6nana is loaded.
Additional information about 6nana could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I used it for homemade sangria which contained fresh squeezed orange, lemon, and lime juice (and pulp) and had no problems.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Atlanta, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PartyPlanner is loaded.
Additional information about PartyPlanner could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I am unsure, but it did not clog with the fruit I put in, but I did not put anything with seeds, or anything too small that would clog the spigot.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
MA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Sharon08 is loaded.
Additional information about Sharon08 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The spigot seems large enough to avoid most common clogs. While no spigot is foolproof 100%, the one on this dispenser is about the best quality you'll find.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
San Francisco
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about CustSvcPro is loaded.
Additional information about CustSvcPro could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
you should be fine if the pulp is very fine. we typically strain our real fruit juices and remove seeds (like those typically seen in raspberries). though the purpose of drinking "pulp" in juices is for that reason, some pulp (if large) may impede the flow of the juice. the good thing is that you can unscrew the spigot and clean it out. we love this product.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about stav is loaded.
Additional information about stav could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
3 answers

Is the plastic used in this product BPA-free?

3 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about moreinfoplease is loaded.
Additional information about moreinfoplease could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. The plastic used to make the jar and spigot of this item are 100% BPA-free.
3 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes 100%
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
MA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Sharon08 is loaded.
Additional information about Sharon08 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Yes. Plastic is BPA free.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
San Francisco
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about CustSvcPro is loaded.
Additional information about CustSvcPro could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MaryC is loaded.
Additional information about MaryC could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Durachill Beverage Dispenser. We are very sorry to hear you are having difficulty with this item, and we are looking into this information for you. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
For assistance with your Durachill Beverage Dispenser please contact our product specialists at 1-888-263-9850 or at ps@frontgate.com. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
1 week, 3 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
1 answer

Presales questions

1. In the pictures, the spigot on the 5 Gallon model appears to be a bit closer to the bottom of the reservoir than the 3 gallon model, which would allow dispensing more contents before having to refill. Is this true? I'm partial to the 5 gallon model anyway.

2. Does the reservoir have (as I suspect) a cylindrical "lip" that fits down into the metal base, thus preventing it from tipping when inserted in the base?

3. Is the top ice chamber stainless steel, or plastic?
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Anonymous
Miami, FL, USA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. In reference to your question, the bottle is made of plastic. The base, lid, and icer liner are stainless steel. The spigots are at the same height, yet different placements, on the dispenser. This allows the glass to sit underneath properly. The plastic bottle fits securely into the base.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about state is loaded.
Additional information about state could not be loaded.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JB50 is loaded.
Additional information about JB50 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate.

In case the spigot comes loose or one notices leakage from the spigot, please do the following: Tighten the spigot by holding it from the outside in a straight position and tighten the nut inside the jar until it stops moving.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JHFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JHFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 next>>
  • 2015-07-31T11:45:32.648-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_48567, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:48567-Durachill Beverage Dispenser
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???