Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Dynatrap® 1250 Insect Eliminator 3.4 5 67 70
Jury is still out Moved here in June 2012 and thought the mosquitoes weren't bad that summer. Bought this because we were eaten alive on our deck in summer 2013. The Dynatrap seemed to catch a lot of moths in June and July this year. Now we have seen some mosquitoes along with the moths in the catcher and haven't been getting bites, but we are not sure if it's the weather or the dynatrap. We should know more as it cools a little and we have more opportunity to use the deck..... September 2, 2014
Still Testing! I have had the unit for about a month and so far very few insects have been caught. Not sure at this point how effective the unit is. August 15, 2013
Not what I expected The bug zapper is good but the stand is not stable so it blows in the wind. Sometimes, in bad weather, it blows over. I had hoped for something more solid. June 10, 2013
A traditional bug zapper without the 'zap' Have been looking for a good mosquito-killing contraption for some time. Not sure this is it. It does catch insects, as advertised, but mostly moths and such. The purple bulb is supposed to emit CO2 that mimics human breath, but who knows how effective that feature is. Otherwise, it's just a purple light that draws the insects - but instead of the crude zap of traditional models a fan sucks the bugs into a cage. The cage feature is tricky, as any living bugs will bolt for freedom if you open to inspect the carnage. Will give it some more time, but the results so far are little more than a dent in the local moth population. August 21, 2012
still have pesky mosquitos We've had this plugged in and outside on patio for about 2 weeks now. It seems to be helping, but I expected it to eliminate the mosquitos better than it has. Grilling out the other night, however, no one else was getting bitten except me, hmmm....maybe the skeeters just really like me :( . May 31, 2012
mosquito zapper had it about two weeks...too early to tell....it's pretty, though May 25, 2012
Buyer beware We thought it sounded too good to be true but decided to try the handy looking bug zapper. The fan motor stopped working the first day. When I called for service they said they never heard of such a problem and they sent me a new fan motor - to install myself. Well, the new part only runs every now and then also. So, after 3 weeks and very few bugs in the collector, I guess it was too good to be true. September 2, 2014
Moth's Aren't the Problem Have had it running on a large loggia porch (under cover) for 4 weeks now. Sack is filling up with moths but not so obvious with mosquitos and "no see-ums" knatts. Just went out for a glass of wine and sitting no more than 20 feet from unit. Bug bites were too much, had to come in. I do believe the mosquito activity has been diminished but not sufficiently for my expectations. September 4, 2013
Dynatrap 1250 Works great at trapping insects, but as a mosquito device I'm not impressed. August 6, 2013
Dynatrap 1250 Insect Eliminator Ran it for 24 hours for 3 days as recommended in the beginning and then turned it on in the evenings and it did not keep 1/2 acre bug free as stated. July 31, 2013
Collects a lot of moths but no mosquitoes We have been using this product for 2 months now and have come to the conclusion that it is worthless! All it collects are moths. The moths are attracted to the light and they get sucked in, but not any mosquitoes. July 16, 2013
Does not catch mosquitos This product does catch flying insects. Mostly moths but it does not catch mosquitos. I've used it the entire summer 24/7 like they recommended and not one mosquito. When I took it out this season to try it again, the bulb doesn't work. Not worth the money unless you have a moth problem June 3, 2013
Mixed Emotions This machine works as it says but it seems to catch alot of other flying bugs such as moths and beetles instead of mosquitos. I don't see any mosquitos inside the basket. The machine sits only 4 ft away from me and I still have mosquitos swarming around me. While I feel it is catching other insects it is not catching the most annoying and biting ones. I will probably be returning this product. March 18, 2013
Def not an "eliminator" Advertised as an "eliminator", it's certainly not. I've had it going for over a week and have mosquitos buzzing around me w/i 5 feet of this thing - more interested in me than the equipment. It does seem to be gathering some bugs - stray moths and such but you'll still need the citronella candles and Raid yard guard handy to "eliminate" them! August 21, 2012
Worst purchase ever Read the previous reviews and they are all wrong. Gave the Dynatrap 10 weeks to work in our 1/8 acre. Nothing but by catch and seemed to bring in more mosquitoes than ever before. September 22, 2014
Dynatrap Mosquito I read the reviews and bought the Dynatrap 1250-what a mistake. I actually think it attracts mosquitos not contain or destroy. It seems I have more now than ever before and its impossible to go on the patio. A big mistake to buy as it has done nothing, had I kept the packaging it would have been returned the first week July 17, 2014
Not happy with it It doesn't work as well as advertised only keeps bugs right around it away just a few steps from it they are still flying around so it doesn't cover a 1/2 acre as advertised not to mention it attracts ants really bad because of the dead bugs inside it. Very unhappy especially for the price I paid!! July 17, 2014
Don't purchase this item We used the machine ONE day and the bulbs burnt out. July 13, 2014
Very Disappointed This product did not capture one mosquito - all sorts of other insects - but no mosquitoes. If the product really does emit CO2, it doesn't give off enough to attract mosquitoes into the trap. I placed the product according to the directions. We used it on a very calm evening with little air movement and lots of biting mosquitoes, yet we were still bitten alive. I even left it on for a few hours after we gave up and went inside. To top it all off, I had to spend the time and energy to pack it all up and send it back! So not worth the effort! July 5, 2014
Disappointed in DYNATRAPXL After reading a good review in the Wall Street Journal I bought the DynaTrapXL. I do think it helped with the bug population around our pool but after 2 weeks the lights quit working. It advertised 4000 hours of bulb use but mine lasted less than 400 hours. Taking the top off and then the bulb holder off is a total pain; add the expense and invonvenience of ordering new bulbs. The screws strip easily and are hard to get off. It is working again but I'm very disappointed. June 26, 2014
GREAT FOR MOTHS This was very disappointingl. We bought it for mosquitos, but seems it really only works on moths. Would not recommend. June 9, 2014
Does NOT work on mosquitoes Bought this about 4 weeks ago. It has been running 24/7. It collected lots of moths but almost no mosquitoes. Sat outside last evening and was eaten alive by mosquitoes. Absolutely no improvement. Do not buy this product if your goal is to reduce mosquitoes. September 6, 2013
DISAPOINTED I HAVE USED IT NON STOP FOR A SOLID TWO WEEKS AND NOT ONE MOSQUITO OR FLY HAS LANDED IN THE TRAP. IT SEEMS TO ONLY ATTRACT SMALL MOTHS AND VERY FEW OF THEM. IT IS A WASTE OF TIME AND ELECTRICITY. August 13, 2013
Dynatrap 1250 Purchased this due to high mosquito population.... Set up was easy...seems durable..it tips over easily..maybe a hollow base with the ability to put sand in it might help. I left this on 24/7 in an area where there is a high concentration of the pests... It caught some, definitely not enough to make a difference. It did not make a difference it the problem , even when moved to another location. July 26, 2013
Doesn't work This machine doesn't kill the bugs; it drops them into a basket which must be cleaned on a weekly basis. Moreover, after only three weeks the fan stopped working. Adding insult to injury, I never saw a mosquito corpse in the basket. This doesn't work. I bought it to take care of mosquitos--and it captures moths, beetles, and seemingly everything else. Don't waste your money. July 14, 2013
This item does not work The Dynatrap is only attracting months. I still have bug bytes. Spend your money on insect spray, not on this product July 9, 2013
Disappointed in Flushing This product catches many insects just not the ones that can ruin an enjoyable experience in your back yard. Do not buy this product! August 13, 2012
Returned the Dynatrap Returned this item – caught everything but mosquito’s. Plenty of moths and other flying insects but does not attract mosquito’s. July 5, 2012
SO DISAPPOINTED First off I ordered the Dynatrap for my father for father's day. Placed order on 06/08/12 and received on 06/18/12, the day after father's day. Most importatnt of all-it has only killed two bugs so far and the mosquitoes are eating my parents up. So diappointed in Frontgate product and how long it takes to process an order. Will never place another order! June 28, 2012
  • 2015-03-28T08:53:01.730-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_70, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_48967, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3
(14 Questions : 17 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Dynatrap® 1250 Insect Eliminator
 
1 answer

Do you recommend one of the Dynatrap devices to help control gnats?

Customer avatar
by
Lake Waramaug, Connecticut, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Preston1 is loaded.
Additional information about Preston1 could not be loaded.
Our property is near a lake and we are blanketed with gnats during the summer. Would one of your products best help us control this issue?
1 week, 1 day ago
Customer avatar
by
Lake Waramaug, Connecticut, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Preston1 is loaded.
Additional information about Preston1 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Dynatrap 1250 Insect Eliminator. We are looking into this information for you. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
4 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Dynatrap XL and Dynatrap 1250 Set
 
1 answer

should you let it run all the time or only during the day when you are outside

Customer avatar
by
Annapolis, MD, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tread is loaded.
Additional information about tread could not be loaded.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Annapolis, MD, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about tread is loaded.
Additional information about tread could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The Dynatrap XL and Dynatrap 1250 Set should be running continuously.
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Dynatrap XL and Dynatrap 1250 Set
 
1 answer

Where do I buy replacement bulbs for DynaTrap XL?

Customer avatar
by
Tampa, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Robert7677 is loaded.
Additional information about Robert7677 could not be loaded.
Need to replace the bulbs. Do you sell replacements? I don't see them on the site.

BB
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Tampa, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Robert7677 is loaded.
Additional information about Robert7677 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The replacement bulbs for the Dynatrap products are located on the product page for the type of trap you own. The item number is either 44032 or 45191. depending on the type of trap you have.
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Dynatrap XL and Dynatrap 1250 Set
 
1 answer

HOW DO I CHANGE THE LIGHT BULB ON THE 1250 w/stand.....

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mocopt is loaded.
Additional information about mocopt could not be loaded.
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mocopt is loaded.
Additional information about mocopt could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
1. Turn power switch to “off” position. UNPLUG UNIT, and allow bulb to cool before replacing.
2. Remove retaining cage, and turn unit upside down.
3. Remove the four screws securing the fan housing to the light housing. After removing the screws, gently pull the fan housing away from
the light housing. Using a soft brush, remove dirt and debris from the light housing. Once the cleaning process has been completed,
untighten the screw securing the base of the light bulb to the light housing. Slide the metal bracket to the side. Cover the bulb with a
cloth to protect your finger and hand. Grasp the bulb (with your hand and fingers protected by the cloth) and gently pull the bulb from
the socket.
4. Remove any debris from the lamp socket with a brush before inserting the new bulb. Replace the metal plate over the base of the bulb
and tighten the retaining screw.
5. Align the screw holes in the fan housing with the screw holes in the lighting unit and tighten the screws to the base of the lighting unit.
6. Replace the retaining cage at the bottom of the unit.
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Dynatrap XL and Dynatrap 1250 Set
 
2 answers

What insects are trapped by the DynatrapXL?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Sherly is loaded.
Additional information about Sherly could not be loaded.
Does the Dynatrap catch butterflies and other beneficial insects?
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Sherly is loaded.
Additional information about Sherly could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Our catches mainly moths, some small hard-shelled bugs, a few yellowjackets.

But so far only one moquitoe in 4+ months of 7 x 24 operation
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about pleasanton10 is loaded.
Additional information about pleasanton10 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The Dynatrap family of products will not capture beneficial insects. The priduct page features a link to the full list of insects that the Dynatrap will capture.
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful4
  • 2015-03-28T08:56:30.080-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_48967, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
  • 2015-03-28T08:56:30.084-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_48967, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:48967-Dynatrap® 1250 with Stand
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???