Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 84 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice effect, cleaning challenge Works great, catching mostly moths, still trying to estimate percentage of mosquito's. Needed practice to remove bottom basket on first cleaning. Hard to grasp with one hand while holding top section. Suggest keeping a spray can ready to give a little squirt so live ones don't all fly away before you dump it. Or maybe a plastic coffee can lid to cover basket when removing it. It creates a nice lighting effect on the deck in the evening, so we'd rather not place it far away.. September 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by So Far So Good We purchased the dynatrap three weeks ago. It is early June now, so the jury is still out on how effective it is going to be. Our big problem is mosquitoes and it is hard to say this early in the season whether it will allow us to sit out in our backyard or not. So far, there have not been any mosquitoes, but I don't know whether that is the dynatrap (unlikely, I think) or the cool weather. As for the product itself, it is easy to use. The instructions are a bit confusing, but the phone help was friendly and clear. Our fingers are crossed for long term benefits. June 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by so far so good I really like this!! It attracts a lot of bugs and flying insects and we're able to sit outside longer. I live in a rural farm area where mosquitoes dominate how long we are able to enjoy our pool in the evenings. So far so good! June 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Purchase We put the Dynatrap about 20 feet from our patio. Its quiet and the blue light is bright. The next night my husband checked the basket to see if anything was in it and he was amazed, it was 3/4 full of all kinds of bugs, insects and mosquitos. The same thing the second night. It really seems to attrack the bugs and do it's job. The best part, it's quiet. We are please with this product June 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dynatrap 1250 Seems to be working great. Have only been using it for about 1 week. Easy to set up and good quality. Flying bugs, especially mosquito's have almost disappeared. Highly recommend this product. May 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks good---seems to be working. We have had a lot of mosquitos this summer. It appears that there are less of them. If the Dynatrap gets rid of them, then I will consider it a success. August 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by bug zapper Looks to be high quality. Bug season here in St. Louis has been mild, so not much opportunity to use it as yet. August 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by attractive addition to my outdoor area The trap seems to be working although its been raining so we have not been out much but there are plenty of bugs trapped in the container. Will have to wait for dryer weather to test the mosquito repellant part of it which was the main reason we bought the item. June 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great idea and it works We live in Florida where bugs abound all year. Ive had the unit for a month or so and I have to empty the bug reservoir at least once a week. While there are still plenty of pests around, the unit is working as advertised and does help reduce the amount of flying insects in the patio. June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by DynaTrap It appears this will help reduce the mosquito (and other flying insect) population on my patio, where I spend a lot of time in good weather, including grilling. But it is not as well grounded as I would like. Any strong wind that comes around, especially in a storm, could knock it over. That hasn't happened yet, but we haven't had a lot of strong wind yet. I have tried to secure its base with bricks, but it should have a better, strong base. June 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Purchase We bought the insect eater. Seems effective. Will judge in a of couple of months if the mosquitos and other annoying critters learn not to bother us as we enjoy our deck. June 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by It works! Assembled and used the product for the first time last evening. It was nice to sit out on our courtyard without being annoyed by insects. The only problem is in the assembly. The pole that screws into the base does not do so, tightly. We tried this three times and gave up. The pole rocks back and forth within the stand, but the good news is that it doesn't fall over... we also have not hs any high winds to test this yet, either. June 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Helpful Pest Control I do appreciate the look and the fact that it keeps the bugs WAY down. While it won't completely eliminate all of the mosquitos (the strong ones survive!), it is far more comfortable. Attractive and efficient. Holds quite a few bugs. May 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dynatrap - Not so much I've now been using this for about a month and it's almost ready to be returned. The unit works perfectly but I am still swarmed by mosquitoes and all other sorts of insects. I've moved it several times to see if that helps but still no luck. I have had to augment this with both citronella torches and candles and when i use those, things are good. I am giving it one more move to see what the outcome is but am not expecting much more. April 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Jury is still out Moved here in June 2012 and thought the mosquitoes weren't bad that summer. Bought this because we were eaten alive on our deck in summer 2013. The Dynatrap seemed to catch a lot of moths in June and July this year. Now we have seen some mosquitoes along with the moths in the catcher and haven't been getting bites, but we are not sure if it's the weather or the dynatrap. We should know more as it cools a little and we have more opportunity to use the deck..... September 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still Testing! I have had the unit for about a month and so far very few insects have been caught. Not sure at this point how effective the unit is. August 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected The bug zapper is good but the stand is not stable so it blows in the wind. Sometimes, in bad weather, it blows over. I had hoped for something more solid. June 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A traditional bug zapper without the 'zap' Have been looking for a good mosquito-killing contraption for some time. Not sure this is it. It does catch insects, as advertised, but mostly moths and such. The purple bulb is supposed to emit CO2 that mimics human breath, but who knows how effective that feature is. Otherwise, it's just a purple light that draws the insects - but instead of the crude zap of traditional models a fan sucks the bugs into a cage. The cage feature is tricky, as any living bugs will bolt for freedom if you open to inspect the carnage. Will give it some more time, but the results so far are little more than a dent in the local moth population. August 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by still have pesky mosquitos We've had this plugged in and outside on patio for about 2 weeks now. It seems to be helping, but I expected it to eliminate the mosquitos better than it has. Grilling out the other night, however, no one else was getting bitten except me, hmmm....maybe the skeeters just really like me :( . May 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by mosquito zapper had it about two weeks...too early to tell....it's pretty, though May 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Buyer beware We thought it sounded too good to be true but decided to try the handy looking bug zapper. The fan motor stopped working the first day. When I called for service they said they never heard of such a problem and they sent me a new fan motor - to install myself. Well, the new part only runs every now and then also. So, after 3 weeks and very few bugs in the collector, I guess it was too good to be true. September 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Moth's Aren't the Problem Have had it running on a large loggia porch (under cover) for 4 weeks now. Sack is filling up with moths but not so obvious with mosquitos and "no see-ums" knatts. Just went out for a glass of wine and sitting no more than 20 feet from unit. Bug bites were too much, had to come in. I do believe the mosquito activity has been diminished but not sufficiently for my expectations. September 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dynatrap 1250 Works great at trapping insects, but as a mosquito device I'm not impressed. August 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dynatrap 1250 Insect Eliminator Ran it for 24 hours for 3 days as recommended in the beginning and then turned it on in the evenings and it did not keep 1/2 acre bug free as stated. July 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Collects a lot of moths but no mosquitoes We have been using this product for 2 months now and have come to the conclusion that it is worthless! All it collects are moths. The moths are attracted to the light and they get sucked in, but not any mosquitoes. July 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Does not catch mosquitos This product does catch flying insects. Mostly moths but it does not catch mosquitos. I've used it the entire summer 24/7 like they recommended and not one mosquito. When I took it out this season to try it again, the bulb doesn't work. Not worth the money unless you have a moth problem June 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mixed Emotions This machine works as it says but it seems to catch alot of other flying bugs such as moths and beetles instead of mosquitos. I don't see any mosquitos inside the basket. The machine sits only 4 ft away from me and I still have mosquitos swarming around me. While I feel it is catching other insects it is not catching the most annoying and biting ones. I will probably be returning this product. March 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Def not an "eliminator" Advertised as an "eliminator", it's certainly not. I've had it going for over a week and have mosquitos buzzing around me w/i 5 feet of this thing - more interested in me than the equipment. It does seem to be gathering some bugs - stray moths and such but you'll still need the citronella candles and Raid yard guard handy to "eliminate" them! August 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst purchase ever Read the previous reviews and they are all wrong. Gave the Dynatrap 10 weeks to work in our 1/8 acre. Nothing but by catch and seemed to bring in more mosquitoes than ever before. September 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dynatrap Mosquito I read the reviews and bought the Dynatrap 1250-what a mistake. I actually think it attracts mosquitos not contain or destroy. It seems I have more now than ever before and its impossible to go on the patio. A big mistake to buy as it has done nothing, had I kept the packaging it would have been returned the first week July 17, 2014
  • 2016-07-22 T09:26:54.169-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_84, tr_84
  • loc_en_US, sid_48967, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
(19 Questions : 25 Answers)
Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Dynatrap® 1250 Insect Eliminator
 
1 answer
Does this work on wasps?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jess123 is loaded.
Additional information about Jess123 could not be loaded.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jess123 is loaded.
Additional information about Jess123 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Dynatrap® 1250 Insect Eliminator. This item will work on wasps; we recommend putting near the wasp's nest for best results.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Dynatrap® 1250 Insect Eliminator
 
1 answer
need instructions to change light bulb
Customer avatar
by
Massachusetts, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about bugs313131 is loaded.
Additional information about bugs313131 could not be loaded.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Massachusetts, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about bugs313131 is loaded.
Additional information about bugs313131 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Dynatrap® 1250 Insect Eliminator. To replace the bulb, unplug the unit and remove the retaining cage. Turn unit upside down and place your thumbs across (away from your body) on the white funnel, place your other fingers over the unit like you are gripping a roller coaster bar. The funnel will release and you will have access to the light bulbs. Rotate old bulbs 90° and lift to remove. Insert new bulbs and rotate 90° to seat. Reassemble unit aligning the groove to the funnel with electrical wires. Attach fan, and replace the collection chamber/retaining cage with a simple twist.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Dynatrap® 1250 Insect Eliminator
 
1 answer
Can this be used without the stand? I would prefer to hang it up.
Customer avatar
by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cosmos321 is loaded.
Additional information about cosmos321 could not be loaded.
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Ohio, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cosmos321 is loaded.
Additional information about cosmos321 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Dynatrap® 1250 Insect Eliminator. This item is designed to be used with the stand; however, the Dynatrap III Insect Eliminator, item 45190, is designed to be hung or wall mounted.
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Dynatrap® 1250 Insect Eliminator
 
1 answer
which is best 1250 or Dynatrap III?
Customer avatar
by
San Antonio, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Donna6232 is loaded.
Additional information about Donna6232 could not be loaded.
small yard, lots of bug, want full strength 1/4 acre
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
San Antonio, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Donna6232 is loaded.
Additional information about Donna6232 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Dynatrap® 1250 Insect Eliminator. Both the Dynatrap® 1250 Insect Eliminator and the Dynatrap III Insect Eliminator provide up to a 1/2 acre of coverage; the difference between the two is how they are mounted. The 1250 comes with a stand, and the Dynatrap III has to be wall mounted or hung by a chain.
11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Dynatrap XL and Dynatrap 1250 Set
 
1 answer
Can the Dynatrap XL be left exposed to direct sun and rain since it needs to be left plugged in 24/7 for weeks?
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 on Dynatrap XL and Dynatrap 1250 Set
 
Please wait while more information about raychin is loaded.
Additional information about raychin could not be loaded.
I have no overhead cover to shield the unit from direct sun or rain exposure and concerned about the plug and the electric bulbs.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about raychin is loaded.
Additional information about raychin could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for interest in the Dynatrap XL and Dynatrap 1250 Set. This item is designed to be used outdoors in both direct sunlight and rain. You may wish to use an outdoor outlet cover if you are concerned about the plug.
1 year, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 next>>
  • 2016-07-22 T09:23:33.721-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_48967, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:48967-Dynatrap® 1250 with Stand
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???