Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Louvered Teak Trunk 2.7 5 21 21
Great Idea, but Not the best design I bought two of these spacious and attractive storage trunks but neither have fared too well. Given the price, I expected them to hold up much better. But hey, they looked good on my pool patio until they fell apart. October 13, 2013
Disappointed We had the exact same experience as Jack. The style and size of this teak chest were perfect. Assembly only took 20 minutes. We loved the way the struts on the inside provided for the top to open and close easily. After 6 months we applied a teak enhancer and it was beautiful! My husband first noticed that the top edge was pulling away. About a week later we came home to find that the top slats had separated and it looked like someone had taken a sledgehammer to it! My husband found that the pressure from the struts is what caused the bench slats to pull apart. Frontgate is picking up the damaged chest and sending us a replacement bench. We will not use the struts. My problem is why doesn't Frontgate get the manufacturer to fix the problem as this is hurting their reputation! August 2, 2012
Wrong and Missing Hardware, incorrect wood cut-out The unit looks great but the hardware to put it together was incorrect plus the hinge cut-outs were off about a half inch. The unit shipped with 13 identical wood screws. Four worked just fine when screwing the bottom panel, although there were two more holes with no screws. The 3 hinges require 9 screws but the screw heads were too small to hold the hinges so I had to install my own washers. This worked but two of the hinge cut-outs were off by about 1/2 inch each. I would not recommend this unit. July 20, 2011
Louvered Teak Trunk Very nice looking trunk. However, I didn't realize I'd have to put the whole thing together (not a big deal, just a surprise). Took less than an hour. I'd say it takes someone with about a medium level of handy experience (also helps to have the right tools, especially a rubber mallet). I'm sure it would be difficult for a novice or someone who does not consider themselves to be handy. The reason I only gave it two stars is on the third day the top completely fell apart! The tongue and groove joints all exploded out of place (as if the wood expanded suddenly). I can't say that's good quality! Also very frustrating given how much it cost and all the work I put into building it. Now I have to take it apart and build another one! But I have to say, the customer support was great. They shipped out a new one right away. Hopefully, this one will last more than three days! July 7, 2011
Horrible assembly I would have to agree 100% with the other review of this product. I am the neighborhood assembler at Christmas and love to assemble items. But the pieces do not fit well together and the top hinges are way off. Either Frontgate should send it assembled or make sure the pilot holes actually line up and the hinges fit into the top. Very disappointed... May 4, 2011
hmm....... I was excited about this piece of furniture prior to its arrival. There was a lot more "putting together" than I anticipated. Most importantly, the slots were the hinges from the lid merge with the main trunk were imprecisely measured and cut. One of the 3 hinges fit into the slot. The other 2 did not. In order to get it to fit I had to chisel out the proper size insets for the hinges. If the piece had been pre-assembled I would not have done this and would have simple returned it for a replacement. However, since fastening the hinges is one of the final steps, I would have had to dismantle the entire trunk to ship it back. Instead, I fixed it myself. I would not expect to have this issue with a relatively expensive piece, from a favorite company of mine. March 30, 2011
Horrible Product Bought 3 years ago. Arrived cracked. Frontgate gave me a small discount. I should have sent it back. It has continued to fall apart and is now a pile of useless firewood. Terrible design. Biggest waste of money ever! Don't buy it!!!!! Should get 0 stars. August 16, 2014
Worst product ever! Biggest waste of money ever! We bought two of these boxes for our pool deck and they fell apart the first season. Like another customer stated, they looked like someone took a sledgehammer to them. We had our maintenance man try to put them back together to no avail. They are just the worst design and most poorly built item that Frontgate sells. Save your money and time! May 24, 2014
Over the Top I am surprised this is still being sold - I am usually very pleased with Frontgate quality. After 3 months trunk top self-destructed when we tried to open it. Struts pulled the top and sides apart - rather an interesting explosion of wood splinters and slats. The construction and design is clearly flawed based on other buyer's with similar experiences. Worse - placed the cover over the damage and it collected rain and promptly ripped. Frontgate made good on the damage but the product should not be continued. July 30, 2013
Awful! After 2 weeks the side slates started to fall out. It stained all of our storage with some yellow stain when ever it rained. Terrible design. June 28, 2013
Disaster I loved the look and the size of this storage box. It matched all the other teak furniture we bought from Frontgate, and it was great for a while. But before the summer was over, both the sides and the top split apart. We attempted to fix the box, but it was hopeless. It was glued together and the glue simply wouldn't hold up to the NY heat/humidity. I'm back to hauling the cushions in and out of the house. April 17, 2013
Cover warped and split apart Had this trunk for less than 1 year on my back deck. I purchased a cover and cushion. It seemed very nice but the side and front of the cover warped pulling the tenons out of the mortice slots. The warping was so severe the tenons ripped through the pegs that held them within the mortice slots. While Frontgate has agreed to replace the trunk, the purchase of this item has been a disappointment. I was looking for a stylish solution to hold my Patio cushion furniture and I believed this was the answer but it is too expensive an option to fail so soon. July 6, 2012
Do not buy! I bought this teak trunk for my new pool area in June. It was difficult to put together, but it is nice looking so it was worth it. After two weeks the cover started coming apart, separating from the box. It looked like someone had jumped on it. It got progressively worse. I returned it and the delivery company that picked it up said that they have picked up several of the teak trunks in the the same condition. There is obviously a huge design flaw in this product. October 5, 2011
  • 2015-04-18T08:59:52.919-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_21, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_64587, prod, sort_default
<<prev2
(2 Questions : 1 Answer)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Louvered Teak Trunk
 
0 answers

The reviews are horrible for this product (all purchased last year). Has the product been improved?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about doodles8823 is loaded.
Additional information about doodles8823 could not be loaded.
1 day ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about doodles8823 is loaded.
Additional information about doodles8823 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
Louvered Teak Trunk
 
1 answer

can I buy the cushion as shown ?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 on Louvered Teak Trunk
 
Please wait while more information about simonp is loaded.
Additional information about simonp could not be loaded.
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about simonp is loaded.
Additional information about simonp could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. The cushion for this trunk can be purchased using item number 43564. The color shown in the picture is the sand/natural color.
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 of 1

Product Q&A

2 Questions | 1 Answer
1 of 1
Product:64587-Louvered Teak Trunk
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???