GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
1
5
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Frontgate
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate 3.9 5 62 63
Crate was constructed poorly When assembling the crate two pieces that had imbedded screws were not glued into one of the legs. The legs did not allow the crate to be sturdy or to let the two latches close properly. The crate looks good but it takes work to lock the crate. I'm a bit disappointed because of the price that the crate cost and it's sturdiness. We again have to buy something... March 26, 2014
Sizing All Wrong Sizing recommendations are not correct. I bought the Medium sized crate for my puppy who will be between 40-50 lbs at full size. She is only 7 months old, 38 lbs and the crate is too small for her. She can't sit up in the crate without bending her neck. It was a very expensive purchase for a temporary item. February 4, 2014
dog crate nice but small? I love the look of our dog crate, which we bought for our labradoodle puppy. She is now about 3o pounds, but the crate is small for her and she still has some growing to do. Was an expensive item which says should fit a dog to 50 pounds so she should have had lots of room as she will reach about 40 pounds. January 14, 2014
Best Dog "Mansion" We've ever had! I bought this crate, or as we refer to it, "mansion" for my dachshund several years ago and it was hands down the best purchase I have ever made!! Her Crate now can stay in the living room without appearing like it is an ugly cage. This has allowed me to put a nice lamp on the top and picture frames just as I would any table. Though if your dog chews cords I'd be wary of doing that. As other reviewers have said the top does come off easily (though it is quite heavy) as it just rests on the top. This is not an issue with a dachshund or any other small breed. A large dog it may be a problem. The side shades are not the easiest to pull down and use and one of mine consistently gets stuck (when I've pulled it down to show people) but we never use them so it doesn't bother me. And frontgate's customer service has always been good in the past that I didn't worry. I get asked CONSTANTLY about where I purchased this crate. Before any other piece of furniture in my living room. People want to know where I found this amazing dog crate. I have been incredibly happy and would make the purchase again in a heartbeat. I do see it being probably slightly disappointing for a very large breed... or a large breed dog who would test the strength of it. The instructions were not the most clear to assemble but it was not a mystery by any means and it didn't take long. It's a box with two sides being longer than the others so even without any instructions it should be difficult to figure out by process of elimination. It took me may be 15-20 mins and that was because I was screwing in pieces. November 13, 2013
Great new Dog Crate! I purchased this dog crate for my two shih tzus to share at night. I wanted to make sure I got something that complimented my bedroom furniture but more importantly was comfortable for them to sleep in at night. Both dogs easily fit into this crate with no problem. The unit itself looks amazing. The bed that comes with it is top quality. The item isn't cheap but my dogs are certainly worth every penny and Frontgate really delivered with this. September 27, 2013
Great Dog Bed Perfect for our corgi! Works well as an end table in the family room. August 20, 2013
Rare disappointment from Frontgate Having made several prior purchases from Frontgate I have become used to a high level of product quality. This product was very disappointing. The parts were mislabeled, the instructions a very poor translation into English and once I was able to get it assembled found the fit and finish to be well below what I have come to expect from Frontgate. It is barely adequate for the purpose for which it was designed. It is too new for me to be able to comment on durability. June 12, 2013
The Luxury Pet Residence Dog Crate is Perfect I love this dog crate. It is absolutely a luxury item but worth every penny. The bedding is very high quality, nice and thick, and assembly was simple. I bought two of them and you can reverse the door by turning it upside down so they can both open the same way against the wall if that is how you need it. May 16, 2013
Beautiful Condos We purchased two of these crates in the large size for my daughter's 40 lb bulldogs. She has had the 'condos' for about four years, and her two bulldogs love them. I recently bought another one, a medium, for my Biewer Terrier -- Yorkie-sized. The units are beautiful and sturdy, and unlike the experience of another reviewer, the dogs haven't ever been able to escape. The pull-down shades are durable, with a quality rewind mechanism. I am a retired lady, and I put the medium together by myself in less than 30 minutes from the time I opened the box. An Allen wrench is supplied, but you need a Phillips head screwdriver. Now for the 'cons': One of the latches did break. We are well past any guarantee period, so we probably will remove the gate and have the latch repaired locally. Until then, we are using only the top latch with no issues. The bottom plastic tray is a problem. One of ours cracked, and Frontgate replaced it. Then that one cracked, too. So we went to the big orange hardware/lumber store and had a piece of Masonite -- sometimes called hardboard -- cut to fit over the top of the tray. Masonite is thin but very sturdy, and it provides a more substantial base. Easy fix. Some of my daughter's locking cams have worked loose as a result of moving the crates to clean, and we have learned that they need to be re-tightened now and then. To move the crates, we should probably grasp the corner posts rather than the top, so we don't put unnecessary torque on the cams. Without question, we are delighted with the condos. March 23, 2013
furniture like dog crate Very attractive seems to be a great value though it does take some time to assemble .Only complaint is wish that the latch was easier to use it seems too small for the size of the crate.Could be more substantial for all the use it gets. March 20, 2013
Good but not great We bought this just about one year ago. It looks nice and is very comfortable for our 70lb Briard. Two things concern us that might help others in making a decision on this site: the plastic bottom board cracked within days even when our Briard was only 40lbs or so. The top lifts off too easily and the assembly mechanism (cam and dowel) that holds the top down won't stay locked. If you intend on moving this often, which we only do to clean, it will wear out quickly. February 16, 2013
Great This is and excellent purchase. Fits in well with our home decor. Nice hardwood. Easy assembly. Would recommend November 26, 2012
Looks Nice, But Disappointing The pet residence is good looking and a substantial piece. However, the hardware is mostly plastic and some of it broke during installation. The tray arrived with a corner missing and the missing piece was not in the box, so it must have been packed broken. The gate closure is insufficient to keep one's pet inside the crate, which, in my opinion, is the point of using a crate. My 10 pound Havanese escaped in less than five minutes. I was very disappointed and am returning it to Frontgate. October 3, 2012
Dog house We already have one and ordered another for our new puppy. A great piece of furniture. Easy to put together. Recommend it for anyone who likes to give their pet their "own place". September 27, 2012
Nice but not lasting I love this pet house, and as previously stated it is a beautiful addition to a home. My frustration is that the bottom fell apart after about 6 months. Our dog is 40# and simply sleeps in the crate the 3 days a week that I work. The crate is still completely useable without the bottom, and the wood hold up well, but be warned. September 26, 2012
Beautiful but beware the latches The luxury Pet residence is a gorgeous piece of furniture. We recently moved into a new home and wanted a crate that would not be an eyesore. We have an active 45lb Standard Poodle. She fits in the "large size" perfectly. The problem with this crate is the latches. The are NOT functional. Within 2 weeks of owning the crate, the bottom latch broke. Frontgate was wonderful and is shipping out a replacement door. But I am concerned given the design of the latch, this will happen again. The crate is magnificent. The latch is the "Achilles heel" of the crate. But for the latch system it would be 6 stars. September 16, 2012
Very pleased Very attractive, well-made item. It blends beautifully with the wood furniture in our bedroom. September 4, 2012
Beautiful Design, Not Suitable for Active Dogs The crate is gorgeous. However it won't crate an active dog. The vertical bars are flimsy and have no horizontal reinforcement, making it possible for the dog to stick his legs through the bars -- my 25lb. doggy somehow bent the bars wide enough to get his head through. The latch is flimsy as well. A pup can easily stick his paw through the vertical wires and with an upward flick of the paw, he's home free. I know this can happen because I watched my pup do it. I'm truly disappointed. For the price of the crate, I expected much better quality. This was my first Frontgate purchase and likely my last. July 4, 2012
Great Crate Love this crate. As we have a large dog (rhodesian ridgeback) we need a large crate. This gives us a great piece of furniture that always receives nice comments. The side screens protect the sofa next to it from pet hair and dirt. When we had a problem and the lock snapped, Frontgate customer service was great and shipped us a brand new front door. Highly recommend this crate! May 5, 2012
We bought a 2nd Crate We purchased the medium crate last year for our English Springer Spaniel 45 pounds and she loves it! We are getting another spaniel, so we ordered the same crate. The crate is sturdy and attractive. The only issue was, 2 holes were not drilled and my husband had to get the tools out. If not for him being handy, I would have had to box all the parts up and ship them back. February 8, 2012
Proud to have in the bedroom This piece of furniture exceeded my expectations and the appearance and quality is impressive for the price. The external measurements are the same as the internal measurements of my prvious wire crate but there is still plenty of room for our 20lb. Cocker Spaniel. She went into her new bedroom on her own the first day it replaced the old ugly wiry crate. Im not sure she likes it when we pull down the shades but it is a nice feature. Setup took under an hour. February 7, 2012
First class pet crate This is a great pet crate, we have two, one for upstairs in my office so our puppy can be with me at work and one for downstairs in the family room. it is well made and looks like a quality piece of furniture. I highly recommend. January 25, 2012
Check the size I purchased this pet residence as I was remodeling my home and thought it was a great time to find an "end table" that would house my dog. I checked the measurements against the kennel I have now and the end table he loves to hide under, but the inside measurements were too small when I actually put it together. The larger residence would work for him, but not as an end table. Nice quality, wrong size for us! January 12, 2012
Beautiful furniture This dog crate is a beautiful piece of furniture, but the dimensions are of the outside of the furniture. The crate itself is smaller and after opening and closing the door only a few times the latch fell apart. For something this expensive the latch needs strengthened. A twisty tie does not go with the furniture very well. January 5, 2012
Really Nice Crate! I bought this crate for my 65lb German Shepherd. It was easy to put together, and seems very sturdy. I ordered the white color, and it looks beautiful in my office. It has plenty of room for her to sleep and turn around, but as one reviewer mentioned, the dimensions are for the outside of the crate. You lose an inch or two on the inside because of the frame. My dog loves being in her crate and does not try to get out, but beware of the latches on the door. They do not slide very far into the holes on the side, so if your dog wants to work their way out, they will probably be able to wiggle the door and open the latches. Nothing that a couple of velcro ties or small bungees couldn't fix though. January 2, 2012
Dog Crate This is a nice furniture but not really useful as a dog crate. I don't think the designers are dog owners. The catch basin is useless. A hard floor would have been more useful. The crate is too tall and not wide or long enough. The dimensions given are outside measurements so please take that into account. My 10 mo. old bulldog is too big for the medium size crate. He can jump in there but no room to stretch. December 23, 2011
Love except the closure... I have been very happy with this crate except that when I received it I thought the latch was very poor quality and worried if it would hold... my dog does not try to get out or lay against the door but both of the latches have broke and I am just out of warranty. This crate is unless if I can not keep the door closed... December 22, 2011
Luxury Pet Residence The Luxury Pet Crate is absolutely impressive. Easy to put together, looks wonderful in my kitchen. My poodle looks like a prince when he's inside. I keep my poodle crated while I am at work, so he is safe, because he can get into trouble. He loves it. I would recommend this to every dog lover out there. Happy Holidays!! December 19, 2011
Quality Piece Lovely wood tone. Secure gate. Assembly easy- needed 2 people for the top. Read reviews on other crates and didn't want the grief. Thanks for a superior product. December 14, 2011
Beatifull!! This is the perfect solution if you have to live with your dog's create. It is a nice peace of furniture that forms part of your home decor. Really good quality, we loved it! Shipping to Canada is a little bit expensive, though. November 16, 2011
<<prev2 3 next>>
(9 Questions : 12 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate
 
1 answer

Two questions reading the reviews.

Customer avatar
by
Nashville
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Superbroker is loaded.
Additional information about Superbroker could not be loaded.
Have a pointer that will be 55 lbs when full grown. would like to order the large crate however reading the reviews two problems seem to recur. Latch is flimsy and the plastic floor does not hold up under weight of dog. Please address and advise if any product design changes have been made since.

Thanks

David
1 month, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Nashville
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Superbroker is loaded.
Additional information about Superbroker could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate has not been redesigned. All Frontgate Products feature a one year warranty against damage or defect and if you have any problem we will be more than happy to replace the item or damaged part. You also have 90 days to try the product and you can return it for any reason for a full product refund if it doesn't meet your needs.
1 month, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate
 
1 answer

I need a replacement pan for the bottom of this kennel. Where can I find one.

Customer avatar
by
Marana, AZ, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about camismom is loaded.
Additional information about camismom could not be loaded.
I have the large pet residence.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
1 month, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Marana, AZ, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about camismom is loaded.
Additional information about camismom could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate does have replacement pads available for putchase, item 40779.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate
 
2 answers

Are the pull down blinds removable and washable?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jward533 is loaded.
Additional information about jward533 could not be loaded.
4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jward533 is loaded.
Additional information about jward533 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate. We are checking on your question and will update you as soon as possible.
3 months, 4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Unfortunately, the blinds can not be removed from the Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate
 
1 answer

Is the top surface a smooth, solid piece of wood?

Customer avatar
by
California
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Savanna is loaded.
Additional information about Savanna could not be loaded.
A friend of mine has this crate and the top surface on hers is smooth, but in this picture , the top surface looks like it has grooves in it.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
California
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Savanna is loaded.
Additional information about Savanna could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Yes, the Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate does feature a smooth, solid roof.
4 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Has staff answer
Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate
 
2 answers

Can I get the brown crate pad with the white crate?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about shopkaren is loaded.
Additional information about shopkaren could not be loaded.
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about shopkaren is loaded.
Additional information about shopkaren could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. Only the black and white cushion is available with the Antique White Luxury Pet Residence Dog Crate.
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JHFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JHFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
If you really want the brown pad, you could purchase it separately.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Seattle area
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about NWStyle is loaded.
Additional information about NWStyle could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:43773-Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate
0