GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
1
5
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Frontgate
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate 4 5 55 56
The Luxury Pet Residence Dog Crate is Perfect I love this dog crate. It is absolutely a luxury item but worth every penny. The bedding is very high quality, nice and thick, and assembly was simple. I bought two of them and you can reverse the door by turning it upside down so they can both open the same way against the wall if that is how you need it. May 16, 2013
Beautiful Condos We purchased two of these crates in the large size for my daughter's 40 lb bulldogs. She has had the 'condos' for about four years, and her two bulldogs love them. I recently bought another one, a medium, for my Biewer Terrier -- Yorkie-sized. The units are beautiful and sturdy, and unlike the experience of another reviewer, the dogs haven't ever been able to escape. The pull-down shades are durable, with a quality rewind mechanism. I am a retired lady, and I put the medium together by myself in less than 30 minutes from the time I opened the box. An Allen wrench is supplied, but you need a Phillips head screwdriver. Now for the 'cons': One of the latches did break. We are well past any guarantee period, so we probably will remove the gate and have the latch repaired locally. Until then, we are using only the top latch with no issues. The bottom plastic tray is a problem. One of ours cracked, and Frontgate replaced it. Then that one cracked, too. So we went to the big orange hardware/lumber store and had a piece of Masonite -- sometimes called hardboard -- cut to fit over the top of the tray. Masonite is thin but very sturdy, and it provides a more substantial base. Easy fix. Some of my daughter's locking cams have worked loose as a result of moving the crates to clean, and we have learned that they need to be re-tightened now and then. To move the crates, we should probably grasp the corner posts rather than the top, so we don't put unnecessary torque on the cams. Without question, we are delighted with the condos. March 23, 2013
furniture like dog crate Very attractive seems to be a great value though it does take some time to assemble .Only complaint is wish that the latch was easier to use it seems too small for the size of the crate.Could be more substantial for all the use it gets. March 20, 2013
Good but not great We bought this just about one year ago. It looks nice and is very comfortable for our 70lb Briard. Two things concern us that might help others in making a decision on this site: the plastic bottom board cracked within days even when our Briard was only 40lbs or so. The top lifts off too easily and the assembly mechanism (cam and dowel) that holds the top down won't stay locked. If you intend on moving this often, which we only do to clean, it will wear out quickly. February 16, 2013
Great This is and excellent purchase. Fits in well with our home decor. Nice hardwood. Easy assembly. Would recommend November 26, 2012
Looks Nice, But Disappointing The pet residence is good looking and a substantial piece. However, the hardware is mostly plastic and some of it broke during installation. The tray arrived with a corner missing and the missing piece was not in the box, so it must have been packed broken. The gate closure is insufficient to keep one's pet inside the crate, which, in my opinion, is the point of using a crate. My 10 pound Havanese escaped in less than five minutes. I was very disappointed and am returning it to Frontgate. October 3, 2012
Dog house We already have one and ordered another for our new puppy. A great piece of furniture. Easy to put together. Recommend it for anyone who likes to give their pet their "own place". September 27, 2012
Nice but not lasting I love this pet house, and as previously stated it is a beautiful addition to a home. My frustration is that the bottom fell apart after about 6 months. Our dog is 40# and simply sleeps in the crate the 3 days a week that I work. The crate is still completely useable without the bottom, and the wood hold up well, but be warned. September 26, 2012
Beautiful but beware the latches The luxury Pet residence is a gorgeous piece of furniture. We recently moved into a new home and wanted a crate that would not be an eyesore. We have an active 45lb Standard Poodle. She fits in the "large size" perfectly. The problem with this crate is the latches. The are NOT functional. Within 2 weeks of owning the crate, the bottom latch broke. Frontgate was wonderful and is shipping out a replacement door. But I am concerned given the design of the latch, this will happen again. The crate is magnificent. The latch is the "Achilles heel" of the crate. But for the latch system it would be 6 stars. September 16, 2012
Very pleased Very attractive, well-made item. It blends beautifully with the wood furniture in our bedroom. September 4, 2012
Beautiful Design, Not Suitable for Active Dogs The crate is gorgeous. However it won't crate an active dog. The vertical bars are flimsy and have no horizontal reinforcement, making it possible for the dog to stick his legs through the bars -- my 25lb. doggy somehow bent the bars wide enough to get his head through. The latch is flimsy as well. A pup can easily stick his paw through the vertical wires and with an upward flick of the paw, he's home free. I know this can happen because I watched my pup do it. I'm truly disappointed. For the price of the crate, I expected much better quality. This was my first Frontgate purchase and likely my last. July 4, 2012
Great Crate Love this crate. As we have a large dog (rhodesian ridgeback) we need a large crate. This gives us a great piece of furniture that always receives nice comments. The side screens protect the sofa next to it from pet hair and dirt. When we had a problem and the lock snapped, Frontgate customer service was great and shipped us a brand new front door. Highly recommend this crate! May 5, 2012
We bought a 2nd Crate We purchased the medium crate last year for our English Springer Spaniel 45 pounds and she loves it! We are getting another spaniel, so we ordered the same crate. The crate is sturdy and attractive. The only issue was, 2 holes were not drilled and my husband had to get the tools out. If not for him being handy, I would have had to box all the parts up and ship them back. February 8, 2012
Proud to have in the bedroom This piece of furniture exceeded my expectations and the appearance and quality is impressive for the price. The external measurements are the same as the internal measurements of my prvious wire crate but there is still plenty of room for our 20lb. Cocker Spaniel. She went into her new bedroom on her own the first day it replaced the old ugly wiry crate. Im not sure she likes it when we pull down the shades but it is a nice feature. Setup took under an hour. February 7, 2012
First class pet crate This is a great pet crate, we have two, one for upstairs in my office so our puppy can be with me at work and one for downstairs in the family room. it is well made and looks like a quality piece of furniture. I highly recommend. January 25, 2012
Check the size I purchased this pet residence as I was remodeling my home and thought it was a great time to find an "end table" that would house my dog. I checked the measurements against the kennel I have now and the end table he loves to hide under, but the inside measurements were too small when I actually put it together. The larger residence would work for him, but not as an end table. Nice quality, wrong size for us! January 12, 2012
Beautiful furniture This dog crate is a beautiful piece of furniture, but the dimensions are of the outside of the furniture. The crate itself is smaller and after opening and closing the door only a few times the latch fell apart. For something this expensive the latch needs strengthened. A twisty tie does not go with the furniture very well. January 5, 2012
Really Nice Crate! I bought this crate for my 65lb German Shepherd. It was easy to put together, and seems very sturdy. I ordered the white color, and it looks beautiful in my office. It has plenty of room for her to sleep and turn around, but as one reviewer mentioned, the dimensions are for the outside of the crate. You lose an inch or two on the inside because of the frame. My dog loves being in her crate and does not try to get out, but beware of the latches on the door. They do not slide very far into the holes on the side, so if your dog wants to work their way out, they will probably be able to wiggle the door and open the latches. Nothing that a couple of velcro ties or small bungees couldn't fix though. January 2, 2012
Dog Crate This is a nice furniture but not really useful as a dog crate. I don't think the designers are dog owners. The catch basin is useless. A hard floor would have been more useful. The crate is too tall and not wide or long enough. The dimensions given are outside measurements so please take that into account. My 10 mo. old bulldog is too big for the medium size crate. He can jump in there but no room to stretch. December 23, 2011
Love except the closure... I have been very happy with this crate except that when I received it I thought the latch was very poor quality and worried if it would hold... my dog does not try to get out or lay against the door but both of the latches have broke and I am just out of warranty. This crate is unless if I can not keep the door closed... December 22, 2011
Luxury Pet Residence The Luxury Pet Crate is absolutely impressive. Easy to put together, looks wonderful in my kitchen. My poodle looks like a prince when he's inside. I keep my poodle crated while I am at work, so he is safe, because he can get into trouble. He loves it. I would recommend this to every dog lover out there. Happy Holidays!! December 19, 2011
Quality Piece Lovely wood tone. Secure gate. Assembly easy- needed 2 people for the top. Read reviews on other crates and didn't want the grief. Thanks for a superior product. December 14, 2011
Beatifull!! This is the perfect solution if you have to live with your dog's create. It is a nice peace of furniture that forms part of your home decor. Really good quality, we loved it! Shipping to Canada is a little bit expensive, though. November 16, 2011
Beautiful Crate We bought this crate because it is one of the few out there that not only looks like quality furniture, but comes in WHITE as well! It was fairly effortless to put together and looks beautiful in our decor. A few negatives: the latches are quite "simple" for quite a structure and could use a little more security/structure. Also, the tray we received was cracked with the corners broken off on all four sides. It really should be a metal tray, not plastic. Overall our lab LOVES it and finds great security and rest there. November 14, 2011
Good Product Overall great product. However, the latches are extremely lacking - need to be better made - but workable Also, there were no assembly instructions included in my boxes. November 9, 2011
Best crate ever!! Our goldendoodle can't get enough of this crate. She goes into it for FUN now. This was certainly worth the money. Although expensive, the quality is great! November 4, 2011
Finally a pretty crate! Finally an attractive dog crate. My puppy luvs it! Only one complaint the door is ill fitting and assembly of the door is a nightmare. However, the crate is great, good sized, and the shades are a plus! November 1, 2011
Works perfectly! We bought this as an "apartment" for our chihuahua because she is in a crate for most of the day while we are away at work and it has worked out wonderfully! She loves it because she can see outside of it, and because she can move around in it. We love it because we no longer have to worry about her either being cooped up in a tiny crate or allowed to run loose and destroy the house. November 1, 2011
Excellent Purchase My dog and I love this purchase. It's beautiful and functional. I'm using it as a bedside table, as my German Shepherd likes to sleep in his crate next me and I wanted something nicer in my room. It was simple to put together, although it was helpful to have another person to put together. October 23, 2011
Amazing and Beautiful worth every dollar Best product that looks and feels like a piece of furniture really easy to Assemble. Amazing home for my full grown Dutch Shepard she Loves It! 65pds and I purchased the Large size I can't say enough of this product Thank You Frontgate for Always making my Home Beautiful!! Worth the money!! September 17, 2011
<<prev2 3 next>>
(6 Questions : 8 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate
 
1 answer

Is the top surface a smooth, solid piece of wood?

Customer avatar
by
California
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Savanna is loaded.
Additional information about Savanna could not be loaded.
A friend of mine has this crate and the top surface on hers is smooth, but in this picture , the top surface looks like it has grooves in it.
2 days ago
Customer avatar
by
California
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Savanna is loaded.
Additional information about Savanna could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Yes, the Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate does feature a smooth, solid roof.
18 hours ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate
 
2 answers

Can I get the brown crate pad with the white crate?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about shopkaren is loaded.
Additional information about shopkaren could not be loaded.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about shopkaren is loaded.
Additional information about shopkaren could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. Only the black and white cushion is available with the Antique White Luxury Pet Residence Dog Crate.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JHFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JHFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
If you really want the brown pad, you could purchase it separately.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Seattle area
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about NWStyle is loaded.
Additional information about NWStyle could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate
 
1 answer

Can the door be removed?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Doodlemama is loaded.
Additional information about Doodlemama could not be loaded.
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Doodlemama is loaded.
Additional information about Doodlemama could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The Luxury Pet Residence can be assembled without the door. The door cannot be removed once the crate has been assembled.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JHFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JHFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate
 
1 answer

does this crate only open on the ends?

Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cornmom is loaded.
Additional information about cornmom could not be loaded.
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cornmom is loaded.
Additional information about cornmom could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The Luxury Pet Residence only has one door, at the front of the crate.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JHFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JHFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
Luxury Mahogany Pet Residence Dog Crate
 
1 answer

Need a replacement base

Customer avatar
by
Saint Simons Island, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Stsimons is loaded.
Additional information about Stsimons could not be loaded.
i am in need of a replacement plastic base for the pet residence. I have had it for a couple years and think its great, but please help with the base.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Saint Simons Island, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Stsimons is loaded.
Additional information about Stsimons could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. Please contact a Product Specialist at 800-537-8484 for assistance.
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JHFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JHFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
0