Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Outdoor Living
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer 4.4 5 510 541
Nice Clock This is a really good looking clock, bigger than most of the others we considered. It keeps good time but the temperature gauge may not be quite right. The hands for the clock and temperature gauge seemed to hang up on one another. It wasn't bad enough to make us send the clock back but it might if you were a perfectionist. August 30, 2012
Elegant/functional. I only had this unit about a week installed and have to say I like the look/finish on the exterior wall of my garage facing the yard. Quick access to time/temp. Only complaint -- I would have liked if perhaps they included a couple of installation hooks/mounts to avoid having to look for a mounting method. August 26, 2012
Lovely Oxford outdoor clock This very large clodk works beautifully in our back patio. The large size allows it to be seen from a considerable distance away. The copper color appears to nicely match out copper roof and rain gutters. My only hesistation is the question of durability. It is a copper plate over steel. If it was made out of solid copper, it would rightly last for ten plus years. But, being simply copper plated and then clear coated, durability is the unknown. Accordingly, because I love the look of the clock, I purchased two so that I would have a replacement when the original ultimately breaks or wears out. August 17, 2012
Nice .. .. Only had this clock about 2 months, because it's the newest, it gets the alpha spot, outside under the canopy thus not in direct sunshine. Love the color of the outter metal band, tho appears the Roman Numerals are made of plastic, which I kinda wasent expecting. So hoping they dont separate in the future from the white face. It's also rather difficult to tell the time from a distance, perhaps due to ALL the black on the face. It may seem like I'm "picking" but I wouldnt return it. We've always had large Frontgate Clocks. Why..because they stand behind their products. August 15, 2012
Great outdoor clock Frontgate replaced my last clock with this clock and I certainly appreciate that. These clocks are big and very easy to read from distances. They are also great looking. I hope this new clock handles the outdoors better than the one it replaced. August 14, 2012
Looks great! I have only had this clock for a week. The first one had to be sent back because the clock hands kept jamming when crossing. This is a great looking clock. I do wish it had a second hand since it hangs near the BBQ. Other clocks I have purchased have lasted less than a year. Hope this one will last longer! August 8, 2012
Looks great - just one small problem LOVE the appearance of this clock! Super attractive and easy to read. My only issue was that the humidity "hand" was slightly bent, which kept the hour and minute hands from rotating fully around the face. Unfortunately I had to take the entire back off the clock, unscrew the mounting plate, and 'bend' that pointer into place. In doing so I had to break the seal of the glass face, but.... it's been keeping great time and thankfully staying dry since I put it back together. I'm keeping my figures crossed... August 8, 2012
Quality problem The clock et al appear to be well built of good material. The problem is that obviously no quality control exists. As received the hands of the clock were somewhat bent around each other so that they could not move to tell time. It was obvious. I had to figure out how to dismantle the clock to get to the hands. Then bend them free to move. After reassembly it appears to be functioning well. We do like the overall design. August 5, 2012
Expensive Look We love the classy, expensive look of the clock. However, have had to make adjustments on the temperature and humidity gadges. Other than that, have been very happy with the product. August 3, 2012
beautilful clock....but Clock arrived as we were leaving to run errands so we put the box in the house, when we returned 5 hours later and open it something was clearly wrong, the temperature was registering 100 degrees and the humidity near 90%. We hung the clock outside in the lanai and let it sit overnight, next morning the temp. was reading 95 and the humidity 87%...no way. Tried adjusting the temperature to another thermometer but no good, temp and humidity only move a few degrees all day, clearly defective, so we will be returning the clock for a replacement. It is a beautiful piece and I hope the replacement will work properly. July 4, 2015
Oxford outdoor clock Clock looks great, but so far with a new battery, it has been consistently losing time. I will change the battery to see if there is any improvement. April 24, 2015
Outdoor clock The size of this clock is perfect for the outdoor area I have it in. I really like the metal frame, it is perfect for outdoor elements. The time is staying on track. The temperature seems to be off even though it has been manually calibrated. I am satisfied with the clock and construction. April 5, 2015
Bad product/Good customer service This is the third outdoor clock I've purchased. The most recent one was a replacement for one I bought only 6 months ago, that never worked properly. In spite of the lousy produkct, Frontgate's customer service was phenomenal! August 25, 2014
Oxford Outdoor Clock This item arrived quickly. It was very attractive and the clock mechanism worked well on my covered patio. I live in north Florida and average temperature range from 30 at night to 75 during the day. We have a fair amount of humidity here however, neither the temperature gauge or the humidity gauge were anywhere near accurate. I tried several times to adjust these gauges per the instruction but without success. I did return the clock because I wanted an item where everything worked well. February 28, 2014
Oxford Outdoor Clock The clock looks great in our under covered patio area. It's well built and keeps good time, but the Thermometer is approximately 10 degrees off. February 19, 2014
Great design problem with recording temp and humidity. Even after several adjustments, still having problem with both. If "close is good enough" then this is ok. January 8, 2014
Clock didn't work right out of box Clock did not work when it was opened. Had to return. Return was smooth. November 21, 2013
Nice Looking Outdoor Clock Like the large size - 24". Like the color and the look of it. Appears to be accurate, except for the temperature -it is stuck on 60 degrees. Need to remove it from the wall and reset it - see if that corrects the problem. Shipping was quick. October 29, 2013
GRET LOOKING GREAT LOOKING PIECE. CLOCK WORKS WELL. THERMOMETER IS NOT RELIABLE. THE AMBIENT TEMPERATURE IS 84 AND THE CLOCK THERMOMETER READS 68. NOT REALLY EVEN CLOSE. THAT IS DISAPPOINTING. I CANNOT TEST THE HUMIDITY READING. PACKAGE ARRIVED QUICKLY. NO ASSEMBLY REQIRED, JUST INSTALL BATTERY AND SET CLOCK. September 11, 2013
Not as good as the previous model Purchasedl similar clock two years ago, but left it out all winter and the face curled and became unreadable. Purchased this later model last month and have been using it since. I have it hung on my lake home with the intent of seeing the time from the lake. the design makes it almost unreadable from a distance. Did not have this problem with the previous model which had a cleaner clock face. September 2, 2013
Attractive Clock, but with issues.... This is an attractive clock, however have had to return two of them as the hour hand stopped on both of them. July 27, 2013
Clock works great I bought this as a present for my wife. She had indicated that she really liked this for our patio. The clock works great and is very attractive. The thermometer is not very accurate. July 12, 2013
Clock is fine The clock is a tad larger than expected but it does keep good time. The thermometer and humidity guages are off at higher numbers..... June 17, 2013
Looks Great Aesthetically it looks great. Easy to read dials. Temperature gauge is not always accurate - when temperatures get in the 80's and 90's it consistently reads about 5 degrees too hot June 5, 2013
Oxford Clock THe clock works well and looks very nice. THe thermometer and humidity indicator are not very good. Even after adjustment the temp readout is always several degrees different than other thermometers. May 2, 2013
Outdoor clock/thermostat Nice looking however I am not sure of the accuracy of the thermometer and hygrometer.Seems a bit off so far.Will have to continue to monitor. April 19, 2013
Expected more We were pleased at how quickly the clock arrived and were excited to hang it up. It was when we set the time that we found the arms would not move past a certain point, in either direction, because each arm was bent. We had to dismantle the ENTIRE clock - no easy feat - to correct this issue. It was disappointing that we had to do this considering how much we paid. We expected a little more heavy duty materials for the price of the clock, but it does the job. March 27, 2013
Outdoor clock The quality of the clock seems to be alright for the price but the mechanics is fair. Had to take the clock to a clock shop to take apart and adjust the hand as the never did line up on the hour. January 30, 2013
Oxford Clocok Hopefully this one will work better than the last one I purchased from Frontgage. the last one never keep proper time and it was radio contolled. this one is much larger than the other which is nice. looks good on the wall and so far has kept good time. will see how it holds up to the outdoors, only have had it for a few weeks. January 11, 2013
Great looking B U T ... clock looks AWESOME, it is a great size and it looks like and EXPENSIVE clock...However, the minute hand actually gets caught on the "hand" on the humidity dial and stops the clock!! At first we thought the battery kept dying, then we realized what the problem was. Frustrating to constantly have to fix the time. May no longer be a problem now that the weather and humidity have dropped! November 9, 2012
  • 2015-08-01T11:23:20.290-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_541, tr_541
  • loc_en_US, sid_49685, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 next>>
(20 Questions : 50 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
7 answers

Rust-proof

It says "weather-resistant". What about rust-resistant?
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dlms is loaded.
Additional information about dlms could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock is made from iron alloy and is weather resistant, including rust.
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Its a copper finish in plastic..Not real copper enclosure. The internal mechanisms are all well protected as well from the elements. Only time will tell I guess...:0)
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jeepstanley is loaded.
Additional information about Jeepstanley could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
so far mine has no rust but check back next year and I can say for sure
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Boxerlover19 is loaded.
Additional information about Boxerlover19 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It does not rust.. The Copper color just wears out after a year or so. The Facia separates from the unit, and the thermometer, and the hygrometer stopped working after one year.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
User submitted photo
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
FLorida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Filmhits is loaded.
Additional information about Filmhits could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is sealed pretty well. The only place it could rust would be where the hands come together and/or are connected to the mechanism., and that would only happen over a long period of time. I had many years from a clock similar to this before it got any rust.
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KathyL is loaded.
Additional information about KathyL could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would assume it to be rust resistant since it appears to be plastic made to look like copper. I don't know how it would hold up if exposed to direct rain, but I think it would be okay on a covered porch like ours.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
midwest
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cool is loaded.
Additional information about cool could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, it is not rust-proof.

This type of material is generally quite susceptible to rusting in damp or humid climates.

Rust will quickly deverlope if this clock is scratched or chipped in any manner.

The inside bottom lip is the first place that you should expect rust to start developing if water can get behind your clock.

Rust can be slowed by annual respraying of a clear coat spray paint such as Rustoleum (either gloss or satin). With annual respraying, the closck should last five or more years.
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Foodie is loaded.
Additional information about Foodie could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mrabysbaby is loaded.
Additional information about mrabysbaby could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We used a stainless steel L-shaped screw with an anchor. Worked great!
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MAofVA is loaded.
Additional information about MAofVA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
After drilling the hole in the masonry we inserted a screw anchor for stability and strength. The clock is very secure and designed to sit on the screw and after pulling down on the clock a bit it locks into place.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Carolynn98 is loaded.
Additional information about Carolynn98 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I hung the clock on hardiplank siding and I just used a screw that I found in our toolbox.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Iowa, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Olson is loaded.
Additional information about Olson could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Our outdoor wall is made of stucco, so I used a small drill bit to put a beginning hole in the wall, then hammered in a concrete nail with a head wide enough to fit the holder on the back of the clock. Worked very well.
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dbhsubpar is loaded.
Additional information about dbhsubpar could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
We used a masonary screw, no hanger needed.
My husband used a drill to put the screw in the wall.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jules18 is loaded.
Additional information about Jules18 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
masonry screw in an appropriate anchor
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Grosse Pointe, MI, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lorenk01 is loaded.
Additional information about lorenk01 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I used a screw-hook/pot hanger in the eave. I then added a decorative chain, opened the end/last link, and hooked it into the little "notch" where the clock would normally hang on a nail or screw. Works great!
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
4 days ago
Customer avatar
by
San Diego, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about ToothDoc is loaded.
Additional information about ToothDoc could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KarenMTX is loaded.
Additional information about KarenMTX could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Can't access it, but it is definitely not paper - it appears to be hard plastic. We've had ours hanging outside on a semi-covered porch for the past month and it's working great (in spite of all the rain we've been getting)!
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MAofVA is loaded.
Additional information about MAofVA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Paper like material- Could be plastic.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
User submitted photo
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
FLorida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Filmhits is loaded.
Additional information about Filmhits could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. The face of the clock is made of plastic.
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is not paper. It is a thick plastic.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
3 years ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KathyL is loaded.
Additional information about KathyL could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Glass
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Longport, NJ, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mianina is loaded.
Additional information about mianina could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I believe it is a thin aluminum
2 years, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Katc is loaded.
Additional information about Katc could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
6 answers

How is the time set?

I currently have an outdoor clock like this that I would like to replace. It has a feature that allows it to "self-set" the time via radio frequency. How is the time set on this clock?
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Dallas TX
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cnk0203 is loaded.
Additional information about cnk0203 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock does not "self-set". It features a knob which allows you to manually set the time.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is battery operated with a little wheel you manually rotate to set the clock.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about HouseProud is loaded.
Additional information about HouseProud could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I have only had it for a few weeks, it is not radio controlled, you manually set it. I have the radio controlled one and it never worked properly.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PlanoTexasHomeowner is loaded.
Additional information about PlanoTexasHomeowner could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Set time with dial on back. Unit with dial has cover so it is protected.
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about VYinLA is loaded.
Additional information about VYinLA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Manually on the back. It does have an screw on lid to keep out the weather and dust/grime.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
La Quinta, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Rando is loaded.
Additional information about Rando could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
This clock is not a self-set clock, you have to set the time manually.
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mariea11en is loaded.
Additional information about Mariea11en could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Obviously this clock should be able to be used indoor as well as outdoor & have much better longevity indoors. That is what I purchased it for & I hope it is effective indoors.
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Ashland, OR
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about kstacy52 is loaded.
Additional information about kstacy52 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock is listed as an outdoor clock because it is made to be able to withstand exposure to the elements. Although listed for outdoor use, this item can be used indoors just as well. We apologize for any confusion.
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is no reason you can't use this indoors. I think it probably goes without specifically saying that if it's durable outdoors it'd be durable indoors.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Virginia Beach, VA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GardenMarcia is loaded.
Additional information about GardenMarcia could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It could be because of the large size of the clock. I don't see why it wouldn't be just as great for inside as outside.
I would just make sure you have a good size wall to hang it on so it doesn't overwelm the wall or anything else displayed on the same wall.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
The Woodlands, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Dlyon is loaded.
Additional information about Dlyon could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
They suggest outdoor in a covered area. Mine is not under cover. No severe weather where I live so not an issue.
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about VYinLA is loaded.
Additional information about VYinLA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We bought this clock to use indoors. We replaced an indoor/outdoor clock which was also from Frontgate. This clock looks great indoors and it will probably last longer since it is indoors.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
TEXAS
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mombomb is loaded.
Additional information about Mombomb could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
  • 2015-08-01T11:22:43.281-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_49685, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:49685-Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???