Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Outdoor Living
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer 4.4 5 453 480
Attractive and Accurate finally have a sheltered outdoor area in our new AZ home adjacent to the pool. Have had the clock which works perfectly for weeks but was reluctant to rate this until my husband (who had been away) hung it outside to check accuracy of thermometer and hygrometer. After calibrating and checking with my local AccuWeather report, I am pleased to say all work perfectly! September 5, 2014
This is my 2nd time around…. This is my second purchase of this clock. I bought my first one about 4 years ago and it has hung outside in Las Vegas, NV . We receive compliments on it often and thoroughly enjoy it. Unfortunately the weather is damaging the face and it is cracking and peeling. This second one is waiting to replace the 1st when it must come down. Frankly, I should buy another one for down the road as I cannot imagine my backyard without this clock and I enjoy it from my kitchen window. If the face of the clock was not defacing, it would be better. August 25, 2014
Oxford outdoor clock This clock is really nice looking and it is constructed very well, the size is just perfect, I can see the time from the far end of my yard ( a good 30-35 yards). Very easy to install and accurate, just follow the instructions to set up the temperature and humidity. I definitely recommend it. August 26, 2014
Bad product/Good customer service This is the third outdoor clock I've purchased. The most recent one was a replacement for one I bought only 6 months ago, that never worked properly. In spite of the lousy produkct, Frontgate's customer service was phenomenal! August 25, 2014
Gorgeous! We love it. Get a lot of comments from people approaching our front porch because it is striking. It looks very simple and lovely against our porch wall. August 25, 2014
Beautiful clock same problem as others I have been looking forever for a well made nice outdoor clock. I finally found this one and read MANY reviews on it. It seems some folks had had problems as the clock just stopped working. I decided to try it as many of the reviews were good. I purchased the clock it came quickly. Sure enough after about 2 weeks it stopped i thought perhaps the battery, changed the battery reset it and the next day same thing. Then i quickly realized it kept stopping at 8:20. Reason being the hands were bent and it was hittign the dials on the other gages. This has been an ongoing issue wit this clock. I made a call the woman i spoke with was excellent to say the least. Offered to 2nd day deliver a replacement to me so i could use the same packaging to return the other. Since then no problems. beautiful clock hope it stays that way! June 9, 2014
Love this clock My husband loves clocks so I bought him this for his birthday 2 months ago for our patio. We live in humid Iowa and it has worked great so far. We had a clock/thermometer from a different company and it got moisture in it right away and stopped working so I am hoping this one will pull through in the long run. I think we will take it down once it gets closer to winter to prevent it from any damage in the cold. August 10, 2014
The ultimate clock I read all the reviews on this clock, and I have to admit I was a bit hesitant to purchase but I took a chance. So far, it is PERFECT. The size, the look -- it's so stately looking. I had searched for an outdoor clock this size/quality, but had zero luck finding anything even remotely close. We are easily able to view it from the farthest point across our pool - it's just gorgeous. I've owned it for approximately one month and am hoping my luck continues. July 31, 2014
Very disappointed I purchased this clock because I loved the white face with large black numbers. It was the perfect size for outdoors so we could see it from the pool. Unfortunatley, it didn't work! :-( We put in several brand new batteries & still nothing. We returned it for credit the following day. So disappaointed. Really prefer the atomic clocks, but they need to be 18" - 24" in size for the area we need. May 21, 2014
going to return after a couple of weeks hanging on my patio, the white part of the face is puckering July 11, 2012
Very nice looking, but don't make my mistake Both my wife and I love the look of the Clock. The only problem we/I had was getting the humidity gauge dialed so that it reads correctly. If you buy this item, remember that where you install this item (shading, attached to the house., etc. will impact how the dial performs. I kept trying to match the humidity and temp gauges to what was being displayed on the gauges by my pool. Duh! July 21, 2014
Fabulous Addition to Our Outdoor Seating Area Unlike some of my other Frontgate purchases, this clock is everything I hoped it would be. Takes a bit of an effort to calibrate the thermometer and the hygrometer and the temperature clearly isn't accurate if you mount in the sun, but other than that I love this clock! July 23, 2014
LOVE!!!! Looks even better it person. I just Love everything about it July 28, 2014
Beautiful but .... I purchased this clock for inside of our new pool house. The clock is really beautiful and the numbers are large enough to see from the pool. I used a picture hanging hook to hang it as it is fairly heavy and I didn't want it to fall down. It is inside the protection of the pool house, so there are no issues with the summer weather. I'm interested to see how it holds up to the New England winter weather. The clock keeps accurate time. However the thermometer is off by about 20 degrees. I have another thermometer in the pool house which shows the temperature at 85 degrees about outside temperature. The thermometer on the clock is showing 65 degree. The hygrometer shows 90% humidity which isn't correct either. I'm really disappointed that the thermometer and hygrometer don't work. I've had the Oxford clock for about 2 months. Too late to send back plus the weight and bulkiness of the box is difficult for me. I've purchased other items from Frontgate and have always been pleased with my purchase. I wish Frontgate would work with the manufacturer to improved the quality of the thermometer and hygrometer. July 14, 2013
Frontgate Rocks! Things happen.... The Oxford Outdoor Clock was fabulous... for a year... Then... I guess the hour hand slipped enough to not know was it 10 to 2 or 3...... usually you knew but it wasn't right! Wasn't as designed. More as a lark... My wife called to complain.... and a new one was in the mail that day. Kudo's to the Customer Service Agent and Frontgate as a company. This explains my 18 year customer relationship with them! If only all companies were so mindful! Kudo's to the team. April 7, 2014
Oxford Outdoor Clock & Thermometer This was a gift to my son and his family. They were so pleased with the look and the construction of this outside piece. Hopefully it will withstand outside elements and keep good time and temps. July 21, 2014
Don't use outdoors in the heat! I was so excited to give this clock to my husband for Father's Day. The design was so beautiful. It looked expensive and high quality and was gorgeous hanging on our back patio. Sadly after only one day it was completely destroyed. All of the black raised numerals, dials, and copper piping literally MELTED leaving the clock to resemble a Salvadore Dali painting. I was quite disappointed as the clock was clearly listed as an outdoor clock. I guess it's too hot in The Carolinas for this product. Needless to say I have returned the item. June 27, 2014
Very Lightweight The clock is lovely , keeps good time, and is easy to hang. However , it is so lightweight that even the smallest of blustery winds knocks it off the wall.. I have had to devise a way to anchor it to the wall in more places than just the hook on the back. This is the second one I have bought because the first one got smashed after it fell three or four times. July 8, 2014
Love it! This clock is absolutely beautiful and a great accent to our outdoor area. Highly recommend it! We have had it for over 18 months and it still looks new. July 15, 2014
Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer Best purchase! Can see clock from porch, pool or while gardening. It's reliable and easy to read and attractive. July 16, 2014
Terrific Clock Very stunning appearance and very functional. Seems to be very accurate as long as it is not in direct sunlight. July 14, 2014
Elegant Elegant clock. Fits perfectly on our deck. Can be used indoors or out. Keeps great time and temperature accurate July 14, 2014
Product does not hold up in heat I purchased this clock about 8 months ago, and initially I loved it appearance and reliability. However once the Phoenix summer heat hit, the clock face and dials dramatically warped and it is no longer even close to operational. Also, the clock only has a 90 day guarantee with no manufacturer warranty. I would never buy this product again July 2, 2014
Doesn't Last We bought this clock two years ago to out outside on our house. When it arrived we loved it and it looked beautiful. This is the second season and the clock face is peeling and cracking and the outside perimeter is fading. Not worth the price! July 4, 2014
Too bad it doesn't work I was very satisfied with the clock's appearance upon opening the box. The clocks design and appearance are both impressive - great finish and a perfect "big size" for outdoors. However, after putting the clock up outside, it was very disappointing to find out, almost immediately, that the thermometer didn't work properly. The temperature reading is off about 10 - 15 degrees (too warm) every day. Additionally, on one particularly day the temperature needle somehow pegged itself at the extreme high end, 110 degrees, when it was maybe mid 70's outside. I also suspect the Hygrometer isn't accurate either, although I didn't confirm since I'm returning it due to a faulty thermometer anyway. It is important to note that the clock itself has kept accurate time. Hoping my replacement will work, but not that confident after reading other reviews stating that the thermometer didn't work for them either. September 22, 2012
Good looking, but accurate? I was very excited to receive my clock. I hung the clock outside in the shade by our pool where it is meant to serve as an information source to time & temp. The clock is impressive looking but I am not impressed with the temperature gauge - it is usually off by 8 to 12 degrees. In this modern age of iPhones where the digital temp is a swipe away the thermometer is usually wrong. The other day the news said it was 81, my phone said 81, my clock said 93? This bums me out and make me wonder how accurate the barometer is. I wanted this clock to tell the time outside and know how hot it is without having to check my phone. Overall this is a great looking piece to display but it does not work as I expected it too. Still considering returning it. April 17, 2014
So far so good I have had three clocks on the deck under cover., None lasted more than 6 months (in warm weather). So far. the cock has worked well for foir weeks. July 3, 2014
Second clock odered works great The first clock I ordered did not keep time correctly, the hands all got tangled and would not move, the temp was not correct. Mailed it back at no charge and was sent a second clock which is working just fine and looks beautiful in our backyard patio. June 28, 2014
hanging the clock This is the 3rd clock of this kind I have ordered from Frontgate. It looks beautiful in our outdoor protected patio, and has large enough numbers to tell time from the pool or anywhere on the patio. The first one was distroyed in a tornado. The second, the back peeled up so that the hands on the clock got stuck as they went around the clock. The third has a better design with the plastic Roman Numerals on top of the face of the clock. Unfortunately, the third clock fell off the hanger within an hour of our hanging it, braking the glass and bending the bottom of the clock. We're still using it, but this time, we put a wire across the back and hung it from the wire instead of the hook on the clock. We'll have to replace it again, but hope it will make it through the rest of the summer. I recommend you install a wire across the back to prevent this from happening to other customers. Thanks. July 9, 2012
Oxford Clock Here in Palm Springs, CA, the summer is usually 6-7 months long. I'm amazed that the Oxford Clock is doing so well in the extreme summer heat...present temp 104. It looks amazing hanging on the wall by the spa and pool. June 27, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
(17 Questions : 42 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
7 answers

Rust-proof

It says "weather-resistant". What about rust-resistant?
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dlms is loaded.
Additional information about dlms could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock is made from iron alloy and is weather resistant, including rust.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Its a copper finish in plastic..Not real copper enclosure. The internal mechanisms are all well protected as well from the elements. Only time will tell I guess...:0)
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jeepstanley is loaded.
Additional information about Jeepstanley could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
so far mine has no rust but check back next year and I can say for sure
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Boxerlover19 is loaded.
Additional information about Boxerlover19 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It does not rust.. The Copper color just wears out after a year or so. The Facia separates from the unit, and the thermometer, and the hygrometer stopped working after one year.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
User submitted photo
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
FLorida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Filmhits is loaded.
Additional information about Filmhits could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is sealed pretty well. The only place it could rust would be where the hands come together and/or are connected to the mechanism., and that would only happen over a long period of time. I had many years from a clock similar to this before it got any rust.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KathyL is loaded.
Additional information about KathyL could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would assume it to be rust resistant since it appears to be plastic made to look like copper. I don't know how it would hold up if exposed to direct rain, but I think it would be okay on a covered porch like ours.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
midwest
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cool is loaded.
Additional information about cool could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, it is not rust-proof.

This type of material is generally quite susceptible to rusting in damp or humid climates.

Rust will quickly deverlope if this clock is scratched or chipped in any manner.

The inside bottom lip is the first place that you should expect rust to start developing if water can get behind your clock.

Rust can be slowed by annual respraying of a clear coat spray paint such as Rustoleum (either gloss or satin). With annual respraying, the closck should last five or more years.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Foodie is loaded.
Additional information about Foodie could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KarenMTX is loaded.
Additional information about KarenMTX could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Can't access it, but it is definitely not paper - it appears to be hard plastic. We've had ours hanging outside on a semi-covered porch for the past month and it's working great (in spite of all the rain we've been getting)!
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MAofVA is loaded.
Additional information about MAofVA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Paper like material- Could be plastic.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
User submitted photo
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
FLorida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Filmhits is loaded.
Additional information about Filmhits could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. The face of the clock is made of plastic.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is not paper. It is a thick plastic.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KathyL is loaded.
Additional information about KathyL could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Glass
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Longport, NJ, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mianina is loaded.
Additional information about mianina could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I believe it is a thin aluminum
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Katc is loaded.
Additional information about Katc could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mrabysbaby is loaded.
Additional information about mrabysbaby could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We used a stainless steel L-shaped screw with an anchor. Worked great!
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MAofVA is loaded.
Additional information about MAofVA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
After drilling the hole in the masonry we inserted a screw anchor for stability and strength. The clock is very secure and designed to sit on the screw and after pulling down on the clock a bit it locks into place.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
California
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Carolynn98 is loaded.
Additional information about Carolynn98 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I hung the clock on hardiplank siding and I just used a screw that I found in our toolbox.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Iowa, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Olson is loaded.
Additional information about Olson could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Our outdoor wall is made of stucco, so I used a small drill bit to put a beginning hole in the wall, then hammered in a concrete nail with a head wide enough to fit the holder on the back of the clock. Worked very well.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dbhsubpar is loaded.
Additional information about dbhsubpar could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
We used a masonary screw, no hanger needed.
My husband used a drill to put the screw in the wall.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jules18 is loaded.
Additional information about Jules18 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
masonry screw in an appropriate anchor
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Grosse Pointe, MI, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lorenk01 is loaded.
Additional information about lorenk01 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
6 answers

How is the time set?

I currently have an outdoor clock like this that I would like to replace. It has a feature that allows it to "self-set" the time via radio frequency. How is the time set on this clock?
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Dallas TX
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cnk0203 is loaded.
Additional information about cnk0203 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock does not "self-set". It features a knob which allows you to manually set the time.
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is battery operated with a little wheel you manually rotate to set the clock.
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about HouseProud is loaded.
Additional information about HouseProud could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I have only had it for a few weeks, it is not radio controlled, you manually set it. I have the radio controlled one and it never worked properly.
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PlanoTexasHomeowner is loaded.
Additional information about PlanoTexasHomeowner could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Set time with dial on back. Unit with dial has cover so it is protected.
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about VYinLA is loaded.
Additional information about VYinLA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Manually on the back. It does have an screw on lid to keep out the weather and dust/grime.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
La Quinta, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Rando is loaded.
Additional information about Rando could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
This clock is not a self-set clock, you have to set the time manually.
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mariea11en is loaded.
Additional information about Mariea11en could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Obviously this clock should be able to be used indoor as well as outdoor & have much better longevity indoors. That is what I purchased it for & I hope it is effective indoors.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Ashland, OR
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about kstacy52 is loaded.
Additional information about kstacy52 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock is listed as an outdoor clock because it is made to be able to withstand exposure to the elements. Although listed for outdoor use, this item can be used indoors just as well. We apologize for any confusion.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is no reason you can't use this indoors. I think it probably goes without specifically saying that if it's durable outdoors it'd be durable indoors.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Virginia Beach, VA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GardenMarcia is loaded.
Additional information about GardenMarcia could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It could be because of the large size of the clock. I don't see why it wouldn't be just as great for inside as outside.
I would just make sure you have a good size wall to hang it on so it doesn't overwelm the wall or anything else displayed on the same wall.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
The Woodlands, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Dlyon is loaded.
Additional information about Dlyon could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
They suggest outdoor in a covered area. Mine is not under cover. No severe weather where I live so not an issue.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about VYinLA is loaded.
Additional information about VYinLA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We bought this clock to use indoors. We replaced an indoor/outdoor clock which was also from Frontgate. This clock looks great indoors and it will probably last longer since it is indoors.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
TEXAS
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mombomb is loaded.
Additional information about Mombomb could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:49685-Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???