Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Outdoor Living
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer 4.4 5 457 484
Doesn't Last We bought this clock two years ago to out outside on our house. When it arrived we loved it and it looked beautiful. This is the second season and the clock face is peeling and cracking and the outside perimeter is fading. Not worth the price! July 4, 2014
Second clock odered works great The first clock I ordered did not keep time correctly, the hands all got tangled and would not move, the temp was not correct. Mailed it back at no charge and was sent a second clock which is working just fine and looks beautiful in our backyard patio. June 28, 2014
So far so good I have had three clocks on the deck under cover., None lasted more than 6 months (in warm weather). So far. the cock has worked well for foir weeks. July 3, 2014
Oxford Clock Here in Palm Springs, CA, the summer is usually 6-7 months long. I'm amazed that the Oxford Clock is doing so well in the extreme summer heat...present temp 104. It looks amazing hanging on the wall by the spa and pool. June 27, 2014
Nice looking outdoor clock I bought this clock for use on our deck and liked it so much, it's hanging in our family room. Time, temperature and humidity dials are included. The clock frame does not look like real copper, tho' it still looks good. Maybe it will go outside next year, our climate can be pretty rough in WI and we don't have a protected place to hang the clock. June 12, 2014
Looks Great We love the look of the clock and it keeps accurate time. We are really happy with our purchase. June 26, 2014
Not real happy with this purchase Great looking product, but very disappointing! The temperature and humidity readings were highly inaccurate right from the start. Now, the clock is falling behind by an hour a week. Wishing I had taken time to read some of the reviews for patterns of dissatisfaction. I didn't. So, my fault. December 11, 2013
Very Attractive! Although the summer season is over and winter is almost here, I wanted this for my outdoor patio. Reading the reviews re the best way to hang this, a friend of mine used 3 masonry screws to screw into the mortar part of my brick home - 2 for the top and 1 on the bottom. Besides adding wire from side to side on the clock. The clock fits snuggly against my home and excess wire was applied to the center wire on the clock to hang down to wind around the bottom screw. This really secures the clock to the wall. Neither the temp or the humidity gauges are correct, but I really don't care. They add to the beauty of the clock, which I like. And the time is correct. The faulty gauges is the only reason I gave it 4 stars vs 5. Unsure if I will keep this outside in the winter, but, still, would recommend. November 18, 2013
So wonderful! I love this clock. It has an elegant style, good readability and all the news you can use! I don't know how to calibrate the humidity and it seems off somehow. Though the instructions tell you how to calibrate it with an instrument I (and most people) don't have, so I have to just trust it. June 9, 2014
Worth every penny! When I found this clock, I thought it was beautiful but expensive! Then I realized how large it is. We have it hanging on a wall on our covered porch. The size is ideal and you can even see the time from our in-ground pool. It's perfect! June 12, 2014
Nice Piece Overall quite pleased with the Oxford combination clock/thermometer; looks very nice on the wall of screened in back porch, Installation was a challenge from the standpoint of finding the appropriate hanger to use for brick. Since the slot on the back is recessed you need a substantial hanger that can be bent out to secure the clock. It would have been helpful to include more instructions on handing techniques for various materials (brick, siding, etc.) The last thing you want is to find it laying broken on the ground. We do recommend the product just need more suggestions for proper installation. April 20, 2014
Love this clock This clock is beautfiul and looks wonderful on our outdoor patio. June 17, 2014
Impressive Clock! Wow! This beautiful outdoor clock with thermometer is more impressive in person than in the catalog! Its not only a utilitarian piece for our outdoor entertaining area, its also well built and looks great. Thank you, Front Gate, for always keeping your standards in quality and style high on your priorty list! We love it! October 16, 2013
Great outdoor clock! great looking, well made clock and easy to see from distances! worth the money! June 11, 2014
Oxford Outdoor Clock A bit larger than I thought but gorgeous, functional and a piece of art for my outdoor space. Highly recommended. Be sure to place it where it is not in direct sunlight. June 6, 2014
Oxford Outdoor Clock Love it. Excellent quality and at a great price on sale. Also free shipping on the purchase! June 7, 2014
Perfect! This clock is large and works perfectly on the covered patio. It is positioned over an oversized planter so it does not compete with the wall mounted television. It makes a statement all it's own...the color is soft and blends beautifully. May 27, 2014
Nice and Sturdy This is a really nice clock. It turned out to be larger than I expected, but it's beautiful. May 29, 2014
Great Compnay A Christmas present not powered up till Spring when the two hands collided. Frontgate replaced it even though four months had elapsed. Great company to deal with. Unlike most, clock was hung from a sign bracket and vent holes drilled on the mounting board give good temp and humidity readings. I'm happy with it. May 14, 2014
Oxford Outdoor Clock Review I have only had this clock for a few weeks but it is great looking & accurately measures time, humidity and temperature. My only criticism is that the previous model featured an atomic clock movement. Since there is little difference in the cost of atomic and quartz movements, I don't understand this decision. May 13, 2014
Great clock for the patio Just received the "well packaged clock" and had my husband hang it on a stucco wall in our patio area. It looks great on the wall. I was looking for a large clock/decorative piece and this was perfect. It is large enough that you can read the time from a distance. Documentation regarding the hanging of the clock, thermometer and hygrometer instruments was helpful. October 5, 2012
The clock that stops I have mounted this clock outdoors and it continues to give me trouble. Despite the fact that I"ve changed batteries twice, it stops running after a few days. This is a pain in the neck because I need a ladder to take it down and get it running again. The clock is attractive but the poor quality of the clock mechanism has given me buyers remorse. December 7, 2012
Great clock Bought this clock as a replacement for another Frontgate clock that bit the dust after 5 years. Much heavier construction than the last. Looks and works great. For those complaining about the thermometer calibration, a simple twist of the thermometer housing on the back solves the problem. Just calibrate with a good old fashioned mercury style. November 11, 2012
Partially works The clock is nice but the thermometer does not work if near sunlight. Thus, it is a bad product since it is meant for outdoors but is really an indoor product. Front gate should not sell n inferior product such as this. July 3, 2013
Nice Outdoor Clock Impressive size and look. Looks like a quality item. Hope it endures the weather better than cheaper imitations (not from Frontgate) I have tried in the past. I would have preferred Arabic numbers but still it's a very nice outdoor clock that I can easily see from the far corners of my deck. May 9, 2014
Excellent Product This is an excellent product. I purchased this as a replacement for a no longer working outside clock. The craftsmanship is outstanding, it is very classy looking and I was impressed that the hydrometer and thermometer were calibrated prior to shipment. I have check and as long as the clock is not in direct sunlight, they remain very accurate. The clock has not lost or gained time in the past 3 weeks since installation. April 23, 2014
Beautiful if it worked Beautiful clock, just wish it worked. Maybe 3rd time is a charm. Really expected higher quality product and some quality control from Frontgate. Have had 2 clocks that won't keep time, we are trying a 3rd because I really do want the clock, it's beautiful. Just hoping it works! September 25, 2012
Enjoy seeing it each day! Looks great on the side of our brick garage, facing our outdoor patio area. Works great, looks great. I also was a good value for the money spent. It very accurately measures the time, temp, and humidity. May 12, 2014
Impressive clarity Lightweight, large, with easy to read sundials for temp and humidity (in addition to large face for time). We have outside on patio wall. Very happy. I thought the frame would be more substantial but it's not an issue--if anything made it easier to hang. December 13, 2012
Classy Clock This clock is even more beautiful in person than in the catalog! May 20, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
(17 Questions : 42 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
7 answers

Rust-proof

It says "weather-resistant". What about rust-resistant?
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dlms is loaded.
Additional information about dlms could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock is made from iron alloy and is weather resistant, including rust.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Its a copper finish in plastic..Not real copper enclosure. The internal mechanisms are all well protected as well from the elements. Only time will tell I guess...:0)
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jeepstanley is loaded.
Additional information about Jeepstanley could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
so far mine has no rust but check back next year and I can say for sure
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Boxerlover19 is loaded.
Additional information about Boxerlover19 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It does not rust.. The Copper color just wears out after a year or so. The Facia separates from the unit, and the thermometer, and the hygrometer stopped working after one year.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
User submitted photo
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
FLorida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Filmhits is loaded.
Additional information about Filmhits could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is sealed pretty well. The only place it could rust would be where the hands come together and/or are connected to the mechanism., and that would only happen over a long period of time. I had many years from a clock similar to this before it got any rust.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KathyL is loaded.
Additional information about KathyL could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would assume it to be rust resistant since it appears to be plastic made to look like copper. I don't know how it would hold up if exposed to direct rain, but I think it would be okay on a covered porch like ours.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
midwest
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cool is loaded.
Additional information about cool could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, it is not rust-proof.

This type of material is generally quite susceptible to rusting in damp or humid climates.

Rust will quickly deverlope if this clock is scratched or chipped in any manner.

The inside bottom lip is the first place that you should expect rust to start developing if water can get behind your clock.

Rust can be slowed by annual respraying of a clear coat spray paint such as Rustoleum (either gloss or satin). With annual respraying, the closck should last five or more years.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Foodie is loaded.
Additional information about Foodie could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KarenMTX is loaded.
Additional information about KarenMTX could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Can't access it, but it is definitely not paper - it appears to be hard plastic. We've had ours hanging outside on a semi-covered porch for the past month and it's working great (in spite of all the rain we've been getting)!
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MAofVA is loaded.
Additional information about MAofVA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Paper like material- Could be plastic.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
User submitted photo
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
FLorida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Filmhits is loaded.
Additional information about Filmhits could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. The face of the clock is made of plastic.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is not paper. It is a thick plastic.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KathyL is loaded.
Additional information about KathyL could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Glass
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Longport, NJ, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mianina is loaded.
Additional information about mianina could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I believe it is a thin aluminum
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Katc is loaded.
Additional information about Katc could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mrabysbaby is loaded.
Additional information about mrabysbaby could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We used a stainless steel L-shaped screw with an anchor. Worked great!
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MAofVA is loaded.
Additional information about MAofVA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
After drilling the hole in the masonry we inserted a screw anchor for stability and strength. The clock is very secure and designed to sit on the screw and after pulling down on the clock a bit it locks into place.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Carolynn98 is loaded.
Additional information about Carolynn98 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I hung the clock on hardiplank siding and I just used a screw that I found in our toolbox.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Iowa, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Olson is loaded.
Additional information about Olson could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Our outdoor wall is made of stucco, so I used a small drill bit to put a beginning hole in the wall, then hammered in a concrete nail with a head wide enough to fit the holder on the back of the clock. Worked very well.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dbhsubpar is loaded.
Additional information about dbhsubpar could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
We used a masonary screw, no hanger needed.
My husband used a drill to put the screw in the wall.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jules18 is loaded.
Additional information about Jules18 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
masonry screw in an appropriate anchor
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Grosse Pointe, MI, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lorenk01 is loaded.
Additional information about lorenk01 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
6 answers

How is the time set?

I currently have an outdoor clock like this that I would like to replace. It has a feature that allows it to "self-set" the time via radio frequency. How is the time set on this clock?
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Dallas TX
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cnk0203 is loaded.
Additional information about cnk0203 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock does not "self-set". It features a knob which allows you to manually set the time.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is battery operated with a little wheel you manually rotate to set the clock.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about HouseProud is loaded.
Additional information about HouseProud could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I have only had it for a few weeks, it is not radio controlled, you manually set it. I have the radio controlled one and it never worked properly.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PlanoTexasHomeowner is loaded.
Additional information about PlanoTexasHomeowner could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Set time with dial on back. Unit with dial has cover so it is protected.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about VYinLA is loaded.
Additional information about VYinLA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Manually on the back. It does have an screw on lid to keep out the weather and dust/grime.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
La Quinta, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Rando is loaded.
Additional information about Rando could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
This clock is not a self-set clock, you have to set the time manually.
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mariea11en is loaded.
Additional information about Mariea11en could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Obviously this clock should be able to be used indoor as well as outdoor & have much better longevity indoors. That is what I purchased it for & I hope it is effective indoors.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Ashland, OR
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about kstacy52 is loaded.
Additional information about kstacy52 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock is listed as an outdoor clock because it is made to be able to withstand exposure to the elements. Although listed for outdoor use, this item can be used indoors just as well. We apologize for any confusion.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is no reason you can't use this indoors. I think it probably goes without specifically saying that if it's durable outdoors it'd be durable indoors.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Virginia Beach, VA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GardenMarcia is loaded.
Additional information about GardenMarcia could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It could be because of the large size of the clock. I don't see why it wouldn't be just as great for inside as outside.
I would just make sure you have a good size wall to hang it on so it doesn't overwelm the wall or anything else displayed on the same wall.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
The Woodlands, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Dlyon is loaded.
Additional information about Dlyon could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
They suggest outdoor in a covered area. Mine is not under cover. No severe weather where I live so not an issue.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about VYinLA is loaded.
Additional information about VYinLA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We bought this clock to use indoors. We replaced an indoor/outdoor clock which was also from Frontgate. This clock looks great indoors and it will probably last longer since it is indoors.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
TEXAS
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mombomb is loaded.
Additional information about Mombomb could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:49685-Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???