GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
1
5
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Outdoor Living
Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Frontgate
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer 4.4 5 442 468
outdoor clock item#49685 Purchased 2 of this item. One was shipped as a gift. Both clocks are not calibrating to local weather despite the fact they are located in 2 different areas. Have tried to adjust several times according to instructions to no avail. January 3, 2014
Great design problem with recording temp and humidity. Even after several adjustments, still having problem with both. If "close is good enough" then this is ok. January 8, 2014
Wonderful Clock! Gorgeous, very substantial outdoor clock - a really stunning piece and well made. Looks great on my outdoor fireplace - so far love it! January 8, 2014
Wonderful Garden Clock The Oxford Clock was a Christmas present for my husband. He loves it. It really adds to the charm of our backyard. The brass finish and Roman Numerals are perfect. January 3, 2014
Good Looking Clock I love the look of this clock and the time is very accurate. However, I can't figure out how to adjust the temperature. Since I live in Hawaii, it isn't critical. My son is getting the same clock as a gift and perhaps he will be able to figure it out. December 24, 2013
Christmas gift Very happy once again with the quality of the product. Made well and looked just like the picture. I gave this to my boss for Christmas and she loved it! January 3, 2014
Oxford Clock the clock was delivered promptly and came packaged well. Quality looks good and should be a good addition to our patio. There is one major concern which is the humidity dial comes in contact with the gold band below the numbers. This was present when we opened the box but was not sure if that was how it was made. Possibly due to this issue the Humidity gauge does not always work. we thought we would keep it for a while to test if this was normal or a problem. Maybe someone from technical services could let me know if this is a issue. thanks October 7, 2013
outdoor clock Purchased for a gift that was well received. Hoping it works as well as it looks. January 6, 2014
Gorgeous by the Pool This clock hangs on the wall of our house near the swimming pool. The finish is outstanding and really gives and elegant look. The hour hand lost time, but Frontgate promptly replaced with no hassles. In the winter, it hangs in my office. Note: If you place it in the sun, understand that your temperature readings are going to significantly higher than the actual temperature. November 27, 2013
Nice purchase The clock is sturdy and durable for the outdoors by the pool. It is big and looks nice. January 1, 2014
oxford outdoor clock I've had been looking for this a long time. It's the perfect size (friends stay way past 2am when visiting because they say they didn't realize what time it was). Now they'll have to notice! December 20, 2013
Great Gift A friend purchased this Outdoor Clock for her husband and it looked wonderful on the wall near their pool patio. I live in Ohio so no patio with pool, but this is a Christmas gift for my husband and I'm sure he'll love it on our back patio! It's beautiful! December 7, 2013
Nice addition to my lanai This clock is larger than the one it is replacing but I like the new size. The numerals are legible from the pool so I know how much longer I have to keep exercising! (It used to be easier just to say "that's enough"). I hope the copper finish lasts a good long time. December 5, 2013
QUALITY plus! COPPER clock for outdoor use. This clock is great! Even better than the pictures are able to detail... the background white is BRIGHT and contrasts nicely with the crisp, large black numerals. So far, the hygrometer(?) and thermometer seem pretty accurate, too. It is a LARGE clock -so it is able to be easily read from across the pool- has a clean, CLASSY look to it, thanks to the right combination of copper, black and white, with the Roman numerals overlaid on the face (not stamped or printed on paper). All of this is behind GLASS, too, not plastic. Though it is on the heavy side, if you can mount it securely, the weight I see as a plus. You really can't go wrong - especially with the sale pricing offered. September 5, 2012
Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermomenter Great appearance but we got it as a cold front came in and the thermometer & barometer haven't been close to accurate. We are going to try an adjustment when the weather gets better but it's not a real good first impression. December 6, 2013
love it had to adjust the temperature gauge to get an accurate reading. December 20, 2013
Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer The photo of this clock does not do it justice--it is absolutely beautiful and much larger than I expected! The outside is a lovely soft bronze and I am matching that color for the trim on my house. My house was recently painted and it is a very basic ranch style but when I put the clock on the outside it doesn't look basic anymore! I have reset the humidity and temperature to correspond to the Portland, Oregon, settings but that has been very easy. I was slightly reluctant to spend this much on a clock/thermometer but it was so worth it. August 20, 2013
Really nice outdoor clock The copper outdoor clock and thermometer is large and looks great on our used brick on the patio. We can see it form the indoors and when outside. We both really like it, highly recommend it! December 3, 2013
Clock We chose the Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer to accent our outdoor furniture. It fulfills our expectations. The clock is a quality product and we are happy with this purchase. December 3, 2013
Nice Looking Just as some other reviews have said, it keeps good time and is really nice looking but I wouldn't put much stock in the temperature or humidity. December 2, 2013
So far so good I'm not sure whether a review after only having the clock 2 - 3 weeks is meaningful, but I can say that it is very attractive and very easy to read even from a distance. The time and humidity readings both seem to be accurate. There is a period of time however, where the clock does get some direct sunlight -- I have not noticed any fading yet, however, it dramatically affects the temperature reading when this happens. October 7, 2013
The Oxford Outdoor Clock When I first seen this clock in your magazine - I fell in love with it. I was looking for an elegant large wall clock - a clock that really stands out - especially for my kitchen. I ordered this clock and when my husband and I received it, we were amazed at how beautiful this clock looked - too beautiful for the outdoors. The clock looked better than pictured in your magazine. The copper on the clock matches the copper in the tile in my kitchen. I wish you would offer more clocks in different styles. August 28, 2013
Love the clock I love this clock! It's really pretty and looks great in our outdoor kitchen. The face is clear and it's easy to read. The color is exactly what I had expected. I read other reviews before I purchased it and others commented that the thermometer didn't work, and I have to say I've encountered the same issue. The thermometer reads about 10 degrees low. But I didn't buy it for the thermometer, so for me, it's not that big of a deal. The clock seems to be keeping good time and that's what's important to me. August 21, 2013
The Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer This review is from the online shopper wife...I purchased the clock due to price (on sale) looks, and hopefully the ability to keep time, and be seen in the yard! WOW was I surprised at how big it was, how beautiful it works, and how nice it looks in my yard! Thank you for a great time piece! I am very happy with it. My husband thought it was over kill, but now I can garden and SEE it! Thanks again! October 2, 2013
Great customer service exchanges and returns were easily accomplished. Very friendly and helpful phone staff We love the idea of this clock,thermometer. The thermometer is not quite accurate however. We tried two clocks and got the same result but we love the look of it and can live with the inexactness of the thermometer. October 23, 2013
Nearly Perfect I would have given this clock 5*, however, the temp readings are always off by 10*. It keeps great time and it looks absolutely beautiful. November 19, 2013
Beautiful...But won't keep time! I absolutely love the appearance of the clock. It was larger and more impressive out of the box than I had imagined from seeing it online. It looks great hanging on a brick wall in my deck area. However, the mechanism simply will not keep accurate time. When the temps drop below freezing the clock simply stops. When daytime temps are in the 50's or 60's with overnight lows in the 40's it is off by 5 or 10 minutes every few days. I am constantly having to take it down, open the back, and reset the time. It's a real shame that such a beautiful clock contains such a cheap, unreliable actual clock mechanism. January 6, 2013
Gorgeous clock that makes a statement We had not heard of Frontgate until our special friends gave us a gift certificate as an extremely generous house warming gift. When I saw this Oxford Outdoor clock I fell in love with it. After placing our order we were surprised at how quickly we received it. The clock actually exceeded our expectations. My husband was thrilled when he saw it. It is gorgeous, light weight and easy to hang. It has been keeping excellent time, humidity and temperature. Anyone that comes in our backyard notices it and comments on how beautiful it looks. June 12, 2013
Loved the Clock The clock was as advertised. Very nice looking and great quality as usual from Frontgate. November 20, 2013
Nice Looking Outdoor Clock Like the large size - 24". Like the color and the look of it. Appears to be accurate, except for the temperature -it is stuck on 60 degrees. Need to remove it from the wall and reset it - see if that corrects the problem. Shipping was quick. October 29, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 16 next>>
(17 Questions : 42 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
7 answers

Rust-proof

It says "weather-resistant". What about rust-resistant?
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dlms is loaded.
Additional information about dlms could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock is made from iron alloy and is weather resistant, including rust.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Its a copper finish in plastic..Not real copper enclosure. The internal mechanisms are all well protected as well from the elements. Only time will tell I guess...:0)
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jeepstanley is loaded.
Additional information about Jeepstanley could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
so far mine has no rust but check back next year and I can say for sure
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Boxerlover19 is loaded.
Additional information about Boxerlover19 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is sealed pretty well. The only place it could rust would be where the hands come together and/or are connected to the mechanism., and that would only happen over a long period of time. I had many years from a clock similar to this before it got any rust.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KathyL is loaded.
Additional information about KathyL could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would assume it to be rust resistant since it appears to be plastic made to look like copper. I don't know how it would hold up if exposed to direct rain, but I think it would be okay on a covered porch like ours.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
midwest
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cool is loaded.
Additional information about cool could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It does not rust.. The Copper color just wears out after a year or so. The Facia separates from the unit, and the thermometer, and the hygrometer stopped working after one year.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
User submitted photo
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
FLorida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Filmhits is loaded.
Additional information about Filmhits could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, it is not rust-proof.

This type of material is generally quite susceptible to rusting in damp or humid climates.

Rust will quickly deverlope if this clock is scratched or chipped in any manner.

The inside bottom lip is the first place that you should expect rust to start developing if water can get behind your clock.

Rust can be slowed by annual respraying of a clear coat spray paint such as Rustoleum (either gloss or satin). With annual respraying, the closck should last five or more years.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Foodie is loaded.
Additional information about Foodie could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KarenMTX is loaded.
Additional information about KarenMTX could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Can't access it, but it is definitely not paper - it appears to be hard plastic. We've had ours hanging outside on a semi-covered porch for the past month and it's working great (in spite of all the rain we've been getting)!
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MAofVA is loaded.
Additional information about MAofVA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Paper like material- Could be plastic.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
User submitted photo
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
FLorida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Filmhits is loaded.
Additional information about Filmhits could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. The face of the clock is made of plastic.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is not paper. It is a thick plastic.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KathyL is loaded.
Additional information about KathyL could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Glass
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Longport, NJ, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mianina is loaded.
Additional information about mianina could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I believe it is a thin aluminum
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Katc is loaded.
Additional information about Katc could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mrabysbaby is loaded.
Additional information about mrabysbaby could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We used a stainless steel L-shaped screw with an anchor. Worked great!
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MAofVA is loaded.
Additional information about MAofVA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
After drilling the hole in the masonry we inserted a screw anchor for stability and strength. The clock is very secure and designed to sit on the screw and after pulling down on the clock a bit it locks into place.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Carolynn98 is loaded.
Additional information about Carolynn98 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I hung the clock on hardiplank siding and I just used a screw that I found in our toolbox.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Iowa, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Olson is loaded.
Additional information about Olson could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Our outdoor wall is made of stucco, so I used a small drill bit to put a beginning hole in the wall, then hammered in a concrete nail with a head wide enough to fit the holder on the back of the clock. Worked very well.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dbhsubpar is loaded.
Additional information about dbhsubpar could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
We used a masonary screw, no hanger needed.
My husband used a drill to put the screw in the wall.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jules18 is loaded.
Additional information about Jules18 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
masonry screw in an appropriate anchor
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Grosse Pointe, MI, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lorenk01 is loaded.
Additional information about lorenk01 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
6 answers

How is the time set?

I currently have an outdoor clock like this that I would like to replace. It has a feature that allows it to "self-set" the time via radio frequency. How is the time set on this clock?
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Dallas TX
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cnk0203 is loaded.
Additional information about cnk0203 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock does not "self-set". It features a knob which allows you to manually set the time.
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is battery operated with a little wheel you manually rotate to set the clock.
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about HouseProud is loaded.
Additional information about HouseProud could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I have only had it for a few weeks, it is not radio controlled, you manually set it. I have the radio controlled one and it never worked properly.
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PlanoTexasHomeowner is loaded.
Additional information about PlanoTexasHomeowner could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Set time with dial on back. Unit with dial has cover so it is protected.
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about VYinLA is loaded.
Additional information about VYinLA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Manually on the back. It does have an screw on lid to keep out the weather and dust/grime.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
1 year, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
La Quinta, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Rando is loaded.
Additional information about Rando could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
This clock is not a self-set clock, you have to set the time manually.
1 year, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mariea11en is loaded.
Additional information about Mariea11en could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Obviously this clock should be able to be used indoor as well as outdoor & have much better longevity indoors. That is what I purchased it for & I hope it is effective indoors.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Ashland, OR
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about kstacy52 is loaded.
Additional information about kstacy52 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock is listed as an outdoor clock because it is made to be able to withstand exposure to the elements. Although listed for outdoor use, this item can be used indoors just as well. We apologize for any confusion.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is no reason you can't use this indoors. I think it probably goes without specifically saying that if it's durable outdoors it'd be durable indoors.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Virginia Beach, VA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GardenMarcia is loaded.
Additional information about GardenMarcia could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It could be because of the large size of the clock. I don't see why it wouldn't be just as great for inside as outside.
I would just make sure you have a good size wall to hang it on so it doesn't overwelm the wall or anything else displayed on the same wall.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
The Woodlands, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Dlyon is loaded.
Additional information about Dlyon could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
They suggest outdoor in a covered area. Mine is not under cover. No severe weather where I live so not an issue.
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about VYinLA is loaded.
Additional information about VYinLA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We bought this clock to use indoors. We replaced an indoor/outdoor clock which was also from Frontgate. This clock looks great indoors and it will probably last longer since it is indoors.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
TEXAS
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mombomb is loaded.
Additional information about Mombomb could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:49685-Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer
0