Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Outdoor Living
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer 4.4 5 458 485
Oxford Clock The clock and humidity dials work fine, but the temperature is off by about 10 degrees. Per other reviews, this seems like a common thing. Frontgate needs to get with manufacture to fix this problem. January 6, 2014
An attractive addition to our lanai This replaced a similar Front Gate that stopped working after about eight years. However, this one is more attractive and cost less. The old one had a radio clock that never worked. Removing that feature was no loss. Time and temp are accurate, humidity is reading low, but that can be adjusted. Some have complained that the instructions say not to hang it in the sun. You can hang it in the sun. Just don't expect the temp and humidity to read correctly when the sun is shinning on them. It's a beautiful clock. I am very happy. July 7, 2012
Stylish Clock Love the way this item helps to show off our patio area. January 28, 2014
The Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer This review is from the online shopper wife...I purchased the clock due to price (on sale) looks, and hopefully the ability to keep time, and be seen in the yard! WOW was I surprised at how big it was, how beautiful it works, and how nice it looks in my yard! Thank you for a great time piece! I am very happy with it. My husband thought it was over kill, but now I can garden and SEE it! Thanks again! October 2, 2013
Glad I bought it! I love my Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer! I searched high and low for one to go on my screen porch. I choose this one based on the great reviews and the fact that it had all in one: clock, thermometer and barometer. The first clock I got stopped working and the minute hand got hung on the temperture hand. I exchanged it for a new one using the handy return label. The new one works like a dream! It's an elegant clock that looks classy and functions perfectly. I'm so glad I bought it and definitely recommend it! August 28, 2012
Great design problem with recording temp and humidity. Even after several adjustments, still having problem with both. If "close is good enough" then this is ok. January 8, 2014
Nice addition to my lanai This clock is larger than the one it is replacing but I like the new size. The numerals are legible from the pool so I know how much longer I have to keep exercising! (It used to be easier just to say "that's enough"). I hope the copper finish lasts a good long time. December 5, 2013
Wonderful Garden Clock The Oxford Clock was a Christmas present for my husband. He loves it. It really adds to the charm of our backyard. The brass finish and Roman Numerals are perfect. January 3, 2014
Outdoor Clock is Great The clock looks good and it makes my old wooden shed next to my outdoor patio look sophisticated old rather than just an old shed. Just the right size, not too small so it makes a statement, not to big to overwhelm the shed. Perfect size. Tells good time and bronze color and brushed metal look is exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for offering such a good product. I ordered the four stacking chairs next. Waiting for them to arrive, all for a wedding shower coming up! June 7, 2013
Wonderful Clock! Gorgeous, very substantial outdoor clock - a really stunning piece and well made. Looks great on my outdoor fireplace - so far love it! January 8, 2014
Great Clock I purchased this clock to replace the old outdoor clock that finally gave up!! I had purchased the previous from Frontgate as well, their products are always top of the line. The previous clock had the "atomic" self calibrating feature which was nice. I never had to take it down to reset it. Frontgate did not seem to have that available any longer so I went with this one. I live out on a ranch and I can see this clock from a distance and it is very attractive out by the pool and cabana area. March 25, 2013
Beautiful Porch Addition I was initially concerned about some of the negative reviews I read about this clock (clock hands getting stuck to humidity needle, temps way off, time way off) but I have had nothing but perfection from my clock. No problems, is beautiful, classy, and well made, and a great addition to the brick wall on my porch. Time, temp, and humidity is right on target. I couldn't be more pleased with this purchase. Arrived quickly and very well packed to prevent any damage. Highly recommend this product. March 14, 2013
Great Gift A friend purchased this Outdoor Clock for her husband and it looked wonderful on the wall near their pool patio. I live in Ohio so no patio with pool, but this is a Christmas gift for my husband and I'm sure he'll love it on our back patio! It's beautiful! December 7, 2013
Christmas gift Very happy once again with the quality of the product. Made well and looked just like the picture. I gave this to my boss for Christmas and she loved it! January 3, 2014
Beat My Expectations! I have been looking for a combination clock/thermometer for our patio all summer. When I saw this in the catalog, I liked it enough to try it. I like it so much more now that it's hanging on the house! This clock is well made and looks very nice -- not cheap looking at all. I wish there were some other coordinating pieces to go with it for the patio! I am very pleased with everything about this purchase. Try it - you won't be disappointed! July 24, 2013
Looks great - just one small problem LOVE the appearance of this clock! Super attractive and easy to read. My only issue was that the humidity "hand" was slightly bent, which kept the hour and minute hands from rotating fully around the face. Unfortunately I had to take the entire back off the clock, unscrew the mounting plate, and 'bend' that pointer into place. In doing so I had to break the seal of the glass face, but.... it's been keeping great time and thankfully staying dry since I put it back together. I'm keeping my figures crossed... August 8, 2012
oxford outdoor clock I've had been looking for this a long time. It's the perfect size (friends stay way past 2am when visiting because they say they didn't realize what time it was). Now they'll have to notice! December 20, 2013
Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermomenter Great appearance but we got it as a cold front came in and the thermometer & barometer haven't been close to accurate. We are going to try an adjustment when the weather gets better but it's not a real good first impression. December 6, 2013
Not as good as the previous model Purchasedl similar clock two years ago, but left it out all winter and the face curled and became unreadable. Purchased this later model last month and have been using it since. I have it hung on my lake home with the intent of seeing the time from the lake. the design makes it almost unreadable from a distance. Did not have this problem with the previous model which had a cleaner clock face. September 2, 2013
outdoor clock Purchased for a gift that was well received. Hoping it works as well as it looks. January 6, 2014
Beautiful appearance! Great to look at and appears to be a real quality piece. While the clock timing is very accurate, the temperature dial is not. Always seems to vary by at least 6 degrees too low. But the clock is so pretty that we decided to keep it knowing we cannot depend on it for accuracy regarding the temperature reading. That is the only disappointment in an otherwise beautiful piece. September 12, 2013
Clock Looks Great on Our Patio Purchased this clock a few weeks ago. It makes a great addition to our patio/deck. The clock looks great and seems to be working fine. The directions for hanging the cloack recommend not to be placed in direct sunlight. Unfortunatley for us that is not possible as we get direct morning sun. Love the fact that I can now see what the time is while floating in the pool. Since we live in the New England my plan is to bring the clock in for the Winter and return to the patio/deck in the spring. July 28, 2012
Nice purchase The clock is sturdy and durable for the outdoors by the pool. It is big and looks nice. January 1, 2014
Expected more We were pleased at how quickly the clock arrived and were excited to hang it up. It was when we set the time that we found the arms would not move past a certain point, in either direction, because each arm was bent. We had to dismantle the ENTIRE clock - no easy feat - to correct this issue. It was disappointing that we had to do this considering how much we paid. We expected a little more heavy duty materials for the price of the clock, but it does the job. March 27, 2013
Beautiful Addition We placed our new Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer in our newly redone back yard. It looks beautiful! It is an enhancement to our property. More importantly, it is completely functional. The time, temperature, and humidity dials are easily read from anywhere in the yard, as well as from the house. Very pretty piece. Copper finish really sets this piece off! September 14, 2013
Great customer service exchanges and returns were easily accomplished. Very friendly and helpful phone staff We love the idea of this clock,thermometer. The thermometer is not quite accurate however. We tried two clocks and got the same result but we love the look of it and can live with the inexactness of the thermometer. October 23, 2013
I love looking at this clock Set it up a couple of weeks ago on our patio wall. Now I can see it from our kitchen window and enjoy reading the time from this instead of our kitchen clock. Very impressive in appearance; temperature and humidity scales are close enough for government work which is to say that they are not meant to be used on the Weather Channel. So far very happy with the purchase . September 4, 2013
Very attractive accent piece My wife found this while reviewing the catalog and wanted it. It arrived promptly, in good packaging and undamaged. We are very pleased with it. Time is accurate, but the temp and humidity is just near actual. However, I bought it for the appearance and desire to know the time on our back porch. It is better than I hoped as far a appearance in the location we selected. It is well constructed and I expect it to last a long time. June 10, 2013
Outdoor Clock Love the size of this clock. Just redid our deck and expanded the size. the clock is easy to read, like having the temperature shown. It is a very elegant look. I have always been happy with any product I order from Frontgate, just wish I had a bigger budget! Hopefully it will last a long time (did hang it on the lower deck so it is covered/protected from the sun/wind/rain. August 26, 2013
Really nice outdoor clock The copper outdoor clock and thermometer is large and looks great on our used brick on the patio. We can see it form the indoors and when outside. We both really like it, highly recommend it! December 3, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 17 next>>
(17 Questions : 42 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
7 answers

Rust-proof

It says "weather-resistant". What about rust-resistant?
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dlms is loaded.
Additional information about dlms could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock is made from iron alloy and is weather resistant, including rust.
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Its a copper finish in plastic..Not real copper enclosure. The internal mechanisms are all well protected as well from the elements. Only time will tell I guess...:0)
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jeepstanley is loaded.
Additional information about Jeepstanley could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
so far mine has no rust but check back next year and I can say for sure
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Boxerlover19 is loaded.
Additional information about Boxerlover19 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It does not rust.. The Copper color just wears out after a year or so. The Facia separates from the unit, and the thermometer, and the hygrometer stopped working after one year.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
User submitted photo
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
FLorida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Filmhits is loaded.
Additional information about Filmhits could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is sealed pretty well. The only place it could rust would be where the hands come together and/or are connected to the mechanism., and that would only happen over a long period of time. I had many years from a clock similar to this before it got any rust.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KathyL is loaded.
Additional information about KathyL could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would assume it to be rust resistant since it appears to be plastic made to look like copper. I don't know how it would hold up if exposed to direct rain, but I think it would be okay on a covered porch like ours.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
midwest
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cool is loaded.
Additional information about cool could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, it is not rust-proof.

This type of material is generally quite susceptible to rusting in damp or humid climates.

Rust will quickly deverlope if this clock is scratched or chipped in any manner.

The inside bottom lip is the first place that you should expect rust to start developing if water can get behind your clock.

Rust can be slowed by annual respraying of a clear coat spray paint such as Rustoleum (either gloss or satin). With annual respraying, the closck should last five or more years.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Foodie is loaded.
Additional information about Foodie could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KarenMTX is loaded.
Additional information about KarenMTX could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Can't access it, but it is definitely not paper - it appears to be hard plastic. We've had ours hanging outside on a semi-covered porch for the past month and it's working great (in spite of all the rain we've been getting)!
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MAofVA is loaded.
Additional information about MAofVA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Paper like material- Could be plastic.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
User submitted photo
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
FLorida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Filmhits is loaded.
Additional information about Filmhits could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. The face of the clock is made of plastic.
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is not paper. It is a thick plastic.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KathyL is loaded.
Additional information about KathyL could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Glass
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Longport, NJ, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mianina is loaded.
Additional information about mianina could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I believe it is a thin aluminum
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Katc is loaded.
Additional information about Katc could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mrabysbaby is loaded.
Additional information about mrabysbaby could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We used a stainless steel L-shaped screw with an anchor. Worked great!
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MAofVA is loaded.
Additional information about MAofVA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
After drilling the hole in the masonry we inserted a screw anchor for stability and strength. The clock is very secure and designed to sit on the screw and after pulling down on the clock a bit it locks into place.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Carolynn98 is loaded.
Additional information about Carolynn98 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I hung the clock on hardiplank siding and I just used a screw that I found in our toolbox.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Iowa, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Olson is loaded.
Additional information about Olson could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Our outdoor wall is made of stucco, so I used a small drill bit to put a beginning hole in the wall, then hammered in a concrete nail with a head wide enough to fit the holder on the back of the clock. Worked very well.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dbhsubpar is loaded.
Additional information about dbhsubpar could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
We used a masonary screw, no hanger needed.
My husband used a drill to put the screw in the wall.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jules18 is loaded.
Additional information about Jules18 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
masonry screw in an appropriate anchor
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Grosse Pointe, MI, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lorenk01 is loaded.
Additional information about lorenk01 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
6 answers

How is the time set?

I currently have an outdoor clock like this that I would like to replace. It has a feature that allows it to "self-set" the time via radio frequency. How is the time set on this clock?
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Dallas TX
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cnk0203 is loaded.
Additional information about cnk0203 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock does not "self-set". It features a knob which allows you to manually set the time.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is battery operated with a little wheel you manually rotate to set the clock.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about HouseProud is loaded.
Additional information about HouseProud could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I have only had it for a few weeks, it is not radio controlled, you manually set it. I have the radio controlled one and it never worked properly.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PlanoTexasHomeowner is loaded.
Additional information about PlanoTexasHomeowner could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Set time with dial on back. Unit with dial has cover so it is protected.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about VYinLA is loaded.
Additional information about VYinLA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Manually on the back. It does have an screw on lid to keep out the weather and dust/grime.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
La Quinta, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Rando is loaded.
Additional information about Rando could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
This clock is not a self-set clock, you have to set the time manually.
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mariea11en is loaded.
Additional information about Mariea11en could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Obviously this clock should be able to be used indoor as well as outdoor & have much better longevity indoors. That is what I purchased it for & I hope it is effective indoors.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Ashland, OR
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about kstacy52 is loaded.
Additional information about kstacy52 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock is listed as an outdoor clock because it is made to be able to withstand exposure to the elements. Although listed for outdoor use, this item can be used indoors just as well. We apologize for any confusion.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is no reason you can't use this indoors. I think it probably goes without specifically saying that if it's durable outdoors it'd be durable indoors.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Virginia Beach, VA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GardenMarcia is loaded.
Additional information about GardenMarcia could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It could be because of the large size of the clock. I don't see why it wouldn't be just as great for inside as outside.
I would just make sure you have a good size wall to hang it on so it doesn't overwelm the wall or anything else displayed on the same wall.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
The Woodlands, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Dlyon is loaded.
Additional information about Dlyon could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
They suggest outdoor in a covered area. Mine is not under cover. No severe weather where I live so not an issue.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about VYinLA is loaded.
Additional information about VYinLA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We bought this clock to use indoors. We replaced an indoor/outdoor clock which was also from Frontgate. This clock looks great indoors and it will probably last longer since it is indoors.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
TEXAS
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mombomb is loaded.
Additional information about Mombomb could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:49685-Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???