Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Outdoor Living
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer 4.4 5 457 484
Expected more We were pleased at how quickly the clock arrived and were excited to hang it up. It was when we set the time that we found the arms would not move past a certain point, in either direction, because each arm was bent. We had to dismantle the ENTIRE clock - no easy feat - to correct this issue. It was disappointing that we had to do this considering how much we paid. We expected a little more heavy duty materials for the price of the clock, but it does the job. March 27, 2013
Very attractive accent piece My wife found this while reviewing the catalog and wanted it. It arrived promptly, in good packaging and undamaged. We are very pleased with it. Time is accurate, but the temp and humidity is just near actual. However, I bought it for the appearance and desire to know the time on our back porch. It is better than I hoped as far a appearance in the location we selected. It is well constructed and I expect it to last a long time. June 10, 2013
Nice Looking Outdoor Clock Like the large size - 24". Like the color and the look of it. Appears to be accurate, except for the temperature -it is stuck on 60 degrees. Need to remove it from the wall and reset it - see if that corrects the problem. Shipping was quick. October 29, 2013
Beautful Clock We hung our clock on a brick wall on our patio. It looks beautiful. It keeps very accurate time but I'm not so sure about the accuracy of the thermometer. We have another thermometer on the patio and the two thermometers do not agree. Not sure which one is correct but the clock is so pretty I don't care about the thermometer function. September 13, 2013
Incredibly beautiful The clock I purchased is just gorgeous. It looked great in every room that I set it in and was really hard to decide where to put it. What a classy accessory for any room. It works perfectly, is easy to see and the information about humidity is great: we even try to guess at this beforehand for a little game. It's especially good when you're melting and need validation that you're not imagining things. July 9, 2013
Great clock, looks awesome, poor quality The clock looks nice. Its big, has big dials and stands out. However after a few weeks the face started puckering. The quarts square feature could be seen through the white background and areas near the humidity started bubling up as well. I am hoping its a one time defect. The staff at Frontgate was great enough to send me a replacement at no hassle and I hope this one wont have issues. I love the clock, but its no use if the face puckers and the hands get stuck eventually. July 31, 2012
Nearly Perfect I would have given this clock 5*, however, the temp readings are always off by 10*. It keeps great time and it looks absolutely beautiful. November 19, 2013
Nice but disappointing This outdoor clock would be a perfect compliment to our deck/patio. The clock was difficult to hang due to its design, but more importantly the clock once outside in humid weather always fills with moisture and you can't tell the time or temperature. I would not buy again. Very dissapointing. I should have bought something less expensive if I'd known that the clock would fill with moisture July 10, 2013
Great outdoor clock Prompt shipping. First clock came in with the hands bent but called Frontgate and they sent out a new one immediately including the return shipping label for the defective one. Second one was in excellent condition and looks great outside. Definitely would recommend anyone to purchase this item. September 12, 2013
GRET LOOKING GREAT LOOKING PIECE. CLOCK WORKS WELL. THERMOMETER IS NOT RELIABLE. THE AMBIENT TEMPERATURE IS 84 AND THE CLOCK THERMOMETER READS 68. NOT REALLY EVEN CLOSE. THAT IS DISAPPOINTING. I CANNOT TEST THE HUMIDITY READING. PACKAGE ARRIVED QUICKLY. NO ASSEMBLY REQIRED, JUST INSTALL BATTERY AND SET CLOCK. September 11, 2013
Oxford Outdoor Clock We love this clock...it looks great on our patio and is big enough it can be seen from the entire back yard. I had to calibrate the temperature dial a bit but knew that was probable. The clock keeps great time. the hygrometer dial moves but i have no idea if it is accurate...nor do i care. Great buy for the price! August 30, 2013
outdoor clock Clock has a nice appearance and will be used at a pool to keep track of sun times for the people around the pool. I am not convinced of the accuracy of the temperature and humidity dials as yet but have no reason to believe they will not function t properly. Time will tell but it does keep perfect time. September 5, 2013
Tasteful Timepiece This copper finished clock is a classic, not froo-frooey way to keep up with time, temperature and humidity in an outdoor area. It looks so tasteful at our pool house and the finish reflects the copper roof on the bay window of our kitchen. October 8, 2013
Loved the Clock The clock was as advertised. Very nice looking and great quality as usual from Frontgate. November 20, 2013
Clock didn't work right out of box Clock did not work when it was opened. Had to return. Return was smooth. November 21, 2013
great clock this clock is exactly as pictured in catalogue - i'ts perfect for outdoors - does have a little trouble with temperature, but we bought it for the clock feature and are very happy October 24, 2013
Awesome Clock!! This clock is all I expected and more. The Frontgate description was right on with all the details and features. This clock looks awesome in our backyard, is correct on all features, i.e., time, temp, and humidity. Quality is second to none. Love this clock and would buy again in a minute for a gift. This clock would even look good in your home in any room! July 8, 2013
We Love Frontgate! We are pleased with the size of the clock. Works well in our SPA area ( don't need to be wearing glasses to read the dials) But thermostate is off about 10 degrees. When Frontgate was notified, they immediately apologized and are sending a new clock. Love this Company! September 9, 2013
looks good so far I am very happy with this clock. However, we had previously purchased a similiar clock from Frontgate and it only lasted one season. Called to return it and since it was over one year since purchase they refused. Referred me to product services who promised a new movement which we never received. After a few more e-mails received a credit which we used to purchase this clock. The inside of the new clock looks identical to the original one. August 5, 2012
BEAUTIFUL CLOCK WITH TERMOMETER This clock is gorgeous and looks fantastic on my patio. I the numbers are large enough to be read from a distance, even floating in the pool. The temperature and humidity dials are also easy to read. I am thrilled with this purchase. September 25, 2013
Pleasantly surprised I took my time and did a great deal of research before I purchased this item. I 'd just purchased a new deck and I wanted everything to work well and look good. This clock looks better than the picture, and works well. Accurate time, temp. & humidity. My wife said it brings everything together. Only had it for a couple of months, but based on other reviews it should last a long time. Looking forward to purchasing more from Frontgate. October 12, 2012
looks great... but that's about it Looks great outside, however, we are now on our 2nd clock (first one was returned due to one of the hands falling off). Like many other reviews, this clock does not last. Common for the hands of either the clock or on the thermometer to come off. Not very accurate. I would not recommend this to anyone until they produce a higher quality product. July 5, 2013
Great outdoor addition I just received my beautiful oxford outdoor clock with thermometer and love it. It is even more attractive than the picture in the cataloug. It looks stunning on our patio and now we don't have to get out of the pool to see what time it is with its large hands and easy-to-read numbers. I would definitely recommend to anyone on the fence about this purchase - it was well worth the price. April 29, 2013
Fabulous! I ordered this clock with my normal high expectations of Frontgate. I installed this clock about three weeks ago and I absolutely love it. It's beautiful; big and easy to read from afar; and has kept accurate time, temp, and humidity. The only test ahead is the test of time as I would expect a product like this to continue to perform for at least three years. So far so good and I have already recommended it to a number of friends. August 7, 2012
High Quality Clock This is our third outdoor clock purchase. Both previous clocks were much smaller and difficult to read. The first clock blew off in a wind storm and ended up in the pool. The second clock just stopped keeping accurate time. So far this clock has survived a freak wind storm. The only downside is the temperature scale stops at 100 degrees which isn't high enough for summers in our Mesa, AZ home. March 18, 2013
Disappointed in Appearance and Quality We are not very impressed with our new clock. The color is not as it appears in the catalog. It is gold instead of copper in color. Also, the hour hand is not in the correct direction for the time. It is ahead of where it should be and there is no way to get to it to push it back where it belongs. Very disappointed and should have sent it back!!! June 14, 2013
Great looking clock The clock looks great on our patio, and is working well. Unfortunately, the first clock we ordered did not work at all, the second would start and then stop after about an hour. Frontgate sent us a third, which so far, is working beautifully and is a perfect addition to our patio decor. August 12, 2013
Great outdoor clock We bought this clock to hang on a fence facing our kitchen/breakfast nook. It's great looking and easy to read from our kitchen. The temperature gauge seems accurate and agrees with other devices. It simply looks great in the yard. September 13, 2013
Quality problem The clock et al appear to be well built of good material. The problem is that obviously no quality control exists. As received the hands of the clock were somewhat bent around each other so that they could not move to tell time. It was obvious. I had to figure out how to dismantle the clock to get to the hands. Then bend them free to move. After reassembly it appears to be functioning well. We do like the overall design. August 5, 2012
Not a good purchase I was excited about this outdoor clock, but was soon disappointed when I realized that the temperature and humidity dials don't show accurate readings. The clock portion works fine so I decided not to return it for that reason, and all the hassles that go with returning items. I wouldn't recommend purchasing this item. July 11, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 16 next>>
(17 Questions : 42 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Has staff answer
 
7 answers

Rust-proof

It says "weather-resistant". What about rust-resistant?
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dlms is loaded.
Additional information about dlms could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock is made from iron alloy and is weather resistant, including rust.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
Its a copper finish in plastic..Not real copper enclosure. The internal mechanisms are all well protected as well from the elements. Only time will tell I guess...:0)
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jeepstanley is loaded.
Additional information about Jeepstanley could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
so far mine has no rust but check back next year and I can say for sure
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Boxerlover19 is loaded.
Additional information about Boxerlover19 could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
It does not rust.. The Copper color just wears out after a year or so. The Facia separates from the unit, and the thermometer, and the hygrometer stopped working after one year.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
User submitted photo
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
FLorida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Filmhits is loaded.
Additional information about Filmhits could not be loaded.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is sealed pretty well. The only place it could rust would be where the hands come together and/or are connected to the mechanism., and that would only happen over a long period of time. I had many years from a clock similar to this before it got any rust.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KathyL is loaded.
Additional information about KathyL could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I would assume it to be rust resistant since it appears to be plastic made to look like copper. I don't know how it would hold up if exposed to direct rain, but I think it would be okay on a covered porch like ours.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
midwest
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cool is loaded.
Additional information about cool could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
No, it is not rust-proof.

This type of material is generally quite susceptible to rusting in damp or humid climates.

Rust will quickly deverlope if this clock is scratched or chipped in any manner.

The inside bottom lip is the first place that you should expect rust to start developing if water can get behind your clock.

Rust can be slowed by annual respraying of a clear coat spray paint such as Rustoleum (either gloss or satin). With annual respraying, the closck should last five or more years.
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Foodie is loaded.
Additional information about Foodie could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KarenMTX is loaded.
Additional information about KarenMTX could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Can't access it, but it is definitely not paper - it appears to be hard plastic. We've had ours hanging outside on a semi-covered porch for the past month and it's working great (in spite of all the rain we've been getting)!
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MAofVA is loaded.
Additional information about MAofVA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Paper like material- Could be plastic.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
User submitted photo
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
FLorida
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Filmhits is loaded.
Additional information about Filmhits could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in this item. The face of the clock is made of plastic.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about DSFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about DSFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is not paper. It is a thick plastic.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KathyL is loaded.
Additional information about KathyL could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Glass
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Longport, NJ, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mianina is loaded.
Additional information about mianina could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I believe it is a thin aluminum
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Katc is loaded.
Additional information about Katc could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about mrabysbaby is loaded.
Additional information about mrabysbaby could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We used a stainless steel L-shaped screw with an anchor. Worked great!
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MAofVA is loaded.
Additional information about MAofVA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
After drilling the hole in the masonry we inserted a screw anchor for stability and strength. The clock is very secure and designed to sit on the screw and after pulling down on the clock a bit it locks into place.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
California
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Carolynn98 is loaded.
Additional information about Carolynn98 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I hung the clock on hardiplank siding and I just used a screw that I found in our toolbox.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Iowa, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Olson is loaded.
Additional information about Olson could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Our outdoor wall is made of stucco, so I used a small drill bit to put a beginning hole in the wall, then hammered in a concrete nail with a head wide enough to fit the holder on the back of the clock. Worked very well.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about dbhsubpar is loaded.
Additional information about dbhsubpar could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
We used a masonary screw, no hanger needed.
My husband used a drill to put the screw in the wall.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Jules18 is loaded.
Additional information about Jules18 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
masonry screw in an appropriate anchor
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Grosse Pointe, MI, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about lorenk01 is loaded.
Additional information about lorenk01 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Has staff answer
 
6 answers

How is the time set?

I currently have an outdoor clock like this that I would like to replace. It has a feature that allows it to "self-set" the time via radio frequency. How is the time set on this clock?
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Dallas TX
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about cnk0203 is loaded.
Additional information about cnk0203 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock does not "self-set". It features a knob which allows you to manually set the time.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It is battery operated with a little wheel you manually rotate to set the clock.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about HouseProud is loaded.
Additional information about HouseProud could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
I have only had it for a few weeks, it is not radio controlled, you manually set it. I have the radio controlled one and it never worked properly.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about PlanoTexasHomeowner is loaded.
Additional information about PlanoTexasHomeowner could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Set time with dial on back. Unit with dial has cover so it is protected.
1 year, 10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about VYinLA is loaded.
Additional information about VYinLA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Manually on the back. It does have an screw on lid to keep out the weather and dust/grime.
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
1 year, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
La Quinta, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Rando is loaded.
Additional information about Rando could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
This clock is not a self-set clock, you have to set the time manually.
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mariea11en is loaded.
Additional information about Mariea11en could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Obviously this clock should be able to be used indoor as well as outdoor & have much better longevity indoors. That is what I purchased it for & I hope it is effective indoors.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Ashland, OR
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about kstacy52 is loaded.
Additional information about kstacy52 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
We appreciate your interest in this item. This clock is listed as an outdoor clock because it is made to be able to withstand exposure to the elements. Although listed for outdoor use, this item can be used indoors just as well. We apologize for any confusion.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about KMFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about KMFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answer: 
There is no reason you can't use this indoors. I think it probably goes without specifically saying that if it's durable outdoors it'd be durable indoors.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Virginia Beach, VA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GardenMarcia is loaded.
Additional information about GardenMarcia could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
It could be because of the large size of the clock. I don't see why it wouldn't be just as great for inside as outside.
I would just make sure you have a good size wall to hang it on so it doesn't overwelm the wall or anything else displayed on the same wall.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
The Woodlands, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Dlyon is loaded.
Additional information about Dlyon could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
They suggest outdoor in a covered area. Mine is not under cover. No severe weather where I live so not an issue.
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about VYinLA is loaded.
Additional information about VYinLA could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
We bought this clock to use indoors. We replaced an indoor/outdoor clock which was also from Frontgate. This clock looks great indoors and it will probably last longer since it is indoors.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
TEXAS
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Mombomb is loaded.
Additional information about Mombomb could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
2 next>>
Product:49685-Oxford Outdoor Clock with Thermometer
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???