GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
1
5
1
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Kitchen & Entertaining
Please make your personalization selections below including entering characters (remember to scroll to ensure you are viewing all available options).
You have non valid characters in the {0} field.
The min length for the {0} field is {1}.
Please choose a {0} entry.
Personalization cost: {0}/each
View Images Item: Tell a Friend Email A Specialist Live Chat true Email A Specialist false false Add to wish List Additional Views Larger View Availability ADD TO CART Update Price Range: Additional Information: Zoom Viewer Close Frontgate
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Portable Ice Maker 3.7 5 79 83
Just what I wanted I did read prior posts on this product (good & bad) and still decided to try it. It works very well for us. Other than getting it out of the box (I am frequently challenged to get things out of the packaging) it was as described. It has been working ever since we reached the 12 hour sitting time. I don't think it too noisy and certainly appreicate that it produces ice within the 6-8 minutes as advertized. Would definitly recommend this product. May 5, 2011
perfect for summer entertaining and golf cooler I am extremely pleased with this product. It performs as advertised and it meets two critical home and recreational needs. For smaller parties and cookouts I can prepare enough ice to keep the party going without ice run trip interuptions. My other priority is ice for my golf cart cooler. I simply program and dump ice at home and I eliminate a convienence store stop for $2.00 bags of ice that are usually too large and result in waste September 8, 2010
Icemaker - unboxing Functions well with ease. A bit bigger and heavier than expected for its portable nature, but well built. One warning: heavy and hard to get out of shipping box alone - had to spill it out; then the warning in the instructions NOT TO TIP IT or turn it upside down. Should be visible on the box. Thanks. March 13, 2012
Not worth the money and work It turns out 25 lbs of ice over 24 hours is not much. You can buy 20 lbs for less than $5 and not have to be a slave to filling water, bagging ice and then storing up ice. $300 goes a longer way if you just buy a freezer and pick up 100 lbs of ice before you entertain. September 8, 2010
Love it! I absolutely LOVE this ice maker! I live in a second floor apartment and have carried bags of ice up the stairs for almost 12 years before purchasing the icemaker. It is so easy to use and I have perfect ice cubes in just minutes! November 9, 2011
A Party Favorite We did a lot of shopping and reviewing of the portable ice makers before we decided on this one. Works like a charm and we love it. One helpful hint that I picked up from a previous customer was to read the directions thoroughly and follow to the tee which we did. January 29, 2014
works like a dream I almost did not order this ice maker due to former reviews but we have always had good luck with FG so I went ahead. I think the problem lies when people do not read the complete instructions and try to cut corners. My husband followed the directions to a "T" and this icemaker worked just fine. Nice cubes that formed in a very short time. This will be a great addition to our outdoor kitchen, you can never have enough ice in south Texas! December 30, 2013
Ice Maker The ice making process of this is good but it doesn't keep the ice frozen after it's made. I thought I would be able to make ice and keep it in the ice maker for days/weeks and use it whenever. We had to make the ice and then bag it to put in our freezer. That's ok if you want to do that but I'll just buy ice from the store. January 13, 2014
Portable Ice Maker So far, so good! The ice maker is working away making ice in any of three sizes of cubes...actually they are round! It works just as advertised. January 7, 2014
Leather bar chairs.. The ice maker is revolutionary to say the least. It finished my bar. No filling ice buckets all the time. January 10, 2014
Nice for entertaining Bought the ice machine thinking this would be nice when entertaining. No need to go out and buy bags of ice. Only thing I don't love about it....it's a little noisy. It makes ice pretty quick though. I'll get to try it out this weekend at a dinner party. We'll see how it goes. Was hoping it made a little smaller ice cubes than it does. November 17, 2013
Jury is Still Out Today is Monday and we set the Portable Ice Maker up on Friday Night. The ice is great, and we like that we can use whatever kind of water we wish. I did get up in the middle of the night and noticed a noise up on the second floor of the house. While the ice maker is a floor and a half below, it runs intermittently to keep the ice frozen and the noise (which is louder than any refridgerator) seems to travel throughout the house. As an occassional outdoor ice maker, it is great. Near the bar in our den, was probably not the best idea. Also the venting on the machine makes selecting a location a bit challenging. I can not yet comment on the quality or the durability. June 21, 2010
Recommended then ordered, recommended then ordered The portable Ice Maker Frontgate sells was recommended to me by a friend. I had questions before I ordered it, so the Frontgate representative got an engineer on the phone that answered my questions. After I ordered the machine for my husband for Christmas, I told my sister about it...lo and behold, my mother had me order one of the machies for her to give my sister for Christmas! I got a sale price ANY discount off BOTH orders (using the codes in the blue/yellow boxes on the back of my catalog)! What a successful experience this has been...hopefully, the machine will work as I've been told it does! THANK YOU SO MUCH! December 4, 2010
A Little Loud This ice maker makes ok ice. The only problems are the amount of noise and the fact that it will not keep the ice from melting. It must need a better sealing lid to keep the ice frozen. Therefore, we make ice and have to move it to a ice bucket to keep in the freezer. We also moved it to our utility room because the noise was very loud when we had it sitting on our bar. We wanted to use it for everyday use at our Bar rather than having a built-in ice maker. It is a little hard to drain the water out because the plug hole is so close to the bottom of the ice maker. September 16, 2010
Disapointing Purchase Was excited to have this for our outdoor kitchen area..but dissapointment set in almost immediately. Ice melts sitting in tray and sticks together, shape of ice was a surprise..small half egg shapes with a hole half way through..I should have examined the picture more closely...three sizes of ice are all small..the larger size of the cube takes too long to make and more water. Truly a slave to it..to make sure there is enough water and to get it out so it keeps making ice..once you empty it..its like starting a cycle all over before it starts making new ice. July 14, 2010
Did not work After setting up the icemaker, it did not work. The water did not get cold and I concluded that something must be wrong with the cooling unit. I called customer service for the icemaker (not Frontgate) and after a couple of prompts, received technical support. A voice mail indicated that I had to leave a message, but then another message that the mailbox was full. After trying several days I called Frontgate and will exchange the one I have. I will re-rate the new one when received and update this review. For now, I have to rate it poor. May 17, 2011
Portable Ice Maker Works great... the ice is a little slow to get started but once it gets a first couple of trays made it stays cold enough to get the ball rolling. Don't use setting 1 the ice melts too fast... setting 2 and 3 are great for bar drinks. I only use distilled water so there is no mineral build up and you won't have to empty the water except if it is not in use for a long time. We use it a our lake house for our dinner parties because our main fridge just doesn't hold enough ice. August 18, 2011
Not impressed For the cost, the ice maker was way less then I expected. The machine's craftsmanship and over all quality is well below standard for the price. It's flimsy and seems cheaply made. As I unpacked the unit, two screws fell out from inside the machine. Its described as stainless steel but its more like grey plastic. The manufacture's label was half peeled off, paint on the lid was showing wear and it is incredibly noisy. However, it does produce ice quickly. June 9, 2012
Best Purchase Ever! Works great! I love it! The first batch comes out not so good because it takes a little while for the machine to get good and cold but once that happens(by the 2nd batch) the cubes come out great. I suggest making up several bags at a time - then you don't have to make up any for a while! May 30, 2013
Let there be ice! We were apprehensive reading some of the reviews, but are so happy we decided to purchase the ice maker. The key is to transfer the ice to a freezer once the ice bucket is full. It is not designed to keep the ice frozen. It's an ice maker, only. And, at the large ice setting, it makes excellent ice. No more bagged ice here! We plan on buying another ice maker for our vacation home. Great product, Frontgate! December 3, 2012
Will not work as it should. Even with distilled water and salt added, the machine gives cloudy Ice. The Machine fails to keep the Ice frozen once made and keeps melting and re making Ice?? Ice is not cold enough and melts fast in drinks? June 12, 2013
Not so portable This ice maker is far from portable. We bought it thinking we could take it camping and make ice so we wouldn't have to buy bags for the cooler. This thing is far from portable. It's to heavy to move often. The ice cubes are way to small for coolers. If it wouldn't cost me an arm and leg to mail it back, I'd return it. Guess we'll keep it for parties. We were disapponted with the ice maker. May 3, 2010
Portable Ice Maker is very handy We have downstairs bar with no refrigerator and this ice maker has been a great addition! It's compact size and ability to put out ice quickly makes it uniquely useful. It's easy to use and easy to put away if you don't need it. The ice stays a little on the moist side but stays well without freezing up into a block. The machine is a bit noisy when it's running but not distractingly so. April 22, 2010
didn't work failed to make ice after first 2 trays, would not pump water into chamber. tried several times and same thing would occur, 2 trays then none. item returned June 21, 2013
Cubes Aplenty! I bought this as a gift for a Man who has everything. The only thing he's ever been short on is ice. This portable machines is small enough to fit in the most inconspicuous places. It produces ice quickly and the option of different sized cubes is great, allowing flexibility for whatever you are filling (cooler, wine bucket). January 2, 2013
Terrible Purchase We were very disappointed in this ice maker. After cleaning the inside of the ice maker, making about 6 batches of ice cubes and throwing them away - just to make sure there were no contaminants, the ice cubes tasted like a chemical and the inside of the ice maker smelled very odd. We think it had a chemical smell. We returned it. It looked very good! August 7, 2012
doesn't keep ice cubes frozen This ice maker is beautiful, but doesn't keep the ice frozen... so the ice slowly melts and it has to make new cubes with the melted ice. Also, it doesn't make and store a lot of ice. It just seems like a lot of machinery to store 1 or 2 trays of ice that melt over time. I can only imagine how much electricity it is using. This machine is just not worth the trouble. July 11, 2010
This is a great little ice maker! I love this machine. It's very portable and actually produces ice pretty quickly. The ice shape is very uniform and the unit allows for two different ice sizes. It's nice to have when having company over for cocktails or making ice for the cooler. We spend summers cruising on our sailboat. The portable ice maker will be a wonderful addition to the galley. May 6, 2010
Best Christmas Gift 2010! Purchased Ice Maker as gift for my boyfriend. Not only was he excited but all of his friends were as well!! He cannot wait to go hunting and take his icemaker to the hunting camp with him!! I think there will be many nights spent trying to figure out how many people it takes to keep up with every 8 minute ice cube drops!! (durablility remains to be seen) December 28, 2010
Great item! This ice maker is going to be wonderful at our ranch, so we do not have to continue to pick up bagged ice. It makes enough for our family gatherings but we won't count on it for large parties. However, you could make ice ahead of time and bag it in your freezer for large events. We are really happy with this purchase. It is a great convenience..... September 28, 2010
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
(4 Questions : 5 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Have not purchased this Ice Maker unit yet but the Instruction Manual nor any of the product descriptions actually mention what the 3 different sizes are in inches or if they are different shapes. It seems the shape is a round tubular ice pellet hollow through the center, is that an accurate description? What are the exact sizes? Half inch long, 1/2 inch long?
4 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Dallas, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about SizeMattersInBigD is loaded.
Additional information about SizeMattersInBigD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
thank you for your interest in the portable Ice Maker. We are confirming the size and shape options of the ice cubes and will update you as soon as possible.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the portable ice maker. The three cube shapes are;
Round at the bottom
Flat at top
Bullet shaped
And the three size options are:
Small 0.917 inches
Med. 0.996 inches
Large 1.076 inches
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jenni123 is loaded.
Additional information about jenni123 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The Portable Ice Maker has an insulated compartment where the ice is stored, however the compartment is not refrigerated so the ice will melt over time (similar to a cooler).
1 year, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JHFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JHFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
5 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Michigan, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Soiree is loaded.
Additional information about Soiree could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Please call our product specialist department at 1-800-537-8484 so we can better assist you in troubleshooting your portable Ice Maker
5 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
4 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Ny
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Pipp is loaded.
Additional information about Pipp could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The Portable Ice Maker can be used outdoors in a protected area.
4 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 of 1
1 of 1
Product:13894-Portable Ice Maker
0