Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... image html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Kitchen & Entertaining
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Portable Ice Maker 3.8 5 82 87
Great addition Purchased this as a gift for my husband's home bar. It is pretty large, but makes ice very quickly and for the most part, is pretty quiet. We will have several football parties in the bar this year, and I know that the ice maker will keep me from running up and down the stairs for ice! August 22, 2009
Entertaining helper Helps to make ice , but if you put it in freezer it turns into big ice block. April 17, 2015
So far satisfied I read the reviews and was nervous to purchase this. As long as you know you have to use the ice, or move it to the freezer soon, it's great. It's only been 2-3 weeks, but so far it's really handy. Good size cubes, easy to use and fast. Doesn't take up much room either. I found if I use the ice that just came out, I use less to it doesn't water down a drink. My favorite is when the cubes have sat about 20 min, just so they are a little more frozen, but before they start melting. September 24, 2014
Portable Ice Maker So far, so good! The ice maker is working away making ice in any of three sizes of cubes...actually they are round! It works just as advertised. January 7, 2014
Nice for entertaining Bought the ice machine thinking this would be nice when entertaining. No need to go out and buy bags of ice. Only thing I don't love about it....it's a little noisy. It makes ice pretty quick though. I'll get to try it out this weekend at a dinner party. We'll see how it goes. Was hoping it made a little smaller ice cubes than it does. November 17, 2013
Portable Ice Maker Attractive December 23, 2012
For my friends I got this item for my friend in his birthday, he and his wife love schotch and allways run out of ice. We got this for him and they love it so far do not have any problems at all. September 16, 2012
Works ok Makes a lot of ice. Does a good job at that. Noisy and does not keep the ice cold, so be prepared to move it to a container to keep it cold. June 12, 2011
Great item! This ice maker is going to be wonderful at our ranch, so we do not have to continue to pick up bagged ice. It makes enough for our family gatherings but we won't count on it for large parties. However, you could make ice ahead of time and bag it in your freezer for large events. We are really happy with this purchase. It is a great convenience..... September 28, 2010
A Little Loud This ice maker makes ok ice. The only problems are the amount of noise and the fact that it will not keep the ice from melting. It must need a better sealing lid to keep the ice frozen. Therefore, we make ice and have to move it to a ice bucket to keep in the freezer. We also moved it to our utility room because the noise was very loud when we had it sitting on our bar. We wanted to use it for everyday use at our Bar rather than having a built-in ice maker. It is a little hard to drain the water out because the plug hole is so close to the bottom of the ice maker. September 16, 2010
Portable Ice Maker is very handy We have downstairs bar with no refrigerator and this ice maker has been a great addition! It's compact size and ability to put out ice quickly makes it uniquely useful. It's easy to use and easy to put away if you don't need it. The ice stays a little on the moist side but stays well without freezing up into a block. The machine is a bit noisy when it's running but not distractingly so. April 22, 2010
good ice maker Works well; no complaints. Small sized cubes are ideal. Footprint on countertop is not too large. March 24, 2010
Good product Basically very happy with this machine. Does what was described in catelog except there is no on/off switch - has to be unplugged which is inconvenient. September 1, 2009
Disappointed in weight and size Looks nice but weighs about 38 pounds so I did not think it was very convenient to be labeled as portable. Also, it was somewhat bulky. The finish does not hide fingerprints at all. I returned it unused so I cannot speak to the quality of function June 17, 2014
Portable ice machine I like how quickly ice is made, but wish it stored the ice once it is made. I have to put unused ice into my freezer. August 24, 2011
Ice maker It does make ice quickly. It is just very loud and ice melts quickly if you don't remove it as soon as it dumps! July 22, 2011
Portable Ice Maker The only thing is that the machine doesn't maintain the ice very well and melts fairly quickly. June 22, 2011
event coordinator Machine arrived promptly. Not quite what I thought it was from the description in the catalog, but works. Said it made 20# of ice in 24 hours, but neglected to say that it only stores 2.5# at a time, thus you need to remove the ice and store it in bags if you need 20# to start off your event. Convenient on the table top for a small party. June 18, 2011
Disappointed Loved the concept, but the machine was way too loud. January 5, 2011
unit is too noisy. stored ice melts. seems to constantly be operating. June 24, 2010
Jury is Still Out Today is Monday and we set the Portable Ice Maker up on Friday Night. The ice is great, and we like that we can use whatever kind of water we wish. I did get up in the middle of the night and noticed a noise up on the second floor of the house. While the ice maker is a floor and a half below, it runs intermittently to keep the ice frozen and the noise (which is louder than any refridgerator) seems to travel throughout the house. As an occassional outdoor ice maker, it is great. Near the bar in our den, was probably not the best idea. Also the venting on the machine makes selecting a location a bit challenging. I can not yet comment on the quality or the durability. June 21, 2010
Not so portable This ice maker is far from portable. We bought it thinking we could take it camping and make ice so we wouldn't have to buy bags for the cooler. This thing is far from portable. It's to heavy to move often. The ice cubes are way to small for coolers. If it wouldn't cost me an arm and leg to mail it back, I'd return it. Guess we'll keep it for parties. We were disapponted with the ice maker. May 3, 2010
Portable Ice Maker The second ones seems to work great, the first one had to be returned at a cost to me. I would think twice before purchasing. February 27, 2010
ok it works surprised how quickly ice will melt when not used. November 3, 2009
Ice Maker The ice making process of this is good but it doesn't keep the ice frozen after it's made. I thought I would be able to make ice and keep it in the ice maker for days/weeks and use it whenever. We had to make the ice and then bag it to put in our freezer. That's ok if you want to do that but I'll just buy ice from the store. January 13, 2014
Doesn't Make Hard Ice The ice maker makes soft, wet ice. It is not hard. December 14, 2012
Good for a while... We purchased the ice maker about 8 months ago. For the first few months we liked it. The only negatives we had was that the ice melted quickly and the entire interior of the ice maker is plastic . They should really have added some cooling vents inside this thing to keep the ice from melting so fast. They could have made the water compartment and ice tray stainless steel or aluminum as well. After about 3 months of use one of the water level sensors began to rust. Now the entire water chamber is stained with rust and the sensor is covered in rust. Now just a few weeks ago the ice level sensor has failed and the ice maker overflows with ice until all the water is used up in the water chamber. We're still waiting on a response from the manufacturer as to how to get the unit repaired. For the price we paid for this ice maker I would hope it would have lasted longer than 8 months. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. September 13, 2011
Disappointed The machine does not store the ice very long. If you don't transfer the ice to a freezer, it will melt inside the ice maker. December 30, 2010
Melting impression The ice maker makes ice quickly but does not keep the ice frozen. It melts quickly in the holding tray, December 28, 2010
Disapointing Purchase Was excited to have this for our outdoor kitchen area..but dissapointment set in almost immediately. Ice melts sitting in tray and sticks together, shape of ice was a surprise..small half egg shapes with a hole half way through..I should have examined the picture more closely...three sizes of ice are all small..the larger size of the cube takes too long to make and more water. Truly a slave to it..to make sure there is enough water and to get it out so it keeps making ice..once you empty it..its like starting a cycle all over before it starts making new ice. July 14, 2010
  • 2015-08-11T11:16:27.506-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_87, tr_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_13894, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
(5 Questions : 7 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Have not purchased this Ice Maker unit yet but the Instruction Manual nor any of the product descriptions actually mention what the 3 different sizes are in inches or if they are different shapes. It seems the shape is a round tubular ice pellet hollow through the center, is that an accurate description? What are the exact sizes? Half inch long, 1/2 inch long?
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Dallas, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about SizeMattersInBigD is loaded.
Additional information about SizeMattersInBigD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
thank you for your interest in the portable Ice Maker. We are confirming the size and shape options of the ice cubes and will update you as soon as possible.
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the portable ice maker. The three cube shapes are;
Round at the bottom
Flat at top
Bullet shaped
And the three size options are:
Small 0.917 inches
Med. 0.996 inches
Large 1.076 inches
1 year, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
does it have a removable ice bucket so I could dump it into a cooler?
3 weeks, 3 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GMFD is loaded.
Additional information about GMFD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Portable Ice Maker. We are looking into this information for you. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
The Portable Ice Maker does have a removable ice bucket.
2 weeks, 6 days ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jenni123 is loaded.
Additional information about jenni123 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The Portable Ice Maker has an insulated compartment where the ice is stored, however the compartment is not refrigerated so the ice will melt over time (similar to a cooler).
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JHFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JHFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
1 year, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Michigan, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Soiree is loaded.
Additional information about Soiree could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Please call our product specialist department at 1-800-537-8484 so we can better assist you in troubleshooting your portable Ice Maker
1 year, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Ny
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Pipp is loaded.
Additional information about Pipp could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The Portable Ice Maker can be used outdoors in a protected area.
1 year, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 of 1
  • 2015-08-11T11:12:59.575-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_13894, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
Product:13894-Portable Ice Maker
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???